The ICC needs to crack down on political influence in cricket boards, or else the Asia Cup controversies are just the beginning

Major

Test Star
In FIFA, one thing I’ve always found fascinating is its zero-tolerance stance on political interference. If a football board is not elected properly or shows signs of government meddling, FIFA bans that country, sometimes for months, even years. For a long time I found this excessive, but now I understand why FIFA does it: because when politics enters sports, players inevitably become pawns.

It doesn’t matter which side is at fault. Players start behaving in ways that have nothing to do with the game, simply to appease their boards. And while board members keep their seats even when political tensions flare, it’s the players who are left to carry the mental burden. They’re the ones dragged into situations they never asked for.

Take this Asia Cup for example. My sympathies were with Salman Ali Agha. Everyone knew the Indian team would not be shaking hands with Naqvi, and that created pressure on the Pakistani players. If they lost and their chairman was embarrassed, they could be blamed, a completely unfair burden on the team.

We all know how Naqvi became PCB chairman. The PCB constitution states the chairman should be selected from the board’s members, two of whom are directly appointed by the Patron-in-Chief (the country’s Prime Minister). And, unsurprisingly, the person the Prime Minister wants ends up “elected” as PCB chairman. This is essentially a direct political appointment.

As for the BCCI, while it’s technically governed by its own constitution, it also faces heavy political influence through state associations and powerful political figures at the helm. So in practice, the situation is not very different. When boards are not truly independent, governments dictate policy to the boards, and the boards dictate it to the players. No surprise that Amit Shah's son Jay Shah has been the head of cricket at BCCI in the past.

For years, the ICC has turned a blind eye to all of this. But the signs are becoming obvious: handshake snubs, two presenters at tosses, trophy ceremonies snubbed, match referees leaving before finals are over, these things may seem small, but they set dangerous precedents. If the ICC doesn’t act now to curb political interference, this Asia Cup will just be the beginning of far bigger controversies.

Totally agree — the ICC has to step up. Political interference undermines the spirit of the game and turns tournaments like the Asia Cup into diplomatic chessboards rather than fair cricketing contests. Consistency and neutrality are key if the ICC wants to maintain credibility and protect the sport from being used as a political tool.

We're only saying this because we lost. Nobody here would be complaining of our players made 6-0 gestures (a clear reference to a military event) after winning.
So you want political interference to take place in cricket boards and players act as govt pawns?

In FIFA, one thing I’ve always found fascinating is its zero-tolerance stance on political interference. If a football board is not elected properly or shows signs of government meddling, FIFA bans that country, sometimes for months, even years. For a long time I found this excessive, but now I understand why FIFA does it: because when politics enters sports, players inevitably become pawns.

It doesn’t matter which side is at fault. Players start behaving in ways that have nothing to do with the game, simply to appease their boards. And while board members keep their seats even when political tensions flare, it’s the players who are left to carry the mental burden. They’re the ones dragged into situations they never asked for.

Take this Asia Cup for example. My sympathies were with Salman Ali Agha. Everyone knew the Indian team would not be shaking hands with Naqvi, and that created pressure on the Pakistani players. If they lost and their chairman was embarrassed, they could be blamed, a completely unfair burden on the team.

We all know how Naqvi became PCB chairman. The PCB constitution states the chairman should be selected from the board’s members, two of whom are directly appointed by the Patron-in-Chief (the country’s Prime Minister). And, unsurprisingly, the person the Prime Minister wants ends up “elected” as PCB chairman. This is essentially a direct political appointment.

As for the BCCI, while it’s technically governed by its own constitution, it also faces heavy political influence through state associations and powerful political figures at the helm. So in practice, the situation is not very different. When boards are not truly independent, governments dictate policy to the boards, and the boards dictate it to the players. No surprise that Amit Shah's son Jay Shah has been the head of cricket at BCCI in the past.

For years, the ICC has turned a blind eye to all of this. But the signs are becoming obvious: handshake snubs, two presenters at tosses, trophy ceremonies snubbed, match referees leaving before finals are over, these things may seem small, but they set dangerous precedents. If the ICC doesn’t act now to curb political interference, this Asia Cup will just be the beginning of far bigger controversies.
the person with the money controls the circus. not gonna happen. i am indian and i think india behaved badly. if you play, play like a champ. no need to shake hands but to not go accept trophy was absurd. the pak players rauf and farhan were equally or worse culprits. speak with performances rather than gestures . politics here to stay.

Dude ur narcotics minister is the head of PCB, first clean your home
dude, read what i wrote in the OP. You need stop getting offended and assuming everything is anti India. I specifically mentioned how Naqvi became chairman

Let’s be honest here. Neither cricket is a major support nor icc as a body have any credibility

Cricket becoming part of Olympics might bring more scrutiny but we would never know.

As others pointed out PCB as a body have lot of political influence. Heck they even ended up changing domestic structure just because it was idea of Imran khan

dude, read what i wrote in the OP. You need stop getting offended and assuming everything is anti India. I specifically mentioned how Naqvi became chairman
I know ,my point is he holds two offices or three..

Let’s be honest here. Neither cricket is a major support nor icc as a body have any credibility

Cricket becoming part of Olympics might bring more scrutiny but we would never know.

As others pointed out PCB as a body have lot of political influence. Heck they even ended up changing domestic structure just because it was idea of Imran khan
The way I see it. BCCI are playing their cards pretty well and they will be dominating Cricket for the foreseeable future in all aspects.

Cricket belongs to India now, they've got the best team, the most depth and the most funds.

They'll do what they like. Make your peace with it.
what kind of argument is that?

Deal with what? The results is this Asia cup than. Its not about money, its about the players mental well being when politics gets involved.

It's how the world works.

They have the gold so to speak in Cricket right now with IPL. They make the rules.

Cricket is a major sport. Cricket is being better ran than the international hockey federation.

ICC's shenanigans were quite hidden and not infront of everyone. But this Asia Cup really made cricket look bad and how out of control boards have become.

Indeed IOC will come hard down, but the problem is any sports body can pull out of the IOC whenever they want to.

Bro, point is simple - work hard and use skills to win a game.

These agendas / antics are behind garbage perdormance of Haris Rauf.

Look at Shaheen / Faheem, it looked like they were there to win a fame - read pitch, conditions and opposition so well while Rauf sahib were lost.

At this point, its useless to even have a proper discussion with an indian who thinks the world operates like this.
Well I'm not an Indian.

But what I'm saying is like it or not Cricket does work like that. It's around India.

First we accept that fact and then we can discuss options

When India says it is a leader in cricket both on and off the field then it should behave as such. What happened today has never happened before, at least i don't remember something similar and has set a precedent. What would now stop other countries from doing the same based on political or other differences.

Life ain't fair buddy. We have barely have 3-4 world class players left in the entire Pakistan Cricket setup, and we don't have cash like BCCI.

Everytime something like Pahalgam happens they're going to politicize any sport they play with us to placate their awaam.

tldr; angoor khattey hai ji :cigar

It is really good outcome in this Asia cup the fake lovey dovey between Ind-Pak players has been fully obliterated. BCCI and PCB has some sort of working relationship, that is fully gone now. Hopefully BCCI goes into full evil mode and obliterates PCB at every stage.

Seriously, look who is talking. and again gain some knowledge before plugging FIFA as a paragon of neutral sports bodies.
Why is Russia out of the world Cup qualifiers?
Why is Israel forced to play in Europe despite being an Asian Country?
Literal sellng of hosting rights of World Cups from 2018 onwards?
Forcing less powerful hosts like Brazil and South Africa to ignore their own domestic laws?
Over 3000 worker deaths in slave conditions for Qatar world Cup?
2036 was literally fixed for Saudi Arabia?

FIFA is literally one of the most corrupt and politically influenced sports body, just because Pakistan is at rock bottom of 200 countries you have absolutely no Clue about it.

As for Non-shaking of hands. Pakistan cricket has done that quite a few times in the history. Its just a habit that you guys like to forget when you do it. Match referee leaving can happen when your own board distorts the interaction between the official and your captain +management. Build your own credibility before shooting anyone and everyone.

Yes ICC should crack down on PCB and Naqvi. Navqi should know that he is ACC chairman not just home minister of Pakistan.

I can see ICC banned him in coming months.

Totally agree with Major. No minister should be leading these cricket boards

Its a uniquely Asian thing. England and Australia have professionals leading their cricket boards - as it should be

As if BCCI is led by professionals

What are Jay Shah's credentials ?

Bcci has always had professionals at its helm , be it World Cup winning cricketers as administrators Dilip Vengsarkar Roger Binny Madan Lal etc , or once in an era greats like Rahul Dravid Anil Kumble as head coaches and Ganguly VVS Laxman etc as being part of think tank and planning processes for a decade or two since late 2000s... and the results have shown the world what great heads can deliver.

yes there were dark times when morons like J lele Pawar were honchos but those times are well behind us

Being an Asian board...its impossible not to have political interference ...but Bcci has kept the cricketing part fairly well managed

Our latest Bcci chief Mithun Manhas , although not an International star , is a well known domestic star with plenty of player management experience in Domestic circuit and IPL

Bcci has always had professionals at its helm , be it World Cup winning cricketers as administrators Dilip Vengsarkar Roger Binny Madan Lal etc , or once in an era greats like Rahul Dravid Anil Kumble as head coaches and Ganguly VVS Laxman etc as being part of think tank and planning processes for a decade or two since late 2000s... and the results have shown the world what great heads can deliver.

yes there were dark times when morons like J lele Pawar were honchos but those times are well behind us

Being an Asian board...its impossible not to have political interference ...but Bcci has kept the cricketing part fairly well managed

Our latest Bcci chief Mithun Manhas , although not an International star , is a well known domestic star with plenty of player management experience in Domestic circuit and IPL
Mithun Manhas became BCCI head bcoz he is Amit Shah acolyte. Before his appointment he had to pay visit to Amit Shah and offer his obesiance

DO u see ECB chief visiting Keir STarmer's home to get his blessings ? Do u see Australian board chief visiting Alabanese to get his blessings

Difference between PCB & BCCI is PCB is headed directly by their Home minister while BCCI is run by Home minister's proxy

We have no right to criticise Mohsin Naqvi when our own board is controlled by Amit Shah's proxies

Politics and sports have always been intertwined, for more recent examples look up sanctions and restrictions placed on Russia by different sporting bodies post Ukraine war and there are number of occasions where muslim athletes refused to compete against their Israeli opponents.

Hell, if I remember correctly, it was Pakistan who refused to tour India in the 1990s, now that they at the receiving end, toh jal raha hai :LOL: :LOL:

All this crying will no good - India will become even richer and have even more of an hold on cricket.

Cricket is India. India is cricket.

Mohsin Naqvi is disliked by India because he is the first strong PCB chairman who looked them in the eye and spoke firmly. He got the hybrid model approved, took a stand on the referee issue, and today he has also stood firm on the trophy matter

He is a " TROPHY CHOR " and forever remember by this :klopp :kp

Mithun Manhas became BCCI head bcoz he is Amit Shah acolyte. Before his appointment he had to pay visit to Amit Shah and offer his obesiance

DO u see ECB chief visiting Keir STarmer's home to get his blessings ? Do u see Australian board chief visiting Alabanese to get his blessings

Difference between PCB & BCCI is PCB is headed directly by their Home minister while BCCI is run by Home minister's proxy

We have no right to criticise Mohsin Naqvi when our own board is controlled by Amit Shah's proxies

And u seem to know all of this since u watch hindi news channel whole day and night and were born just a decade or two max back ?

bete zara history of indian cricket board google kar aur parh... legends like Lala Amarnath were sent back from foreign series just because they were too good and didn't bow down to authority. The amount of lobbyism and political interference in Asian cricketing boards is there for everyone to see and read.

Thats one reason why there was a trophy dearth from 1960 till 1983 and then from 1985 until 2011 and from 2013 until 2024.

Whenever individuals like Dhoni / Jaywant lele/ Pawar etc were made absolute power gods as players/ administrators , team selection and legacies went for a toss and country suffered

Due to Vengarkar Gangulys team building era we had a pool of players that ensured top 4 finishes.. but Excessive meddling from Dhoni and his era bosses made sure horrible team selections post champion trophy 2013 right until wc odi 2023 final which we lost again due to excessive interference and overthinking on choice of pitch and dubious team selection of kl rahul and **** show of kohli etc in final.

just because ecb chiefs doesn't visit starmer etc doesnt mean sports boards arent controlled by their elected heads.

it happens everywhere. Silvio berlusconi was invovled in italian football .. and so on

Why did he get an upset stomach for CT final?
I am sure if Pakistan hadnt qualified for the final, Naqvi would have been sitting back in Islamabad.

Exactly, don't forget Rajiv Shukla, Anurag Thakur, Arun Dhumal. They all are from political background. Unfortunately in Asia, cricketing boards and all affairs are all controlled by politicians

Yes ICC should crack down on PCB and Naqvi. Navqi should know that he is ACC chairman not just home minister of Pakistan.

I can see ICC banned him in coming months.

India team players should have stopped handshaking with pak players long back when In 2023 world cup former PCB chairman Zakaria Ashraf termed India as dushman mulk

This is a good, solidly written post that has shone a light on the darkening future that awaits this game if things are allowed to get out of hand.

And coming from this forummer too!

What happened @Major did the intrusive ideas demon vanish for a bit there, and the good guy sitting on your other shoulder win today?

This is a good, solidly written post that has shone a light on the darkening future that awaits this game if things are allowed to get out of hand.

And coming from this forummer too!

What happened @Major did the intrusive ideas demon vanish for a bit there, and the good guy sitting on your other shoulder win today?
The post by Major just shows how ignorant he is about football but still posts with such great confidence.
👏