The South African declaration today, what did it actually show/prove?

MenInG

PakPassion Administrator
Staff member
Runs
Still trying to understand.

Was it someway of staying not out or was it taking away from Australia the satisfaction of bowling out SA?

I am no stats expert but have their been other such declarations on the first day of a Test match?

Maybe Du Plesis wanted to take 4-5 wickets and put preassure on he homeside?

To take advantage of the pink ball under lights I suppose. Didn't pay off but might see similar declarations in future in D/N Tests.

It happens a lot in the day night shield games

To take advantage of the pink ball under lights I suppose. Didn't pay off but might see similar declarations in future in D/N Tests.

Do we see Pakistan ever doing this? I mean who knows the last wicket could have got them another 100 runs?

To take advantage of the conditions. You'd much rather bowl more overs at night than get 30 more runs and bowl midday under the sun.

Was it someway of staying not out or was it taking away from Australia the satisfaction of bowling out SA?

I am no stats expert but have their been other such declarations on the first day of a Test match?

Many, many, many in past - last I can recall is Clarke in IND. In Old days, when cricket was played on uncovered wickets, often Captains declared instantly after a rain break to use the "sticky dog". In County, this was very common to declare after 100 overs of Day 1 (105-110 overs/day was standard then) after the bonus points were settled (which was based at the score of 100 overs).

Many, many, many in past - last I can recall is Clarke in IND. In Old days, when cricket was played on uncovered wickets, often Captains declared instantly after a rain break to use the "sticky dog". In County, this was very common to declare after 100 overs of Day 1 (105-110 overs/day was standard then) after the bonus points were settled (which was based at the score of 100 overs).