The Talibanization/Arabization of Pakistan

chacha kashmiri

Recently i went away to Pakistan to visit some family and i was astonished at how the Pakistan i loved and cherished has turned into such a backward mess of molvis and bearded fundos

It all started when i tried to book my ticket with British Airways, no , i was told, they said you have to book it with an arab airline now, British Airways no longer does Pakistan
Fine , i said, i will travel with the arabs but i will not eat their food or speak their language

Next , i had to get a visa, this was even more strenuous, due to mullahs getting training in pakistani camps, i now had to fork out nearly 5 times the amount and also had to take 2 passport photos!

On the plane there i was hounded by arab women in their red veils and most the announcements were in arab, i could not take this.
There were even bollywood films dubbed in arab for selection!

Finally after having to get another plane just so that i could spent time in arab lounge and be further indoctrinated by having to buy my Mcdonalds from a chinese women with an arab looking accent i finally landed in Islamabad.

The next 2 weeks were sheer hell as i was greeted with words like salam and people kept talking talk to me about politics with arab words like hukoom
I was even given the scare of my life when a skinny looking man with a great beard was hovering around the bin, i thought he was about to blow me up!

The worst thing was when i went to a major shopping centre in islamabad, indoors, with all the major outlets and decided to have a leak, the nearest place i could find was the wudhu khana for the mullahs and to my disgust there was no soap to wash my hands with

You should have popped over to Clifton beach in Karachi. I heard the maulvis are wearing cut off denim shorts and kiss me quick hats. Or at least they are when Nostalgic hits town.

Trust me, you don't want to get me started on this subject.

You're back? I thought you'd been kidnapped by the TTP North America wing.

"Crunch mode" on a project, as the Americans call it.

The boss is out sick today though, and I'm determined to "play hookey," also as the Americans call it.

There are only so many 4 hours of sleep nights a man can take before he breaks down. Back to the grind tomorrow though.

Recently i went away to Pakistan to visit some family and i was astonished at how the Pakistan i loved and cherished has turned into such a backward mess of molvis and bearded fundos

It all started when i tried to book my ticket with British Airways, no , i was told, they said you have to book it with an arab airline now, British Airways no longer does Pakistan
Fine , i said, i will travel with the arabs but i will not eat their food or speak their language

Next , i had to get a visa, this was even more strenuous, due to mullahs getting training in pakistani camps, i now had to fork out nearly 5 times the amount and also had to take 2 passport photos!

On the plane there i was hounded by arab women in their red veils and most the announcements were in arab, i could not take this.

Finally after having to get another plane just so that i could spent time in arab lounge and be further indoctrinated by having to buy my Mcdonalds from a chinese women with an arab looking accent i finally landed in Islamabad.

The next 2 weeks were sheer hell as i was greeted with words like salam and people kept talking talk to me about politics with arab words like hukoom
I was even given the scare of my life when a skinny looking man with a great beard was hovering around the bin, i thought he was about to blow me up!

The worst thing was when i went to a major shopping centre in islamabad, indoors, with all the major outlets and decided to have a leak, the nearest place i could find was the wudhu khana for the mullahs and to my disgust there was no soap to wash my hands with

What about PIA? They still have flights from UK to pakistan?

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

You're complaining about an Arab airline giving announcements in Arabic and having Arab women on board?

Also, 'Arabization' is not Islamization. The problem with liberal Pakistanis is that they keep lumping all Arabs into one huge group.
If you're referring to those khaleejis such as Saudis, Kuwaitis, Emiratis, and Omanis and so on, then call them Khaleejis.
Because there are moderate to liberal Arabs such as Lebanese, Syrians, Egyptians, Jordanians Tunisians, Algerians and so on who are nothing like the khaleejis. They also do not look down on non-Arabs at all.

As for the 'Arabization' of Pakistan, it's really not hard to understand why this happens. Desis have a habit of confusing culture with religion all the time.

And I don't know what your religious beliefs are, but it's quite disrespectful to refer Islam as 'backwards' and a 'mulla and fundo religion' if you're a Muslim.

One last thing, Urdu is a language that has been heavily influenced by Farsi, Hindi, Sanskrit and Arabic. A lot of the 'normal' Urdu words that you use are taken from Arabic. So I don't know why Arabic words are offending you.
Also you wouldn't have the same complaint if there were more English words in the conversations, would you? Because English = Progress?

What a lame thread! no soap in public toilet made you think its Talbanization along with some words like hukoom which are common among masses. You should have turned on the Tv or visit some markets or a lunch/dinner in a restaurant as Khiva to see how much talbanization is there infact we average pakistani's feel that mulk mai behayai bohat ho gai hai

Hukum is not an arabic word afaik. It's either Turkish or Farsi.

And OP spelled ''Bakistan'' wrong.

This is the funniest thread I have read, not sure if sarcasm or serious though

You're complaining about an Arab airline giving announcements in Arabic and having Arab women on board?

Also, 'Arabization' is not Islamization. The problem with liberal Pakistanis is that they keep lumping all Arabs into one huge group.
If you're referring to those khaleejis such as Saudis, Kuwaitis, Emiratis, and Omanis and so on, then call them Khaleejis.
Because there are moderate to liberal Arabs such as Lebanese, Syrians, Egyptians, Jordanians Tunisians, Algerians and so on who are nothing like the khaleejis. They also do not look down on non-Arabs at all.

As for the 'Arabization' of Pakistan, it's really not hard to understand why this happens. Desis have a habit of confusing culture with religion all the time.

And I don't know what your religious beliefs are, but it's quite disrespectful to refer Islam as 'backwards' and a 'mulla and fundo religion' if you're a Muslim.

One last thing, Urdu is a language that has been heavily influenced by Farsi, Hindi, Sanskrit and Arabic. A lot of the 'normal' Urdu words that you use are taken from Arabic. So I don't know why Arabic words are offending you.
Also you wouldn't have the same complaint if there were more English words in the conversations, would you? Because English = Progress?

That's exactly what i'm talking about
Last time i went people made an effort to speak english with me

Now they all say alhamdulilah and babble on in some twist of urdu mixed with some foriegn arab sounding words

and on top of that, what's the need in having 5 mosques all doing adhaan for the same prayer, can they not be synchronised or something, i mean man's gta get some sleep

What a lame thread! no soap in public toilet made you think its Talbanization along with some words like hukoom which are common among masses. You should have turned on the Tv or visit some markets or a lunch/dinner in a restaurant as Khiva to see how much talbanization is there infact we average pakistani's feel that mulk mai behayai bohat ho gai hai

That's the thing
I did go to the bazaars and all i found were afghans men in some bizarre pale white tone speaking some mumbo jumbo selling chips and offering to take photos of me in cable cars

These men didn't smile much and didn't really make convo with my wife either, which i found quite weird

The worst example of this talibinization was when i went to a kind of theme park in lahore and teen boys and girls were getting dirty looks by some men in beards and even the covert hidden mullahs with no beards just because they were going around together in the park, holding hands etc, and in near pitch black at around 11pm

I live in Pakistan. OP is having a laugh. What has actually Pakistan become is "P o r n i s t a n".
Young generation is having loose moral values. Society is becoming self centered.
If you go to govt funded schools or universities yes washrooms can be really bad. Or sometimes similar situation is with mosques(there are hundreds in number). Again Pakistan is still a third world country. Sometime you might be unlucky not to get soaps. However, title is very misleading and far from actual reality. No one is carrying bombs with themselves.

and on top of that, what's the need in having 5 mosques all doing adhaan for the same prayer, can they not be synchronised or something, i mean man's gta get some sleep

Darpa-e-Azaar Hai Ek Waiz-e-Gumbad-Gullu
Loudspeaker bhi uss ke samnay maujood hai
Rehta hai ek beemar bhi humsayay mein
Kya kisi ko phir kisi ka imtehaan maqsood hai?

Today this bit of poetry would be labelled blasphemous. And why not. It is of course the divine right of the aforementioned Waiz-e-Gumbad-Gullu to bellow from the pulpit. It shows Islam is alive and kicking.

At the very least, he is.

That's exactly what i'm talking about
Last time i went people made an effort to speak english with me

Now they all say alhamdulilah and babble on in some twist of urdu mixed with some foriegn arab sounding words

9 out of 10 mosques are not even full. Isn't it irony?
And you are saying Pakistan is Taliban state.

I live in Pakistan. OP is having a laugh. What has actually Pakistan become is "P o r n i s t a n".
Young generation is having loose moral values. Society is becoming self centered.
If you go to govt funded schools or universities yes washrooms can be really bad. Or sometimes similar situation is with mosques(there are hundreds in number). Again Pakistan is still a third world country. Sometime you might be unlucky not to get soaps. However, title is very misleading and far from actual reality. No one is carrying bombs with themselves.

It was really shocking, there's this big indoors mall where persian rugs cost over £200 and you can buy ben sherman shirts etc and i had to get tissues out the bin to clean my bum with
The mullahs really should look after their wash rooms better

9 out of 10 mosques are not even full. Isn't it irony?
And you are saying Pakistan is Taliban state.

Tbh, the mosques in britain are more packed than the ones in pakistan but that's probably coz everyone prays at madrassahs rather than masjids in pk

It was really shocking, there's this big indoors mall where persian rugs cost over £200 and you can buy ben sherman shirts etc and i had to get tissues out the bin to clean my bum with
The mullahs really should look after their wash rooms better

What were you doing in a mosque? No water there??

Tbh, the mosques in britain are more packed than the ones in pakistan but that's probably coz everyone prays at madrassahs rather than masjids in pk

There are no separate madrassahs in Pakistan. People go to study and learn Quran inside a mosque. Or hire some private tutors.

That's why your title is misleading.

As a Pakistani living in Pakistan, british muslims scare the hell out of me . They look real Talibans.

As a Taliban state I expect everyone sporting a 6 ft beard and mosques full of namazi.

There are no separate madrassahs in Pakistan. People go to study and learn Quran inside a mosque. Or hire some private tutors.

As a Pakistani living in Pakistan, british muslims scare the hell out of me . They look real Talibans.

As a Taliban state I expect everyone sporting a 6 ft beard and mosques full of namazi.

We look real Taliban ?
Lmao

Sent from my XT1032 using Tapatalk

The only mosque like that in britain are the sufis ones and they are pretty militant , i grew up in that kind of environment

Pakistan is very much liberal in many ways and calling it something else is pure nonsense.
That's my take on this whole issue. I have lived here all my life. I am not taking a short vacation and making my own generalizations based on few incidents. If you come to visit cinemas or shopping malls, hotels in other cities, you will get first class washroom facilities as well.

Pakistan is very much liberal in many ways and calling it something else is pure nonsense.
That's my take on this whole issue. I have lived here all my life. I am not taking a short vacation and making my own generalizations based on few incidents. If you come to visit cinemas or shopping malls, hotels in other cities, you will get first class washroom facilities as well.

Where would you suggest
I've been lahore and islamabad and the fundos in islamabad praying on sidewalks etc and selling burqas and abayas along with normal lenghas and sleeveless shalwar kameez really put me off

Where would you suggest
I've been lahore and islamabad and the fundos in islamabad praying on sidewalks etc and selling burqas and abayas along with normal lenghas and sleeveless shalwar kameez really put me off

I have been to Lahore. Lahori girls are really hot :) It is up to you to see good things and ignore bad things. I see only good things. I don't look at fundos.
I have been to Islamabad. I don't know what to see there.

If you go to a mosque, don;t expect strip club there.
If you go to a strip club, don't expect Islam there.

Visit shopping malls and have a look at biknis, bras, lingeries etc

Ignore burqas, abayas etc

lol

chachas friday night special, eh? kudos for stringing along so many people, much respect.

talking of anecdotes, i was once on a bus full of beardy brothers, had a blast. fortunately got off two stops earlier. :batman:

chachas friday night special, eh? kudos for stringing along so many people, much respect.

talking of anecdotes, i was once on a bus full of beardy brothers, had a blast. fortunately got off two stops earlier. :batman:

Lol MI5 gonna come through that window any minute now .

im wearing 3d glasses and have a cricket bat in a few steps reach, so obviously i can take on the world, just so long as chacha doesnt come along with them. chacha working for the mi5, now thats a thought.

Lol do em like Afridi .Now that would be jokes . Just imagine chacha wearing some shades dressed in an orange jumpsuit smashing through a window lol .

only to find out hes ended up in an islamabad brothel, oh well, doggy2020 wont be able to sleep tonite. any time he hears a chopper he'll wake up in a cold sweat.

Pakistan is an 'Islamic Republic' only in name. Having said that, OP got me initially then I realized it was a good piece of sacasm.

Dude this whole thread was nothing but sarcasm from chacha lol. Sorry if you didn't get the memo .

The experiences are real though , just with a different spin to them

I have been to Lahore. Lahori girls are really hot It is up to you to see good things and ignore bad things. I see only good things. I don't look at fundos.
I have been to Islamabad. I don't know what to see there.

If you go to a mosque, don;t expect strip club there.
If you go to a strip club, don't expect Islam there.

Visit shopping malls and have a look at biknis, bras, lingeries etc

Ignore burqas, abayas etc

I'm off to pak iA, within the next week so i hope the taliban police don't stop me at every corner

Lol at doggy's posts. In my book, if your most vibrant place is shopping malls, you are as dead a country as uae.

only pakistanis would take the time out to make digs at liberals when they aren't even remotely relevant to the real problem...

The liberal part of liberals aren't the problem. The liberal themselves are lunatics.

The problem is with Mullahs. Not Islam. Most liberals are targeting Islam. For once, why not follow Islam?

Second, the top Liberals of the country are MQM, PPP and ANP. You get my point.

Good post. Although obviously not every maulvi is at fault either.

talibanization and arabization of Pakistan is a fact. I don't know how you think its funny.

Go to Lahore and you will see Al Bakistani number plates everywhere.

Mullahs have free unchallenged rule. You stand up against them, they will lynch you for blasphemy and torch your home.

talibanization and arabization of Pakistan is a fact. I don't know how you think its funny.

Go to Lahore and you will see Al Bakistani number plates everywhere.

Mullahs have free unchallenged rule. You stand up against them, they will lynch you for blasphemy and torch your home.

So either you're a coward for not standing up against them or are lying since you've not been lynched.

This hate against the scholars of deen is disgusting.

The problem is with Mullahs. Not Islam. Most liberals are targeting Islam. For once, why not follow Islam?

Second, the top Liberals of the country are MQM, PPP and ANP. You get my point.

these parties aren't liberal by any stretch of the imagination...

What kind of logic is that anyways? Why not follow islam? What happened to freedom of choice and freedom to dissent? If something is interpreted according to islam that I'm not in favor of such as the blasphemy law, or the apostate death penalty I should just shut up and follow?

the problem is most definitely with our countries implementation of islam as a state religion.

the problem is not limited to Pakistan alone. I am from Kerala state, India. here also Sunni muslims(Mappila) are embracing Salaffism/Wahabbism and there are political parties and groups who wants to implement the "proper" Islam, the one which is implemented in Saudia? may be?.
women, back in the 80s and 70s never wore shuttlecock attire in Kerala. but, slowly it is implemented. and today, the muslims are divided as two: one following medieval culture and dressing, implement strict rules and the others, who are progressive. I am from the same district(Ernakulam) where a Syrian Catholic Professor's hand is chopped of for defaming Islamic prophet while he may not have purposefully done that. Dar-ul-Khada's are set up and parallel courts are running.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Assault_on_T._J._Joseph

IMO, Arabization is inevitable part as it is a part of the belief system. People from western countries, India see Saudia with contempt. they must be surely jealous of Saudi. Saudi, which is well ahead in "peaceful nature" where people from Indian subcontinent, women-children who lives worse as it is back in medieval times.

I again reiterate, for the sake of blind mofos, I am not a Hindu, but a minority Abrahamic faith follower from India. don't make assumptions.

Can't believe it took 8 posts to realise the OP is being sarcastic. The OP is a known Taliban sympathiser and is making light of a serious issue.

making light of a serious issue.

+1, fun and satire is good but probably not that suited for serious issues that are threatening the very social fabric of nation IMO.

I'm off to pak iA, within the next week so i hope the taliban police don't stop me at every corner

just do some Dhamal singing Ho lal meri pat. Rakhyo bala jhoolay lalan sindhri da sevan da Sakhi Shahbaz Qalandar. Dama dam mast Qalander

All Taliban/"Arabs(saudis)" will disappear. :amin, and very "indigenous" way too ;-)

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x19gdel_noor-jehan-lal-meri-pat-dama-dam-mast-sakhi-shahbaz-dilan-de-sode-1969-lollywood-panjabi-hit-pakista_music

Really? :91:

I thought that was just a put down used on this site.

salman+rashid+caux.jpg

Saudification has been happening in earnest for decades now. Even if we ignore terrorism and madrasahs for a minute and focus just on the mainstream, it is there.

There is the gratuitous use of "Al." Stroll down the average bazaar and look at the names of the shops. They are all Al-this and Al-that. Off the top of my head, in my neighborhood there was an Al-Jannat chemist, an Al-Qazi grocers, an Al-Khidmat doctor, and an Al-Faisal clothing store.

Speaking of Faisal, this name, and the name Saud, were unknown in Pakistan until we became the chattels of the "Muqaddas Mulk." You'll see an inordinate number of kids (and 20- and 30-somethings) named Saud and Faisal. Soon enough there will be Bandars too. I even knew a Shah Saud, a Shehzada Faisal, and a Faisal bin Saud in school, nevermind the run-of-the-mill Sauds, Faisals, Jasims, Tamims and Hamads.

Speaking of "Bin," people have started adding it (and Binte for girls) as part of their kids' names.

We have taken to naming highways and towns after the monarchs of Nejd. What really gets my goat (camel?) is that eyesore of a mosque blighting the capital. It had to look like a Bedouin tent, and it had to be named after that king, didn't it? They were even planning on uprooting the spruces and cedars and pines and planting date palms in their stead.

More on the religious mass conversion to Wahhabism later.

the title of the thread can be modified to include India also, since the problem is common :) . Arabization is happening in India also in large scale. Salaffis/Wahabbis are increasing their influence.

Saudification has been happening in earnest for decades now. Even if we ignore terrorism and madrasahs for a minute and focus just on the mainstream, it is there.

There is the gratuitous use of "Al." Stroll down the average bazaar and look at the names of the shops. They are all Al-this and Al-that. Off the top of my head, in my neighborhood there was an Al-Jannat chemist, an Al-Qazi grocers, an Al-Khidmat doctor, and an Al-Faisal clothing store.

Speaking of Faisal, this name, and the name Saud, were unknown in Pakistan until we became the chattels of the "Muqaddas Mulk." You'll see an inordinate number of kids (and 20- and 30-somethings) named Saud and Faisal. Soon enough there will be Bandars too. I even knew a Shah Saud, a Shehzada Faisal, and a Faisal bin Saud in school, nevermind the run-of-the-mill Sauds, Faisals, Jasims, Tamims and Hamads.

Speaking of "Bin," people have started adding it (and Binte for girls) as part of their kids' names.

We have taken to naming highways and towns after the monarchs of Nejd. What really gets my goat (camel?) is that eyesore of a mosque blighting the capital. It had to look like a Bedouin tent, and it had to be named after that king, didn't it? They were even planning on uprooting the spruces and cedars and pines and planting date palms in their stead.

More on the religious mass conversion to Wahhabism later.

And these things , we can still tolerate it as long as they are not forced on people who don`t want to follow this . Okay , so I am a ' pseudo liberal ' , that is my CHOICE just like you choose to be an Arab slave . Stop killing innocent people if they don`t want to be like you because they don`t have to be .

the title of the thread can be modified to include India also, since the problem is common :) . Arabization is happening in India also in large scale. Salaffis/Wahabbis are increasing their influence.

But India is more diverse than Pakistan , not being dominated by just one state . The problem is much worse in Pakistan , the most conservative and religious province also happens to the most dominating . They don`t need any other province`s approval on anything because they form more than half the population of Pakistan . 95% of Pakistan is Muslim , infighting between different sects is directly affecting the social fabric of the country !

This is just the modern version of invasion of South Asia . An ideology is being forced on us , there are mass killings , threats , selling out of leaders just to gain control of South Asia .

But India is more diverse than Pakistan , not being dominated by just one state . The problem is much worse in Pakistan , the most conservative and religious province also happens to the most dominating . They don`t need any other province`s approval on anything because they form more than half the population of Pakistan . 95% of Pakistan is Muslim , infighting between different sects is directly affecting the social fabric of the country !

This is just the modern version of invasion of South Asia . An ideology is being forced on us , there are mass killings , threats , selling out of leaders just to gain control of South Asia .

that is true. Muslims of India are scattered all around. but, majority are still in the UP-Bihar-Bengal belt and Hyderabad, Kerala regions. Shias may be huge in numbers IMO atleast 30% of all Muslims in India? then, Sunnis are divided by different states, their cultural differences. some isolated groups like Pathans live among their own villages. there is no unity although, Bombay riots against atrocities against Assam/Burmese muslims showed Muslims in India are united also but not like Pakistan.

however, I believe north Indian and Pakistani Sunnis are influenced by two big Islamic seminaries called Barelavi and Devband in Uttar Pradesh. I may be wrong.

Lately what I've been finding really irksome is my compatriots on LinkedIn using photographs of the Holy Cities as profile pictures, and then posting status messages with those pictures with comments such as "Like if you're a Muslim." It comes across almost as an order.

LinkedIn isn't Facebook or Twitter. Why do they feel compelled to advertise their faith on a professional network? No other nationality, not even those Saudis, do this.

To me this just appears to be a symptom of a larger malaise. Not faith per se, but this desire to advertise it at every opportunity. To get the rest of the world to acknowledge that you're Muslim, as if the rest of the world had any doubts to begin with.

Where is this coming from? What exactly in our collective national consciousness of our past was so un-Islamic that we feel compelled to make amends or over-compensate for it?

I don't know much about it, but this is the funniest post I've read this week :)))

that picture of the number plate is truly distressing, someone forgot to put the washer under the left bolt. just looks wrong