[VIDEO] ECP issues arrest warrants for Imran Khan and other PTI leaders

Lonewarrior

First Class Star
Shah Mahmood Qureshi warning of impending arrest of Imran Khan

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">تحریک انصاف کے کارکنان کو کہتا ہوں تیار رہیں —شاہ محمود قریشی <a href="https://t.co/0LjQsNJorE">pic.twitter.com/0LjQsNJorE</a></p>— Eᴀsᴛ Cᴏᴀsᴛ Aᴠᴇɴɢᴇʀ &#55357;&#56618;™ (@ArtistInWarTime) <a href="https://twitter.com/ArtistInWarTime/status/1561422097729060864?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 21, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

8oQbNJ4.png

I wasnt born when 71 happend, but i am seeing whats going on in 2022 .....
people should stormed the capital right now .....
enough is enough .....

If there was ever a dumb move in politics, this is it.

This is just political suicide for PMLN.

Banning Imran's speeches on media was a step too far when you couldn't control him. But after his success on Youtube, Govt couldnt take it and now planning to go for something stupid.

Arresting him is no issue if Army sends in troops. But arresting him will get the govt nothing. Just a political suicide and nothing else.

I wasnt born when 71 happend, but i am seeing whats going on in 2022 .....
people should stormed the capital right now .....
enough is enough .....

People can stop Isb Police, but people cant stop if army decides to jump in. What happened in 71 was because the army was in action and 2022 can also repeat if army joins in. Islamabad Police cant do zilch here...

If protest needs to be done, its so be done in Pindi not ISB. This country can move on when we do protest in Rawalpindi in saddar.

There was an argument, and rightly so, that the previous regime under the IK government was a hybrid regime. However, it is becoming clear by the day that Pakistan is practically under a coup right now. I am really hoping sanity prevails and the political parties come to the negotiation table. Power needs to be taken back from ‘the boys’ for the sake of the country.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This is not only a gross violation of freedom of speech but also negatively affects the digital media industry and the livelihoods of many. What they need to understand is that no matter what they do, they cannot suppress the will of the people which is Haqeeqi Azadi.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1561409267663601664?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 21, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

People can stop Isb Police, but people cant stop if army decides to jump in. What happened in 71 was because the army was in action and 2022 can also repeat if army joins in. Islamabad Police cant do zilch here...

If protest needs to be done, its so be done in Pindi not ISB. This country can move on when we do protest in Rawalpindi in saddar.

If 50 million Pakistanis take to the streets even Bajwas father wont be able to stop them.

I agree with other posters, enough is enough. Pakistanis need to take matter into their own hands.

They should storm Bilos house, capture him, then Sharif and the Molvi. Finally they should stand outside Army HQ and demand the traitor Bajwa resigns. There are many high ranking officers who are against Bajwa, they will not allow the army to gun down millions of people.

Your hero Bhuttos time is near to conclusion.

If 50 million Pakistanis take to the streets even Bajwas father wont be able to stop them.

I agree with other posters, enough is enough. Pakistanis need to take matter into their own hands.

They should storm Bilos house, capture him, then Sharif and the Molvi. Finally they should stand outside Army HQ and demand the traitor Bajwa resigns. There are many high ranking officers who are against Bajwa, they will not allow the army to gun down millions of people.

Agree. Perfect opportunity to rid of these pathetic leaches. There's no way the awaam will allow imran to be sidelined. Theres s strong possibility we will witness a watershed moment and Pakistan will be free from the corrupt establishment/mafia once and for all.

If there was ever a dumb move in politics, this is it.

This is just political suicide for PMLN.

Banning Imran's speeches on media was a step too far when you couldn't control him. But after his success on Youtube, Govt couldnt take it and now planning to go for something stupid.

Arresting him is no issue if Army sends in troops. But arresting him will get the govt nothing. Just a political suicide and nothing else.

Your friends are desperate. Fake cases, banning, torture and murder haven't worked so now onto plan Z.

Agree. Perfect opportunity to rid of these pathetic leaches. There's no way the awaam will allow imran to be sidelined. Theres s strong possibility we will witness a watershed moment and Pakistan will be free from the corrupt establishment/mafia once and for all.

Imo its the only opportunity in Pakistani history to once and for all end the ruling corruption to finally set up a government which cares for the people.

They cannot allow Imran to be arrested, the traitors have been told by the Zionists, Americans and others to take him out. This will lead to a civil war ruining Pakistan like Sri Lanka.

This is swim or sink for the PK awaam. If he gets arrested and the public give an indifferent reaction and only the PTI workers are out, then say good bye to PK democracy. A seminal moment

I saw a video from liberty chowk and crowd are shouting model town chaley. What is in model town?

I think storming Bilawal house or house of sharifs etc will not achieve anything. It will just give them a counter narrative. I think it’s high time that all parties realize that PTI, PMLN and PPP are all political realities in Pakistan. I hope sanity prevails and these parties sit down on a table without the boys intervening. A political framework needs to be created which restricts the power currently held by neutrals. The entire country is brought to its knees every three years when the COAS term is up.

If even a 100,000 people show up for Dharna in ISB the country will be totally jammed.

I think storming Bilawal house or house of sharifs etc will not achieve anything. It will just give them a counter narrative. I think it’s high time that all parties realize that PTI, PMLN and PPP are all political realities in Pakistan. I hope sanity prevails and these parties sit down on a table without the boys intervening. A political framework needs to be created which restricts the power currently held by neutrals. The entire country is brought to its knees every three years when the COAS term is up.

The horse has bolted for any sanity or decency from these crooks. Now they have the audacity to threaten IK with arrest , for them to torture him?

Instead it should be shown to them the people will not tolerate this any longer.

What it will achieve is the end of their presence in Pakistani air.

The horse has bolted for any sanity or decency from these crooks. Now they have the audacity to threaten IK with arrest , for them to torture him?

Instead it should be shown to them the people will not tolerate this any longer.

What it will achieve is the end of their presence in Pakistani air.

Both you and I know that the threats IK is facing right now are coming from somewhere else, PDM is just the face. I support IK but I have come to the realization that the real problem with Pakistan does not stem from the Bhuttos or the Sharifs. It stems from those jinke naam se sabki kaanpein tangti hain.

Top post but these political parties can’t do anything against establishment, ZAB and IK have done their best.

The establishment is always able to create a narrative this time they failed due to IK being a great Orator and also social media.

I mean Pak establishment even censored Ms. Fatima Jinnah almost since inception.

Both you and I know that the threats IK is facing right now are coming from somewhere else, PDM is just the face. I support IK but I have come to the realization that the real problem with Pakistan does not stem from the Bhuttos or the Sharifs. It stems from those jinke naam se sabki kaanpein tangti hain.

I agree but its not as cut & dry as people think. There are many high rankers who oppose the highest rankers. Pakistanis need to stop being afraid of them, they are no match against the people and in any conflict those not happy with their own will stand with the people.

Its either this or wait until IK is taken, tortured and god forbid killed. This event will not only send Pak into a huge civil war, this will change the region and put the region at serious risk.

Top post but these political parties can’t do anything against establishment, ZAB and IK have done their best.

The establishment is always able to create a narrative this time they failed due to IK being a great Orator and also social media.

I mean Pak establishment even censored Ms. Fatima Jinnah almost since inception.

I think if the 3 big parties jointly come to an agreement to not be used as an establishment pawn and stick to it, than a way forward can be created. As you mentioned, times have changed and people are not as easily silenced.

I agree but its not as cut & dry as people think. There are many high rankers who oppose the highest rankers. Pakistanis need to stop being afraid of them, they are no match against the people and in any conflict those not happy with their own will stand with the people.

Its either this or wait until IK is taken, tortured and god forbid killed. This event will not only send Pak into a huge civil war, this will change the region and put the region at serious risk.

I really hope before any of that someone thinks about the greater good of the country and creates an atmosphere for dialogue, otherwise as you mentioned the country is in serious threat of heading towards a massive disaster.

We have to remember after Mushys 1999 military coup the army took a lot of heat from around the world. Now it will be very difficult for them to do anything similar, as many nations will use this as excuse to add sanctions which would send Pakistan the same way as Sri Lanka, which would be the end of army rule.

You are dealing with 'Satanic' forces outside of the country who are behind this, we dont need to mention who as some on here inc Pakistanis will start crying racism or people of the book.

Huge respect for the people who are outside Bani Gala now.

The neutral Generals don't care, it's as if a promise they have made or the blackmail they face has cornered them. Neither the Nooras or the modern PPP have a democratic bone in their bodies, so it's a fight to the death between 2 opposing forces with totally different views about PKs future. On the one hand Kaptaan wants a modern, progressive PK and on the other, we have 2 families who are only interested in power and don't care and never have for PK.

PDM is deliberately trying to create conditions for the army to declare martial law.

The neutral Generals don't care, it's as if a promise they have made or the blackmail they face has cornered them. Neither the Nooras or the modern PPP have a democratic bone in their bodies, so it's a fight to the death between 2 opposing forces with totally different views about PKs future. On the one hand Kaptaan wants a modern, progressive PK and on the other, we have 2 families who are only interested in power and don't care and never have for PK.

I have a slightly different viewpoint. Like I mentioned, I support PTI/IK like many here but it needs to be accepted that PTI is not the only political force in Pakistan. As much as we disagree, PMLN and PPP both have significant vote bank and are political realities within the country. I think all parties should now have a realization that using establishment as a political tool only leads to more harm. For the greater good of the country, the three major parties need to jointly agree on a political framework that reduces reliance on establishment and paves way for democracy to prevail.

cute post, but you dont live in this country nor understand its problems.

If the army wants, they can easily arrest him. Which is why a protest in rawalpindi holds more value

At what cost? There is a huge cost that potentially comes with arresting him.

Also I wonder what other army leaders think about the civil riots that will inevitably follow.

I think this is where this confrontation is headed. its not PDM or PML-N vs PTI. It is really Bajwa. PTI is putting so much pressure this way so the public wont accept him getting an extension.

I think thats the crux of it. It is always impossible till someone does it.

At what cost? There is a huge cost that potentially comes with arresting him.

Also I wonder what other army leaders think about the civil riots that will inevitably follow.

Oh bhai, read my first post and yhe post that replied to me and than this post to understand in what context im talking.

I dont support the barring of imran khan on tv or arrestin him on a stupid case. This is just personal vandetta and is political suicide by pmln.

However posters who think imran cannot be arrested well not by civil police. If the army wants, they can pull off anything, thus mever estimate the army when it comes to such matters

The way this imported government has abused Pakistani laws and its institutions with lies and fake cases is treason and they should be forced to face justice for the same.

I think this is where this confrontation is headed. its not PDM or PML-N vs PTI. It is really Bajwa. PTI is putting so much pressure this way so the public wont accept him getting an extension.

I think thats the crux of it. It is always impossible till someone does it.

Army isnt involved in this arrest. This is just pmln being typical pmln. The case that has been made is soo dumb, that he said something bad about us.

If army does get involved than there is no saving. Pti posters are happy that we stood up and wont allow his arrest, standing up to the civilian govt and its police is very easy.

If the army wants to arrest him, they will have no issue. But i dont think they are part of this current self goal that pmln just did or about to do on them.

Infact, imran going to jail only helps his political standing. If he goes behind bars, the elections would be interesting to watch as the majority seats can be taken by him.

Pmln is on self destruction. Even if they get govt, how are they gonna manage it because it will only be a coalition. Ppp can pull the switch on them anytime they want.

Rana qatils pets picture:-

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Yeh hai Wo beghairat who filed complaint against our Leader. If u know him you must boycott this poodle of rana sanaullah. People in islamabad spread his picture. He has sided with criminals. Nation must not forgive him <a href="https://t.co/4mSnTuHXFX">pic.twitter.com/4mSnTuHXFX</a></p>— Hassaan Niazi (@HniaziISF) <a href="https://twitter.com/HniaziISF/status/1561434629206425603?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 21, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Nothing seems to faze the Pakistani public. The Sri Lankans recently and Iranians in the past stormed their respective government premises for far less.

Large contingents of law-enforcement agencies, police commandos, Rangers and constabulary were deployed around the Banigala Sunday night, and all roads and pathways leading to the residence of former premier Imran Khan were sealed to avoid any untoward incident.

However, it was not yet decided whether Imran Khan would be arrested or put under house arrest, sources engaged in sketching the strategy of the operation told The News.

“Negotiations with Imran Khan are under way, as the PTI leader wants to avoid arrest or house arrest,” added the sources, saying that the authorities have multiple plans to handle the situation with the help of law-enforcement agencies, but were waiting for a green signal from the quarters concerned.

“Imran Khan is seeking the facility to approach the higher judiciary for obtaining relief, but he will have to surrender before the police as the first step,” the sources added.

The former premier is in contact with the party leadership on mobile phone and giving instructions in case of his arrest, sources added. PTI activists are gathering around Banigala, but no untoward incident was reported till the filing of the report.

According to sources, the interior ministry had sought written permission from the Prime Minister’s Office for the arrest of PTI chief. Sources said the arrest would be made with the consensus of all the parties in the ruling alliance.

Meanwhile, PPP leader and former president Asif Ali Zardari has opposed the arrest of Imran Khan. He believes that the arrest would cause political damage to the ruling alliance.

On the other hand, Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) President Maulana Fazlur Rehman did not give a clear viewpoint on Imran Khan’s arrest as PTI leader Murad Saeed claimed on Sunday night that the arrest warrants for Imran Khan had been issued.

Earlier, the federal government Sunday mulled over legal options for action against Imran Khan in the sedition case already filed against the party leader Shahbaz Gill.

According to official sources, at least two meetings were held at the interior ministry where legal options were mulled over for action against Imran Khan. “The interior ministry sought advice from attorney general for Pakistan (AGP) and the law ministry over two options: whether [Imran] Khan’s name could be added to the FIR registered against Shahbaz Gill or a new case should be registered against him,” added the sources.

The sources said the rally taken out in support of Shahbaz Gill in Islamabad also violated Section 144 and an FIR could also be registered over it. Separately, Interior Minister Rana Sanaullah Sunday said Khan had threatened the institutions in his speech on Saturday, regretting that the former prime minister threatened a female judge by her name.

Addressing a press conference here, he said the statements by Khan, a public office-holder, were “impeachable” and were being investigated for whether they constituted filing of a new case or that a reference could be added to the existing [Shahbaz Gill] case.

He said if Imran Khan was not arrested, he could bring a disaster on the nation. He said not only him but Prime Minister [Shahbaz Sharif] also wanted Imran Khan arrested over his tirade against the national institutions.

Sanaullah said the recent drama staged by the PTI, wherein it repeatedly alleged that party chairman Imran Khan’s chief of staff Shahbaz Gill was tortured, was nothing but a lie with the aim of diverting attention from the party’s anti-state narrative. “I can confirm as the interior minister that no torture was inflicted on Gill,” said Sanaullah.

The interior minister denounced Imran Khan’s remarks against the police and judiciary, saying “Imran Niazi’s narrative is an anti-state agenda”. Speaking of the divisive social media trends that were launched in the wake of the Lasbela helicopter tragedy in which six army personnel were martyred, Sanaullah alleged that it was an “organised campaign” that had the “support of Imran Khan”.

The minister said that many politicians had “spoken in the past about the interference of the establishment, but no one ever provoked anyone to stop obeying the orders of the command. Such a heinous conspiracy will neither be tolerated by the state, nor forgiven,” he warned.

On Sunday, the government also constituted a joint investigation team (JIT) to probe the first information report (FIR), registered against PTI Chairman Imran Khan under 7 ATA (Anti-Terrorism Act) on Saturday, for threatening an additional sessions judge and two top cops of the federal capital police, sources in the interior ministry said. Members of the team could be announced on Monday, he added.

The News and Daily Jang published the story in their Sunday editions regarding lodging of the FIR under terrorism act. The FIR (No. 407/22) said, “The protest rally against the arrest of Shahbaz Gill and demanding his release was led by Tehreek-e-Insaf Chairman Imran Khan, who addressed the rally at F/9 Park.

“Imran Khan, during his speech, threatened the top cops of the Islamabad Police and judiciary, saying, ‘Shame on IG and DIG. I will not spare you, I will take action against you and lodge cases against you.”

“Imran Khan, naming the judicial magistrate, said ‘Magistrate Sahiba Zeba! Get ready, I will take action against you; you all should be ashamed.’ “The purpose of Imran Khan’s speech in this style was to terrorise the police authorities and the judiciary so that the police and judiciary could not initiate legal proceedings, and could not take any legal action against the PTI or any of its workers due to the fear of Imran Khan.

“With the threatening speech of Khan, fear and panic spread among the police and the judiciary and people. Anxiety, insecurity and insecurity spread among the people. People have become terrorised. It is requested to take action against the accused and he should be punished according to the law for spreading chaos and creating unrest in the people by causing fear among them,” said the FIR.

Separately, responding to PTI Chairman Imran Khan’s speech at F/9 Park Saturday night, the capital police Sunday said they would continue to perform their duties diligently, adding that anyone hurling threats or allegations would be dealt with according to the law.

In a statement, the police said they took their work seriously, as their prime responsibility was protection of people and maintenance of law and order. “We have taken an oath to serve the nation in all circumstances,” said the statement. All the officers and jawans are rendering their services with full responsibility and they would continue doing so. “The police are an organised institution; we are bound to perform our duties in all circumstances,” the statement said.

“The Islamabad Capital Police, as an institution, will take legal action against all those involved in levelling false allegations,” the press statement concluded. Meanwhile, the Islamabad Police spokesperson said in a statement that security had not been withdrawn from Imran Khan. He rejected the propaganda of withdrawing of security from the Banigala residence of the former premier.

Earlier, PTI central leader Shireen Mazari said that the ‘imported’ government had withdrawn security of former premier Imran Khan, which was against the law. In a tweet on Sunday, she said the Islamabad Capital Territory (ICT) police had withdrawn all security from the former PM’s house. She said that was against the law, adding that “but who cares about the law in this imported government?”

She said that the rulers were busy ensuring full security for convict Maryam, who was continuously telling lies. The nation should know how conspirators were creating a life threat for Imran Khan, she added.

TheNews

The rumours of the arrest of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chairman and former premier Imran Khan have swirled on social media, ARY News reported on Sunday.

The rumours of Imran Khan’s arrest turned out to be just propaganda as routine police deployment was seen at the PTI chief’s Bani Gala residence.

According to ARY News correspondent, routine police security was seen at the Bani Gala residence as six to seven cops were deployed there.

A large number of PTI workers gathered outside Imran Khan’s residence, whereas, the central leaders also reached Bani Gala. Moreover, PTI activists have also gathered at Lahore’s Liberty Chowk.

The PTI workers raised slogans in the support of Imran Khan and ARY News.

Earlier, it emerged that police teams blocked the routes leading to Bani Gala residence of Imran Khan.

Unauthorised persons have been banned from travelling through the routes leading to Imran Khan’s residence. Police installed barbed wire to seal the routes, whereas, heavy contingents of the Frontier Corps (FC) were deployed.

The street lights of Imran Khan Chowk were turned off. Following the unusual movement, dozens of PTI workers reached Imran Khan Chowk.

The PTI leader Murad Saeed also claimed that the arrest warrant for Imran Khan was issued. He also called PTI workers to stay alert.

The development came after a terrorism case was against PTI Imran Khan under anti-terrorism for threatening an additional session judge.

According to details, an anti-terrorism case has been filed against Imran Khan for using derogatory language and threatening Additional Session Judge Zeba Chaudhry in his speech in Islamabad on August 20.

Sources say that the text of the PTI chief’s August 20 speech has also been included in the FIR.

Rana Sanaullah’s statement

Interior Minister Rana Sanaullah said earlier in the day that the PTI chief should get ready to face the law as he verbally threatened the IG, DIG and Magistrate Islamabad.

He added that the PTI chairman will have to be answerable for threatening the officers. Pakistan would turn into a jungle if the law did not take its way, Rana added.

Rana added that they could not let people challenge the government’s writ because it would fan extremism. PTI Cheif, addressing a party rally in Islamabad, said that they would lodge cases against the officers for torturing PTI leader Shahbaz Gill.

ARY

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman and deposed prime minister Imran Khan was booked in a terrorism case on the complaint of Islamabad Saddar Magistrate Ali Javed for threatening the additional sessions judge of the federal capital, Zeba Chaudhry.

The first information report (FIR), a copy of which is available with The Express Tribune, was lodged with the Margalla police station at 10 pm, Saturday, following a speech of Imran Khan at the PTI rally in F9 Park. The FIR also carries Section 7 of the Anti-Terrorism Act.

The FIR was lodged hours before another Islamabad police station received a written complaint from a resident of G-11/2 for lodging a case against Imran over making hate-speeches, and inciting rebellion against the army, police and judiciary.

The FIR lodged by the Margalla police said that the PTI chief threatened the additional sessions judge of Islamabad with a view to terrorise the high officials of the police and the judiciary, so that they could not fulfil their duties and refrain from taking action against the PTI due to fear of Imran.

The FIR was registered less than an hour after the PTI chief addressed party workers and supporters at a rally in Islamabad’s F-9 park to express solidarity with Shahbaz Gill, who was arrested on sedition charges on August 9.

A day earlier, Imran had shocked the nation when he alleged that Gill was sexually abused during detention. At the rally, he said that his party would approach the Supreme Court in connection with the alleged torture on his aide.

Imran alleged that Additional Sessions Judge Zeba Chaudhry knew that Gill was tortured, but she did not release him on bail. He threatened that he would take legal action against the judge and the Inspector general of Islamabad police.

Several sentences from Imran’s speech had been made part of the FIR. It said that Imran Khan’s speech in this design and style was aimed at spawning fear and panic among the police authorities, the judiciary and the public.

It added that Imran’s threat of “filing a case against you” had spread fear among the police authorities, the judiciary and the public and destroyed the peace in the country. The complainant requested the police to take legal action against the accused.

Separately, an application for registering a case against Imran Khan was filed with the Ramna police on Sunday. In his complaint, Advocate Ziaur Rahman accused the PTI chief of inciting the people to revolt against state institutions and using hate speech against the army, judiciary and police officers.

Rahman stated that on Saturday Imran announced that the PTI would file a case against Islamabad IG Dr Akbar Nasir Khan, the deputy inspector general (DIG) and Additional Sessions Judge Zeba Chaudhry. He said that the threat of filing case against the magistrate was tantamount to an “act of terrorism”.

He further complained that Imran was trying to prevent an honourable judge from performing her duties, adding that the PTI chief's speech at the party rally in F-9 Park on Saturday hurt the dignity and sentiments of both the judiciary and the bar. He requested the police to arrest Imran Ahmed Khan Niazi.

The Station House Officer (SHO) of the Ramna police station, Shahid Zaman, told The Express Tribune that no case had yet been registered on the application because the incident occurred in F-9 Park, which lay in the jurisdiction of Margalla Police Station.

On the other hand, a senior police officer, when contacted by The Express Tribune, said that apart from the crime scene and depending upon the nature of the allegations, a case could be registered in the police station in the residential area of the complainant.

Other police sources said that in the sedition case registered against Gill carried Section 134 of the Criminal Procedure Code (CrPC), which meant that the accused has committed the crime of inciting public rebellion against state institutions in consultation with several people. They added that Imran could become an accused in the case if solid evidence was found.

Legal action

Also on Sunday, Interior Minister Rana Sanaullah took to the microblogging website of Twitter, saying that the PTI chief would have to face legal consequences for “threatening” police officers and the magistrate during his speech at the Islamabad rally the other night.

“Imran Niazi will have to face the law for threatening and hurling abuses at the Magistrate and Police officers. Such acts of brazen thuggery are responsible for instigating extremism in society,” he said. “You [Imran Khan] are not allowed to challenge the writ of the state by inciting rebellion,” he added.

Separately, the Islamabad police responded on Sunday to warnings issued by the PTI chairman against the capital police a day ago, saying in a statement on Twitter that “anyone threatening the police or making false accusations will be dealt with according to the law”.

The capital police said in their tweet that they would continue to perform their duties diligently. They added that the police had taken an oath to serve the nation at all times. “All officers are rendering their services with complete responsibility and continue to discharge them,” they said.

“The police is an organised institution and we are bound to perform our duties. The police could not indulge in any mismanagement.” The Islamabad police reiterated that it would take lawful action against “all false allegations.”

Express Tribune

On second thoughts, I think the army are playing 8D chess with Pakistanis here. Don't take them for fools - it's how they have been in power be it in the foreground or background for 75 years after all.

They are building this hysteria and may well arrest Imran Khan, leading to a public wave of sympathy that might also vote him back to power. But inevitably after that the enthusiasm will wane, people's troubles won't ease, inflation will still bite, the PKR won't recover magically, and they will start questioning his worth after two tries in the hot seat.

Which will mean a permanent move back to the Sharif-Bhutto musical chairs for times to come.

On second thoughts, I think the army are playing 8D chess with Pakistanis here. Don't take them for fools - it's how they have been in power be it in the foreground or background for 75 years after all.

They are building this hysteria and may well arrest Imran Khan, leading to a public wave of sympathy that might also vote him back to power. But inevitably after that the enthusiasm will wane, people's troubles won't ease, inflation will still bite, the PKR won't recover magically, and they will start questioning his worth after two tries in the hot seat.

Which will mean a permanent move back to the Sharif-Bhutto musical chairs for times to come.

Nah, you are just playing too much chess. :P

Pakistanis are not as dumb as you make them they know IK does not have a magic wand to change Pakistan fortune just in few years all these issues were still there when he was in power people still whined and moaned yet they are still with him when he got removed.

With correct economic policies half of our problems can be solved.

But we are country where leaders would rather destroy the economy than to lose their seat. Politicians will side with army to take control just for the power.

Cpec and proper economic policies should had fixed our issues

With correct economic policies half of our problems can be solved.

But we are country where leaders would rather destroy the economy than to lose their seat. Politicians will side with army to take control just for the power.

Cpec and proper economic policies should had fixed our issues

We were on the right path rising exports and growing gdp were statistical indicators of better days ahead till your choars pulled a hiest and send us on path of destruction

Sure, whatever helps you sleep better at night

I have a slightly different viewpoint. Like I mentioned, I support PTI/IK like many here but it needs to be accepted that PTI is not the only political force in Pakistan. As much as we disagree, PMLN and PPP both have significant vote bank and are political realities within the country. I think all parties should now have a realization that using establishment as a political tool only leads to more harm. For the greater good of the country, the three major parties need to jointly agree on a political framework that reduces reliance on establishment and paves way for democracy to prevail.

The PPP and the Nooras are mafia fronts. How can you negotiate with thugs, and what do you negotiate about?

The darkest part of our history now unravelling in front of our eyes.

and even after 40 years since Bhutto's removal, this awaam still doesn't know who the bad guy is.

This is not the darkest part of our history. You can say it is the darkest part of our history so far. Many more will come.

Protesting against civilian govt and beating civilian police is very easy. You want real results do protest in Rawalpindi, but that is not gonna happen.

The Islamabad High Court on Monday granted PTI chief Imran Khan protective bail till Thursday (August 25) in a terrorism case registered against him for “threatening” a female judge and senior police officers at a public rally.

The ex-prime minister was booked on Sunday under Section 7 of the Anti-Terrorism Act (punishment for acts of terrorism) regarding his comments at his Islamabad rally on Saturday.

Earlier today, Imran’s lawyers Babar Awan and Faisal Chaudhry filed a petition seeking pre-arrest bail on his behalf in the IHC.

A two-member bench comprising Justice Mohsin Akhtar Kayani and Justice Babar Sattar took up the petition and asked about the objections raised by the registrar’s office.

Awan informed the judge that an objection pertaining to approaching the relevant forum was raised on the plea. Justice Kayani remarked that an objection pertaining to biometrics was also raised.

During the proceedings, Awan claimed that Imran’s Banigala residence had been “surrounded” and that “he cannot even approach the relevant court”. He urged the court to grant Imran protective bail so that the relevant forum could be approached.

“If the court wants to use its authority to grant pre-arrest bail, it’s your jurisdiction,” he added.

Justice Kayani observed that the relevant forum was the anti-terrorism court and ruled out the possibility of the IHC granting Imran pre-arrest bail at this point.

The court then approved Imran’s protective bail till Thursday and directed him to approach the relevant court by then.

However, Awan pleaded with the court to extend the bail by one more day. He contended that three days’ time was not sufficient.

At that, Justice Kayani said, “I will appoint a special judge and issue an order for approaching the relevant forum within an hour.”

The PPP and the Nooras are mafia fronts. How can you negotiate with thugs, and what do you negotiate about?

I disagree with PPP and PMLN as well, that being said both these parties represent a sizeable vote bank in the parliament. In parliamentary democracy you can’t just shut them down and unilaterally make decisions. This was a fundamental mistake in the last few years where the establishment was acting as a broker between government and opposition. This needs to stop otherwise you will keep inviting interventions from the boys.

All corruption cases need to be dealt with in court . However, to not engage with elected representatives is fundamentally undemocratic. The first step of the negotiations should be to create a framework where all parties can engage with each other without third party intervention and to discuss a fresh election in the country.

The Islamabad High Court (IHC) on Monday decided to initiate contempt proceedings against PTI chairman Imran Khan for passing controversial remarks regarding female sessions court judge Zeba Chaudhry.

The decision was taken by Acting IHC Chief Justice Aamer Farooq during the hearing of a petition filed by the government seeking incarcerated party member Shahbaz Gill’s police remand.

At a rally in Islamabad’s F-9 park on Saturday, Imran had threatened to file cases against Islamabad’s inspector general of police and deputy inspector general of police and declared: “We won’t spare you.” He then warned the judiciary against its “biased” attitude towards his party, saying that it should brace itself for the consequences.

The PTI chariman also warned additional district and sessions judge Zeba Chaudhry, who had approved two-day physical remand of Imran’s aide Shahbaz Gill’s on the request of the capital police, that she would also face dire consequences.

During the hearing today, Islamabad Advocate General Shoaib Shaheen raised the matter in court and urged the judges to take notice of Imran’s comments.

However, they replied: “That is a separate matter. We will see what will be done on it.”

Later in the day, after consultation with other judges, the court decided to issue a contempt notice to Imran.

A larger bench comprising Justice Mohsin Akhtar Kayani, Justice Babar Sattar and Justice Miangul Hassan Aurangzeb will hear the case against the former prime minister. The bench is expected to hold a hearing of the case tomorrow (Tuesday).

The IHC’s notice comes a day after Imran was booked under Section 7 of the Anti-Terrorism Act (punishment for acts of terrorism) regarding his comments at his Islamabad rally on Saturday.

The first information report (FIR) registered against the PTI chief, registered at the Margalla police station, Imran had “terrorised and threatened top police officials and a respected female additional sessions judge” in his address.

DAWN

ISLAMABAD: Chief Minister Punjab Chaudhry Pervez Elahi Monday met PTI Chairman Imran Khan and said that all arrangements will be made for his security and other PTI leaders.

The meeting took place at the PTI chairman's Banigala residence in Islamabad — where former federal minister Moonis Elahi was also present.

There were conflicting reports about Khan's whereabouts following the issuance of arrest warrants in a terrorism case filed against him for threatening senior police officials and a female judge.

During the meeting, Elahi expressed concern over the current political situation in the country after multiple cases were filed against Imran Khan and other PTI leaders.

"Punjab government is with PTI in all circumstances," Elahi told Khan as travelled to Banigala to assure the PTI chairman of his support.

Elahi said that all arrangements will be made for the security of Imran Khan and other leaders.

Punjab CM informed Khan about the political and administrative situation of Punjab.

Khan directed the Punjab government to focus on public welfare projects.

'PTI will not let Imran Khan arrested'

Meanwhile, a meeting of the PTI parliamentary party was held today at the Banigala and also attended by the chief misters of Punjab and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Condemning the cases filed against its chairman, it was decided that the PTI will not let Khan be arrested, sources said.

"Elahi told the meeting that Punjab government will prove to be the biggest hurdle in his arrest."

Moonis said that Khan doesn't need the security of Islamabad Police and that Punjab Police will provide him security cover, the sources added.

https://www.thenews.com.pk/latest/9...be-made-for-imran-khans-security-parvez-elahi

The Islamabad High Court (IHC) on Monday decided to initiate contempt proceedings against PTI chairman Imran Khan for passing controversial remarks regarding female sessions court judge Zeba Chaudhry.

The decision was taken by Acting IHC Chief Justice Aamer Farooq during the hearing of a petition filed by the government seeking incarcerated party member Shahbaz Gill’s police remand.

At a rally in Islamabad’s F-9 park on Saturday, Imran had threatened to file cases against Islamabad’s inspector general of police and deputy inspector general of police and declared: “We won’t spare you.” He then warned the judiciary against its “biased” attitude towards his party, saying that it should brace itself for the consequences.

The PTI chariman also warned additional district and sessions judge Zeba Chaudhry, who had approved two-day physical remand of Imran’s aide Shahbaz Gill’s on the request of the capital police, that she would also face dire consequences.

During the hearing today, Islamabad Advocate General Shoaib Shaheen raised the matter in court and urged the judges to take notice of Imran’s comments.

However, they replied: “That is a separate matter. We will see what will be done on it.”

Later in the day, after consultation with other judges, the court decided to issue a contempt notice to Imran.

A larger bench comprising Justice Mohsin Akhtar Kayani, Justice Babar Sattar and Justice Miangul Hassan Aurangzeb will hear the case against the former prime minister. The bench is expected to hold a hearing of the case tomorrow (Tuesday).

The IHC’s notice comes a day after Imran was booked under Section 7 of the Anti-Terrorism Act (punishment for acts of terrorism) regarding his comments at his Islamabad rally on Saturday.

The first information report (FIR) registered against the PTI chief, registered at the Margalla police station, Imran had “terrorised and threatened top police officials and a respected female additional sessions judge” in his address.

DAWN

So they have initiated contempt proceedings for saying he will start a case against a crooked judge. What the hell is going on. Is there nothing safe from the neutrals?

Don't agree with this approach at all.

This does more harm to Pakistan and hurts the country's image. PDM need to think about the best interests of the country before coming up with some dumb move.

Lol sorry I’m sure majority outside do realize it as well.

Thing is that IK knows the only way democracy can succeed is through strong institutions and the only way this can ever happen is for IK to win elections with a massive majority. This didn't happen due to the establishment in 2018 and is unlikely to happen in any future elections.

The irony is that military backed a cabal of crooks whose only interest is to save themselves and they've proven to the people which politicians are the competent ones.

So the country really is at a crossroads. Continue down this dark road and accept the that Establishment is the all powerful governing force with crooks stealing food from the hungry or rise up and make a stand.

Don't agree with this approach at all.

This does more harm to Pakistan and hurts the country's image. PDM need to think about the best interests of the country before coming up with some dumb move.

PDM are crooks and they have shown that they are criminals. Every single law has been broken and don't care for PK or its people. This suppression will haunt the mafia and their backers for generations

Contempt hearing: Islamabad advocate general seeks to add Imran’s statements ‘against institutions’ to record

With the Islamabad High Court (IHC) set to initiate contempt proceedings against PTI chief Imran Khan today for passing controversial remarks regarding a female judge, the capital’s advocate general, Jahangir Jadoon, has sought permission to put on record the former prime minister’s statements allegedly against the judiciary and other institutions in court.

In his application, a copy of which is available with Dawn.com, Jadoon said he wanted to place relevant material “like videos, clips and previous statements of the respondents (Imran) on electronic and digital media on record, which are helpful” for the case.

The Islamabad advocate general said he wanted to seek permission to “display different statement of the respondents on different occasion against the judiciary and other institution (sic) .

“In these circumstances, it is humbly prayed that [the court] allow to display the aforementioned material in this honourable court via USB or other digital gadgets, and consider this material as part of the case,” he said in his application.

The advocate general has filed the application on the state’s behalf.

3-member bench to start contempt proceedings
A three-member IHC bench, headed by Justice Mohsin Akhtar Kayani and also comprising Justice Babar Sattar and Justice Miangul Hassan Aurangzeb, will today initiate contempt proceedings against Imran over his remarks about additional district and sessions judge Zeba Chaudhry.

The IHC had constituted the bench on Monday, after the decision to start contempt proceedings against the PTI chief was taken by Acting IHC Chief Justice Aamer Farooq during the hearing of a petition challenging incarcerated PTI member Shahbaz Gill’s police remand in a sedition case.

Imran, who has alleged that Gill has been subjected to “sexual abuse” and “physical and mental torture” in custody, had lambasted police over the accusation and judge Chaudhry for allowing Gill’s remand at a rally in Islamabad on Saturday.

He had threatened to file cases against Islamabad’s inspector general of police and deputy inspector general of police and declared: “We won’t spare you.” He had then warned the judiciary against its “biased” attitude towards his party, saying that it should brace itself for the consequences.

The PTI chairperson had warned judge Chaudhry that she would also face dire consequences.

Subsequently, he was booked under Section 7 of the Anti-Terrorism Act (punishment for acts of terrorism).

He has been granted protective bail by the IHC in the case till Thursday.

DAWN

The Islamabad High Court (IHC) issued on Tuesday a show-cause notice to the former prime minister and PTI chairman Imran Khan after taking up contempt of court proceedings against him for allegedly threatening Additional Sessions Judge Zeba Chaudhry.

The bench comprised Justice Mohsin Akhtar Kayani, Justice Babar Sattar and Justice Mian Gul Hassan Aurangzeb heard the contempt case against the former prime minister.

The court summoned Imran Khan in a personal capacity on August 31, and forwarded the case to the Chief Justice of Pakistan, seeking the inclusion of more judges on the bench.

The PTI chair had staged a rally in the federal capital on August 20 to express solidarity with his chief of staff Shahbaz Gill after claims of torture in custody. He warned the Islamabad inspector-general and deputy inspector-general that he would “not spare” them, vowing to file cases against them for subjecting Gill to alleged inhuman torture.

It may be noted that the Islamabad High Court (IHC) on Monday took notice of former prime minister’s remarks in which he allegedly threatened Additional District and Sessions Judge Zeba Chaudhry and decided to initiate contempt of court proceedings against him.

Earlier, the Islamabad High Court (IHC) granted pre-arrest bail to former prime minister and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan till August 25 in a terrorism case.

During the hearing, the Islamabad High Court ordered the PTI chief to appear before the concerned anti-terrorism court on August 25. Until then, the court said, police must not arrest him.

The Islamabad High Court (IHC) issued on Tuesday a show-cause notice to the former prime minister and PTI chairman Imran Khan after taking up contempt of court proceedings against him for allegedly threatening Additional Sessions Judge Zeba Chaudhry.

The bench comprised Justice Mohsin Akhtar Kayani, Justice Babar Sattar and Justice Mian Gul Hassan Aurangzeb heard the contempt case against the former prime minister.

The court summoned Imran Khan in a personal capacity on August 31, and forwarded the case to the Chief Justice of Pakistan, seeking the inclusion of more judges on the bench.

The PTI chair had staged a rally in the federal capital on August 20 to express solidarity with his chief of staff Shahbaz Gill after claims of torture in custody. He warned the Islamabad inspector-general and deputy inspector-general that he would “not spare” them, vowing to file cases against them for subjecting Gill to alleged inhuman torture.

It may be noted that the Islamabad High Court (IHC) on Monday took notice of former prime minister’s remarks in which he allegedly threatened Additional District and Sessions Judge Zeba Chaudhry and decided to initiate contempt of court proceedings against him.

Earlier, the Islamabad High Court (IHC) granted pre-arrest bail to former prime minister and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan till August 25 in a terrorism case.

During the hearing, the Islamabad High Court ordered the PTI chief to appear before the concerned anti-terrorism court on August 25. Until then, the court said, police must not arrest him.

Have they issued the same to Maryam, AZ, Diesel, Rani the Coward etc. If they havent then the IHC is about to destroy an tiny bit of credibility they had left.

The United Nations (UN) chief has said he is “aware” of the recent terrorism charges against PTI chief Imran Khan and has called for an “impartial legal process”.

The ex-prime minister was booked in a terrorism case on Sunday for “threatening” a female judge and senior police officers in a public rally that drew a strong reaction from the federal government.

Stéphane Dujarric, the spokesperson for Secretary General Antonio Guterres, in response to a question during a press briefing on Monday, said the UN chief was “aware” of the charges brought Imran and emphasised the “need for a competent, independent and impartial legal process”.

“The secretary general urges calm, lowering of tensio

ns and respect for the rule of law, human rights and fundamental freedoms,” he said.

Separately, US State Department Spokesman Ned Price said it was also aware of reports about the charges against Imran, but added: “This is a matter for the Pakistani legal and judicial system”.

“It is not directly a matter for the US, and that’s because we don’t have a position on one political candidate or party versus any other political candidate or party,” Price said at a press briefing.

He insisted that the US supported the peaceful upholding of democratic, constitutional, and legal principles in Pakistan and around the world.

Charges against Imran
In his address on Saturday evening, Imran had threatened to file cases against Islamabad’s inspector general of police and deputy inspector general of police and declared: “We won’t spare you.”

He then warned the judiciary against its “biased” attitude towards his party, saying that it should brace itself for the consequences. He also warned additional district and sessions judge Zeba Chaudhry, who had approved two-day physical remand of his aide Shahbaz Gill’s on the request of the capital police, that she would also face dire consequences.

Imran was subsequently booked in a terrorism case. He had approached the Islamabad High Court on Monday seeking bail, following which the court granted the PTI chief granted protective bail for three days.

However, the IHC taking strong exception to Imran’s outburst against the female judge decided to initiate contempt of court proceedings against him and constituted a larger bench to hear the matter.

On Tuesday, the IHC issued a show-cause notice to Imran and summoned him in his personal capacity on August 31.

DAWN

Former president Asif Ali Zardari on Tuesday offered thinly veiled criticism of PTI chief Imran Khan, referring to him as “mad for power” as he said the judiciary must see “whether this person is above the law”.

“All provinces are looking to us in this emergency situation, but there is a man whose lust for power is driving him mad with each passing day,” a statement issued by the PPP quoted Zardari as saying during a meeting with Sindh ministers.

Without naming the PTI chief, Zardari called out for allegedly threatening the army, the police and a female magistrate, saying “this man dares authorities to arrest him”.

“This man is subjecting our army to criticism on a daily basis and the same army is battling terrorists and sacrificing their lives for the country,” the PPP co-chairperson said.

The remarks from the ex-president come in the wake of recent statements of the ex-premier made referring to “neutrals” — a term he uses for the military establishment — and his choice words about a female additional sessions judge who allowed his chief of staff Shahbaz Gill to be remanded back into Islamabad police’s custody.

Reacting to the controversial remarks of the ex-PM, Zardari called upon the government to establish its writ, warning “otherwise institutions will continue to be under attack from him”.

Earlier, he said all provinces were facing an emergency situation and urged all parties to shun politics and focus on helping flood-hit people.

A day later, Imran was booked in a terrorism case for “threatening” a female judge and senior police officers with the interior minister declaring that the PTI chief would not be allowed to challenge the writ of the state by inciting rebellion.

DAWN

Former president Asif Ali Zardari on Tuesday offered thinly veiled criticism of PTI chief Imran Khan, referring to him as “mad for power” as he said the judiciary must see “whether this person is above the law”.

“All provinces are looking to us in this emergency situation, but there is a man whose lust for power is driving him mad with each passing day,” a statement issued by the PPP quoted Zardari as saying during a meeting with Sindh ministers.

Without naming the PTI chief, Zardari called out for allegedly threatening the army, the police and a female magistrate, saying “this man dares authorities to arrest him”.

“This man is subjecting our army to criticism on a daily basis and the same army is battling terrorists and sacrificing their lives for the country,” the PPP co-chairperson said.

The remarks from the ex-president come in the wake of recent statements of the ex-premier made referring to “neutrals” — a term he uses for the military establishment — and his choice words about a female additional sessions judge who allowed his chief of staff Shahbaz Gill to be remanded back into Islamabad police’s custody.

Reacting to the controversial remarks of the ex-PM, Zardari called upon the government to establish its writ, warning “otherwise institutions will continue to be under attack from him”.

Earlier, he said all provinces were facing an emergency situation and urged all parties to shun politics and focus on helping flood-hit people.

A day later, Imran was booked in a terrorism case for “threatening” a female judge and senior police officers with the interior minister declaring that the PTI chief would not be allowed to challenge the writ of the state by inciting rebellion.

DAWN

Mad about power and above the law are 2 things this crook can never talk about unless its tongue in cheek

Islamabad Police on Tuesday registered another case against former prime minister and PTI Chairman Imran Khan and 18 others for staging a rally in the federal capital in violation of Section 144.

The first information report (FIR) of the case - registered in Abpara Police Station – nominated 19 persons including PTI leaders Asad Umar, Murad Saeed, Faisal Javed, AML chief Sheikh Rasheed, and others.

The FIR read that PTI took out a rally in Islamabad on August 20 despite the imposition of Section 144.

It said that PTI leaders and around 1,000-1,200 participants gathered at Zero Point at Khan’s behest.

It added that the participants of the rally blocked roads and halted the movement of vehicles.

They chanted slogans against the government on loudspeakers in violation of the Amplifier Act and intimidated motorists.

The FIR said that the participants were informed through a megaphone that staging protest was banned in Islamabad under Section 144 and they were asked to disperse.

However, they paid no heed to it and continued chanting slogans. Later, the protesters headed towards F-9 Park.

PTI leader and lawyer Babar Awan on Wednesday said that former prime minister Imran Khan would approach an anti-terrorism court (ATC) in person tomorrow (Aug 25) for bail in the terrorism case registered against him by the government.

Last week, a first investigation report (FIR) was registered against the PTI chairman at the Margalla police station under Section 7 of the Anti-Terrorism Act (punishment for acts of terrorism) regarding his comments at the party’s Islamabad rally on Aug 20.

Subsequently, on Monday, Imran approached the Islamabad High Court where a two-member bench comprising Justice Mohsin Akhtar Kayani and Justice Babar Sattar, granted him protective bail till Aug 25.

In a video message shared on PTI’s Twitter, Awan said that Imran had chaired a meeting of the party’s legal committee earlier today in which it was decided that an application seeking the ex-prime minister’s bail would be filed in an ATC in the capital.

PTI leader and lawyer Babar Awan on Wednesday said that former prime minister Imran Khan would approach an anti-terrorism court (ATC) in person tomorrow (Aug 25) for bail in the terrorism case registered against him by the government.

Last week, a first investigation report (FIR) was registered against the PTI chairman at the Margalla police station under Section 7 of the Anti-Terrorism Act (punishment for acts of terrorism) regarding his comments at the party’s Islamabad rally on Aug 20.

Subsequently, on Monday, Imran approached the Islamabad High Court where a two-member bench comprising Justice Mohsin Akhtar Kayani and Justice Babar Sattar, granted him protective bail till Aug 25.

In a video message shared on PTI’s Twitter, Awan said that Imran had chaired a meeting of the party’s legal committee earlier today in which it was decided that an application seeking the ex-prime minister’s bail would be filed in an ATC in the capital.

What does this mean?
wasn't he summoned for August 31?

I cant see how under any sane law his words would constitute terrorism. It it were terrorism, he wouldn't have been given bail. I expect this charge to be dropped.

Btw can anyone confirm , there were reports of an attack on PTI Leader Majid Satti? @MIG

The outcome is that everyone in the world can now see why the Pakistani judiciary is ranked 130th in the world, and how badly it is compromised, both in terms of being incompetent and being manipulated and coerced by the Establishment, PMLN & PPP into accepting absurd cases (like this one) and passing absurd decisions.

Imran Khan was absolutely correct and justified in what he said - it is his and every Pakistani citizens right to criticize court judgments, whilst also accepting that such judgements need to be contested, disputed and protested against under whatever means the constitution allows.

It is only in the Banana Republic of Pakistan, with a judiciary ranked at the bottom of the world, that such ridiculous situations occur.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">A massive response from the record Haripur crowd on mobilisation for Tehreek e Haqeeqi Azadi. Thank you people of Haripur. <a href="https://t.co/05MQbcEO2s">pic.twitter.com/05MQbcEO2s</a></p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1562481388632571905?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 24, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Lawyers, who support the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, have been urging former prime minister Imran Khan to tender an unconditional apology over his tirade against a female judge

However, it appears that the PTI is still taking the contempt case against its chairman Imran Khan “leniently”.
Advertisement

Imran, in his recent address in Haripur, had criticised Additional and Sessions Judge Zeba Chaudhry, who granted two days’ custody of the ex-premier's aide Dr Shahbaz Gill to the Islamabad police.

It has been learnt that one application would be filed in the contempt case wherein material would be placed before the Islamabad High Court on the multi-party alliance Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) leaders’ statements against the superior judiciary.

Similarly, Gill's family might move a complaint for taking action against the female judge before the IHC inspection team to take action against her.

However, senior lawyers are wondering as how the complaint can be filed on the basis of a judicial order which was also upheld by the IHC itself.

They say that filing such a complaint will further damage the PTI. The lawyers expressed disappointment on the special media campaign against the female judge.

Likewise, it is also being witnessed that PTI leaders on social media are also questioning the IHC for upholding a female judge's order wherein Gill was subjected to two more days' remand.

Several pro-PTI lawyers are suggesting Imran to tender an unconstitutional apology for uttering a threatening statement against the female judge.

Imran held a meeting with the PTI legal team on Wednesday. It is not yet to clear who will represent Imran in the contempt case.

Several party leaders are suggesting him to engage a lawyer who has good reputation in the judiciary.

IHC Chief Justice Athar Minallah will resume his judicial work from next week.

The court is proceeding against the PTI chief on the charge of obstructing the administration of justice – a serious issue.

Interestingly, acting IHC CJ Aamer Farooq has issued a written order on a petition seeking disqualification of Imran on account of non-declaration of his child.

The IHC has asked the counsel for the petitioner on the maintainability of plea and adjourned the hearing until the last week of September.

Similarly, a debate is also continuing whether or not the IHC has jurisdiction to initiate contempt proceeding against Imran in the absence of a petition.

Former additional attorney general Waqar Rana said apparently, under section 4 (2) of Contempt of Court Ordinance 2003, a high court could deal with a matter of contempt related to a subordinate court but there was no procedure as to how it could proceed into that matter.

Another senior lawyer said the high court could do that based on information.

"The informant is a relator. Once that is done, the matter is between the court and contemnor,” he added.

Advocate Hafiz Ahsaan Ahmad Khokhar said there was no limit or restriction under Contempt of Court Ordinance, 2003 upon superior courts of the country regarding cognisance of any matter relating to civil, criminal and judicial contempt.

However, he added that Section 4 (3() of Contempt of Court Ordinance, 2003 -- despite giving powers to superior courts in other sections to take suo moto jurisdiction but catagorically excluded the domain of a high court.

It stated that no high court shall proceed in cases in which an alleged offence of contempt was punishable by a subordinate court under Pakistan Penal Code, 1860.

According to him, there was no such restriction on the Supreme Court as it could take cognisance in all matters relating to contempt.

The legal expert further said one should always respect courts and judges as an institution.

However, in the present case, an FIR was registered on an earlier statement under the Code of Criminal Procedure as well as under the Anti-Terrorism Act by police on a written complaint of a government official, prior to taking cognisance of the high court.

“The high court lacks jurisdiction in suo motu as per clear wording and exclusion of Section 4(3) of Contempt of Court Ordinance 2003,” he added.

Express Tribune

JUI-F chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman on Wednesday accused the state institutions of delaying action against former prime minister Imran Khan over his "unlimited corruption, prohibited funding and rebellious disobedience".

In a video statement, he said that Imran Khan and his associates consider themselves beyond the Constitution and law, saying that the state institutions were under "tremendous international pressure".

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader Babar Awan said on Wednesday that Imran Khan would appear before an anti-terrorism court (ATC) on Thursday (today) to seek bail in the terrorism case registered against him by the coalition government.

In a video message shared on PTI’s Twitter handle, the PTI leader shared that Imran had chaired a meeting of the party’s legal committee wherein it was decided that an application seeking his bail would be filed in an ATC in the capital.

The development comes two days after the Islamabad High Court (IHC) granted a three-day protective bail to the PTI chief in the case of “threatening” the female additional sessions judge and directed him to submit surety bonds worth Rs5,000 and approach the anti-terrorism court till August 25 (today).

Imran was booked last week in an FIR with the Margalla police following his address at the party’s rally in F9 Park a day earlier. The FIR also carried Section 7 of the Anti-Terrorism Act.

“Imran Khan will go there himself,” Imran’s counsel Babar Awan clarified in the video message on Wednesday. He added that both the international and local media were asking about the issue.

“This fake case […] in which there was neither a blast nor a Kalashnikov used […] and the police built up charges of terrorism, destroying Pakistan’s narrative developed over the last 20 years against terrorism.

”The PTI leader said that human rights activists, international media, and even the United Nations (UN) had expressed concern over the matter. “God willing, we will all go together tomorrow,” he added.

It is pertinent to note that on Monday, a division bench of the IHC that granted the three-day protective bail to Imran, had remarked that the petition had not been entertained till now as there was an objection from the registrar's office on it.

The registrar office had said that Imran did not get his biometric done and questioned why did the PTI chief approach the high court instead of the ATC. It was further said that a verified copy of the terrorism case had not been provided.

However, Awan had argued that Imran should be granted protective bail as he wanted to appear before the ATC, but his house was “surrounded by the police”.

Justice Kayani said that the court was granting the PTI chairman a three-day protective bail and that they should approach the ATC during this period.

Imran’s remarks during the rally also invited the wrath of the coalition parties of the incumbent government who have urged the superior judiciary to take immediate notice of the former premier’s threat to the female magistrate.

“Take legal action against Imran Khan and his colleagues for interfering in the affairs of the interior minister and threatening the officers and government staff who are performing their duties according to the law,” a joint statement said on Saturday.

Express Tribune

SECURITY HEIGHTENED, MEDIA BARRED AS IMRAN KHAN DUE IN ATC

ISLAMABAD: Heightened security measures have been taken ahead of the arrival of PTI Chairman Imran Khan at the anti-terrorism court (ATC) to seek bail in a terrorism case where he is blamed for threatening a female judge and Islamabad police officials, ARY NEWS reported.

According to security officials, the roads leading to judicial complex have been blocked while as many as 400 policemen and personnel of Frontier Corps are deployed at the complex.

The police have also barred media from entering the premises of the ATC.

On Wednesday, Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan decided to appear before an anti-terrorism (ATC) court for extension in his bail plea after he was charged under ATA for speaking against a judge and Islamabad police officials.

The decision was made by the PTI chairman in a meeting of party’s legal team. While announcing the decision, Babar Awan said they have decided to file a bail plea before the ATC.

“Imran Khan will appear in person to seek bail from the court,” he said.

A terrorism case was registered against Imran Khan in Margalla police station for allegedly using derogatory language and threatening Additional Session Judge Zeba Chaudhry in his speech in Islamabad on August 20.

Previously, the Islamabad High Court (IHC) had granted pre-arrest bail to former prime minister Imran Khan till August 25 in a terrorism case.

According to details, the court relaxed some of the objections raised by the IHC Registrar on the bail petition as the court approved his pre-arrest bail for three days.

The Islamabad High Court had ordered Khan to appear before the concerned anti-terrorism court on August 25. Until then, the court said, police must not arrest him.

ARY

Imran Khan granted interim bail in terrorism case
PTI chairman appears in person before the court of ATC judge Raja Jawwad Abbas

ISLAMABAD: PTI Chairman Imran Khan was granted pre-arrest bail Thursday by an anti-terrorism court (ATC) in a terrorism case filed against him for threatening senior police officials and a judge in a public rally.

On August 21, a first information report (FIR) was registered against the former prime minister under the Anti-Terrorism Act for threatening an additional sessions judge and senior police officers of the Islamabad Police at a rally in the federal capital’s F-9 Park on August 20.

Khan appears in person before the court where ATC judge Raja Jawwad Abbas is hearing his plea.

Terming the terrorism case against Imran Khan “political victimization”, his counsels Babar Awan and Muhammad Ali Bukhari have filed a petition in the ATC seeking their client’s pre-arrest bail.

The lawyers urged the ATC judge to grant Imran Khan pre-arrest bail in the terrorism case. In their petition, they said that the police lodged a terrorism case against Imran Khan as “revenge”.

The PTI had staged a rally in the federal capital to express solidarity with Imran Khan's chief of staff Shahbaz Gill after claims of torture in police custody. The PTI chairman had said that the additional sessions judge — who sent Gill into physical remand on the police's request — should brace herself for consequences.

An FIR was registered against him under Section 7 of the Anti-Terrorism Act at the Margalla Police Station for threatening the judge and other senior officers of the Islamabad Police during the rally.

A day after the registration of a case against him, Imran Khan secured transit bail till August 25 from the IHC which directed him to approach the relevant forum for pre-arrest bail.

For today's hearing, strict security arrangements have been made around the Federal Judicial Complex, which is home to Islamabad's ATC. Security arrangements include the deployment of additional police personnel comprising 400 cops and FC personnel to assist the police.

All the ways leading to the judicial complex have been blocked using barbed wires and irrelevant persons have been restricted to enter the vicinity. Moreover, an armoured vehicle is also present outside the court.

What did Imran Khan say?
Last Saturday, the PTI chief warned that he would “not spare” Islamabad's inspector-general, deputy inspector general, and female magistrate, vowing to file cases against them for torturing Gill.

“We will not spare the IG and DIG,” he said while addressing the public gathering at the F-9 park. The former premier called out Additional District and Sessions Judge Chaudhry, who had approved Gill’s two-day physical remand at the request of the capital police, and said she, too, should prepare herself as the case will also be registered against her.

The News PK

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader Asad Umar on Thursday filed an interim bail application in the Section 144 violation case registered against him for holding a rally on August 20 in the federal capital.

The bail request was filed by PTI’s senior leader and lawyer Babar Awan in an additional sessions court. According to Awan, Umar is ready to be a part of the police investigation and contended the petitioner was present in a Lahore rally at the time when protest rallies were being held in different parts of the country.

It is pertinent to note here that six PTI members were granted interim bail a day earlier by the additional sessions court in the Section 144 violation case registered against them.

They maintained that the provisions the leaders were charged under were bailable and pleaded that bail be granted.

Read Sea of supporters averted Imran’s arrest

Additional Sessions Court Judge Faizan Haider Gilani granted interim bail, against surety bonds of Rs20,000, to the PTI leaders after they approached the court on Wednesday.

The leaders who were granted bail included: Saifullah Niazi, Ali Awan, Raja Khurram, Faisal Javed, Sadaqat Abbasi and Shahzad Waseem.

The members of the former ruling party had filed bail applications after a case was registered against them and 19 other PTI leaders in the Aabpara police station.

The party leaders had participated in a rally held to protest PTI leader Shahbaz Gill’s arrest and 'custodial torture'.

According to the PTI leaders’ lawyers, the case against them was “baseless”, adding that the rally was peaceful and the cases were an "attempt to suppress" the leaders.

‘Violating Section 144’

The Islamabad police filed a case against PTI chief Imran Khan and other party leaders for violating Section 144 during their rally in Islamabad.

According to the first information report (FIR), filed by Assistant Sub-Inspector (ASI) Muhammad Anwar, the federal capital police had made announcements through loudspeakers that Section 144 was imposed in the city, however, the rally continued.

The complaint maintained that over a thousand PTI supporters had flocked to Islamabad's Zero Point Interchange “on the orders of Imran Khan” and carried the party paraphernalia, including flags.

“They were chanting slogans for Gill's release,” the ASI said, adding that the PTI supporters had “scared and threatened” the residents by blocking the road.

“The rally's participants, while using loudspeakers, chanted anti-government slogans,” he said.

He further claimed that citizens’ and commuters’ daily activities were disrupted by the rally.

PTI chief Imran Khan was granted interim pre-arrest bail in two cases registered against him in connection with a PTI rally held in Islamabad on August 20.

The former prime minister has been booked in a terrorism case for his controversial remarks about a female judge at the rally while a separate first information report (FIR) has been registered against him on charges of violating Section 144 (ban on public gatherings exceeding four persons) in the capital on the day of the rally.

Imran’s bail plea in the case pertaining to his remarks about the judge was heard at an anti-terrorism court (ATC) in the capital today, with Judge Raja Jawad Abbas Hassan granting him interim bail till September 1 against a surety of Rs100,000.

Later, additional sessions judge Tahir Abbas Supra granted him interim bail till September 7 in the case pertaining to the alleged violation of Section 144. This relief was provided against a surety of Rs5,000.