[VIDEO] Lucknow Super Giants owner's behavior towards KL Rahul: Is this the dark side of cricket commercialism?

BouncerGuy

After yesterday's game between Lucknow Super Giants and SunRisers Hyderabad, where KL Rahul led LSG was thrashed by SRH by 10 wickets in the fastest chase in t20s, LSG owner Sanjiv Goenka could be seen having an intense chat with KL Rahul.

This is not how anybody should be talking to the captain of a franchise team. This kind of chat should happen behind closed doors, not in front of millions of people.

You can even hear the commentators, I believe it was Simon Doull, saying the same that this kind of conversation should not be happening in front of so many people and media watching.

View attachment X592Ep3R8sv1ggO3.mp4

Could be an explanation like , I was telling him he parked his car in the handicapped spot ...

Apart from that, no excuse for this.

I like this, it adds to the hype and emotion of the league. If the owner is paying $ millions to the players, he has every right to lose his mind if the players are not giving him an ROI.

Employer has right to expect effort and result from his employees but public dressing down is not a good look.

Indian ultra-rich are rude people with unparalleled entitlement. They have aped the worst qualities of past monarchs and colonizers.

After yesterday's game between Lucknow Super Giants and SunRisers Hyderabad, where KL Rahul led LSG was thrashed by SRH by 10 wickets in the fastest chase in t20s, LSG owner Sanjiv Goenka could be seen having an intense chat with KL Rahul.

This is not how anybody should be talking to the captain of a franchise team. This kind of chat should happen behind closed doors, not in front of millions of people.

You can even hear the commentators, I believe it was Simon Doull, saying the same that this kind of conversation should not be happening in front of so many people and media watching.

View attachment 143685
These things should only remain in dressing room and even then as an owner you shouldn't shoot your captain down like this. These reactions will only worsen your team's morale and dressing room environment.

Exactly. KL rahul won't be feeling confident anymore and this public bashing will put extra pressure on him for the next games. These sort of things should not be public.

Didn't wasim Arram give babar a dressing down in public in a psl when he was captain of karachi
No he was just whining about other players to him and not Babar directly.

The LSG ownership tore directly into KL, they were not willing to listen to any of his excuses. A mentor giving a dressing down versus an owner or investor giving a dressing down are two very different things.

Ross Taylor revealed somewhere that an IPL owner once slapped him for getting out cheaply.

It’s clear these people believe their players are their property, especially the ones who they have paid top dollar for.

Lucknow is known for the peak of aristrocracy in Urdu so its a shame that this type of Riff Raff are associated with the city.

SRH Thrashing Fallout: KL Rahul To Resign From LSG Captaincy? Report Says "Management Won't..."​

All but out of contention for the IPL play-offs, KL Rahul's future as Lucknow Super Giants skipper is uncertain for the remaining two games after the team received a pasting at the hands of Sunrisers Hyderabad at home on Wednesday. It is a foregone conclusion that the LSG skipper, who was roped in before the auction in 2022 for a record Rs 17 crore, is unlikely to be retained before the mega auctions in 2025. However, there is speculation that the skipper might step down on his own and concentrate on batting during the next two games.

"There is a five-day gap before the next game against DC. As of now, no decision has been taken but it is understood that if Rahul plans to just concentrate on his batting for the remaining two games, the management won't mind," an IPL source told PTI on conditions of anonymity.

Videos of LSG owner Sanjiv Goenka's agitated conversation with Rahul emerged on social media after Sunrisers Hyderabad openers Travis Head (89 not out off 30 balls) and Abhishek Sharma (75 off 28 balls) reached a target of 167 in less than 10 overs.

This was after the home team batters struggled to get going on the same track. Worse, Rahul's (29 off 33 balls) batting in the Powerplay has been one of the biggest reasons for LSG's below-par show in the cash-rich league and it seems that Goenka has finally run out of patience.

The India star has scored 460 runs in 12 games and could again cross the 500-run mark for the season but it is his strike-rate of 136.09 which is the problem.

LSG are still mathematically in contention as they can reach 16 points by winning their remaining two games -- vs Delhi Capitals in New Delhi on May 14 and vs Mumbai Indians at Wankhede on May 17.

However, it will be very difficult to massively improve upon the net run-rate (-0.760).

In case, Rahul decides to step down, vice-captain Nicholas Pooran, easily the team's most impactful batter in the season, is likely to take over for the remaining two games.

Feel sorry for soft KL. He will need to unfortunately pocket the monies by remembering the face and hands that's owned him, and fed him like a commodity.

Back in 2016, Preity Zinta did same with Sanjay Bangar. It seems like this is a never ending trend in the IPL

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Furious Preity Zinta abuses KXIP coach Sanjay Bangar in team dug-out

(May 13, 2016)

The Kings XI Punjab camp cannot be a happy place at the moment. They are languishing at the bottom of the table, with three wins and seven defeats from 10 matches in the ninth edition of the Indian Premier League and have virtually no hope of making it to the play-offs.

But even then, what happened at the KXIP dug-out after the team's agonising one-run loss to Royal Challengers Bangalore in Mohali on Monday was shocking to say the least. According to a report in Mumbai Mirror , KXIP co-owner Preity Zinta lashed out at coach Sanjay Bangar over his choice of the batting-order.

KXIP were in desperate need of victory to stay in hunt for the knockout stages and they would have been counting on that home-game to put it across a star-studded RCB. Chasing 176, KXIP were well on course, thanks to skipper Murali Vijay's 89, but RCB held on to their nerves and snatched 'victory from the jaws of defeat' in a cliffhanger.

Furious after the defeat, Preity stormed into the team dug-out and had a go at Bangar. Reportedly, her rant was laden with expletives and she used the F-word repeatedly. Flanked by junior players and other support staff, Bangar cut a sorry figure.

What made Preity so angry?

Preity was apparently upset with Bangar's decision to send Farhaan Behardien ahead of Axar Patel, who had played a cameo against Kolkata Knight Riders the previous week. Behardien remained unbeaten on 9 off 7 balls, failing to make any impact on the game while Patel did not even get a chance to bat. Preity felt the Gujarat all-rounder would have been a better bet to finish the match off for the hosts.

The modern T20 has changed a lot and classical players like Rahul has unfortunately no place in it. There is no excuse to bat at a strike rate of 87 in a game where opposition is batting at 350. I can understand why the owner was angry. Anyone will be angry if they pay someone 1.7 million and he bats & captains the team like this. However, he should not have done it publicly in front of the camera.

He is still an asset for team India in Test cricket and ODIs but T20s is no longer his game. Hopefully he will focus on those 2 formats and quit T20 cricket.

Goenka ji probably remembered the glorious knocks KL played in last 2 T20 WCs and his innings of WC 2023 final and took his frustration out on him on behalf of many Indians :confused:

Maybe Langer can wriggle his way out of this by saying if you play IPL out of 1.4b people, it means you are DAMN TALENTED

This behavior is a bit unprofessional in my opinion. If the owner had some issues he should have talked to him behind closed doors but he doesn't have any right to scold him this way.

Mohammed Shami speaking during an interview:

"Players have respect, and you are a respectful person, too, as you are an owner. Many people are watching you and learning from you. If these things happen in front of cameras... ye sharam ki baat hai. it's a matter of shame,"

"If you have to do that, there are many different ways. You could've done the same thing in the dressing room or the hotel. It wasn't necessary to do it on the field. Aise reaction dekar laal qile pe jhanda toh gaada nahi hai aapne (It isn't as if you hoisted a flag at Red Fort by doing this),

"He's the captain, too, not a normal player. It's a team game; if the plan isn't successful, it isn't a big thing. Anything is possible in the game. I understand there can be good or bad days, but every player has respect, and there's a way to talk. This sends a very wrong message,"​

What Led To Sanjiv Goenka's Outburst On KL Rahul? Report Reveals Reason​

Lucknow Super Giants' defeat against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 delivered a big blow to their hopes of reaching the playoffs. More than the result, it was the manner of LSG's defeat that raised questions over their approach, as SRH secured a 10-wicket win, reaching the target in less than 10 overs. LSG owner decided to confront skipper KL Rahul after the conclusion of the match, with their heated chat going viral on social media. Though LSG have not issued any statement on the matter of the subject, a report has revealed what the conversation was about.

As per a report in the Indian Express, LSG owner Sanjiv Goenka wasn't pleased with his team's approach with the bat after going out to bat first. In a pitch that offered little help to bowlers, the tourists could only put 165 runs on the board. In reply, Pat Cummins' men chased it down in just 9.4 overs without losing a single wicket.

Goenka decided to ask the franchise's skipper KL Rahul some tough questions, especially as he himself scored 29 runs from 33 balls. For the Sunriers, the opening duo of Travis Head and Abhishek Sharma went at a strike rate of 296.66 and 267.85 respectively, LSG skipper Rahul could only score at 87.87.

Source: NDTV

I am actually OK with this. One player who absolutely deserves this is klrahul. Good riddance . Strike rates are overrated , par score, pitch was gripping, pitch got better later , loss for words pathetic nonsense. statpadding tuk tuk player - unfair to others in the team. Selfish selfish guy. He has done this so so many times at ipl and int cricket - at some point it was bound to blow up..

Virender Sehwag weighed in on the incident and said that team owners should refrain from getting angry with players or backroom staff who work on the pitch. He said while speaking on a sports digital media show:

"The owner's role should be that when they meet the players in the dressing room or during a press meet, they should only talk to motivate them. But if the owner comes and asks - 'What is going on? What's the problem?' or gets hold of one of the team management members and starts to raise questions about a particular player...see the coaches and the captain run the team, so it is better for these owners not to get involved with players or get angry with me."

“These are all businessmen. They only understand profit and loss. But here, there is no loss, so what's bothering them? You are earning a 400-crore profit. I mean, this is a business where you have to do nothing at all. You have guys to take care of that, and irrespective of what happens, you are earning profit. So your work should only be to motivate the players. What happens is that the player will think that there are other franchises in the IPL, if I leave, someone else will take me. And if you lose a player, your chances of winning are zero. When I left Punjab, they were fifth. They never came fifth in any other seasons."

KL Rahul does not travel with LSG squad for DC clash amid reported rift with team owner

The tensions were palpable between the two as an animated Sanjiv Goenka was involved in a serious chat with Rahul close to the dugout after LSG's massive loss to SRH.

KL Rahul's absence from the Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) squad's trip to Delhi for their impending IPL 2024 match against the Delhi Capitals has left many wondering.

Although there are speculations that he might join them directly for the game, the fact that the skipper did not travel in the usual manner has raised eyebrows, especially after their recent 10-wicket humbling against the Sunrisers Hyderabad, who chased down the 166-run target in just 9.4 overs. Post-match, the tensions were palpable as Sanjiv Goenka, the LSG team owner, was seen chatting animatedly with Rahul close to the dugout, igniting talks about his leadership role within the team.

It appears that even the owner of KL Rahul's franchise lost respect for him due to his exclusion from the Indian World Cup team. :inti

Don't think KL Rahul will stick around and the owner has also made it clear he doesn't want him anymore. Apparantly the same owner behaved the same way with MS Dhoni when he was playing for Pune Warriors a few years ago.

The owners mindset is I am paying you Rs 18 crores, you are answerable to me, i expect a return on my investment.

Don't think KL Rahul will stick around and the owner has also made it clear he doesn't want him anymore. Apparantly the same owner behaved the same way with MS Dhoni when he was playing for Pune Warriors a few years ago.

The owners mindset is I am paying you Rs 18 crores, you are answerable to me, i expect a return on my investment.
I thought you had inside news on this

I was about to ask for your sources

LOL people in the sub-continent need to start watching some American sports for real.

There's a reason why the U.S. is arguably one of the most dominant nations in the sports they play. It's something the Australians have tried to copy although not to as successfully.

And it all starts with the attitude and mindset. If you think this is dark, you should have see how Gregg Popovich used to bark at the San Antonio Spurs players. They won 5 NBA Championships under him btw.

Forget American sports, go look up some of the infamous instances when Sir Alex Ferguson lost his temper.

Fact is this, its a sport. People lose their temper. There's nothing wrong with grilling players if you think that they are not doing what is expected of them. When did everyone get so damn soft? Rahul played an atrocious innings in that match and cost his team the match. The owners who made him captain and are paying him big money have every right to be angry.

You play this sport to win. And sometimes you need a wake-up call or a hard slap across the face to snap out of it.

LOL people in the sub-continent need to start watching some American sports for real.

There's a reason why the U.S. is arguably one of the most dominant nations in the sports they play. It's something the Australians have tried to copy although not to as successfully.

And it all starts with the attitude and mindset. If you think this is dark, you should have see how Gregg Popovich used to bark at the San Antonio Spurs players. They won 5 NBA Championships under him btw.

Forget American sports, go look up some of the infamous instances when Sir Alex Ferguson lost his temper.

Fact is this, its a sport. People lose their temper. There's nothing wrong with grilling players if you think that they are not doing what is expected of them. When did everyone get so damn soft? Rahul played an atrocious innings in that match and cost his team the match. The owners who made him captain and are paying him big money have every right to be angry.

You play this sport to win. And sometimes you need a wake-up call or a hard slap across the face to snap out of it.
Was Gregg a coach or owner?

It's quite rare in sports like football for the owner to publicly remand a player. Really, he should be having a word with the coach, who then, in turn, should speak to the player.

it's not something that audiences are used to.

Was Gregg a coach or owner?

It's quite rare in sports like football for the owner to publicly remand a player. Really, he should be having a word with the coach, who then, in turn, should speak to the player.

it's not something that audiences are used to.
He was the head coach of the San Antonio Spurs.

It's a case of someone in a major position of power within the org. grilling a player. I don't see how its that different to a coach grilling a player, which btw happens all the time in American sports. Especially Basketball. Even if you don't see it on camera.

It does happen ofc. but when it happens from an owner directly to a player it just came across as a bit slimey, like the barrier had been removed between money and the game.

It is very different. And the two cannot be compared.

As Sehwag has rightly said in IPL there is no commercial loss for team owners. 8/10 teams are already paid off (franchise valuation increased 10-40x in last 16 yrs) and the 2/10 new franchises will be paid off in due course basis the trend of broadcast rights revenues.

Well before tournament starts the revenues for all teams are in place in terms of broadcast rights money share and sponsor money. Gate money is a drop in ocean for teams and they don't have big capital investment decisions to make like new stadium etc. The league also has a player salary purse cap and player salary expense share is a small part of total operating expenses of franchise. There are no instances of supranormal free market salaries like Mbappe/Ronaldo/Messi and as such no concepts of moneyball teams. LSG pays 16 cr to KLR. If they sack him they'll just free up their auction purse next year to spend that same money to get lesser rated player/s. Even if they find the next Kohli/Dhoni at a steal price of 1 cr it won't really boost their commercial bottom-line significantly

As such this is not a factory where owner transfers market commercial stresses to the employees. It is only misplaced sense of individual pride and ego from owners and they can do even do this in a formal setting with performance reviews with a semblance of professionalism.

It is high time player agency increased in IPL. The auction system is biased towards Owners and placing some more power back in hands of players is much needed. Owners should realise that their teams are drawing sponsor money due to players and not other way round.

I don't mind players getting scolded by a head coach or the franchise team owner, but all that stuff should not be made public, it should all be happening in the locker room.

KL Rahul is not a chapri player, he is an international player and this kind of behavior can dent his confidence and attitude.

It is very different. And the two cannot be compared.

As Sehwag has rightly said in IPL there is no commercial loss for team owners. 8/10 teams are already paid off (franchise valuation increased 10-40x in last 16 yrs) and the 2/10 new franchises will be paid off in due course basis the trend of broadcast rights revenues.

Well before tournament starts the revenues for all teams are in place in terms of broadcast rights money share and sponsor money. Gate money is a drop in ocean for teams and they don't have big capital investment decisions to make like new stadium etc. The league also has a player salary purse cap and player salary expense share is a small part of total operating expenses of franchise. There are no instances of supranormal free market salaries like Mbappe/Ronaldo/Messi and as such no concepts of moneyball teams. LSG pays 16 cr to KLR. If they sack him they'll just free up their auction purse next year to spend that same money to get lesser rated player/s. Even if they find the next Kohli/Dhoni at a steal price of 1 cr it won't really boost their commercial bottom-line significantly

As such this is not a factory where owner transfers market commercial stresses to the employees. It is only misplaced sense of individual pride and ego from owners and they can do even do this in a formal setting with performance reviews with a semblance of professionalism.

It is high time player agency increased in IPL. The auction system is biased towards Owners and placing some more power back in hands of players is much needed. Owners should realise that their teams are drawing sponsor money due to players and not other way round.
I don't really think it is. The owners are still putting money into the team, which means they have every right to ask questions when they don't get a return on their investment.

You are fixating too much on technical details. I don't care about any of that. I'm talking about attitude and mindset. A player should be able to take a tongue-lashing when he screws up, instead of everyone being nice and buddy buddy with each other. Why? You're in this sport to win, not be nice and make friends. And people should be able to hear hard truths and criticism and move on, instead of offended and insulted by everything.

Nobody is free of criticism and if anything sport needs more honestly and people telling each other hard truths

Lucknow Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise co-owner Sanjiv Goenka hosted KL Rahul for a special dinner at his residence in New Delhi on Monday, May 13. The dinner meeting came a day before LSG's crucial IPL 2024 game against Delhi in the capital city. Sanjiv Goenka was seen embracing KL Rahul during the meeting and photos of the dinner hosted by the co-owner went viral on social media.

TjFhvU2.jpeg

India Today

Lucknow Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise co-owner Sanjiv Goenka hosted KL Rahul for a special dinner at his residence in New Delhi on Monday, May 13. The dinner meeting came a day before LSG's crucial IPL 2024 game against Delhi in the capital city. Sanjiv Goenka was seen embracing KL Rahul during the meeting and photos of the dinner hosted by the co-owner went viral on social media.

TjFhvU2.jpeg

India Today

Hosted only Rahul? What about the rest of the team? :rolleyes:

'We have not even thought...': LSG owner Sanjiv Goenka opens up on KL Rahul's IPL future with Lucknow-based franchise​

Lucknow Super Giants ropes with India's World Cup-winning pacer Zaheer Khan as their mentor for the upcoming Indian Premier League 2025. The franchise had failed to perform in the last edition of the tournament since their mentor Gautam Gambhir joined the Kolkata Knight Riders. After the franchise's poor performance, there were doubts over the future of their captain KL Rahul with the Lucknow-based franchise.

KL Rahul was seen meeting with Sanjiv Goenka at his office earlier this week and since then several reports have claimed that LSG will retain him for the upcoming season but he will not lead the team. This comes after Goenka was seen having a heated chat with LSG captain Rahul last season after SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) took just 9.4 overs to chase down 166.

"Look, I've been meeting KL regularly over last three years. I'm a little surprised this meeting got so much attention. As I've said we have not taken any call till the retention rules are out," Goenka told reporters while unveiling Zaheer Khan as their team mentor.

Goenka said that KL Rahul is like a family to Lucknow Super Giants and he is an important part of the team.

"But KL has been an integral and important part of the LSG family since inception. He's played a very important role. He's like family and will be family." When asked about player retention and captaincy, Goenka said they are yet to arrive at a decision and are waiting for the BCCI to release the rules regarding retention.

"We have all of September, October and November to decide that. Let the policies be out. We have not even thought about the team going forward, whether retention will be three-four-five or six, we have no clue," Goenka said.

"Let us see, there is enough time, so bit by bit. Whatever decisions we take today will impact us for the medium term future, so it has to be very well thought out and considered.

'KL Rahul was listening to everything because...': Star bowling all-rounder drops truth bomb on Sanjiv Goenka-LSG captain episode in IPL 2024​

Lucknow Super Giants' (LSG) star Krishnappa Gowtham has dropped truth bomb on animated exchange between LSG owner Sanjiv Goenka and captain KL Rahul during the IPL 2024

Following a 10-wicket defeat against the Sunrisers Hyderabad on May 8 in IPL 2024, Sanjiv Goenka entered the field and engaged in a heated confrontation with Rahul. The incident was captured on camera, showing the owner berating the captain and head coach Justin Langer. This behavior sparked outrage among fans, who condemned Goenka's actions towards the team captain.

The confrontation between Sanjiv Goenka and KL Rahul created a lot of buzz which witnessed all sorts of commentary from players to coaches and cricket pundits. Some reports even suggested that Rahul's captaincy was under scrutiny, and he might be removed before the start of the next season.

KL Rahul didn’t take the owner’s side or the players’ side: Krishnappa Gowtham

Krishnappa Gowtham, who played in the match against SRH and had the lowest economy among LSG bowlers, has now shared his perspective on the incident. In an interview with CricTracker, Gowtham revealed that Goenka was extremely disappointed with LSG's defeat and lashed out at KL Rahul. However, Rahul maintained his composure and listened to Goenka's criticism before explaining the team's performance.

“He [franchise owner Sanjeev Goenka] was a little disappointed with the way [we] lost the game. Any human will have emotions and will go through that rollercoaster. KL being KL, he kept his calm. He heard him out. He didn’t take either of the side. He didn’t take the owner’s side or the players’ side. He kept his calm and was listening to everything because he had to analyse it before explaining it [to Goenka on what went wrong],” Gowtham said.

Gowtham acknowledged that Sanjiv Goenka was emotionally charged but justified his actions by explaining that he had invested significant time and effort into the team. This investment, coupled with the team's disappointing performance, likely contributed to Goenka's emotional reaction.

"It was a little animated but I think a person who has invested a lot of time and effort in the team and to see the way we lost that game. I think it shows the kind of passion he has for the team and the values he has for the team. He wants us to win everything and he wants us to enjoy that. [The loss] disappointed him and that’s why he reacted the way he reacted,” Gowtham added.

LSG owner cryptic remark after snubbing KL Rahul: Wanted winning mentality​

Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) owner Dr Sanjeev Goenka made a cryptic remark after not retaining KL Rahul for the Indian Premier League 2025 (IPL 2025). Notably, Rahul didn’t feature in the list of the retained players of the franchise ahead of the upcoming mega auction. Lucknow retained a total of five players namely Nicholas Pooran (INR 21 Crore), Ravi Bishnoi (INR 11 Crore), Mayank Yadav (INR 11 Crore), Mohsin Khan (INR 4 Crore) and Ayush Badoni (INR 4 Crore).

Following their retentions, they have used INR 51 Crore out of their purse amount of INR 120 Crore for retentions and now have INR 69 Crore remaining in hand for the mega auction. After releasing their list, Dr Sanjeev Goenka revealed their mindset behind the retentions and said that mentor Zaheer Khan and head coach Justin Langer had a long discussion and finalize the retentions.

He also said that the team wanted to keep the players who put the team first ahead of their personal goals and milestones. The statement is being construed as a dig at KL Rahul who’s come under the radar for his below-par strike rate in recent years.

“It was a process that Zaheer Khan, Justin Langer and the analyst and the CEO engaged in for a while and we all had a joint discussion. And that discussion wasn’t too long, I mean we had a simple mindset to go in with the players who have a mindset to win, who put the team before their personal goals and personal aspirations. We wanted to retain as much of our core as we could within the available purse,” Goenka told the broadcaster.

Further speaking ahead, Goenka revealed the reason behind all of their retentions and said that they wanted to keep their strong bowling unit intact.

“We had a strong bowling unit and that’s why went with three bowlers from the previous seasons, all Indians. Pooran was a no brainer for everyone so that’s clear and Ayush has done well for us at number six and number seven. He’s an uncapped Indian so that was something, we dicussed, debated and decided afterwards,” he added.

Having secured their core, LSG will look to build a strong squad with their remaining purse amount of INR 69 Crore in the mega auction. The auction dates and the venue are yet to be finalized by the IPL Governing Council and is likely to be decided in the coming weeks.

"It Did Affect...": KL Rahul Breaks Silence On Animated Chat With LSG Owner Sanjiv Goenka During IPL 2024

India wicketkeeper batter KL Rahul has opened up on the animated chat between Lucknow Super Giants' owner Sanjiv Goenka during the 2024 IPL when LSG were hammered by Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH). LSG were in a need of big win over SRH to qualify for the playoffs, but the team suffered a humiliating 10-wicket loss. Afterwards, LSG owner appeared visibly displeased after the match's outcome and was seen engaged in an intense discussion with skipper Rahul along the boundary line at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium.

"As a team, we were all in shock because we were at the stage in that tournament where every game was very important. We had to win, I think, three out of five games or two out of the last four games. When this happened, it was just a big shock for all of us," said Rahul on Star Sports.

"Whatever happened on the field after the game wasn't the nicest thing to be part of or something that anyone wants to see on the cricket field. I think it did affect the entire group. We still had a chance to make it into the playoffs. We had a chat as a team and tried to regroup, put everything aside, and try to put our best foot forward. We tried our best, but unfortunately, our best wasn't good enough always. It was a bummer that we couldn't really make the playoffs or win the season as we had hoped," he added.

Although the content of their conversation was inaudible, the animated exchange between the owner and captain captured by the broadcaster, gained traction on social media. Experts and fans had suggested that discussions about the loss should take place in private rather than in front of spectators.

After LSG won the toss and opted to bat first, they posted a below-par total of 165, with skipper Rahul playing a sluggish knock of 29 off 33. Ayush Badoni's 55 and Nicholas Pooran's 48, in 99-run partnership gave the LSG a respectable finish. In reply, Openers Travis Head (89 off 30) and Abhishek (75 off 28) wreaked havoc on the LSG bowlers as SRH chased down the target of 166 runs in just 9.4 overs without any loss.

Speaking about the particular match, Rahul said, "I don't really know how much was made outside, but I just remember it was probably one of the worst games I've been part of as a player. But also, just from behind the stumps, I was amazed at how Sunrisers battered us. We watched on TV how dominating or how dangerous Travis Head and Abhishek Sharma were.

"But to see it from up close, anything that we did that day seemed to find the boundary. Any ball our bowlers bowled seemed to hit the middle of the bat and fly into the crowd. To get 160, 170 runs in nine odd overs was ridiculous. And almost like, we had to pinch ourselves to know what really happened."

Notably, in the IPL 2025 retentions day, LSG let go of their captain Rahul, thus ending their three-year association with the right-handed batter. Instead of him, Pooran is their biggest retention at Rs 21 crore, followed by Ravi Bishnoi and Mayank Yadav at Rs 11 crore each, before Badoni and Mohsin Khan were retained at Rs 4 crore, respectively.

NDTV

I don't really think it is. The owners are still putting money into the team, which means they have every right to ask questions when they don't get a return on their investment.

You are fixating too much on technical details. I don't care about any of that. I'm talking about attitude and mindset. A player should be able to take a tongue-lashing when he screws up, instead of everyone being nice and buddy buddy with each other. Why? You're in this sport to win, not be nice and make friends. And people should be able to hear hard truths and criticism and move on, instead of offended and insulted by everything.

Nobody is free of criticism and if anything sport needs more honestly and people telling each other hard truths
True..I remember Holding telling that when they started WSC, their fitness was very poor and after a game Kerry Packer gave them a dressing down..But yes nowadays with all these cameras, it could have been done more discretely

If it was some Delhi player, that owner would have got back nicely....

LSG owner Sanjiv Goenka said during an interaction with local media:

"I haven't seen the meme but I can re-affirm that the boss is loving, caring and tough as well."

"When you need love, he gives you love. When you need care, he cares for you. Similarly, when you need some scolding, he will scold you too."

I like this, it adds to the hype and emotion of the league. If the owner is paying $ millions to the players, he has every right to lose his mind if the players are not giving him an ROI.
Nah being in India where the rich and right wing do not suffer consequences, it’s carte blanche to act like a royal. KL should have shoved his bat up his rear end, sideways.

Memories Of KL Rahul-Sanjiv Goenka Exchange Refreshed As LSG Owner Speaks With Rishabh Pant After Poor Show Vs DC

With Delhi Capitals reeling at 65/5 in chase of 210 on Monday night, nobody would’ve blamed Lucknow Super Giants for assuming the match is all but over. However, a stunning comeback led by a fiery half-century from Ashutosh Sharma and a quickfire 15-ball 39 from Vipraj Nigam engineered a dramatic turnaround for the DC as they won the IPL 2025 contest with three deliveries to spare.

It thus culminated a forgettable LSG debut for captain Rishabh Pant who came under scrutiny following his six-ball duck and questionable tactics besides missing a stumping chance in the final over that would have proved decisive.

Right after DC’s one-wicket win, visuals of LSG owner Sanjiv Goenka having a chat with captain Pant and head coach Justin Langer went viral on social media with users reminded of an incident from the last season.

After LSG suffered a hammering at the hands of Sunrisers Hyderabad during IPL 2024, Goenka had a heated exchange with the then captain KL Rahul resulting in a major controversy. Later that year, LSG released Rahul ahead of the mega auction.

At the two-day mega auction, LSG then broke the bank to secure the services of Pant for a record-breaking Rs 27 crore making the wicketkeeper-batter the most expensive signing in the history of IPL auctions.

During the post-match presentation, Pant said luck played a part in LSG losing the match they should have won.

“Definitely luck plays a part in this game and if it could have missed his (Mohit Sharma’s) pads, it was a chance for stumping. But these things happen in the game of cricket, you can’t focus on these things, but rather you need to play better cricket," Pant said.

Interestingly, the decision to not have Shardul Thakur bowl his quota of four overs also raised eyebrows. Thakur, roped in as a last-minute replacement for the injured Mohsin Khan, took two wickets in his two overs including that of Jason Fraser-McGurk and Abishek Porel.

SOURCE: https://www.news18.com/cricket/memo...shabh-pant-after-poor-show-vs-dc-9273600.html

Scary owner

I don’t understand why this guy feels he needs to be there at the ground intimidating his players

I'm all for giving players a proper tongue-lashing and reality check when they need it, but not everything has to be done infront of the cameras. From an optics POV that doesn't always look good you can't control how others on the internet will react. In a country like India that kind of negative PR can really hurt your brand.

It’s power show off.
The owners are making it clear who calls the shots and who are real bad boys of Cricket.

These players may think they’re superstars but an IPL owner can make them grovel. Remember Ross Taylor got slapped for poor performance.

If i was Lucknow owner I would have made Pant Murga for 10 minutes until he repented playing poorly for my franchise.

They called it sports entertainment and they got their Vinnie Mac
Vince McMahon wasn’t a control freak. He was an excellent man manager.

This guy is an ultra aggressive desi Freshy uncle who pressurises his kids to become doctors or die in shame.

LSG Owner Sanjiv Goenka:

He removed Dhoni as captain.
He insulted KL Rahul in the dugout.
He showed dissatisfaction with Rishabh Pant, just after 1st game

It’s power show off.
The owners are making it clear who calls the shots and who are real bad boys of Cricket.

These players may think they’re superstars but an IPL owner can make them grovel. Remember Ross Taylor got slapped for poor performance.
What!? When did this happen?

ITs a shame though some franchise have gem of owners like SRK & Preity
Who is more cooler than bangalore owners who never won it .Apart from that chennai, delhi , rajastan guys are also cool.u will never hear anything from them about cricket matters.they will deal with in themselves.

This is absolutely nuts. I get why Taylor chose to stay quiet—it could have impacted his future opportunities in the IPL. But honestly, no amount of money is worth sacrificing your self-respect. I wish Taylor would have slapped him back.

To be honest it was an affectionate slap by a father figure. People tend to imagine it like those nasty slaps when it could be just a gentle tap on the back of the head or something.