[VIDEO] Rude kids' interaction with Amitabh Bachchan on KBC 17 sparks a massive parenting debate

Rajdeep

A young contestant, Ishit Bhatt, a fifth standard student from Gandhinagar, Gujarat, recently appeared on the hot seat of Amitabh Bachchan's Kaun Banega Crorepati 17. The child, who didn't win any prize money, was slammed on the Internet due to his manner, way of speaking, and confidence, which ignited a heated conversation online. The child's behaviour on the show raised serious questions about parenting and the pressure young children face on the reality shows. On the contrary, a section of the Internet raised questions about the nature of social media where a minor is scrutinised for his behaviour.

All Indians talk like this...

"Dal-Do"

"Lock-Karo"

Seems like a normal Indian.
Agree.

This is just the way Indians talk. Amitabh is from Allahbad (UP) so his language is refined but this is common in India.

See this a lot these days, it’s like the danda wielding parents of last few centuries up to the 70s-80s got replaced with softie millennial parents who believe too much in trauma this and trauma that and are incredibly afraid of even scolding their kids because they don’t want to come off “abusive”

Amitabh should’ve sent him flying with old man strength slap and then the kid would’ve reacted with “how can he slap???!
:sree

english in an indian accent is one of the worst things humanity has had to endure, i could barely get through thirty seconds, the kid seemed excited, but im guessing its more western style of parenting. it has its ups and downs, the kid comes across as rude, but he pbly wont grow up thinking he cant challenge an elders view, even if its wrong. swings and roungabouts.

Definitely cringe and annoying but you have to realize it’s just a kid at the end of the day.

Regarding parenting; I have seen many well to do and loving parents having the most annoying kids and I have seen poor parents sometimes having the sweetest kids. You can’t completely control how a kid turns out to be.

Amitabh Bachchan is too old and classy to react to an excited little kid. He must have seen too many of them in his lifetime.

I absolutely loathe people including parents who hit or try to bully kids. I have a 10 year old nephew who is extremely well behaved, and I'll probably end up killing anyone who hits or bullies him. But there are times when certain kids need to be disciplined. No hitting though.​

People have over reacted.

We are too used to watching people pretend on social media that when we see someone act geniune we get offended

The kid was being a kid.

When you are broadcasting a live show, it is always a tricky especially when you bring in kids as you cant really control things and it can go south. I think Amitab hosted it really really well and never lost his cool.

The kid ended up challenging the format of the show. He thought he was there to just answer the question and move on, the money factor didnt matter. While for the show director, the broadcasting was more important, giving time to each question, making sure the breaks happen on its schedule and the audience get to read the question and option.

Kid didnt know that, he was being kid. Didnt waste time, looked smart and sharp and probably made the indian audience feel belittled that how a small kid has such good listening skills that he was playing really fast.

Thats how kids are. Nothing wrong in any parenting, he was as geniune as it gèts.

KBC slow format of question reading and answering was always annoying. The kid challenged that, made people feel insecure.

But that is how kids behave.

The problem here is not the kid but the indian people.

The fact that they have started to bully a kid, because he made the audience feel insecure just shows what the problem with Indians are.

Strange culture where you are putting a kid that young on a reality show about winning money. I'm not knocking it, for all I know it is the same outside of India as well, although I think this show died out years ago in the UK.

The show died out every where. Its just in india there is sooo much poverty that this show became a hit there.

A uk film maker even made a movie on it, slumdog millionaire which really showed how india really is

WHAT DOES ISLAM HAVE ANYTHING TO DO WITH THIS THREAD??

STOP DERAILING THE THREAD NOW

The problem here is not the kid but the indian people.

The fact that they have started to bully a kid, because he made the audience feel insecure just shows what the problem with Indians are.

Bro...I am an Indian too but I never used to behave like this as a Kid. I used to be a shariff bachha

:najam

Its an indian show. Its the indian people trolling the kid online.

Unless you guys have started to see yourself Italian...
Kid just sounds like a normal Indian lol I said this before but dunno why it was misinterpreted as rude and deleted.

I'm not sure the big deal and why he is getting criticised.

The show died out every where. Its just in india there is sooo much poverty that this show became a hit there.

A uk film maker even made a movie on it, slumdog millionaire which really showed how india really is

Slumdog Millionaire was Amreekan movie and not Angrez. It was made around 2007 when India had real poverty. Now in 2025 the situation has changed...our GDP is more than England. LOL

All you are doing here is exposing the hollow desperation behind such statistics. Why is it Indians are still flocking in droves to emigrate to England rather than the other way round? You are probably the best placed to answer this actually since you are one of them. 😄

Btw, if you look at the last question, i think its from the ramayan.

Should secular india eveb be having such questions being asked? What if the kid was asked about Islam?

english in an indian accent is one of the worst things humanity has had to endure, i could barely get through thirty seconds, the kid seemed excited, but im guessing its more western style of parenting. it has its ups and downs, the kid comes across as rude, but he pbly wont grow up thinking he cant challenge an elders view, even if its wrong. swings and roungabouts.
The Indian English accent you refer to is mostly Gujarati. The English spoken across India varies. The Mallu (Kerala) accent has been mocked good-naturedly in the South. Tamilians speak English a different way. The Bangalore-accent is unique. They might all not be as aesthetically pleasing as we've been trained to admire a French English accent for example. But I'm not sure why Pakistanis go on and on about Indian accents. The Pakistani accent is one of the most cringe to experience - that westernised attempt to drawl out words and hurriedly. It's kind of how North Indians speak English but worse. I used to laugh to my friends that they are basically in a hurry to get it done with and be put out of their misery :jimmy

tl;dr Pakistanis who mock 'the Indian accent' is a hilarious thing to watch

Seems like a normal semi-spoilt indian kid if you ask me .. well atleast the north indian ones, he'll grow out of it. You were so alarmed you created a thread lol.

Btw, if you look at the last question, i think its from the ramayan.

Should secular india eveb be having such questions being asked? What if the kid was asked about Islam?

LOL what is the harm on asking the question about Ramayana? The epics of Ramayana and Mahabharat is taught in every Indian school. It teaches us values and virtues of life. Secularism has nothing to do with it.

Having said that, I think that was a tough question for 20,000 rupees. I think KBC got irritated with that kid and intentionally asked a tough question so early. That was 1Lakh rupee question atleast.

The Indian English accent you refer to is mostly Gujarati. The English spoken across India varies. The Mallu (Kerala) accent has been mocked good-naturedly in the South. Tamilians speak English a different way. The Bangalore-accent is unique. They might all not be as aesthetically pleasing as we've been trained to admire a French English accent for example. But I'm not sure why Pakistanis go on and on about Indian accents. The Pakistani accent is one of the most cringe to experience - that westernised attempt to drawl out words and hurriedly. It's kind of how North Indians speak English but worse. I used to laugh to my friends that they are basically in a hurry to get it done with and be put out of their misery :jimmy

It's mostly western raised Pakistanis who mock the Indian accent, because when I was growing up, Indian accent was mocked mercilessly by the whites. Pakistani accent falls into a similar category, although it is not so harsh, so it's a general observance of subcontinent accent, not really an India vs Pakistan thing.

Not limited to England either, just look at how Apu Simpson's accent was mocked in the The Simpsons. That's a US show.

It's mostly western raised Pakistanis who mock the Indian accent, because when I was growing up, Indian accent was mocked mercilessly by the whites. Pakistani accent falls into a similar category, although it is not so harsh, so it's a general observance of subcontinent accent, not really an India vs Pakistan thing.

Not limited to England either, just look at how Apu Simpson's accent was mocked in the The Simpsons. That's a US show.
Pakistanis are not some special race. It is made up of migrants from UP-Bihar and Punjab. Apart from lack of education or basic English communication skills among most, what exactly is the unique Pakistani accent?

Also if you go by Simpsons. South Park has mocked Muslims as terrorists and that they only speak gibberish sprinkled with Durka Durka etc. should I use that as a reference point? 😭

Pakistanis are not some special race. It is made up of migrants from UP-Bihar and Punjab. Apart from lack of education or basic English communication skills among most, what exactly is the unique Pakistani accent?

Also if you go by Simpsons. South Park has mocked Muslims as terrorists and that they only speak gibberish sprinkled with Durka Durka etc. should I use that as a reference point? 😭

I was replying to @pillionrider who referred to the Pakistani accent so I used his reference point. Not sure why you seem so stung about it, I was basically saying that it falls into the same category as Indian accent, but probably less harsh. Unless you think Pakistanis have Tamil or Mallu accents.

Pakistanis themselves don’t have a uniform accent because it would differ on region so why would they have accents like Tamilians or Mallus who themselves have distinct accents from each other 🤷‍♂️ I don’t get it.

What is the definition of sounding less “harsh”? I thought language is about communication. I think Inzamam or Rizwan’s English accent is cute and funny but I don’t have a clue what they are saying like most. How does that help if it sounds sweet?

LOL what is the harm on asking the question about Ramayana? The epics of Ramayana and Mahabharat is taught in every Indian school. It teaches us values and virtues of life. Secularism has nothing to do with it.

Having said that, I think that was a tough question for 20,000 rupees. I think KBC got irritated with that kid and intentionally asked a tough question so early. That was 1Lakh rupee question atleast.
Indian schools teach ramayan in school?

So would you be ok if quran was taught in secular india?

Good post. It's funny to see Pakistanis mocking Indian accents. Completely unacceptable.

However it's completely acceptable for Indians to mock the Pakistani accent. You spent your childhood doing it.

As for the question. I can understand the kbc director, its a tv show and the only way they make money is by having the tv audience be engaged with the question reading the convo that took place, and in just a few mins they were already on the 4th question.

It was as if the kid was controlling the whole thing. What i really like was how Amitabh let him control the whole thing, he had to keep the thing going and that is what improvising is.

And than one question comes in, poor kid falls.

I still think people are being harsh. He was a kid being a kid

Indian schools teach ramayan in school?

So would you be ok if quran was taught in secular india?

Ramayan is not religious per se. Its not as if they are teaching Bhagwat Gita or Vedas which are religious books like Quran/Bible. You guys have no idea how it works in India or how secular society functions.

India has many Hindu schools like Kendriya Vidyalaya. It has Catholic schools like AG Church and also has fair share of madrasas.

I studied in Catholic school where morning prayers used to be for Christ and had both Ramayana/Mahabharata in our curriculum.

There's something about the tongue muscle memory formed by Urdu ennunciations that make Pak-English sound slightly better.

You care far too much what others think of our accents(it's not even that homogenous - varies by region)

Besides, British posters would find it weirder I suppose. Not that most British Asians sound good anyway. Their street lingo sounds like urban poverty given a voice.

A better point of comparison would be cricketers from India and Pakistan .

Gill is not from an urban English speaking background but he sounds decent and you can at least comprehend his thought process.

Lipstick Rizwan can barely string a sentence together in the English language.

And what is worse, even in Urdu he sounds like "wazakaguwaa wallah boys"

Even posters here could barely understand him :inti

@Local.Dada upload an audio of you reading Harry Potter for a laugh bro. I'll give 20 to a charity of your choice.

Don't be a spoilsport let's hear your educated accent brother, for a good cause. Put us unedcuated Pakistanis in our place.
Harry Potter is not 1 single book. You want me to read the entire series for your amusement for 20 bucks? 🤣. If asking strange men for audio files on the internet isn’t weird enough, how about I sponsor “ X “ amount for the library card of your choice for a month (more reasonable) , better usage of your time than my musically untrained voice.👍

See this a lot these days, it’s like the danda wielding parents of last few centuries up to the 70s-80s got replaced with softie millennial parents who believe too much in trauma this and trauma that and are incredibly afraid of even scolding their kids because they don’t want to come off “abusive”

Amitabh should’ve sent him flying with old man strength slap and then the kid would’ve reacted with “how can he slap???!
:sree
Amitabh g: ap ka choice kya hai?

Child: Lock karo

Amitabh g: abi kya bola… thapar lagoun

Child: Dal tho

As bad as Pakistani accent. :dw

Harry Potter is not 1 single book. You want me to read the entire series for your amusement for 20 bucks? 🤣. If asking strange men for audio files on the internet isn’t weird enough, how about I sponsor “ X “ amount for the library card of your choice for a month (more reasonable) , better usage of your time than my musically untrained voice.👍
Im glad u accepted urself as being strange

Jesus Christ, give the kid some slack, he is just in grade 5 and only 10 years old. Kids learn slowly how to behave. People and the media are being too harsh on him, even blaming the parents. :facepalm::facepalm:

Not every child is the same while growing up, some are more stubborn and aggressive, but that doesn’t mean they are rude. Kids learn at their own pace

Desi guys should be the last people to comment on someone’s accent.lol
It’s like arguing, My skin tone is fairer than yours.

I used to watch KBC at one point and I recall the early questions would be tailormade specifically to the contestant based on some form and info they would've filled up while signing up for the show. It's always on topics they feel the contestant will be aware of. When SRK came on, one of the questions was on the Quran for example. This Major dude has no clue as usual what he is ranting about.

The Ramayana question was tough for the average Hindu - even I didn't know it though I'm no longer a practising Hindu but I guessed Bal because kid lol

Yograj Singh must be proud of this kid.

Hindi can be very rude and arrogant when it comes from the mouth of some taporis and uncouth kids.

However it's completely acceptable for Indians to mock the Pakistani accent. You spent your childhood doing it.
Once I hit my 20s, I stopped caring and rating someone on their English skills. It happened when I moved to an engineering college where people came from diverse schools and backgrounds. In my first year I hung around with folk who were from similar so-called elite schools to me. But it happened quite naturally that I ended up being friends, as the years rolled on, more with those from ordinary schools who just seemed more in sync with my changing worldview. One of the proudest moments for me was in my final year when I met an old friend and she said, what happened to your English - your accent has gone down the drain, who have you been hanging around with. I felt good that I had finally shaken off the snobbish stupid little thing I had carried so proudly as a kid and teenager.

So when Modi came in 2014 and I voted for him - one of the things I liked about him at the time was that he spoke poor English and didn't seem to give a damn about it. As it turned out, all of that was just defense mechanism from him and he did in fact suffer from the same inferiority complexes and wanted to be posh once he had the chance. But that's a different matter.

I don't judge anyone by their English skills. But I'm also pretty good at the language and don't hesitate to pull down people who think they're special based on it. In the case of the Pakistani and North Indian accents I referred to - it's because that accent is based on trying to sound (in their heads) like a Westerner which made it mock-worthy for me.

Indian adults themselves are rude. So, their children are also rude. They learn from their elderlies. :inti

As it turned out, all of that was just defense mechanism from him and he did in fact suffer from the same inferiority complexes and wanted to be posh once he had the chance.

True, Modi's a deeply insecure man. He hasn't even faced journalists in a press conference in 12 years now.

Compare his appearance now to when he was Gujarat CM. He has gone out of his way to deck himself up and look more sophisticated compared to the raw look he sported back then. People like him and Trump actually look down on the their core voter base.

People like him and Trump actually look down on the their core voter base.

I don't even know if Modi looks down on his base. It's hard to know what goes on in his brain. How do you judge a person if he has never had a conversation/discussion in public ? Not one in 11 years !

India is a low-quality democracy precisely because the politicians don't even bother to be accountable to the electorate. Once elected, they seal themselves off from their voters for 5 years.

I don't even know if Modi looks down on his base. It's hard to know what goes on in his brain. How do you judge a person if he has never had a conversation/discussion in public ?
Just look at policies and their real-world interactions. Modi is happiest when he is with Westerners. Look at his body language and face when he is dealing with a poor Indian kid or with poor uneducated people. One of those moments for me was when he did some dramatic washing feet of lower castes or poor people (don't remember). He looked so angry it was hilarious :jimmy

Pakistanis themselves don’t have a uniform accent because it would differ on region so why would they have accents like Tamilians or Mallus who themselves have distinct accents from each other 🤷‍♂️ I don’t get it.

What is the definition of sounding less “harsh”? I thought language is about communication. I think Inzamam or Rizwan’s English accent is cute and funny but I don’t have a clue what they are saying like most. How does that help if it sounds sweet?

If you refer back to my first post on this which seemed to burn you so much...you will see I quite clearly stated that it is mostly western based Pakistanis who mock Indian accents. They mock Pakistani ones as well if it makes you feel better. This is just part of English culture, you don't have to take this to heart. You can mock English accents if you like. If you are making it India vs Pakistan (again) then you are kind of missing the point.

to everyone who quoted me, stop being so sensitive, i had an accent once upon a time (granted it was no where near as aurally grating as the indian accent), it took me a few months of practise to get rid of it. you can completely develop a new accent with practise if you want to however if you want to keep the accent thats fine too, and its not about white is right either, the jamaican accent sounds really good, they arent white.

also pakistani accents are significnalty less jarring than the indian english accent, primarily because indians pronounce ending 't', 'd', 'p' sounds really hard, this isnt very common in pakistani english accents (im guessing now) because urdu doesnt have as many hard pronounced consonsants at the end of words. most pakistani kids who can speak english properly learn how to speak it from american films or tv shows so they copy that accent, the issue with pakistanis is that the majoirity speak broken english but dont realise it, so even if the accent doesnt jar, the lack of sense does.