[VIDEO] "You will win the hearts of 24 Crore people by defeating the neighbors": Shehbaz Sharif

The Bald Eagle

Pakistan PM today in an address during the opening ceremony of Gaddafi Stadium Lahore, encourage team Pakistan to defeat their arch rivals and eastern neighbor India in their much anticipated clash on February 23 in order to bring smile and win heart of all the people residing and rooting for the team Pakistan.

But the question is do such statements end up encouraging the players to go for the real deal or just add to the pile of existing pressure i.e the abstruse task of defending their title at home.

View attachment KY3UHP24wvTsVZTS.mp4

"And our fast bowler (Shaheen Shah Afridi) will also give the Indian batters a tough time, like Dennis Lillee used to haunt Intikhab Alam. By this I don't mean you should assault them, but rather that you should uproot their wickets."

View attachment 1738953606915.mp4

Amazing scenes coming from Pakistan. It feels more like old times. Whole country is jubilant and hyped for the tournament. The ceremony in Gaddafi is looking fantastic so far and good words by PM Sharif.

While other teams will be enjoying their time in Pakistan, India will be left waiting alone for teams to visit and play in UAE one by one. :inti

Indian team be like:

images

While other teams will be enjoying their time in Pakistan, India will be left waiting alone for teams to visit and play in UAE one by one. :inti

Indian team be like:

images
Huhhh? India is going to play first match on 20th Feb against Bangladesh. Pakistan team will be already there on 20th February at the Dubai to play Match against india on 23rd Feb.

Then india will enjoy a long week before we play our the next match against NZ .

Hopefully we will know the qualification scenario after first 2 matches, Otherwise we will have to use calculator for 1 week like the RCB Fan's.

BTW Hype is starting to build for the 23rd Feb match but My Josh is not high after seeing Virat and Rohit in the team and Bumrah out of the team

Indian team be like:

Haha lmao :rp

I'm pretty sure all the other teams including Pakistan themselves would prefer "waiting alone" in Dubai rather than "enjoying their time" in Pakistan under presidential security.

There goes the CT trophy..

What crime have USA & Ireland done not to be included in this tournament they would have been licking there lips facing Pak.

Will be glad to be be proven wrong but I cannot see Pak beating India (a better all round team) with this team.

We could have selected a better team. Saim’s absence is a big blow. Our batting weakness is well-documented and current fast bowlers are not as threatening as those in the past.

However, it all comes down to how you play on the day. Let’s see what happens.

Will be glad to be be proven wrong but I cannot see Pak beating India (a better all round team) with this team.

We could have selected a better team. Saim’s absence is a big blow. Our batting weakness is well-documented and current fast bowlers are not as threatening as those in the past.

However, it all comes down to how you play on the day. Let’s see what happens.
Same feelings....sad but true. They had some good players but choose to ditch them all.

This thread should be moved to time pass. Politicians making cricketing statements does not mean they should be in the cricket section imo.

Not sure if Shahbaz Sharif has been watching recent Indo Pak matches but apart from that fluke inswinger in 2021, Rohit has bossed Shaheen in almost every innings since then.

We lost that SSA somewhere, was too hot to handle. It is a fact that after making his comeback in 2022 he was never the same bowler.

Shaheen was getting the better off him till the Asia Cup. And now Rohit is not even in form.

We lost that SSA somewhere, was too hot to handle. It is a fact that after making his comeback in 2022 he was never the same bowler.

Its a combination of the following below

- Shaheen being an age fudger and being close to 30 plus vs his actual listed age

- Shaheen not developing or adding new tools to his bowling. He relies very heavily on the full pitched inswinger and when the pitch offers nothing he has no other tactics to rely on i.e. bouncers, short of length stuff, outswingers

- Shaheen deciding to focus on T-20's and hence his ODI and Test bowling skills have deteriorated. There were rumours about him wanting to retire from test cricket last October but he was advised against it by his father in law. But since then the PCB has not picked him in test cricket again.

Somebody tell this stupid, fake and installed Form 47 PM that India has won every game since last 2017 CT apart from 2021 tuka.

Pakistan PM today in an address during the opening ceremony of Gaddafi Stadium Lahore, encouraged team Pakistan to defeat their arch rivals and eastern neighbor India in their much anticipated clash on February 23 in order to bring smile and win heart of all the people residing and rooting for the team Pakistan.

But the question is do such statements end up encouraging the players to go for the real deal or just add to the pile of existing pressure i.e the abstruse task of defending their title at home.

View attachment 150517

"And our fast bowler (Shaheen Shah Afridi) will also give the Indian batters a tough time, like Dennis Lillee used to haunt Intikhab Alam. By this I don't mean you should assault them, but rather that you should uproot their wickets."

View attachment 150523

I noticed the plural in “neighbors” so I am guessing it applies to India, Afghanistan and Bangladesh…

Nope he meant India, I believe and tbh these days it is easier to defeat India then Afghanistan because India take it as a high voltage encounter but Afghanis take it as an all out war

Dayumnn, Pakistan are bringing the heat .. I have a feeling we'll get ambushed in Dubai. 💀

This is the one format where India has consistently bossed us, the outlier being the CT17 final.

I wouldn’t be making statements like this

Shaheen was getting the better off him till the Asia Cup. And now Rohit is not even in form.

Shaheen has never had the better of him in ODIs. Only T20's maybe.

Rohit has taken apart Pakistani bowling attack with Shaheen almost every time since 2018 in ODIs.

Shaheen cleaned him up in the Asia Cup match that ended in a no-result. So right there you are wrong when you say that Shaheen has never gotten the better of him in ODIs. Since becoming the pace spearhead of the attack Shaheen has only played a couple of ODIs against India. Hardly enough of a sample size.

We'll see how Rohit "takes apart" Pakistan's bowling attack this time.

Shaheen cleaned him up in the Asia Cup match that ended in a no-result. So right there you are wrong when you say that Shaheen has never gotten the better of him in ODIs. Since becoming the pace spearhead of the attack Shaheen has only played a couple of ODIs against India. Hardly enough of a sample size.

We'll see how Rohit "takes apart" Pakistan's bowling attack this time.

That's why I said "almost" every time.
Rohit got the better of the attack with Shaheen 4 out of 5 times .

Shaheen may well get the better of a 38 year old past it Rohit now but clearly didn't have the wood over him at his best.

I wasn't sure if he was bowling or chucking recently in South Africa. It appeared he chucked some of his deliveries. If he chucks, I expect Shaheen to pick up a lot of wickets in the tournament.

the saddest thing was the fact that all these corrupt people talking about cricket in Qaddafi stadium and the best cricketer ever produced by the nation is in jail. One behind the bar is the one who was behind so many memorable victories at this very ground , particularly against our eastern neighbors. We used to beat them quite frequently when he was the team leader, not since then.

That's why I said "almost" every time.
Rohit got the better of the attack with Shaheen 4 out of 5 times .

Shaheen may well get the better of a 38 year old past it Rohit now but clearly didn't have the wood over him at his best.
Shaheen has played 3 ODIs against India since becoming the pace spearhead of the Pakistan attack. Hardly enough of a sample size. And one of those occasions, Rohit like other Indian batsmen had no answer to him. Luckily, rain saved them.

It’s totally fine. People need to stop overreacting. This is build up to the biggest match in cricket and nothing better than the top leader in the country giving confidence to the players like that. I hope he will also be among the first persons to show solidarity with the players if they happen to lose which is part of the game. PM Modi came to the final in a stadium at 1 lac capacity named after him and watched the home team lose. I liked when he went straight to the players dressing room after the defeat and gave his shoulder to some of the emotional players who were crying. Same thing with the ISRO mission. Nerds on forums who talk about bezti and all know nothing about sports. These are the same people who celebrate like idiots after winning.

Shehbaz sahab should not be making such statements ...

Let's just play cricket like it is meant to be without being over the top with such statements.

Maybe Shahbaz and co are waiting for another " SIR APKA VISION THA" moment

Shaheen has played 3 ODIs against India since becoming the pace spearhead of the Pakistan attack. Hardly enough of a sample size. And one of those occasions, Rohit like other Indian batsmen had no answer to him. Luckily, rain saved them.

Actually, he has played 4. And Rohit's scores were 111* , 11, 56 and 86 in those matches.

Averaged 88 at a strike rate over 100 against an attack with Shaheen .

That's as comprehensive as it gets.

Actually, he has played 4. And Rohit's scores were 111* , 11, 56 and 86 in those matches.

Averaged 88 at a strike rate over 100 against an attack with Shaheen .

That's as comprehensive as it gets.
I very clearly said since "he became the spearhead of the pace attack". So any matches before 2023 don't fall under that. Hardly comprehensive.

Everyone knows that Rohit has a weakness against left-arm swing, so not like Shaheen getting the better of him a few times is medal-worthy either. But Rohit has not dominated Shaheen by any means.

I very clearly said since "he became the spearhead of the pace attack". So any matches before 2023 don't fall under that. Hardly comprehensive.

Everyone knows that Rohit has a weakness against left-arm swing, so not like Shaheen getting the better of him a few times is medal-worthy either. But Rohit has not dominated Shaheen by any means.

Chalo, I'll humour you. Rohit vs Pakistan (with Shaheen as the fearsome leader of the pack )

3 matches , Average : 51 , strike rate : 106.

Chalo, I'll humour you. Rohit vs Pakistan (with Shaheen as the fearsome leader of the pack )

3 matches , Average : 51 , strike rate : 106.
Rohit v Pakistan and Rohit v Shaheen are two very different things. Why are you having so much trouble comprehending this basic thing? I could have been any clearer.

It’s totally fine. People need to stop overreacting. This is build up to the biggest match in cricket and nothing better than the top leader in the country giving confidence to the players like that. I hope he will also be among the first persons to show solidarity with the players if they happen to lose which is part of the game. PM Modi came to the final in a stadium at 1 lac capacity named after him and watched the home team lose. I liked when he went straight to the players dressing room after the defeat and gave his shoulder to some of the emotional players who were crying. Same thing with the ISRO mission. Nerds on forums who talk about bezti and all know nothing about sports. These are the same people who celebrate like idiots after winning.

With a microphone strapped to his neck. He just likes the PR.

Pakistan tend to beat India in CT (2004, 2009, and 2017).

I think Pakistan have a good chance this time also.

With a microphone strapped to his neck. He just likes the PR.

It’s ok and this is what leaders are asked to do in modern time. PR is important too. American Presidents have been going to Super Bowl all these years, you have the European leaders attending FIFA games. Everyone does it. Important thing was he made sure to meet the players after they lost. Had he not done that then I wouldn’t been upset. During ISRO event also, people mocked him but people don’t appreciate the kind of support ISRO is getting from the government.

From what?

the saddest thing was the fact that all these corrupt people talking about cricket in Qaddafi stadium and the best cricketer ever produced by the nation is in jail. One behind the bar is the one who was behind so many memorable victories at this very ground , particularly against our eastern neighbors. We used to beat them quite frequently when he was the team leader, not since then.
It’s actually a good thing, I can imagine PTI supporters setting chairs on fire, damaging the newly constructed building, and burning the new screens, all while calling it a peaceful protest.

Losing the match?

Lol...268 was more than good enough for that Pakistani batting line-up on that Pallekele wicket.

If you really think Pak were favourites to chase that down against Bumrah, Siraj, Kuldeep , Pandya etc on a ground with zero dew effect, then I have nothing much to say really. It was 70-30 in India's favour when Kishan-Pandya partnership ended.

Lol...268 was more than good enough for that Pakistani batting line-up on that Pallekele wicket.

If you really think Pak were favourites to chase that down against Bumrah, Siraj, Kuldeep , Pandya etc on a ground with zero dew effect, then I have nothing much to say really. It was 70-30 in India's favour when Kishan-Pandya partnership ended.
It was a pretty chaseable total. Just be glad that rain saved you that day, instead of talking about things that never would have happened.

It was a pretty chaseable total.

Pakistani batters looked clueless on a much flatter wicket in Colombo where India smashed 356. It was chaseable for sure ..but it was definitely not probable.
Just be glad that rain saved you that day, instead of talking about things that never would have happened.

By any chance, are you talking to yourselves? :yk

They were never going to chased that total on that pitch and conditions.

Few days laters india humiliated pakistan on a better pitch by beating 228 runs after bowled out them Just for 128 runs

Pakistani batters looked clueless on a much flatter wicket in Colombo where India smashed 356. It was chaseable for sure ..but it was definitely not probable.

By any chance, are you talking to yourselves? :yk
That was a different match, which has nothing to do with the on I'm talking about. Regardless its a moot point so I have no idea why you're so offended by the idea. I mean, its not like this is some World Cup winning champion Indian team I am talking about here.

Why would you need a World cup champion side to beat a mediocre Pakistani side, that failed to even reach that Asia cup final and got thrown out by Sri Lanka?

Anyways , I think you're just having a troll so I'll let this be. :)

Why would you need a World cup champion side to beat a mediocre Pakistani side, that failed to even reach that Asia cup final and got thrown out by Sri Lanka?

Anyways , I think you're just having a troll so I'll let this be. :)
If a team is mediocre, you can accept that. But if a team is good, has great players, and still drops the ball when it matters most, now that's embarrassing.

In one match any team can win. As India found out later in that tournament when they played Bangladesh.

Also, in one match any team can win. As India found out later in that tournament when they played Bangladesh.

Losing to Bangladesh by 5 runs while experimenting with bench players in a dead rubber game is not the same as losing by 228 runs when it matters.

And no...it's not just one game. Just weeks later, India smashed Pakistan in the WC game as well with Pak batters once again failing to cross even 200.

Losing to Bangladesh by 5 runs while experimenting with bench players in a dead rubber game is not the same as losing by 228 runs when it matters.
Whether you losing by 500 runs or 5 runs does not matter. A loss is a loss.

And no...it's not just one game. Just weeks later, India smashed Pakistan in the WC game as well with Pak batters once again failing to cross even 200.

And just weeks after that, 100,000 Indians gathered to see the same great Indian side that smashed Pakistan get embarrassed on self-tampered pitch by Australia. What is your point exactly? I never said Pakistan was a better team than India. Just that you don't have to be a better team to have a good day in ODI cricket. If you can't get that through your head then that's not my problem.

And just weeks after that, 100,000 Indians gathered to see the same great Indian side that smashed Pakistan get embarrassed on self-tampered pitch by Australia. What is your point exactly? I never said Pakistan was a better team than India. Just that you don't have to be a better team to have a good day in ODI cricket. If you can't get that through your head then that's not my problem

And the wheels come off :ROFLMAO:

Australia , which is a vastly superior team to Pakistan in all senses, beating India at the same venue does not prove your non existent point. You're acting really desperate just because you can't fathom the fact that Pakistan would have most likely lost the Pallekele game if not for rain.

I won't blame you though..ever since the CT final , that's the only ODI where Pakistan got to escape with some sort of dignity intact and you lot cling on to it with baseless rationale.

And the wheels come off :ROFLMAO:

Australia , which is a vastly superior team to Pakistan in all senses, beating India at the same venue does not prove your non existent point. You're acting really desperate just because you can't fathom the fact that Pakistan would have most likely lost the Pallekele game if not for rain.

I won't blame you though..ever since the CT final , that's the only ODI where Pakistan got to escape with some sort of dignity intact and you lot cling on to it with baseless rationale.
You're flogging a dead horse by constantly repeating the same point. I have already admitted Pakistan is a mediocre side. How many ICC ODI trophies has India won though in the last decade, for being a better ODI side than Pakistan?