[VIDEOS] Did you like Wasim Akram's bowling video at Hajj?

Did you like Wasim Akram's bowling video at Hajj?

He should have been respectful.

I wouldn't bash him for it but its something i don't respect. When at pilgrimege we are required to behave respectfully. This kind of mockery, making reels etc is not respectable in my opinion. You have to maintain the sanctity of the place.

Those who are defending it, what if all the young kids now start doing this and making reels of it? What is this a joke to you all?

I am sorry, but when it comes to my deen, i will never support this kind of casual behaviour.

I liked it. Nice little run up and action to generate pace and swing. Whatever it takes to hit Shaitaan

This moulvi and a few others should also talk about what zulm is happening in the country, but no no, udhar zuban ruk jati hai...

Ou holy places should not become places of reel making social media personalities. This is a dangerous precedent. One has to draw the line somewhere.

He should have been respectful.

I wouldn't bash him for it but its something i don't respect. When at pilgrimege we are required to behave respectfully. This kind of mockery, making reels etc is not respectable in my opinion. You have to maintain the sanctity of the place.

Those who are defending it, what if all the young kids now start doing this and making reels of it? What is this a joke to you all?

I am sorry, but when it comes to my deen, i will never support this kind of casual behaviour.
What happens to the greater philosophy of "Lakum deenukum waliya deen" ?

There are different ways to pray and celebrate even amongst different Islamic sects. It's his way to hit the devil.

Ou holy places should not become places of reel making social media personalities. This is a dangerous precedent. One has to draw the line somewhere.
He is not the first one to make a reel there.

Btw as a shia, have you done ziyarah to Karbala?

He was with Fakhar-e-Alam

I bet he put him up to this.

I agree with you.
He's done the pilgremege in the past but this time Fakhar e-Alam, the weirdo rapper turned attention seeking anchor has been making reel after reel about their recent travels. They should have spared Hajj which we deeply value.

He is not the first one to make a reel there.

Btw as a shia, have you done ziyarah to Karbala?

Alhamdulilah, when it comes to faith, i never believed in boasting. My relation with Allah SWT, is my personal relationship. I try to be a good muslim, a good Shia, and thats all that i focus on. I don't badmouth other religions and cultures either.

There is a thing called muscle memory. Bowling comes naturally to Wasim. I am sure that even if he joined the army and was asked to throw a grenade, he would probably throw it with the same bowling action. :inti

Can you explain this to Mr. Modi? He has been doing the same for the last 12 years or so. :inti

Its none of my concern what Hindus do at their holy places. I can only talk about what is happening in my religion.

Besides, i never saw Modiji doing anything disrespectful. He's a deeply religious and respectful person.

What happens to the greater philosophy of "Lakum deenukum waliya deen" ?

There are different ways to pray and celebrate even amongst different Islamic sects. It's his way to hit the devil.
لَكُمْ دِينُكُمْ وَلِيَ دِينِ was revealed at a time when Muhammad was ready to leave Makkah and was quite disillusioned by the Quraish who had been rejecting his dawah for more than a decade. It meant that to them (the Quraish) was their religion and to Muhamad was his (Islam). It had nothing to do with the different sects of Islam (as none existed at the time) but as is with most religious texts it comes down to context, tarjumah, tashree7 etc and any one can interpret any verse to suit their own narrative.

Right I understand. But as a principle, this would/should always apply then, right?
At a narrow definition, it could mean two sects of Islam. Let everyone pray, as they wish to pray and only Allah will judge?

On topic, even though I don't believe in these fairy tales, I find it disrespectful for the people who do. This is supposed to be a sombre act/symbol to repel the shaitaan and this clown is doing kaamedy for tik tok views. I remember the ban on cameras back in my Umrah/Hajj days and the religious police beating the crap out of people doing any theatrics. May be that needs to come back.

Right I understand. But as a principle, this would/should always apply then, right?
At a narrow definition, it could mean two sects of Islam. Let everyone pray, as they wish to pray and only Allah will judge?
Doesn't mean anyone can do anything. There are rules and regulations for everything, decorum in place. Do you even religion bro?

Nah Ji, I am but a deist
Though don't subscribe to religious ideas written hundreds of years ago.

Not particularly fussed. However there's a broader point about how many Muslims use faith as another means of social media "flexing" and asserting social standing - contrary to notions of tawadu (humility) and the Prophet's statement that nobody with an atom of pride can enter paradise.

These papier-mache Muslims love giving performative public shows of piety by peppering every other sentence with Inshallah and Mashallah, grow bushy beards, and post IG selfies besides the Kaaba like they'd stand next to their latest BMW on finance.

Rarely does their braggadocio translate into meaningful application of religious values in everyday life when nobody's looking.

They can pronounce Filasteen in their heavily accented Arabic but not donate a penny to its people ! They share Quranic verses in their WhatsApps but not open the door in a shop for an elderly person carrying heavy bags or give their seat to them on a train.

It's the end result of generations of parents who send their kids to mosques where they're mindlessly rocking like parrots memorising a foreign text without being taught its meaning or historical context. The parent then says "my bit is done" while the entirety of the child's faith is reduced to blind devotion to rituals.

That's why many do Hajj several times but their character never changes once.

Mir Taqi Mir:

haj se koi aadmi ho to saara aalam haj hi kare
makke se aaye shaikh ji lekin vo to vohi hain khar ke khar

If pilgrimage made a man a man, the whole world would perform Haj
But Shaikh ji has just returned from Makkah and is still what he was: an ass.

As for the topic. People have blown this out of proportion.

The purpose is to hit the wall. Now no where it is said that you need stand in a particular angle or throw it in a particular way.

Alot of people pelt stones in different ways. Only issue is, since he is Pakistani, so Pakistani people want to bash him, as we love hating our own.

The fact that the guy did Hajj while being a diabetes patient is a big deal.

Not about just Waz, folks should consider not taking too many pictures/videos when on Hajj. Try to focus on the act and be in the moment. If you bring your camera everywhere, then everything just becomes content to post online and share.

He never did so though. It was fakhar e alam.

There is no issue in taking camera or making a vid.

A hajj is a life achievement. And its inspiring when you see others do it.

Hajj paid by haraam earnings. He can’t do what he wants, it doesn’t make a difference. His Hajj will not be accepted.

No one really knows whose Hajj or even Qurbani will be accepted, as Allah has put a pardah on that.

And we also dont know for certain if the Hajj was performed on haram earnings.

The rami is required to be done during a specific interval, and its one of the most dangerous time ever as this is where most people die during Hajj.

His actions did not obstruct anyone.

I like it.

I don't like it.he should leave out such stuff at worship places .someone else may try other games like kabaddi, snooker , javelin throw, king fu etc.we don't want such ridiculous matters and complicate further.

Issue has been blown out of proportion

Not really.
Has he been arrested? Or facing a huge backlash or a boycott campaign?

No. People are just expressing their displeasure about Wasim being casual about it and making reels of it. It’s just put a lot of us off who feel one should display utmost humility at our holy sites and we are worried this might end up becoming a “trend”. That’s all. I don’t think it’s an overreaction at all.

Wasim bhai maybe our legend. But he’s not and never will be above the sanctity of our mazhab.

Not particularly fussed. However there's a broader point about how many Muslims use faith as another means of social media "flexing" and asserting social standing - contrary to notions of tawadu (humility) and the Prophet's statement that nobody with an atom of pride can enter paradise.

These papier-mache Muslims love giving performative public shows of piety by peppering every other sentence with Inshallah and Mashallah, grow bushy beards, and post IG selfies besides the Kaaba like they'd stand next to their latest BMW on finance.

Rarely does their braggadocio translate into meaningful application of religious values in everyday life when nobody's looking.

They can pronounce Filasteen in their heavily accented Arabic but not donate a penny to its people ! They share Quranic verses in their WhatsApps but not open the door in a shop for an elderly person carrying heavy bags or give their seat to them on a train.

It's the end result of generations of parents who send their kids to mosques where they're mindlessly rocking like parrots memorising a foreign text without being taught its meaning or historical context. The parent then says "my bit is done" while the entirety of the child's faith is reduced to blind devotion to rituals.

A beautiful post carrying a strong message. I wish most of us Muslims thought this way.

Not really.
Has he been arrested? Or facing a huge backlash or a boycott campaign?

No. People are just expressing their displeasure about Wasim being casual about it and making reels of it. It’s just put a lot of us off who feel one should display utmost humility at our holy sites and we are worried this might end up becoming a “trend”. That’s all. I don’t think it’s an overreaction at all.

Wasim bhai maybe our legend. But he’s not and never will be above the sanctity of our mazhab.
As a proud Shia or Iranian origin mixed with your Sanatani and Sikh origins you are perhaps not understanding the influence that sunni "ulema" like Ashrafi have over large sections of our population brother. We must tread cautiously and urge people to take this issue light heartedly.

I never brought Shia - Sunni thing into my mazhab. For me Allah SWT is who is above everything for me and it ends at that.

Not villain. I was just acknowledging their role

Yes, but it sounded weird because you don’t acknowledge the role of CIA, Mossad, KGB & RAW, all active in our country. ISI has been dealing with the devils for us and deserves a lot of credit. They’ve got much better things to do than create campaigns against Wasim Akram, who is also a proven match fixer.

Yes but it sounded weird because you don’t acknowledge the role of CIA, Mossad, KGB & RAW white all active in our country. ISI has been dealing with the devils for us and deserve a lot of credit. They’ve much better things to do then create campaigns against Wasim Akram who is also a proven match fixer.
:inzilarka seekh reh hamaray tor tarekay

Yes but it sounded weird because you don’t acknowledge the role of CIA, Mossad, KGB & RAW white all active in our country. ISI has been dealing with the devils for us and deserve a lot of credit. They’ve much better things to do then create campaigns against Wasim Akram who is also a proven match fixer.
You are right. I'm quite ashamed of myself now.

This plastic molvi needs to keep his mouth shut I think...

I dont really like it personally

It was a total mockery n should have been done in ways already told by Quran and Hadees to us
Agree. I feel the same way.

Fact check:

i am going to make this post longer for a lot of Non-Muslims as Muslims already know this. I saw the video but I can't find it anymore which is a longer version of what has actually happened.

Muslims collect 70 (or more) pebbles when staying at Muzdalifah to pelt the Jamaraat (symbolic devils) for the next few days:
  • The pebbles must be small (size of chick peas) to fit between your index finger and thumb
  • The 3 pillars vary in sizes and are called:
    • Jamarat al-Sughra (small pillar)
    • Jamarat al-Wusta (middle pillar)
    • Jamarat al-Kubra (large pillar)
All Muslims collect extra and more then 70! and usually throw the extra away or toss it or whatever...
  1. On the morning of 10th Dhul-Hijjah (which is Eid for Muslims) you pelt the Jamarat al-Kubra (large pillar) 7 times and Wasim did this and you can see it
    1. Then Wasim Akram decided to do his "bowling" afterwards with extra pebbles
  2. On the morning of 11th Dhul-Hijjah (Eid+1) you pelt the Jamarat al-Sughra (small pillar) 7 times and then Jamarat al-Wusta (middle pillar) 7 times and then Jamarat al-Kubra (large pillar) 7 times to that's 21 times
  3. On the morning of 12th Dhul-Hijjah (Eid+2) you pelt the Jamarat al-Sughra (small pillar) 7 times and then Jamarat al-Wusta (middle pillar) 7 times and then Jamarat al-Kubra (large pillar) 7 times to that's 21 times
99.999% of people are done.
  • On the morning of 13th Dhul-Hijjah (Eid+3) if due to some restrictions you remain in the area you pelt the Jamarat al-Sughra (small pillar) 7 times and then Jamarat al-Wusta (middle pillar) 7 times and then Jamarat al-Kubra (large pillar) 7 times to that's 21 times
Wasim Akram is clearly a Narcissit attention seeker and people are giving it to him by discussing it and sooner or later he is going to lambast people as he usually loves to dress people down. All religious sites and symbols and locations should be somber and reflective.

Neverthless, I pray Allah accepts his Hajj (Ameen) and he is better then me because Allah granted him the ability to perform Hajj and not me and those who are in Makkah are Guests of Allah.