[VIDEOS] "My goal is to take wickets quickly with the new ball" : Shaheen Shah Afridi

Hassaan HS

It is not easy for any bowler to control a new ball at the beginning of an innings but before the game starts, I do special practice to get a feel of the new ball

I try and decieve the batsman with swing and seam.

As a bowler, my goal is to take wickets quickly with the new ball

I have different strategies for delivering the new ball in different conditions

Even in nets I bowl with the new ball so that is why my accuracy is good with the new ball although I feel that I am still learning and the more I do that, the better it will be for me and my team

As a fast-bowler you need to know how to bowl to your field and that also makes it easier for the captain as he has enough things on his mind

My job is just to deliver the ball, be it in-swing or out-swing, its a win-win situation as long it gets the right results

Shaheen Afridi announced himself as the bowler to look out for this tournament by putting India on the backfoot in a devastating opening spell. Going off the numbers, India won’t be the only team he troubles with the new ball.

Making his ICC Men’s T20 World Cup debut, Afridi took just four deliveries to make his presence felt, trapping Rohit Sharma in front for a golden duck with a perfect in-swinger. It was so plumb that commentator Nasser Hussain gave it out before the umpire did.

In his next over, Afridi struck again, bowling KL Rahul with an unplayable delivery that snaked in off a good length to knock over the in-form opener for three.

He would later complete his set of India’s big three by removing Virat Kohli in the 19th over, showing his skills at the death. But it’s what he can do with the new ball that is especially noteworthy.

The seamer has taken a wicket in the first over a T20 innings 20 times across just 60 innings, with a grand sum of 21 first over wickets.

Effectively, across his career, he takes a wicket in the first over almost once every three matches.

Of course, as Rahul found out, he’s not just dangerous in the first over of a T20.

Afridi is the top Powerplay wicket-taker in T20s since the start of 2019, with his two early strikes against India taking him to an even 50.

India’s Deepak Chahar is the only other bowler with more than 45 wickets in the Powerplay in this period, and the Pakistani’s sub-20 strike rate is an anomaly among anyone with more than 35 wickets.

Off the back of Afridi’s early burst, Pakistan managed to keep India’s batters in check for the majority of the innings, paving the way for a 10-wicket victory.

“He did bowl very well with the new ball,” India captain Kohli said after the match. “He hit the right areas to pick up wickets, and in T20 cricket you need good execution to pick up wickets with the new ball, and certainly he did that, so credit to him.

“He put our batsmen under pressure immediately with the new ball, and he ran in with intensity and showed that he's bowling in consistent areas, so as batsmen you are forced to be a bit watchful.

“That spell kind of put us on the back foot immediately, and from there on to get those extra 20, 25 runs in the end seemed pretty difficult when you lose three wickets for 20 runs.”

One suspects he will continue to put opponents on the back foot over the remainder of the tournament.

Stats were good but a bit disappointed with his attitude today. SSA strength is bowling fast and straight and he went away from that at the start.

Good news is unlike, for example Rahat or Wahab, Shaheen Shah Afridi learns lessons from each game.

His game is gradually improving.

An ATG, Insha'Allah!

He definitely was overexcited in his first spell and didn't actually bowl that well (by his standards). However more often than not he will get you a wicket in the powerplay.

Hope Philander and Hayden speak to him - this is exactly the type of assistance they can provide to SSA.

Great goal to have but do not interfere in taking reviews

Tere bas ki baat nahi

Virat Kohli been asked about Trent Boult's comment on Shaheen Shah Afridi:

==

Q. Just before you, when Trent had his PC, he said he's looking to mirror what Shaheen did against you guys the last game. So knowing that he's able to get the ball to swing early on, and as a batting unit how do you see it, because obviously in the powerplay you are looking to score some runs. So how does the balance part come in?

VIRAT KOHLI: Yeah, I mean, we obviously will come up against some quality bowlers all around the world in this competition, and hence the intensity and the level at which this competition operates is very, very different.

So we know that. We played against these individuals for a long period of time. It's not something out of the ordinary that's going to come our way. And it all depends on how we take the field mentally and how we counter that.

If Trent says he wants to replicate what he did, what Shaheen did against us, obviously he's motivated to do so and we have to be motivated to counter that and try to put pressure on him and the other bowlers as well. That's how basically the game goes anyway.

We played against all these bowlers for a long period of time. And we understand exactly what we need to do. All that matters now is, when we step onto the field, what kind of mental frame we're in. I feel absolutely confident hitting that ball fairly and not thinking about any other scenarios, I think that's key to batting in high-pressure situations and it's something that we're looking forward to execute as a team.

He's looked good this tournament so far. He's bowling yorkers, getting swing and bowling with pace like fire. Shaheen has been superb this tournament so far.

Bit worried about SSA - last 2 games not been that great with the new ball.

Thought he was just going through the motions in this game, his speeds were well below what he has been bowling at throughout the tournament.

Should be rested for the Scotland game.

Shaheen getting over-excited a bit - think needs Sharma batting against him in each game!

Hasn’t quite hit the heights of the India and NZ games. We will need him to bring his A game for the semi

Anyone who can swing the new ball both ways at 90mph is going to be a handful.

He's been brilliant with the new ball throughout this tournament.

Anyone who can swing the new ball both ways at 90mph is going to be a handful.

He's been brilliant with the new ball throughout this tournament.

Keeps on getting better

His death bowling skills are still poor and inconsistent.

I have seen him getting spanked by local batsmen in National T20 as well. Bowls too many slot deliveries

Shaheen is a very lethal and capable bowler against right-handed batters.

But, he doesn't seem much efficient against lefties. Warner was playing him easily while Wade hit 3 sixes off his bowling.

It was practically two deliveries that dismantled India's hopes on the evening of October 24 in Dubai, long before that unbeaten partnership of 152 between Mohammad Rizwan and captain Babar Azam, which guided Pakistan to a record 10-wicket win against Virat Kohli's men in their T20 World Cup opener. Rohit Sharma was the first man to depart, going back for a golden duck, but it was the dismissal of KL Rahul, which fast bowler Shaheen Afridi felt was "honestly a special ball".

Rahul looked to whip the good-length delivery across the line, but the ball straightened and then nipped back in sharply, sneaking through the gates to rattle the stumps. It was one to top the highlight reel of the tournament, let alone the game. But it was not all Shaheen alone.

Before the start of the second over, Shaheen consulted veteran cricketer Shoaib Malik, who advised him to bowl it length rather than the bowler's plan of going fuller.

“I asked Shoaib, can I bowl fuller? He said to me ‘Shaheen, don't bowl fuller, just try to bowl length here, yeah?’ So I said, yeah not too much swing first over, so let me try to bowl the ball," Shaheen said in his interview with Telegraph.co.uk.

“Shoaib is playing for 22 years for Pakistan. He's played a lot of cricket - he knows everything because every conditions, he played in. And he is playing for Pakistan so many years. He has experience and so that's why I asked him which ball shall I bowl to Rahul.”

Also Read | Babar Azam breaks Virat Kohli's world record, coach Matthew Hayden's T20 World Cup record during semi-final vs Australia

After celebrating Rahul's dismissal for 3 off 8, Shaheen, as he recalled, walked back to Shoaib to thank him saying, "It's not my wicket, it's your wicket.”

Shaheen then revealed how he dismissed India's vice-captain just a few deliveries earlier with a yorker, which had a hint of inswing, beating Rohit all ends to strike plumb on his pads in line with the middle stump.

“We all know Rohit Sharma is such a dangerous player,” Shaheen said. “In my mind, I keep bowling yorkers and maybe he's troubled.

“When Rahul got the single and Rohit came on strike, my mind straight away said I can bowl this yorker. Maybe he misses. If there's a little bit of swing I can get him.” With a rapid delivery from over-the-wicket that curved back into Rohit, Shaheen only needed one ball."

Pakistan had eventually dismissed India for 151 for seven with Shaheen picking a third wicket, dismissing captain Virat Kohli in the 19th over.

Babar and Rizwan then guided Pakistan to their first ever win against India in 13 World Cup meetings with a record partnership.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...ball-to-dismiss-kl-rahul-101636692711586.html

We know Shaheen is probably the best bowler with the new ball. Tall man with a high arm action. Ability to control the swing and bowl Yorkers at will. Add to that his new found ability to bring it back in to the right hander.
But he needs to impress with the semi new ball and bowling at the the death with the old one. Perhaps change his action a bit when bowling at the death. Also the ability to bowl under pressure when batsmen looking to attack. Bumrah is just hard to hit with his immaculate line and length and Umar gul somehow had the ability to start reversing the ball 13-14 overs into a T20 innings which is incredible. Perhaps he could learn a thing or too.

Shaheen needs to learn reverse and add it to his arsenal. I'm impressed by how quickly he's picked up his skill with the new ball. He needs to do the same with an older one.

He's only 2-3 years into his career. And is over relied as a spearhead for a young bowling attack. Needs a good bowling partner to cover his weaknesses. Unfortunately, also doesn't have the luxury of having a more experienced pacer in the side to advise him either.

The three deliveries to Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul and Aaron Finch were the top three balls of the tournament.

He seems to lose his concentration - there is no other bowler senior to him - needs a guiding hand on the field.

Bowling short against the 2 batters - and a dropped catch not helping.

f7c35f87-4483-442c-a462-60c9749188f3 (1).jpg

Widely regarded as one of the fiercest pacers in modern-day cricket, Shaheen Afridi produced a magnificent performance in the recently-concluded T20 World Cup. Afridi made an electrifying start to the tournament, picking a wicket in the very first over of the game as he removed opener, Rohit Sharma, on a duck. Afridi eventually ended the game with three wickets, further taking the all-important wickets of KL Rahul and Virat Kohli.

However, former Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi has now revealed that the formidable pacer was in pressure ahead of the game and that he “video-called” him ahead of the encounter.

“Before the first game against India, Shaheen video-called me and told me that I'm feeling a bit of pressure. We talked for about 11-12 minutes, I told him that god gave you the opportunity to go out and perform, you strike those wickets and become a hero. By god's grace, he did exactly that,” said Afridi on Samaa TV.

Afridi's performances throughout the group stage of the tournament played a key role in Pakistan finishing at the top of the table. However, the Babar Azam-led side lost in a closely-fought semi-final to Australia, who eventually lifted the trophy.

Afridi also recalled the emotions among the players during his playing days when Pakistan used to play India in a cricket game. The former Pakistan all-rounder, who represented the side in 398 ODIs and 99 T20Is, revealed that the players “couldn't even sleep” ahead of the game.

“It's intense. If you talk about me, we couldn't even sleep the whole night. We used to wait for it. Some players would go into their own shell but I used to wait for that game eagerly.. 'When will we play against India?' I used to think. Even if someone doesn't like cricket, they would sit in front of the television when India plays Pakistan in cricket,” said Afridi.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...-how-he-calmed-the-pacer-101640402699675.html

Widely regarded as one of the fiercest pacers in modern-day cricket, Shaheen Afridi produced a magnificent performance in the recently-concluded T20 World Cup. Afridi made an electrifying start to the tournament, picking a wicket in the very first over of the game as he removed opener, Rohit Sharma, on a duck. Afridi eventually ended the game with three wickets, further taking the all-important wickets of KL Rahul and Virat Kohli.

However, former Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi has now revealed that the formidable pacer was in pressure ahead of the game and that he “video-called” him ahead of the encounter.

“Before the first game against India, Shaheen video-called me and told me that I'm feeling a bit of pressure. We talked for about 11-12 minutes, I told him that god gave you the opportunity to go out and perform, you strike those wickets and become a hero. By god's grace, he did exactly that,” said Afridi on TV.

Afridi's performances throughout the group stage of the tournament played a key role in Pakistan finishing at the top of the table. However, the Babar Azam-led side lost in a closely-fought semi-final to Australia, who eventually lifted the trophy.

Afridi also recalled the emotions among the players during his playing days when Pakistan used to play India in a cricket game. The former Pakistan all-rounder, who represented the side in 398 ODIs and 99 T20Is, revealed that the players “couldn't even sleep” ahead of the game.

“It's intense. If you talk about me, we couldn't even sleep the whole night. We used to wait for it. Some players would go into their own shell but I used to wait for that game eagerly.. 'When will we play against India?' I used to think. Even if someone doesn't like cricket, they would sit in front of the television when India plays Pakistan in cricket,” said Afridi.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...-how-he-calmed-the-pacer-101640402699675.html

India's rich legacy against Pakistan in the World Cup took a dash in the previous edition of the World T20s held in UAE as Babar Azam's unit mauled Virat Kohli's men by 10 wickets in the league stage encounter. It was Pakistan's first-ever win against India in 13 World Cup meetings.

Tall and lanky pacer Shaheen Shah Afridi played a key role in Pakistan's big win as he jolted India's top-order, packing Rohit Sharma on 3 and KL Rahul on 0 in his first two overs.

He later dismissed then India captain Kohli on 57 off 49 balls as the Men In Blue could only manage 151/7 in their 20 overs after being invited to bat first.

Pakistan in response chased down the 152-run target comfortably and notched a 10-wicket win over arch rivals India as openers Mohammad Rizwan smashed 79 off 55 balls, while Babar scored 68 from 52 balls.

Sharing his thoughts on the clash, Afridi, who picked three wickets in the contest, said he had a fixed plan going against Kohli, while he tried to pitch it up to Rohit and Rahul.

“The end I was bowling from, the leg-side boundary was smaller, say about 60-65 meter only. If I had bowled straight and fast at him [Virat Kohli], he would have flicked me or pulled me for runs. So I wanted to mix things up and bowl a slow bouncer at him, so that it would have been difficult for him to go leg-side. Luckily for me, the ball gripped and he got out. Aur mera time bhi accha thha. (laughs). I admire Virat Kohli a lot, he's one of the best around,” Afridi told Cricbuzz while explaining his tactics against the former India captain.

“Rohit, Rahul and Kohli are their mainstays and three of the best batsmen in the world. Kohli unki reedh ki haddi hai (Kohli is their spinal cord). And once you get them out, it gets difficult for the middle order. And if one of them bats deep, it gets easier for the batsman coming in later. Since I was getting some swing in that match - and the team anyway wants wickets from me early on - I was trying to pitch it up to Rohit and Rahul and I was able to get both of them out,” he added.

Afridi, who still enjoys the moment while thinking about it, is hoping to deliver a similar performance when India take on Pakistan in the upcoming World T20s in Australia, scheduled to be played on October 23.

“It was a great day for me, to be honest. A lot of people watch India-Pakistan matches, including those who don't even like cricket (laughs). When I look back on that win, I feel very proud. Yes, we couldn't win the World Cup but we did well in that game against India and I'll try to give my best even in the next World Cup,” said the Pakistan quick.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...ld-cup-india-vs-pakistan-101643634732100.html

Brett Lee on Shaheen Shah Afridi:

"Shaheen Afridi is an amazing bowler, he's got a really good pace, he's tall, gets a beautiful bounce. I am a big fan of him"

We finally have a fast bowler who gets wickets with the new ball regardless of the format. For the first time since 2010 (apart from a short duration when Irfan and Junaid played together, 2013-2014 even then we were regularly opening the bowling with spinners)

It had become demoralizing watching the likes of Cheema, Amir, Tanvir, Rahat, Gul etc wasting the new ball.

We are blessed to afridi when he is on song can rip though any team. I think he was abit unlucky against wade in the t20 World Cup semi final when he got hit for 3 sixes the balls he balled were actually good balls but wade played a blinder that day

Shaheen Afridi to Hazratullah Zazai, out Bowled!! Cleaned him up third ball. Hazratullah Zazai b Shaheen Afridi 0(3)

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/fusoar" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

He bowled these swinging Yorkers at the start quite a few times and taken wickets. Only other bowler who can bowl Yorkers successfully and take wickets like this is none other than the great Bumrah

Probably the best fast bowler in this match. His 1st spell was a delight to watch where he created plenty of chances vs Usman & Warner but as usual average fielding cost him & Pakistan. Hope Pakistan make decent wickets in remaining matches.

Bowled really well as usual but should have attacked the stumps more with the second new ball. That is his strength and that is what makes him so dangerous.

The only world class fast bowler in the country. The gulf between him and the rest is huge.

He is carrying the bowling attack and Pakistan cannot afford to rest him.

His fitness is very impressive but if he breaks down Pakistan will struggle big time.

Bowled really well as usual but should have attacked the stumps more with the second new ball. That is his strength and that is what makes him so dangerous.

The only world class fast bowler in the country. The gulf between him and the rest is huge.

He is carrying the bowling attack and Pakistan cannot afford to rest him.

His fitness is very impressive but if he breaks down Pakistan will struggle big time.

You're doing him a disservice by comparing him to his fellow countrymen . . This guy is up there with the best in the world and frighteningly can still improve . . hope he keeps his head, continues to work hard and stays fit . . his next ambition should be to become a bowler who can break open a game on unhelpful pitches like the best bowlers (Bumrah, Cummins, Steyn in the last decade, etc.)

Ironically, I thought today was the best I have seen Shaheen bowl in test cricket (although the figures tell a different story) . . To see him charging in, bowling a bouncer yorker spell at the end of Day 4 at high speed in a test that is all but a stalemate was just quality! It stands out all the more because he is bowling alongside 2 of the best going around today: Cummins and Hazlewood and by far has looked the best pacer on show . .

On top of attacking the stumps (with the new ball), I think he can come around the wicket a bit less (unless the ball is reversing) and focus on getting most out of his natural angle away from the right handers . . requires patience

He was moving the ball more than any other bowler in the game but unfortunately the fielding let him down.

Cmon Shaheen - better that please!

cBTclqj.png

Very disappointing this series no where near the top 10 test papers currently

People are taken in by the hype his record is all against teams ranked below Pakistan averages over 30 against the top 5 teams not enough to be top test bowler needs a lot more.

To be fair it must be demotivating that you are Main strike bowler yet your chairman is ordering pitches for 2 Sunday league finger spinners.

People are taken in by the hype his record is all against teams ranked below Pakistan averages over 30 against the top 5 teams not enough to be top test bowler needs a lot more.

What do you expect him to do the pitch only had swing for a couple of overs and then it went straight as a arrow.

Itd help if the pitch had some help

It looks very very flat

Could have peak Imran Khan, Malcolm Marshall, Holder, Kapil Dev on this pitch and they'd struggle to take wickets on this pitch. Pitch literally has nothing. Even flat pitches are fast-ish in nature offering good bounce for bowlers. This is slow, low and flat. Absolute garbage.

I’m not talking about one match look at his overall record could be well averaging 35 plus against the top 5 teams combined has played in helpful conditions outside Asia.

FOWWbyjVQAMA_o6

Shaheen Shah Afridi - I always try to take early wickets with the new ball. The wicket is pretty good for batting, my plan was to bowl in the right areas. We (the pacers) didn't get a lot of help in the last two Tests, so we thought about being consistent, bowl wicket-to-wicket. We (as a bowling group) wanted to execute our plans and think we did so.

FOWWbyjVQAMA_o6

Shaheen Shah Afridi - I always try to take early wickets with the new ball. The wicket is pretty good for batting, my plan was to bowl in the right areas. We (the pacers) didn't get a lot of help in the last two Tests, so we thought about being consistent, bowl wicket-to-wicket. We (as a bowling group) wanted to execute our plans and think we did so.

I hate these statements. “Right areas”, “wicket to wicket”, “execute plans”.

It’s always the same acha bacha statement from pak bowlers and coaches. And this is exactly why we have been a middling bowling side recently.

I want a bowler or a coach to come in with something left field and say “today we decided to come in knock their heads off”

I hate these statements. “Right areas”, “wicket to wicket”, “execute plans”.

It’s always the same acha bacha statement from pak bowlers and coaches. And this is exactly why we have been a middling bowling side recently.

I want a bowler or a coach to come in with something left field and say “today we decided to come in knock their heads off”

All seam bowlers around the world say the same thing, not limited to Pakistan.

If I was Shaheen, I'd be criticising the pitches and yearning for green tops:

"I want green tops so I can send these Aussie stumps cart wheeling out of the square".

We need elite mentality not Misbah mentality.

He hasnt hit optimum pace in the last two tests , was bowling quicker than starc in the first, worried about him playing with a niggle

Always seems to make an impact this lad.

One of Pakistan’s better new ball bowlers in recent years.

Seems to have dropped in his pace Pakistan need to be careful not to burn him out bowling in the low 130s which is quite shocking to see

Shaheen Shah Afridi has become the leading wicket-taker in international cricket since he made his debut back in 2018.

The left-arm pacer achieved this feat during the third Test match against Australia after he dismissed Mitchell Starc and Mitchell Swepson.

Shaheen has now taken 192 international wickets since his debut and has overtaken Australian captain Pat Cummins who has 191 scalps under his belt.

In addition to this, Shaheen Afridi also has the best strike rate (36.0) of all the bowlers with 150+ wickets.

Here is the breakdown of Shaheen Afridi's 192 international wickets:

Tests
Total Wickets: 94
Best Figures: 10/94
9 four-wicket hauls, 4 five-wicket hauls, 1 ten-wicket haul

ODIs
Total Wickets: 53
Best Figures: 6/35
4 four-wicket hauls, 2 five-wicket hauls

T20Is
​​​​​​​Total Wickets: 45
Best Figures: 3/20

https://cricketpakistan.com.pk/en/n...omes-leading-wickettaker-since-his-test-debut

In the original Shahen's vdo above from about 0:45 to 0:50 u can see the non player, probably one of the coaching staff standing. Can anyone give his name? i am pretty sure he is the same guy who gave a pak souvenier training vest to my cousin in a hotel in south africa in the T 20 world cup.

Malang Ali - The teams masseur

The thing about Shaheen is he will continue to improve and change the narrative of the LOIs singlehandedly. But in tests, where our bowling attack is too weak, his brilliance can't help us win much tests especially in SENA. Desperately need to form seam bowling unit that can take 20 wickets per test.

That first over in a high octane game can be the crucial decider to the match.

If Shaheen was lucky with the lbw of Mitch Marsh in the first over of the T20 semi final, I think Pakistan would have won that fixture.

The game was decided on umpire’s call at that moment!

Happy Birthday to him:

Born: April 6, 2000 (age 22 years), Landi Kotal, Pakistan

Shaheen speaking about the India-Pak WT20 game:

“When we had that match against India in the T20 World Cup, I requested Lala to have a word with me. Because before that I played just one match against India, that too in Asia Cup, with was in One-Day format. And this was a T20 game and we never won a World Cup game against India. So I thought that this was a big opportunity for me. So I called Lala for some tips.”

“I asked him, 'What different do I do today?'. He gave me very good advice and told, 'Do something so that the entire stadium notices only Shaheen' and give your 100 percent in bowling and fielding. I just did that and we got the results.”

Pakistan need him fit for the T20 World Cup

==

Babar Azam in presser:

“There are concerns over Shaheen’s fitness. We are taking him along because the doctor and the physio are travelling with the team, so he can be looked after well. We are thinking from a long-term perspective. There is the Asia Cup and the World Cup as well"

“We are trying to ensure he can get ready as soon as possible. We are hoping that he can play at least one match in the Netherlands. If not, then hopefully he can play in the Asia Cup."

According to some reports, he has been ruled out of the Asia Cup

What frustates me is the lack of transparency around it. They should tell us what his exact injury is and how long is he likely to be out.

Well, most of us were crying for him to be rested more, managed better. The TM have probably successfully run him into the ground. Well done.

They can spin it by saying it was a fielding injury etc. but who are they kidding? As if we didn't see what his fitness was like in last 2 series.

The worst thing they can do now now is to rush him back prematurely to save themselves from criticism.

Wouldn't it be better for him to recuperate at home instead of flying on this Netherlands tour?

As per PCB release:

Pakistan will be without the services of world number three ODI bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi, who is not available for the first two games against The Netherlands due to a knee injury.