[VIDEOS] "My recent performances are based upon the conditions that I have played in" : Yasir Shah

Babar Azam says Yasir Shah is still not fit- but he is captain of one of the Pak Cup sides!

==

"There was a problem with Yasir Shah's injury and following that, his fitness. He was called up to the training camp and a lot of work was done for him to regain the fitness"

"He is currently in reserves because he is still regaining fitness. He hasn't played a competitive match in the last one or two months, which requires you to work even harder"

"He has been one of Pakistan's best spinners and whenever he can regain the fitness, we will be utilising his expertise"

Brilliant by Yasir

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/o0okpr" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Wicket for Yasir in Pakistan Cup Final

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/s3xzzo" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

2nd wicket - Adil Amin in final of the Pakistan Cup

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/4zjrx1" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

3rd wicket - big one - Kamran Ghulam gone for 70

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/y41kot" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/3by7t4" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Excellent bowling by Yasir Shah, leading from the front, for Balochistan in the final of the Pakistan Cup as he ends up with 4/33 in 10 overs

FPPoqWpXEAQd1vY.jpgScreenshot 2022-04-01 113348.jpg

rHdzfE3.png

Yasir still the best leggie in Pakistan! will be hard to replace

Best Bowler of the Tournament PKR 250,000: Yasir Shah
Player-of-the-Match PKR 50,000: Yasir Shah

f10c961e-1bff-4ce4-ae59-cab2366a4780.jpg

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/OnThisDay?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#OnThisDay</a> in 1986. Yasir Shah was born in Swabi. Yasir was the second-fastest to 100 Test wickets, the joint-second fastest bowler of all time and quickest spinner to take 150 wickets in Tests & the fastest bowler, in terms of matches played, to take 200 Test wickets <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/wuRpyjumHh">pic.twitter.com/wuRpyjumHh</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1521022272605151234?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 2, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Happy birthday to Yasir Shah – the fastest bowler to 200 Test wickets &#55356;&#57119;<br><br>He achieved the feat in just 33 matches! <a href="https://t.co/6lrD3zRXWX">pic.twitter.com/6lrD3zRXWX</a></p>— ICC (@ICC) <a href="https://twitter.com/ICC/status/1521010365429071872?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 2, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

I haven't seen Yasir play in a while but the recent clips posted in this thread shows he is doing well.

I hope he gets picked for Sri Lanka and England tests. Not sure if i would play him in NZ, probably not. But he can play in SL and England. I hope he makes a great comeback.

He should never play cricket again after the allegations that came up. Only in pakistan could something like that get buried.

Thank god I'm not the only one who remembers, I'd hate to see him play for pakistan again

Kaneria not happy!

===

Selectors will never improve. Sajid Khan, Usman Qadir and Zahid Mahmood were unfairly treated. Ramiz Raja shouldn’t have approved the team. I’m not able to understand whether Babar (Azam) or (Mohammad) Wasim is selecting the team and picking up their friends,” said Kaneria.

“Selectors are destroying cricket in Pakistan. We need to make the team for the future, but the current selection committee is doing favours. Only those players are selected who give gifts to selectors. Hardworking and honest players are ignored,” he added.

Nobody in this world believes what this crook Kaneria comes out with .... go to hell and shut your mouth

By that logic, Yasir is a far worse crook and a much more terrible person.

Kaneria with a proper keeper was a far better bowler than Yasir too.

Speaking to media:

“I’m also trying to play in every format. My performance in Sri Lanka has been good and hopefully I’ll try to replicate the same in the upcoming series"

“I have worked on my ‘googly’ under the guidance of former leg-spinner Mushtaq Ahmed and head coach Saqlain Mushtaq"

Speaking to media:

“I’m also trying to play in every format. My performance in Sri Lanka has been good and hopefully I’ll try to replicate the same in the upcoming series"

“I have worked on my ‘googly’ under the guidance of former leg-spinner Mushtaq Ahmed and head coach Saqlain Mushtaq"

He's been trying to develop his googly since his debut.

But he'll hopefully be a much more threatening option than Nauman and Sajid in SL.

Pakistan leg-spinner Yasir Shah is eager to represent the national side after nearly a year’s gap when they tour Sri Lanka for a two-match Test series next month.

The 36-year-old, whose previous appearance for Pakistan was against the West Indies in August last year, was included in the squad for the Sri Lanka series following 12 months of struggle with injury and fitness.

During the period he was also named in a rape case, though the charges against him were later dropped.

“I’m grateful to be back with the team and enjoyed training with the squad today in the nets,” Yasir told reporters on the sidelines of Pakistan’s preparatory camp for the series on Sunday.

Yasir boasts an exceptional record in Sri Lanka and bagged 24 wickets when Pakistan last played them in 2015, helping his team to a 2-1 series win.

The veteran of 46 Tests shrugged off any chances of him being under pressure having being called after a considerable time outside the squad.

“There’s never pressure about making a comeback,” said Yasir. “I’m looking forward to break my own records.”

Yasir was named as a reserve in the Pakistan roster for Australia’s historic tour to the country earlier this year. He, however, was not rushed into the side due to a thumb injury.

The wrist-spinner, though, captained Balochistan to victory in the Pakistan Cup — the country’s premier domestic 50-over competition — which was held parallel to the Australia Tests.

He finished as the tournament’s second highest wicket-taker with 24 scalps before undergoing a month-long conditioning camp at the National High Perfor*mance Centre ahead of joining the Pakistan squad.

“I attended the month-long camp at the NHPC earlier and worked on my bowling with Mushi Bhai (Mushtaq Ahmed),” said Yasir.

“I’ve tried to prepare myself for the Sri Lankan conditions.

“We’ll also have a tour match in Sri Lanka. I’m well prepared and I’ve already played a series over there, so I’ll be confident.”

Pakistan will start their tour of Sri Lanka with a three-day warm-up match from July 11 before taking on the home side in the first Test on July 16 in Galle.

The second will start on July 24 in Colombo.

Published in Dawn, June 27th, 2022

Him being allowed to continue his career is a terrible president.

Precedent*

The allegations weren’t proven, and he is still the best Test spinner in the country by a mile. He should play, at least on Asian wickets.

Precedent*

The allegations weren’t proven, and he is still the best Test spinner in the country by a mile. He should play, at least on Asian wickets.

Yes, thank you that was a typo.

You are the first one to jump on any bandwagon about allegations and said there is no smoke without fire. With the information that was released, it was blatantly obvious he is a filthy person and is involved.

As for his on-field performance, he has regressed massively, is largely unfit and is not 36. Nothing suggests he can even match his previous performance let alone perform better.

Yes, thank you that was a typo.

You are the first one to jump on any bandwagon about allegations and said there is no smoke without fire. With the information that was released, it was blatantly obvious he is a filthy person and is involved.

As for his on-field performance, he has regressed massively, is largely unfit and is not 36. Nothing suggests he can even match his previous performance let alone perform better.

Yasir has been on a steady decline since 2016, but selection is relative. No Test spinner in the last few years has grabbed the opportunity and shut the door on him. In spite of his decline he is the best Test spinner that we have.

Precedent*

He isn't anymore. Even in Asian conditions, he doesn't provide any edge over others. His only decent performance in last 2 years was vs SA, when he averaged 30 compared to Numan's 21, who himself is an average spinner.

He is lucky he didn't get to play vs Australia because he would've been smashed as bad as the others. When Lanka visited in 2019, he was smashed pretty bad (avg 63) at home.

He may do well on nice spinning tracks vs likes of Bdesh and SL, but even a mediocre Sajid can do that.
He isn't close to the bowler he used to be. That accuracy, drift isn't there anymore. The answer isn't to keep going back to him till eternity.

Looks all set for the series although 1/87 in practice game isn't that great

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/zyoqtp" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Babar Azam speaking in presser:

“Yasir Shah has fitness issues but he has improved it. As a bowler you need confidence and it takes time for a leg spinner. His confidence is better for us and I am hopeful for him.”

Colombo, 9 July 2022: Pakistan had lost three Test series in a row in Sri Lanka between 2009 and 2014, and the three-match series of 2015 was deemed to Test the side’s potential with the world-class cricketers in Kumar Sangakkara and Rangana Herath still in the opposition’s ranks.

In three weeks’ time, Pakistan recorded an epic 2-1 win on the back of a young leg-spinner who before traveling to the island nation had played only seven Tests.

Yasir Shah made his presence felt from the very first Test at Galle when he recorded a second innings seven for 76, helping his side to a resounding 10-wicket win.

In the next Test at Colombo’s P. Sara Oval, Yasir returned a six-fer in the first innings before the hosts levelled the series. On a personal note, however, it was a special game for him as he surpassed his coach, Waqar Younis, to become quickest Pakistan bowler to take 50 Test wickets.

In the all-important Pallekele Test, Yasir again recorded a five-fer, sparking an epic collapse that saw Sri Lanka getting all out on 278 after the hosts slipped from one for 106 to four for 137.

His exceptional run on the Lankan shores earned him the player of the series award for snaring 24 wickets – 10 clear of the next best, Dhammika Prasad. He would also complete his 50 Test wickets in just nine matches on the tour.

Since marking his international debut in 2014, Yasir has been every Pakistan captain’s go-to bowler. His utility is underscored by his extraordinary record of being the quickest, in terms of matches (33), to 200 Test wickets in the history of the game.

Yasir last turned out for Pakistan in August 2021 in the West Indies and after recovering from a thumb injury and leading Balochistan to their first-ever Pakistan Cup title earlier in the year, he was training at P. Sara Oval, where he reached the 50 Test-wicket landmark in 2015, yesterday.

As it is the case with leg-spinners, Pakistan captain Babar Azam, like all Test captains, would be relying on Yasir to provide him breakthroughs on crucial moments. And, Yasir is ready for the challenge.

Speaking to PCB Digital at the conclusion of Pakistan’s first training session in Sri Lanka, Yasir said, “It is tough being a leg-spinner because getting into rhythm can take time. I had to take a break from international cricket because of a thumb fracture. I played in Pakistan Cup and did a month-long camp at the National High Performance Centre. It helped me in regaining the rhythm required to thrive in international cricket and I could sense it when I was bowling in the nets.”

On what is Pakistan’s first tour of the country since the one in 2015, Yasir’s return to the Pakistan camp will definitely worry the hosts.

“I have some very fond memories of Sri Lanka and this venue as I completed my 50 Test wickets here,” Yasir said.

Pakistan and Sri Lanka face-off in two ICC World Test Championship fixtures in Galle (16-20 July) and Colombo (24-28 July).

Shah's a liability and of dubious character, keep him far away from the team.

It was only about 5 or so years ago when everyone in Pakistan and their next door neighbor admired Yasir Shah because of his contagious and not to mention continuous smile.

What he did with his friend to the little girl is unforgivable, no point forcing that smile anymore.

The reason I even bring that up is because I agree with the other posters who appear to be the minority, the posters who don't want anything to do with Yasir Shah.

He should not represent Pakistan ever again, shameful character.

Babar Azam in his pre-1st Test presser:

"Yasir Shah has prepared well and worked on his fitness, and has delivered well in the 'Pindi camp, and also bowled well in the warm-up game in Colombo; He is an experienced bowler and will give a tough time to the opposing team"

Spinning tracks in Srilanka if utilized well should allow him for a good comeback.

If he can't take wickets in Sri Lanka than I think it might be the end of the road for him.

Included in playing XI for Pakistan for the 1st Test vs SL

Officially goes past Abdul Qadir. Still don't think he is nearly as good as Qadir or Saqlain were at their peak, or even one of the top spinners in the world right now. But 237 wickets and counting is no small feat, especially for a Pakistani bowler.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Spin bowlers with most Test wickets for Pakistan:<br><br>Danish Kaneria 261 (61 matches)<br>Yasir Shah 237 (47 matches)<br>Abdul Qadir 236 (67 matches)<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SLvPAK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SLvPAK</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1548206150146875395?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 16, 2022</a></blockquote>

And a catch to go with his bowling effort...

FXx24QwVQAA3eh5.jpg

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/hwhk71" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

34th first-class five-wicket haul for Yasir Shah in the QeA22

He registers 5-57 against Khyber Pakhtunkhwa as Balochistan enforce the follow-on

FgOgosxXEAEnWhF.jpgFgOgos0XgAUGvvm.jpg

10 wickets in the match for Yasir Shah - 35th first-class five-wicket haul as he takes 5-105 in the second innings

OfJTlXA.jpg

Q8TwNQq.jpg

Yasir Shah dropped from the Test squad. Abrar's red hot form got noticed

He has been awful in domestic and seems to have lost any modicum of control in his bowling. I don't think him getting dropped came as a surprise to anyone.

Kamran Akmal on Yasir Shah:

“Yasir Shah, he's our match-winner, an experienced player has been sidelined. I just can't understand what he did wrong. He just didn't perform in 1-2 matches and he has been completely sidelined. You just don't let him near the team. You didn't even play him in the last series. You have to utilize him, no team in the world has such a leg-spinner"

“Jack Leach ko England team use kar rahi hai, vo Yasir Shah ke ek ungli ke baraabar nahi hai. (He's not even close to Yasir Shah's finger) But that's the mindset, if they've decided they won't play a player, that's it. The team management needs to do away with liking and disliking players, we have been humbled enough. Go for improvements now. You need to think about it now,”

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...osive-leg-spinner-remark-101671761956076.html

Haha shut up Kamran.

There is is no cricketing evidence to backup his claims and he needs to refrain from disrespecting other teams players.

What happened to Yasir Shah?

I've only recently got back into cricket so i've been out of the game for a while.

What happened to Yasir? That guy is/was an absolute class bowler, i remember him tearing us apart on multiple occasions.

He's a better bowler than Zahid Mahmood that's for sure.

I've only recently got back into cricket so i've been out of the game for a while.

What happened to Yasir? That guy is/was an absolute class bowler, i remember him tearing us apart on multiple occasions.

Too old now (touching 37).
Had lost form over the last couple of years. Fitness was also very suspect that probably played a part in his loss of bowling form. The fizz and bite from his stock delivery had largely diminished, and he was leaking too many runs.

But still, I agree; even at 40 years of age, he would bowl better than Zahid Mahmood. He still probably is the best wicket-taking spinner in Pakistan but due to lack of control, he no longer can run through a side like he used to.

He's over the hill but completely agree he still is miles better than Zahid who's as garbage as they come

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/OnThisDay?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#OnThisDay</a> in 1986. Yasir Shah was born in Swabi. Yasir was the second-fastest to 100 Test wickets, the joint-second fastest bowler of all time and quickest spinner to take 150 wickets in Tests & the fastest bowler, in terms of matches played, to take 200 Test wickets <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/mg1xx8StS4">pic.twitter.com/mg1xx8StS4</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1653309520209141765?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 2, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

It is heartbreaking how his career was wasted by the incompetent selector we had before.

Respect. After Ajmal’s ban, Pakistan were in a state of panic looking for a test class spinner. Zulfiqar Babar was past his prime. Abdur Rehman banned too, Raza Hasan banned 2 years ago ( a lot of bans sadly)

Time was right for Yasir to debut, took the opportunity with both hands and ran with it. Got tonked overseas at times, but was a vital cog in our test attack.

So you are saying Zahid Mehmood is better than him? How does Yasir not merit a place in the squad over him?

he was tried and failed and so zahid, same story for failures lately

On This Day in 2018, Yasir Shah became the first Pakistani bowler to take 10 wickets in a single day in Tests, registering the feat against New Zealand in Dubai.

His Figures in that Test match were 14/184.​

Yasir Shah goes unsold

Yasir Shah is in at US$ 20,000. No takers for him in LPL auction 2024.