[VIDEOS/PICTURES] Abrar Ahmed - International performance watch

PCB have confirmed that Abrar Ahmed will make his debut for Pakistan today in the 2nd Test against England.

Expectations?

FjgjBu2WAAARZ6x

Wow! Excited to see him, could be the answer to Pakistan's spin bowling problems.

Guys- don't go too early on the judging.

If better and experienced world renowned bowlers can go at 5 rpo on fair wickets as we saw in the English summer with India SA and NZs finest- all bets are off if it's a dead track-

Let's not judge too early please

Wow! Excited to see him, could be the answer to Pakistan's spin bowling problems.

You have been rewarded

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/ah8odv" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Created enough chances and 2 wickets and it's just 1st session.

On a real fast turner the kind we get in ind or bd, he will be hell to face.

2 wickets and looks a threat, but very expensive.

You never watched Kumble bowl?

He is a mystery bowler they don't put revs much his career depends on his accuracy and will he get bounce.

Kumble was a mediocre bowler in SENA for the 1st 12 years of his career. It was only in the 2002-2007 period , he started doing a lot better and that was with a lot of changes in the way he bowled .

At the moment we dont need him for SENA we need results here the current spinners are not capable of winning matches in local conditions aswell.

You are not a proper spinner unless you tie down the opposition by bowling economically, no use with figures of 4/270

Picks up his 3rd in the first session of his debut! Where has he been?

Lol at guys going at him for his hight ER. It's first day of a Test cricket and he is on his debut and the english bowlers are going after him. He has still managed to take 3 wickets and he will be even more dangerous in the second innings I believe and will learn the more he plays. Already like him.

Ends up taking a 5ver in the first session of his debut :))) :))) :)))

but no, listen to indian posters here who believe he is jsut avg

Quality performance on debut. Him coming good can be really handy for Pakistan which has been looking for a quality spinner since Ajmal and decline of Yasir. Abrar has the variety and possibly now the pace to be an all format bowler but all depends upon how hard he works to take it from here.

Golden opportunity to take a 10 wicket haul that too on debut. He has been far threatening than any other bowler.

He spins the ball both ways which makes his variations dangerous. Varies his pace too

If only he had little help from the other end he could have done even better.

Slap in the face of anyone who defended Babar’s brain dead selection of Zahid over Abrar. Won’t name names, but there were a few.

It’s only when he has no choice does he make the right decisions on who plays in the XI. Just like with M Haris in the WC.

Well done Abrar.

Slap in the face of anyone who defended Babar’s brain dead selection of Zahid over Abrar. Won’t name names, but there were a few.

It’s only when he has no choice does he make the right decisions on who plays in the XI. Just like with M Haris in the WC.

Well done Abrar.
The reason for them persisting with Zahid, was because he had been in the team for so long and he deserved a chance more so than Abrar.

This kind of archaic thinking leads to us getting embarrassed time and again :facepalm:

Absolutely brilliant. So happy for him and hoping that we have finally found a test spinner we can rely on and invest in for years to come.

So a guy who took 43 wickets in the recently concluded QeA Trophy...on these same pitches, just ran through England with a fifer before lunch.

How would have thought this could happen? Besides anyone with a working brain?

Well done Abrar.

That was Saqlain who came up with the gem: "he has been travelling with the team for a long time." Because apparently this is gully cricket where everyone deserves a chance to play.

Congrats to the PCB for making a merits based selection, we all just witnessed the dividends of building a meritocracy.

[MENTION=113824]Nikhil_cric[/MENTION]

Zyada he jaldi nahi bol dia bhai?

Abra Kadabra

Weaving magic

Simply unplayable bowler when he gets his deliveries right.

A travesty he wasnt selected last match

[MENTION=113824]Nikhil_cric[/MENTION]

Zyada he jaldi nahi bol dia bhai?

England have looked to sweep everything on this wicket. That is some really poor batting. Anyway, I still maintain ge is a gimmicky bowler who will have a torrid time on good pitches and against better players of spin than this lineup .

@Nikhli_cric 7 wickets :))).

Now he is clutching straws

England have looked to sweep everything on this wicket. That is some really poor batting. Anyway, I still maintain ge is a gimmicky bowler who will have a torrid time on good pitches and against better players of spin than this lineup .

You spoke way too early. Let a player complete his first game.

He will have a great career simply because his googly can't be picked up from naked eye because he bowls finger leg spinner from a 135 degree angle which is unheard of and a subtle changes to this degree results in a googly , so it is impossible to pick him no matter how good your hand and eye coordination is , he is very innovative because of this angle and will have atleast 10 years career for Pak

If what you said is indeed true and he is impossible to pick, then yes he will probably have a good one. But similar things were said of mystery spinners in the past . And they all flopped and flopped badly once they were decoded.

The actual deliveries he bowls are not that impressive . Not a big spinner and doesn't get a lot of drift or duo because if the lack of revs.

Like I said, let's wait and see after 30 odd tests. I've made a bold call. :srini If batters start picking him, he will get smashed as the actual deliveries are nothing to write about.

If what you said is true and and nobody decodes him, I'm willing to admit I'm wrong and that he's indeed an outlier among "mystery" spinners

He d be unplayable on an indian style quick turner. This was a very slow wicket.

If what you said is indeed true and he is impossible to pick, then yes he will probably have a good one. But similar things were said of mystery spinners in the past . And they all flopped and flopped badly once they were decoded.

The actual deliveries he bowls are not that impressive . Not a big spinner and doesn't get a lot of drift or duo because if the lack of revs.

Like I said, let's wait and see after 30 odd tests. I've made a bold call. :srini If batters start picking him, he will get smashed as the actual deliveries are nothing to write about.

If what you said is true and and nobody decodes him, I'm willing to admit I'm wrong and that he's indeed an outlier among "mystery" spinners

To simply put , he can't be decoded because the difference in his angle for googly and leg spinners are around 15 degree which human eye can't detect on a fast moving object, I don't think I can explain this more scientific than that.

And he doesn't bowls his Googly from the back of his hand like Shahdab or most other spinners, he just use one finger leg spinner grip and just adjust his angle subtly to bowl googlies and hence he is in decodable.

And no other bowler in the world has bowled leg spinner from a 135 degree ever , it's even impossible to get his leg spins to turn from that angle alone but he can turn it even though very little.

I hope they don't modify his action to extract more turn if he bowls at 120 degree angle like most leg spinners bowls.

Saw him in QEA Trophy and his main threat came from variations than his stock ball which he doesn't turn as much as the googly. His test like all mystery spinners will be when opponents analyse the footage and do their homework against him.

Still perplexed why he didn't get a game in the T20 series vs ENG as you'd think he'd be useful in white ball cricket with his variations.

He’s a very good prospect but way too early to judge.

Once the good teams of spin master what he does he needs to counter it. That’s how a class bowler stays on top and hopefully he is ready for that when it happen.

Shows the value of allowing a young cricketer the time to develop and play all formats in domestic cricket.

Made more impact in his first game than Usman Qadir has done in his whole career.

You never watched Kumble bowl?

He is a mystery bowler they don't put revs much his career depends on his accuracy and will he get bounce.

Watched him taking 600 plus test wickets and rolling 10 pakistanis in an innings.

Did well on a flattish surface. Baz ball had set course but he came outside of the course work.

But problem with mystery bowlers is that they don't have a good stock ball and depend on variations. Once batsmen read them, they become less effective. So i hope he develops a good leg spinner.

So many comments on his single appearance and in 1 inns...

I see a pattern where Pak coach captain and management uses a new young player selected in the squad as only as water boy and helper nothing else unless they r 30+ who gets a chance straight away even if they are not that skilled comparatively... kinda gully mohalla-ish cultivated by Misbah and passed on..

"Abrar Ahmed has only performed in recent first-class season. Mystery spinners are only successful in the T20 format. Very unlikely I have seen any mystery spinner getting success in Test cricket." - Aaqib Javed

I believe his success will depend on how consistent he is with the ball that got Root and Brooks that will make the ball to stokes more lethal.

Decent prospect better then what i imagined there is hope he can be a long term sucess unlike many mystery spinners but jury still out

Did well on a flattish surface. Baz ball had set course but he came outside of the course work.

But problem with mystery bowlers is that they don't have a good stock ball and depend on variations. Once batsmen read them, they become less effective. So i hope he develops a good leg spinner.

Well the only way to read him is by anticipating googly every bowl and if it turns away then so be it , it's not humanly possible to pick his googly from the hand.

Its a good googly but A few of them were picking it off the hand.
If he can add more pace he ll be better. A lil loopy atm.

Very average bowler.

Time to taste some humble pie :)

His delivery to Stokes was absolute peach. His length for a debutant is topnotch so a really good prospect. 7 wickets is a dream for any debutant against a top side.

Padosis and comments that embarras them later tend to go hand in hand here.

Nikhil is right he lacks drift, bounce etc however i also think he is not one trick pony and can make a career if he able to land that leg spinner well consistently it will make his googly very lethal which is already quite good.

[MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION]

What's your opinion on him?

People here putting too much stress on the "mystery" part which he certainly is but simply put he is able to spin both ways with some really testing lengths. As long as he does that, he will keep creating challenges.

Impressed by his control and temperament.

Add his variations to that and he seems like he will be an excellent bowler in all formats.

Very impressive and intelligent young bowler , with strong nerves , showed good temperament on his debut test. He has to keep working hard on his bowling . Leg spin is the most difficult art of bowling to master but age is behind him.

Mystery will be gone, to some extend, in years to come , so he has to keep working on his bowling , even the traditional leg spin and googly bowling can give him a long and successful career. Very exciting prospect.

Finally. We finally have a proper spinner who can turn the ball both ways and has the temperament for all formats of the game. The cupboard was so bare after the heydays of Ajmal and Abdur Rehman.

Best thing about him is that he's still in his 20s and will hopefully, get even better. He'll have to bowl quicker in LOs cricket.

It is a good thing he did not play in Pindi, by the way. He would have been smoked for 200 runs and gotten a massive dent to his confidence.

Shouldve played the first test like we all have been saying

Excellent debut and hope he keeps working hard on his game to improve

Why he was benched god only knows

[MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION]

What's your opinion on him?

Tbh I had a family emergency so I haven't seen much of him today. I am hoping he is the one but as I have said before mystery doesn't last long. Let's hope his does and he becomes a World class bowler

Wow MashaAllah 7 wickets on debut...if he performs well consistently and included in ODIs we can have a solid spin department to boast of...Just wish his action is not scrutinized by ICC later as we have seen in previous years..

Nikhil is right he lacks drift, bounce etc however i also think he is not one trick pony and can make a career if he able to land that leg spinner well consistently it will make his googly very lethal which is already quite good.

Also this is a pitch where Root, Leach and Jacks got a few to turn very sharply as well.

I mean well done to him but lately wrist spinners have struggled in Test cricket and even ones that actually put a lot of revs like Yasir had his shortcomings.

A poster said that it's impossible to read him. If that's the case and it is in fact impossible to decode him, he'll have a decent career. If batsmen start picking up slight cues for his variations however, his career will nosedive.

Shouldve played the first test like we all have been saying

Excellent debut and hope he keeps working hard on his game to improve

Why he was benched god only knows

I could see a different result if he had played. It was completely brainless.

Mashallah he's bowled tremendously today. Long may it continue reminds me of Mendis.