Wahab Riaz takes charge as advisor to CM Punjab on sports and youth affairs

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Wahab Riaz will be the new Minister of Sports in the caretaker Government of Punjab. He will take the oath after returning from the Bangladesh Premier League</p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1618672233492418560?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 26, 2023</a></blockquote>

Does caretaker have power to do anything major? Or are they just there to run day to day things?

What are his credentials?.

A man who was strongly associated to the fixers but somehow got away with it and a scattergun bowler at best

Feel he is dipping his feet a bit to get an idea of the whole political thing.

I know the caretaker health minister Jamal Nasir well, for long time . I always meet him in Pindi every time I go to Pakistan . Not a typical politician , he is an honest man and a good man. A very good debater also.

Minister of sports :))

You need someone who is able to run it like a business.

More polticial appointments, it seems the imported government is trying to use sport as a desperation to gain more support.

Imran Khan was offered ministerships many times under General Zia and later Nawaz Sharif as an active player and later in retirement by Moin Qureshi but he refused every time.

If a gangster from Lyari can become a federal health minister in current regime, why not a sporstman can become a sports minister for 3-4 months.

A provincial sports minister has no particular job to do, in caretaker setting there is no need for a sports minister ,

Wahab Riaz named sports minister!

Pakistan veteran fast bowler Wahab Riaz has been named to the Punjab government's caretaker cabinet.

Wahab, who is currently playing for Khulna Tigers in the ongoing Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2023, will take over as the largest province's sports minister in due time, the pacer confirmed to Geosuper.tv.

The left-arm bowler has taken 237 wickets for Pakistan in 156 international games across all formats.

It is worth mentioning here that the 37-year-old bowler was a member of the national team that won the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy.

Following the selection of Chief Minister Mohsin Naqvi for the caretaker government in Punjab, the 11-person cabinet's names were confirmed.

Looking at the response in the thread, many are clueless about Pakistani politics and governance.

We dissolve assemblies so that an election takes place which is free and fair. A care taker govt is than appointed, the purpose of the care taker is 2 things. One is that they need to get elections done by ECP, the other is that as for every little day to day work you need the heads signature and approval to get things done, care taker ministers are appointed. Usually these appointments are made after opposition is let known and no issue is raised.

Wahab Riaz wont become a politician by becoming a care taker minister. Just like how Najem Sethi never became a politician.

A provincial sports minister has no particular job to do, in caretaker setting there is no need for a sports minister ,

There is. Every minister that exists, its care taker is required. In pakistan you need approvals to get day to day done, and for that purpose someone needs to be kept appointed to run the day to day issues.

FndVsSKaEAAwUsE

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Just chilling with sports minister Punjab.&#55357;&#56846;<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/busyman?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#busyman</a> <a href="https://t.co/xsu0ueVPJ5">pic.twitter.com/xsu0ueVPJ5</a></p>— Azam Khan (@MAzamKhan45) <a href="https://twitter.com/MAzamKhan45/status/1618670783529910273?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 26, 2023</a></blockquote>

On his arrival at the Allama Iqbal International Airport in Lahore, Wahab received the protocol of the caretaker Punjab government.

Talking to the media about his appointment, he said: "I am grateful for being trusted. I thank the Chief Minister of Punjab. It is a long journey. I cannot describe it in words. I will fulfil the responsibility that has been entrusted to me in a good way."

https://www.geosuper.tv/latest/22279-sports-minister-wahab-riaz-returns-home-from-bpl-2023

“I am excited about Wahab Bhai becoming minister. He has a lot of T20 experience under his belt. However, I will have to keep the minister in check. He sometimes gets too overexcited and loses control over his line during bowling. So I have to give him regular dose [of advise],” Babar Azam [light hearted comment]

There is doubt over the participation of Peshawar Zalmi’s left-arm pacer, Wahab Riaz, in the upcoming eighth edition of HBL Pakistan Super League (PSL).

Pakistan fast bowler was recently appointed as the sports minister in the caretaker cabinet of the Punjab government in Pakistan.

According to sources, Wahab is expected take oath as the minister on the evening of February 12.

After the oath ceremony, left-arm pacer will decide whether he will take part in HBL PSL or not.

Sources close to Wahab have said that it is unlikely that the left-arm pacer would be able to represent Zalmi in the tournament, due to the burden of increased responsibilities as minister.

CricketPakistan

I wonder if the onslaught by Iftikhar has an effect on Wahab weighing up options.

It must be difficult to be taken seriously as a minister if you are getting smacked into the stands.

There is doubt over the participation of Peshawar Zalmi’s left-arm pacer, Wahab Riaz, in the upcoming eighth edition of HBL Pakistan Super League (PSL).

Pakistan fast bowler was recently appointed as the sports minister in the caretaker cabinet of the Punjab government in Pakistan.

According to sources, Wahab is expected take oath as the minister on the evening of February 12.

After the oath ceremony, left-arm pacer will decide whether he will take part in HBL PSL or not.

Sources close to Wahab have said that it is unlikely that the left-arm pacer would be able to represent Zalmi in the tournament, due to the burden of increased responsibilities as minister.

CricketPakistan

This is a clear conflict of interest. He should have refused the ministry, he can't do much in just 2-3 months.

Adding from geo

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Management Committee Chairman Najam Sethi had requested Punjab caretaker Chief Minister Mohsin Naqvi to postpone the ceremony until the end of the PSL. This will allow the pacer to feature in the tournament without the additional burden of ministerial responsibility.

"Wahab Riaz will play PSL now. He will take the oath after the end of PSL," a PCB spokesperson said.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Wahab Riaz will be the new Minister of Sports in the caretaker Government of Punjab. He will take the oath after returning from the Bangladesh Premier League</p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1618672233492418560?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 26, 2023</a></blockquote>

Wonder if he has any say in the PSL move to Karachi proposal?

This should be his final PSL season and hopefully Peshawar Zalmi axe him in the next season. Absolute waste of space and put pressure on his fellow bowlers and captain.

Wahab has been such an enigma for me. Should I back him or no? I wanted to. All those years you thought yeah his time is just around the corner and yet it seemed he always crashed into the wall turning that corner. Yes.. that spell to Watson was exceptional but mostly his career has been full of mediocre performances.

So much potential, peak level fitness and determination but ended up another one in the category of Sami, although much better than Sami, I have to admit.

Hang up your boots and do something else else.

Wahab has been such an enigma for me. Should I back him or no? I wanted to. All those years you thought yeah his time is just around the corner and yet it seemed he always crashed into the wall turning that corner. Yes.. that spell to Watson was exceptional but mostly his career has been full of mediocre performances.

So much potential, peak level fitness and determination but ended up another one in the category of Sami, although much better than Sami, I have to admit.

Hang up your boots and do something else else.

I did a review on his bowling.

His body mechanics are basically unfit for a pace bowler.

His internal plumbing, ligaments and muscles strength has an off-set that breaks the symmetrical motion in body mechanics required to become a great fast bowler.

He also has some arrogance and attitude issue that is Thankfully not displayed much on the field. And I think the reason is, it leans more towards stupidity and idiocy rather then arrogance and attitude.

In one of the TV shows he was asked a question as to how he takes the advice of the bowling coach to incorporate it towards his improvements?

On the TV this is was his response was, “mein tou jo coach ki baat nahi sunta, aur apni marzi sey net practice karta hoon”

He sure has a big “pawa” behind his back that he was made a sports minister - and that pawa is perhaps the reason of his demeanor.

I did a review on his bowling.

His body mechanics are basically unfit for a pace bowler.

His internal plumbing, ligaments and muscles strength has an off-set that breaks the symmetrical motion in body mechanics required to become a great fast bowler.

He also has some arrogance and attitude issue that is Thankfully not displayed much on the field. And I think the reason is, it leans more towards stupidity and idiocy rather then arrogance and attitude.

In one of the TV shows he was asked a question as to how he takes the advice of the bowling coach to incorporate it towards his improvements?

On the TV this is was his response was, “mein tou jo coach ki baat nahi sunta, aur apni marzi sey net practice karta hoon”

He sure has a big “pawa” behind his back that he was made a sports minister - and that pawa is perhaps the reason of his demeanor.
Internal plumbing? Lol

Are you a doctor who happens to have performed surgeries on him to be privy to this information? Does he have different anatomy to us humans? I’m sorry I really did not understand the metaphor.

Pakistan's Test cricketer Wahab Riaz took charge as advisor to CM Punjab Mohsin Naqvi on sports and youth affairs.

23479_6361802_updates.jpg

The advisor met Punjab's secretary sports Shahid Zaman and DG Sports Mohammad Tariq Qureshi at his office in National Hockey Stadium in Lahore.

Zaman and Tariq briefed Riaz on future plans. A presentation was given to the advisor on upcoming events and development work.

The cricketer-turned-administrator assured that he will take all possible steps for the promotion of sports in the province.

"We will try to take every possible step for promotion of sports in Punjab. Youngsters should come forward and participate in different sports activities," he said.

"We will make sure to utilise all the resources and take all stakeholders on board," he added.

GEO

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Met <a href="https://twitter.com/ArshadOlympian1?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ArshadOlympian1</a> earlier today, it was nice having a sports centric conversation. Will definitely look into the problems he highlighted and find solutions for the betterment of sports facilities and athletes across all sports. <a href="https://t.co/ZrqZ10U9HA">pic.twitter.com/ZrqZ10U9HA</a></p>— Wahab Riaz (@WahabViki) <a href="https://twitter.com/WahabViki/status/1638479644541218827?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 22, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="qme" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HunAwegaMaza?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HunAwegaMaza</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/WahabViki?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@WahabViki</a> <a href="https://t.co/ZEcxZK52dm">pic.twitter.com/ZEcxZK52dm</a></p>— Mohammad Amir (@iamamirofficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/iamamirofficial/status/1642863117158821890?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 3, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Babar Azam visits Wahab Riaz at work!

cover_1680790239ed.jpg

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Announcement 📣:<br>For the first time ever in 🇵🇰 Sports history all medalist from Punjab at the 34th National Games Quetta will be rewarded with following prize money.<br>Singles&Doubles:<br>🥇500,000<br>🥈250,000<br>🥉100,000<br>Team:<br>🥇1,000,000<br>🥈500,000<br>🥉250,000<br>Let's empower our athletes 💪🏼 <a href="https://t.co/GS3Zf7zrVq">pic.twitter.com/GS3Zf7zrVq</a></p>— Wahab Riaz (@WahabViki) <a href="https://twitter.com/WahabViki/status/1648982349671956481?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 20, 2023</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Our top priority is always our athletes and their requirements. Bringing you Pakistan’s first ever sports medicine clinic by <a href="https://twitter.com/Sports_BoardPB?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Sports_BoardPB</a> and also the National Hockey stadium Mosque for accessible praying facility for the athletes. Both opening the first week of June.… <a href="https://t.co/c4c36yuGrU">pic.twitter.com/c4c36yuGrU</a></p>— Wahab Riaz (@WahabViki) <a href="https://twitter.com/WahabViki/status/1658115107568623617?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 15, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

LAHORE: Adviser to CM Punjab on Sports Wahab Riaz has said that mega sports events will be organised in January in Lahore.

He said this while presiding over a high-profile meeting at the National Hockey Stadium on Tuesday. DG Sports Punjab Dr Asif Tufail, Director Sports Yasmeen Akhtar and Director Youth Affairs Rana Nadeem Anjum attended the meeting in person while all DSOs participated thru video link.

Wahab said that Sports Board Punjab is also going to organis Inter-Division badminton and table tennis events at Nishtar Park Sports Complex in the coming days.

The News PK

No wonder how he is getting promotions one day he will become the Prime Minister of Pakistan.

He looks great but why is he picking beached whales in his role as national team selector? I don't even want to mention jacket pockets but when he stesses fitnesss as a critical factor in cricket then you have to wonder why his words don't reflect his actions.

Athletes participating in Punjab Rising Games have returned their medals to the office of Sports Minister, Punjab Wahab Riaz, as a protest.

The players gave their medals back to expose the fake promises of cash prizes made by the Punjab Sports Board and Wahab Riaz.

An athlete posted a video on X, formerly known as Twitter, and said, “These medals mean nothing to us if we are not awarded our rightful cash prizes. All the national and international players participating in this tournament have worked hard and won medals after competing with all their heart and passion, they deserve better treatment.”

Former cricketer turned Sports minister, Wahab Riaz’s office was locked as the athletes tried to meet him.

Advisor to caretaker Chief Minister on Sports, Wahab Riaz previously announced that the mega event will continue for 16 days and will include sports such as volleyball, hockey, football, badminton, athletics, and table tennis.

The ongoing Punjab Rising Games kickstarted on January 18 and the final stretch of the games will be held on February 2.

In terms of the cash prizes, Wahab Riaz announced before the tournament that the top performers in the mega event will be awarded monthly stipends of Rs. 70,000, Rs. 50,000, and Rs. 30,000 for one year depending on their performance.

The former cricketer also announced that Rs. 2.5 million will be awarded for each game during the mega event, however, all these promises and announcements remain unfulfilled till now.

A total of 950 players have registered for the event, hailing from all divisions of Punjab.

Source: Pro Sports