Was the 4th Test vs Australia the most widely supported Indian match by Pakistani fans?

leonidas_alexandar

Local Club Regular
While I have always seen congratulations being offered after India's more famous wins back in the day - this was the first time I thought - a vast majority of Pakistani fans - were rooting for an Indian victory.

Is it because of the way India bounced back after the battering in Adelaide in that freak session and the fact that the youngsters really performed beyond expectations?

I don't remember anyone rooting for it. India is our rival so I don't root for them but I am man enough to admit they played fantastic and their fans deserve the glory that comes with it.

While we trod along with dinosaurs as coaches and failed geriatrics in our team

I don't remember anyone rooting for it. India is our rival so I don't root for them but I am man enough to admit they played fantastic and their fans deserve the glory that comes with it.

Thank you. I saw in the commentary thread - quite a few Pakistani fans wanting Australia to lose - I guess I inferred it as rooting for India. Thanks for the clarification though.

I have rooted Pakistan against SENA in SENA. rivalry aside, Asian Bloc always means somethign to me.

This.

No , I was desperate for an Australia win or even a draw.
Great work by India.
Unbelievable fight. Found themselves in really rubbish positions throughout the series but kept managed to come through.
They just finished the Aussies off, they have some serious rebuilding to do.
They only have 5 proper test match cricketers in my eyes

I was wanting an India win they deserved it the way they played India Pakistan should be friends and support each other.

:ibutt

I wanted india to win. Because of the background stories of Siraj, his father, abuse, not wanting to go to Gabba, injuries etc etc

Think you will see a part of the PAK bloc support IND and for that matter most Asian teams (PAK, IND, BAN, SRL) in SENA.

On top of that, unfortunately not a fan of AUS and their crude style of play hardly ever have I rooted for them.

I try to watch as a neutral fan but seeing how Siraj lost his dad and came and performed for his country made me cheer for India. I also really liked the way Pujara showed heart(he got hammered by the aussie fast bowlers). This indian team is really likeable. shout out to Pant too.

While I have always seen congratulations being offered after India's more famous wins back in the day - this was the first time I thought - a vast majority of Pakistani fans - were rooting for an Indian victory.

Is it because of the way India bounced back after the battering in Adelaide in that freak session and the fact that the youngsters really performed beyond expectations?

ICC World Cup 2019. Pakistan needed India to beat England to qualify for the semis. I'm sure the whole of Pakistan was hoping for an India win that day.

Any fan would feel sorry for this side. This was basically a T20 bowling unit except one bowler Siraj who is a rookie himself.

It's natural for me to root for the underdog. Have always done that. India, even though a very strong team, was an underdog in this series and that's why I was supporting them throughout the series.

I sure wanted India to win. Dont care much about the politics (I am American) & what can i say, i am a true sucker for the underdog! Plus it is very satisfying to see the arrogant Aussies being owned up by a makeshift team in their so-called fortress.

As a neutral fan watching the series was full of great cricket and india deservedly won.

Wasn't exactly rooting for India. I must admit that it depresses me seeing how blatantly clear, obvious it is on how India is the number one side in the world whereas Pakistan is in the bottom 3 in all formats, but you can only admire the amount of hard work, planning, money the BCCI and other stakeholders put in Indian Cricket in the last 20-25 years to see the rewards today

No one is supporting them. The fans have been humbled after the eggs on their faces after their premature celebrations after Adelaide.

No one in their wildest dreams envisioned India to win the series from that point, let alone without their first-choice team.

This series has been a nightmare for our fans.

Pakistanis always support India. There is more love than hatred here. We love our brothers and admire the heights Indian cricket has reached - there’s no politics involved.

You’ll be interested in knowing that even Pakistani domestic cricketers who have matches going on these days like Salman Ali Agha and Adnan Akmal were watching this series extremely closely.

Agha didn’t even know he was selected for the Pakistan test team because he was busy watching this match on his phone.

There is a genuine, genuine brotherhood that should be there and is felt by Pakistanis almost unanimously, which is why it often stings these days when news comes out such as today with India potentially sidelining the Asia Cup.

In terms of pure numbers, more Pakistanis were watching the India vs England WC game since that included casual fans too. But trust me, even after that 36 every single Pakistani watching this series has admired every second of Indian grit, determination, and excellence.

My heart broke seeing Siraj weep during the national anthem, and my excitement rushed watching the making of two proper batting superstars in Shubman Gill and Rishabh Pant.

I also still maintain that we would love to have Prithvi Shaw if you don’t want him.

Point being, a well deserved and hard fought victory for India in honestly one of the most spectacular away wins for any team, ever, considering the circumstances of injury and the grander context following the 36 all out.

Watching Ashwin bat his heart out, Rahane lead from the front as captain, Natarajan emerge gloriously from such a humble background, what can I say.

Very happy for Indian cricket today. Long may it continue.

The last time I rooted for Pakistan was when Abdul Razzaq was still playing. Never ever since then.

You and other posters with similar ideas do deserve credit for acknowledging a good performance even when it comes from a bitter rival. There is a humble lesson for many on either side from what you said.

Congrats India incredible victory which will be remembered for long time to come. This shows the character and mindset Indian cricketers have. From 36 all out to 2-1 win. Misbah and co can only dream of something like this.

My experience on this forum has been overwhelmingly positive; almost every Pakistani poster supported India (except for the odd one or two). So, a big thank you from the bottom of my heart. We are brothers, after all. :inzi2

Nice to see Pakistani fans cheering for India

Reminds me of 2002 when I was cheering Pakistan in that epic ODI series in Australia which Shoaib Akhtar won for Pakistan :)

Was well and truly rooting for an Indian win this test. The character that they have shown this series with so many first-choice players missing standing up to the bullies of world cricket should make any neutral fall in love with this team.

Pakistanis always support India. There is more love than hatred here. We love our brothers and admire the heights Indian cricket has reached - there’s no politics involved.

You’ll be interested in knowing that even Pakistani domestic cricketers who have matches going on these days like Salman Ali Agha and Adnan Akmal were watching this series extremely closely.

Agha didn’t even know he was selected for the Pakistan test team because he was busy watching this match on his phone.

There is a genuine, genuine brotherhood that should be there and is felt by Pakistanis almost unanimously, which is why it often stings these days when news comes out such as today with India potentially sidelining the Asia Cup.

In terms of pure numbers, more Pakistanis were watching the India vs England WC game since that included casual fans too. But trust me, even after that 36 every single Pakistani watching this series has admired every second of Indian grit, determination, and excellence.

My heart broke seeing Siraj weep during the national anthem, and my excitement rushed watching the making of two proper batting superstars in Shubman Gill and Rishabh Pant.

I also still maintain that we would love to have Prithvi Shaw if you don’t want him.

Point being, a well deserved and hard fought victory for India in honestly one of the most spectacular away wins for any team, ever, considering the circumstances of injury and the grander context following the 36 all out.

Watching Ashwin bat his heart out, Rahane lead from the front as captain, Natarajan emerge gloriously from such a humble background, what can I say.

:91:

If Pakistanis always support India, they would not be dancing after the Adelaide Test and will not take shots at India at every opportunity that they get, which usually happens when a superior team than Pakistan is doing what Pakistan is not capable of.

They were watching the England vs India World Cup game because they were desperate for India to win so that their own nonsense team can stay in the World Cup, and when India lost fair and square, they started crying about India throwing it away, even though it was in India’s interests to eliminate England because it would have dramatically increased their chances of winning the World Cup.

No one was supporting India after Adelaide. They were all preparing another dance after India are swept 4-0, and what India have done over the last 3 Tests has completely humbled them.

No one buys this “Pakistanis always support India” baloney. It just a convenient excuse to negate the embarrassment and wipe the eggs from their faces.

You and other posters with similar ideas do deserve credit for acknowledging a good performance even when it comes from a bitter rival. There is a humble lesson for many on either side from what you said.

Its a lesson for us, as India changed their entire system completely from grassroots up. People will say oh its IPL but I saw the Indian team changing before IPL too. You look at our team and you're reminded of the 1990's Indian team where only Tendulkar worked and nothing else, it had no great bowlers or all rounders. Barring Babar and Shaheen that's our team. Great teams can work with average coaches, poor teams are made worse by pathetic coaches which Misbah and Waqar are.

Thanks man! Much appreciated.

I wanted Australia to win the series because I like Australia but I'm happy for the Indian fans they won the series.

Thanks. This is how it should be. As arch rivals , I'll never support Pakistan but can always appreciate good cricket when I see it.

Pak and India fans should never support each other. Need to keep the rivalry alive and going :inti

Thats brilliant to hear. Yeah you were indeed quite positive through the last few matches. Cheers man

Thanks. This is how it should be. As arch rivals , I'll never support Pakistan but can always appreciate good cricket when I see it.

Pak and India fans should never support each other. Need to keep the rivalry alive and going :inti

Agree 100 per cent but credit where its due, what a performance by Team India. Chaa gaye. :akhtar

I wasn't rooting for them and I don't particularly like either team, but you have to give credit where credit is due.

Excellent victory in the end.

Thanks, great post! Also like reading your other posts.

India has played a brand of cricket that Pakistan can only hope for in our dreams. So yes, I was fully supporting the humbling they have handed Aussies in their backyard. They have exposed Paine for being an average player and skipper. They have made Lyon, Starc look ordinary. This is not easy.

As much as I hate to admit it, there is a lot to admire about this Indian side. They are very likeable.

Congrats Indian fans. Very well done.

By the last Test, I had enough of Australia’s soft approach. They deserved to lose and be remembered as the softest Australian side in history! They deserve this humiliation!

Good to see posters being honest here..

I mean...let's not kid ourselves here. Shall we?

By the last Test, I had enough of Australia’s soft approach. They deserved to lose and be remembered as the softest Australian side in history! They deserve this humiliation!

This team has not lost even a single series since 2013 Ashes except against India and sand paper one. They are not soft. Just 1 bad series does not make them worse. I am sure they will bounce back in SA!

I have rooted Pakistan against SENA in SENA. rivalry aside, Asian Bloc always means somethign to me.

I wanted India to win because it shows how teams that don't have the best resources available (Kohli gone, many injuries) can still put up a fight, and at least attempt to win.

It's an eye opener that self belief, and confidence is crucial to the game of cricket.

I don't know about most Pakistani fans, but personally, all I wanted to see was competitive cricket after Pakistan's sharamful and shameful performance in NZ. I have thoroughly enjoyed that in India's competitive and resilient nature in Australia which is always special because of how obnoxious the Aussies are.

When you fight, show resiliency and play a fearless brand of cricket like India has this series, you can't help but admire, irrespective of being a Pakistani.

Woh aur baat hai ke, #Aanedo2 series ka ab bhi intezaar hai :saslam, but until then, Well done and congratulations to India! :salute

Not rooting for them but genuinley happy for them. They overcame staggering odds and have shown they are the number 1 side in the world.

Congratulations to India and Indian fans. This team showed a lot of fighting spirit.

As a Pakistani fan, I was not supporting India. It is a rivalry - in which at the moment, Pakistan is behind.

But I am sporting enough to congratulate them for an incredible victory and that too, in a series for the ages.

Well played.

of course not, even if they say yes it will be a lie...

pakistan are probably between 8-10 in rankings
india just beat Australia in Australia

huge difference
knowing one is at the top
and your team at the bottom

As a Pakistani fan, I was not supporting India. It is a rivalry - in which at the moment, Pakistan is behind.

But I am sporting enough to congratulate them for an incredible victory and that too, in a series for the ages.

Well played.

Same here, I can separate their disgusting politics from their team performance, and I am genuinely happy for their fans. I said as much in the congratulations thread.

Thanks for your support and we'll wishes, Pakistan.

You know I watch out for your team as well. Its why I've been on this forum for 8+ years.

No one is supporting them. The fans have been humbled after the eggs on their faces after their premature celebrations after Adelaide.

No one in their wildest dreams envisioned India to win the series from that point, let alone without their first-choice team.

Exactly. Most of them were desperate to see us lose.

In a few days, they will find ways to belittle this victory.

Those of you kissing up to India, this is what the opposition thinks of your efforts. Wouldn't you have been better off staying true to yourselves like I did and slapping down the cheerleaders?

That's not correct. No one in Pakistan will belittle Indian victory in the next few days.

Rivalry and pettiness are two different things.

Rivalry dictates that of course we would want India to lose most games and series. And vice versa.

However, after this victory, you will find no pettiness.

India deserves all the accolades coming their way.

That's not correct. No one in Pakistan will belittle Indian victory in the next few days.

Rivalry dictates that of course we would want India to lose most games and series. And vice versa.

👍 Thank you. 🙏🙏

I certainly was supporting India in the last 2 tests. The way they’ve played in this series is the reason I watch cricket

I am not Pakistani but I guess I support them.

I was definitely cheering for India from as soon as Rahane took over. They were positive and had no fear, although I’m not sure that the youngsters are particularly good (apart from Gill).

I’m Tim Paine’s biggest fan, but I was deeply annoyed by how he behaved with Ashwin, and the result served him right.

I am Pakistani and hell yes I was supporting India. It was brilliant to see, a historical moment in Indian cricket history and good on them. A deserved series win and enjoy it Indian fans.

Well done India

As an ardent Pakistan fan, I can only sit back and admire what the Indian test match team has achieved in Australia. There was always the danger that with the rise of the IPL, test match cricket would die a death, especially in India.
But the Indian team has performed admirably in alien conditions against a much celebrated bowling attack. And against all odds, they have bounced back from the ignominy of 36 all out in the 1st test. Even without King Kohli thereafter, and with a 2nd string and raw bowling attack, they have come back to cement victory with over 300 runs on day 5 at the GABA.
Wow. Hats off to you India. I may not routinely support you in cricket matches, but I have to admire your fighting qualities. Very well done.

Pakistan would have tried to draw the match if there were 15 runs left to get in 5 overs with 5 wickets in hand, and they would have ended up losing still.

The gulf is now massive between indian cricket and Pak cricket.

They going forward and higher whilst we are still stuck salivating over past glories from the 1990s.

A well deserved win.

Honestly, I was disappointed when woke up and saw the Indian W.
That said, credit to them. I'm not an Aussie supporter either, ngl still would have preferred India losing.

True. Respect is earned. This was a proper old school epic phainta :don

This team has not lost even a single series since 2013 Ashes except against India and sand paper one. They are not soft. Just 1 bad series does not make them worse. I am sure they will bounce back in SA!

Since the 2013 Ashes, Australia has lost 2-0 and 1-0 to Pakistan in the UAE and 3-0 away to Sri Lanka. They drew a series with Bangladesh away at 1-1 as well. They also lost 2-1 to South Africa at home in 2016, right before Pakistan toured. There may be others but those are just off thr top of my head.

I think a large reason why Pakistanis are being so positive about this victory is that we literally cannot make any excuses or place any asterisks on it. Australia were basically at full strength this time around, and India were less than half strength, with not a single first choice bowler playing the last game. Yet, through skill and determination, they found a way to take 20 wickets. Unbelievable performance, and incredible depth.

I don't support India and don't even care to follow their results or the IPL despite being half Indian myself (and half Pakistani obviously). I used to support India in the late 90s and 00s as a second team, because they had many likeable players in the team, but their definitive political leanings have completely turned me off them.

That, plus the distasteful rhetoric from Indian ex players and fans makes me actively cheer on India's opponents in the games I do pay attention to I.e. ICC tournaments.

However, what's happened at the Gabba, and in this series overall, is awe inspiring. If things zigged instead of zagging, India may well have lost this series 3-1, but instead came out of it winning 2-1. Incredible, really.

Victory and defeat are from Allah, but intent and purpose is from men. And that Indian team is full of men, with a never say die attitude and a warrior spirit.

I'm sure all our Indian posters today ate incredibly proud and revelling in this victory. Congrats to you all, this one's in the cricket history books.

As an aside, the day Pakistan start playing with confidence and purpose, playing to win and to not lose, with the right leaders and with the correct technical adjustments, InshAllah we will turn our fortunes around for the better.

It'll take years for us to get to where this Indian team are, but with the right intentions and actions to back it, InshAllah we will get there too.

To be honest I am not sure about the support but, cricket fans everywhere would have definitely appreciated the character showed by this Indian team.

May be but the response and name calling Pakistanis are getting in return from some of my fellow indians on twitter and facebook is hardly surprising. Our fans will never support Pakistan in any match especially for BJP lovers it is a sin. :inti

I was supporting Australia.

I really don't know how any Pakistani can root for the rivals to win in Aus when we get obliterated every time we turn up.

Maybe it'll change after this series though, because this Indian victory has shown that the idea of them and Pakistan being rivals is laughable and thus maybe we ought to learn to be happy for sub-continent success instead.

I was definitely cheering for India from as soon as Rahane took over. They were positive and had no fear, although I’m not sure that the youngsters are particularly good (apart from Gill).

I’m Tim Paine’s biggest fan, but I was deeply annoyed by how he behaved with Ashwin, and the result served him right.

Rishabh Pant is the most talented cricketer of this generation.

He will go on to be an all-time great.

Gill is also a generational talent, but Pant is something else. Pant is one of the few special batsmen who can win games that other top-class specialist batsmen can't. How he's been treated by the Indian selection panel is mad. He apparently wasn't first choice at the beginning. But when India chased in the 4th innings, everyone knew India's chances of chasing down began and ended with Rishabh Pant. That isn't the hallmark of the average player.

I was completley neutral in this series and just appreciated the good cricket. As I get older the "nationalism" element when India play someone other than us has dissipated. Plus I like the way rahane captained. He showed humility and grit which is something I admire in general. I hate when we see the unneccessary fist pumping and swearing which is just not my cup of tea. I will be watching the highlights for this innings.

Rishabh Pant is the most talented cricketer of this generation.

He will go on to be an all-time great.

Gill is also a generational talent, but Pant is something else. Pant is one of the few special batsmen who can win games that other top-class specialist batsmen can't. How he's been treated by the Indian selection panel is mad. He apparently wasn't first choice at the beginning. But when India chased in the 4th innings, everyone knew India's chances of chasing down began and ended with Rishabh Pant. That isn't the hallmark of the average player.
It’s so nice to see you here again!

I largely agree. Pant is a player with far more about him than Saha and I have been surprised at people opposing his selection. People forget that Gilchrist was a far inferior keeper to Healy or Haddin or Paine. My only slight concern is whether Pant might miss chances standing up to the stumps.

I actually take India’s success as vindication of my stance that a good Test team needs to contain around 7 players aged 21-30. Even if some older players are still better.

I don’t think that Ashwin or Jadeja could do what Washington Sundar did here, especially with the bat. They are just as technically good with the bat, but he isn’t cowed by previous overseas defeats like they are.

India in this Test was Gill + Pant + a very resilient skipper + an ageing defensive batsman + 7 hungry youngsters.

Not kids like Naseem Shah or Musa Khan whom Pakistan fielded in Australia a year ago. Just 7 hungry but unexceptional guys in their peak years.

India improved when the likes of Yadav and Shami and Jadeja were replaced by Siraj and Saini and Washington.

The only veterans whom India should recall are Kohli and Bumrah. Otherwise they should keep faith in these guys!

Why would I want my rival to win against Australia that too by breaching their fortress? I was rooting for Australia to win but of course, I wholeheartedly congratulate India for winning at the end of it. More than anything I begrudge Indian team for unearthing amazing youngsters!

I agree with you. In fact I feel the same whenever Pakistan plays these days, no nationalism but genuine appreciation.

Have something nice to eat today, to celebrate this victory under the captaincy of a gentleman called Rahane, I know I am going to :)

I was completley neutral in this series and just appreciated the good cricket. As I get older the "nationalism" element when India play someone other than us has dissipated. Plus I like the way rahane captained. He showed humility and grit which is something I admire in general. I hate when we see the unneccessary fist pumping and swearing which is just not my cup of tea. I will be watching the highlights for this innings.

Il be honest I didn’t support any team but by the end India won me over with their brilliant fighting cricket, any true cricket fan would have enjoyed the spectacle and battle. I think most Pakistani fans felt the same , not really supporting India but by the end finding it hard to fault such a performance you have to give kudos.

I always supported Pakistan and Srilanka when they played against England or Australia.

May be but the response and name calling Pakistanis are getting in return from some of my fellow indians on twitter and facebook is hardly surprising. Our fans will never support Pakistan in any match especially for BJP lovers it is a sin. :inti

How can you compare Indian fans who post here with twitter warriors? People who post here are true cricket fans and know how to appreciate a good game, on the other hand the twitter warriors are there just because India won. They don't care about the game and will disappear when India starts losing.

The problem for the PCB, Pakistani team and its players, coaching staff now that the Indian team is consistently showing its number one rankings in all formats of the game, it's players are putting in super star performances in all formats of the game is that it just makes the media critics, fans, ex players even more envious of the neighbours and even more critical of the PCB, the Pakistani team, the captain, the coaches and the players as to why are they not delivering.

Already one person as a reaction to this Indian historic performance ended up creating a thread to bash Babar Azam even though the poor guy had nothing to do with what happened in Australia

You have got that part wrong my friend. The next gen is our golden gen. Among those in their 20s Gill, Pant, Bumrah, Kuldeep have ATG potential. Siraj, Shaw (yes I know he is struggling this year but there is a reason he is so hyped even by someone like Boult who bowled a lot to him in the nets), Padikkal, Jaiswal, Prasidh (tall quick to replace Ishant), Sundar, Rahul Chahar and 4-5 others though not having such a high ceiling are going to serve us well and we have Vihari (hero of SCG save) who is a Pujara clone ready to take up the #3 role of grinder/wall, a successor of Dravid/Pujara in the true sense. We have all bases covered, top order batsmen, middle order batsmen, left-arm options, different types of spinners, quicks. Maybe the only tough replacements are Ashwin-Jadeja especially at home though spin may start playing a lesser role in Indian cricket in the future, our pace options are stacked for the next decade. Even our wicketkeeping backup Srikar Bharat is probably the best young gloveman in the world and FC average in mid-30s, may not get many chances because of Pant but a great second keeper to have in the squad, our Healy to Pant's Gilchrist.

Next time we tour Australia (2024?) we may very well field this XI:

Padikkal/Jaiswal
Shaw
Vihari
Gill
Kohli
Pant
Sundar/Jadeja (defensive finger spin, handy batsmen both)
Kuldeep/R Chahar (attacking wristies who also average close to 25 with the bat in FC)
Prasidh
Siraj
Bumrah

Only 2 guys in mid-30s (Kohli, Jadeja), 3 in 29-31 range (Vihari, Bumrah, Siraj) and rest all in the prime 22-28 category. Well rounded bowling attack, bats deep and so much quality.

How can you compare Indian fans who post here with twitter warriors? People who post here are true cricket fans and know how to appreciate a good game, on the other hand the twitter warriors are there just because India won. They don't care about the game and will disappear when India starts losing.

You are mistaken. You will find so many fans here who disappear when India starts losing or when their favorite player fails they stay away from those threads. Not sure about you but I have seen so many keyboard warriors here also so it is not exclusive to twitter and facebook only. :inti

I’d never support India, but I congratulate them on the win and the circumstances of it.

From the final day of the 3rd test, I had a new found respect for their approach. They promoted Pant up the order and he went for the win. Refreshing approach and something that should be appreciated and promoted.

Fully deserved victory.