"We aren't about being big names on paper, we perform on the field" : Sarfraz Ahmed

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sarfraz Ahmed "we aren't just about being big names on paper, we perform on the field" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PSL2017?src=hash">#PSL2017</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/834852263013318657">February 23, 2017</a></blockquote>
<script async src="//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>"

Looking good Sarfraz and would be a great boost for Pakistan if their T20 and ODI captain leads his team to the top.

Yeah.

I sense Asad Shafiq, Anwar Ali et. al being added to national ODI/T20 squads.

We all feared it.

Shehzad also said the same thing during his "quam se khitaab". Seems like QG have a very good team spirit. Something which is lacking in most other sides.

10/10 for Sarfraz in this PSL so far

Great captain and clutch batsman

I hope the myth that KP was the real captain in the first edition of PSL has laid to rest.

It's actually rather comforting that the T20 captain is beating other teams with a weaker side. Suggests he's probably the right guy to lead us for Pakistan.

Very good Captain.
Which ever team he captains turns into gold,hopefully Pakistan will also start winning!!!

Tactically good. Get along well with others. Knows how to get the best out of his players and has self belief.
Few of the qualities Sarfi has as captain :)

I look at Quetta's squad and wonder how they do so well, but then on closer inspection you realise that there are some clever purchases. A couple of big names and the rest are good battled-hardened cricketers combined with up and coming cricketers.

Sharjeel will inshallah be cleared, he hasn't done anything wrong, we all believe in him !!!!! :bhatti

errr ..

umar does not open
haris will not be rushed in the intl team that quickly
shadab will not be handed a debut immediately (im hoping they do send him and hassaan khan to windies but lets see)

sharjeel may or may not be guilty but pcb's reputation is on the line here and there can only be one winner from this :(

And if they don't perform, they get a scolding from Sarfraz. Exhibit A: Mohammad Nawaz, who bowled a poor first over but finished with a good last ball, only to have Sarfraz yell "Aisay dalne main kya museebat hai!?" before the mic cut off but the camera showed more yelling/scolding.

I like this guy.

And if they don't perform, they get a scolding from Sarfraz. Exhibit A: Mohammad Nawaz, who bowled a poor first over but finished with a good last ball, only to have Sarfraz yell "Aisay dalne main kya museebat hai!?" before the mic cut off but the camera showed more yelling/scolding.

I like this guy.

It's not all scolding and yelling from his part.

I remember when Hassan Khan was bowling to Chris Gayle he was bowling on Gayle's pad to cramp him for room, and this was causing the ball to spin and go for wides. After the third wide Sarfaraz clapped Hassan and said "sahi kar raha hai". The end result the over costed just 2 runs off the bat.

Yeah.

I sense Asad Shafiq, Anwar Ali et. al being added to national ODI/T20 squads.

We all feared it.

Anwar shouldn't be near the side and neither should Shafiq.

BUT, IF and it's a huge IF, the likes of Fakhar/Umar don't work out in the opening slot, I wouldn't necessarily mind Shafiq if he can keep batting exactly like this in ODIs.

It's not all scolding and yelling from his part.

I remember when Hassan Khan was bowling to Chris Gayle he was bowling on Gayle's pad to cramp him for room, and this was causing the ball to spin and go for wides. After the third wide Sarfaraz clapped Hassan and said "sahi kar raha hai". The end result the over costed just 2 runs off the bat.

Yeah. Very intelligent. Throughout the innings he was clapping his bowlers when they bowled wides, because he understood that it's better to make a mistake and give 1 run rather than err on the other side and give Gayle or Pollard a 6.

Dont want to put a dampener on his captaincy but compelled to think why didn't he bowl Hassan for his full quota of overs,who arguably was their best bowler,while Mir Hamza bowled his full quota? Can anyone explain this to me?

Bowling a spinner at back end with powerful windies players at the crease would have been a gamble

I look at Quetta's squad and wonder how they do so well, but then on closer inspection you realise that there are some clever purchases. A couple of big names and the rest are good battled-hardened cricketers combined with up and coming cricketers.

Asad Shafiq, Anwar Ali, Ahmed Shehzad.

International failures, hence not up and coming cricketers, nor do they seem battled-hardened.

There's one big name -- KP, who's been largely a failure. Mahmudullah and Rossouw have been decent, but they're no way big names.

Its largely down to a conducive environment and leadership of Sarfraz, not player selection per se.

It is really a testament to QG management and Sarfraz on how well they continue to do. Many of the other teams have many bigger names and yet they continue to struggle. Watching Gayle bat yesterday was painful and I really wonder does he have any motivation to play this tournament. QG on the other hand, everyone is looking to win and their positive attitude is bringing great results.

Bowling a spinner at back end with powerful windies players at the crease would have been a gamble

Did you see how well he bowled to Gayle when he was trying to hit'em out of the park? Bowling Hamza in the last over was a bigger gamble than bowling Hasan in the last,IMO.He was bowling rubbish if you watch his first three overs.

Also if we just accept for the sake of argument that was a risk but when he was bowling quiet beautifully he could've used him a lot earlier.Gave away just 16 in 3 overs.

That is actually being smart and playing your cards better and think ahead.

^ one reason i think why he changed Hasan was because Malik arrived at the crease and he went with a fast bowler and continued.. and after that it was too late for Hasan to come back in last overs against Pollard/Gayle , also Fast bowlers didnt do bad either.

I like this guy.

actually it was very stupid from Nawaz off side field was fully packed yet he was bowling on leg side anyone will get frustrated with that