"We have high expectations from our team in the upcoming Test match against Ireland" : Haris Sohail

DeadBall

"We have high expectations from our team in the upcoming Test match against Ireland" : Haris Sohail

Haris Sohail speaking in an interview :

"Our last game was a little difficult as the pitch was a bit tough"

"In this game we had a good pitch to play on and the batsmen got a good opportunity for practice to the fullest extent"

"This was a good pitch to bat on and we thoroughly enjoyed batting on it"

"Obviously for batsmen, such a pitch is great as it helps them gain confidence, especially with the Test matches coming up soon"

"Also for the bowlers it was a good opportunity as we saw Shadab take 6 wickets in first innings and then follow that up with 4 wickets in the second"

"Also Mohammad Abbas did well with 4 wickets in the 2nd innings"

"Its been good practice for batsmen and bowlers"

"We have high expectations from our team in the upcoming Ireland Test as overall we have practiced well"

"We are looking forward to the Test match and Inshallah we will do well in that as well"

"We have high expectations from our team in the upcoming Ireland Test"

Wow. The headline is both funny and sad, but we fully deserve this humiliation.

Hopefully we will win the game without any (major) hiccups; we cannot afford any funny business at this point.

How is it funny and sad ?

'we have high expectations' against a minnow team that is playing its first Test match. The first part of the sentence makes Ireland seem like India, England or South Africa.

If he said we will win it without any problem, you would have said they are over confident respecting the opponent is also part of the game.

Some people will try to find a problem in anything.

If Kohli said this then wowww yaar he is so humble, what a great cricketer. Truly an inspirational ATG.

he was asked "phla mach khelnay ja rahy hain Ireland sai apki kia expections hain"
and he answered "expectations to boht achi hain kyun kay practice overall sab ki bohat achi ho gaye hai and looking forward to first test match and Insha Allah umeed hai us mai bhi acha karain gai"

but i know your hate and attention seeking wont let you see it ;)

If you dont have high expectations against Ireland in test cricket then you should quit playing the game.

The win is guaranteed.

Only questions are by how many runs or wickets or will we finish the match.

Please, try not to insult the might of our 130kph attack by comparing it to such garbage teams as SA.

If you dont have high expectations against Ireland in test cricket then you should quit playing the game.

The win is guaranteed.

Only questions are by how many runs or wickets or will we finish the match.

You're probably right, that being said could you do me a massive favour and make a thread with that title? I seem to recall you during the 2015 WC having a handy knack of jinxing every prediction :P

Also, forecast for first two days is poor. Could be a draw yet.....

You're probably right, that being said could you do me a massive favour and make a thread with that title? I seem to recall you during the 2015 WC having a handy knack of jinxing every prediction :P

Also, forecast for first two days is poor. Could be a draw yet.....
If Ireland roll out a green pitch, I can see Pakistan dropping the test. Have seen enough of Pakistan to know what they can and can't do. Scoring meaningful runs on a green wicket is out of the question for this batting line-up.

Pakistan could be bowled out for 10 batting first and win easily. If Ireland even draw this game (that isnt entirely down to rain) itd be arguably the biggest Test upset ever.

I see you are setting expectations really low in case Ireland win.

Smart. Very smart. :misbah

He should have said we will get them out for 0 and will make them ask for mercy as we will bat for 4.5 day and get them out twice in 5 overs

he was asked "phla mach khelnay ja rahy hain Ireland sai apki kia expections hain"
and he answered "expectations to boht achi hain kyun kay practice overall sab ki bohat achi ho gaye hai and looking forward to first test match and Insha Allah umeed hai us mai bhi acha karain gai"

but i know your hate and attention seeking wont let you see it ;)

That response reflects his inexperience and the defeatist mentality in our camp at the moment. It is pretty obvious that the team is scared that they might lose on a green pitch. The fact is that because of Ireland's inexperience, no matter how much the conditions suit them, Pakistan will win the game.

"We will not take Ireland lightly, they have some good players" etc. is how you handle these questions. Simple and sweet, asserting your superiority without sounding cocky our downplaying the opposition.

No experienced player in any team would have said what Haris said here.

That response reflects his inexperience and the defeatist mentality in our camp at the moment. It is pretty obvious that the team is scared that they might lose on a green pitch. The fact is that because of Ireland's inexperience, no matter how much the conditions suit them, Pakistan will win the game.

"We will not take Ireland lightly, they have some good players" etc. is how you handle these questions. Simple and sweet, asserting your superiority without sounding cocky our downplaying the opposition.

Bas. Stop.

It’s getting embarrassing how you are clutching at straws. Making an issue out of nothing.

So if someone asks what are your expectations from Ireland test you shouldn't say the expectations are high/good as it shows defeatist mentality rather you should think 2 minutes and say something like "we should not take Ireland lightly, they have some good players etc".
Khoda pahaar nikla chooha :p
Plus How are both different and one shows defeatist mentality?? He is not an English teacher sir!

Salam hai apki logic ko (y)

So what? They know they are vulnerable to lateral movement on a pitch suited to medium pacers. Recognizing that is not being defeatist but having a realistic outlook for the upcoming game against Ireland.

They have had a couple of good practice games and the team is good enough to adapt to the new conditions. They will come through Insha'Allah.

your inferiority complex is so evident at times that it feels cringy. Anyway, one thing is for sure, you had good (basic) cricket knowledge and that is Pakistan's have problem with slow swing bowlers and that is what Ireland has. And it is safe to say Pak is in the problem by playing Ireland in Ireland in may. They are bound to have hiccups. Plus Ireland as a team is inexperience but their players are playing county cricket for long. They are at advantage with inexperience pakistani players playing in alien conditions

High expectations when you are facing a team that is playing its first test match.... Lol.

I think, Hari isn't good with his words (most PAK players these days are, unfortunately - from 70s, PAK cricket has gone to streets of Karachi/Lahore, instead of Oxford, Cambridge, at least UoP, UoS ......), but I understand what he wanted to say. This is his first Test out side Asia, therefore, he must have some personal goals; then it's an historic event - first Test of a Nation. I don't think, he said that expectations are like PAK should beat IRL ...., rather, expectation can be to dominate IRL and win comprehensively - which obviously he won't say.

I can recall a similar situation almost 20 years back, when Ganguly was requested to say something in Bangla, after usual press briefing - I forgot exact words, but gist of what he said is similar....... ".... Bangladesh has improved a lot, they have few good players and they are playing at home; obviously we expect good fight from them and we'll give our best efforts in this historic event - it's a highly expected event....... We are also going through a phase (just after the fixing issues that led Azhar to step down), therefore players are also looking for this Test........."

IND won that Test by 9 wickets inside 4 days, after conceding 400+ in 1st innings (& at one point 190/7 or so) - he definitely expected better finishing than that from BD, but it would have been foolish to say - we are confident and much better side, and we are going to crash BD in 4 days, batting effectively once.

I don't understand this. Haris is playing from Ireland?? This is really "sharamful" behaving like minnows.

I seriously don’t understand why people have a problem with this statement.

I think this has got more to do with their language skills and lack of pr training.

your inferiority complex is so evident at times that it feels cringy. Anyway, one thing is for sure, you had good (basic) cricket knowledge and that is Pakistan's have problem with slow swing bowlers and that is what Ireland has. And it is safe to say Pak is in the problem by playing Ireland in Ireland in may. They are bound to have hiccups. Plus Ireland as a team is inexperience but their players are playing county cricket for long. They are at advantage with inexperience pakistani players playing in alien conditions

Pakistan has problems against fast swing (probably bigger problems) as well, not only slow swing.

Big test for Haris - lets see if he can get a good fifty today or not