What improvements should be made to the National T20 tournament to make it more meaningful?

From what we can see so far, this tournament is getting no or little attention and seems to be a 'tick the box' type exercise by the PCB.

How can this be improved and made more meaningful?

Add your suggestions to this thread and we will pass them on to new PCB Managing Director Wasim Khan later.

Crowds:
Cannot overstate the importance of crowds. Apart from the lack of skills that our players generally have, the lack of mental toughness is even more alarming. Our cricketers cannot even withstand the sight of pressure let alone being under the strain of it. The only way a young 19 or 20 year old is going to cope with pressure is when he's being asked to defend 8 runs off the last over with a full capacity crowd either supporting him or wanting him to crack. Same goes for the batsman when he's asked to score 10 off the last over. Playing in difficult situations under big crowds is the only way a player learns how to cope with pressure. Not just by playing 50 Test matches.

Now how to attract crowds? First of all, free entry is a given (I'm sure that's the case with the T20 right now. If not, then :facepalm:). Secondly the PCB has to make it attractive to come to the stadium. This could mean PCB arranging some sort of concerts in the mid-innings break. Also if that means you have to get Aamir Liaqat to do an Inaam Ghar show, then by all means do it. Have a Catch a Crore scheme like they have in the PSL. Incentivize is the name of the game.

Flat pitches:
Although I'm a bowler and love seeing bowling pitches, in T20s the pitches in the domestic need to be as flat as they can be with absolutely nothing for the bowlers. Make the pitches so that the average score is 175. Families want to come and see both teams hitting sixes and scoring 175+ rather than seeing teams struggling to hit boundaries. Probably unfortunate for the game's connoisseurs but it is what it is. you have to cater to the general public.

TV Coverage:
You cannot possibly be televising your National T20 or National ODI/FC tournament around the country by using 1960s cameras. Ok, maybe you still don't have enough money to go full HD but at least get some decent camera quality and camera men so that it is bearable to watch on television. The interest is immediately dimmed once you switch on PTV sports and find a 360p type broadcast. Also get some good commentators on board. "Aur ball hawa mein gayi, fielder neechay aur dekhna hoga kay catch pakartay hain ya nahi" isn't going to fly in this day and age. Say what you may, but Ramiz, Waqar, Aamir, Bazid, Sikandar Bakht are still your best commentators. Use them. Also have somebody interview players during the innings. Make the watch worthwhile.

Team Reductions:
I know Pakistan has a huge cricketing player base and you need to accommodate players but you cannot have Lahore Blues and Lahore Whites and Karachi Whites and Karachi Blues etc. Lahore needs to have 1 team. Karachi has to have 1 team. If you want to be selected for Lahore or Karachi, you need to work hard and get into the XI. If I'm a resident of Lahore, who should i be supporting? Lahore Blues or Lahore Whites? Ridiculous. Regional associations need to conduct second tier tournaments to assess which are the best players that they want to take to the National T20. Have a pyramid cricketing tier.

Different Venues:
The National T20 has to be played at different venues and at least once on each team's ground. Right now I believe all matches are being played in Multan. When you have 25 matches played at a single venue, crowd fatigue also comes in. Crowds will come for 2-3 matches but then you will witness dwindling attendances. The way to counter this is to have a maximum of 3 matches at 1 venue.

I understand that these may be costly initiatives but then when you talk of improving the domestic standard, then these necessary costs will have to be undertaken. Also once crowds start coming in, you will see sponsorships increasing as well and this could all become self-financing. Sponsorships only come when companies see that a great number of people are watching. This is also necessary because you are also developing the mental character of young players who would be playing under pressure in front of crowds. A Lahore paceman trying to defend 10 off the last over at the National Stadium with a big crowd is better than a Lahore paceman trying to defend at Multan stadium in front of 2 crows and 1 dog. PSL has built this brand but unless it comes to Pakistan, you have to ensure that your domestic T20 tournament is your local PSL.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The National T20 Cup continues to be devalued. Surely this tournament should be played before the PSL draft <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NationalT20Cup?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NationalT20Cup</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1072835249535680514?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 12, 2018</a></blockquote>

Get rid of the draft system for the love of god. Sign two foreign players for each side. Arrange home and away games. Don’t have two teams for one region.

I didn't even know it was happening until Match 3. I wonder if this tournament is being kept secret

I haven’t seen a single ball but have checked scores. If I were to make any changes, I would have made sure that

1. This tournament is played before PSL draft

2. Average official age of the squad is U29, and for starting XI even younger, may be around 25.

3. Like emerging quota, there is a senior’s quota - max 3 players over 35 in squad, may be 2 in playing XI and at most 5, 30+ players in playing XI.

Keep on adding your comments here.

Do you beleive PCb will listen? if they do i will ad another things,Commentry is utter garbage except one of the urdu commentator which name i am forgetting but the rest of them needs to be changed.
And plese no more than three 30 years plus player in each team.we are just watching khurram ,akmran etc again and again.

Needs better marketing to bring in the crowds. There was a time when the T20 tournament brought in a full crowd and plenty of viewership. The production quality of the tournament has to improve, the cameras used by PTV belong in the 90s.

The pitches once again. The tournament should be played on highways. This is T20 cricket, we should be seeing scores of 190-200 every other match but I don't think 170 has been crossed even once in this tournament.

I would like the tournament to be played on multiple grounds with more than just one host city. Pitches and grounds need prep time, playing 2 matches every day on the same venue deteriorates the pitch and outfield.

Get rid of the draft system please. Force the regions to produce their own talent instead of drafting it.

I always get excited for these tournaments but then the quality is so bad. Need to market it better, and really should be played before PSL draft, audition kind of thing. You'd think a T20 tournament is the best chance of getting big crowds but still been pretty empty.

PCB really need to improve their tech - the world is moving on to 4K and they haven't even started HD coverage yet.

Get some competent people running PCB social media/marketing so that they can fill the stadiums!

I feel the T20 leagues are destroying our talent. Big hacks are progressing and the real talent if left behind. If i was incharge i would replace this with a 40 overs a side games..

T20 cup over the years is a very entertaining tournament leaving out the broadcasting issues which have always been pathetic. Quality of cricket was always good.
The current Natl. T20 Cup is a disaster and the quality of cricket I've witnessed before has hit new low. I watched a match today between FATA and Karachi Whites. It was a horrible experience. I have'nt been following much lately but after what I saw till today I doubt I'd view the whole series.

I felt as it was like watching 5 Babar Azams play [on both sides]. No effort or fight. Fielding absolutely ghastly. They were on purpose fumbling and dropping catches. Batsman were playing it like one day or same as Babar selfish cricket. Playing dots and taking singles on easy hittable deliveries.

It looked as though the players were playing in protest against the antics of our selection committee. And are too much disappointed with the early PSL draft.

There playing as though they don't care if their team wins or lose.

I started watching this tournament after witness Shahzaib Hassan and Latif's illustrious strikes in 2016. Its shameful to watch and see them descend.
Also there is no new batsman in the tournament to look out for, this is almost the same squads of Natl. T20 Cup 2017 [happened last year in Nov.]

Its clear, Ehsan Mani made a huge mistake to organize PSL draft early before this tournament. And the setup under him is not sincere in finding new talent.

LAHORE: Once a lucrative venture for the Pakistan Cricket Board due to immense enthusiasm among fans, it seems the ongoing National T20 Cup in Multan has become a major liability for the PCB.

Dawn has learnt on authority that the PCB will pay Rs80 million (around Rs 600,000 per day) to PTV for its live coverage of the said tournament. Though the PCB has 70 per cent share from the revenue through advertisements on PTV during the matches of the event, a poor response for any commercial will not help the PCB to even clear the cost of the live transmission. Last year, PTV also charged the PCB Rs60 million.

The timing of the Dec 10-25 tournament also did not benefit the PCB. The national event is not going to push the prominent players to go for extra effort to outshine rivals in order to find a place in any of the six Pakistan Super League (PSL) teams for the league’s fourth edition because the squads have already been picked up by all the franchises.

Furthermore, a number of national team members are also not available for the National T20 Cup because of their engagement with the national team currently touring South Africa.

In the past, it may be be mentioned here, the national T20 event had become hugely popular and handed the PCB handsome amounts through gate money, sale of media rights and title sponsorship.

This time around, however, the situation has significantly changed as almost all the expenditures are being borne by the PCB.

Moreover, Multan Cricket Stadium’s remote location has also resulted in poor response from fans who have not turned up in huge numbers to watch the National T20 Cup games. Additionally, the low-scoring matches of the ongoing event lacking power-hitting — a major factor in the popularity of T20 format — have lessened the general interest of fans.

And last but not the least, the current PCB set-up is presently being run without a marketing head. Naila Bhatti, the last marketing head of the PCB, had resigned after Ehsan Mani replaced Najam Sethi as the board chairman last September.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1451449/national-t20-cup-becoming-a-liability-for-pcb

Expected much better decision making from Ehsan Mani. He has had cricketing administration experience before at the ICC so he cannot claim to be learning on the job. Does he really need this much to figure out who are the leeches in the pcb?

The PCB desperately needs fresh blood, people in their 20's, 30's and early 40's ready to bring new modern practices, innovative thinking and creativity.

If they cannot maintain a certain standard, from broadcast to player selection to tournament profitability to marketing, then they should just simply scrap the national t20 cup and replace it with an u23 PSL that can also include two foreign players in a starting 11.

1) Ditch the current cameras and start recording with an iPhone X
2) No Commentary - Hearing Pakistani Commentators try and narrate Cricket is Emphatically Cringeworthy!

1) Ditch the current cameras and start recording with an iPhone X
2) No Commentary - Hearing Pakistani Commentators try and narrate Cricket is Emphatically Cringeworthy!

I personally like Tariq Saeed and Mirza Iqbal Baig as Urdu commentators. Just have them for Urdu commentry and bring Wasim and Rameez as English commentators. In the meantime PCB should hold open auditions for English and Urdu commentators and train them for future local and international assignments.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Humble request to <a href="https://twitter.com/TheRealPCB?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@TheRealPCB</a> to open the Gates of Multan stadium free of cost for the fans of cricket. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NationalT20?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NationalT20</a></p>— Mohammad Hafeez (@MHafeez22) <a href="https://twitter.com/MHafeez22/status/1074548946750582784?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 17, 2018</a></blockquote>

Free of Cost? This is not a charity, the PCB needs gate receipts. Providing something free of cost is devaluing your own product automatically

For matches where minimal marketing results in a very low turn out, free entry will barely make any difference. But it will encourage a few more people to turn out. I don't think PCB are all too worried about gate receipts for the National T20 Cup anyway, considering how they completely neglected marketing it.

Apart from proper marketing (which I believe should improve with recent recruitments) & logistics - they are playing whole tournament in one City/venue with no stop 2 games everyday, for which it's impossible even for the best curator to maintain the quality of wickets & out field. I think, they should arrange this tournament in 2 nearby Cities or at least in Cities with multiple grounds so that games can be arranged in alternate days (in one venue).