What next for Shaheen Shah Afridi?

Shaheen needs time off. I am a big fan and firmly believe on talent and skill he is ahead of Bhumrah, Cummins, Rabada. Problem is the system that doesn't know how to manage players.
I'm not sure when Pakistani fans will snap out of their delusion. Shaheen was a good bowler before his injury, but even at his best, he was never on the same skill level as Bumrah, Cummins, Starc, or Rabada. Comparing him to them has never been justified.

Another day, another pathetic last over from shaheen... Against Kiwis in the 2rd t20 game.

He bowled good first 3 overs and then when needed the most, he ends up getting hammered

Shaheen's bowling is too predictable nowadays. He only bowls 1 length fuller one. No change.

This is annoying sometimes

Shaheen's bowling is too predictable nowadays. He only bowls 1 length fuller one. No change.

This is annoying sometimes

He's extremely stubborn and does not want to get outside his comfort zone. Many bowling coaches have worked with him but he just does his own thing now and doesn't listen to feedback, instructions

LOL... Shaheen bowling fuller in opening overs, and bowling length in last overs... CRAZYYYY

All the major teams in the world have figured him out. He’s a one trick pony with no variations and a very low bowling IQ.

Haris Rauf on pure ability is more talented than him. His confidence has just been broken by Pakistani fans and ex cricketers constant whining.

Retire from international cricket..

Move to UK...get their passport..

Apply for IPL auctions.

Maybe Lucknow Super Giants will buy him for 60 Lakhs INR. :amir2

Back to FC and needs to play a full season and not get selected until he does, playing franchises around the world is not the substitute.

He also needs to be told that he isn't the "best new ball bowler" or the "best T20 bowler", whatever he believes about himself in his head in his delusions.

He has some talent but needs to work hard at it and the job of his PCB is to provide support while he works at it
If he puts his head down and works hard, no reason he can't be decent across all formats after a full season of FC.

If he keeps playing mindless franchises around the world, the day is not far when he won't even have that!

Premium bowler needs to be send back to domestic

Should not be selected until he regains back his form

I said years ago that afridi will go down the same route as Hassan Ali.

Will peak for a couple of years, believe in his own hype and then fizzle out.

Too emotional and lacks the mentality to be a top player

He lacks intelligence maybe because of no proper education also very stubborn don't want to take any advice from anyone

He is regressing at such a rate where it feels like this is permanent.

He isn't just a one trick pony, he feels like he's uninterested in playing international cricket.

I get the vibe he wanted to captain Pakistan & until he doesn't, he won't perform.

He needs to be discarded until he earns his return.

You just can't keep on playing at this level when you are only good in your first couple of overs. He has to add variety in his bowling and needs to use his brain more rather than just going for pace all the time.

I was quite pleased to see his pace was up a couple of months ago. But there’s more to it. I just find it unbelievable that such a tall bowler extracts such little bounce from the wicket. That and his general just floaty deliveries.

He really needs to sit down and work with a proper bowling coach. Mostly to work on his mental aspect of bowling.

Although Babar has been mediocre lately but bad form of shaheen has impacted the Pakistan team more badly
Main thing these days Pakistani players are mostly villagers getting easily satisfied and not keen on learning and experimenting. They have an initial charm but once their technique is found out, they have nothing new to offer and become one trick poney. The Cricket is having a bit of IQ and charisma problem. The players of previous Pakistan generation that had long careers were brainy. Wasim, Akhtar, Waqar all were quite charismatic individuals. Now look at these dull personalities of Babar, Rizwan, Shaheen

I was quite pleased to see his pace was up a couple of months ago. But there’s more to it. I just find it unbelievable that such a tall bowler extracts such little bounce from the wicket. That and his general just floaty deliveries.

He really needs to sit down and work with a proper bowling coach. Mostly to work on his mental aspect of bowling.
He makes enough money to hire his own fitness and bowling coaches or even in short term contact someone like Ian Pont and pay to have a professional look at his issues.

Right now, he is not respecting the game and thinks that money will keep on coming, even if he is not careful his contracts will dry up!

His deterioration is alarming and least he should do is ignore Shahid Afridi and get professional help and sort this out

This is because he doesn’t have a high arm action.

Which ofc is a reflection of the state of the bowling coaches in Pakistan.

I did not particualry rate him even when he broke through and had initial success. To me he did not enough variety except for the yokers. He did not swing it much and his action is questionable.

He has been found by the analysts and don't think he has the willpower or skill to overcame that. Another Hassan Ali.

I did not particualry rate him even when he broke through and had initial success. To me he did not enough variety except for the yokers. He did not swing it much and his action is questionable.

He has been found by the analysts and don't think he has the willpower or skill to overcame that. Another Hassan Ali.
True - he always gave off that amareurish vibe to me. He got in to the international team as an amateur, and he never really mastered some of the basics of wrist position and working out different lengths and what is his actual stock delivery. For someone of his height, his stock delivery should have always been that in between short of a length delivery, not that Hollywood inswinging Yorker with the new ball.

He got away with it as his pace increased and had that extra “zip” everyone talks about. Since losing pace, he has done nothing to work on his game. He has yet to graduate from that amateurish style of bowling and amateurish mentality.

True - he always gave off that amareurish vibe to me. He got in to the international team as an amateur, and he never really mastered some of the basics of wrist position and working out different lengths and what is his actual stock delivery. For someone of his height, his stock delivery should have always been that in between short of a length delivery, not that Hollywood inswinging Yorker with the new ball.

He got away with it as his pace increased and had that extra “zip” everyone talks about. Since losing pace, he has done nothing to work on his game. He has yet to graduate from that amateurish style of bowling and amateurish mentality.

Shaheen when he first came into the team did not have an inswinger, he was bowling outswingers, across the right hander or short pitched stuff.

But since he developed the inswinger, he has become habitually addicted to it and has forgotten everything else. Now the entire world knows about his one trick which isn't working for him anymore

There must be something wrong with his bowling action, it just doesn't look like he can use his higth to get some real bounce. Man is almost 2 metres, but bowlers like Naseem Shah get's more bounce than him. Pity they didn't let Gillespie continue, otherwise he might have helped him. At the momemt he is just looking for swing bowling full without looking at how pitch reacts. Kuch tou hai jou theek nahi hai.

Shaheen should play for some 2nd grade T20 leagues for some time and should work on some business to support his family when he will not be needed by any franchise , which will be soon . His time as an international cricket has came and gone, should be dropped from all format .

His hunger to succeed have diminished since he became the damaad , peak Shaheen was 2021 where he was very awkward to face with his extra bounce I don’t know where that Shaheen went

I watched Shaheen bowl in the 4th T20 and to be perfectly honest he bowled a lot better then what his final figures suggest. He was trying very hard. I am not a bowling expert and the main issue with Shaheen might be his bowling length.

He’s lost his zip and zip has lot to do with you not focusing on your bowling fundamentals and technique like seam position , your wrist and other minor things in your bowling action zip and pace are not the same his pace might be up but zip is not there and that will come the more he bowls in a non pressure situation like county cricket or something

There must be something wrong with his bowling action, it just doesn't look like he can use his higth to get some real bounce. Man is almost 2 metres, but bowlers like Naseem Shah get's more bounce than him. Pity they didn't let Gillespie continue, otherwise he might have helped him. At the momemt he is just looking for swing bowling full without looking at how pitch reacts. Kuch tou hai jou theek nahi hai.
Definitely his feet are wide from his body and he is no idea where he is releasing the ball from, he is only aiming for the Yorker length. I can’t believe Aqib or Azhar are not working with him, being a left handed he is also too far from stumps when delivering the ball. This guy needs to stop and approach Wasim Akram for help spend couple months with him one on one and learn few things. He is all over the place, plus his pace dropped which is the big issue for him

He really is bowling too far away from the stumps. This is quite noticeable in 2020 vs today

mbagNg4.png

Like I have always said, if Mir Hamza was given the same chances as Shaheen than we have may been provided with actual dividends. Instead we are stuck with an Ali Baba Rahat Ali and his partner in crime Noseam Shah