What will happen to NS Sidhu's political career?

PakLFC

Why did Navjot Sidhu leave BJP?

I am struggling to see why Navjot Sidhu has left the BJP? Few years back he would have sacrificed his life for Modi and now he has joined the Congress? Where did it go wrong?

From what I heard, he did not want BJP to have ties with the corrupt Akali Dal. Also, it seems he wanted to be the chief minister in case BJP/Akali Dal was back to power which was not possible.

So he first floated his own party and then like a clown jumped to Congress. He did some deliberations to see if he can join Aam Admi Party too.

In all honesty, Sidhu would have been better off staying with the BJP.

I have a feeling Sidhu would come back to BJP in a year or two.

Wasn't Navjot Sidhu convicted for killing a pedestrian whilst driving? With the conviction being overturned by the Supreme Court?
I read somewhere that the conviction was overturned because 'new evidence' 'proved' that he was not the driver but was in fact a passenger in the vehicle that resulted in the pedestrian's death. Is that correct?

If so, it was fortunate that 'new evidence' came to light, evidence that 'proved' a famous cricketer like Sidhu had been wrongly convicted. Did the driver 'confess' or was there some new, independent, 'witnesses' who came forward to give testimony on Sidhu's behalf.

Just asking. ;-)

Wasn't Navjot Sidhu convicted for killing a pedestrian whilst driving? With the conviction being overturned by the Supreme Court?
I read somewhere that the conviction was overturned because 'new evidence' 'proved' that he was not the driver but was in fact a passenger in the vehicle that resulted in the pedestrian's death. Is that correct?

If so, it was fortunate that 'new evidence' came to light, evidence that 'proved' a famous cricketer like Sidhu had been wrongly convicted. Did the driver 'confess' or was there some new, independent, 'witnesses' who came forward to give testimony on Sidhu's behalf.

Just asking. ;-)

It was self driving car.

By the way, he also murdered another guy in 1991.
But eventually nothing happened though there is a witness present.

He is trying to be "vice chief minister" but I do not think that Congress would win.

His wife joined Congress first I believe. We know who wears the trousers' in that family.

It was self driving car.

By the way, he also murdered another guy in 1991.
But eventually nothing happened though there is a witness present.

He is trying to be "vice chief minister" but I do not think that Congress would win.
Self driving car? Of course!
And killed another guy?

Good job that the rich and famous in countries like India and Pakistan always manage to find independent witnesses and independent judges that results in these 'false' accusations proven as being unfounded.
Promising to get big muscular friends to make house calls in the middle of the night to the families of judges and witnesses, and/or the use of thick brown envelopes, also helps to ensure that justice prevails.

Self driving car? Of course!
And killed another guy?

Good job that the rich and famous in countries like India and Pakistan always manage to find independent witnesses and independent judges that results in these 'false' accusations proven as being unfounded.
Promising to get big muscular friends to make house calls in the middle of the night to the families of judges and witnesses, and/or the use of thick brown envelopes, also helps to ensure that justice prevails.

Having new evidence all of a sudden is not uncommon and shouldn't be seen as a sign of cooked evidence always. Being rich is not the problem as such than having a cult culture.Being a leader of massive cult following you have significant influence. Sahara honcho was a rich guy but had no cult following as such. Supreme court seems in no mood to be soft towards him.

Sidhu is not a mass leader, he won Amritsar seat twice due to his party. In Punjab, he is totally irrelevant. He anyways spends 95% of his time outside Punjab. Punjabi's do not connect with him, he was seen as RSS clown. He is an opportunist. Rural Sikhs despise him.

38% Hindus,5% Jains are big a votebank ,Sikhs are not the only votes that matter and we know that caste is still an issue in Punjab with Jatts and Dalit votebanks, Badals know the game and AAP has learnt it as well lets see what Congress does.

Captain is still the least hated CM candidate in Punjab but his party lol.

Having new evidence all of a sudden is not uncommon and shouldn't be seen as a sign of cooked evidence always. Being rich is not the problem as such than having a cult culture.Being a leader of massive cult following you have significant influence. Sahara honcho was a rich guy but had no cult following as such. Supreme court seems in no mood to be soft towards him.
But surely one would have thought that it would have been easy to deduce from very early on as to who was driving the vehicle when the pedestrian was mowed down and killed. It's a bit curious don't you think for someone to have been found guilty, someone who was rich, famous and a national cricketer and thus the authorities needed to be absolutely sure before bringing charges against him, but 'new evidence' and new 'winesses' only being found and presented to the Supreme Court after the lower court had reached a guilty verdict?

Incidentally, my understanding is that the SC stayed the verdict not overturned it, meaning that it was suspended and not overturned. ie He still has a guilty verdict on record, but the guilty verdict is currently suspended. Is that correct? Or was the guilty verdict eventually quashed and overturned?

In all honesty, Sidhu would have been better off staying with the BJP.

In all honesty, Sidhu would have been better off sticking to judging silly laughter shows, and staying away from politics altogether.

We have enough clowns in Indian politics as it is.

Sad to see terrorist war mongerers walk through elections in India, while those who talk peace lose their seats.

Sidhu has also fallen out with Amarinder Singh because the Punjab Congress didn’t offer a seat to Sidhu’s wife.

Sidhu will most likely rejoin the BJP. These politicians are masters of playing word games! He'll say "I meant I will rejoin the BJP is Congress lost". Politics is a career not a means to deliver justice as most believe. Some years back Sidhu was licking Modi's boots, time to do that again.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">"Want Sidhu out": Amarinder Singh's wishlist for Congress after Punjab win <a href="https://t.co/eatzqjCXXp">https://t.co/eatzqjCXXp</a> <a href="https://t.co/w1Jd2yQI6U">pic.twitter.com/w1Jd2yQI6U</a></p>— NDTV (@ndtv) <a href="https://twitter.com/ndtv/status/1131872077143613442?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 24, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Well the honeymoon didn’t last long.

Sidhu fell out with his party as they refused to give his wife a ticket at the general election.

And now he’s refusing to carry out his duties as a minister in the Punjab Legislative Assembly as he doesn’t like the role he’s been given. :)))

What a shameless individual.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Navjot Singh Sidhu refuses to take charge of new ministry. <a href="https://t.co/VeS2excz0u">https://t.co/VeS2excz0u</a></p>— TIMES NOW (@TimesNow) <a href="https://twitter.com/TimesNow/status/1137229516974116864?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 8, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

And then of course there is this....

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Now that Rahul Gandhi has lost Amethi to Smriti Irani, will Navjot Singh Sidhu quit politics? ask Twitterati | Click here: <a href="https://t.co/J9mhWW6pQk">https://t.co/J9mhWW6pQk</a> <a href="https://t.co/ERDaOMMjeo">pic.twitter.com/ERDaOMMjeo</a></p>— TIMES NOW (@TimesNow) <a href="https://twitter.com/TimesNow/status/1131873982821556224?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 24, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Sidhu is a lota! He is not a man of substance at all like he seems to think.

Sidhu still refusing to carry out his duties and the Congress hierarchy don’t seem to care one bit.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Navjot Singh Sidhu drawing salary, enjoying perks, despite being absent: BJP writes to Punjab governor, seeks intervention <br><br>Read: <a href="https://t.co/mCl5Z3y74p">https://t.co/mCl5Z3y74p</a></p>— Times of India (@timesofindia) <a href="https://twitter.com/timesofindia/status/1148474362389024769?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 9, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Navjot Singh Sidhu’s (<a href="https://twitter.com/sherryontopp?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@sherryontopp</a>) absence from the Ministry of Power and Renewable Energy comes at a time when electricity demand in the state has touched an all-time high.<a href="https://t.co/62D3B6UU6o">https://t.co/62D3B6UU6o</a> <a href="https://t.co/N2wtoaAkZR">pic.twitter.com/N2wtoaAkZR</a></p>— News18.com (@news18dotcom) <a href="https://twitter.com/news18dotcom/status/1149214898238320641?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 11, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

A bit off topic but Pakistan should name the road that goes to Kartarpur Sabib from the Indian border after Sidhu. That would be a good gesture and it will be honoured by Sidhu.

"Dhobi ka........"

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en-gb"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Sidhu?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Sidhu</a> Resigns As Minister From <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Punjab?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Punjab</a> Cabinet Amid Tiff With CM <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Amarinder?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Amarinder</a><a href="https://t.co/DGa6r5paFi">https://t.co/DGa6r5paFi</a></p>— ABP News (@abpnewstv) <a href="https://twitter.com/abpnewstv/status/1150302960003379202?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">14 July 2019</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en-gb"><p lang="et" dir="ltr">Ministers ridicule Navjot Singh Sidhu for ‘resignation drama’ <a href="https://t.co/J9zLlXZqA4">https://t.co/J9zLlXZqA4</a></p>— TOI Cities (@TOICitiesNews) <a href="https://twitter.com/TOICitiesNews/status/1150412944015888384?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">14 July 2019</a></blockquote>

Sad to see terrorist war mongerers walk through elections in India, while those who talk peace lose their seats.

The problem with Sidhu is that he never attends to his duties. He has been minister in absentia and legislator in absentia. When asked about his absence from the constituency by the people during any election season, his standard reply is: 'Don't worry about my past non performance, you elect me again and this time I shall start attending to your problems'.

And once the election is over, he is back to shooting for his TV programs in Mumbai.

Talking peace and talking anything is after all just that - Talk. That only goes this far.

People in Pakistan may not like PM Modi. However, even his fiercest critic admires PM Modi's work ethic. Over a period of time, even the most uneducated electorate shall identify the performer from the non performer. There has to be a reason why in several muslim dominated constituencies across India, BJP candidates won. The muslim voters from those constituencies have stated what I mentioned above. That they are finally seeing the development and progress that Modi's initiatives are bringing all around them.

There has to be a reason why the talkers of peace and secularism are biting the dust in India. People are sick and tired of the looters and non performers who talk peace and secularism at the time of elections and go back to looting once the election is over.

If people in Pakistan hate Zardari and Nawaz Sharif and their looting family members, why do Pakistanis expect 'family of looters' to be loved and elected by the Indian voters?

Poor guy was being called an ISI agent because he supported PM Imran Khan's peace initiatives.

The poor guys in Pakistan who support PM Modi's peace initiatives may also be called RAW agents in Pakistan. Just the reality of the subcontinent.

Baas kar yaar. Do you Indians think your extra clever or we are really stupid?

Peaceful Modi: A great oxymoron lol

Delhi Election 2020: Cricketer-turned-politician Navjot Singh Sidhu, who has largely stayed away from party affairs since his fallout with Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh last year, is set to return to the limelight in the Delhi Assembly elections. Sidhu, who has stayed away from the spotlight for close to a year now, has made a surprise entry in the list of star campaigners released by the Congress for the Delhi Assembly elections. Sidhu stars alongside Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra and former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh.

Sidhu’s name featured in the list of 40 star campaigners released by the Congress party. Among others on the list are all chief ministers of Congress-ruled states, including Kamal Nath, Bhupesh Baghel, Ashok Gehlot, and Punjab CM Amarinder Singh.

Sidhu had an ugly fallout with the Punjab Chief Minister last year and quit the government after his portfolio in the Cabinet was downgraded. Sidhu fell out of favour with Singh following his visit to Pakistan to attend the swearing-in ceremony of his "close friend" Imran Khan as the Prime Minister. His "hug" to Pakistan Army chief Qamar Bajwa had created a huge controversy at home and drawn immense controversy for the Congress.

Singh had then chided Sidhu for visiting Pakistan without his permission. After his fallout in July last year, Sidhu was dropped from the list of party campaigners during the Haryana Assembly elections as well and had remained missing in action since then.

The Congress list of campaigners also includes Sachin Pilot, Jyotiraditya Scindia, Randeep Surjewala as well as MP Shashi Tharoor. Film personalities-turned-politicians like Raj Babbar, Shatrughan Sinha, Khushbu and Nagma also feature on the list.

The campaigners will have to fire all cylinders and find issues that resonate with voters if they wish to make a mark in the Delhi elections. The Congress is contesting 66 of the seats in the Delhi Legislative Assembly and had failed win a single seat in the 2015 elections.

Delhi goes to polls on February 8 and counting of votes will be held on February 11.

https://in.news.yahoo.com/navjot-singh-sidhu-back-cricketer-075928486.html

Navjot Singh Sidhu in AAP? ‘He’s Welcome,’ Says Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal

New Delhi: Amid strong buzz in recent days that cricketer-turned-politician Navjot Singh Sidhu will quit the Congress and join the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Delhi Chief Minister and AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal has said that the 56-year-old disgruntled former Punjab minister is ‘welcome’ to join the party.

Speaking at a conclave organised by News18 India on Thursday, the Delhi CM, when questioned on rumours surrounding Sidhu, smiled and said, “He is welcome”. On reports that the AAP had reached out to the Amritsar East MLA via ‘interlocutor’, the Chief Minister remarked that ‘I have no idea’.

Notably, this ‘interlocutor’ is reported to be none other than poll strategist Prashant Kishor, who masterminded the AAP’s stunning win in February’s Delhi Assembly Elections.

Promising to answer questions about politics at a ‘later date’, Kejriwal told the anchor, “Now, you are asking me about politics during times of coronavirus. I can’t even elaborate’.

Sidhu, who joined the Congress in January 2017 after leaving the BJP in September 2016, had several run-ins with Punjab Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh since he was made a minister in his cabinet. He also courted several controversies for the Congress, including hugging Pakistan Army Chief Qamar Javed Bajwa at Imran Khan’s swearing-in ceremony as Pakistan Prime Minister in August 2018.

In November that year, he was seen in a photo alongside pro-Khalistani separatist Gopal Chawla during the groundbreaking ceremony of the Kartarpur Corridor, though he denied knowing who Chawla was.

He finally quit as Punjab Minister in July 2019. In October, his wife Navjot Kaur Sidhu quit the Congress after being denied ticket for Lok Sabha polls.

https://www.india.com/news/india/na...elcome-says-delhi-cm-arvind-kejriwal-4049397/

Navjot Singh Sidhu in AAP? ‘He’s Welcome,’ Says Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal

New Delhi: Amid strong buzz in recent days that cricketer-turned-politician Navjot Singh Sidhu will quit the Congress and join the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Delhi Chief Minister and AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal has said that the 56-year-old disgruntled former Punjab minister is ‘welcome’ to join the party.

Speaking at a conclave organised by News18 India on Thursday, the Delhi CM, when questioned on rumours surrounding Sidhu, smiled and said, “He is welcome”. On reports that the AAP had reached out to the Amritsar East MLA via ‘interlocutor’, the Chief Minister remarked that ‘I have no idea’.

Notably, this ‘interlocutor’ is reported to be none other than poll strategist Prashant Kishor, who masterminded the AAP’s stunning win in February’s Delhi Assembly Elections.

Promising to answer questions about politics at a ‘later date’, Kejriwal told the anchor, “Now, you are asking me about politics during times of coronavirus. I can’t even elaborate’.

Sidhu, who joined the Congress in January 2017 after leaving the BJP in September 2016, had several run-ins with Punjab Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh since he was made a minister in his cabinet. He also courted several controversies for the Congress, including hugging Pakistan Army Chief Qamar Javed Bajwa at Imran Khan’s swearing-in ceremony as Pakistan Prime Minister in August 2018.

In November that year, he was seen in a photo alongside pro-Khalistani separatist Gopal Chawla during the groundbreaking ceremony of the Kartarpur Corridor, though he denied knowing who Chawla was.

He finally quit as Punjab Minister in July 2019. In October, his wife Navjot Kaur Sidhu quit the Congress after being denied ticket for Lok Sabha polls.

https://www.india.com/news/india/na...elcome-says-delhi-cm-arvind-kejriwal-4049397/

Now a possible AAP ? So it is > BJP > Congress > Maybe AAP, wouldn't surprise me if he joined AAP. After AAP he will form his own party called *CONFUSED SIDHU BUDHU PARTY* :))

By what little I have heard of his ideology and what little I know about AAP, it's the best fit.

AAP will be a good fit, the party could do with a charismatic face in Punjab where it has some mass support (24% voteshare in 2017 assembly election, not bad for a debut) but no CM face. Sidhu is very popular in his state but not much scope for growth in a party like Congress where there is a rigid hierarchy depending on services rendered to the Nehru family. A few others ahead of him there, with Kejriwal it will be a clean slate. Hope he makes a quick decision, Punjab can do better than the SAD-BJP/Congress yo-yo game, need a good third option to raise political standards. I want to see AAP grow beyond Delhi, and maybe one day provoke a similar movement in TN.

I love this guy. Dont know why he gets so much hate.

Same, he has always come across as a sane head (minus the overzealous laughter in that comedy show). He has spoken about peace between the two countries and wishes to see better days.

Who knows him being a prominent Sikh politician might rub the Hindutva RSS and their supporters the wrong way.

Same, he has always come across as a sane head (minus the overzealous laughter in that comedy show). He has spoken about peace between the two countries and wishes to see better days.

Who knows him being a prominent Sikh politician might rub the Hindutva RSS and their supporters the wrong way.
Sanghis hate this guy to the core. You can't even imagine the kind of hate he got from them when he went to Pakistan and promoted peace between 2 countries.

AAP will be a good fit, the party could do with a charismatic face in Punjab where it has some mass support (24% voteshare in 2017 assembly election, not bad for a debut) but no CM face. Sidhu is very popular in his state but not much scope for growth in a party like Congress where there is a rigid hierarchy depending on services rendered to the Nehru family. A few others ahead of him there, with Kejriwal it will be a clean slate. Hope he makes a quick decision, Punjab can do better than the SAD-BJP/Congress yo-yo game, need a good third option to raise political standards. I want to see AAP grow beyond Delhi, and maybe one day provoke a similar movement in TN.

AAP growing beyond Delhi will be bad for democracy (not going to happen anyway). Each state should have a local party whose only agenda is development and not hindu muslim or dravidian/tamil nationalism.

Chandigarh: Congress leader Navjot Singh Sidhu on Saturday hinted at the resumption of trade relations between India and Pakistan. In a cryptic tweet, the Cricketer-turned-politician said there's a possibility of opening trade relations.

Sidhu also shared a video of his old clippings including from his Pakistan visit. "Welcome step - possibility of opening trade relations - Unlocking infinite potential - Way forward for Farmers and Profitable Business (sic)" the Congress leader tweeted.

This comes amid the indications of positive movement in ties between the two neighbouring countries.

On March 23, Prime Minister Narendra Modi had written a letter to his Pakistani counterpart Imran Khan and extended greetings to the people of that country on the occasion of Pakistan Day. India desires cordial relations with Pakistan but an atmosphere of trust, devoid of terror and hostility, is "imperative" for it, he had said in the letter.

"As a neighbouring country, India desires cordial relations with the people of Pakistan. For this, an environment of trust, devoid of terror and hostility, is imperative," the PM had added. Last month, the Indian and Pakistani armies recommitted themselves to the 2003 ceasefire on the Line of Control (LoC) in Jammu and Kashmir.

On Wednesday, India signalled that it is ready to resume trade with Pakistan, which the latter had unilaterally stopped almost two years ago.

“India desires normal relations, including on trade with all countries, including Pakistan. Pakistan unilaterally suspended bilateral trade with India in August 2019. It is for Pakistan to review its unilateral measures on trade," minister of state for commerce and industry Hardeep Singh Puri had said in the Lok Sabha.

In August 2019, Pakistan had announced the suspension of bilateral trade with India in response to the Narendra Modi government's move to end special status for Jammu and Kashmir and split it into two union territories.

https://www.timesnownews.com/india/...trade-relations-between-india-pakistan/737985

Not a showpiece used to win elections… fight against ‘system’ began in first Cabinet meeting: Navjot Singh Sidhu

In an interview to The Indian Express at his Patiala residence, the senior Congress leader, who has taken on Chief Minister Capt Amarinder on several issues, said that he was willing to become a zila parishad member in the state, let alone a Deputy CM or the PPCC president, and walk behind the Chief Minister if his (Sidhu’s) agenda for the development of Punjab was followed.

Former Congress minister Navjot Singh Sidhu has said that he is not running after any post in Congress but stressed that he was also “not a showpiece” which can be used to win elections and then “selfish vested interests” can override the interests of the state.

In an interview to The Indian Express at his Patiala residence, the senior Congress leader, who has taken on Chief Minister Capt Amarinder on several issues, said that he was willing to become a zila parishad member in the state, let alone a Deputy CM or the PPCC president, and walk behind the Chief Minister if his (Sidhu’s) agenda for the development of Punjab was followed.

“I am not a showpiece that you will take me out campaigning, win the elections and then keep me back in the almirah. So that I can see how you do mining, how you do this, how you do that. And selfish vested interests overriding the interests of the state. This is unbearable for me,” said Sidhu.

Explained |The crisis in Punjab Congress: how rebellion brewed, what’s being done
Sidhu said he started his fight against the “system” running the state from the very first Cabinet meeting. “This system is controlled, manipulated and designed by two powerful families. They are the ones who control this system. They have belittled the legislature. The legislature is always accountable to the people. The people chose ministers and MLAs, they voted for them. They did not vote for an officer. But when you make the system accountable to an officer you have belittled the legislature. Why? To control. The power of the people does not return and is restricted to a few,” he said.

Referring to the ‘system’ throughout the interview, even when he spoke about his meetings with Capt Amarinder, Sidhu said that red herrings were being floated about meetings being held in Delhi with the high command and posts being offered to him. No meeting with the party high command is scheduled in the coming days, he said.

“There have been so many offers but I have rejected all. Because does that matter? They have made it about posts saying this post will be offered, that power will be offered. Is it about posts? It is about an agenda, about a roadmap about how Punjab will be resurrected to its glory. You fulfil it, I will walk behind you. Without a post I will work for you 24×7. But if you do not fulfil this then I will do it. I will take it to the people, through the people, by the people, for the people. I will get that power from the people. I will fight. My stand is very clear. I think 200 times before I take a stand, but once I take a stand I do not flinch nor back an inch,” Sidhu said.

After scathing attack on govt, Sidhu remains mute spectator in Assembly MLA Navjot Singh Sidhu outside Vidhan Sabha in Chandigarh in March. (Express Photo by Kamleshwar Singh)
When asked if he will take this stand within Congress or out of it, Sidhu said this was not a point to be debated.

“Listen, this is not an issue. Those who know me, those who know what I stand for. Those who know my character know the truth. These little games that are played…zikr ussi ka hota hai jiski fikr hoti hai. Have I reacted? Because I know this is just a diversion. They are diverting from the real issues. The real issue is the income of the state, jobs, farmers, solutions, how to benefit people,” he said.

Navjot Sidhu said that attempts had also been made to send him out of Punjab and make him the face of Congress in Delhi, but he refused.

“When ‘system’ saw that I was not listening to them then an attempt was made to send me to Delhi as face of the party. I had left I&B ministry and Rajya Sabha (when in BJP) but I did not leave Amritsar. These people used to think of these moves from here in Punjab. I said ‘no’ and then the ‘system’ invites me for tea. ‘Come have tea, son. Take this, take that. I said, no discussion sir. No. Then ‘system’ called me for lunch. If I cannot do any welfare for the people, if I cannot change their lives then there is no post that matters. If you fulfil this agenda then I will walk behind you. You give me a zila parishad post I will accept that too,” said Sidhu.

Referring to the manner in which he joined Congress before the 2017 assembly polls, Sidhu said that Prashant Kishore had met him more than 50 times to convince him to join Congress so that the party could win the elections.

“Prashant Kishore came to me more than 50 times from November 2016 to Jan 2017. I told him I am not coming. Because of Priyanka ji and Bhai Rahul Gandhi) I sent my wife to join the party. Because my father served Congress for 40 years I did not refuse them. I was told you have to join, else the government will not get formed. We will not get more than 40 seats. I told him that I have an agenda, boss. The welfare of the people of Punjab is the only priority. Politics was not a profession for me. Mera koi dhanda nahi hai kitte vee Punjab vich (I have no business anywhere in Punjab). I was earning Rs 20-30 crores a year. I left that and came because this is the purpose of my life. The mission is not a profession. You cannot stay out of the system and try to cleanse it,” said Sidhu.

The Congress leader said that his numerous proposals to cleanse the polity of Punjab by curtailing liquor mafia, sand mafia, cable mafia and transport mafia were all negated by the ‘system’.

“So the fight started in the very first cabinet meeting. I gave them a proposal that sir, let’s have a new liquor policy. Let’s earn around Rs 20,000 crore minimum. Let’s aim big. The system said no. I said why implement the pay commission in the last six months. Implement it now. Give youngsters jobs, why eat away the treasure of Punjab and why take loans to pay loans, why selfish interests should govern. The system said no,” he said.

He said he raised the issue of higher taxes for non-air conditioned buses run by the state government and lower taxes for Volvo buses run by Badals. “Who can fathom such a thing? I said let’s give permits to youngsters. Curb this. The system said no. I gave them a vision of e-governance in my department to root out corruption. I brought an advertisement policy to earn more revenue. The system said no,” he said.

Sidhu alleged that all development works that he had brought to the city of Amritsar, from where he is an MLA and has been a three time MP, were stopped by the present state government.

“They stopped all development projects in Amritsar. Projects which I had brought from under the nose of Badals by sitting on hunger strike even though Jaitley ji advised me against doing so. Overnight Badal was compelled to sanction the projects. But all the work worth Rs 150 crores was stalled by this government so that Sidhu does not get the credit,” he said.

When asked if he had raised these issues with the three-member committee set up by Congress in New Delhi, Sidhu said he had.

“This is the only thing that I talked about in the committee. The betrayal is the only thing that I talked about. No one can question me on this because I raised this from the first cabinet meeting. I have raised it in rallies too. Navjot Singh Sidhu will not change his stance. It is a very simple thing. You fulfil this agenda, no post is required. If you do not I will take it up with you. Ultimately we are accountable to people,” he said.

On the issue of the new SIT formed by the state government to look into the incidents of desecration of Guru Granth Sahib in the state in 2015, Sidhu said this was being done now only because the “chair” was in danger.

“What was the need for SIT? You weakened the evidence. You look at the deliberate mechanism. Even Kumbhkaran got up in six months. We reduced Akalis to the lowest ever number of seats, and broke Panthic votes. Should we have acted on this issue in the first six months when we came to power or the last six months when your chair is in danger? It is not about SIT, it is about intent. Why are you protecting them? Why are you not reviewing power purchase agreements? The state will lose Rs 60,000 crores in coming years. What is the problem?” he questioned.

Sidhu said that he decided to take matters in his own hands after every proposal of his for reforms in the state was met with a resounding ‘no’.
“When the ‘system’ said no then I said alright. Now I will get you. The ‘system’ put a board outside my office, ‘Minister of Power and Renewable Energy’. I said the system, which rejected every proposal of mine for the state’s welfare and the people, I will reject that system. I said no,”Sidhu said.

When asked what his future agenda is, Sidhu said his agenda was welfare of the state.

“My agenda is only the welfare of Punjab. The resurrection of the people of Punjab. So I went back home. Introspected, meditated. People thought I was sitting at home. I was working day in, day out. And out of that manthan I got all the answers. Punjab does not need the Gujarat model, Punjab does not need the Delhi model. Punjab needs a pure Punjab model. I have that model. It is inspired by Guru Nanak’s philosophy.

“You are giving jobs to wards of MLAs…Are you honouring merit? The bane of society is that you are not honouring merit. Is your power reaching the last man in the queue, the needy who does not have an earning hand or is it reaching the first in queue, the privileged class?” he asked.

Sidhu added that his son gave up the post of Assistant Advocate General on the day it was announced. “My wife rejected the post of Chairperson of warehousing Corporation with cabinet rank. If a post was a matter of concern, then I would have taken the I&B ministry, no? I would have been a third time minister,” he said.

Responding to a question on how the system will be changed, Sidhu said the people will do it. “The people will change it. What is mafia? It is covert operations. One man with courage makes a majority. Just see how many people agree with me now. Tell us how are you going to give jobs? The question is who do the people believe in? Ask the people. Then wherever one is does not matter. What matters is what you stand for. Issues matter. The real issues are not raised. Did I join the Congress or an individual? I joined at whose behest? I am still accountable to them. Have I flinched? The whole world knows who is my boss,” said Sidhu.

https://indianexpress.com/article/india/navjot-sidhu-interview-punjab-congress-amarinder-singh-7367564/

I am struggling to see why Navjot Sidhu has left the BJP? Few years back he would have sacrificed his life for Modi and now he has joined the Congress? Where did it go wrong?

Ideology based politics is only a propaganda. People get affiliated to parties based on growth prospect.

I vividly remember the very day Sidhu joined politics, media persons asked his wife why he chose BJP. Why not Congress. His wife answered, Congress didn;t approach Sidhu, BJP did so he joined them lol :)))

Sidhu is highly ambitious and aspires to hold powerful positions sooner than later.

In Punjab, BJP was in alliance with a strong regional party Shromani Akali Dal whose family members and friends dominated Punjab cabinet much to the displeasure of Sidhu. BJP intentionally does not interfere much in Punjab because Akali Dal gets like 90% of its vote by playing the Sikh card!!

Navjot Sidhu For Punjab Congress Boss? Gandhis' Formula Sparks Debate

Sources say Congress leader Rahul Gandhi has yet to endorse the plan of giving the post of Punjab party chief to Navjot Singh Sidhu. Congress leaders, especially in Punjab, feel that placating Navjot Singh Sidhu may not be the best route.

New Delhi: Sulking Congress leader Navjot Singh Sidhu may share the job of party chief in Punjab with another leader as part of a formula to defuse intense infighting that has endangered the party's campaign for state polls next year. A rejig of Chief Minister Amarinder Singh's cabinet is also likely soon.
But sources say Rahul Gandhi has yet to endorse the plan that has his sister Priyanka Gandhi Vadra's approval.

After Rahul Gandhi's perceived snub to Navjot Sidhu on Tuesday, it was Priyanka Gandhi's intervention that enabled a meeting between the two on Wednesday.

"Navjot Sidhu's meeting with Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi is a good sign, and this will help resolve the issue. I think there could be a resolution soon," Harish Rawat, Congress in-charge of Punjab, told ANI.

While Priyanka Gandhi was projected by some Congress leaders as troubleshooter, sources say thef party is divided on the benefits of the Gandhis' role in tackling the Punjab crisis.

Congress leaders, especially in Punjab, feel that placating Navjot Sidhu may not be the best route to take. Some even say it will cost the party dearly in Punjab, which will vote for a new government next year.

Mr Sidhu, who has been pummeling Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh with accusations over the past few months, arrived in Delhi on Tuesday to meet with the Gandhis, as his team claimed.

But Rahul Gandhi denied any meeting with the cricketer-turned-politician, raising questions.

On Wednesday, Mr Sidhu tweeted a photo with Priyanka Gandhi after a meeting that reportedly lasted three hours.

Later in the evening, reports emerged that he was meeting with Rahul Gandhi as well. News agency ANI quoted sources as saying it was a 45-minute "meeting of reconciliation".

The sources also said Priyanka Gandhi "took the initiative and convinced Rahul Gandhi" to meet Mr Sidhu.

Reports said she went to Rahul Gandhi's home and met with her brother as well as mother and Congress president Sonia Gandhi. Mr Sidhu waited at her residence until she returned, said ANI.

Finally, Mr Sidhu got his meeting with the Gandhis and was seen to score over Amarinder Singh, who visited Delhi last week but left without meeting any of them.

Amarinder Singh and Mr Sidhu both had meetings with the three-member panel set up by Sonia Gandhi to consult Punjab Congress leaders and recommend a solution. "He (Sidhu) thinks he is above any of us and has direct access to the Gandhis," said one of the panel members.

The Gandhis, say sources, are seen as cosseting a leader who is rated a "non-performer" by his boss (the Chief Minister) and who has latched on to the cause of leaders upset with the Punjab government over a legal setback in a 2015 case involving the desecration of the Sikh religious text Guru Granth Sahib and police firing during protests linked to it.

Mr Sidhu, the Congress's star campaigner in the 2017 Punjab polls, became a minister in the Amarinder Singh government but quit two years later after his ministry was downgraded.

"He was given a lighter ministry because he refused to take important decisions," said sources close to the Chief Minister, denying that he was shafted.

After prolonged silence and detachment from party affairs, Mr Sidhu started targeting Amarinder Singh once again in recent months, becoming a problem the party would find hard to ignore in the run-up to the Punjab polls.

Sources say the party is divided over the role of Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi in the Punjab crisis.

Unlike Sonia Gandhi, who had experienced leaders like Ahmed Patel (who died last year) and Ambika Soni to handle the troubleshooting, the siblings don't have anyone to handle the nuts and bolts of hard negotiations, sources say.

"They should have been connecting with other people in Punjab instead of only Sidhu. He is a liability but they feel they cannot afford to have someone like him embarrassing the party relentlessly in an election year," said a party leader.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/navjot-singh-sidhu-for-punjab-congress-boss-gandhis-formula-sparks-debate-2477084

Captain clears way for Sidhu, but with caveat: will meet him only after his apology

However, the crisis in Punjab Congress is far from over as the Chief Minister refused to meet Sidhu until he publicly apologised for posting what he called “derogatory” tweets against him.

Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh reiterated Saturday that he will abide by any decision of Congress president Sonia Gandhi on the appointment of the state Congress chief thus clearing the decks for announcement of Navjot Singh Sidhu as the PPCC president.

But the crisis in Punjab Congress is far from over as the Chief Minister refused to meet Sidhu until he publicly apologised for posting what he called “derogatory” tweets against him.

The Congress high command had not been able to announce Sidhu’s appointment because of stiff opposition from the Chief Minister.

AICC general secretary in charge Harish Rawat flew to Chandigarh on a state government chopper and discussed the issue with the Chief Minister essentially to assuage him and indicate that the CM is being taken into confidence and that the appointment will be done with his approval.

But Rawat was only partially successful as he could not make the Chief Minister and Sidhu meet for the token “all-is-well” photograph.

Tipped to be appointed as PCC chief, Sidhu met former state Congress presidents including incumbent Sunil Jakhar and Partap Singh Bajwa, a Rajya Sabha MP, ostensibly to seek their guidance. He also met many MLAs and leaders.

Sources said the CM told Rawat he was not happy with the way the high command had handled the issue of appointment of the PPCC chief. He is learnt to have pointed out that premature announcements were made and stories were “leaked.” He is also learnt to have expressed his displeasure over the way the Mallikarjun Kharge panel was formed and how several leaders were encouraged to make noises undermining him.

Importantly, Rawat urged Amarinder to meet Sidhu but the Chief Minister refused saying he will meet him only after he apologised.

In a string of tweets in May, Sidhu had hit out at the CM mincing few words. On May 1, he shared a 2016 video clip in which Amarinder is heard “promising to act against the Badals” in the 2015 police firing incident at Faridkot if voted to power. Sidhu said, “Big Boast, Small Roast. Big Outcry, No Outcome.”

On May 9, Sidhu tweeted that the “consensus” among MLA was that “Badal Sarkar is ruling in lieu of Congress Govt,” and that the “Govt run not for welfare of the People, but for continuing control of Mafia Raj.” Nine days later, he tweeted: “…everyone who speaks the truth becomes your enemy. Thus, you threaten your party colleagues, exhibiting your fear & insecurity.”

Rawat tried to put up a brave face: “We both are old friends. I am fortunate that I am the general secretary in charge of such a state having Captain Sahib as the Chief Minister. We had a wonderful discussion. He had some concerns. Unke meri samajh se oonche kuch sawal the. (He had some questions which are beyond my comprehension) But one thing is clear from the statement that Captain sahib had given earlier that he will abide by the CP’s decision. He repeated that statement today also.”

Sources said Rawat apprised the Chief Minister of the party’s decision to appoint Sidhu as PCC president. The two discussed the appointment of working presidents too. These working presidents will be of the CM’s choice.

Rawat later tweeted. “I have just returned to Delhi after meeting Amarinder Singhji. I am glad that a lot of the things that are being discussed in the public domain have been proven to be baseless and Captain Sahib has reiterated his important statement… Thank you Captain for your great statement.”

Sidhu, on the other hand, spent the day in Chandigarh. He called on Jakhar in the morning. Later he visited several ministers including Balbir Sidhu, Sukhjinder Randhawa and Gurpreet Kangar and Mandi Board chairman Lal Singh. He is learnt to have told these leaders that he may or may not be named the PPCC chief but he just wanted their support.

He was accompanied by several MLAs including Darshan Brar, Amrinder Singh Raja Warring, Barindermeet Pahda, and Kulbir Zira. On Friday, he met Rajya Sabha MPs and former PPCC presidents Partap Singh Bajwa and Shamsher Singh Dullo in Delhi.

Sidhu’s team is preparing for a massive show of strength after the expected announcement about his appointment. He is likely to visit Golden Temple and Durgiana Mandir in Amritsar. Subsequently, he will take out a rally from Amritsar and pass through Hussainiwala and Khatkar Kalan, two historical places associated with martyr Bhagat Singh. He is also planning to halt at Bargari, the epicentre of sacrilege politics in Punjab and a flashpoint between him and the CM.

https://indianexpress.com/article/india/pcc-chief-appointment-capt-clears-way-for-sidhu-but-with-caveat-will-meet-him-only-after-his-apology-7409926/

Another poor decision from Gandhis. No wonder Congress under them has hit it's nadir.

CM Amarinder Singh, who had expressed his displeasure over Mr. Sidhu’s elevation, joins event and congratulates him
Navjot Singh Sidhu, the newly-appointed president of the Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee on Friday formally took charge at a ceremony, with Chief Minister Amarinder Singh, who had expressed his displeasure over Mr. Sidhu’s elevation, joining the event and congratulating him.

On July 18, Mr. Sidhu was elevated as State party chief along with four working presidents by the All India Congress Committee.

Capt. Amarinder had been maintaining that he will not meet Mr. Sidhu until the latter publicly apologies for his personal derogatory social media attacks against him. However, he met Mr. Sidhu during a ‘tea’ hosted by him ahead of the official function, where Mr. Sidhu took charge of the party affairs.

“... we will now move together in politics..We have to think and work towards welfare of Punjab... not just Punjab but the country... Punjab shares a long border with Pakistan... China, Pakistan and now Taliban in Afghanistan, they will all come and sit at Kashmir’s border, Punjab’s border...We need people together,” said Capt. Amarinder.

Addressing the gathering, Mr Sidhu said the purpose of his post was to resolve the issues of people. “The Congress is united... my aim is to work towards giving the power of people back to them. I’ll work towards the fulfilment of the party’s 18-point agenda,” he asserted.

He claimed that position for him was not an issue. “The agitating farmers sitting on the borders of Delhi, protesting qualified teachers, doctors with problems, securing justice in sacrilege cases, catching the big fish involved in drugs trade etc. are the real issues,” he said.

Ahead of the installation function, the Chief Minister had invited all Congress legislators, Members of Parliament and senior leaders at Panjab Bhawan for the tea. AICC in charge of Punjab Harish Rawat was present.

The four working presidents appointed by the party are Sangat Singh Gilzian, Sukhwinder Singh Danny, Pawan Goel and Kuljit Singh Nagra.

CM Amarinder Singh, who had expressed his displeasure over Mr. Sidhu’s elevation, joins event and congratulates him
Navjot Singh Sidhu, the newly-appointed president of the Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee on Friday formally took charge at a ceremony, with Chief Minister Amarinder Singh, who had expressed his displeasure over Mr. Sidhu’s elevation, joining the event and congratulating him.

On July 18, Mr. Sidhu was elevated as State party chief along with four working presidents by the All India Congress Committee.

Capt. Amarinder had been maintaining that he will not meet Mr. Sidhu until the latter publicly apologies for his personal derogatory social media attacks against him. However, he met Mr. Sidhu during a ‘tea’ hosted by him ahead of the official function, where Mr. Sidhu took charge of the party affairs.

“... we will now move together in politics..We have to think and work towards welfare of Punjab... not just Punjab but the country... Punjab shares a long border with Pakistan... China, Pakistan and now Taliban in Afghanistan, they will all come and sit at Kashmir’s border, Punjab’s border...We need people together,” said Capt. Amarinder.

‘Will resolve people’s issues’

Addressing the gathering, Mr Sidhu said the purpose of his post was to resolve the issues of people. “The Congress is united... my aim is to work towards giving the power of people back to them. I’ll work towards the fulfilment of the party’s 18-point agenda,” he asserted.

He claimed that position for him was not an issue. “The agitating farmers sitting on the borders of Delhi, protesting qualified teachers, doctors with problems, securing justice in sacrilege cases, catching the big fish involved in drugs trade etc. are the real issues,” he said.

Ahead of the installation function, the Chief Minister had invited all Congress legislators, Members of Parliament and senior leaders at Panjab Bhawan for the tea. AICC in charge of Punjab Harish Rawat was present.

The four working presidents appointed by the party are Sangat Singh Gilzian, Sukhwinder Singh Danny, Pawan Goel and Kuljit Singh Nagra.

New Delhi: Punjab Congress chief Navjot Singh Sidhu openly challenged Chief Minister Amarinder Singh asking whether he is going to do something about the three farm laws.

Addressing a rally in the state, Sidhu said if Captain fails to do something about the three laws then all the Congress MLAs will come forward to take a decision against the anti-farmer laws.

Congress interim president Sonia Gandhi rejected all opposition to Sidhu’s elevation and appointed him as Punjab unit President along with four Working Presidents.

Last week, the cricketer-turned-politician called Centre’s three farm laws “illegal and unconstitutional” saying they will not be implemented in the state.

Saying that the grand old party is committed to the cause of farmers, Sidhu termed the three black laws as an attack on India’s federal structure.

We will not allow these three farm laws to be implemented in Punjab, he said.

Navjot Singh Sidhu farmersNewly appointed Punjab Congress president Navjot Singh Sidhu faces protest by farmers, shown black flags
On Wednesday, Amarinder Singh “complained” to Sonia Gandhi that Sidhu’s criticism of his government is not good for its smooth functioning and gives a bad impression in the public domain.

This was the first meeting between Sonia Gandhi and the CM after Sidhu’s appointment as Punjab Congress chief.

Sources said that Sonia Gandhi took note of it and asked Punjab Congress in-charge Harish Rawat, who was also present in the meeting, to look into it.

Last month, the newly appointed Congress chief of the Punjab unit was shown black flags in Ludhiana by farmers. According to news agency ANI, the protesters wanted to question Sidhu.

“The protesters wanted to question Sidhu. The Congress leaders were on the other side and wanted to avoid clashes. No lathicharge was done,” Avtar Singh, SHO Banga was quoted as saying by ANI.

During his meeting with Congress president Sonia Gandhi, the Captain had raised his concerns regarding the recent statements made by Sidhu.

https://www.timesnownews.com/india/...-going-to-do-something-about-farm-laws/798625

‘Captain’s target is Gandhi family…': Sidhu aide on Amarinder Singh

Former IPS officer Mohammad Mustafa, principal strategic advisor to Navjot Singh Sidhu, warned that if the outgoing Punjab CM again calls Sidhu a ‘traitor,’ then 'I will open the whole book.’

A day after Captain Amarinder Singh targeted Punjab Congress chief Navjot Singh Sidhu, hours after resigning as the chief minister of the poll-bound state, the latter’s key aide, former IPS officer Mohammad Mustafa, alleged on Sunday that Singh was actually targeting the Gandhis, and not the cricketer-turned-politician.

“Navjot Singh Sidhu is not a traitor. If after now, Captain Amarinder Singh calls him a traitor, then I will open the whole book. Captain’s target is not Sidhu but the Gandhi family. I will not allow the Captain to target the Gandhi family,” Mustafa, who is Sidhu’s “principal strategic adviser,” told news agency ANI, as suspense continued over who will succeed the veteran Congressman as the chief minister of Punjab, where assembly elections are likely to take place early next year.

He added that the senior Congress leader had been “humiliating” Punjab for the last five years. “The people in the party have been tolerating him for the last four-and-a-half years. If I was the leader, then I would have removed Singh from the party in 30 days,” Mustafa said.

AAP, which won 20 seats in the 2017 state polls to emerge as the principal opposition party, has been working for months to cash in on the instability in the Congress, which has been evident since earlier this year.
Cong’s Punjab change of guard may boost AAP’s poll prospects

On Saturday, after bringing down the curtains on his chief ministership, Singh had gone after Sidhu, calling him a “total disaster.” Targeting the state Congress president for hugging Pakistan prime minister Imran Khan and the neighbouring country’s army chief, General Qamar Javed Bajwa, the former Indian Army officer also called Sidhu “incompetent,” and a “threat to national security.”

The two leaders had feuded for months, before Sidhu was ultimately made the president of the Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee (PPCC). However, their frosty ties continued even after the former Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader’s elevation in the Grand Old Party.

After submitting his resignation, a “humiliated” Singh had categorically said he will not accept Sindhu being appointed as his successor, should that happen.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/india-news/captains-real-target-is-gandhi-family-sidhu-aide-on-amarinder-singh-101632043166817.html

Never expected Sidhu to manage this. Unseating captain Amarinder Singh is no easy task

Navjot Singh Sidhu Resigns As Congress Punjab Chief, Capt Amarinder Says 'Told You So'

The announcement came days after Congress leader Charanjit Singh Channi was appointed the Chief Minister of Punjab following the ouster of Captain Amarinder Singh.

In a surprise move, Congress President Navjot Singh Sidhu resigned from the post of Punjab Congress president on Tuesday. The announcement came days after Congress leader Charanjit Singh Channi was appointed the Chief Minister of Punjab following the ouster of Captain Amarinder Singh.

Sidhu shared news of his resignation as chief of the Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee on his Twitter account.

Soon after Sidhu's announcement, former Punjab CM Captain Amarinder Singh, who has for long been engaged in a public tussle with Sidhu, tweeted "I told you so". He added that Sidhu is not "stable" unfit for the "border state" of Punjab.

The resignation comes amid buzz ahead of former Punjab CM Capt Amarinder Singh's visit to Delhi. Singh will be reaching Delhi from, Chandigarh today and is expected to meet with BJP top command including Amit Shah and JP Nadda.

Sidhu was appointed as the PPCC chief in July despite opposition by Amarinder Singh. Singh had resigned as the CM on September 18 and had later declared that he was "humiliated" and that he would not accept the former PPCC President as the party or CM face in the Assembly polls next month. He had also taken a dig at the Congress leaders Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, calling them 'inexperienced'.

Meanwhile, Sidhu's resignation does not mean he is quitting the party. In a letter to Congress president Sonia Gandhi, Sidhu said he will continue to serve the party. Sidhu had taken over as the state party chief in July this year.

"The collapse of a man's character stems from the compromise corner, I can never compromise on Punjab's future and the agenda for the welfare of Punjab," he wrote in the letter.

"Therefore, I hereby resign as the president of the Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee. Will continue to serve the Congress," he further wrote.

It is immediately not known what prompted Sidhu to leave the post of the Punjab Congress chief.

https://www.outlookindia.com/website/story/india-news-navjot-singh-sidhu-resigns-as-congress-punjab-chief-days-after-capt-amarinders-exit/396029

I had a dream..
Sidhu returning back to the BJP pavilion after getting captain Amarinder Singh run-out?
Do wishes come true lol?

New Delhi: Hours after he stepped down as Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee chief, it is learnt that Navjot Singh Sidhu's resignation has not been accepted by Congress' top brass in New Delhi. The leadership has asked state leaders to resolve the matter at their own level first, Congress sources were cited as saying by news agency ANI.

"Navjot Singh Sidhu's resignation has not been accepted, the matter will be resolved soon. There are 3-4 issues, they are being discussed in the party forum, high command will resolve them," Congress MLA Bawa Henry said. Minister Pargat Singh said that the matter pertaining to Sidhu's resignation will be resolved by 'tomorrow'.

In a surprise move, Sidhu resigned from the post of PPCC chief earlier today. "The collapse of a man's character stems from the compromise corner, I can never compromise on Punjab's future and the agenda for the welfare of Punjab. therefore, I hereby resign as the President of the Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee. Will continue to serve the Congress," Sidhu said in a resignation letter to Congress president Sonia Gandhi.

Sidhu took a stand against corruption: Congress MLA
Though the exact reason behind the former cricketer's decision was not disclosed, agency reports citing sources said that the move was over disagreements regarding certain bureaucratic appointments in the state.

The move may come as a jolt to the Congress party, as it comes months ahead of the scheduled Assembly polls in Punjab. Moreover, it comes just days after the then ongoing feud between Sidhu and ex-CM Captain Amarinder Singh seemed to have been brushed under the carpet, with the replacement of Singh by Channi.

Congress MLA Sukhpal Singh Khaira later said that Sidhu had taken a stand against corruption in Punjab and his suggestions were not paid heed to. "He could not be a speechless president. We urge him to withdraw his resignation and request the high command to redress his grievances," Khaira said.

https://www.timesnownews.com/india/...ot-accepted-by-congress-top-leadership/817826

Amid the deepening crisis in Punjab Congress, Navjot Singh Sidhu on Thursday met Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi to discuss the issue of his resignation from the post of Congress Punjab chief. The outcome of this crucial meeting indicates that Sidhu is likely to remain the President of the Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee (PPCC) till assembly elections in February 2022.

Sidhu reached Punjab Bhawan in Chandigarh at 3.30 pm from his Patiala residence to meet Channi. After the one and half hour meeting in presence of deputy chief ministers Sukhjinder Singh Randhawa, Sidhu and Channi both left the venue without any briefing to the media.

Sidhu’s meeting came a day after Channi reached out to him and offered to resolve issues through talks. The Punjab unit of the Congress is in turmoil after Amarinder Singh was removed as the chief minister and its chief Sidhu resigned from his post ahead of the Assembly elections in the state early next year.

Speaking to reporters on Wednesday, Channi had said, “I have spoken to Sidhu sahab over the telephone today. I told him that the party is supreme and that the government accepts the party’s ideology and follows that". Addressing Sidhu, the new CM said, "You come, sit and talk. If you feel there is anything wrong, you can point it out.”

When asked what Sidhu’s response was, Channi had said the leader told him that he would sit and talk, and would give him time for a meeting.

The meeting came on the day when former Punjab CM Captain Amarinder Singh told media that he did not wish to stay on in Congress, adding further to the Congress' woes in the state. The statement came a day after Singh met with Union Home Minister Amit Shah. However, Singh quashed speculations of a possible switch by stating he was not joining the Bharatiya Janata Party.

https://www.outlookindia.com/websit...-punjab-congress-chief-till-2022-polls/396290

Lol Punjab doesn’t really matter in the National election perspective but lol gets so much news for this ineffective troll of a politician.

Chandigarh: Amid questions being raised over the party high command, former Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee (PPCC) chief Navjot Singh Sidhu on Friday came out in support of the Gandhis saying that he will always stand by Rahul and Priyanka.

Talking to Twitter, Sidhu said asserted that whether he holds a post or not, he will always support the Gandhis.

"Will uphold principles of Gandhi Ji & Shastri Ji … Post or No Post will stand by [MENTION=370]Rahul[/MENTION]Gandhi
& [MENTION=544]Priya[/MENTION]nkagandhi! Let all negative forces try to defeat me, but with every ounce of positive energy will make Punjab win, Punjabiyat (Universal Brotherhood) win & every punjabi win !! (sic)," Sidhu, who is considered to be close with the Gandhis, said in a tweet.

His remarks come in the backdrop of several senior party leaders raising questions over the Congress high command amid the ongoing turmoil in Punjab as well as Chhattisgarh units of Congress.

Punjab & Chhattisgarh challenge for Congress

In Punjab, Navjot Singh Sidhu had tendered his resignation as Punjab Congress chief on September 28. He was reportedly upset over the bureaucratic setup and his commands not being followed after Cabinet expansion in the state.

Following his resignation, a minister and three Congress leaders considered close to Sidhu also stepped down from their posts.

Former Punjab CM Captain Amarinder Singh had on Thursday said that he would quit the Congress party. This came as a big blow to the Congress that was hoping to resolve the turmoil in the Congress unit of Punjab ahead of the Assembly elections early next year.

On the other hand, Chhattisgarh health minister TS Singh Deo has been demanding a change of guard in the state. After the Bhupesh Baghel-led government completed two-and-a-half years in office in June, the supporters of TS Singh Deo raised the issue of rotational chief ministership.

https://www.timesnownews.com/india/...dhis-says-will-stand-by-rahul-priyanka/819475

Trouble For Navjot Sidhu, Supreme Court To Review Road Rage Case Verdict

Navjot Sidhu has been given two weeks' time to respond to the Supreme Court notice.

New Delhi: The Supreme Court is set to review its verdict in a 32-year-old road rage case featuring Congress leader Navjot Sidhu and examine if the 58-year -old leader should face tougher charges.
The Punjab Congress chief has been given two weeks' time to respond to the Supreme Court notice.

Advocate Sidharth Luthra, appearing for the victim's family, sought punishment under graver offences.

P Chidambaram, representing Mr Sidhu, argued that the initial application from the petitioner was only about quantum of sentence and not nature of offence. Mr Sidhu's lawyer opposed the nature of offence also being questioned after so many years had passed since the incident.

The court was hearing a petition seeking a review of its May 2018 order exonerating Mr Siddhu in a 1988 road rage case in which Patiala resident Gurnam Singh had died.

The Supreme Court had on May 15, 2018, set aside the Punjab and Haryana High Court order convicting Navjot Sidhu of culpable homicide and awarding him a three-year jail term in the case, but had held him guilty of causing hurt to a senior citizen.

Though the top court had held Navjot Sidhu guilty of the offence of "voluntarily causing hurt" to a 65-year-old man, it spared him of a jail term and imposed a fine of ₹ 1,000.

Later in September 2018, the top court had agreed to examine a review petition filed by the family members of the dead man and issued notice to Mr Sidhu on it.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/tro...d-rage-case-2789058#pfrom=home-ndtv_topscroll

Chandigarh: Punjab Congress chief Navjot Singh Sidhu in his first interaction with the media after his party received a drubbing from the Aam Aadmi Party said that this is a politics of change. "I congratulate the people of Punjab for this excellent decision of ushering in a new system," he told reporters. When asked how he can say that being the Congress president, he asserted that the people have chosen change and they are never wrong. "The voice of the people is the voice of God. We should understand with humility and bow to it," he added.

Showing no signs of distress, he said the upliftment of Punjab is his mission and he never strayed from it and never will. "When a Yogi is on a crusade, they cut all ties and are free of all bounds. They don't even fear death. I am here in Punjab and will remain here. When someone has a higher objective and is in love with Punjab then he doesn't care about win or loss," he said.

"My connection with the people is not limited, it's spiritual and of the heart. My relationship with the people is not limited to poll wins and losses. I see God in the people of Punjab and my welfare in their welfare," he said.

Mr Sidhu lost the Amritsar East seat to Jeevanjyot Kaur of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) by a margin of over 6,000 votes. While he polled 32,929 votes, Ms Kaur received 39,520 votes.

Sidhu deserved this humiliation. All this drama and jumping around different parties and removing sitting Chief Minister Amarinder Singh with the help of pappu Rahul Gandhi.

Imran Khan could replace Sidhu in Kapil Sharma's comedy show, says ex-wife Reham

Imran Khan's ex-wife Reham Khan has said the former Pakistan Prime Minister could replace Navjot Singh Sidhu in Kapil Sharma's comedy show.

After calling her ex-husband delusional, Reham Khan has now said that the former Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan is talented when it comes to comedy and could replace Congress leader Navjot Singh Sidhu on the Kapil Sharma show.

She said, "He should be given a chance in Bollywood. He is talented at comedy. As Paji's (Navjot Singh Sidhu) place is vacant in the Kapil Sharma Show, he (Imran Khan) can replace him. He has a good friendship with Paji and has also started poetry."
Earlier, Reham Khan told India Today in an exclusive interview, "Imran Khan is delusional. He does not listen to advice. Had he listened to (my) advice, perhaps I'd still be married to him. Perhaps others wouldn't have left him."

She added, "You see, he's a diva. He's a celebrity who only wants to listen to flattery. He has the typical diva personality where you need to boost his ego. He needs to hear his name and the applause."

Despite the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Government’s hectic efforts to avoid voting on the no-confidence motion against Khan, the joint Opposition succeeded in its month-long efforts to oust Imran Khan from the Prime Minister’s office as 174 members of the 342-member National Assembly voted against him after a day of high drama.

Imran Khan, 69, became the first premier in the country’s history to be sent home after losing the trust of the House.

In the past, Sidhu also came under attack from several quarters after the BJP shared a video in which he apparently addressed Imran Khan as his 'big brother'.

BJP's Amit Malviya had shared the video to attack Sidhu. He tweeted, "Rahul Gandhi's favourite Navjot Singh Sidhu calls Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan his "bada bhai". Last time he had hugged Gen Bajwa, Pakistan Army's Chief, heaped praises. Is it any surprise that the Gandhi siblings chose a Pakistan loving Sidhu over veteran Amarinder Singh?" Malviya tweeted."
https://www.indiatoday.in/world/story/imran-khan-former-wife-reham-khan-replace-navjot-sidhu-kapil-sharma-comedy-show-1937231-2022-04-14

Imran Khan could replace Sidhu in Kapil Sharma's comedy show, says ex-wife Reham

Imran Khan's ex-wife Reham Khan has said the former Pakistan Prime Minister could replace Navjot Singh Sidhu in Kapil Sharma's comedy show.

After calling her ex-husband delusional, Reham Khan has now said that the former Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan is talented when it comes to comedy and could replace Congress leader Navjot Singh Sidhu on the Kapil Sharma show.

She said, "He should be given a chance in Bollywood. He is talented at comedy. As Paji's (Navjot Singh Sidhu) place is vacant in the Kapil Sharma Show, he (Imran Khan) can replace him. He has a good friendship with Paji and has also started poetry."
Earlier, Reham Khan told India Today in an exclusive interview, "Imran Khan is delusional. He does not listen to advice. Had he listened to (my) advice, perhaps I'd still be married to him. Perhaps others wouldn't have left him."

She added, "You see, he's a diva. He's a celebrity who only wants to listen to flattery. He has the typical diva personality where you need to boost his ego. He needs to hear his name and the applause."

Despite the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Government’s hectic efforts to avoid voting on the no-confidence motion against Khan, the joint Opposition succeeded in its month-long efforts to oust Imran Khan from the Prime Minister’s office as 174 members of the 342-member National Assembly voted against him after a day of high drama.

Imran Khan, 69, became the first premier in the country’s history to be sent home after losing the trust of the House.

In the past, Sidhu also came under attack from several quarters after the BJP shared a video in which he apparently addressed Imran Khan as his 'big brother'.

BJP's Amit Malviya had shared the video to attack Sidhu. He tweeted, "Rahul Gandhi's favourite Navjot Singh Sidhu calls Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan his "bada bhai". Last time he had hugged Gen Bajwa, Pakistan Army's Chief, heaped praises. Is it any surprise that the Gandhi siblings chose a Pakistan loving Sidhu over veteran Amarinder Singh?" Malviya tweeted."
https://www.indiatoday.in/world/story/imran-khan-former-wife-reham-khan-replace-navjot-sidhu-kapil-sharma-comedy-show-1937231-2022-04-14

The way Reham uses IKs name, you would think he took her virginity. This women needs to find a living and stop looking so pathetic.