Where are the Pakistani fast bowlers that can clock 150+ consistently and also swing the ball?

shaz619

Test Star
Don't think Pakistan have had many since Shoaib Akhtar who was one of a kind. Are there any potential prospects on the domestic scene ?

And what can be done to find and develop bowlers in the same vein as Waqar Younis, Wasim Akram and Shoaib Akhtar ?

A country with a rich history when it comes to fast bowling seems to have deprived resources when it comes to bowlers who are not only skillful but very very quick.

Now this thread isn't a knock on the likes of Amir, Hassan Ali, Junaid Khan or Ruman Raees and they are all very good bowlers but where are those trademark Pakistani fast bowlers who can run in, move the ball both ways and knock your head off with their searing pace?

In recent times the spin resources have been excellent though and there are so many talented guys coming through; Raza Hassan's ban has also expired and he's doing quiet well in the FC tournament.

[MENTION=141557]Chief Destroyer[/MENTION] [MENTION=53290]Markhor[/MENTION] [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] [MENTION=129948]Bilal7[/MENTION] [MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION]

Ever since we dropped one of those type of bowlers, no has crossed 240 against our ODI attack :wahab

These days if you clock 140 consistently you're considered 'express' :yk :ishant [MENTION=47617]Red Devil[/MENTION]

There are a ton of 140+ upcoming bowlers but I haven't seen anyone with 150+ potential that's already polished. Haris Rauf has the fast twitch for it but needs a lot of technical work. There's no guarantee that will happen because we don't have the coaches.

:akhtar

There's a reason there were so few and far in between and also turned out to be legends mostly. Express pacers are a rare breed.

Stop falling for Haris Rauf or that other ambidextrous fraud. I worked at The Nation for the last 5 months as the deputy to the Sports editor and chief who also happened to be the president of sports journalism in Pakistan. And I was shocked to find out things I had never even heard of before, being in close interaction with multiple cricketer and these media heads, I've learned that these Lahore Qalandar talent hunt fast bowlers given so much hype are only to give Geo ratings and to make LQ mainstream.

[MENTION=141557]Chief Destroyer[/MENTION] [MENTION=53290]Markhor[/MENTION] [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] [MENTION=129948]Bilal7[/MENTION] [MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION]

Unless domestic wicket changes, this pace will go down to 120s.

With every criticism intact, one great thing of PAK domestic wickets in olden days were that those were nightmares for conventional fast bowlers, every bowler to be honest. Some of the highest FC scores (Individual, team) were scored in PAK domestics. Now, that had at least one positive - you have to be really, really fast in air to beat the batsman, have to reverse it, have to have a silent surprise bouncer, have to have cutters with old ball and must have to have horse like stamina, so that you can still race after 80 overs ..... otherwise the day'll end like 18-2-90-1. Even for spinners, you have to have some unique variations - Flipper, Googly, Doosra, Tishra, Choutha ..... on top of your flight, drift & loop.

Now, it's all about bowling 125km length-line or dart at 90km against half hack, half batsman .......

Stop falling for Haris Rauf or that other ambidextrous fraud. I worked at The Nation for the last 5 months as the deputy to the Sports editor and chief who also happened to be the president of sports journalism in Pakistan. And I was shocked to find out things I had never even heard of before, being in close interaction with multiple cricketer and these media heads, I've learned that these Lahore Qalandar talent hunt fast bowlers given so much hype are only to give Geo ratings and to make LQ mainstream.

I've watched them all play. Yasir never played in the tournament.

I'd much rather have a 140-145 Hasan Ali than a 150+ phasst Wahab Riaz. Thank you very much.

What does that have to do with anything? Okay, hype up an average trundler only to see the reality eventually. Go ahead.
Harris Rauf played during the tournament and bowled fairly fast, so your essentially saying our eyes are lying to us?

Yes. Your eyes are lying to you because you don't have a speed gun in your eyes, especially considering the quality of broadcasting. Another thing; many Anwar Ali's, Bilawal Bhatti's and Aamer Yamin's have looked "fairly fast" on TV's only to turn out as trundlers.

So your eyes have speedometers in them?
Of course your eyes aren't able to tell you the exact speed of a bowler, but thankfully they can differentiate between a trundled and someone bowling with decent pace.

Yes. Your eyes are lying to you because you don't have a speed gun in your eyes, especially considering the quality of broadcasting. Another thing; many Anwar Ali's, Bilawal Bhatti's and Aamer Yamin's have looked "fairly fast" on TV's only to turn out as trundlers.
He bowled faster than Irshad who has been measured at the NCA and clocked 142 or 144 km/h (don't exactly remember).

I'm not saying you're able to pin point the pace at which a bowler is bowling at solely with your eyes, but anyone that's watched cricket for a while can roughly work out the speed bracket in which a bowler is bowling in.

What about the speed gun he was clocked with during the trials, or does that not count?

This question can be asked of all nations actually.

It seems these days someone quick comes along and before you know it he's injured and then comes back bowling around 140kph - for example Chameera the Sri Lankan pace bowler.

The workloads and the amount of cricket played today does not allow for 150 km/hr pace bowlers. Only countries like Australia and South Africa have applied sports nutrition, management properly to still be coming up with 150 km/hr plus bowlers. Pakistan is now paying the price for not catching up with the modern world.

We dont need them. Express pace is overrated, our pacers are doing quite well

As if in the past there were bowlers bowling 150 kph and swinging the ball throughout their careers. Even Akhtar was not consistently in that range except for a couple of years at his peak . Especially not in test cricket. Even Starc doesn't bowl as quick as he used to two seasons ago. He was legit . express but now those 150+ deliveries are rarer than ever.

No one bowls 150+ consistently. The human body is not built for it. Shaz is referring to bowlers who can turn it up for spells of 150+ like Akhtar, Waqar, Zahid, Sami and at times Wasim used to.

Haris, Zahid Jnr, Zahid j Jnr (Zahid senior copy) & Afridi (milne) all 4 have potential to be 150+ provided they are trained, coached & developed probably.

Haris & Zahid jnr can touch 155 in future provided they stay fit.

No issues with our pace battery. Soon Wahab, Irfan, Bhatti & Anwar will be history.

He bowled faster than Irshad who has been measured at the NCA and clocked 142 or 144 km/h (don't exactly remember).

I'm not saying you're able to pin point the pace at which a bowler is bowling at solely with your eyes, but anyone that's watched cricket for a while can roughly work out the speed bracket in which a bowler is bowling in.

What about the speed gun he was clocked with during the trials, or does that not count?

To be fair, these same speed guns said Yasir Jan was bowling at "140kph."

Haris, Zahid Jnr, Zahid j Jnr (Zahid senior copy) & Afridi (milne) all 4 have potential to be 150+ provided they are trained, coached & developed probably.

Haris & Zahid jnr can touch 155 in future provided they stay fit.

No issues with our pace battery. Soon Wahab, Irfan, Bhatti & Anwar will be history.

If you are talking about Bilal Shah Afridi he bowled terribly in the tournament. It's a shame as this could have been his big break.

Zahid has also put on weight, unfortunately.

To be honest the whole world is lacking players that can bowl 150, let alone swing the ball. Starc is one, pat cummins and lockie ferguson can but dont swing the ball much, adam milne is also decent but all these bowlers ive named are injury prone

Amir can touch 150 kph if he really tries. Riaz can do so too but he cannot swing it. Other than these two, Irfan could do it a few years ago but now he's out of the picture. InshAllah, we'll find the next Waqar/Akhtar soon. Hopefully with less injuries and attitude problems.

No one bowls 150+ consistently. The human body is not built for it. Shaz is referring to bowlers who can turn it up for spells of 150+ like Akhtar, Waqar, Zahid, Sami and at times Wasim used to.

I think Lee was the closest to doing that over a career. Consistently high speeds for most of his career.

I think the last genuine express bowler that Pakistan produced was Mohammad Sami. Wahab doesn't even make it in to the top 5 for Pakistan.

These days if you clock 140 consistently you're considered 'express' :yk :ishant [MENTION=47617]Red Devil[/MENTION]

Lol yeah and it's not just Pakistan but there's a real lack of genuine fast bowlers all around the world. Kind of baffling because fitness standards have generally gone up and most players these days are better athletes than the players of the past.

Don't think Pakistan have had many since Shoaib Akhtar who was one of a kind. Are there any potential prospects on the domestic scene ?

And what can be done to find and develop bowlers in the same vein as Waqar Younis, Wasim Akram and Shoaib Akhtar ?

A country with a rich history when it comes to fast bowling seems to have deprived resources when it comes to bowlers who are not only skillful but very very quick.

Now this thread isn't a knock on the likes of Amir, Hassan Ali, Junaid Khan or Ruman Raees and they are all very good bowlers but where are those trademark Pakistani fast bowlers who can run in, move the ball both ways and knock your head off with their searing pace?

In recent times the spin resources have been excellent though and there are so many talented guys coming through; Raza Hassan's ban has also expired and he's doing quiet well in the FC tournament.

What about skills of Akhtar? Forget speed, how many Pakistani bowlers can match skills either? Problem is that there aren't many skilled bowlers. If you have a bunch of 10 skilled pacer, 1-2 will be fast. If you get 2-3 skilled bowlers then it's unlikely that you will get fast ones.

Lol yeah and it's not just Pakistan but there's a real lack of genuine fast bowlers all around the world. Kind of baffling because fitness standards have generally gone up and most players these days are better athletes than the players of the past.

Express pace bowler were not common earlier either. Akhtar and Lee were freaks. Apart from that pacers are faster nowadays in most countries.

Aus used to have Gillespie, McGrath, Bichel, Kasprowchiz, Bracken and now they have Starc, Cummins, Hazlewood who on average are quicker than those bowlers. Gillespie was fast.

SA still have fast bowlers or similar speeds like they had 20 years back.

SL pacers are faster now.

Bangladesh has now started producing taller and faster pacers.

Same goes for Indian bowlers.

England are more or less same, they had trundlers earlier too.

WI are erractic, quality is down, but speed is similar for them.

NZ has Adam Milne and other fast bowlers. Earlier they had Bond for less than 20 tests, apart from that they were full of 80 mph trundlers most of the time.

Only country which is not producing fast bowlers anymore is Pakistan.

Yesterday say few clips lf lahore bowler ghulam mudasir.... seriously high pace swing bowling... tow crushing yorker to khurram manzoor... just youtube ghulam mudassir and watch by yourself...

Express pace bowler were not common earlier either. Akhtar and Lee were freaks. Apart from that pacers are faster nowadays in most countries.

Aus used to have Gillespie, McGrath, Bichel, Kasprowchiz, Bracken and now they have Starc, Cummins, Hazlewood who on average are quicker than those bowlers. Gillespie was fast.

SA still have fast bowlers or similar speeds like they had 20 years back.

SL pacers are faster now.

Bangladesh has now started producing taller and faster pacers.

Same goes for Indian bowlers.

England are more or less same, they had trundlers earlier too.

WI are erractic, quality is down, but speed is similar for them.

NZ has Adam Milne and other fast bowlers. Earlier they had Bond for less than 20 tests, apart from that they were full of 80 mph trundlers most of the time.

Only country which is not producing fast bowlers anymore is Pakistan.
The fastest bowler from the subcontinent is Wahab Riaz, who is co-incidentally from a country which apparently 'is not producing fast bowlers anymore'. Its another story he is rubbish. Hasan and Amir are fast as any run of the mill 'fast' bowler nowadays bar Starc, Milne and Gabriel.

Wahab started playing in 2008.

Hasan is as fast as any fast medium pacer cricket has been producing every year. Amir is bowling in 130s most of the time with few spell in 140.

Speeds of some of the bowlers in their previous matches

Amir: Avg speeds: 83.2, 81.8 83 Fastest: 88.7, 88.5, 87 (UAE)
Wahab: Avg speeds: 84, 82.3 Fastest: 90.1, 87.3
Hasan Ali: Avg: 83.1, 82.4 Fastest: 87.2, 86.6

Nuwan Pradeep: Avg: 82.3, 82.4 Fastest: 87.6, 86.9

Morkel - Avg: 86.5, 87.3, Fastest: 90, 90.9
Rabada - Avg: 85.6, 85.1, 84, 84.4, Fastest: 88.8, 90.2, 87.9, 89.3

Gabriel - Avg: 87.1, 86 Fastest: 92.2, 90.2
Roach - Avg: 84, 84.3, Fastest: 88.5, 85.4

Stokes - Avg: 83.5, Fastest: 88.1
Broad - Avg 82.4 Fastest: 86.9

Starc - Avg: 89.2, 90.2, Fastest: 92.5, 95.4
Cummins - Avg: 85.6, 87.2 Fastest: 90.4, 91.4

Ishant - Avg: 85.6, 86.5, Fastest: 91.4, 89.8
Shami - Avg: 86.9, 87.1, Fastest: 91.3, 90.4
Yadav - Avg: 85.1, 84.6, Fastest: 89.8, 88.8

They don't exist anymore. Even Australia is finding it difficult to get a fast man to consistently clock 150+.

I think a big issue is how flat pitches have become across countries and formats, which discourages true pace because they cant get anything out of the pitch. What works very well and the way was paved by the likes of Bracken is to cut the ball, slow it down, ball slower bouncers etc. So fast bowling has changed and until pitches get better, we wont see express pace bowlers ever again.

Source? Some of the average speeds are questionable.

As suspected, Starc is the only true express pacer playing right now and has maintained very high average pace for over 2 years even in test matches. Very impressive.

Test match pace has been similar for very long time. Only Akhtar and Lee have managed to sustain such pace consistently in tests.

No one has bowled 100 mph in test matches yet.

Apart from those two, some have bowled express in a series or two or probably in a spell max. Like Johnson was very fast once. But that's it.

With amount of cricket they play these days with all the leagues etc you dont really can handle this kind of pace and play for very long.

Test match pace has been similar for very long time. Only Akhtar and Lee have managed to sustain such pace consistently in tests.

No one has bowled 100 mph in test matches yet.

Apart from those two, some have bowled express in a series or two or probably in a spell max. Like Johnson was very fast once. But that's it.

I agree with you but a lot of people are convinced that bowlers from the past maintained similar average pace despite the fact that there were no speed guns then.

I think Shaheen Afridi.

I think he was referring to Bilal Shah Afridi as he said the action is similar to Milne.

But yes, Shaheen Shah looks a promising prospect whose pace should increase as he gets older and his body develops.

no country will be producing 150k bowlers, thrs too much cricket these days - it will just injure them like starc.

a good bowler who hits 138-145k- action,line of length is good enough.

considering the wickets around the world are becoming more batting friendly with smaller boundaries - whats the point bowling at 150k

Too much 20/20 nonsense means highly unlikely to find many express bowlers.

It would have to be a freak bowler rather than someone striving to bowl that extra fast.

Are there any express pace options for Pakistan?

We are currently seeing around the cricket world. That express pace bowlers are making the difference for their respective teams, be it in test or limited overs. For example, Cummins and Starc vs England, Ngidi vs India, Boult and Ferguson vs Pakistan. Pakistan is a team that direly needs an express pace bowler in my opinion. So suggest some options for Pakistan, I will name a few prospective options:

Bilawal Bhatti- the guy can effortlessly bowl 140kph plus, however I know he needs to work on accuracy.
Mohammad Talha- was bowling quick and well vs India a few years back.
Zia ul Haq- looked to be bowling quick and aggressively in PSL 1. Not sure how fast he is though.

There are express pacers what Pakistan needs is a replacement of Amir who can swing and seam both ways and use the new bowl well. Some of the options are

Mohammed Irfan
Shaheen Afridi
Mir Hamza
Usman Shinwari

Quiet upsetting to be honest and the same can be said with regards to the WI's

Haris Rauf doesn't clock over 140. I can guarantee that.

Lol, who are you?

What does that have to do with anything? Okay, hype up an average trundler only to see the reality eventually. Go ahead.

I didn't hype him. Only highlighted his pace potential. Apart from that, we don't know much about him as a bowler.

2018-10-06 (2).jpg

The obssession with pace continues..... I'd much rather have a 130kph trundler who can bowl Asif like, rather than 145+ pacer who can bowl like Sami.

At the end of the day the scoresheet only says how many wickets you picked up and not what pace you bowled at.

And from your pic above seems like Rauf sahab is going at in excess of 10 rpo.... but pace is pace yaar :ma

Haris nailed his yorkers today and hit 148 kph. Take a bow!

The obssession with pace continues..... I'd much rather have a 130kph trundler who can bowl Asif like, rather than 145+ pacer who can bowl like Sami.

At the end of the day the scoresheet only says how many wickets you picked up and not what pace you bowled at.

And from your pic above seems like Rauf sahab is going at in excess of 10 rpo.... but pace is pace yaar :ma

Bowled mid 140 yorkers (upto 148) in the death overs today and only gave away 20 odd runs.

In Shaheen Shah Afridi and Harris Rauf Pakistan has two exciting pace prospects to work with who could become world class and renowned bowlers.

Not to forget Amir isn’t our if picture yet and there is Junaid Khan as well.

150plus kph and swing the ball?

There are none but that goes for the rest of the world too.