Which bats are better? Asian or English?

momin97

AOA,

Lately i was thinking about bats, then realising a thought about:

What is the diference between pakistani top of the range bat e.g TRD MB LE and top of the liine line UK or Indian bat e.g GM and Bas

Walakiumasalam,

Good thread I would say!

I don't there there is a final and precise answer to your question. Answer of this question will differ from person to person.

I take on this is that English bats edges out the Asian bats. Don't take me wrong, I'm not saying that Asian bats are crap but what I'm saying the following areas are where Asian brands should work on and become well established and well known.

The handles on Asian bats compare to English are not great. I'm not too sure what it is but I believe Asian handles are tad cheaper.

Finishing of some Asian brands is not very good again this is some not all.

Many people complain that Asian bats are not pressed well at the toe, hence, we see a lot of toe breakage in Asian bats. I believe Asian toes are softly pressed whereas English toes are a bit harder pressed, hence, they don't crack or split quickly compare to Asian bats.

In my opinion if Asian brands work upon these three points then I don't see why they are behind and why there bats aren't good, in fact, they would be as good as English if not then better.

Many people could disagree with me but this is what I think, if anything else comes to my mind will add it later.

i always love Gray nicollss will post my two beasts soon

This is my personal opinion:-

I and my Dad (More So Than Me) have been through many many bats over the years. Both our personal opinions are that Asian bats are much more value for money as you can get them much more cheaper and still have thesame quality of wood if not better.

If i were you i wouldnt get into the BS of the various grading systems when you look at an Asian bat, as often the lower grade bats are as good as the top grade bats.

Its also my opinon that Asian bats require a lot less knocking in than English Bats, and me and my dad arent very patient and end up selling bats off very quickly.

However, English bats are very very good as well they just cost you around £150+ more.

Just to add English sticker are miles better than Asian stickers.

Both the Bats i have got are Asian but i have got Gray Nicolls stickers for both.

Lol, he only has one CA Plus 5000 which is like that rest are pretty standard.

Still have to go round his house though to pick it up and knock up with it.

Btw my AS One is meant to be a grade 2 maybe 3 bat but as soon as i saw it and picked it up i wanted it.

It has 9 straight gains, its weight is about 2.9lbs but it feels lighter than that. And it was only £70 !! MashAllah an absolute bargain imo.

I just put some Gray Nicolls stickers on it today, now it looks even better.

I use to do this aswell to my bats, I restickered 3 Ca plus 5k bats. CA PLUS 5K are very good bats . I had three of them and the quality was very consistent and I had one special one with 16 ruler straight grains that was one hell of a bat.

I and my Dad (More So Than Me) have been through many many bats over the years. Both our personal opinions are that Asian bats are much more value for money as you can get them much more cheaper and still have thesame quality of wood if not better.

If i were you i wouldnt get into the BS of the various grading systems when you look at an Asian bat, as often the lower grade bats are as good as the top grade bats.

Its also my opinon that Asian bats require a lot less knocking in than English Bats, and me and my dad arent very patient and end up selling bats off very quickly.

However, English bats are very very good as well they just cost you around £150+ more.

I agree with you 100%. I've also been thru many many bats over the years and I've used all type of bats and I think the same as you "Asian bats are much more value for money as you can get them much more cheaper and still have the same quality of wood if not better".

I agree with you abt the grading. I think the best performing bats are usually grade 2/3. I am saying frm experience, I've had stunning looking bats with ruler straight grains but my best bat has been MB Prince grade 2 bats wich only has 7 wonky grains but it was class.

I am same with knocking in bats if the bat takes 2 long to knock in or takes time open up etc I just sell it on.

I agree with you 100%. I've also been thru many many bats over the years and I've used all type of bats and I think the same as you "Asian bats are much more value for money as you can get them much more cheaper and still have the same quality of wood if not better".

I agree with you abt the grading. I think the best performing bats are usually grade 2/3. I am saying frm experience, I've had stunning looking bats with ruler straight grains but my best bat has been MB Prince grade 2 bats wich only has 7 wonky grains but it was class.

I am same with knocking in bats if the bat takes 2 long to knock in or takes time open up etc I just sell it on.

Great Minds Think a Like, lol.

Yeah my dad had an MB Sarfi a couple of years back which had 7 grains but boy did it ping until it got knicked.

Yes, you're right.

Asian bats are a lot cheaper compare to English but then I guess the difference could be because of higher labour cost in England, better handles, better finishing etc.

Quality of the wood is more or less the same.

I had a AS V3 with a newbery handle. It was very very good almost as good as my SAF I would say.
However it had two problems firstly it was very soft so it did not last long perhaps something to do with the pressing quality.
Second it had a poor handle. A significant improvement was achieved by changing the handle. This is why I tend to avoid pakistani bats unless you get a bargain as I feel you do not get the most out of the bat due to the pressing and handle quality

I had a AS V3 with a newbery handle. It was very very good almost as good as my SAF I would say.
However it had two problems firstly it was very soft so it did not last long perhaps something to do with the pressing quality.
Second it had a poor handle. A significant improvement was achieved by changing the handle. This is why I tend to avoid pakistani bats unless you get a bargain as I feel you do not get the most out of the bat due to the pressing and handle quality

I agree with you! Handle issue is a big one, my Bubber Sher is relevantly new and it will need a new handle.

Bhai, it had been a while since I saw you, hope everything is well!

Do you mind posting pictures of your bats? Would appreciate it!

SAF sounds great :D

Alhumdallah brother all is well.
Brother I bought two Ihsan Inferno 750 bats direct from the factory in Sialkot. First turned out to be a plank, second one was excellent.
They were beautifully made, huge profile for weight but the handles were poor. Considering the price of the top range of bats in Pakistan the price difference between a UK made bat and Pakistani bat is not much if any. I think it would be better to buy from the UK.
However next time I go Pakistan inshallah Im taking a couple of handles from the UK because Pakistani bats have a huge profile relative to weight something that I have rarely seen in UK made bats

Glad you're doing well :)

To be honest, I'm really not able to differentiate the difference between a good and poor handle but yes I do agree they are weak as I experienced it with my Bubber Sher.

I know where you're coming from but as you said big bat for its weight is not easily accessible in UK and if you do get one then the seller will ask big sum for it. So I believe this option is only available in Pakistani bats, plus some Pakistani bats profile are really good I would say!

However, what I believe is that use Pakistani bats as much you can and if they break after using I would say it has been worth it! I mean if you play 10 long innings and the bat snaps after that then I believe it is worth

Also I don't see Asian bat lasting more than a season if you use it in all games, nets, etc because of soft pressing as it will be be finished very soon.

Profiles are excellent. The AS only lasted half a season broke from the toe. It was very soft even after a considerable amount of knocking in.
However it was a night and day difference once the handle was changed. I think the difference is the quality and thickness of the rubber used. The handles are much thicker too so the cane in the handle must be better quality and this is where alot of the performance difference comes from.
If pakistani bats had quality handles like newbery, with their generous profiles I would buy Pakistani every time.

Profiles are excellent. The AS only lasted half a season broke from the toe. It was very soft even after a considerable amount of knocking in.
However it was a night and day difference once the handle was changed. I think the difference is the quality and thickness of the rubber used. The handles are much thicker too so the cane in the handle must be better quality and this is where alot of the performance difference comes from.
If pakistani bats had quality handles like newbery, with their generous profiles I would buy Pakistani every time.

Pakistani bats are very soft pressed hence they don't last longer, thats what I have learned from them.

Pakistani toes are really plank! I have seen and felt the difference, when I play on front foot and get toe sometimes then the sound on Pakistani bat is poor whereas on a new English bat is good. I think they should press the toe a bit harder perhaps we should suggest our countrymen's ?

I'm not very knowledgable when it comes to handles but I just compared Salix and Newbery handles with MB and CA and here is what I observed;

English handles seem to have rubber where Pakistanis handles seem to have cork.

Thickness varies.

Also has you said thickness of rubber actually Newbery's rubber strip look a bit thinner compare to Salix's.

Im not sure how bats are pressed in pakistan. Im under the impression that the cleft is pressed uniformly including the toe.
I have made two observations firstly there is not much willow behind the toe relative to the middle causing it to break. The middle is unlikely to break even if softly pressed.
The second point is that the cleft is over dried in Pakistan possibly explaining the huge profiles and reducing the strength of the blade.
Please correct me if Im wrong this is only an educated guess!

one reason to consider pak bats is that its much easier for most of us to verify that they are REAL (via contacts, friends, pakpassion forums etc). at least in north america, it is very hard to verify the authencity of a non-pak bat. so if i'm going to be spending money to buy a top grade bat, i'd rather buy a pakistani bat, as i personally would be more confident about it being a genuinely top quality bat.. just my own preferences.

Actuallly pressing on Pakistani bats is different compare to Asian because Pakistani bats are soft pressed and MB Malik owner told that to me.

Yaar my Salix hardly has any meat on toe but it still flies also few batmakers in UK have said there bats are a bit hard pressed.

So I take that.

To be honest, I find them a bit biased, why? Because when they see a big Pakistani bat then it is over dried and if they see a big Brit bat then it is low density cleft and all that!

Hence, I find them a bit biased.

Why can't Pakistani bats be made out of low density clefts ?

one reason to consider pak bats is that its much easier for most of us to verify that they are REAL (via contacts, friends, pakpassion forums etc). at least in north america, it is very hard to verify the authencity of a non-pak bat. so if i'm going to be spending money to buy a top grade bat, i'd rather buy a pakistani bat, as i personally would be more confident about it being a genuinely top quality bat.. just my own preferences.
and just to clarify, i am not saying there are more fake western bats than pakistani bats. i'm just saying that for most of us (or at least for me), we know where to buy genuine pakistani bats from, whereas even "official" dealers of many brands such as GN, GM sell fake versions, and i would never be sure if my money is being put to good use!

Actually it is a good point I would say.

One of the main thing in figuring out bats authenticity is the stickers as it is very hard to get original stickers plus the company doesn't give it easily either.

Erm, what?