Will Pakistan batters withstand the Bangladesh pace onslaught in Dhaka?

Ball Blazer

Administrator
Bangladesh vs Pakistan rivalry returns to Dhaka, and once again the spotlight is firmly on Pakistan’s batting unit under pressure in unfamiliar conditions.

The series begins at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, a venue widely known for its slow, low and spin-friendly pitches, where timing the ball is often more important than power-hitting. Early reports from recent matches suggest that while the surface can offer some initial movement for pacers, it quickly slows down and brings spinners into play as the game progresses .

However, Bangladesh’s pace attack has added a new dimension. In recent encounters, their fast bowlers—led by emerging threats like Nahid Rana and supported by experienced names such as Taskin Ahmed—have shown the ability to extract bounce and generate serious pace even on home surfaces. Pakistan’s top order has already struggled in this matchup, including a collapse to low totals in earlier fixtures where they were bundled out cheaply under pressure .

For Pakistan, the concern is familiar: inconsistency at the top. While they have experienced names in Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, and Fakhar Zaman, recent performances show vulnerability when facing high pace combined with disciplined lines early in the innings. Once early wickets fall in Dhaka, Pakistan’s middle order often finds itself exposed on difficult surfaces.

Bangladesh, on the other hand, will rely heavily on home advantage and tactical discipline. Their bowlers are comfortable operating in these conditions, where slower balls, cutters, and tight lengths become extremely effective as the ball grips the surface.

This makes the opening powerplay crucial. If Pakistan survives the first 8–10 overs without major damage, they remain competitive. But early breakthroughs could again expose their long-standing batting fragility in subcontinent away conditions.

All eyes will be on whether Pakistan’s batters can finally adapt—or whether Bangladesh’s pace-spin blend dictates the series once again

They got whitewashed in Pakistan, so nobody expecting great results from them. Great opportunity for Shan to grab some WTC points

In my personal and subjective opinion, Pakistan is going through probably the worst patch, ever since I have been watching cricket. I have been watching Pak cricket since 1984

Presently, among the big test playing nations, Pakistan is probably the least professional team

We were among the best in the world, when we were the physically fittest team. Yes we had one or two Inziman-like players. But in general the team used to be pretty fit

The fitness of a player helps the outside observers to analyze, how serious he is about cricket. Although it's not the only factor but still it's a very important trait to assess the professionalism of a player

What a cricketer lacks in technique, can sometimes be accommodated by fitness

Presently, the Pakistani team in every version of cricket is neither physically fit nor technically resourceful

There are few exceptions of course but in general the Pakistani team can't be assessed as a professional team just because the players are being financially compensated

The BD team is a very formidable team at their home

I suppose, everything is possible. Pakistani batters can do well against the BD bowlers, whether fast or spinners. But my money is on BD bowlers...

A few years ago if a thread with this title was created the OP would have been banned for trolling.

Look where we are now
:ROFLMAO: how times change
Bangladesh is preparing for greenish pitch for Pakistan 🤣🤣🤣🤣 kya din aa gye hai. Unko Shaheen , Manzoor, Abbas in ka khauf nahi hai.

But Pakistan ko Nahid Rana , Taskin Ahmed and Hasan Mahmud etc ka khauf hai. . Lol

1-1 series result is my prediction.. it will be good contest between both Minnow team. 😜😜

In my personal and subjective opinion, Pakistan is going through probably the worst patch, ever since I have been watching cricket. I have been watching Pak cricket since 1984

What if I told you that this is the best the Pakistani team will be starting now and until the rest of your life? :junaid

My money is on Bangladesh but I think they would be better off making batting track where Nahid Rana can still run through our line up. If they make bowling friendly pitch then they risk giving help to our decent but not world class bowlers to also run through their moderate batting line up.

Who would have thought that Bangladesh would have a better pace bowling attack than Pakistan

Nahid has pace. He is gonna trouble these batters for sure. The rest of them are good enough skill-wise to make lives hell for them as well.

So yeah, we can say that Bangladesh will do a better job as far as the bowling department is concerned.

LMAO what a thread.

And some copium specialists want to talk about "fall of Standards".

This thread is the real fall of standards. Imagine being paranoid about facing Bangladesh...that too in Tests. 🤣

This looks like some australian pitch.... Death bed ready for our batters... LOL

1778139069899.png

Based on how things have transpired, the two debutants did pretty well. Fazal and Awais.