Will Pakistan suffer from burn out before they tour South Africa?

Torpedo

Local Club Regular
As we saw what happened last season, PCB played a full fledged series against the West Indies then straight away flew to Aus/NZ for a 3 month tour of 5 tests, 5 odis plus tour games and won 1 match and lost 9.

In December this year, they are touring South Africa for 3 tests, 5 ODI's & 3 T20I's, but right before that tour they will be playing 10 ODI's & 3 tests against Aus/NZ and again flying straight to South Africa.

What this means is less tour matches, less time to get used to conditions and a team which would have already played too much cricket.

Is there any chance PCB can look into this?

Money trumps professionalism. We did well in England because we prepared well. Went there very early and had three tour games (irrespective of the quality of the teams). In order for us to compete well, we need to give ourselves a 1 month break before the South African / Australia / England tours. There's no point in turning up to these countries 1 week before the Test series and expecting to do wonders.

Also PCB should always try to schedule ODIs first before the Test matches. I know this isn't possible in Australia where they always schedule the Test matches first, but this can be done in the case of South Africa. You get more time to acclimatize.

Let's Look at the calendar of 2018 and & try to objectively dissect what we might expect from our team:

From Today (28.03.2018) Until December 31st, 2018 (31.12.2018)

=================Confirmed Dates========================

April 1st vs WI (T20) - Karachi
April 2nd vs WI (T20) - Karachi
April 3rd vs WI (T20) - Karachi

(25 Days Break)

April 28th - May 1st vs Kent (4-day game) - Canterbury
May 4th - May 4th vs Northamptonshire (4-day game) - Northampton
May 11th - May 15th vs Ireland (Test) - Malahide
May 24th - May 28th vs England (Test) - Lords
June 1st - June 5th vs England (Test)- Headingly, Leeds

============Undecided Dates=================

(Approximately 43 Days of Layoff From 2nd Week June Until July 18th)

2 Test vs Zimbabwe (10 days of Cricket)
3 ODIs vs Zimbabwe (3 Days)
2 T20I vs Zimbabwe (2 Days)

(Approximately 2 weeks of Layoff from 1st week in Sept to 15th Sept)

Asia Cup
3 ODIs + 1 Final (If we reach)

(Approximately another 2 weeks of Layoff until 3rd October 2018)

5 ODIs vs Australia
1 T20 vs Australia

(Literally No Rest and we start Playing NZ in UAE from 20th Oct)

3 Test vs NZ
5 ODIs vs NZ
1 T20I vs NZ

This means that from Oct 20th we're having nonstop cricket until probably mid of December after which we're gonna fly to South Africa and contest in one of the most difficult tours imagiable. All this happening while we somehow need a 43 day Layoff in June to face the mighty Zimbabwe

:facepalm: :facepalm: PCB at it's finest :14: :14:

Oh boy we are in for an awful year, hope my fellow Pakistanis have the highlights of the CT final downloaded

Good one ..lol :sarf

On topic, this is same for other big teams as well. As pros, need to find way to succeed in busy schedule.

Respective cricket boards / selection panel should plan well to rotate and keep players fit for key matches :19:

Good one ..lol :sarf

On topic, this is same for other big teams as well. As pros, need to find way to succeed in busy schedule.

Respective cricket boards / selection panel should plan well to rotate and keep players fit for key matches :19:

YES, I really hope they will rotate the fast bowlers. Read an article yesterday about Amir saying that he wants to play 50 test max. after talking to Arthur to prolong his career. He also said that he wanted to see a rotation system for the faster bowlers.

South Africa series is a nailed on whitewash. Our batting is so flimsy and will struggle in those conditions against that attack.

Our preparation for foreign tours should try to replicate what we did in England in 2016 where we arrived a week or so earlier to acclimatise.

Pakistan never play enough cricket each year anyways so there should be no problems with burn out at all.

Like the excuses you guys made? Don’t have double standards.

I didn't make any excuses. What we(as Indians) made were also excuses. I'll openly accept it.

Excuses are the signs of a loser.
It's either u are a winner or a loser. There is no place for excuses.

We never play anywhere close to the amount of cricket that some of the other big boys do. Heck, even Sri Lanka blows us out of thewater with regards to the amount of cricket played.

I'm not complaining to be honest. I've long suspected that our fast bowlers sustain their excellence simply because they don't burn out within the first few years like the Indian pacers. I completely support Amir's decision to manage his workload; however, he should be playing more test cricket and less ODI's and not the other way round. Test cricket is the ultimate format.

We never play anywhere close to the amount of cricket that some of the other big boys do. Heck, even Sri Lanka blows us out of thewater with regards to the amount of cricket played.

I'm not complaining to be honest. I've long suspected that our fast bowlers sustain their excellence simply because they don't burn out within the first few years like the Indian pacers. I completely support Amir's decision to manage his workload; however, he should be playing more test cricket and less ODI's and not the other way round. Test cricket is the ultimate format.

Recently our international calendar has been quite busy - the second half of 2016 saw us play 12 tests in 6 months, together with ODI/T20s - by the time we reached Australia at xmas, we might well have been spent.

The Windies tests (not LOIs) in 2016 held in the UAE were really not needed - probably the sort of matches Amir might look to sit out. Tests in the UAE in general, look and feel quite taxing...

Backing us to whitewash Australia in the ODI series.

They will send a second string bowling attack which UAE Azam will feast on.

Finch and Maxwell will be useless as well on those wickets. No Warner or Smith to save them either.

They whitewashed us the last time including an embarrasing game where we failed to score 2 runs off the last over against Maxwell. Banking on the Aussies to do the same this year.

As we saw what happened last season, PCB played a full fledged series against the West Indies then straight away flew to Aus/NZ for a 3 month tour of 5 tests, 5 odis plus tour games and won 1 match and lost 9.

In December this year, they are touring South Africa for 3 tests, 5 ODI's & 3 T20I's, but right before that tour they will be playing 10 ODI's & 3 tests against Aus/NZ and again flying straight to South Africa.

What this means is less tour matches, less time to get used to conditions and a team which would have already played too much cricket.

When is the Aus/NZ series? And is it being held in the UAE? If it's just 3 tests, 2 for Aus and then 1 NZ? Those aren't series, those are jokes. The high number of ODIs is a concern.

Let's Look at the calendar of 2018 and & try to objectively dissect what we might expect from our team:

(25 Days Break)

Asia Cup

5 ODIs vs Australia
1 T20 vs Australia

3 Test vs NZ
5 ODIs vs NZ
1 T20I vs NZ

This means that from Oct 20th we're having nonstop cricket until probably mid of December after which we're gonna fly to South Africa and contest in one of the most difficult tours imagiable. All this happening while we somehow need a 43 day Layoff in June to face the mighty Zimbabwe

Great post for the schedule.

I still think a tired Pak should be able to beat NZ in the UAE, even with Sarfraz as captain...or maybe not. That middle order needs serious attention.

The series in SA will be a whitewash.

Are the Aus ODI matches happening in the uae?

The players in the Test squad for SA shouldn't play the LOI series against NZ. Pick a second string team if you have to. Send the main players out to SA early.

As long as we give appropriate rest to our bowlers by not playing them in all of those LOI matches in October, burn-out should not be an issue.

South Africa series is a nailed on whitewash. Our batting is so flimsy and will struggle in those conditions against that attack.

Our preparation for foreign tours should try to replicate what we did in England in 2016 where we arrived a week or so earlier to acclimatise.

We'll win 2-1, actually. The bowling will fire, the batsmen will survive and InshAllah, we'll become the first Asian team to win there in tests after doing the same in ODIs back in 2013.

2018 will be known as the Haris Sohail year... if he stays fit. :19:

Thats a big if, because he gets injured getting out of bed in the morning or by stepping on the grass in his lawn, think he threw out his back once reaching the remote to flip the channel on the telly.

(25 Days Break)

Asia Cup

5 ODIs vs Australia
1 T20 vs Australia

3 Test vs NZ
5 ODIs vs NZ
1 T20I vs NZ

Beautiful post..... halkay tou ana seekha hi nahi hai na apne :ashwin

If Pakistan wins the the series in South Africa..
Oh my, what a sight that would be...
And imagine Pakistan Cricket Team doin the pushups to pay a tribute to Misbah and Younis
:salute :yk2

Didn't know we were playing the Aussies in a 5 match ODI series. If he somehow manage to win that then I'll be very very confident of our chances in 2019 WC.

Imad and Shadab will eat them alive in UAE.

Aussies will find it hard to score runs and their pacers to take wickets in the UAE regardless of format. Their only spinners are Zampa (a newbie) and Maxwell (a part-timer). Malik and Fakhar will eat them alive.

And imagine Pakistan Cricket Team doin the pushups to pay a tribute to Misbah and Younis

Pak can win T20s. They can maybe win 1 ODI. Who's gonna score runs in tests against that SA bowling? I see innings defeats

Azhar, Haris, Babar can all score runs against the SA attack. Our batsmen are better against pace than spin atm.

Don't be too happy. All the good feels and happiness that you will feel when Amir completes his ten-fer in the final game to win Pakistan a very close, hard-fought, 2-1 series victory will be sucked away when you log onto Pakpassion and see a seven page discussion on the following thread:

"Was Pakistan's series win against Saffers a fluke?"

Sami, Babar, Azhar, Shafiq, Haris and Sarfaraz can all score runs against their bowling. Especially if we get a wicket like the one India got at Centurion.

Don't be too happy. All the good feels and happiness that you will feel when Amir completes his ten-fer in the final game to win Pakistan a very close, hard-fought, 2-1 series victory will be sucked away when you log onto Pakpassion and see a seven page discussion on the following thread:

I can already see the kind of posts on that thread :)))

The most lengthy, detailed one will be from our friend, [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION], who will use all his creative energies to explain exactly why Pakistan cricket is dead and buried, and how we should remove from within us any joy or happiness that we may feel.

Sami, Babar, Azhar, Shafiq, Haris and Sarfaraz can all score runs against their bowling. Especially if we get a wicket like the one India got at Centurion.

Made a mockery of that list by including Sami and Babar. The rest have a chance.

This...

(25 Days Break)

Asia Cup

5 ODIs vs Australia
1 T20 vs Australia

3 Test vs NZ
5 ODIs vs NZ
1 T20I vs NZ

T20Is vs Scotland on June 12th and June 13th

A good rotation policy for the pacers is important. We have plenty of pace options.

The players in the Test squad for SA shouldn't play the LOI series against NZ. Pick a second string team if you have to. Send the main players out to SA early.

Our Test team is quite different to our One Day team anyway.

We can rest Azhar, Haris and Amir from the ODIs, but Sarfraz and Babar should play.

Asad and Yasir don't play ODIs anyway, neither does Wahab. Everyone else is unimportant in our Test side.

Yes I agree Inshallah
Yasir shah will be the highest wicket taker of that series
I had a feeling that he will be very sucessfull
Though there is not much or an off spinner in south Africa but leg spinner will be successful in those Conditions

We should rest our players appropriately. After the NZ test series we have a couple of ODIs and t20s, rest a couple of our main players for that like Sarfraz, babar, Amir and Hasan.

There’s also a series against Zimbabwe, where we could probably rest some of our main players. They’ll probably beat us in a few matches if we don’t send our main team, but there seems to be heavy work load coming up so something has to give.

Pakistan need to debut Salahuddin in the middle order before the SA series, give him time to acclimatise, move Babar out of the test squad, provide two openers so Azhar can bat at 3 and tighten up the bowling. I honestly think 2 spinners would be a great idea against SA.

Need to ensure we rotate the bowlers. Would rather play a lot of cricket than the lay off we had after CT win.

You will be whitewashed with 2 of the 3 tests ending in 4 days.
Mark my words.
Your team can't even beat sri lanka at home.

Regardless of the work load or match practice in those conditions this Pakistan side of late (whether it be under Misbah or now Sarfraz) was always going to get whitewashed in the test series because of how incompetent Pakistan's batting line up really is.

Now that YK is gone - the batting is really and truly far below international level - it is minnow standard.

As long as we give appropriate rest to our bowlers by not playing them in all of those LOI matches in October, burn-out should not be an issue.

We'll win 2-1, actually. The bowling will fire, the batsmen will survive and InshAllah, we'll become the first Asian team to win there in tests after doing the same in ODIs back in 2013.

Yes and just like how before the NZ ODI series "Babar Azam is better than Kohli because he has a higher average" and we're seeing how that is panning out...

Just another clueless prediction of yours. As much as I love to see my Pakistan win in SA only a whitewash is on the cards with a minnow standard batting line up.

The same Pakistan that got whitewashed in UAE against one of the worst test sides and you have the audacity to claim Pakistan will win in SA? You realise India's batting line up is million times better and they still lost after bowling well in the series.

Give up with all these delusional predictions.

Yes and just like how before the NZ ODI series "Babar Azam is better than Kohli because he has a higher average" and we're seeing how that is panning out...

Just another clueless prediction of yours. As much as I love to see my Pakistan win in SA only a whitewash is on the cards with a minnow standard batting line up.

The same Pakistan that got whitewashed in UAE against one of the worst test sides and you have the audacity to claim Pakistan will win in SA? You realise India's batting line up is million times better and they still lost after bowling well in the series.

The same guy predicted CT win so :shh

Write off Pakistan at your own peril.

(25 Days Break)

Asia Cup

5 ODIs vs Australia
1 T20 vs Australia

3 Test vs NZ
5 ODIs vs NZ
1 T20I vs NZ

Preparation wise seems like again we will have decent preparation for the England tour be it a short one, considering India are touring this summer also the ECB could have made a **** load of money having a tri series involving PAK, IND, ENG, like they used to (Natwest series)

Coming on to the Zimbabwe series, I think we should select smartly, give some players rest and test out others, if any injured players are returning to fitness this would be the perfect place for them to get some match practice.

Moving on we want to have the strongest possible squad for the Asia Cup, i would consider this an important tournament which holds some significance specially with the rise of Bangladesh cricket of late, and being the ICC champs and well as Asian Champs would be good.

From this period on once again selection is to be done smartly and according to how the series are panning out, any series against AUS is important so play a full strength team but if we find ourselves in a position where we are out of the series meaning we cannot win it and remaining matches are dead rubbers then i would say it would be wise to rest senior and core players and let juniors gain experience.

I would adopt the same selection process or theory for the remaining series until we reach S.A, this we hopefully will reduce the chance of players burning out or being injured, with the levels of cricket being played we have to adopt such an approach towards selection, it will also help integrate potential players and fringe players onto the international stage.

Preparation wise seems like again we will have decent preparation for the England tour be it a short one, considering India are touring this summer also the ECB could have made a **** load of money having a tri series involving PAK, IND, ENG, like they used to (Natwest series)

Coming on to the Zimbabwe series, I think we should select smartly, give some players rest and test out others, if any injured players are returning to fitness this would be the perfect place for them to get some match practice.

Moving on we want to have the strongest possible squad for the Asia Cup, i would consider this an important tournament which holds some significance specially with the rise of Bangladesh cricket of late, and being the ICC champs and well as Asian Champs would be good.

From this period on once again selection is to be done smartly and according to how the series are panning out, any series against AUS is important so play a full strength team but if we find ourselves in a position where we are out of the series meaning we cannot win it and remaining matches are dead rubbers then i would say it would be wise to rest senior and core players and let juniors gain experience.

I would adopt the same selection process or theory for the remaining series until we reach S.A, this we hopefully will reduce the chance of players burning out or being injured, with the levels of cricket being played we have to adopt such an approach towards selection, it will also help integrate potential players and fringe players onto the international stage.

That's a terrible logic. SO, you want youngsters to play dead rubbers. What's the point of that? If you don't teach youngsters how to handle pressure when it matters, when will you then? This schedule is not that bad. Just shows how fit the players need to be and they have ample time to increase their fitness.

This is the time to find the ideal combination for the world cup next year. You do that by throwing the prospects into the deep end and see if they can swim or sink under pressure. There's no other way

That's a terrible logic. SO, you want youngsters to play dead rubbers. What's the point of that? If you don't teach youngsters how to handle pressure when it matters, when will you then? This schedule is not that bad. Just shows how fit the players need to be and they have ample time to increase their fitness.

This is the time to find the ideal combination for the world cup next year. You do that by throwing the prospects into the deep end and see if they can swim or sink under pressure. There's no other way

For the younger player or fringe players any international call up be it a dead rubber or not will hold pressure for them as this is there opportunity to impress and steak a claim to break into the best 11, also baring in mind its a rare that you always have your best 11 available these days due to injuries, so some of these players will naturally get a chance to play in matches that are not dead rubbers.

Agreed that the schedule is not that bad specially compared to other countries, but you have to bare in mind a number of Pakistani players will be playing some part in the English domestic season also which will also take a toll on them, and these players will be our premium players.

He will predict a win always. If we win he can say I told you so if we lose, no one will call him out other than Indian fans because he is backing the team.

If I was in charge of the Test squad right now, I would make these changes.

For ENG: Azhar, Haris, Babar, Shafiq, Salahuddin, Talat, Sarfraz, Yasir, Amir, Hasan, Abbas.

For ZIM: Azhar, Fakhar, Babar, Haris, Salahuddin, Talat, Sarfraz, Agha Salman, Shadab, Hasan, Shaheen Shah Afridi.

For NZ: Azhar, Fakhar, Babar, Haris, Salahuddin, Talat, Sarfraz, Agha Salman, Shadab, Hasan, Shaheen Shah Afridi.

For SA: Azhar, Fakhar, Babar, Haris, Salahuddin, Talat, Sarfraz, Amir, Yasir, Hasan, Shaheen Shah Afridi.

The same guy predicted CT win so :shh

Write off Pakistan at your own peril.

Pakistan has a far better ODI side therefore a much better chance to win the CT with a fair share of fortune to go with it. South Africa at home in tests is a completely different level of difficulty - something which no Asian side has done before. World class Pakistan sides of the 90s and 2000s couldn't even come close to winning a series there, so what makes you think this team with such a poor batting line up is going to progress?! This thinking is the height of delusion :danny

Anyway I'm adding this thread to my favs and I will be bouncing this back when that time comes.

He will predict a win always. If we win he can say I told you so if we lose, no one will call him out other than Indian fans because he is backing the team.

True, I agree and 9 times out of 10 he is wrong. I actually called him out about Babar > Kohli claim in ODIs he made which he obviously denied. I respect everyone is entitled to an opinion but there to gets to a point where threads are derailed because he is triggering mostly Indian posters on here and turning everything into Pakistan v India.

As a Pakistani cricket fan and someone who loves the game, I appreciate greatness wherever they come from, it isn't pleasant to see modern day greats like Kohli get slagged off because of his anti-India agenda.
[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] has strong blunt opinions who says it as it as he sees it but his insight into the game and the knowledge he brings without a shred of bias is what we should be cherishing - but instead his views have been mocked by these type of posters.

Pakistan has a far better ODI side therefore a much better chance to win the CT with a fair share of fortune to go with it. South Africa at home in tests is a completely different level of difficulty - something which no Asian side has done before. World class Pakistan sides of the 90s and 2000s couldn't even come close to winning a series there, so what makes you think this team with such a poor batting line up is going to progress?! This thinking is the height of delusion :danny

Anyway I'm adding this thread to my favs and I will be bouncing this back when that time comes.

Poor batting lineup..? pretty soon we will have our best lineup in years:

Azhar
Fakhar
Haris
Babar
Salahuddin

True, I agree and 9 times out of 10 he is wrong. I actually called him out about Babar > Kohli claim in ODIs he made which he obviously denied. I respect everyone is entitled to an opinion but there to gets to a point where threads are derailed because he is triggering mostly Indian posters on here and turning everything into Pakistan v India.

As a Pakistani cricket fan and someone who loves the game, I appreciate greatness wherever they come from, it isn't pleasant to see modern day greats like Kohli get slagged off because of his anti-India agenda.
[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] has strong blunt opinions who says it as it as he sees it but his insight into the game and the knowledge he brings without a shred of bias is what we should be cherishing - but instead his views have been mocked by these type of posters.

Mamoon is usually spot on 9 out of 10 times. Probably the best poster on PP for comparisons.

Poor batting lineup..? pretty soon we will have our best lineup in years:

Azhar
Fakhar
Haris
Babar
Salahuddin

LOL 2 of these are unproven and 2 of them have played less than 10 tests. Only Azhar is proven and he's one of the best openers in the world but Sarfraz/Mickey are messing him about bringing him down to 3 in the last series.

I would like to see Fakhar play tests but for now only in Asia as he's quality player attacking spin. Against pace he'll struggle with the red ball, so is certainly not ready to open with Azhar. I would have him in the team batting at 5 or 6 in Asia when the pacers will be more tired and by then neutralised/ineffective to allow him to dominate against the spinners. If he does well after 10 tests then deserves a go outside Asia in the same position.

Babar isn't even close to being an international standard let alone world class as he simply can't play spin to save his life, has lazy foot work against seamers and is scared against the short ball. Taller bowlers like Hazlewood have worked him out easily and the same will happen to him in England and SA against the likes of Anderson, Broad, Rabada, Morkel (especially) and etc.

Haris Sohail has potential but he's only played 2 tests - both in batting friendly conditions against a poor SL team which still managed to whitewashed Pakistan. So on what basis can you say "pretty soon we will have our best lineup in years"?

Out of the batsmen who have played at least 20 tests only Azhar and Sarfraz average 40+, but note the latter's form is on the dip and hasn't scored a test ton in long long while now. Out of the established batsmen if only 2 can average 40+ what does this say about Pakistan's batting line-up? The brutal truth is it simply isn't international standard. It is in fact minnow standard!

They are so far behind look at the top 5 teams who all have a star batsman who averages 50+ - AB, Smith, Root, Williamson and Kohli. If you analyse further each of these sides has at least 2-3 players which average 45+ but with Pakistan there is only Azhar Ali who you can filter from this bracket of higher tier batsmen.

Some will make the argument that Pakistan's batting lacks experience but the best domestic talents like Babar and Sami Aslam (who was is still backed by most on PP) don't look convincing at all. They fact that Pakistan hasn't found a second good opening batsman to pair Azhar Ali for a while now proves the talent pool is looking very bleak.

Pakistan's batting prospects in tests and therefore the team's fortunes in the 5 day game don't look promising.

[MENTION=143775]backfootpunch[/MENTION] let’s see. England will give us a good indication of where we stand.

Backing Haris, Babar to succeed there.

Imo we will do better outside UAE in the future because as a team we are terrible against spin but quite good against pace.

Well said . Agree with this.

There job is to play Cricket. They have had enough time off recently . Get on with it and win some matches for Pakistan. Poor PCB. either they are being attacked for not arranging any Cricket or to much Cricket. Make up your minds, also have to take the opposition's commitment as well. Other teams play far more international Cricket then we do.

You do realise that Pakistan have not beaten Australia in an ODI series in 16 years don't you?

Will there be an Asia Cup this year? Not that it really matters.

Not much issues actually. I think, PAK's 1st Test in SAF will be on 26th, DEC (Durban), while NZ Tests should be over by mid NOV.

There are at least 5 Test specialists in PAK squad - Azhar, Asad, Yasir, Abbas and Wahab. Arrange a tour for A team in SAF just after the Test series with NZ with following players -

Azhar, Imam, Sami, Shan, Asad, Saad Ali, and may be 1/2 new batsmen (Saud, if he isn't playing ODI); Umair Masood, Wahab, Abbas, Hamza, Yasir, Rahat & may be couple of new pacers - Arshad can be one. This squad should play at least 3/4 proper 4 day FC games (not jokes where 15 plays and 11 fields/bats/bowls) against proper teams - SAF A, SAF High Performance XI, FC Champion team .....

Along with Test regulars, keep 1/2 performing new faces from that A tour and add Sarfraz, Haris, Babar, Amir, Hasan, Shaheen, Gohar & may be 1/2 new addition like Fakhar, Amin, Shinwari from the ODI/T20 squad by mid DEC.

Not the ideal situation, but this is reality in modern context.

(25 Days Break)

Asia Cup

5 ODIs vs Australia
1 T20 vs Australia

3 Test vs NZ
5 ODIs vs NZ
1 T20I vs NZ

Some corrections:

(25 Days Break)

May 4th - May 7th vs Northamptonshire (4-day game) - Northampton
June 12th vs Scotland (T20I) - Edinburgh
June 13th vs Scotland (T20I) - Edinburgh

(18 Days Break)

July 1st vs Zimbabwe (T20I) - Harare
July 2nd vs Australia (T20I) - Harare
July 4th vs Zimbabwe (T20I) - Harare
July 5th vs Australia (T20I) - Harare
July 8th vs ? (T20I) - Harare
July 13th vs Zimbabwe (ODI) - Bulawayo
July 16th vs Zimbabwe (ODI) - Bulawayo
July 18th vs Zimbabwe (ODI) - Bulawayo
July 20th vs Zimbabwe (ODI) - Bulawayo
July 22nd vs Zimbabwe (ODI) - Bulawayo

(53 Days Break)

September 13th - September 28th (Asia Cup) (5 ODIs + 1 Final, if we reach) - UAE

(Approximately 5 day break until 3rd October 2018?)

5 ODIs vs Australia - UAE
1 T20I vs Australia - UAE

(Literally No Rest until approximiately 20th Oct?)

3 Test vs NZ - UAE
5 ODIs vs NZ - UAE
1 T20I vs NZ - UAE

Some corrections:

(25 Days Break)

May 4th - May 7th vs Northamptonshire (4-day game) - Northampton
June 12th vs Scotland (T20I) - Edinburgh
June 13th vs Scotland (T20I) - Edinburgh

(18 Days Break)

July 1st vs Zimbabwe (T20I) - Harare
July 2nd vs Australia (T20I) - Harare
July 4th vs Zimbabwe (T20I) - Harare
July 5th vs Australia (T20I) - Harare
July 8th vs ? (T20I) - Harare
July 13th vs Zimbabwe (ODI) - Bulawayo
July 16th vs Zimbabwe (ODI) - Bulawayo
July 18th vs Zimbabwe (ODI) - Bulawayo
July 20th vs Zimbabwe (ODI) - Bulawayo
July 22nd vs Zimbabwe (ODI) - Bulawayo

(53 Days Break)

September 13th - September 28th (Asia Cup) (5 ODIs + 1 Final, if we reach) - UAE

(Approximately 5 day break until 3rd October 2018?)

5 ODIs vs Australia - UAE
1 T20I vs Australia - UAE

(Literally No Rest until approximiately 20th Oct?)

3 Test vs NZ - UAE
5 ODIs vs NZ - UAE
1 T20I vs NZ - UAE

Should move the Aus tour to August imo

Pakistan had been whitewashed in sa, nz, aus the last time they were there, so if pakistan wins the series in sa it won't be a fluke, it would be a miracle :uakmal

One scary tour to come. IF NZ tour was something, this one would prove to be a huge disaster.

We still have'nt found a solid batsman. Babar Azam, Azhar Ali, Sami Aslam and Asad Shafiq upfront would be decimating Pakistan's chances more than Proteas.

I'm expecting many players to get unfit before the tour as most would try to avoid this one. Was thinking Mickey Arthur would prepare well and introduce changes in UK tour to find and test some better new players. We await one of the most difficult tours for Sarfaraz XI ever.

What about the England players in the IPL? They'll be fatigued too when they face Pak

Or aren't there any test players there?

Looking forward to Rooot taking out his IPL frustrations on Pak bowlers :23:

Agreed. What is the point of playing full-fledged series vs Zimbabwe?

Should also back up from a meaningless tournament like Asia Cup.

Whatever the results, they'll have nothing to do with "burnout".
Philander will be licking his lips for three easy five-fers.

It has always the medium pace bowlers that move it an inch that have troubled Pakistan over the years. McGrath, Pollock, Anderson, etc.

Should rotate players till then.

But Pakistan never does that, and most probably will never do. Sent a full squad to even Zimbabwe in 2013-14. Although, in hind sight that was a good decision.

So only one tour match before the 1st Test which means they probably will fly to South Africa directly from UAE after completing the NZ series.

LOL!! Burnout or no burnout. We already know the result. 3-0 on cards but would love to see pakistan putting up some decent fight.