'Younis Bhai, can you come with us and conduct 15 min. session" : Jos Buttler to Younis Khan

Karachi: Younis Khan, who served Pakistan as batting coach on the recently concluded England tour, shared moments he spent with English wicket-keeper Jos Buttler.

Speaking to a local news channel, Khan revealed that Buttler came to him to conduct a 15 minutes session with him and his teammates. “‘Younis Bhai, I want to talk to you, and can you come with us and conduct 15 minutes session’?” Buttler asked Khan.

Khan said he replied: “Yeah, why not. Will do a session soon.”

Adding on, Khan said after winning the first Test and performing up to the mark, still Buttler came to him and ask for some of his time. “He once again came to me after they won the first Test and he performed really well. I looked at him and ask “What else do you want now after such an outstanding performance but he said ‘Younis Bhai I want to learn a few things from you related to sweep shot and technique’,” Khan shared.

https://arysports.tv/jos-buttler-came-some-queries-younis-shares/

Yeah I don’t think that happened.

If it did we need some proof from Buttler or the England camp.

Pakistani players, especially ex-players with bloated egos like Younis, do not have any credibility and are known to make things up to feed their egos and insecurities.

Adding on, Khan said after winning the first Test and performing up to the mark, still Buttler came to him and ask for some of his time. “He once again came to me after they won the first Test and he performed really well. I looked at him and ask “What else do you want now after such an outstanding performance but he said ‘Younis Bhai I want to learn a few things from you related to sweep shot and technique’,” Khan shared.

Younis is implying that Buttler had a chat with him before the first Test which helped him play the match-winning innings.

It appears that Younis want to take some credit for Buttler’s form in this series. The Pakistani batting flopped on his watch and the scribblings in the notebook didn’t help, so yes let’s take credit for the performance of England’s best batsman in the series.

Our ex-players have no shame. Whoever would have proved to be England’s best batsman in the series would have been the one to have a chat with “Younis bhai.”

Pakistani players, especially ex-players with bloated egos like Younis, do not have any credibility and are known to make things up to feed their egos and insecurities.

Younis is implying that Buttler had a chat with him before the first Test which helped him play the match-winning innings.

It appears that Younis want to take some credit for Buttler’s form in this series. The Pakistani batting flopped on his watch and the scribblings in the notebook didn’t help, so yes let’s take credit for the performance of England’s best batsman in the series.

Our ex-players have no shame. Whoever would have proved to be England’s best batsman in the series would have been the one to have a chat with “Younis bhai.”

Unless you can prove otherwise, your opinion is irrelevant.

Its quite possible that Buttler would have asked this.

Unless you can prove otherwise, your opinion is irrelevant.

Its quite possible that Buttler would have asked this.

It is a question of credibility, which our ex-players do not have. They are known to make up stuff and exaggerate to feed their egos.

If we can get a verification from Buttler or someone in the England camp (excluding Azhar Mahmood), I will be more than happy to offer my apology.

However, that will not change the fact that I will never believe a word that comes out of our ex-players unless their stories are backed up by players from the opposition.

Ofcourse everyone wants to win in india and to be more effective against spin sweep shot is one of the best shots. Younis was a master of sweep shot.

Unless you can prove otherwise, your opinion means nothing. And if there's anyone who lacks credibility its you seeing how you have regularly accused cricketers of lying about the racism they claimed to be subject to --- without any proof on your part, I might add.

People who live in glass houses should not throw stones.

It is a question of credibility, which our ex-players do not have. They are known to make up stuff and exaggerate to feed their egos.

If we can get a verification from Buttler or someone in the England camp (excluding Azhar Mahmood), I will be more than happy to offer my apology.

However, that will not change the fact that I will never believe a word that comes out of our ex-players unless their stories are backed up by players from the opposition.

Our players are as credible anyone else.

When has YK lied in past?

Younis Khan, Mohammad Yousuf and Inzimam are highly respected batsmen in the England set up. I don’t doubt this one bit. Pakistani fast bowlers often seek advice from Anderson and Broad when they tour, would be out of the norm for Batsmen who consistently want to improve seeking valuable advice from a great player like YK

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]

Didn't AB de Villiers mention that he had learned to perfect his sweep shot from Younis Khan?

Whilst I agree our ex-players generally lack credibility, Younis Khan isn't any other ex-player. He had the best cricketing mind from any Pakistani I've seen since I started watching the sport (in 1999). Secondly, he was an ATG player of spin and the only player from Pakistan to have scored 10,000 test runs.

So going by the above why should anyone take your word over YK?

I have no doubt YK is telling the truth.

However, I also have not doubt he should try to not take credit for everything good that happens anywhere - like taking all credit for Babar Azam's batting after day 1 of first test, bowing to Hafeez for the gallery in T20 we lost and now Buttler.

Stay in the background please and do your job. You couldn't have possibly turned them into overnight successes in one series.

It's actually good that Buttler went to Younis to seek advice on his batting. More cricketers should do that and keep on learning to master their game. This does not make anyone inferior or superior.

Buttler is a fine player of spin bowling and he would look to become even better but for SC tours, he should focus on his keeping more or else he can play as specialist batsmen because Olliee Pope will be away from international cricket for around 6 months as he is going through some kinds of surgery.

[MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION] and [MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION] - I believe you have the contacts, so do what you have to do to verify Younis Khan's story.

On a similar note, I recall Azharuddin helping out Younis during a tour of England.

[MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION] and [MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION] - I believe you have the contacts, so do what you have to do to verify Younis Khan's story.

Younis spoke to the media so we have no reason to doubt him.

I totally agree and as I mentioned earlier, Jos Buttler isn't the first high profile batsman to seek assistance from Younis on batting against spin.

Posters need to watch the interview first before making judgements. If anything Younis was playing it down. He said Butler approached him after the first test victory, and he told him you batted so well what tips can I give you. And only after the third test he agreed to meet him as Butler wanted to improve on sweep shots. So no he was not taking credit for Butlers performance. As for Hafeez he was not trying to take credit either, I do not know how anyone can think that just because he was genuinely happy for him and made a joking gesture by bowing,he simply appreciated Hafeez performance after the kind of ifs and buts were put on Hafeez due to covid testing and age etc. Younis Khan is an expressive fellow so expresses his emotions, he started the army gestures as well, and that was not to show off his performance. Why some people make up stuff to vilify our heroes I would never know.

I totally agree and as I mentioned earlier, Jos Buttler isn't the first high profile batsman to seek assistance from Younis on batting against spin.

Agree at Yorkshire many English players sought tips from him.

Posters need to watch the interview first before making judgements. If anything Younis was playing it down. He said Butler approached him after the first test victory, and he told him you batted so well what tips can I give you. And only after the third test he agreed to meet him as Butler wanted to improve on sweep shots. So no he was not taking credit for Butlers performance. As for Hafeez he was not trying to take credit either, I do not know how anyone can think that just because he was genuinely happy for him and made a joking gesture by bowing,he simply appreciated Hafeez performance after the kind of ifs and buts were put on Hafeez due to covid testing and age etc. Younis Khan is an expressive fellow so expresses his emotions, he started the army gestures as well, and that was not to show off his performance. Why some people make up stuff to vilify our heroes I would never know.

You can address me.

This is not an attempt to vilify him - just to temper him. He is an ex-player and should not hog limelight.

I saw his interview after Babar Azam's innings and it was all about Younis Khan.

I also did not like the bowing because it is pre mature during the match - and our players do this a lot. I remember Afridi and Misbah smiling and high fiving at each other mid match as if it was won. Eventually they lost that too - like the Hafeez bowing match - if I recall correctly. These pantomimes take away from the players in the middle. You won't see any other coaches for other countries doing this.

YK has been all about YK since time immemorial, if you know his history at all.

He should stick to coaching - which I am hopeful will be a successful stint because he is also about mindset. But he should cut down the theatrics.

Younis Khan is a terrific player of spin. I can see why Buttler would want some advice from him.

I believe it.....except for the use of the expression “bhai”.

Tips? Sure.

Bhai? No way on earth that happened.

Tips? Sure.

Actually I think English players know that word as Mushtaq have been part of their team management multiple times, even Saqlain. Also few players in their team and setup know that word due to their family origins and playing leagues. So I wont be surprised if he really said that.

Tips? Sure.

Bhai is very commonly used by English cricketers for Pakistani teammates in club cricket

Actually I think English players know that word as Mushtaq have been part of their team management multiple times, even Saqlain. Also few players in their team and setup know that word due to their family origins and playing leagues. So I wont be surprised if he really said that.

But it comes off as weird, much like a Desi referring to England as the 'Poms'.

I don't remember Younis saying Butler addressed him Bhi, maybe I missed that, but anyhow my earlier point still stands he did not take any credit what so ever for Bultlers batting as he said its only after third test they actually got together.

A lot of times PSL's overseas players refer to senior Pakistan cricketers as Bhais

You can address me.

This is not an attempt to vilify him - just to temper him. He is an ex-player and should not hog limelight.

I saw his interview after Babar Azam's innings and it was all about Younis Khan.

I also did not like the bowing because it is pre mature during the match - and our players do this a lot. I remember Afridi and Misbah smiling and high fiving at each other mid match as if it was won. Eventually they lost that too - like the Hafeez bowing match - if I recall correctly. These pantomimes take away from the players in the middle. You won't see any other coaches for other countries doing this.

He should stick to coaching - which I am hopeful will be a successful stint because he is also about mindset. But he should cut down the theatrics.
Agree with your general sentimemts but as a nation we are emotional bunch, easily pleased and easily angered.

Not really. "Poms" has a completely different context. When you say Younis "bhai" it just means a bit of respect to someone who is older than you.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] was truly disappointed to read your post. Pathetic to accuse a legend, and a test ATG of lying based on zero evidence or past proof.

What made it worse for me is that he would believe everyones statement in the England coaching setup(mostly white people) but he wouldn't believe the statement Azhar Mahmood

Funny thing is Younis did not even claim any credit for Butler batting in the series.

Yoni bhai, one of the most highly respected cricketers from Pakistan and definitely one of the greatest ever players of spin bowling.

I reckon this is how this conversation would have occurred :-

Yoni bhai : *reading news paper (English)*
Jos: Assalamualikum Younis bhai

Yoni bhai: Walekumasalam Jos my dear..
Jos: Younis bhai, if you don't mind can you please do a session with me so i can improve my technique

Yoni bhai: Definitely Jos. Serving humanity and batsmanship is my highest priority and it brings me immense satisfaction and peace of mind.
Jos: How nice of you Younis bhai. I expected nothing less from you.

Yoni bhai: You are too humble Jos. Anything else you.want to say.
Jos: Yes, Younis bhai, me and a lot of my teammates in the England team feel the quality of bowling in PSL is a lot better than it is in IPL

Yoni bhai, one of the most highly respected cricketers from Pakistan and definitely one of the greatest ever players of spin bowling.

Jos: Younis bhai, if you don't mind can you please do a session with me so i can improve my technique

Yoni bhai: Definitely Jos. Serving humanity and batsmanship is my highest priority and it brings me immense satisfaction and peace of mind.

Jos: Yes, Younis bhai, me and a lot of my teammates in the England team feel the quality of bowling in PSL is a lot better than it is in IPL

Brillante

[MENTION=65183]freelance_cricketer[/MENTION] your last paragraph means Butler will now be termed an average player pleasing Pakistanis for a PSL contract.You ruined his career.

So you are accusing some one of lying just because you don't like them ? YK's story sounds pretty believable, it isn't odd for players to ask former cricketers for advice .

This exchange is a lot more convincing if you read it in Jos Buttler and Younis Khan's respective voices.

I remember AB De Villiets said in an interview he took tips from Younis khan on how to perfect the sweep shot

Buttler is the heir to AB so following same path

Is Younis Khan indirectly trying to take credit for turning around Buttler's fortunes with the bat?

I wonder if he would have disclosed this if Buttler had struggled.

Always take what Younis Khan says with a pinch of salt.

Younis suffers from delusions of grandeur. I don't think he means to lie, per say, but is just in his own fantasy world where he's king!

Buttler might have had a conversation with Younis but it's likely that Younis just made too much of it.

You can address me.

Watch his Instagram live session with Zainab Abbas. I can bet you won't even be able to make it through till the half way! Felt like a tribute to Younis Khan from Younis Khan!

He's currently "negotiating" a deal with PCB to continue as batting coach, so perhaps this is a not so subtle reminder to the PCB of what he thinks he is worth.

Self-promotion is a important life skill. YK is very skilled man.

Is Younis Khan indirectly trying to take credit for turning around Buttler's fortunes with the bat?

I wonder if he would have disclosed this if Buttler had struggled.

I saw the interview a d I have posted twice now that Younis K said he did not even meet up with Butler till the end of the third test, so how is he taking credit for Butler performances in the series?

Well Buttler's continued to do well since the inspirational chat by YK also it seems.

Youmis also commented you have done so well in the first test how can I improve you more.

Wouldn't surprise me .. he and Woakes were on a level in that partnership ... So much for Azhar coaching England

Didn’t Younis create issues by running away from the captaincy after being groomed for years under Inzamam?

Didn’t Younis drag a fan to the changing room to beat him up because he slipped and tripped him up?

Didn’t Younis hold a knife to someone’s neck because they did their job and gave him some advice?

Thanks but no thanks. He may be an ATG player but he should not be given a fixed role around the team. Maybe the odd sweeping masterclass or seminar on how to construct a Test innings.

Don’t think we are on different wavelengths. Comments below regarding your points but I was responding to how people seem to suggest YK is likely to be contriving the Buttler point.

Captaincy: don’t think he should ever have taken it. Too headstrong and regimented for the PAK setup to truly prosper. Never ceased to find faults even when PAK won games and that approach does not really work there - getting into the PAK team is the realisation/fulfilment of most players’ goals instead of being the beginning of their dreams and they are content to scrape wins/exist. I did not mind his presser saying he did not want to be a ceremonial (“dummy”) captain without all his requirements regarding selection autonomy et cetera being met. I absolutely did mind when he later compromised and took it. Even more cringeworthy was him playing LOIs past his due date and the “colourful” retirement from ODIs.

Fan beating: yup, saw it all on TV in the news that day. Dragged a fan forcibly to the changing rooms. In all likelihood may even have hit him, regardless of denials from Basit Ali and Rashid Latif who allegedly calmed things down. Not holding my breath for the fan to turn up and say him and YK are the best of chums.

Knife: not sure I can believe this with Flower’s narrative. Unlike the poor fan in the story above Flower was neither powerless nor impotent to the point that holding a full-fledged knife with a life threat could be brushed away so easily. The accounts I read or heard in the media suggest something like butter knife he was using at breakfast or similar being waved about in mock solemnity. PAK, and PAK cricket, do not have many “friends” in the world and most people would have loved to take this opportunity to expose PCT for what it is. Cannot see how or why a matter of such gravity could be so easily buried especially concerning a top professional in a position of strength (Flower).

Fixed role: don’t think he should be batting coach of the national team. Works best with budding talents and juniors who are hungry and comfortable with his regimented grind and they relate best with him. Aat any rate, brief sessions with touring team do not allow for much more than minor tweaks or pointers here or there whereas the problems are far deeper and should be treated at the appropriate junior level. He will do his CV a good deal of harm if he later wants to transition to U-19s and has nothing to show for the national level. Not a fan of this mellowed out individual who is happy to function as cog of the system he once repeatedly clashed against. Much preferred the resolute brashness of not holding PCB in much regard and letting performances talk. Have seen parallels to this story play out with PAK’s incumbent PM but in the political arena.

I don’t like YKs antics as coach. Hiding when team is in bad shape (which is often) and taking credit of individual batting performances when it’s doing well. Also his big notebook which is yet to produce any results.

I think he should figure out his role properly - how he can make a real impact.

I don’t like YKs antics as coach. Hiding when team is in bad shape (which is often) and taking credit of individual batting performances when it’s doing well. Also his big notebook which is yet to produce any results.

He’s doing the opposite. He’s coming out during a tough time and telling people to put him under the scanner too, not just Misbah.

just because someone uses a notebook to write during a game and using that to criticize a coach :))) now I've seen it all.

Just because someone uses a notebook to write during a game and using that to criticize a coach :))) now I've seen it all.

Younis has provided a lot material over the years to confirm that he loves playing to the gallery. His notebook drama is most likely more of the same.

So did Williamson have a session with him as well?

Younus is a busy man. The last I heard was that Williamson, Steve Smith and Kohli all had to settle for a joint session.

Someone needs to report you to the ICC. You clearly have the players' training sessions bugged.

The line at the end about PSL bowling was a classic :))

Younis Khan is one of the best batsmen that pakistan has produced so why wouldnt anyone ask for his advice, if younis was a foreigner we wouldnt be doubting that someone asked for his advice.

Meh.

Think most people here jumped the gun thinking Younus volunteered the information and tied it to his hasty press conferences as a player. Similarly lots of people jumped the gun on another YK related thread about performance feedback/criticism as a coach.

In this case, a journalist specifically asked YK that there is a rumour that Buttler came to you to ask for some help/pointers. YK laughingly narrated the tale. All videos are on YouTube, I think.

Wait till people here find out that de Villiers is on video (same video platform) as saying he learnt the sweep shot from YK (no clue if he means copying or actually being taught/speaking to YK) when speaking to Nasser Hussain. Think that disclosure from ABD will be reported as sacrilege.

Most people do not try and verify what they post. They prefer to read scorecards, match reports and editorials to draw conclusions and comparisons instead of actually *watching* cricket. Bit like reading critics on, say, Ulysses and Middlemarch, and using that to draw comparisons between the two instead of actually reading the books and forming an opinion of their own.

Couple that with the younger followers (i.e. short cricketing memory) and we have comments such as the ones above and asinine comparison threads springing up every few moments.

Pretty entertaining though, no two ways about that.

Younis is undoubtedly one of the finest Pakistani batsmen ever but he is also well-known for his egomania and theatrics.

If Buttler wouldn’t have had a great series, he would have never mentioned his name.

Meh.

Think most people here jumped the gun thinking Younus volunteered the information and tied it to his hasty press conferences as a player. Similarly lots of people jumped the gun on another YK related thread about performance feedback/criticism as a coach.

In this case, a journalist specifically asked YK that there is a rumour that Buttler came to you to ask for some help/pointers. YK laughingly narrated the tale. All videos are on YouTube, I think.

Wait till people here find out that de Villiers is on video (same video platform) as saying he learnt the sweep shot from YK (no clue if he means copying or actually being taught/speaking to YK) when speaking to Nasser Hussain. Think that disclosure from ABD will be reported as sacrilege.

Most people do not try and verify what they post. They prefer to read scorecards, match reports and editorials to draw conclusions and comparisons instead of actually *watching* cricket. Bit like reading critics on, say, Ulysses and Middlemarch, and using that to draw comparisons between the two instead of actually reading the books and forming an opinion of their own.

Couple that with the younger followers (i.e. short cricketing memory) and we have comments such as the ones above and asinine comparison threads springing up every few moments.

Pretty entertaining though, no two ways about that.

Truth is, ABDV is bankrolled by the PCB and we have no reason to trust his claims.

Younis is undoubtedly one of the finest Pakistani batsmen ever but he is also well-known for his egomania and theatrics.

If Buttler wouldn’t have had a great series, he would have never mentioned his name.

Unless there is another platform or source where Younus proactively volunteered the information, I am not sure if Younus himsel brought up he had a discourse with Buttler.

On a well known video hosting website, a clip by a well known private media channel with a well known sports/cricket host something along the lines of the following exchange can be found:

Anchor: We have heard a rumour that Buttler came up to you for some advice/pointers, is that true?

YK: (laughs) I hope now he does not credit me for the runs (Buttler’s contributions were vital in ENG’s victory and the obvious connotation whether if YK’s pointers cost PAK).

And so on.

Truth is, ABDV is bankrolled by the PCB and we have no reason to trust his claims.

Really? I had no idea. Do you mean in regards to PSL or is there something I am missing?

Think that video is from when ABD was the captain of South Africa and aired in 2016 if I am not mistaken. I do not follow PSL so will not be able to comment on his engagements with PAK or PAK related things in that regard.

Also, I think YK refuted the claim in an interview. Said he had not taught anything and ABD had just picked it up watching him as most players do on the circuit.

Really? I had no idea. Do you mean in regards to PSL or is there something I am missing?

Think that video is from when ABD was the captain of South Africa and aired in 2016 if I am not mistaken. I do not follow PSL so will not be able to comment on his engagements with PAK or PAK related things in that regard.

Also, I think YK refuted the claim in an interview. Said he had not taught anything and ABD had just picked it up watching him as most players do on the circuit.

Was throwing some shade at the excuses thrown about by certain posters on here - sarcasm :afridi