Your favorite TV characters

Hyperion66

First Class Player
Okay, the title is pretty self explanatory, post the list of characters from TV shows you liked the most. Not particularly talking about the ones you think to be the best or the most well acted, or the most likable, can't do no wrong goody goody types. They can very well be your guilty pleasure characters, antiheroes with daddy issues, or negative characters with no redeeming qualities that commit despicable acts throughout the show. Basically the personalities without whom you think your favorite shows will be incomplete.

Below are mine

Omar Little (The Wire)

Nathan Young (Misfits)

Al Swearengen (Deadwood)

Nora Durst (The Leftovers)

Lafayette Reynolds (True Blood)

Malcolm Reynolds (Firefly)

Tony Soprano (The Sopranos)

John Locke (Lost)

T Bag (Prison Break)

Vic Macky (The Shield)

Ron Swanson (Parks and Recreation)

Boyd Crowder (Justified)

Olivia Dunham (Fringe)

Simon Adibisi (Oz)

Alfie Solomons (Peaky Blinders)

Jim Lahey (Trailer Park Boys)

Vanessa Ives (Penny Dreadful)

TV buffs here please do share your list.

Ron Swanson
Michael (office)
Shawn Spencer( psych)
Charlie(it’s always sunny)
Dennis(its always sunny)
Sherlock ( sherlock -Benedict)
Billions (Chuck)
Fresh Prince of Bel air(Carlton)
Big Band theory(sheldon)
It’s a small wonder( vicky)
Veronica mars( Veronica)
Newsroom(sloan Sabbith)

I’m sure am missing a lot..

I like these characters:

Iron-Man
Captain America
Joker
Thaddeus Bradley from Now You See Me (played by Morgan Freeman)
John Wick
Merlin from Kingsman
Borat
General Aladeen
Nobby from Brothers Grimsby (played by Sacha Baron Cohen)
Frank from The Irishman

There are more.

I like these characters:

Iron-Man
Captain America
Joker
Thaddeus Bradley from Now You See Me (played by Morgan Freeman)
John Wick
Merlin from Kingsman
Borat
General Aladeen
Nobby from Brothers Grimsby (played by Sacha Baron Cohen)
Frank from The Irishman

There are more.

Talking about TV characters bruv, anyways seems like you are Sacha Kohen fan.

Heisenberg(BB)
Dr. Watson(Sherlock)
Michael Scofield & Fernando Sucre (Prison Break)
Carrie Mathison & Saul Berenson(Homeland)
Thomas Shelby(Peaky Blinders)
Neal Caffrey(White Collar)
Adil Ray(Citizen Khan)
Legendary Kaleen Bhayya(Mirzapur)

For desi touch:

Anurag Basu
Mr Bajaj
Komolika
Sohaib Khan from Diyaar-e-Dil
Adil Khan and Abhimanyu Jindal from Crime Patrol

Ron Swanson
Michael (office)
Shawn Spencer( psych)
Charlie(it’s always sunny)
Dennis(its always sunny)
Sherlock ( sherlock -Benedict)
Billions (Chuck)
Fresh Prince of Bel air(Carlton)
Big Band theory(sheldon)
It’s a small wonder( vicky)
Veronica mars( Veronica)
Newsroom(sloan Sabbith)

I’m sure am missing a lot..

Good to see a fellow Swanson fan lol.

Who can forget about the iconic Saas Kokilaben.

Gopi vau the gawaar used to get an earful from her every episode lmao. The doctors serial was really good as well. I think Mohnish Behl was in that drama. I found Humsafar very overrated largely due to glorification of cousin marriage in that show.

Who can forget about the iconic Saas Kokilaben.

Gopi vau the gawaar used to get an earful from her every episode lmao. The doctors serial was really good as well. I think Mohnish Behl was in that drama. I found Humsafar very overrated largely due to glorification of cousin marriage in that show.

Bhai you really watch saas bahu serials? Not judging at all, just being curious.

No, but my mom used to and still watches them. I had no other option but to watch it during the dinner but now I don't as they were cringe-worthy but a good comic relief

I totally understand. My wife made me watch Prem Ratan Dhan Payo and I still haven't forgiven her for that.

Walter Bishop (Fringe)
Jon Snow (GOT)
Arya Stark (GOT)
Tyrion Lannister (GOT)
Tagomi (Man in the High Castle)
Michael Scofield (Prison Break)
Angela (Watchmen)

Walter Bishop (Fringe)
Jon Snow (GOT)
Arya Stark (GOT)
Tyrion Lannister (GOT)
Tagomi (Man in the High Castle)
Michael Scofield (Prison Break)
Angela (Watchmen)

How is Watchmen bro? Bingeworthy? I really liked the movie.

I have just watched two series on Netflix. You and Sex Ed. Season 1 of You was amazing but I didn't like the second season and Sex Ed was so-so.

The Third, Fourth and Ninth Doctors (Doctor Who)
Captain Furillo (Hill St Blues)
Walter / Heisenberg
BoJack Horseman
Ser Jorah Mormont (GoT)
Rick Sanchez (Rick and Morty)
Silvio (Sopranos)

The Third, Fourth and Ninth Doctors (Doctor Who)
Captain Furillo (Hill St Blues)
Walter / Heisenberg
BoJack Horseman
Ser Jorah Mormont (GoT)
Silvio (Sopranos)

Rick Sanchez is a legend. Up there with Homer Simpson as one of the best animated characters of all time. Silvio Dante is my third favorite character from the show after Tony and Paulie. GOT had about a dozen characters that I really liked but the pathetic last season completely ruined my interest and excitement about the show. For some reason I never really understood the hype behind Dr Who, I liked Fringe and Lost more.

Anyone watching 'His Dark Materials' in HBO? [MENTION=7774]Robert[/MENTION] [MENTION=137142]JaDed[/MENTION] [MENTION=17315]Stewie[/MENTION]

Nope on Mr.Robot right now and when it gets intense then I go for Chuck(light hearted)

I watched Chuck long back solely for Yvonne Strahovski, one of the most beautiful women I have ever seen on television. My one and only celebrity crush till date lol.

Carol (The Walking Dead)

Wow to each his own I guess. I found her acting annoying and felt her transformation from a feeble helpless women to a bada$$ fighter and cunning schemer was too over the top and one of the weakest parts of the writing.

Well Everyone has their own liking,Same I can say about Nora Durst.

Rick Sanchez is a legend. Up there with Homer Simpson as one of the best animated characters of all time. Silvio Dante is my third favorite character from the show after Tony and Paulie. GOT had about a dozen characters that I really liked but the pathetic last season completely ruined my interest and excitement about the show. For some reason I never really understood the hype behind Dr Who, I liked Fringe and Lost more.

Well, the Doctor is basically Rick but instead of alcoholic and self-loathing, is selfless and heroic and just wants to help people who are in trouble. S/he is the person a lot of us aspire to be.

I never really liked righteous, knight in the shining armor type characters sir. I feel they lack depth, are predictable due to having homogeneous set of traits, uninteresting and bore me to death. I like characters with shades and who are morally ambiguous. I personally never felt the urge to look up to imaginary TV characters for inspiration.

I totally understand. My wife made me watch Prem Ratan Dhan Payo and I still haven't forgiven her for that.

The first Bollywood movie that i watched in cinema was Jagga Jasoos, my friend forced me that day, it was like couple of years back and i haven't been to cinema after that, I am still in trauma.

Vampire diaries was a show which I thought was good once, could had been if it was only one season long, I watched it long enough to see it become stupid along with originals.

The cheesiness of vampire shows is so annoying, even the movies Queen of the damned, underworld i wonder if i would like it anymore.

Vampire circus as a kid was a scary movie..

It’s about the character I like, not the one I loathe.

Mazak kar raha tha bhai, but Damon did equally despicable things as Klaus if not more in the first season if I remember correctly, it's been quite some time since I watched VD.

Anyways if you liked VD you'd probably like True Blood too. Darker and more adult oriented contents. You could give it a watch if you haven't already.

Vampire diaries was a show which I thought was good once, could had been if it was only one season long, I watched it long enough to see it become stupid along with originals.

The cheesiness of vampire shows is so annoying, even the movies Queen of the damned, underworld i wonder if i would like it anymore.

Vampire circus as a kid was a scary movie..

VD was cheesy af but it did have it's moments and some of the characters were really likable. It was my guilty pleasure show back then. Have you watched 'the Originals' though? Revolves around the Michaelson siblings, much darker, better written and acted than VD.

Yeah in the post ‘originals’ was referring to that, and again good for one season, was better but again, conceptually it just bored me to the core.

I think 2011-2012 my choices started to change a lot..
I lost interest in vampire shows, how I met your mother , Big bang theory etc.. I was still watching it here and there but just prefer comedy nowadays esp the ones that don’t take itself that seriously...

Yeah in the post ‘originals’ was referring to that, and again good for one season, was better but again, conceptually it just bored me to the core.

I think 2011-2012 my choices started to change a lot..
I lost interest in vampire shows, how I met your mother , Big bang theory etc.
. I was still watching it here and there but just prefer comedy nowadays esp the ones that don’t take itself that seriously...

Ditto.

I used to watch teen dramas back then, mostly because my taste wasn't refined. Then somehow I stumbled upon Deadwood and discovered the wild west beyond the smokescreen of Hollywood westerns. That was the first time I realized how brutally honest and powerful a show can be, first time I understood that the range and potential of TV is infinite. It really had a profound impact on my taste and overall outlook. Then one of my gym buddies suggested Sopranos, the Wire and GOT, I never really stopped after that.

I started it but then got sidetracked. It has potential.
The movie was done badly but the Source material is decent.

My wife and I wee binging Dark, the German drama on Netflix. Pretty good, I would say!

I started it but then got sidetracked. It has potential.
The movie was done badly but the Source material is decent.

My wife and I wee binging Dark, the German drama on Netflix. Pretty good, I would say!

Dark is a hidden gem. It took it's time building up the mystery and tension but royally paid off in the end.

Not sure if you are into zombie stuff but I would still suggest 'Kingdom'. A Korean zombie thriller set against the backdrop of Joseon period. Another hidden gem, binge it when you get a chance. A true zombie horror, far better than the Walking dead crap. [MENTION=17315]Stewie[/MENTION]

Howard Wolowitz(Big bang theory)
Stuart(Big bang theory)

Joey tribbiani(friends)
Alex Mahone(Prison break)
Edmund blackadder(GOAT) (blackadder back and forth)
Melchett(blackadder)

Jake(two and a half men)
Patrick Jane(the mentalist)

Yogi bhaiya(tvf Pitchers, web series)
Munna bhaiya(Mirzapur, web series).

Snoop - The Wire
Walter White - Breaking Bad
Jesse - Breaking Bad
Christopher - Sopranos
Shane - Walking Dead
Catelyn Stark - GOT
Debra Morgan - Dexter

Tony Soprano and Paulie (The Sopranos)
Chuck Rhoades (Billions)
Sherlock
Frasier
Luther
Mcgyver
Kitt (Knight Rider)
Fonzie (Happy Days)
Jack Bauer (24)
JR Ewing (Dallas)
Dowager Countess (Downton Abbey)
Smithy (Gavin and Stacey)
Ali Nadim(Mind your language)
Elizabeth Jennings (The Americans)
Kramer (Seinfeld)

Walter White, Ragnor, Floki, Lagertha, Elliot Anderson, Kate Austen and Xena Warrior Princess

Yeah forgot about floki and Ragnar.. in some ways Mr.Robot has psychological similarities to Vikings , not sure why..

TV has become so dark

Floki is my favorite character from the show, them Skarsgard's are all fine actors, even Bill is doing great acting-wise of late.

Got to say I do love Elliott Anderson from Mr Robot, but I also really like Darlene and Angela as well. Really intriguing characters all of them.

What about Apu? Thought you would have loved that character.

He would be up there, but in the current PC atmosphere I am hesitant to include him. I feel he has got a bad rap because a few Indians didn't like being represented by him. My take on it is that was more the fault of other producers who failed to make more heroic Indian characters. Apu himself was a beautiful character in his own right.

Dark is a hidden gem. It took it's time building up the mystery and tension but royally paid off in the end.

Not sure if you are into zombie stuff but I would still suggest 'Kingdom'. A Korean zombie thriller set against the backdrop of Joseon period. Another hidden gem, binge it when you get a chance. A true zombie horror, far better than the Walking dead crap. [MENTION=17315]Stewie[/MENTION]
Thankss added to the list..

Lately in Netflix I have seen some interesting shows pop up. October faction was one of them. Ragnarok (i believe it’s Norwegian) wasn’t that good but not bad to kill time.

I wish they would make another season of Watchmen. It was hands down the best show of the recent lot.

Yeah forgot about floki and Ragnar.. in some ways Mr.Robot has psychological similarities to Vikings , not sure why..

TV has become so dark

Ragnor character is so under rated imo, the stuff towards the end especially was incredible culmination of his journey in general as he challenged his own identity, faith and views up until the very end; the final stand was partly premeditated. Floki has seen similar development, am curious to see what they do with him during the final stretch. Yes TV is quite gritty now, I've never seen a show like Mr Robot before; surely has to be the best psychological thriller ever among the TV shows

Floki is my favorite character from the show, them Skarsgard's are all fine actors, even Bill is doing great acting-wise of late.

Yes Floki was tremendous, the guy playing him is outstanding; I didn't overly favour first Icelanders storyline but he performed very well and it helped his own individual progress

Homer Simpson (The Simpsons)
Montgomery Burns (The Simpsons)
Charlie Harper (Two And a Half Men)
Chandler Bing (Friends)
Larry David (Curb Your Enthusiasm)
Leon Black (Curb Your Enthusiasm)
Kendall Roy (Succession)
Louis Litt (Suits)
Brian and Stewie Griffin (Family Guy)

Ragnor character is so under rated imo, the stuff towards the end especially was incredible culmination of his journey in general as he challenged his own identity, faith and views up until the very end; the final stand was partly premeditated. Floki has seen similar development, am curious to see what they do with him during the final stretch. Yes TV is quite gritty now, I've never seen a show like Mr Robot before; surely has to be the best psychological thriller ever among the TV shows

I have been quietly watching Vikings for a few months after initially ignoring it following the first couple of episodes which were good, but I had other stuff I wanted to watch first. It has grown on me a lot. The acting and dialogue is a bit wooden at times, but the story itself is so fascinating. Viking values seem quite familiar to us British Pakistanis.

Cosmo Kramer (Seinfeld)
Walter White (Breaking Bad)
Jimmy McGill/Saul Goodman (Better Call Saul)
Robb Stark (GOT)
Kevin Garvey (The Leftovers)

I have been quietly watching Vikings for a few months after initially ignoring it following the first couple of episodes which were good, but I had other stuff I wanted to watch first. It has grown on me a lot. The acting and dialogue is a bit wooden at times, but the story itself is so fascinating. Viking values seem quite familiar to us British Pakistanis.

Yes many people have said the same, where at first Vikings isn't easy to get into but you'd be making a mistake not to persist with it because it is a truly ground breaking show and the best ever produced by History Channel imo. It is a little bit of a slow burner early on but those quiter moments are where the characters really develop and the pay offs are brilliant and tbh I understand what you mean about things being wooden but you know what partly it is due to the Scandinavian accent which we're not accustomed to but that's just how they communicate in that part of the world, authenticity is what they've gone for and hadn't thought about that but you're actually correct on that point I totally relate to their values and there are so many similarities

I forgot to mention some of my favorite Star Trek characters (me being a Trekkie and all)

Picard tops the list.. the show is a mixed bag but Picard is awesome!

Data
Benjamin Sisko
Spock

The TNG episode where Spock and Picard meet is one of my all time favorites.

Homer Simpson (The Simpson)
Bojack Horseman (Bojack Horseman)
Maurice the Hormone Monster (The Big Mouth)
Joey Tribbiani (Friends)
Batman (The Batman Animated Series & The New Batman Animated Series) 1992-1999
Cyborg & Beast Boy (Teen Titans) 2003-2006
Levi Ackerman (Attack on Titan)
Peter Griffin (Family Guy)

Cosmo Kramer (Seinfeld)
Walter White (Breaking Bad)
Jimmy McGill/Saul Goodman (Better Call Saul)
Robb Stark (GOT)
Kevin Garvey (The Leftovers)

Kramer was absolutely great; however, Newman was something else. He didn't appear that often but boy whenever he did, it was something else.
I absolutely loved how Wayne Knight played it, and made it such a memorable role.

On a side note, my son and I, laughed a lot at Mr. Johnson's character in Sesame street. It was so nicely played. The dialogues, the tone and the character in whole was played absolutely beautifully.

Kramer was absolutely great; however, Newman was something else. He didn't appear that often but boy whenever he did, it was something else.
I absolutely loved how Wayne Knight played it, and made it such a memorable role.

On a side note, my son and I, laughed a lot at Mr. Johnson's character in Sesame street. It was so nicely played. The dialogues, the tone and the character in whole was played absolutely beautifully.

I also loved Newman, probably my 3rd favorite character of the show ( behind Kramer and Costanza). Jerry himself is my least favorite character.

on a side note, Seinfeld is a huge Superman fan. So when he imagined the interaction between his character and Newmann, he tried to recreate the relationship dynamic between Superman and Lex Luthor, How the two hate each other but often times have to put up a facade of getting along or exchanging pleasantries just for the sake of appearances. Truly fascinating and hilarious!

Yep, it always started with the classic "Heellooo Newman" by Jerry, and that Newman's laugh was epic.

Yes many people have said the same, where at first Vikings isn't easy to get into but you'd be making a mistake not to persist with it because it is a truly ground breaking show and the best ever produced by History Channel imo. It is a little bit of a slow burner early on but those quiter moments are where the characters really develop and the pay offs are brilliant and tbh I understand what you mean about things being wooden but you know what partly it is due to the Scandinavian accent which we're not accustomed to but that's just how they communicate in that part of the world, authenticity is what they've gone for and hadn't thought about that but you're actually correct on that point I totally relate to their values and there are so many similarities

I actually developed a bit of a man-crush for Ragnar, you can understand why he became a cult hero for all other Vikings in the show. I was gutted when the end came, almost made me want to watch the first season again to see the legend in his prime.

Yes very likeable character and macho, what made him different was his open outlook and he always seemed to question his views up until the very end, do you feel like he believed in all his speech before going down or was it more of a political move ? that's probably my favourite episode but also sad how the defeat in France I think left him, was in isolation a long time and everyone had abandoned him apart from Ivar

I think that is why I liked him to be honest, I could never really tell what he believed from one day to the next. On the one hand he was dabbling with Christianity, the next day he would be instructing his sons to return and seek vengeance on the Christian kings of England. I found his character to be quite laid back and humorous a lot of the time, not so much of the overt macho crap you would get in something like 300.