Your favourite Bollywood song of all time?

marlonbrowndo

Pick just one. If I had to pick I'd say its

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/kooq2WqEdG8" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Its unfortunate how many garbage songs are becoming popular these days. Shallow songs aimed at shallow people. For example look at stuff like 'abhi toh party shuru hui hai'. What kind of trash is this and why do people enjoy listening to this mindless garbage?

The song I chose above is the epitome of beautiful vocals and perfect lyricism. So deep and emotional. Most people today with their short attention spans won't really appreciate stuff like this though.

What's with this sudden love for bollywood? Considering moving to Mumbai instead of hollywood ? :afridi

I have always loved Indian and Pakistani music. I think Bollywood is mostly mediocre, however I figured since I've seen every good Hollywood movie, I should watch some Bollywood classics and I've really enjoyed the few there are.

Ok, this song is the only Indian song in my Spotify.

For some weird reason absolutely love the lyrics.

Chal Chal Mereh Hathi Oh Mereh Sathi ! :yk I sing it to [MENTION=47617]Red Devil[/MENTION] all the time :)))

Chaiyaaah! Chaiyaaah! The GOAT !!!

Churaliya hai tu ne is Dil Ko

Kuch Kuch Hotah Hai

Hareh Hareh Harai

Duleh Ka Sehra suhana lagta hai

Tujeh Dekah toh yai janah sanam

Mai Nikalah Birimingham sai rasteh par Gujar Khan ayaaaah mai utheh dil choooe ayaaaaah! [MENTION=47617]Red Devil[/MENTION]

Love this: Tu CHEESE bari hai MAST MAST!

All the Veer Zara and Duplicate ones

Pyar Kia To Darna Kya Hai
Sandese Aate Hain
Chode Aaye Hum
Kyu Kise Ko
Tera Gham Mera Ghum
Ordani

Maybe many of you guys are too young to know this song but to me this is my all time favourite.

I listened to this song when I was young and I still listen to it

Baharon Phool Barsao - Suraj

Another golden oldie

Kabhi Kabhi Mere Dil Mein Khayal Aata Hai

Ajnabi Shehar by Sonu Nigam is one of most underrated songs of this generation. And Jan-E-Man is the one single most underrated film of Bollywood of ALL time. Unarguably, Salman Khan's BEST EVER movie. It's a pity such great films go unnoticed and Salman Khan is reduced to doing the likes of 'Kick' and 'Wanted' which basically have no plot but the public gets to see a bunch of fighting, a lovemaking scene, an item song and Salman Khan's body.

Bollywood had the ability to be genuinely be great but unfortunately, the public (from both India and Pakistan) did not give them the comfort and Bollywood has been reduced to be a circus. Great movies go unnoticed, a couple of other such movies are 'Bombay Diaries' or 'Udaan'.

Ajnabi Shehar by Sonu Nigam is one of most underrated songs of this generation. And Jan-E-Man is the one single most underrated film of Bollywood of ALL time. Unarguably, Salman Khan's BEST EVER movie. It's a pity such great films go unnoticed and Salman Khan is reduced to doing the likes of 'Kick' and 'Wanted' which basically have no plot but the public gets to see a bunch of fighting, a lovemaking scene, an item song and Salman Khan's body.

Bollywood had the ability to be genuinely be great but unfortunately, the public (from both India and Pakistan) did not give them the comfort and Bollywood has been reduced to be a circus. Great movies go unnoticed, a couple of other such movies are 'Bombay Diaries' or 'Udaan'.

Udaan didn't go unnoticed bro,in terms of box office collection obviously but still better compared to many of the similar movies that get made,but it won a lot of awards.

Yeah but that is exactly my point. I couldn't care less about awards but the box office collection is very important because this is what encourages the director and producer to make more of such movies and inspires other young directors too. However, when they don't even make a fraction of what pointless movies earn, it is just simply disappointing and such movies are then just Indie projects and rare.

Good song but andaz apna apna is quite easily salman khans best movie

Yeah but that is exactly my point. I couldn't care less about awards but the box office collection is very important because this is what encourages the director and producer to make more of such movies and inspires other young directors too. However, when they don't even make a fraction of what pointless movies earn, it is just simply disappointing and such movies are then just Indie projects and rare.

It did actually,he(Vikram motwane) went on to form Phantom Productions with Vikas and Anurag

Imo Salman's best movie is Pyar Kiya to Darna Kya, in Andaaz Apna Apna way too many good characters along with Amir on otherside made Salman look like weakest after the actresses.

Yes he is the weakest male actor however what I mean is it is the greatest movie he has starred in

Salman's best movie is Wanted hands down.
This film completely changed his career graph.Before that he was a tier 2 hero with a fan following only among few teenage girls and bhaijaan types from obscure Muslim localities.Nobody took him seriously.But wanted turned him into a true superstar.The guy never looked back after that and his stature had only grown ever since.

Andaz apna apna is leagues above wanted as a movie though

The worst thing in that movie was the change of his hairstyle from one scene to another,not to forget he is badshah of South remakes and that's where it started.

But I can understand the fun and escapism in his movies,the alpha male crap what annoys me though he is compared to Dharmendra and Sunny Deol when he is not even close.

Andaz apna apna is leagues above wanted as a movie though
AAA is a classic.In my top 5 among the greatest comedies of all time.But Salman was simply awful in that one.His acting , expressions all looked out of place and not to mention the terrible hairstyle.Even the mahapurush guy who only appears for like 5 minutes had better screen presence than him.
Amir otoh was simply fantastic and proved why he is rated so high. :))) Gogoji apka ghaghra.
And since this thread is about bollywood songs , Ye rat aur Ye doori from AAA is among my favorites.

The worst thing in that movie was the change of his hairstyle from one scene to another,not to forget he is badshah of South remakes and that's where it started.

But I can understand the fun and escapism in his movies,the alpha male crap what annoys me though he is compared to Dharmendra and Sunny Deol when he is not even close.

He cleverly tapped into the south remake market and now is King of Bollywood thanks to them low quality remakes.
But say what you will , wanted was really funny and entertaining movie.A good time pass and deserve the accolades notwithstanding it being a copy from down south.

He cleverly tapped into the south remake market and now is King of Bollywood thanks to them low quality remakes.
But say what you will , wanted was really funny and entertaining movie.A good time pass and deserve the accolades notwithstanding it being a copy from down south.

Sadly true about wanted,it's like one of those movies where I couldn't understand why I enjoyed it.
Felt the same with Singh is King,Bahubali 2,Main tera Hero,Welcome,Housefull 2

Sadly true about wanted,it's like one of those movies where I couldn't understand why I enjoyed it.
Felt the same with Singh is King,Bahubali 2,Main tera Hero,Welcome,Housefull 2
Only liked Welcome out of these.Rest were just trash and wth is main tera hero lol.

Lol it's Varun Dhawan starter directed by his father.,it's funny no kidding and has 5.3 ratin in imdb
Can't stand that guy . Gayest looking hero from bollywood with a voice of 12 year old.
Had a misfortune to watch one of his movies 2-3 years ago whose name I can't remember.It had Alia Bhatt in it and I don't remember the last time I ever felt so bored and angry at the same time in the theatre.My gf loved it.Tells a lot about her IQ level.

Can't stand that guy . Gayest looking hero from bollywood with a voice of 12 year old.
Had a misfortune to watch one of his movies 2-3 years ago whose name I can't remember.It had Alia Bhatt in it and I don't remember the last time I ever felt so bored and angry at the same time in the theatre.My gf loved it.Tells a lot about her IQ level.
I liked Humpty Sharma ki Dhulaniya too,even the name of the movie was hilarious unless u r talking about Student of the year lol, although tbf he was good in Badlapur but again Nawaz took away all the credit.

I kinda like Varun coz he reminds me of Govinda,and for me in 90s Govinda was amazing.

I liked Humpty Sharma ki Dhulaniya too,even the name of the movie was hilarious unless u r talking about Student of the year lol, although tbf he was good in Badlapur but again Nawaz took away all the credit.

Yeah that Humpty Sharma one.
Had a strong urge to just puch him in his stupid face and walk out of the cinema.
Used to watch a lot of bollywood before 2010 but not anymore.They have gone from worse to simply awful .

Yeah that Humpty Sharma one.
Had a strong urge to just puch him in his stupid face and walk out of the cinema.
Used to watch a lot of bollywood before 2010 but not anymore.They have gone from worse to simply awful .

I don't watch in theater anymore but do try to catch em up online ,somehow I have started liking the mindless comedies which are not vulgar,not sure why find them funny like the Will Ferrel movies ,guilty pleasure.

JEESUS !! another thread .. ? This is going out of hand !!

1qzvcp.jpg
[MENTION=130700]TM Riddle[/MENTION] , [MENTION=139150]aliasad1998[/MENTION] you guys have been at this for weeks! :D

Just post your favorite man :afridi

No questions , this is my fav :

Perfect blend of North & South talent : Fantastic Urdu lyrics by Gulzar , music by a South Indian (Mallu-Tamil) muslim (A.R Rahman), and surreal cinematography by our own Santhosh Sivan .

Chaiyaaah! Chaiyaaah! The GOAT !!!

Churaliya hai tu ne is Dil Ko

Kuch Kuch Hotah Hai

Hareh Hareh Harai

Duleh Ka Sehra suhana lagta hai

Tujeh Dekah toh yai janah sanam

Mai Nikalah Birimingham sai rasteh par Gujar Khan ayaaaah mai utheh dil choooe ayaaaaah! [MENTION=47617]Red Devil[/MENTION]

Love this: Tu CHEESE bari hai MAST MAST!

All the Veer Zara and Duplicate ones
[MENTION=140459]SandyB[/MENTION] just had to copy and paste my no.1 choice :afridi

@<a href="http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/member.php?u=140459" target="_blank">SandyB</a>

Crappy song. Ash's greatest in this , no questions asked !

Been a lifelong fan of Ash since then !!! Never has that woman looked more alluring on screen !

[MENTION=140459]SandyB[/MENTION] just had to copy and paste my no.1 choice :afridi

[MENTION=46929]shaz619[/MENTION] you just poached 2 names from my top 10 :P

1. Chaiyya Chaiyya - (Dilse)
2. Tu Cheez Badi hai Mast - (Mohra)
3. Chura Ke Dil Mera - (Main Khiladi Tu Anari)
4. Pehla Nasha - (Jo Jeeta)
5. Tanha Tanha - (Rangeela)
6. Ik Pal Ka Jeena - (Kaho Naa Pyaar Hai)
7. Oh Oh Jaane jaana - (Pyar Kiya to Drana Kya)
8. Duniya Haseeno Ka mela - (Gupt)
9. Woh Lamhe (Zeher)
10. Sona Kitna Sona Hai (Hero No. 1)

Crappy song. Ash's greatest in this , no questions asked !

Been a lifelong fan of Ash since then !!! Never has that woman looked more alluring on screen !

It's not bad at all, the dancing is amazing to and she looked incredible :afridi

Talat Mehmood's "chalo ek baar fir se ajnabi ban jaaye hum dono". What a song!

Not my favourite but right up there. I dont have 1 most favourite song. There are lots of songs that i like.

There was this song from the movie naajayaz "abhi zinda hu to jee lene do, bhari barsaat main pi lene do". Terrific song which i used to put on repeat about 10 years ago. I'm not a drunkard by the way :yk

These are songs from movies which were made before i was born but i think they are all time classics.

These days i think Buleya was a great song from the movie ae dil hai mushkil.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/g0eO74UmRBs" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Hard To pin down on my favourite song as my playlist has over 700 Bollywood songs lol
But ill attempt top 10

1) Tu cheez Badi hai mast
2) Khuda Jane
3) Tu hai wohi
4) Pehla Nasha
5) Do pal rukha
6) saada Haq
7) pyar kiya to nibhana
8) Tum lakh chupe ho
9) Teri Ore
10) Mein teri mohabbat Mein

Very tough to pick one. Every other song of Rafi or SD are legendary. But these are the ones I like listening to the most

Any song from Pyaasa
Na tum hamein jaano
Mujhe tum nazar se gira to rahe ho
Rang aur noor ki baraat
Chalo ek baar phir se
Mein ye soch kar
Chaudvin ka chand ho
Din dhal jaye haye raat na jaye
Yeh raat yeh chandni phir kaha
Suhani raat dhal chuki
Ketaki gulab juhi
Abhi na jao **** kar
Kisi ki muskurahaton pe so nisar
Mujhe raat din ye khayal hai
Dost dost na raha
Yeh raaten ye mausam
Dheere dheere chal chand gagan mein

As you can see, I mostly like sad love songs from the 50s/60s by Rafi, Hemant Kumar, Mukesh, SD, Shankar Jaikishan, Ravi and Sahir.

I don't listen to most Bollywood songs that come out these days (although there are a few exceptions, like Phir Bhi Tumko Chahunga, Aayat, Aaj Ibaadat etc).

Bollywood songs have gone down the drain, both in terms of music and lyrics. Most of it sounds like autotune and a hundred random instruments put together, and the lyrics seem like a child wrote them. From "pedo ke shakon pe soyee soyee chandni, tere khayalon mein khoyee khoyee chandni, aur thodi der mein thak ke lot jayegi, raat ye bahar ki phir kabhi na ayegi" we're gone to "high heels te nache". I don't understand why they are so popular.

Talat Mehmood's "chalo ek baar fir se ajnabi ban jaaye hum dono". What a song!

Not my favourite but right up there. I dont have 1 most favourite song. There are lots of songs that i like.

There was this song from the movie naajayaz "abhi zinda hu to jee lene do, bhari barsaat main pi lene do". Terrific song which i used to put on repeat about 10 years ago. I'm not a drunkard by the way :yk

These are songs from movies which were made before i was born but i think they are all time classics.

These days i think Buleya was a great song from the movie ae dil hai mushkil.

Chalo ek baar phir se was by the legendary Mahendra Kapoor.

The sheer number of Kishore songs in this thread alone just prove my point that he is simply the best Indian singer of all time

Chura ke dil mera guriya chali - Kumar Sanu

Not sure why this song immediately came to mind when I thought about my favorite Bollywood song of all times. Just that I think this song very accurately and completely characterizes Bollywood songs as a whole in my opinion. Its a fun song with catchy beats and lyrics that immediately get stuck to ones brain like chewing gum and even after the initial rush is gone and you've come to realize the shallow and formulaic nature of this commercialized product consisting of nothing more than cheap and stale ingredients, its just impossible to get it completely out of one's head.

Once you've consumed it, it acts like a stubborn virus or parasite, permanently residing in your grey matter and going to the grave with you. If you are unlucky, it may even come back to the surface and start ringing in your ears as you take your final breath. That to me is characteristic of a great Bollywood song.

Chura ke dil mera guriya chali - Kumar Sanu

Not sure why this song immediately came to mind when I thought about my favorite Bollywood song of all times. Just that I think this song very accurately and completely characterizes Bollywood songs as a whole in my opinion. Its a fun song with catchy beats and lyrics that immediately get stuck to ones brain like chewing gum and even after the initial rush is gone and you've come to realize the shallow and formulaic nature of this commercialized product consisting of nothing more than cheap and stale ingredients, its just impossible to get it completely out of one's head.

Once you've consumed it, it acts like a stubborn virus or parasite, permanently residing in your grey matter and going to the grave with you. If you are unlucky, it may even come back to the surface and start ringing in your ears as you take your final breath. That to me is characteristic of a great Bollywood song.

It ain't that bad. I feel the lyrics are pretty meaningful for a Bollywood song , and in the traditional sense you live the song more for the words than the beats.

The sheer number of Kishore songs in this thread alone just prove my point that he is simply the best Indian singer of all time

People from the 70s onwards seem to prefer Kishore, but almost everyone I know before that do not seem as fond of him. I keep hearing stories from my parents and grandparents that films back then used to run just on four names: Rafi, SD and Shankar Jaikishan. No doubt in my mind that Rafi is the greatest singer in the history of the Indian film industry. I can't think of a song by Kishore Kumar that comes close to "mann re tu kahe na dheere dhare" or many others. Of course, it is all about opinion, but I even prefer Hemant da over him.

Kishore Kumar's songs tend to be more fast paced too, which might cause them to be more popular, where as most of Rafi's best songs were "slow" and more melodious.

It ain't that bad. I feel the lyrics are pretty meaningful for a Bollywood song , and in the traditional sense you live the song more for the words than the beats.

That's certainly the case nowadays, when a catchy beat is all that's needed. But going back to Sahir, Shailendra, Shakeel Badayuni, Kaifi Azmi, Sultanpuri etc, the lyrics were even more impactful than the music.

Easily this. Very nostalgic song. They played this in pretty much every wedding back in Karachi during late 90s and early 2000s.

Would've posted the original but it doesn't work on PP for whatever reason.

People from the 70s onwards seem to prefer Kishore, but almost everyone I know before that do not seem as fond of him. I keep hearing stories from my parents and grandparents that films back then used to run just on four names: Rafi, SD and Shankar Jaikishan. No doubt in my mind that Rafi is the greatest singer in the history of the Indian film industry. I can't think of a song by Kishore Kumar that comes close to "mann re tu kahe na dheere dhare" or many others. Of course, it is all about opinion, but I even prefer Hemant da over him.

Kishore Kumar's songs tend to be more fast paced too, which might cause them to be more popular, where as most of Rafi's best songs were "slow" and more melodious.

In terms of pure singing ability rafi is obviously the greatest of all time but the sheer amount of great songs by Kishore and his versatility are unmatched. He has sung every type of song there is, a song for every mood, every situation. It's not true that he only did fast songs. He could sing any kind of song. Many ignore him amazing songs are slow and melodious like you describe. Also was a much better playback singer than rafi. He changed his style up according to the type of actor and tone of the movie.

You say that Kishore couldn't sing "Mann re tu kahe na dheere dhare" but can Rafi sing songs like "neele neele ambar par", "aise na mujhe tum dekho" and "yeh lal rang kah mujhe chore ga". Kishore s delivery in those 3 songs and many others is just absolutely unreal. I've seen no other singer from anywhere produce that kind of magic.

I don't mean to disrespect Rafi who was a legend and probably the greatest singer to come out of the subcontinent in terms of coal ability. I used to prefer Rafi over Kishore myself when I started listening to Indian music but all in all, Kishores body of work and sheer versatility is unmatched by anyone else which puts him at the top for me.

In terms of pure singing ability rafi is obviously the greatest of all time but the sheer amount of great songs by Kishore and his versatility are unmatched. He has sung every type of song there is, a song for every mood, every situation. It's not true that he only did fast songs. He could sing any kind of song. Many ignore him amazing songs are slow and melodious like you describe. Also was a much better playback singer than rafi. He changed his style up according to the type of actor and tone of the movie.

You say that Kishore couldn't sing "Mann re tu kahe na dheere dhare" but can Rafi sing songs like "neele neele ambar par", "aise na mujhe tum dekho" and "yeh lal rang kah mujhe chore ga". Kishore s delivery in those 3 songs and many others is just absolutely unreal. I've seen no other singer from anywhere produce that kind of magic.

I don't mean to disrespect Rafi who was a legend and probably the greatest singer to come out of the subcontinent in terms of coal ability. I used to prefer Rafi over Kishore myself when I started listening to Indian music but all in all, Kishores body of work and sheer versatility is unmatched by anyone else which puts him at the top for me.

Many of his amazing songs*

Amazed how no one has mentioned this yet
Ranbir's acting was mind-blowing in this movie and this song specifically. And not to forget, Arijit's vocals add the perfect amount of pain to this amazing song. The lyrics are awesome as well and heartfelt from the beginning.

No questions , this is my fav :

Perfect blend of North & South talent : Fantastic Urdu lyrics by Gulzar , music by a South Indian (Mallu-Tamil) muslim (A.R Rahman), and surreal cinematography by our own Santhosh Sivan .

I always wondered how the hell they are jumping and dancing on such a moving trai? Brilliant song and beautiful picturisation (I guess it's Ooty train).

This song was also used in the intro of the hollywood movie Inside Man.

Amazed how no one has mentioned this yet
Ranbir's acting was mind-blowing in this movie and this song specifically. And not to forget, Arijit's vocals add the perfect amount of pain to this amazing song. The lyrics are awesome as well and heartfelt from the beginning.

It's a decent song but I couldn't find this "mind blowing" acting that you speak of. Is this how low the standards are among desi people for what kind of acting is considered great

I always wondered how the hell they are jumping and dancing on such a moving trai? Brilliant song and beautiful picturisation (I guess it's Ooty train).

This song was also used in the intro of the hollywood movie Inside Man.

My second favourite A.R. Rahman song after Tanha Tanha from Rangeela. [MENTION=140459]SandyB[/MENTION]

Another movie theme music i like, RHTDM. Ignore Madhavan's cheesy dialogue.:D

It's a decent song but I couldn't find this "mind blowing" acting that you speak of. Is this how low the standards are among desi people for what kind of acting is considered great

Agreed. The song was good, but after watching the movie, the song was average for me. The movie was awful and I don’t understand how so many people rate it as their most favourite movie ever. A joke and disgrace to the industry if that’s the best

Dude, obviously if you're gonna compare this with Leo's acting in "Django Unchained" and "The Revenant" then its a no-brainer. But honestly speaking, in Bollywood, Ranbir Kapoor is one of the finest overall nowadays. Now I know you're gonna bombard me with movies starring Nawazuddin Siddiqui and Irrfan Khan but honestly they don't offer much in terms of looks or charisma (especially in Nawazuddin's case).

I think Ranveer Singh has left Ranbir behind since past 3-4 years. Ranbir's movies are constantly flopping whereas Ranveer;s going from strength to strength.

4 Years and still can't get over this song even with all the maudlin display of emotions.

Lol @ people calling 'Wanted' Salman's best movie. Acting wise Salman's best movie was 'Tere Naam' especially that last scene. Saajan, Hum Aapke Hai Kaun, Andaz Apna Apna, Bajrangi Bhaijan, Karan Arjun are way better than Wanted.

I think Ranveer Singh has left Ranbir behind since past 3-4 years. Ranbir's movies are constantly flopping whereas Ranveer;s going from strength to strength.

But I still strongly believe that Ranbir is a better, more versatile actor than Ranveer Singh. Though, I love Ranveer's playful nature.

Ranbir was trained in the Lee Strasberg school, and he does show glimpse of more talent, but Ranveer makes far more effort. Even with the goofy public persona, dude tries a much better variety of roles and does a lot to transform himself. Whereas Ranbir seems to be doing the SRK - mildly altering his on screen 'Persona' to suit the films, while effectively being himself.

You think of Ranbir and mostly the 'Yeh jawaani' type character comes to mind. But with Ranbir, there is the playboy role (Band baaja, Befikre) then his biopic roles etc etc, much more variety .

Another thing is about Ranbir having issues - the alleged drug abuse and womanising, compared to that Ranveer is much more stable , which makes him more likeable for production houses and filmmakers.

Fair enough. Although I consider Rafi more versatile in the sense that he has sung classical and ghazals to faster songs. That's not to say that I'm not a big fan of Kishore though.

Who do you think is the greatest Indian female singer? Can't think of anyone better that Geeta Dutt in my opinion. Her in "mujhko tum jo mile" is probably the best voice I've ever heard, male or female.

Fair enough. Although I consider Rafi more versatile in the sense that he has sung classical and ghazals to faster songs. That's not to say that I'm not a big fan of Kishore though.

Who do you think is the greatest Indian female singer? Can't think of anyone better that Geeta Dutt in my opinion. Her in "mujhko tum jo mile" is probably the best voice I've ever heard, male or female.

Lata and Asha for me. Shreya Ghoshal out of the new ones

I like the one about margaritta pizza, Tu Cheese Bari hai mast! Mast! [MENTION=47617]Red Devil[/MENTION]

Ranbir was trained in the Lee Strasberg school, and he does show glimpse of more talent, but Ranveer makes far more effort. Even with the goofy public persona, dude tries a much better variety of roles and does a lot to transform himself. Whereas Ranbir seems to be doing the SRK - mildly altering his on screen 'Persona' to suit the films, while effectively being himself.

You think of Ranbir and mostly the 'Yeh jawaani' type character comes to mind. But with Ranbir, there is the playboy role (Band baaja, Befikre) then his biopic roles etc etc, much more variety .

Another thing is about Ranbir having issues - the alleged drug abuse and womanising, compared to that Ranveer is much more stable , which makes him more likeable for production houses and filmmakers.
Can't the same SRK argument be used against Denzel?