‘I coloured my sword red’: Meet Delhi rioters who say they killed Muslims

Perhaps some of the Indians commenting on here should read/watch something other than Arnab Goswami drivel. Auntie ji's WhattsApp group might be good for learning how to make round rotis, but should most certainly not be your source for news. Your mind is starving for knowledge, it is unseemly. Here are the myriad (large word again I know, but I believe in you) of ways foreign media is covering your country:

https://foreignpolicy.com/2020/03/03/delhi-communal-violence-hindu-muslim-citizenship-law/

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/02/27/world/asia/india-violence-hindu-muslim.html

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2020...aves-thousands-displaced-200306085142137.html

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-51644861

https://www.theatlantic.com/ideas/archive/2020/02/what-happened-delhi-was-pogrom/607198/

https://www.npr.org/2020/02/29/8105...us-violence-doesn-t-meet-its-founder-s-vision

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-51719204

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/03/05/world/asia/india-violence-diplomacy.html

If you are an Indian Hindu living in India, now is your chance to live a brave life because there will be testing times ahead. Or you could continue living your life as weak-minded cowards. Your choice.

I guess Hindus really hate Muslims, Hindus are treated very fairly in Bangladesh. Some are even MPs and hold higher position government jobs. It's a shame Hindus wants to destroy such a peaceful religion. Rohingas and now this, Qayamat is near.

Oh yaar Muslims have committed plenty of crimes too. Just because we practice Islam does not mean "peace " is tattooed on our foreheads

I dont read any negative news published about my brothers :moyo it's haram. But it's shocking this is happening in India 2020 :facepalm: Hope our brothers are safe and seek refuge in other countries.

Lolol classy response, that made me laugh. I like your style.

But yes looking at the way Indian culture has gone in the last decade, it is no surprise honestly. Intolerance has become common place. I read today that a Kerala based news source was banned for 48 hours for incitiing communal violence. What a joke. Kerala Christians are probably some of the most authentic, humble, honest people on this earth. Yet yogi and Amit mishra left untouched

The indian southern states, and the people there in general identify strongly as South Indians and their culture and languages bind them together more strongly irrespective of religion, than North Indians.

I have met plenty of South Indian Hindus and they hold very different views of Pakistani. Even Bengalis are very fair because they are highly educated.

You see the extremism more in people from Gujarat, Maharashtra, UP, Punjab, Delhi, etc. that is why such incidents happen more in these states as well.

They were shut down because they highlightd hindu mobs rampaging through muslim areas and Delhi police's inaction (at best).

Channel's reporting on Delhi violence seems to be biased as it is deliberately focusing on the vandalism of CAA supporters. It also questions RSS and alleges Delhi Police inaction.

Read more at: https://english.manoramaonline.com/...dia-one-for-48-hours-delhi-riot-coverage.html

Why will anyone sue a flop writer who earns money by hindu bashing and whose credibility was thrown out by the supreme court. She couldn't produce anything in the court. Nothing.

It took 72 years for the ram mandir case to be judged. Indian judiciary is slow.

Justice delayed is justice denied. We are not talking about a land dispute, we are looking at mass murder.
All the perpetrators will die of old age rather than being convicted (any that). Expect them to be acquitted.
People like Baba Bajrangi, Pragya thakur et al will not see a single day convicted.

Whatever happened to Ankit Sharma who was stabbed more than 300 times and his dead body was found in a sewer.

Delhi Riots: Police arrests Shahnawaz for murder of Dilbar Negi

The Delhi police have apprehended an accused named Shahnawaz involved in the gruesome murder of 20-year-old Dilbar Singh Negi on February 24 during the Delhi Anti-Hindu riots. Dilbar Negi was brutally killed, as his limbs were chopped off from this body.

https://zeenews.india.com/video/ind...hnawaz-for-murder-of-dilbar-negi-2268422.html

Just look at the headline of the same news from Print. Not even taking the name of the accused and calling him Shiv Birar resident. Imagine if the killer was Hindu name....Print would highlight it in bold letters.

"Crime Branch arrests Shiv Vihar resident for murder of Uttarakhand man in Delhi riots" - the Print

https://theprint.in/india/crime-bra...der-of-uttarakhand-man-in-delhi-riots/377284/

Bunch of hypocrites. Silent majority watching though.

The Delhi police have apprehended an accused named Shahnawaz involved in the gruesome murder of 20-year-old Dilbar Singh Negi on February 24 during the Delhi Anti-Hindu riots. Dilbar Negi was brutally killed, as his limbs were chopped off from this body.

https://zeenews.india.com/video/ind...hnawaz-for-murder-of-dilbar-negi-2268422.html

Just look at the headline of the same news from Print. Not even taking the name of the accused and calling him Shiv Birar resident. Imagine if the killer was Hindu name....Print would highlight it in bold letters.

"Crime Branch arrests Shiv Vihar resident for murder of Uttarakhand man in Delhi riots" - the Print

https://theprint.in/india/crime-bra...der-of-uttarakhand-man-in-delhi-riots/377284/

The way it should be mate. When your country commits crimes of this level, at least have the shame to highlight who the wrongdoers are. Muslims are the victims here, not Hindus. Those are facts. World agrees, unfortunately.

I would point to the articles I posted earlier, would be a good place for you to start. Maybe you will understand the complex machinations of institutional disenfranchisement, but my hopes are low for someone who’s struggles reading “green eggs and ham”

They arrested the murderer though. Do you want the skinny RSS mob to go out and murder bunch of more helpless poor people? What do you mean by silent majority watching?

What a farce to call the riots anti-Hindu. Muslims had to defend themselves against the onslaught so inevitably some poor Hindus may have got killed in the melee.

But that statement right there just shows the attempts at the victim blaming and deflection tactics by Hindutvas and their sympathisers.

What a farce to call the riots anti-Hindu. Muslims had to defend themselves against the onslaught so inevitably some poor Hindus may have got killed in the melee.

But that statement right there just shows the attempts at the victim blaming and deflection tactics by Hindutvas and their sympathisers.
These pests at Zee have long been sanghi lapdogs...So take anything that comes out of their gutter mouths with a bucketful of salt...

Whatever happened to Ankit Sharma who was stabbed more than 300 times and his dead body was found in a sewer.

That needs to be investigated and perpetrators of the heinous crime brought to justice.
What begs to be asked is, what was he doing in a hot zone by himself. Based on the photos shared, he was not in uniform and alone? usually police would not venture in such situation unless in force?

Suspended AAP Councillor Tahir Hussain's Brother Arrested in Connection With Delhi Riots

New Delhi: The Delhi Police on Monday arrested the brother of suspended AAP councillor Tahir Hussain in connection with the violence in northeast Delhi last month, officials said.

Hussain's brother Shah Alam was arrested by the Crime Branch of the Delhi Police, they said.

Three other persons have also been arrested for allegedly sheltering Alam, police said.

Hussain was arrested by Delhi Police on Thursday after a court here dismissed his plea seeking to surrender before it in connection with the killing of Intelligence Bureau (IB) official Ankit Sharma during the violence in northeast Delhi over the new citizenship.

https://www.news18.com/news/india/s...d-in-connection-with-delhi-riots-2531819.html

Personally, even I didnt expect all the masks would be falling off so quickly. The narrative that they tried to create of it being an anti muslim riot has been shattered into pieces.

In all countries you will have nutters of various religions. It is sad to see such things happening on people but it hurts more I guess as I am a Muslim.

What is worrying that the police are not really doing anything to stop it and neither the people with power taking control of the situation

In all countries you will have nutters of various religions. It is sad to see such things happening on people but it hurts more I guess as I am a Muslim.

What is worrying that the police are not really doing anything to stop it and neither the people with power taking control of the situation

When these hoards of pathetic men go to a Muslim majority community, then Indian police is there to provide them security. Police is doing what Modi the Muslim Killer has ordered them to.

Its always worrying when you have a tyrant at the helm of it all.

Indian police deliberately targeted Muslims during Delhi riots: NYT report

A report published by the The New York Times on Thursday said that recent evidence suggests that New Delhi police "concertedly moved against Muslims" and "actively helped Hindu mobs" that targeted Muslims and their homes during the deadly riots that gripped the Indian capital last month.

At least 50 people were killed in Delhi's worst communcal violence in decades, over two-thirds of them from India's Muslim minority, according to hospital lists. Mosques were burnt and vandalised along with Hindu-owned shops and at least 15 Hindus were killed.

According to the publication, several videos have surfaced of Delhi police assaulting Muslims protesters, and urging Hindu mobs to join.

The report also quoted a police commander as saying that as the violence erupted — attributed to mostly Hindu mobs — officials were told to deposit their guns at the police station; NYT journalists later heard officials yelling to one another that they needed guns, not sticks, to confront the growing mobs.

It also highlighted that majority of those that were killed in the violent clashes were Muslims.

The report also accuses India's police force of being "politicised" by Modi's ruling Hindu-nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party, citing the example of a school principal who was jailed on sedition charges for staging a play about the country's new citizenship law.

“There’s a method to this madness,” the report quoted Umar Khalid, a Muslim activist, as saying. “The government wants to bring the entire Muslim community to their knees, to beg for their lives, and beg for their livelihoods.”

“You can read it in their books," he said. “They believe India’s Muslims should live in perpetual fear.”

Shahid Siddiqui, a former member of Parliament, was also quoted in the report as saying: "Indian police are extremely colonial and caste-ist."

Police behavior, he said, is always “more violent and aggressive toward the weak".

https://www.dawn.com/news/1540346/i...argeted-muslims-during-delhi-riots-nyt-report

‘When the riots broke out, he was in Guwahati jail. If he did it from the jail, then I think the jail authorities should also be questioned for their involvement,’ said the JNU student’s uncle.

The family members of Sharjeel Imam have opposed his arrest by the Delhi Police for his alleged involvement in riots in North-East Delhi in February this year.

The family’s contention is that Sharjeel was never released once he was arrested by the Delhi Police on January 20 from his home town in Jahanabad, Bihar, and the riots in North-East Delhi took place on February 24.

Communal riots had engulfed a large part of North-East Delhi for three days from February 24 after an ongoing protest against The Citizenship (Amendment) Act was passed in 2019. The communal mayhem witnessed over 50 deaths and hundreds injured.

“When the riots broke out, he was in Guwahati jail. If he did it from the jail, then I think the jail authorities should also be questioned for their involvement,” said Md. Aurangzeb Arman, Sharjeel's maternal uncle.

Expressing his deep anguish over the continuous harassment, he the whole family has been going through a traumatic time since Sharjeel was first arrested in December last year for allegedly causing violence in Jamia Milia Islamia University in Delhi. “Sharjeel is a thorough patriot who loves India from the core of his heart,” Arman said.

"He belongs to a good family. He is a well-read person. He is being punished for speaking out," Arman's younger brother said.

At present, Sharjeel is an accused in three different cases – (a) for a seditious and inflammatory speech at Jamia Millia Islamia on December 13, (b) for seditious speech in Aligarh Muslim University on January 16 and (c) for a ‘premeditated conspiracy’ in riots in North-East Delhi.

The Delhi Police had booked him for the first time for giving an allegedly seditious speech on December 13 which, police claimed, led to violence in the campus.

The police further alleged that after his release on bail, he gave an inflammatory and seditious speech at Aligarh Muslim University (AMU) on January 16 this year in which he, while protesting against the CAA, asked people to separate the North-Eastern states from the country.

Consequent to that, Police in five states - Delhi, Uttar Pradesh, Manipur, Assam and Arunachal Pradesh – lodged FIRs invoking various sections such as 124A (sedition), 153 A (promoting enmity between different groups on grounds of religion, race, place of birth, etc) and 505 (statements conducting to public mischief) among others.

Arman alleged that a part of about 42-minute long speech at AMU was taken out of context.

“He never made any seditious remark. He never asked people to cut off North-Eastern part from the country. He was opposing CAA which is not illegal at all. About 40 seconds of the whole speech was taken out of context and blown out of proportion. It is sad,” Arman said.

After FIRs lodged in the five states, Delhi Police arrested Sharjeel from Jahanabad in Bihar on January 28 this year and sent him to Guwahati Jail on February 20.

“On May 22, Guwahati High Court granted him a statutory bail, but since he had cases pending in other states, he remained in the jail. The Crime Branch of Assam Police failed to file a chargesheet against him within the stipulated 90-day time. It neither asked for an extension,” Arman said adding that he got bail from Arunachal Pradesh as well on the similar ground.

However, In Delhi, the trial court granted 90 more days to Delhi Police on June 25, to file a charge-sheet. Sharjeel opposed it in the Delhi High Court but the Court turned down his plea. “It is the same charge which the Assam police couldn’t file charge sheet for. But despite that, we have our faith in the judiciary and we hope that we will get justice one day,” Arman said.

Sharjeel's troubles multiplied further when the police filed a 600-page charge sheet in July in the Delhi riots case and alleged that he had hatched its conspiracy with others while holding protests against CAA. It has invoked the stringent anti-terror law, The Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Amendment Act.

The Delhi Police was supposed to bring him back for his trial in Delhi riots case from Guwahati on July 21, however, he tested Covid-19 positive and needed time to recover. On August 23, the Police brought him from Assam on the production warrant and produced him before the court through video conferencing. The court sent him to 4-day police custody.

On August 26, the Supreme Court also adjourned a plea by Sharjeel to club all five FIRs and investigate it at one place.

https://www.outlookindia.com/websit...ndia-from-the-core-of-his-heart-family/359414

Sharjeel Usmani, a third-year political science student was arrested in July in connection with violence that broke out during the anti-Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) protests on 15 December last year at Aligarh Muslim University. While speaking to Outlook, Usmani said that he doesn’t consider his release as a legal victory and urged the State to compensate and apologize for allegedly framing innocent citizens and putting them behind bars.

Q) You were released from Aligarh district jail after two months. Do you consider your release as a legal victory?

I will not call it a victory. There is nothing to celebrate because I lost three months and missed my exams. I didn’t commit any crime but the State did everything to keep me in prison. The State should not only compensate for my loss but also take action against the police officers who were involved in my illegal arrest.

There are many innocent people languishing in prison for many years. We have the example of Jamia Millia Islamia student Safoora Zargar. The state used the draconian Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act (UAPA) to keep her in jail for many months. She was released because of pressure from certain sections of the society. The State should be held responsible for putting innocent persons behind bars.

The courts and the judges have to ponder over the reason they are losing respect in the eyes of the public. I consider myself lucky that I was granted bail by the lower court. They couldn’t establish any charges against me. (But) For every privileged Sharjeel who comes out, hundreds of unprivileged innocent persons go to jail.

Q) Will you talk about your experience in jail? How has it changed you?

It’s well documented how Muslims are treated in prisons. I was treated in the same way as Muslim prisoners are treated in police custody. I don’t want to delve into details. I was kept in a barrack meant to host 42 people, along with 145 other inmates. Most of them were charged with rape, murder and other gruesome cases. The inmates recognised me from local newspapers and they used to refer to me as the “Shaheen Baghwala.” Once, when the inmates were watching a movie based on the 26 /11 Mumbai attack, some of them compared me with terrorist Ajmal Kazab and also commented that I will indulge in similar activities. I have realized that prison is a microcosm of the outer world in its crudest form.

Q) You were slapped with multiple charges and arrested by Anti- Terrorism Squad (ATS). Why do you think it was unfair?

The terror squad has nothing to do with anti- CAA protests or the cases that were slapped against me. Every Muslim youth in India is a potential terrorist in the eye of the State and it considers us as a threat to national security. My arrest was also a part of the larger witchhunt against activists from the Muslim community, who were part of the anti-CAA movement. After the AMU violence in December, the UP government charged me with the Goonda Act, which banned me from entering Aligarh district for six months. I never went into hiding and led a public life. I was active with anti-CAA protests and relief work for migrants. On July 8, I was arrested by policemen in plain clothes from my relative's place in Azamgarh. The police took me away to Lucknow when I stepped out of my house with friends. My family wasn’t even informed about the arrest or my whereabouts and all my belongings were confiscated.

Q) You were interrogated by ATS for almost 15 hours. What was the line of questioning?

Though they questioned me for long, it came as a shocker that they barely touched issues regarding anti-CAA protests or the AMU violence. They questioned me at length about my friends from Kashmir and my opinion on the Kashmir issue. They took the name of one Mujahedeen recruit from Nepal and inquired whether I knew him. I have also realized that there is no scope for personal privacy anymore. They had accessed my call recordings, chats, emails, bank account, and everything else. They probed me about the relationship with lawyers such as Rebecca John and Colin Gonsalves since I mentioned them in my phone conversations. They also asked me about Hyderabad MP Asaduddin Owaisi and journalist Rana Ayyub.

Q) Why do you feel that the Muslim community is being targeted?

There are more than one lakh cases registered against Muslims in connection with the anti- CAA protests in Uttar Pradesh alone. Even in the North-East Delhi riots, Muslims were killed and their houses were burnt. However, it’s the Muslims who are being framed for the violence. The State doesn’t see any value for our lives. We have to negotiate our rights with the State.

Dr. Kafeel Khan was arrested for the speech he delivered at AMU. At that particular event, Yogendra Yadav also gave a speech on similar lines. They came in the same car and they spoke at the same event. The fact that Kafeel Khan was charged with NSA for the speech shows the State’s prejudice against Muslims.

Q) Did the arrest dampen your spirits? Will you carry on the fight against the citizenship law?

If the witch-hunting was meant to scare, it has only made me bolder and stronger. I don’t regret my actions even for a moment. I am positive about the future of the anti-CAA movement. This isn’t a fight only to scrap the black law. It is also a struggle to restore our self-esteem. I am sure the movement will bloom again like wild mushrooms. Everyone has to come together in this battle.

https://www.outlookindia.com/websit...says-anti-caa-activist-sharjeel-usmani/360154

India ex-student leader arrested for alleged role in Delhi riots

Umar Khalid arrested under anti-terror law for making a speech during nationwide protests against a citizenship law.

A former student leader in India has been arrested for his alleged role in the deadly violence that broke out in the capital New Delhi in February, a move activists have dubbed "a witch-hunt exercise".

Ad
Umar Khalid, 33, was arrested on Sunday night under the stringent Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act (UAPA) in connection with the violence that left at least 53 people dead, most of them Muslims.

Legal experts have questioned the police's application of the UAPA on students and activists, as the law reduces the scope for bail, meaning jail terms without trial.

A number of other students and activists behind the nationwide peaceful protests against a controversial citizenship law have been arrested under the UAPA, which was passed last December.

The police instead of doing a fair investigation in the Delhi riots has turned it into an exercise of witch-hunt against anti-CAA protesters.

The Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA), which has been dubbed "fundamentally discriminatory" by the UN, fast-tracks citizenship for religious minorities from three neighbouring countries, but does not include Muslims.

Civil society group United Against Hate (UAH), of which Khalid is a member, said the former Jawaharlal Nehru University student has been "framed".

"Umar Khalid has been framed in the Delhi riots as a 'mastermind' by the Delhi Police. The police instead of doing a fair investigation in the Delhi riots has turned it into an exercise of witch-hunt against anti-CAA protesters," Nadeem Khan from UAH told Al Jazeera.

Demonstration against India's new citizenship law in New Delhi
The passing of the CAA sparked nationwide peaceful protests [File: Imtiyaz Khan/Anadolu]
"The police first misquoted Khalid's speeches to frame him and then tried to fabricate witnesses. This is a clear attempt to intimidate democratic voices of dissent into silence."

'Frame peaceful activists'
The arrest comes a day after Delhi Police filed cases against prominent activists and academics, accusing them of "provoking and mobilising" anti-CAA protesters.

So far, the police have filed more than 700 First Information Reports (FIRs) in connection with the riots, but activists say politicians from and supporters of the governing Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) who gave hate speeches were spared.

Instead of filing FIRS against those responsible who were actually responsible for the riots, cases are trying to implicate Umar Khalid and some other people

Violence broke out in February after a pro-CAA mob attacked peaceful protest site in northeast Delhi.

"It's a conspiracy by the police to frame peaceful activists in the guise of investigation," prominent lawyer Prashant Bhushan tweeted.

A Delhi Police spokesperson refused to comment on the issue but later shared a statement with Al Jazeera that said Khalid would be produced before the court on Monday.

Khalid's father Syed Qasim Rasool Ilyas told Al Jazeera that his son was interrogated for the entire day on Sunday. He was later arrested at 11pm local time. It's common in India for police to question suspects in a case before formal arrests.

In April, Khalid, who has a PhD on tribal rights, was charged under UAPA in another case related to the worst violence in the capital since anti-Sikh violence in 1984.

"The first FIR, which was filed long back, they have made Umar Khalid the main accused. So many charges were put against my son including sedition charges," Ilyas told Al Jazeera.

"It's known to everyone who started the riots, who were the people who made hate speeches, who were the main sufferers and who lost the property and lives. Instead of filing FIRS against those responsible for the riots, police are trying to implicate Umar Khalid and some other people."

Amnesty International India in its report published last month accused Delhi Police of "complicity and bias" in the February violence.

But the police have defended its investigation into the deadly riots for which they have arrested 1,575 persons. "Over 250 charge sheets have been filed in the riots related cases in which 1,153 accused (571 Hindus and 582 Muslims) have been charge-sheeted," the Delhi Police said in a statement on Sunday.

The police said that the accusations against them were "motivated".

https://www.aljazeera.com/amp/news/...00914082119111.html?__twitter_impression=true

This Sharjeel Imam guy’s arrest for threatening to block off the Siliguri Corridor shows how vulnerable the Humsaaya Mulk establishment feels about that strip of land, bravado notwithstanding. I’m sure the Chinese are watching. The Chicken’s Neck is truly an Achilles Heel... if you would pardon the mixed metaphor.

New Delhi: Supreme Court's two-judge vacation bench refused to stay Delhi High Court's order granting bail to Devangana Kalita, Natasha Narwal, and Asif Iqbal Tanha, in connection with Northeast Delhi violence on Friday.

The apex court issued notices to the three accused in the Delhi riots on an appeal filed by Delhi Police challenging the bail granted by Delhi HC to them. The top court refused to interfere in the bail order and said that the judgment of the Delhi High Court will not be treated as a precedent and not be relied upon by the parties before any court.

On Thursday, the three student activists were granted bail on personal bonds of Rs 50,000 and had been asked to surrender their passports. While challenging the bail granted by Delhi HC, the police said that the orders were given "without any foundation and appears to be based more on the social media narrative than the evidence gathered and elaborated in the charge sheet".

"Unfortunately, contrary to the evidence on record and the detailed oral and written submission made/filed, the High Court has decided the case in hand on a pre-conceived and a completely erroneous illusion, as if, the present case was a simply a case of protest by students," the police argued in their plea and alleged that the High Court conducted a 'mini trial' and recorded perverse findings 'contrary to record'.

While granting bail to the activists, a bench of justices Siddharth Mridul and Anup Jairam Bhambhani said - "We are constrained to express, that it seems, that in its anxiety to suppress dissent, in the mind of the State, the line between the constitutionally guaranteed right to protest and terrorist activity seems to be getting somewhat blurred. If this mindset gains traction, it would be a sad day for democracy."

https://www.timesnownews.com/delhi/...-devangana-kalita-and-asif-iqbal-tanha/772391