‘This Election Is About Hindus vs Muslims, Ram Mandir vs Babri Masjid’: Karnataka BJP MLA

Mian

https://www.thequint.com/news/politics/this-election-is-about-hindus-vs-muslims-karnataka-bjp-mla

“This election is not about road, gutter or drinking water… This election is about Hindus vs Muslims, Ram Mandir vs Babri Masjid.”

This is what the Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) Belagavi Rural (Mumbai-Karnataka region) MLA Sanjay Patil can be heard saying in a highly circulated video. The speech was part of his poll pitch on Tuesday, 17 April.

I am Sanjay Patil, I am Hindu, this is a Hindu rashtra and we want to build the Ram temple. If Lakshmi Hebbalikar says she can build the mandir – vote for her. They will build Babri Masjid instead. Whoever wants Babri Masjid, Tipu Jayanthi they should vote for the Congress. And who wants Shivaji Maharaj and Ram Mandir should vote for the BJP.

The Congress criticised the MLA, calling the BJP “communal”.

“This is how one digs one's own grave. In the case of BJP MLA mentioned below, it's @BJP4Karnataka's grave. Clearly, for BJP, it's not about development. It has always been about communal politics,” KPCC president G Parameshwara tweeted.

The BJP so far has been evasive over the MLA’s speech and is yet to condemn it. When TNM reached out to BJP spokespersons, they refused to comment.

Sanjay Patil was booked by police in November 2017 for his comments against CM SIddaramaiah during a public rally.

He had questioned Siddaramaiah’s religion while opposing his decision to hold Tipu Jayanti celebrations.

He was also in a controversy for allegedly speaking in favour of Maharashtra over a border dispute. However, he later apologised for his statement.

The Indians will be along shortly to tell us this guy is a Congress agent or some such :)))

So any muslim vote against BJP will be asked to go to Pakistan by BJP in secular India.

This stupidity will cost BJP. Good for secular fabric of India.

Yup.

That's what im hoping for.

BJP is misreading the mood of the nation i feel.

We are having job less growth, demo and gst implementation has hurt a lot of people.

BJP was needed to teach Congress a lesson in 2014.

Now hopefully we can go back to Congress in 2019 who are hungry to prove themselves.

Yup.

That's what im hoping for.

BJP is misreading the mood of the nation i feel.

We are having job less growth, demo and gst implementation has hurt a lot of people.

BJP was needed to teach Congress a lesson in 2014.

Now hopefully we can go back to Congress in 2019 who are hungry to prove themselves.

Congress is hungry to prove itself? Lol. If they were RaGa will not be leading them.

Bjp is shooting on its foot.. bjp ruled india only twice whereas congress ruled india like most of the time.
But but but how the hell we can let rahul gandhi our pm. He is really joke of the century man. What to do. Wish we had better options to choose from.

I am all for Nationalism as part of Election agenda. But pitting one Indian against other based on Religion is drainage level politics.

Hope BJP loses badly in Karnataka. People want development. Not caste or religion based dirty politics.

Bjp is shooting on its foot.. bjp ruled india only twice whereas congress ruled india like most of the time.
But but but how the hell we can let rahul gandhi our pm. He is really joke of the century man. What to do. Wish we had better options to choose from.

We have no option.

Its either communal BJP or Corrupt Congress led by Joker Gandhi or the 3rd front led by communist useless mafia and lallu/Mulayam Yadavs.

LOL! No option. I can take BJP or Congress. But not that 3rd front :ishant

We have no option.

Its either communal BJP or Corrupt Congress led by Joker Gandhi or the 3rd front led by communist useless mafia and lallu/Mulayam Yadavs.

LOL! No option. I can take BJP or Congress. But not that 3rd front :ishant

After the drama today. Congress is no more a option till Gandhi and his coterie are thrown out.

Thing is if one party courts one religion another will court the other.

This excuse is getting tiring, boring and played out.
There is no excuse to elect radical religious groups to run the country.

It's sad and funny how easily politicians manipulate (Sheeps) people.

Pakistani politicians always promise electricity and jobs. Same thing since '47.

MAGA style :yk

This excuse is getting tiring, boring and played out.
There is no excuse to elect radical religious groups to run the country.

A bit simplistic viewpoint my friend.

In a 2 party system (for all practical purposes), you can run out of options.

People vote for development (national scale). If radical elements focus on that with the ruling party floundering, guess who gets the votes.

A bit simplistic viewpoint my friend.

In a 2 party system (for all practical purposes), you can run out of options.

People vote for development (national scale). If radical elements focus on that with the ruling party floundering, guess who gets the votes.

Some how, had another party with no radical religious view won then Indian economy would have gone back to Stone Age?

This could've been our fate if not for the creation of Pakistan. Alhamdulillah!

Modi will rule India upto 2024
Then yogi vs congress in 2024

yogi adityanath? I won’t be surprised if he is elected due to his “economic policies”. Didn’t yogi recently lost to Samajwadi party?

The Congress are going to get butchered same time next month here in Karnataka.

Can't wait.

The Congress are going to get butchered same time next month here in Karnataka.

Can't wait.

I think Congress is going to surprise us,all they have to do is keep Rahul Gandhi away from campaigning.

Everybody knows what a duffer Rahul Gandhi is, whether he is campaigning or not.

The Congress stands no chance. Fully deserved too, seeing their lackluster performance across the board.

So any muslim vote against BJP will be asked to go to Pakistan by BJP in secular India.

Muslims always voted against BJP and still lives in India.Can you give the statistics for number of people migrated to Pakistan in last 4 years.

Congress does Muslim appeasement,BJP does Hindu appeasement.But now Congress started Hindu appeasement as well.So either way Hindus are here to stay in India irrespective of which party rules.

Muslims always voted against BJP and still lives in India.Can you give the statistics for number of people migrated to Pakistan in last 4 years.

Pretty much. Part of the reason why it has been so easy for political parties to bracket Muslims is because they vote as a block: there is little to no diversity in their opinions at all.

The end result? The BJP are happy to throw Muslims under the bus, and the Congress needn't bother either seeing that they are a captive votebank.

Pretty much. Part of the reason why it has been so easy for political parties to bracket Muslims is because they vote as a block: there is little to no diversity in their opinions at all.

The end result? The BJP are happy to throw Muslims under the bus, and the Congress needn't bother either seeing that they are a captive votebank.

Sad thing is Muslims along with Dalits are poorest among communities in India even after voting again and again to Congress.

No sympathy. They deserve it, expecting the Gandhi clan to uplift their lives for decades on end.

Here in India, nobody has stopped them from compiling a few leaders and making their own political party at state or national level, but they have not. Either too lazy, or too star struck at Sonia and Rahul. Probably both.

No sympathy. They deserve it, expecting the Gandhi clan to uplift their lives for decades on end.

Here in India, nobody has stopped them from compiling a few leaders and making their own political party at state or national level, but they have not. Either too lazy, or too star struck at Sonia and Rahul. Probably both.

Biggest problem with Indian Muslims is birth control.Lloks like religious beliefs doesn’t allow them to restrict kids to one or 2 even if they are pretty poor.How can any one feed 5/6 kids if they don’t have reliable income.Hope things change slowly.

Pretty incorrect,they don't always vote for congress,they just don't vote for BJP, there are various other parties in India from Congress,TMC,AAP,TDP,Dravidian,LEFT.

Just voting against BJP doesn't mean they vote as a bloc.

Congress does Muslim appeasement,BJP does Hindu appeasement.But now Congress started Hindu appeasement as well.So either way Hindus are here to stay in India irrespective of which party rules.

BJP also appeases UP with its Hindi language promotion,guess what UP might be there to stay,but so will entire South India.

Pretty incorrect,they don't always vote for congress,they just don't vote for BJP, there are various other parties in India from Congress,TMC,AAP,TDP,Dravidian,LEFT.

Just voting against BJP doesn't mean they vote as a bloc.

They vote for the Congress wherever feasible. Both the Congress and BJP aren't part of several states, so my point stands in the others where it's a head to head between these two. Like Karnataka.

In an ideal world, a section of Muslims should vote for the BJP / Trump / Conservative party in the UK, etc. It'll throw a political curveball and come the next elections, the party will have to do some appeasement to retain that votebank, and the Congress / Democrats / Labour will have to really roll up their sleeves to 're-capture' said votebank.

Win-win.

They vote for the Congress wherever feasible. Both the Congress and BJP aren't part of several states, so my point stands in the others where it's a head to head between these two. Like Karnataka.

In an ideal world, a section of Muslims should vote for the BJP / Trump / Conservative party in the UK, etc. It'll throw a political curveball and come the next elections, the party will have to do some appeasement to retain that votebank, and the Congress / Democrats / Labour will have to really roll up their sleeves to 're-capture' said votebank.

Win-win.

Conservatives associate themselves with religion,so if you notice they vote for conservatives in Muslim Majority countries example: Malaysia,Indonesia,Maldvies etc.

Why would they vote for conservatives which are inclined to other religions in a major way example TRUMP(coz Mike Pence),BJP(Hindu right wing).

And they were voting for conservatives in UK before it went biased again.

Why would they vote for conservatives which are inclined to other religions in a major way example TRUMP(coz Mike Pence),BJP(Hindu right wing).

Because:

1. Get on the bandwagon. Trump and the BJP were going to win their respective elections anyway.
2. Sonia Maino and Hilary Clinton are witches who have never done anything for them.
3. 'Infiltrating' these political parties gives you an opportunity to change the system from the inside, and hopefully make it more Muslim friendly if that's what is needed.
4. Come the next elections as mentioned, Trump and the BJP will throw a few bones their way to retain this unexpected votebank. Hilary and the Congress will do likewise as per usual.

Congress is ready to attack every institution in this country to stay in.power.

EVMs
Election commision
President
Speaker
Parliament
Army

And now even judiciary.

All their loyalties lie to the family.

There is no way i will vote for them ever.

Congress is ready to attack every institution in this country to stay in.power.

EVMs
Election commision
President
Speaker
Parliament
Army

And now even judiciary.

All their loyalties lie to the family.

There is no way i will vote for them ever.

Even if you voted for Congress they will never come into power thanks to:

• Rahul-Sonia-Gandhi.jpg
    Rahul-Sonia-Gandhi.jpg
    25.3 KB · Views: 286
Same old non sense being going on since decades.. BJP, congress or third front all are useless and only care about filling their own pockets.. No gives two hoots about the country not even its citizens, people hate political parties since they exploit the nation more than they can..

NOTA for me in 2019 and maybe till 2023 I lose the 0.1% hope I have and stop voting altogether..

Same old non sense being going on since decades.. BJP, congress or third front all are useless and only care about filling their own pockets.. No gives two hoots about the country not even its citizens, people hate political parties since they exploit the nation more than they can..

NOTA for me in 2019 and maybe till 2023 I lose the 0.1% hope I have and stop voting altogether..

We're way ahead of you there, hardly anyone here has voted after '87 :ksi

Kashmir is supposed to be the crown, and the crown always comes first? :sendoff

Kashmir is a glorified piece of ice that has had way too much importance for its own good. If its borders were hypothetically fenced in by both India and Pakistan, it wouldn't make one jot of difference to the rest of the respective countries.

They should probably just build the Ram Mandir already. It's been decades since the Babri Masjid was razed, and it's still being trotted out come election time.

Kashmir is supposed to be the crown, and the crown always comes first? :sendoff

Haha oh yea I remember the good old school days when they used to teach us Kashmir is crown of India...
Though Iirc in 2014 elections there was 70%+ turnout in elections? Then later on in by elections after the death of that Wani guy turn out went to like 6-7%?

It's pathetic what this administration has done in my opinion. Corruption has not reduced significantly. Transparency International rates India as being just as corrupt as it was 3 years ago. Demonetisation was a complete failure with even the RBI recognised that 99% of the black money was not put out of circulation. On the other hand, we have rapes, communal violence at an unprecedented scale and the government, if not directly implicated, has turned a blind eye to all of it. Free speech in India started suffering in the 80's and is now completely dead under Modi. Very disappointing. Not to mention the arm twisting tactics of the Central government in states that are not ruled by them. A real shambles.

1. Can you name a few 1000 crore scams by the present govt.?

2.It means 99% of cash that was unaccounted for and lying undetected came into the banking system. Now its no more unaccounted. Also just depositing black money in the bank doesnit mean its legal now. If you have shown income of 10L in IT and then deposited 1cr in the bank you think tax dept wont catch you.

3. You mean reports of crimes are more as authorities now cant try to hide it or ignore it?

4. Freedom of Speech? People can shout bharat tere tukde honge. Can call the PM neech. Can abuse hindu gods. Want mire freedom?

5.21 states are ruled by bjp or its allies. AIADMK and BJD have not complained. 4 states are ruled by congress. So which states are being arm twisted?

Muslims bloc voting for Congress isn't a pan-Indian phenomenon. In UP they vote for Mulayam/Akhilesh. In Bihar they vote for Laloo. In Bengal it's Mamata. Basically they pick an anti-BJP party and vote for them.

They should probably just build the Ram Mandir already. It's been decades since the Babri Masjid was razed, and it's still being trotted out come election time.

Building the temple will finish it off as an election issue. Politicians always need an issue to polarize the masses. Ram temple will not be built in Ayodhya any time soon.

Those who want to offer their prayers to Lord Ram can visit other Ram temples.

Haha oh yea I remember the good old school days when they used to teach us Kashmir is crown of India...
Though Iirc in 2014 elections there was 70%+ turnout in elections? Then later on in by elections after the death of that Wani guy turn out went to like 6-7%?

We have actual curfews on election day, did someone say 70% turnout :)))

BJP wants a civil war it seems to build an exclusive Hindu India. Build the Ram Mandir, why is the court taking forever to announce the verdict? Either way whatever the decision is there will be a lot of trouble.

Muslims bloc voting for Congress isn't a pan-Indian phenomenon. In UP they vote for Mulayam/Akhilesh. In Bihar they vote for Laloo. In Bengal it's Mamata. Basically they pick an anti-BJP party and vote for them.

That’s recent phenomenon for decades Muslims voted congress.Its just that Congress became irrevelent in these states.

BJP wants a civil war it seems to build an exclusive Hindu India. Build the Ram Mandir, why is the court taking forever to announce the verdict? Either way whatever the decision is there will be a lot of trouble.

Sunni board is the one which is stumbling block for Ram mandir.Also it’s no longer an election issue.

Ignore them if they are a minority opinion. That is what is supposed to happen in a democracy.

That’s recent phenomenon for decades Muslims voted congress.Its just that Congress became irrevelent in these states.

Depends on what you mean by "recent"? Congress has not won an election in UP since 1984. That's 34 years, roughly 1/2 of India's post-independence history. Muslims in UP moved to Mulayam camp long long ago. So much so that he's called Maulana Mulayam by the BJP types.

UP is not only state which counts as pan India.Plus there is LS seats as well (they won 20+ in 2009)

what do you mean by that ?

India never got independence. It had a transfer of power from the british to the british stooges who only look indians. It was balkanised and an alien constitution copied from foreign nations was imposed upon it. The saffron white and green were given equal area on the flag, denying the rights of the majority and appeasing the minority. Only when we burn down this artificial India can the true nation of Hindustan arise, where the flag, the constitution and leaders represent the aspirations of the true sons of this ancient and most glorious civilization.

We are hearing this from 1997

Geinue question, don't you think that India is going in the wrong direction since Modi took over?
From an outsiders point of view, it seems like extremism in India has gone up since he took over, Is that false?

Sounds like a message to charge up the Hindus to turn out and out vote the non-BJP voting Muslims.

Congress gonna win Karnataka. Siddaramaiah is well liked. Just because some city folk think he hasn't done anything for them doesn't mean the vast majority who live in villages think the same.

BJP messed up any chance they had by going back to Yeddyurappa (who has the personality of a temple chappal stand) and the Reddy brothers.

Anyway, the BJP have been garbage here when they ruled. All Yeddy did was visit temples and donate land to mutts.