“I don’t have to prove anything regarding my credentials as a player": Babar Azam

Babar Azam in his presser:

“I am under no pressure and always try to give my best on the field,”

“I don’t have to prove anything regarding my credentials as a player. I try to enjoy my cricket and learn from my mistakes.”

“I don’t focus on what people say about me. My only aim is to help Pakistan win with my performance"

“We want to play the final of the World Test Championship. We have made comebacks in the past and can do the same in the future as well,” he said.

"Azhar Ali is our senior player. I will support him as captain but it is up to Azhar Ali himself to decide his future"

"The Rawalpindi Test was in our hands but due to our own mistakes we were unable to save the Test match. Back-to-back fall of wickets cost us the match"

“They (England) have come with their own unique style and one cannot change the entire game plan after just one game"

“We’ll try to play according to the situation. It’s not like you change your game (plan) at once and try to compete with the opposition’s way of playing.”

“We just have to decide whether we should go with Faheem Ashraf or Mohammad Wasim Jnr”

“It was our mistake that we didn’t keep the World Test championship in mind while planning for the previous game"

“Our complete focus is now on the next game. We have made comebacks in the past and can do the same in the future as well.”

“I am not bothered about what people say about me. My only aim is to help Pakistan win with my performance"

You have plenty to prove. 1 Test hundred in SENA after over 6 years of playing. You were horrendous in Asia Cup and T20 World Cup (and refused to demote yourself for sake of the team).

You try to learn from your mistakes ? Bhai your last 12 months of captaincy has been one big mistake. If I outlined them all, the servers would crash.

Babar's ego is long overdue a check.

Very low standards from a cricketing perspective

Then again, they are extremely high standards (numbers wise) for aspiring Pakistani batsmen

Think its usually the beginning of the end when people make such statements.

True, these types of statements are usually made at the end of the career.

Best to keep his head down and not make daft statements.

“It was our mistake that we didn’t keep the World Test championship in mind while planning for the previous game"

Dear me.

So when Virat Kohli makes such statements with no ICC trophy and no match winning innings in knockouts , it's agression and King Kohli. People here used to yearn for such replies from Babar. This is great answer to these low level journalists and plastic fans. He has nothing to prove to them. With a mediocre team he is doing pretty well , punching above it's weight while as star studded batting lineups are losing to Bangladesh.

"Azhar Ali is our senior player. I will support him as captain but it is up to Azhar Ali himself to decide his future"
Why is it up to Azhar Ali ? Can you not make a decision or does that require actually having a backbone ?

I think he fears backlash from the Lahore players community

Babar is already right on edge with them as it is. Things could get ugly if he is the one having to make the tough call.

Another amazing quote.

Confirms the undroppable status of Azhar.

Do we think that Babar’s captaincy is under threat?

Not until Rameez Raja is in charge

Everyone else is under threat except Babar and his captaincy when Rameez is in charge

You have plenty to prove. 1 Test hundred in SENA after over 6 years of playing. You were horrendous in Asia Cup and T20 World Cup (and refused to demote yourself for sake of the team).

You try to learn from your mistakes ? Bhai your last 12 months of captaincy has been one big mistake. If I outlined them all, the servers would crash.

Babar's ego is long overdue a check.

1 test 100 but several 50 80s and 90s. I don't think his performance has been bad anywhere after 2018 when he got used to the redball cricket.

On captaincy front, yep. I agree. Improvement is needed.

Most of the comments are dull cliches but the comment around forgetting about the WTC hurt a bit.

bhai teri kuptaani aur zehni kefiyat se masla hai... agar angreji nhin samajh aati... urdu mein parh lei bobby bhai...

Ego getting the better of Babar. Thought he was a humble player, looks like I was wrong.
He's anyway the worst 'great' player of all time. Can't believe people still compare him to Kohli.

I see this statement a lot these days lol Looks like Babar just copied it without understanding what it is?

What was that about not keeping the WTC in mind? Something lost in translation I am sure, as I doubt he would say that in the right frame of mind

Did he say this in English? or it is translated version? If it is English i will give him benefit of doubt.

He is not remotely capable of saying all of this in English without butchering the language. I’m sure it is a translation.

The guy is a clown of a player. He can't bat under pressure (proven again and again) and definitely can't field. He literally dropped 2 catches in 1 over in the T20 final game against England. One catch fell infront of him while the other went over his head. Those are standard catches by today's fielding standards.

He literally has 3 jobs. Improve batting, improve fielding and improve mental capacity. He doesn't seem to be succeeding in either.

Looks like Zahid Mahmood has the blessing of the management. Abrar will remain on the bench again.

Making him captain was the worst thing for his career.

He needs to be removed and focus solely on his batting with Shan and Shadab taking over.

He has nothing to prove as a batsman being an elite all format player, but plenty as a captain being a poor tactician and poor judge of the quality of each player in his squad and others.

"The Rawalpindi Test was in our hands but due to our own mistakes we were unable to save the Test match. Back-to-back fall of wickets cost us the match"

Shows the mindset. We were unable to SAVE the test match. Babar has never looked to chase a 4th innings target. It's beyond his ability. He decided not to chase 500 in 180 overs on a flatbed of a pitch in Karachi. With this thought process in place, it's actually fans being stupid to have expectations of this team.

This is why I rate Kohli as a captain much more. In his very first test match as captain in Australia, he decided to chase 360+ on the last day in Adelaide. Ultimately lost the match but came within a whisker of pulling of one of their greatest ever victories. Babar would never have even considered 230 if he was asked to.

Shows the mindset. We were unable to SAVE the test match. Babar has never looked to chase a 4th innings target. It's beyond his ability. He decided not to chase 500 in 180 overs on a flatbed of a pitch in Karachi. With this thought process in place, it's actually fans being stupid to have expectations of this team.

This is why I rate Kohli as a captain much more. In his very first test match as captain in Australia, he decided to chase 360+ on the last day in Adelaide. Ultimately lost the match but came within a whisker of pulling of one of their greatest ever victories. Babar would never have even considered 230 if he was asked to.

The question is there anyone in the present Pakistani team who has anywhere near close to the Kohli, Stokes or Mccullam mindset?

The guy is a clown of a player. He can't bat under pressure (proven again and again) and definitely can't field. He literally dropped 2 catches in 1 over in the T20 final game against England. One catch fell infront of him while the other went over his head. Those are standard catches by today's fielding standards.

He literally has 3 jobs. Improve batting, improve fielding and improve mental capacity. He doesn't seem to be succeeding in either.

Those are quite big jobs tbf :))

Some terrible statements there from Babar

So the captain and management will give him a free ride until he decides hes had enough?
No wonder pakistan is in the mess it is Your the captain Make the decision for the benefit of the team

How about winning the test? They shouldve still been able to win the game That total was very very chaseable on that pitch

This is a terrible comment from a captain if true and a sackable offence on its own

His performances as captain may not be under scrutiny but his captaincy definitely is He needs to man up and make some better decisions if he wants to retain his job

Lots and lots to prove Babar.

Just rankings aren't enough to be called a great.

So much yet to achieve from a personal and team perspective yet.

Babar ain't even world class for me. Due to our poor batting talent he's the best from an average lot.

Babar is a good player but he has set pretty low standards for himself as it's too early to give these kind of statements. He should first try to win a test match & series at home against Australia, England & NZ. Yes under his captaincy Pakistan won home test series against SA two years back.
Has Babar played match winning inning against big team in knockout match in a big tournament? NO
Has Babar won even a single test match in away series against Eng, Aus, NZ & SA? NO
Has Babar won away test series in WI & Sri Lanka? NO
What was Babar' own contribution in 2021 T20 WC (Except in match against India), 2022 Asia Cup & T20 WC or any other big tournaments he has played??
There is absolutely no need to give these kind of statements

I think he fears backlash from the Lahore players community

Babar is already right on edge with them as it is. Things could get ugly if he is the one having to make the tough call.

Why Ramiz and the selectors are making it tough for Babar.. Why cant they go ahead and drop Azhar if he cannot continue to lead the batting lineup as a senior for years now..

For more than half decade now, this guy is performing very poorly...

Why Ramiz and the selectors are making it tough for Babar.. Why cant they go ahead and drop Azhar if he cannot continue to lead the batting lineup as a senior for years now..

For more than half decade now, this guy is performing very poorly...

I think they all fear the Lahore players association backlash

They can be a vile, toxic bunch if they all gang up.

Babar batsmen = good
Babar captain = one of worst ever for Pakistan

Lots still to prove

I think they all fear the Lahore players association backlash

They can be a vile, toxic bunch if they all gang up.

Not as toxic as their Karachi counterparts. Still have people pushing Asad Shafiq to come back into the team. They lost the plot when Fawad was justifiably dropped for a younger and better left hander. Still refer Sarfraz as Captain even though he was one of the worst captains we have had in ODIs and Tests. Other than Champions trophy fluke, he was insufferable as captain.

Whether it’s Lahore or Karachi bias, one thing I don’t understand. Can’t either of these two lobbies back some useful players. I mean Azhar Ali…..Fawad…..Asad Shafiq

Seriously these guys need to move on, get with the programme. Surely these players should be an embarrassment for them.

As a captain he has to improve in many areas. As a batsman he should learn art of finishing matches and also how to perform and lay foundation in high pressure matches

While responding to his critics, Babar referred to his innings against Australia in March 2022, where he played a match-saving 196-run knock in Karachi to help Pakistan salvage a draw in the second Test.

"If I perform well, they say that I did it in an easy situation. If I don't perform, they say he didn't do anything in a tough situation. I was the one who played the innings against Australia."

With all due respect to Babar's first innings, England let him play Leach, Jacks, and Root more. He made 56 runs against them. The moment England brought Robinson on he got castled. In the second innings, Robinson was on early against Babar.

While responding to his critics, Babar referred to his innings against Australia in March 2022, where he played a match-saving 196-run knock in Karachi to help Pakistan salvage a draw in the second Test.

"If I perform well, they say that I did it in an easy situation. If I don't perform, they say he didn't do anything in a tough situation. I was the one who played the innings against Australia."

Seems very defensive does babar. To quote one of your innings as a response is a bad look.

You either ignore or no comment the question. This reeks of defensiveness and insecurity.

We had 4 years of Babar. No Cups, No team achievements. Personal glories, scores on pancake wickets when nothing is at stake.

One half decent bowler for all formats available.

No existing middle order in LOI.

We have regressed back to square one really in most departments.

Tell me we were any different 4 years ago?

Chairman, Chief Selector, Coach and Captain all should be sacked!

With all due respect to Babar's first innings, England let him play Leach, Jacks, and Root more. He made 56 runs against them. The moment England brought Robinson on he got castled. In the second innings, Robinson was on early against Babar.

I saw a stat that Ollie Robinson bowled 7 balls to Babar in the match, for 0 runs, and 2 wickets. :/

Babar Azam responding to a reporter in presser:

Reporter: “Babar yeh fans k taraf se ek sawal hai, unka kehna tha Babar aur Rizwan jo hain, unko apna focus T20 pe karna chahiye, kyuki jaise woh out hote hain puri team down ho jati hain (This question is from the fans, who feel that Babar and Rizwan should focus in T20s. As they get out the rest of the team crumbles.)”

Babar interrupts: “Toh aap keh rahe hain Test chhor de? (So you are saying, we should stop playing Test?)”

Reporter: “Aap kya soch rahe hain is baare mein, T20 mein jaana chahiye (What are your thoughts on it, should you play T20?)”

Babar: “Sir, aisa kuch nahi soch rahe hum (Sir I'm not thinking anything like that.)”

Both Babar & Rizwan must shed arrogance and should admit that they have achieved nothing for the team in test & T20 cricket so far.