“IPL is huge but with Pakistan players it would be bigger": Rashid Latif

BouncerGuy

Rashid Latif speaking during an interview:

"We also miss being part of the IPL. It's because of government policies. If things were different, Pakistan media would have been broadcasting it too. We do watch the IPL and see what’s happening, but if Pakistani players were there, the business would grow even more. Right now, the IPL is already huge, but with Pakistani players, it would be even bigger. At least some broadcasters were showing it in the past, highlighting Pakistani talent. The difference has been massive."

He is not saying anything new . everyone know it.

Playing in the IPL increase your brand values Plus cricketing skills :kp

IPL + Pak players would have been great but I think we should move on from this obsession... Find some other stuff to work on.

Facing Dayal, Rana, Balaji, Ishant Sharma and Bhuvaneshwer is great for skills right?

Many international players (both Indian and foreign) have attributed some of their success to IPL in some form or the other over the years.

The only ones who doesn’t recognise the value of IPL in terms of money, coaching, cricketing skills are no name Pakistanis who have 0 sporting genes in their body.

Rashid Latif speaking during an interview:

"We also miss being part of the IPL. It's because of government policies. If things were different, Pakistan media would have been broadcasting it too. We do watch the IPL and see what’s happening, but if Pakistani players were there, the business would grow even more. Right now, the IPL is already huge, but with Pakistani players, it would be even bigger. At least some broadcasters were showing it in the past, highlighting Pakistani talent. The difference has been massive."
The obsession needs to finish from Pakistan side. You have PSL make full use of it.

Keep the thread relevant.... Take Babar/rizwan bashing to some other thread

Facing Dayal, Rana, Balaji, Ishant Sharma and Bhuvaneshwer is great for skills right?
Ishant who contributed to our CT win and other big wins, Bhuvneswar won us many overseas test, Balaji won us a series in Pakistan

You will be lucky to have bowlers like them

Bhuvneswar averages 26 in tests, Naseem averages 35+

The absolute shamlessness of those who havent had a single 200 wicket taking bowler and who have a 35+ averaging Naseem Shah in their team for so long, trying to mock bowlers who have won so much for their country

The obsession needs to finish from Pakistan side. You have PSL make full use of it.
It's not just Pakistani but australian , England etc players were/are saying same thing.

IPL is highest form of the T20 game ,The quality is unmatched ( in know one two garbage player are still playing) .

IPL game's are jam-packed which give huge experience to youngsters .

It's not just Pakistani but australian , England etc players were/are saying same thing.

IPL is highest form of the T20 game ,The quality is unmatched ( in know one two garbage player are still playing) .

Yes but we are Dushman Mulk of Pakistan so they will never get to play IPL. So it is better for Pakistanis to move on.

All depends on India - Pakistan relations. It's easy to say move on but every Pakistani ( or any cricketer in the world) player's are interested to play in the IPL and they missed the huge money so far from not playing in the IPL.

Shaheen when he destroyed India in 2021 , would have get 15 cr but things change now as he has become useless but still get a good deals.

You learn new variations, Strategy by playing with World best player's.

This is what they are missing :kp

Please can we have one day where a Pakistani ex player doesn't mention India.
The ex's are having time of their lives. For a mediocre team like Pakistan, the 'analysts' are stealing the show with verbal diarrhea.

Unfulfilled careers but youtube + instagram + mobile phone + news channels + mouth + vaillay awaam = monies/new lease of life.

Pakistan as a cricket nation isn't relevant anymore to the world we are now at the level of BPL & LPL

No disrespect for latif, pakistan players are gone after 2008 now it's among the biggest & richest leagues in sports, pakistan players whether they participate in ipl or not it's irrelevant now.

The sheer involvement of Pakistan cricket fans and their players would always make IPL bigger than it already is because it would then be getting so much media attention globally.

Because our domestic market itself is so huge, that is why IPL is as big as it is. But Pakistani players involvement would bring international attention to our league. We have some Australian English podcasts following this. But nothing quite like the Pakistani media involvement.

Besides, ek hi mulq hae.

I look back at IPL 2008 and really have great memories of that tournament.

The best thing about IPL is the auction, where you can determine which player is valued more based on demand.

P.S. Younis Khan and Kamran Akmal have won an IPL while Kohli never did

Ishant who contributed to our CT win and other big wins, Bhuvneswar won us many overseas test, Balaji won us a series in Pakistan

You will be lucky to have bowlers like them

Bhuvneswar averages 26 in tests, Naseem averages 35+

The absolute shamlessness of those who havent had a single 200 wicket taking bowler and who have a 35+ averaging Naseem Shah in their team for so long, trying to mock bowlers who have won so much for their country
Naseem has had a stop start career due to injuries and poor work load management.

He s only played 17 Tests since his debut in 2019 you numpty.

He has a Test hattrick as well.

Know your facts.

up till 5 yrs back maybe but not anymore unfortunately.

If there was an auction the following players have a shot at getting picked somewhat

Amir- RCB
Shaheen- Rajasthan or SRH
Naseem- MI for sure.
Rizwan- Lucknow,GT,DC
Agha- Rajasthan, Kings X1

If Root, Williamson and Smith don’t find takers then don’t think Babar will get it.

Not happening for the foreseeable.

There are too many factors against it. Political, strategic and personal.

Why does IPL need them?

I don’t know if Pakistani players need IPL. That’s open to discussion, and it’s their call if they say they don’t. That pov is acceptable, IMO.

But what is absolutely certain is that IPL does not need Pakistani players; the last decade and a half is ample proof.

We need to move on from IPL and focus on PSL, BBL, etc. IPL is a good league but not the gold standard despite what @Devadwal or @mominsaigol might say. We are fine without IPL. They need us we do not need them.
That was PCB thinking in 2009 when they didn't allowed Pakistan players in IPL but rest is history.

IPL is becoming bigger and bigger each passing year without Pakistan players and after 2009 PCB and pakistan players begging to include them in IPL but IPL has been rejected them and move on.

IPL don't need Pakistan players but Pakistan players are badly needs IPL

If there was an auction the following players have a shot at getting picked somewhat

Amir- RCB
Naseem- MI for sure.
Rizwan- Lucknow,GT,DC

If Root, Williamson and Smith don’t find takers then don’t think Babar will get it.
Have you forgotten about the Asian market and the amount of clout that's involved.

We know the greed for 💲 💲 💲 :genius.

Amir- RCB
Naseem- MI for sure.
Rizwan- Lucknow,GT,DC

this player was not getting picked in The Hundred

I don’t know if Pakistani players need IPL. That’s open to discussion, and it’s their call if they say they don’t. That pov is acceptable, IMO.

But what is absolutely certain is that IPL does not need Pakistani players; the last decade and a half is ample proof.
Here is the thing, IPL can continue and grow without Pak players. Absolutely. Proof is in the pudding.

Having said that if things get better adding a few stars or talents from Pak won’t hurt the IPL. If any might only have some benefit. That’s common sense. More dedicated and “official” viewership from a cricket crazy nation like Pakistan will definitely help.

In fact I will argue, it will benefit Pakistanis more. Look at the development of Afghan players not just from cricketing perspective but just the way they carry themselves. Also the % from IPL player salaries to board can’t hurt

That was PCB thinking in 2009 when they didn't allowed Pakistan players in IPL but rest is history.

IPL is becoming bigger and bigger each passing year without Pakistan players and after 2009 PCB and pakistan players begging to include them in IPL but IPL has been rejected them and move on.

IPL don't need Pakistan players but Pakistan players are badly needs IPL

Staying out the IPL was the best possible move.

:srt

Have you forgotten about the Asian market and the amount of clout that's involved.

We know the greed for 💲 💲 💲 :genius.
The $$$ existed yesterday, 2 yrs back, 5 yrs back also. In fact I would argue the Pak players were of higher quality then. It definitely is a bonus to have Pak players in IPL. Won’t argue against that but not life or death for the IpL.

Who cares? He won a T20 World Cup. Has Misbah’s tohfey won anything?
and yet after playing every IPL season he never won it.

Meanwhile bad t20 players like Younis and Kamran have won it

Amir- RCB
Naseem- MI for sure.
Rizwan- Lucknow,GT,DC

Knowing RR, they would be the one picking up an u19 unknown rookie sensation pacer from Pakistan.

Or a 40+ year old unknown spinner from Pakistan

Kohli has won WT20. 2 CT, 1 50 over worldcup, been in 2 WTC finals, made zillions of $$$. While it might be nice to have a IPL trophy don’t think he is losing sleep over it.

Ask a guy like Rayudu if it hurts more to
be dropped from WC 2019 squad or winning multiple IPL’s.

Kohli has won WT20. 2 CT, 1 50 over worldcup, been in 2 WTC finals, made zillions of $$$. While it might be nice to have a IPL trophy don’t think he is losing sleep over it.

Ask a guy like Rayudu if it hurts more to
be dropped from WC 2019 squad or winning multiple IPL’s.
Bhai, where is Kohli's IPL trophy?

He should had won this domestic tournament which he plays every year

Ask the Pakistan player's . Aamir is changing the nationality just for the playing in the IPL but he will not selected due to his past. :kp
I couldnt care less if he went for jamaican nationality.

The point is the PSL has to be the gold standard for our players.

Remember no one would give a S**t about the ipl without 💲 💲 💲 for players and cricket boards.

Without the foreign players the league s have zero global appeal.

💯 Facts.

Remember no one would give a S**t about the ipl without 💲 💲 💲 for players and cricket boards.

💯 Facts.
From Rizwan’s comments I can assure you PSL is gold Standard for Pakistani players, even above InTL cricket, your players commitment to PSL cannot be questioned even by us salty Indians.

💯 Facts.
International cricket is stopped when IPL is happening. ECB is allowing England players to play in IPL for Full season while they banned for rest of league during domestic session .

As I said Pakistan fans are most delusional and always living in parallel World . Wake up and smell the reality. :kp

Naseem has had a stop start career due to injuries and poor work load management.

He s only played 17 Tests since his debut in 2019 you numpty.

He has a Test hattrick as well.

Know your facts.
Only 3 Tests since August 2023. Needs serious workload management.

💯 Facts.
We can see the gold standard of PSL with the current Pakistan performance in Intl cricket..All your PSL superstars are international duds.. everyone's mocking it..for your captain it is a distraction..you are playing with IPL leftovers foreign players..If your league is gold standard please leave out all the foreign players and only play with local players..leave global appeal, your league wont have local appeal also..

He is not saying anything new . everyone know it.

Playing in the IPL increase your brand values Plus cricketing skills :kp
Its more money also , but even if Pakistan players were playing , I do not think too many Pakistan players would be bought by teams. If I am buying them , I would probably try and buy Haris rauf , Naseem shah, Imad wasim , Saim Ayub

Rauf yes , Naseem - debatable but likely yes

Imad Wasim - Big no ( ase fraud allrounder India ke gali gali main hai )

Saim - Big no ( We have already so Many players better than this tullebaaz )

Don't know about rizwan because he is not allowed to play but your crowd puller Bracewell is unsold in the IPL :kp
I didn't claim Bracewell to be a "crowd puller". Show me a post where I said that.

BTW, Bracewell has played in the IPL once whereas Rizwan never got picked in the Hundred. :vk2

International cricket is stopped when IPL is happening. ECB is allowing England players to play in IPL for Full season while they banned for rest of league during domestic session .

As I said Pakistan fans are most delusional and always living in parallel World . Wake up and smell the reality. :kp
Wake up and Read my post.

We can see the gold standard of PSL with the current Pakistan performance in Intl cricket..All your PSL superstars are international duds.. everyone's mocking it..for your captain it is a distraction..you are playing with IPL leftovers foreign players..If your league is gold standard please leave out all the foreign players and only play with local players..leave global appeal, your league wont have local appeal also..
You reckon anyone would give a toss about the ipl without the foreign boards and superstars being paid 💲 💲 💲 💲 💰then your living in a parallel universe.

The black markets and bookies keep the 💲💲💲💲💰 flowing for the ipl and icc everyone knows it except for you die hard indian fans who chant ipl all day.

This CT multiple teams had injuries and players missing and travelling which you team took full advantage off 👏👏👏.

Australia have still been the dominant force during your countries golden period winning WC s and WTC etc.

Am more interested to know who among the current core Pak players will get an IPL team? Pak's cricket value has taken a huge nose dive in the cricket world - all because of crappy performance and player's ego. When you start loosing to teams like USA - and that too in a WC, it doesn't look good.

I didn't claim Bracewell to be a "crowd puller". Show me a post where I said that.

BTW, Bracewell has played in the IPL once whereas Rizwan never got picked in the Hundred. :vk2
You ,Rana and momin share same view when it's comes to Rizwan , and Rana said Bracewell is better crowd puller than Rizwan

Do you even know chanderpaul has played in The IPL once ( I'm sure you don't know) so sometime even garbage players also played in IPL

IPL + Pak players would have been great but I think we should move on from this obsession... Find some other stuff to work on.
Topic has been done to death. I agree, let’s move on. People will believe what they want to. Time to focus on PSL, and try and make it on par or better than IPL on quality, if not commercial value. Have bigger grounds, more sporting wickets that have balance between bat and ball, give new talent a chance and run it professionally, make tickets affordable and bring in crowds, give spectators a good customer experience etc. Small steps can build momentum for the franchise just like small partnerships can build towards chasing down a large target. Focus should be on making our product better.

Many international players (both Indian and foreign) have attributed some of their success to IPL in some form or the other over the years.

The only ones who doesn’t recognise the value of IPL in terms of money, coaching, cricketing skills are no name Pakistanis who have 0 sporting genes in their body.

ufff .... thats gotta sting like a bee bite and hurt for years .... :bow:

:aag

Pakistani players can only beg to be included in the IPL. A fantasy which will remain unfulfilled

Just imagine if Eng and either Aus/NZ shared borders and they had a very successful sports product like IPL and the local market to go with it ... bloody hell they would make that the next best thing since sliced bread and market that soo effectively

but here we are in Asia where none of the cricketing nations can get along with each other and there is a nearly 2B market to tap!!

Just imagine if Eng and either Aus/NZ shared borders and they had a very successful sports product like IPL and the local market to go with it ... bloody hell they would make that the next best thing since sliced bread and market that soo effectively

but here we are in Asia where none of the cricketing nations can get along with each other and there is a nearly 2B market to tap!!

India is worth 90-95% of that market and knows how to monetize the market. Why should India share the monetary benefits with its neighbours when they are too incompetent to figure out how to monetize their own market and fanbase?

Why do ex pak players and PCB keeps talking so much about Indian cricket and IPL. Most Indian players or coaches hardly speak about Pakistan unless there is a scheduled match.

Munaf patel, pramodaya wickramasighe have won an ODI WC , whereas Waqar Younis, Allan Donald, Ambrose, Pollock have never won it .. And your point is ??
So Munaf and Pramo are greater than the others?? With logic like this, no wonder the PCT is down in the dumps.

Why would they do that? You don’t need to share borders to support each other. India and AFG, SA have all cooperated a lot over the years without sharing borders. So what is stopping Pak and AFG to combine and create one league? Same with Aus and England? So everyone is allows to own their own t20 league and run it the way they want but BCCI has to include its neighbors?

IPL is huge, undoubtedly. But tbh, pakistani players in IPL will be a treat to watch. No gonna happen anytime soon though.

We need to move on from IPL and focus on PSL, BBL, etc. IPL is a good league but not the gold standard despite what @Devadwal or @mominsaigol might say. We are fine without IPL. They need us we do not need them.
You are right Bro. IPL is badly in need of Pakistan players without them, it is very difficult to survive. Pakistan players can steal the show with their batting and bowling performances as they have the world best phaaast bowlers in their armory. The skill level of RIZBAR for playing T20 kind of games is amazing and Indians are missing them.

IPL is huge, undoubtedly. But tbh, pakistani players in IPL will be a treat to watch. No gonna happen anytime soon though.

As long as Modi ji is there, anything is impossible. We don’t say never in our country now because of Modi ji. He makes the impossible possible.

I think, you meant to say possible but anyways... Paksiatn p[layers in IPL is a dream and will stay a dream for many years to come.

It is my dream also.
I envision a progressive nation where we are doing our utmost to strengthen relationships in the neighbourhood. We have had cordial relationships with Bangladesh despite the recent troubles and all the criticism on X and calls for ending all ties with Bangladesh. Similar case with Maldives but it is evident that our government handled both matters with utmost care and resolved our issues diplomatically. I am hopeful the same will happen with Pakistan at some point.

It makes zero sense for BCCI to include Pakistani players in the IPL. It would be like shooting yourself in the head. Here’s why:

1. The IPL has developed into a global brand, in the face of an earlier Pakistani boycott. Why should they be allowed to share in its success now?

2. The current Pakistani team has no aura, barely wins anything. What measurable value does it bring to the table as a brand?

3. What value do Pakistani players bring to the IPL as players? The current lot of Pakistani players have even less aura. I’ll grant you Shaheen Shah Afridi maybe a few years ago, but even he has lost it.

4. The IPL has become a finishing school that hones player ability to the next level. Why should India operate as a finishing school for Pakistani players? Why should India give access to its global centre of excellence, to rub shoulders with world class players, world class training, techniques, game tactics and strategies, competitiveness, analytical input, background staff and support?

So that Pakistani can learn from it, develop and then come back to tell us how good they always were? Lol.

Makes no sense.

For Pakistan the only way forward is to win tournaments, develop world class players. To become a brand, to find players like Wasim, Shoaib. And then IPL will suddenly discover that it can accommodate PCB after all and come knocking at your doors.

You ,Rana and momin share same view when it's comes to Rizwan , and Rana said Bracewell is better crowd puller than Rizwan

Do you even know chanderpaul has played in The IPL once ( I'm sure you don't know) so sometime even garbage players also played in IPL

Chanderpaul played for RCB in 2008.

Don't try to educate me. I already exposed your lack of knowledge ob the IPL auction on the other thread. Your efforts to portray yourself as knowledgeable by assuming things makes you appear desperate to appear informed. And you should understand that @Rana , @mominsaigol and me are 3 are different persons. We don't always have the same opinion.