13 recommendations by Waqar Younis after the World T20

Saj

I've read through Waqar Younis' recent report to the Pakistan Cricket Board committee and it makes for interesting reading to say the least. Whilst I can't share the full report yet, here are his 13 recommendations in the report. These have not been edited or amended at all.

I suggest to you the following recommendations:

1.Head coach should be part of the selection committee.

2. Chief Selector should be someone who has played modern era cricket and has a positive vision, and also does not select players by differentiating regions or by media pressure but just recognising talent.

3.Selection criteria should include and emphasise fitness and fielding and first priority.

4. Dieticians to be involved during all camps and junior tours.

5.NCA and other academies around the country need to become functional.

6.Domestic cricket needs to be restructured. Less teams to play first class cricket to improve the standard, quality should be preferred over quantity. Less teams to play first class cricket to improve the standard.

7. High performance managers post need to developed to overlook all performances of head coach, Chief selector, junior selector, trainers, phyios, at both international and domestic level and be accountable. This role should be of a foreigner with experience.

8.Explayers to be involved at domestic level and help youngsters.

9.Emphasis on fielding and fitness is necessary at junior levels.

10.Pakistan A tours need to be organised on regular basis so we can groom our youngsters and give them overseas exposure.

11.Selected players should be sent to various international academies to gain experience and exposure.

12.Players should be educated regarding maintaining confidentiality, respecting, “what’s said in the dressing room, stays in the dressing room.”

13.Bring in players who are proud of playing for Pakistan, not for themselves or for their own stature.

The PCB isn't professional or competent enough to carry out the actions suggested by Waqar.

We'll probably have some 60+ year old as our selector again.

The same will be said after the 2019 World Cup. Accept PK cricket as it is, and just get on with your lives.

Clearly Waqar is talking sense. He is not part of the problem but can be part of the solution.

But unfortunately our immature PCB, media, and nation is not ready to progress.

Clearly Waqar is talking sense. He is not part of the problem but can be part of the solution.

But unfortunately our immature PCB, media, and nation is not ready to progress.

They have already pigeonholed him as the scapegoat like they always do after every tournament failure.

In 2007 it was Malik. In 2014 it was Hafeez.

Only man who steers clear of scapegoat role is the one and only sahibzada :afridi

Excellent recommendations as usual will fall on deaf ears

These make a lot of sense. I like the concept of high performance managers. Let them oversee the peformance of selectors and coaches and captain and players, keeps them away from the politics and do an honest assessment without getting into the down and dirty stuff foreigners would like to avoid.

I think its a very very good suggestion.. But it wont happen. Our people dont like anybody looking over them to keep them honest. Not the selectors, for sure

Waqar on the basis of this should take a more senior role in the PCB hierarchy. He is not the right guy for coach but he has the right ideas for Pakistan cricket in general.

Waqar seems to have turned from villain to hero overnight.

He was villified due to the teams performances, but now that its known that even Afridi decides to skip meetings, Akmal's unprofessional behaviour, the players were all confused about afridis captaincy as well.

Safe to say no coach can fix this team, pray to God that Afridi finally retires, thats the first big step.

They have already pigeonholed him as the scapegoat like they always do after every tournament failure.

Only man who steers clear of scapegoat role is the one and only sahibzada :afridi

Afridi has been a scapegoat for our shambolic batting for a long time now. That's why you see the usual 'Afridi inspired a generation of sloggers' even though we have only 1 decent slogger in Sharjeel and a lot of tuk-tuk players.

Don't be more surprised when these recommendations wouldn't be implemented in next 10 years.

Seriously I have been to the country it seems this kind of corruption is everywhere. I feel sorry for the citizens of Pakistan to be suffering because of these monsters.

Sorry state of this country bro.

Good recommendactions.

# Hero

Agree with all his suggestions. He gets it.

Not big fan of his coaching but fan of his insight and patriotism.

I'd have him as PCB Chairman if Majid Khan doesn't accept. Waqar will probably not succeed as he will be rubbish at politics - but as long as he is at the helm, much good will happen.

#WaqarforPCBChairman

Anyone with me?

I'd have him as PCB Chairman if Majid Khan doesn't accept. Waqar will probably not succeed as he will be rubbish at politics - but as long as he is at the helm, much good will happen.

#WaqarforPCBChairman

Anyone with me?

Actually scrap that. I remember him being mentioned in Qayyum report. That disqualifies him in my head - much as I fully respect his insights.

#WaqarforPCBChairman

Anyone with me?
He can only become PCB Chairman if

Imran Khan is Prime minister of Pakistan.

Wasim, Miandad, Zaheer, Inzimam, Yousuf, Saeed, Younis, Afridi, Misbah, Shoaib do not run for the elections of their regions or associations elections so thereby don't qualify for PCB Chairman election. Waqar contests elections, gets max votes and becomes Chairman Pcb.

Under Nawaz Sharif government which is pseudo democracy just like Sohail tanveer, Umar Amin & Shoaib Malik are pseudo allrounders neither PCB will become Democratic institute nor it will be De-Politicised and PM won't nominate Waqar as chairman PCB either.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

Afridi has been a scapegoat for our shambolic batting for a long time now. That's why you see the usual 'Afridi inspired a generation of sloggers' even though we have only 1 decent slogger in Sharjeel and a lot of tuk-tuk players.

His school of batting says cross swipes a few times and get caught in deep at some point...if that is stuff for which he should be fetted for then only God can help Pak batting!

The fact that his bowling average is much higher than his batting speaks volumes for his batting talent...and less said about his bowling the better where stike rate is usually a wicket for each match even after having played so many against the minnows.

With fans like you for such kulharas, we deserve the failures we have known as Pak batters

He's putting up same old excuses. Requirement of perfect-land. Had he been serious about this, he would have put it up at day 1 of his job and had walked away upon the failure of fulfillment for such demands. He is only trying to wipe his dirt off so that he can add couple of more years. He had enough time to get the team going, wasn't able to. Must accept it and walk away.

Exactly this. If Afridi isnt coming to training and you want him gone and it isnt happening, why are you sitting there with your paycheck instead of resigning?

His school of batting says cross swipes a few times and get caught in deep at some point...if that is stuff for which he should be fetted for then only God can help Pak batting!

The fact that his bowling average is much higher than his batting speaks volumes for his batting talent...and less said about his bowling the better where stike rate is usually a wicket for each match even after having played so many against the minnows.

With fans like you for such kulharas, we deserve the failures we have known as Pak batters

Bhai maine kya kaha aur aap kya bol rahe ho, I said that he is slated for having 'inspired a generation of sloggers' even though we don't have decent sloggers. Whereas we have lots of slow players that still can't win us games. Regarding the bowling average, I'd rather look at the economy which is good. An average Afridi performance is 18 off 12 and 4-0-26-1, pretty decent. In Odis, 24 off 20 and 9-0-41-1 roughly, again decent figures.

He seems to be saying he is blameless for the current situation, sadly the genius public who hailed Afridi as a hero for all these years will believe anything.

Today Waqar Younis met with federal minister, and Minister said

"I will forward Waqar Younis report to Prime Minister"

"I will ask PM to arrange a meeting with Waqar and all PCB officials"

Breaking News: Waqar meets sports minister and in talks with PM

Guys

A packed press conference has just been held outside the Government offices of the country's sports minister where the honourable minster and Waqar jointly held the press conference(it's all over Pakistani news channels).

The minister said that the leakage of the report and the report itself will now be discussed with the PM and Waqar will be in top level discussions.

Waqar looked in excellent spirits and it was completely jam packed, electric atmosphere.

Inshallah we may finally get to clean up Pakistan cricket.

Waqar Younis has single handedly taken on the PCB and now things are getting serious and are being discussed at Government level.

The minister praised Waqar and backed him.

Looks like Waqar has blasted out an inswinnging yorker and blasted out the PCB.

Now it looks like the leaking of the report was actually a blessing in disguise

Waqar taking on more than he can chew!

I can imagine many people holding serious grudge.

Basit ali must be sweating now, the guy has been predicting the ouster of waqar through his inside sources for days now, it would be epic if waqar is give an important role in pcb and basit's bosses are terminated :asif

Woah. Waqar you LEGEND.

No one can ever doubt his passion and love for not only the game but the country as well. Unlike other ex-cricketers like Wasim Akmra, Waqar chose to come back and serve Pakistan - giving away lucrative commentary and media jobs.

He has had do deal with a lot of PCB-garbage, politics, Afridi, Shehzad, Umar Akmal.

But he's determined to bring about a change. Can he do it alone? That's the question - in the end, everything will be fruitless I'm afraid.

The stinking politics are too strong.

Waqar taking on more than he can chew!

I can imagine many people holding serious grudge.

This time Waqar has had enough. He's going for the kill, he don't care about his job.

I hope he can free us from Afridi, Shehzad, Malik, Haroon Rasheed, and other recycled trash at PCB.

He will not be in physical denger but he is going to or has already ****** of many many people. You don't do this type of showmanship in the subcontinent.

I do and i think this is his last participation with PAK cricket for a very long time ,lets see how it pans out though.

Woah. Waqar you LEGEND.

No one can ever doubt his passion and love for not only the game but the country as well. Unlike other ex-cricketers like Wasim Akmra, Waqar chose to come back and serve Pakistan - giving away lucrative commentary and media jobs.

He has had do deal with a lot of PCB-garbage, politics, Afridi, Shehzad, Umar Akmal.

But he's determined to bring about a change. Can he do it alone? That's the question - in the end, everything will be fruitless I'm afraid.

The stinking politics are too strong.

Don't buy the rubbish he's another con artist trying to save his job. If these issues were genuine and he felt unable to do his job he should have exposed this before a second awful World Cup and resigned.

Waqar Out!

Waqar meets the Sports Minister and to hold talks with PM(video added)

As mentioned before Waqar is in government discussions and we may now see a clean up of the PCB. The video link is below:

For those who don't understand Urdu:

1. The honourable minister fully backed Waqar and was disappointed that the report was leaked.

2. Waqar will be in discussions with the PM.

3. Praised Waqar for report and acknowledged that big changes needed to save Pakistan cricket.

The report leaking may have been a blessing in disguise.

The video:

https://youtu.be/zXGJv3Mh-ko

More info for those who struggle with Urdu:

The honourable minister said that Waqar's report will form a major part of government discussions.

This time Waqar has had enough. He's going for the kill, he don't care about his job.

I hope he can free us from Afridi, Shehzad, Malik, Haroon Rasheed, and other recycled trash at PCB.

Because he knows he's lost it.

Waqar himself is recycled trash.. Third awful stint and every single time the players have had an issue with him.

Because he knows he's lost it.

Waqar himself is recycled trash.. Third awful stint and every single time the players have had an issue with him.

Well it doesn't help when such stuff is leaked does it.

As expected, Waqar is getting a lot of undeserved criticism here.

These are suggestions that have in some part been mentioned by various PP down the years to improve the team, The PCB wont implement such plans they are two backwards in their thinking.

It might had been if it was for the first time its becoming annoying now tbh.

Old for you may be but for recent cricket followers like me it's whole new and incredibly disturbing experience. I never knew that at this level management was still amateur in every aspect. Frankly I expected better. And it's not just PCB and friends, big organisations like ICC, BCCI are very much mediocre.

Cricket Australia is amazing they bring about a lot of innovation and have made BBL successful inspite of owning it themselves.

Don't buy the rubbish he's another con artist trying to save his job. If these issues were genuine and he felt unable to do his job he should have exposed this before a second awful World Cup and resigned.

Waqar Out!

Long time no see brother!

He may not be an angel, but is talking sense - his suggestions so far have been getting scrapped. Falling on deaf ears.

looks like he's had enough. :)

its funny how these reports are always leaked into media, am pretty sure its been deliberately done so waqars points can be clear for everyone to see and not just swept under the carpet.

Well these recommendations are actually very nice and would be great if pcb takes a look on them

Sent from my H30-U10 using Tapatalk

its funny how these reports are always leaked into media, am pretty sure its been deliberately done so waqars points can be clear for everyone to see and not just swept under the carpet.
I think he allowed them to be leaked so to get some cricket fan(example ary)media support which is fair enough btw his points are for the good of cricket and i appreciate them

By leaking this report the pcb is only portraying itself in a bad light. It can't have been deliberate, I am pretty sure a journalist bribed a pcb official for this. Pcb needs to build strong controls I am afraid and if it means going all gestapo on its employees then so be it.

Sent from my SM-G925W8 using Tapatalk

Long time no see brother!

He may not be an angel, but is talking sense - his suggestions so far have been getting scrapped. Falling on deaf ears.

looks like he's had enough. :)
Yeah i think he's gonna retire and has had enough but yeah his suggestions are very positive and cannot be denied and i hope they dont get denied

I don't think he is talking about fans but about what actual PCB is deciding.

Also, it is common sense that when players are inspired by sloggers and throw their wickets away (like Umar did for a long time in his career and still does sometimes) then the management will ask them to tone it down. As a result they become confuse and become completely tuk tuk.

Waqar Out!

How do you know he didnt try to change things many times before? And how does resigning just before a big cup and running away help the team?

He seems to be saying he is blameless for the current situation, sadly the genius public who hailed Afridi as a hero for all these years will believe anything.

Second paragraph of the report:

My tenure till now, has had a mixed result with some good ones and others not so. My aim for this report is not to shift the blame to any personal individual but to identify where things did not go right, where we could have improved, hindrances and recommendations which I hope are implemented for the betterment of Pakistan Cricket and its future.

Second paragraph of the report:

My tenure till now, has had a mixed result with some good ones and others not so. My aim for this report is not to shift the blame to any personal individual but to identify where things did not go right, where we could have improved, hindrances and recommendations which I hope are implemented for the betterment of Pakistan Cricket and its future.

Says something and does something else. I think we should get Inzy as coach, Afg had the same no. of points as us and they beat the finalists while we only beat the Banglas.

Malik and Lawson had tried to do the same with putting fitness as priority over selection that resulted in Razak, Afridi, MY and Akmal causing problems under his captaincy. That's why Malik was criticised for doing politics where as it was less to do with politics but forcing players to improve fitness.

Sent from my SM-G925I

Pakistan won't succeed tbh.

This recommendations are just common sense approaches that other Cricketing boards do.

There is a culture of nepotism, corruption and ignorance in Pakistan that holds us back. No idea why Waqar was blamed over the shambolic display by the team in the first plae.

Shoaib Malik needs to go.
There seems to be a few who defend him. But every single "internal conflict" over the last decade has included him somewhere.

I have no problem if Afridi is in the team as a player - so long as it is on merit and form (like Misbah).

Umar Akmal needs to be dropped if his attitude is a major issue.

Most importantly - Get rid of Moin Khan

Le's see how many years or maybe even decades it takes to get implemented...

The strange thing is that they are now saying they are implementing most of the recommendations that Waqar suggested last year on the day that he resigns. Good old PCB.

3 years later we are more or less going to receive the same recommendations again after the 2019 WC debacle.

My question to the PCB is why weren't these steps implemented and maintained?

Why are 6-7 players in the team carrying paunches?

Only one of the 13 things have actually happened in over 3 years...:facepalm: And this website thought Waqar was the biggest problem.

Waqar was never the problem

Infact results have gone down in EVERY way

Isn't that sad pretty much every tournamnet and nothing improves. Pakistan cricket is what it is just live with it

Lets not forget Waqar recommended Inzi or Rashid as Chief Selector. Also recommended Azhar Ali as captain over Sarfraz who vice captain in WC15 and next in line. Both of these recommendations played a big part in the 4 years which has brought us to today.

Had Sarf taken over earlier and failed like he has in his first 2 years.. we could've booted him before the CT and fixed our squad for this WC. But the Azhar Ali stint just delayed the inevitable. It's easy for me to say this now with hindsight but Pakistan and every national thing related to it is a cluster f. No one knows where and how it will go. Waqar made the recommendations in good faith and implementing only 2 was the doing of the "random journalist" running the PCB.

I have nothing against Waqar and think he was actually an honest and passionate coach....but he was never a people's person. Despite his overdose of passion and hard work his lack of IQ and EQ brought him down just like it did with his career.

Sad that such a legend became a scapegoat for the PCB and still is a punching bag for fans.

Lets not forget Waqar recommended Inzi or Rashid as Chief Selector. Also recommended Azhar Ali as captain over Sarfraz who vice captain in WC15 and next in line. Both of these recommendations played a big part in the 4 years which has brought us to today.

Had Sarf taken over earlier and failed like he has in his first 2 years.. we could've booted him before the CT and fixed our squad for this WC. But the Azhar Ali stint just delayed the inevitable. It's easy for me to say this now with hindsight but Pakistan and every national thing related to it is a cluster f. No one knows where and how it will go. Waqar made the recommendations in good faith and implementing only 2 was the doing of the "random journalist" running the PCB.

I have nothing against Waqar and think he was actually an honest and passionate coach....but he was never a people's person. Despite his overdose of passion and hard work his lack of IQ and EQ brought him down just like it did with his career.

Sad that such a legend became a scapegoat for the PCB and still is a punching bag for fans.

You're mistaken buddy. The "random journalist" comment was for Shakeel Shiekh, not Najam Sethi.

Really Waqar deserved better. I think his recommendations were spot on and many things have been followed up by Mickey particularly fitness and fielding though there is still so much room for improvement. The regional and domestic shake up is imminent. I honestly think chief selector should now be discarded and the head coach should be responsible for picking his own players.

Good lists, not much have been done, and going by the news in media no. 12 and 13 are very relevant today.