18 killed in stampede at New Delhi railway station

Bhaag Viru Bhaag

Senior Test Player
A crush at New Delhi Railway Station has left around 18 people dead and at least 10 injured.

Thousands of people reportedly crammed into the railway station on Saturday night as they tried to board delayed trains.

Four of the victims were children, while 10 were women, according to a list released by officials.

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi said his thoughts were "with all those who have lost their loved ones" in a post on X.

Crowd crushes are regularly reported in India where there is frequent overcrowding at religious events, festivals and public spaces.

The incident comes weeks after 30 people were killed in a pre-dawn crush at the religious festival, Kumbh Mela, in northern India, where tens of millions of Hindus had gathered to bathe in sacred river waters on one of the holy days of the six-week event.

In Delhi, witnesses told BBC Hindi that a "huge crowd" had gathered at the station, through which many people were travelling to and from the Kumbh Mela, which is being held in Prayagraj city in neighbouring Uttar Pradesh state. Hundreds of people were also waiting for trains to other places.

According to officials, two trains had been delayed at the station, while a third - heading to Prayagraj - was waiting to depart.

Ruby Devi said the crowd at the Indian capital's main railway station had been so big she was unable to get inside.

Umesh Giri, whose wife Shilam Devi died in the crush, said that the crowd was "uncontrollable" as he tried to board the Prayagraj Express.

Dharmendra Singh, who was also travelling to Prayagraj, told India's PTI news agency that there were" far more people than I have ever seen at this station".

"In front of me, six or seven women were taken away on stretchers.

KPS Malhotra, deputy commissioner of police (railways), said that authorities were investigating what led to the crush.

"This happened due to a delay in two trains arriving and more people gathering at the station," he said.

Opposition leaders have criticised the government, accusing them of administrative failure.

"Considering the large number of devotees going to Prayagraj, better arrangements should have been made at the station," Rahul Gandhi, the leader of opposition in India's parliament, posted on X.

I was at the railway station yesterday myself to board a train. This is crazy stuff. Sadly our people have no civic sense. It’s always a challenge to control my anger when I’m at such places.

Also, it has to be said, people of UP, Bihar side are pathetic in these situations.

I was at the railway station yesterday myself to board a train. This is crazy stuff. Sadly our people have no civic sense. It’s always a challenge to control my anger when I’m at such places.

Also, it has to be said, people of UP, Bihar side are pathetic in these situations.
Again hiding The real problem's just to save incompetent of BJP Gov.

Railway minister should resign now .

Why they changed the Platform of That Train at the last Moments?

Agar jitna Virodh log "India got Latent "ka kar rhe hai utna in chijo ka karte toh desh kaha se kha pahuch jata .

Shame on BJP government and their Cult follower's

Agar jitna Virodh log "India got Latent "ka kar rhe hai utna in chijo ka karte toh desh kaha se kha pahuch jata .

Yeah, a change in railway minister and the BJP government will suddenly make the Bhaiya a sophisticated citizen with great civic sense.

The railway minister of a large country like India country like India can't be held responsible for platform changes. The blame goes on local officials.

This incident exposes the utter failure of the railway administration and law enforcement.

In any accountable nation, the minister would have resigned—here, a mere tweet suffices. This is criminal negligence.

Yeah, a change in railway minister and the BJP government will suddenly make the Bhaiya a sophisticated citizen with great civic sense.

Delhi stampede was totally avoidable.

Why are they allowing people without tickets on the platform?

Why did CCTV cameras not show overload of people?

Why do you not have extra and trained staff for Kumbh?

Why have you not increased trains to Prayagraj?

Delhi stampede was totally avoidable.

Why are they allowing people without tickets on the platform?

Why did CCTV cameras not show overload of people?

Why do you not have extra and trained staff for Kumbh?

Why have you not increased trains to Prayagraj?

They do all of that but everything fails with these Bhaiyas. Stop playing petty politics on people’s death by putting all the blame on a single party. This is the sad reality of our country. People in this part of our country are hopelessly badtameez.

'Faaltu hai Kumbh': Lalu Yadav's remark on Delhi stampede sparks row​

Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) chief Lalu Prasad sparked a controversy on Sunday after he called the Maha Kumbh "faaltu (meaningless)". His remarks came while commenting on the stampede at the New Delhi Railway station, in which 18 people lost their lives and left many injured as passengers rushed to board trains bound for Prayagraj.

When asked to comment on the large crowds heading to the mega religious gathering and suggestions for crowd management, Prasad said, “Kumbh ka kahan koi matlab hai. Faltu hai Kumbh (Is there any meaning to Kumbh?... It is just meaningless).”

The RJD chief called the incident an "unfortunate one" and blamed the Railways' "mismanagement" for it. "The incident is very unfortunate and I offer my condolences to the victims. This is a mismanagement by the Railways that led to the loss of so many lives. The Railway Minister should take responsibility," Prasad, who is a former Railways minister, said.

The remarks drew sharp criticism from the BJP and Hindu religious leaders, who condemned Prasad's comments, accusing him of doing politics over dead bodies.

Bihar BJP spokesperson Manoj Sharma said it has exposed the RJD’s mindset towards the Hindu religion.

“He is making such comments due to his politics of appeasement. The RJD leaders have always insulted the religious sentiments of Hindus. The latest statement by Lalu Prasad, calling the Maha Kumbh meaningless, exposes the party’s mindset towards the Hindu religion,” Sharma was quoted as saying by news agency PTI.

Bihar Deputy Chief Minister Vijay Kumar Sinha alleged that the RJD supremo is doing politics over the incident and said, "He has always attacked Sanatan dharma, and their mindset is clearly reflected in their attitude towards Sanatan Dharma and its religious leaders. These people have even abandoned their own values for the sake of appeasement."

At least 18 people were killed in the overnight stampede at the packed New Delhi Railway Station after some passengers slipped and fell on others while coming down from a footover bridge. More than a dozen people were also injured. The Delhi Police said that the initial probe found that the incident happened as passengers got confused between the 'Prayagraj Express' and the 'Prayagraj Special' when the announcement of the latter's arrival was made.

The announcement of the 'Prayagraj Special' arriving at Platform 16 led to confusion among the waiting passengers because the Prayagraj Express was already at Platform 14. People who were reaching Platform 14 thought their train was arriving at Platform 16 and rushed towards it, leading to the stampede, police said.

A high-level committee has been formed to probe the incident. A compensation of Rs 10 lakh each has been announced by the Railways for the families of those killed in the stampede. Those seriously injured will get Rs 2.5 lah each and those with minor injuries Rs 1 lakh each.

'Faaltu hai Kumbh': Lalu Yadav's remark on Delhi stampede sparks row​

Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) chief Lalu Prasad sparked a controversy on Sunday after he called the Maha Kumbh "faaltu (meaningless)". His remarks came while commenting on the stampede at the New Delhi Railway station, in which 18 people lost their lives and left many injured as passengers rushed to board trains bound for Prayagraj.

When asked to comment on the large crowds heading to the mega religious gathering and suggestions for crowd management, Prasad said, “Kumbh ka kahan koi matlab hai. Faltu hai Kumbh (Is there any meaning to Kumbh?... It is just meaningless).”

The RJD chief called the incident an "unfortunate one" and blamed the Railways' "mismanagement" for it. "The incident is very unfortunate and I offer my condolences to the victims. This is a mismanagement by the Railways that led to the loss of so many lives. The Railway Minister should take responsibility," Prasad, who is a former Railways minister, said.

The remarks drew sharp criticism from the BJP and Hindu religious leaders, who condemned Prasad's comments, accusing him of doing politics over dead bodies.

Bihar BJP spokesperson Manoj Sharma said it has exposed the RJD’s mindset towards the Hindu religion.

“He is making such comments due to his politics of appeasement. The RJD leaders have always insulted the religious sentiments of Hindus. The latest statement by Lalu Prasad, calling the Maha Kumbh meaningless, exposes the party’s mindset towards the Hindu religion,” Sharma was quoted as saying by news agency PTI.

Bihar Deputy Chief Minister Vijay Kumar Sinha alleged that the RJD supremo is doing politics over the incident and said, "He has always attacked Sanatan dharma, and their mindset is clearly reflected in their attitude towards Sanatan Dharma and its religious leaders. These people have even abandoned their own values for the sake of appeasement."

At least 18 people were killed in the overnight stampede at the packed New Delhi Railway Station after some passengers slipped and fell on others while coming down from a footover bridge. More than a dozen people were also injured. The Delhi Police said that the initial probe found that the incident happened as passengers got confused between the 'Prayagraj Express' and the 'Prayagraj Special' when the announcement of the latter's arrival was made.

The announcement of the 'Prayagraj Special' arriving at Platform 16 led to confusion among the waiting passengers because the Prayagraj Express was already at Platform 14. People who were reaching Platform 14 thought their train was arriving at Platform 16 and rushed towards it, leading to the stampede, police said.

A high-level committee has been formed to probe the incident. A compensation of Rs 10 lakh each has been announced by the Railways for the families of those killed in the stampede. Those seriously injured will get Rs 2.5 lah each and those with minor injuries Rs 1 lakh each.

Come to the field! @Bhaijaan @Devadwal @Hitman @Bhaag Viru Bhaag

They do all of that but everything fails with these Bhaiyas. Stop playing petty politics on people’s death by putting all the blame on a single party. This is the sad reality of our country. People in this part of our country are hopelessly badtameez.
Stop defending everything Just to save BJP government.

Every fault of the people cannot be blindly attributed to one party. Stampede is a centuries old problem in the subcontinent. Parties have come and gone.

What has they done to avoid these incidents? Nothing

If they had not done anything, lakhs would be dead by now already. Have you even visited the Mahakumbh?
The Railway police have tried to threaten a journalist who came to cover the New Delhi Railway station Stampede.

They told her to delete all the data of the incident & told her not to show anything otherwise they will detain her.

When you can't find any communal angle to blame then let's blame the victims.

Typical BHAKTS logic.

OverCrowd is not the probelm, the apathy to do prepare for this crowd is the problem

Cancel this faltu Maha Kumbh.
Kumbh is not a issue but It's deeply concerning to see such a lack of crowd management at a major station like New Delhi. Those videos clearly shows the urgency for better planning and immediate action from authorities to prevent such tragedies

You started a thread citing potential of religious pilgrimage. Here pilgrims were killed , the government should ensure safety otherwise it womt grow to your wishes. Its 2024 large crowds always see danger but there should be no danger at train stations in today's world

We are talking about movement of 50 crore people in what is still a country full of uncivilized people. This was bound to happens it’s the biggest Mahakumbh in 144 years. Sad but the Mahakumbh will go on as it has for milleniums.

A country with uncivilized people is not ready for more religious tourism. In the grounds it can happen anywhere a large gathering is taking place but train stations is unacceptable. Why does India have old stations and outdated trains?

We have upgraded a lot of trains with the new Vande Bharat trains fleet. In the next 5 years, more of this upgradation is going to happen. Railway stations are also being upgraded. Things are a lot better today than they were some years ago. People used to be afraid of going by train. Today’s trains in Bharat provide better facilities than you get in an airline minus the alcohol.

Also, this 50 crore number is fake news.

We have a total population of ~140 crore, and there is no way a third of them have gone for this trash.

There are no visas etc. so nobody is counting either.

When thousands of people assemble at a limited space, one idiot screaming snake or bomb can trigger a stampede. There is no solution to this. India does not have the infra and means to conduct large gatherings in an orderly fashion.

Happens all too often in third world countries.

When thousands of people assemble at a limited space, one idiot screaming snake or bomb can trigger a stampede. There is no solution to this. India does not have the infra and means to conduct large gatherings in an orderly fashion.

Happens all too often in third world countries.
Did someone scream snake or bomb here?

Cancel this faltu Maha Kumbh.
Why stop at Mahakumbh dude. There are many non-Hindu festivals where thousands assemble in cramped spaces.

Lets be secular and cancel all religious gatherings unless a minimum of 4 feet distance between one person to another cannot be guaranteed.

No one knows. It takes one idiot who thinks its funny to do so.

Stampeded only happen when there is panic and people try to run to the exits because somebody said or saw something. It pretty much happens every year in India at some religious or political or even a movie star event.

Delhi Lt Governor's edited tweet on stampede sparks row, AAP alleges cover-up​

Delhi Lieutenant Governor came under fire after he edited a tweet on the Delhi Railway Station stampede to remove the phrase "loss of lives". The AAP has alleged it was an attempt to downplay the stampede, which killed 18 and left many injured.

The deadly stampede occurred on Saturday night due to severe overcrowding on platforms 14 and 15, as passengers rushed to board trains heading to Prayagraj for the Maha Kumbh. The Railway Police said two trains with similar names caused confusion, leading to the rush and stampede.

Immediately after the incident, the Lt Governor tweeted that there was an "unfortunate and tragic incident of loss of lives and injuries due to disorder and stampede at New Delhi Railway Station".

However, 15 minutes after the first post, Lt Governor Saxena edited it, removing the mention of death and his condolence, stating that he had spoken to the Chief Secretary and Police Commissioner and was monitoring the situation.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) slammed the governor's action, calling it proof that he is running away from his responsibility.

"This is Delhi LG VK Saxena appointed by the Central Government. The BJP's Central Government and he is responsible for the security of crores of people of Delhi. This tweet of his is proof of how expert he is in running away from his responsibility. After the tragic incident at New Delhi Railway Station, he first accepted in his tweet that there was a stampede and that passengers had died. Later, to save his masters, he edited his tweet and removed the mention of passengers dying from it," the party said, sharing tweets of the Lt Governor.

"More than 15 people lost their lives and the central government and LG are not even accepting it, let alone expressing grief. There can be no more shameful example of their failure than this," AAP further said.

At a press conference on Sunday, the AAP Rajya Sabha MP Sanjay Singh, accused the BJP government of trying to cover up the incident. He claimed that some eyewitnesses said that the death was more than what had been announced officially.

"They are trying to deny that such an incident happened. How long will the government's tendency of dilly-dallying and insensitivity will continue? When will the government and the Railway Minister's responsibility be fixed," the MP asked.

On Sunday, the Railway Police explained that the passenger rush occurred due to confusion between the announcements for the arrival of the Prayagraj Express and the Prayagraj Special, causing people to run to another platform.

A high-level probe has been ordered into the incident.

Why stop at Mahakumbh dude. There are many non-Hindu festivals where thousands assemble in cramped spaces.

Lets be secular and cancel all religious gatherings unless a minimum of 4 feet distance between one person to another cannot be guaranteed.

Cancel them all. Let people do a real job.

Most of these temple/church/mosque donations are black money for politicians anyway.

Cancel them all. Let people do a real job.

Most of these temple/church/mosque donations are black money for politicians anyway.
I will fully support the cancellation of all public religious gatherings. But it will never happen in India. Life is cheap.

Apparently there was a rumour of a platform change that lead to panic.

Bharatiya people are worlds worst at handling such situations and show the worst possible panic imaginable.

I am about to arrive at New Delhi Railway Station tonight apparently. Kind of scared Ngl.
:yk

Apparently there was a rumour of a platform change that lead to panic.

Bharatiya people are worlds worst at handling such situations and show the worst possible panic imaginable.
Brother platform change is normal in a train station.

These types of excuses like blaming a platform change, or a bomb threat or the government is just a diversion in the subcontinent.

The issue isn't the platform change, it's as soon as they hear an announcement some people are so entitled they think they have a divine rate to be at the front of the queue.

Until people learn to value their own lives and the lives of others, and learn proper conduct and etiquette then you can put any system in the world in place but you will see the same results as this.

Brother platform change is normal in a train station.

These types of excuses like blaming a platform change, or a bomb threat or the government is just a diversion in the subcontinent.

The issue isn't the platform change, it's as soon as they hear an announcement some people are so entitled they think they have a divine rate to be at the front of the queue.

Until people learn to value their own lives and the lives of others, and learn proper conduct and etiquette then you can put any system in the world in place but you will see the same results as this.

Bhai that’s how these people are.
Always in panic, always trying to break the queue by force.

Sometimes i feel it’s nothing less than a miracle that we manage such people.

Developed don’t make any more investments on public infrastructure than we do. Just that their stuff lasts for decades because their people have immense civic sense while our people destroy everything.

All the great buses and trains we give these people, they destroy them in a matter of few days.

The government can only do that much. It’s a two way relationship. A lot of onus is on the people also to look after themselves and take care of fellow people.

People who say the government hasn’t done anything at the Mahakumbh have no idea about the arrangements. These freeloaders don’t make any contribution yet the govt spend so much money on them. If they had not made the arrangements the dead would be in lakhs. I have multiple family members and friends who came from the Mahakumbh and they all praised the arrangements and everyone said the people are morons and don’t act responsibly.

We don’t know him.
Some random person maybe. Doesn’t matter what random irrelevant people say.
Ab yaad aaya kuch? :inti

images

images

images

Your friend @Rajdeep is from Bihar too. :inti

Sad to see usual suspects are giving political colour in such a tragic scenario. Same people were hiding from actual political thread on Delhi election day.

I am from Punjab and i call it one of the most backward, delusional and a failed state in Bharat today.

The British many people mock Brits for their culture of queueing, but that is what you actually need in places like India. In this the middle east is far better.

Sad to see usual suspects are giving political colour in such a tragic scenario. Same people were hiding from actual political thread on Delhi election day.

Agreed.
Doing petty politics over what is sadly an age old issue in our country and mostly due to the irresponsibility of the people. People are behaving as if in Congress or other parties’ governments stampede didn’t happen in the past. Shameful politics being played over dead people.

I respect people’s emotions and outrage but religion and nation is bigger than this. We must strive to make things better. Asking to call it off isn’t a step in the right direction. This could have been any other temple during a festival. Then what? You’re gonna call for ban on celebrating festivals? People need to filter their emotions and try to make mature comments.

Rajdeep lives in England. The British many people mock Brits for their culture of queueing, but that is what you actually need in places like India. In this the middle east is far better.

This is I agree with. The manners I see in England is amazing. Even during peak office hours when train arrives people ensure pessangers from train get down first and then enter one by one as per queue. Also the culture of offering seats to someone with Baby on board tag etc. India need to learn a lot in this aspect.

The British many people mock Brits for their culture of queueing, but that is what you actually need in places like India. In this the middle east is far better.

Can’t compare countries like that without taking into account population density, poverty etc.

Bitter fact is that despite the GDP, there is still extreme poverty in the country and all these people just never learnt civic sense. Im telling you people will legitimately go on killing spree for basic things like water and bread if they’re deprived for a few days in our parts of the world. It will take decades and decades of economic growth to bring a change to the vast majority of our country.

When you can't find any communal angle to blame then let's blame the victims.

Typical BHAKTS logic.

OverCrowd is not the probelm, the apathy to do prepare for this crowd is the problem

Wow my opinion on @Devadwal has changed after seeing his posts on this thread. 👏

This event is tragic but looks like concerted efforts been made from anti Hindus & tukde gangs to antagonize the holy Kumbh. We Sanatani's will never allow that to happen.

RIP to those who died..

But to blame this on BJP or any party is ridiculous.. Its a failure of the system and lack of civic sense in people. Doesnt matter who the gov is - bjp congress aap etc, people need to have a better civic sense. Will be unpopular here - but there have been multiple stampedes and hundreds of deaths over the years at Hajj in Mecca. Doesnt mean Hajj is poorly managed. Its just a tragic tragic incident and to politicize it does a disservice to the dead and an insult to the families..
🙏🙏

This event is tragic but looks like concerted efforts been made from anti Hindus & tukde gangs to antagonize the holy Kumbh. We Sanatani's will never allow that to happen.

Once the headlines of this incident came out, it's sad that the first thing you thought about was not "RIP" or "Condolences" but "OMG! I need to e-save my Modiji."

RIP to those who died..

But to blame this on BJP or any party is ridiculous.. Its a failure of the system and lack of civic sense in people. Doesnt matter who the gov is - bjp congress aap etc, people need to have a better civic sense. Will be unpopular here - but there have been multiple stampedes and hundreds of deaths over the years at Hajj in Mecca. Doesnt mean Hajj is poorly managed. Its just a tragic tragic incident and to politicize it does a disservice to the dead and an insult to the families..
🙏🙏
Hajj is poorly managed btw

Once the headlines of this incident came out, it's sad that the first thing you thought about was not "RIP" or "Condolences" but "OMG! I need to e-save my Modiji."
RIP is an understatement. Offering condolences in such situations is given. Me not writing that sentence doesn't make me any villain. However we need to have wider discussion like how your first statement was to cancel the Kumbh itself and I am hearing similar stuffs in social media/leftist channels. So there is a concerted effort to go after Hindu rituals hiding behind this calamity. I have never defended Modi ji in this thread unless of course you are saying Hinduism = Modi.

Hajj is poorly managed btw

Not to mention extremely expensive.
Muslim brothers spend all their hard earned money for this pilgrimage out of pure devotion.

In Mahakumbh, majority of people are freeloaders. They will forcefully get into trains without ticket, sleep anywhere they like.

For the gigantic number of people attending the Mahakumbh, the money that is coming in per person is nothing compared to what Saudis are minting in the name of Hajj pilgrimage.

I totally feel your agony.
I also might have said the same thing to my best friends in frustration , that might as well shut down this Kumbh mela, these things aren’t meant for our stupid people.

But then you realize there are bigger stakes here and that if we do not defend and transform our religion today, this whole region would be taken over by foreign religions in a matter of a century.

You do realize we can only deploy a certain number of police and special forces, it’s all a huge cost to the government. No where in the world they deploy as much security personnel for stuff like this. We are already doing more because we know how unruly our people are. But when will these people ever take some responsibility? A stampede can literally happen anywhere in our country, these people are freaking crazy bro.

Always looks organised in Reels.

Social media may not present the true picture. Saudis and other Gulf Arabs continually write about its subpar management.

Desi Hajjis may not present the true picture either - they tend to be more loyal than the king.

But compared the the Maha Kumbh it is light years ahead for sure.