A blunder by the Pakistan U19's Team management

Major

Test Star
In the recent ACC youth Asia Cup, Pakistan U19 team were grouped with Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Singapore. As Pakistan lost to Afghanistan and won against Singapore, Pakistan were required to beat Bangladesh in 47.3 overs in order to qualify on net runrate.

Pakistan did beat Bangladesh, however this was done after the match went till the final over.

What i found out today was that the Pakistan u19 team itself got to know that it din't qualify for the semis after some time.

No one in the team management knew that in order to qualify they had to have a better net runrate. Thus, the players were also not told about this.

Most of these players belong to poor families and dont really receive a good education, thus they don't know these things, and you can't blame them.

This is why PCB sends a proper team management with the U19 team, and yet not a single person in the Team management knew about this; because of their lack of game planning or knowledge, not only is the Pakistan U19 team out of the tournament, but many players who didn't get a chance or did get a chance but din't perform will now be dropped.

These guys have literally played with the careers of some young guys.

Here are the names of the guys on the team management

Nadeem Khan (Team Manager), Mansoor Rana (Head Coach), Abdul Rehman (Assistant Coach), Saboor Ahmed (Trainer), Usman Ghani (Physiotherapist), Zubair Ahmed (Analyst).

This.........

Why do you change management for every tour ?

Is this a way of giving joy trips to coaches and managers etc to keep everyone happy ? Good allowances etc

Pakistan Under 19 and Pakistan A should have permanent management for atleast 2 years.

This is a major failure of Analyst.

So you are telling me that out of 20 ppl nobody ever heard the word runrate...

The joyriders should be kicked out of the management.Bring in some new guys who actually know their stuff.And keep with them for sometime.

The players are to be blamed equally. I dont care if u are an illiterate, if its your job you gotta know how things work in it.

They were 9 down. If they tried to accelerate they would have lost the match.

The players are to be blamed equally. I dont care if u are an illiterate, if its your job you gotta know how things work in it.

You really think these guys know how to use computers? You think they know how to do calculations?
These guys come from very poor backgrounds. Some of them hardly do matric(grade 10)

The team management is there to guide these guys.

They were 9 down. If they tried to accelerate they would have lost the match.

its not about being 9 down, its about team planning.

this shows that there was no team planning or certain goal. When you place a goal infront of you then you follow it differently.

I'm more surprise with Mansoor Rana, this guy is a seasoned coach, how could he be involved in this blunder?

You really think these guys know how to use computers? You think they know how to do calculations?
These guys come from very poor backgrounds. Some of them hardly do matric(grade 10)

The team management is there to guide these guys.

Dont care. They should all be blamed. Its their job. If they cant understand such simple things, they dont deserve to play at this level.

easy to talk on a computer, but the ground realities are very different....

Pakistan also bowled 30 extras and had 4 run outs, some things never change

easy to talk on a computer, but the ground realities are very different....

True but bro do u think these kids haven't ever watched cricket on tv and have no idea about the concept of net run rate? Its hard to believe.

they do. But theses guys themselves don't play that many tornamanets. THe only tournament they play are the U19 regions or district.

When they reach this level, most of them are overwhelmed, which is why the team management is suppose to help these guys out.

It is the coaches who makes the plans with the captains. Obviously the coach would be more experienced then some u19 captain or player

In the recent ACC youth Asia Cup, Pakistan U19 team were grouped with Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Singapore. As Pakistan lost to Afghanistan and won against Singapore, Pakistan were required to beat Bangladesh in 47.3 overs in order to qualify on net runrate.

Pakistan did beat Bangladesh, however this was done after the match went till the final over.

What i found out today was that the Pakistan u19 team itself got to know that it din't qualify for the semis after some time.

No one in the team management knew that in order to qualify they had to have a better net runrate. Thus, the players were also not told about this.

Most of these players belong to poor families and dont really receive a good education, thus they don't know these things, and you can't blame them.

This is why PCB sends a proper team management with the U19 team, and yet not a single person in the Team management knew about this; because of their lack of game planning or knowledge, not only is the Pakistan U19 team out of the tournament, but many players who didn't get a chance or did get a chance but din't perform will now be dropped.

These guys have literally played with the careers of some young guys.

Here are the names of the guys on the team management

Nadeem Khan (Team Manager), Mansoor Rana (Head Coach), Abdul Rehman (Assistant Coach), Saboor Ahmed (Trainer), Usman Ghani (Physiotherapist), Zubair Ahmed (Analyst).

How do you came to know this stuff? Any source?

so you're telling me that these guys are poor? are you kidding me? Poor people can't afford a luxury like cricket especially in pakistan because of lack of resources. They surely know how to use social media and their cellphones but they don't know how to do a grade 6 algebra using google...?

bro, you should visit the clubs in pakistan, you would be surprise with what you will see.

Remember reading Yasir Jans interview that he was a green grocer. It was true, and thats how most of these guys are.

you think they know all the formulas to apply for calculation? Infact, even i dont know what the calculations are.

Cricket is a poor mans sport in Pakistan.

What is the point of all the backroom staff if such elementary errors are made. Both the coach and manager should be sacked.

bro, you should visit the clubs in pakistan, you would be surprise with what you will see.

Remember reading Yasir Jans interview that he was a green grocer. It was true, and thats how most of these guys are.

you think they know all the formulas to apply for calculation? Infact, even i dont know what the calculations are.

Cricket is a poor mans sport in Pakistan.

now you're telling me that pakistan selects players on merit? LOL...I'm willing to bet that majority of these players are not what we consider poor.

??

I'm willing to bet that majority of these players are not what we consider poor

Bro, as i said, you have to visit these clubs to know about there situation.

most of these guys come from very poor families, it is their hard work which gets them to this level.

??

Bro, as i said, you have to visit these clubs to know about there situation.

most of these guys come from very poor families, it is their hard work which gets them to this level.

How much do they get paid at this level?

I feel sorry for the players as they have been deprived of hard earnt cash by well paid incompetent idiots.

I doubt you get paid much at under 19 level anywhere in the world though

If they're at under 19 they already have made the big steps

Not much

But it's still better than working at the local mechanics

Don't really know, but it isn't much

The disctrict and region u19 players don't even receive the full promised payment. The players are told you will get the payment later, which does come, but i have heard its never full.

And the problem is you can't tell anyone about this, because if you then your position in the squad could be at risk..

Last year what happened was, few of the players (maybe 5 or 6) of the u19 rawalpindi winning team in the regions were given full kits(cricket gear). THe pindi coach Sabi Azhar later asked the players to givethe kits to him as they were needed for the senior Rawal Pindi who were i think playing domestic first class or the qualifications.

Don't think the guys received their kits back.....

Don't really know, but it isn't much

The disctrict and region u19 players don't even receive the full promised payment. The players are told you will get the payment later, which does come, but i have heard its never full.

And the problem is you can't tell anyone about this, because if you then your position in the squad could be at risk..

Last year what happened was, few of the players (maybe 5 or 6) of the u19 rawalpindi winning team in the regions were given full kits(cricket gear). THe pindi coach Sabi Azhar later asked the players to givethe kits to him as they were needed for the senior Rawal Pindi who were i think playing domestic first class or the qualifications.

Don't think the guys received their kits back.....

I can remember last week you defending the millions spent on board members going abroad. It shows how corrupt and stupid the system is if millions are spent on useless board members and not on the cricketers.

What's the surprise in it? It's just an U19 team - I have seen PAK national team goofing up maths few times in past. One has to understand the term 'Larke lenge ......"

I've seen 'larke lenge' often used on PP, what does it mean?

I was following the CI commentary, they could have easily made it within the required overs after the start they had, but the last 10 overs they were only scoring 1-2 runs an over.

I was confused as to whether they even had an idea that they were missing out on qualification or if they were just being incompetent with the bat.

I've seen 'larke lenge' often used on PP, what does it mean?

I use this to explain a situation when you expect to win against odds, through some miracles or supernatural performance or by some divine blessing, when you could have avoided that situation by playing normal cricket ......

It started from a club game long back, when we hired a PAK pro to play a Final in a local club match. He was outstanding performer in QF & SF batting first; but in Final we were to chase a decent total. He started brilliantly again with his opening partner, but got his partner (another pro, but local) run out & then himself got out trying to hit his 3rd consecutive 6. Obviously, our manager (& team owner) was upset for that shot, as that was 5th wicket down and the asking was very low for that ground, but we were running out of wicket. So when, someone asked him why he tried that needless slog (ironically, to the last ball of the pro from other team, a Lankan, who bowled his full quota just to get this guy out), he said that he doesn't look much at the score board or what's the asking when batting - these things confuses him. His job is to play cricket, not to calculate rate, he does this job with bat & ball - you better ask him on cricket rather than maths. He played that shot, because he felt he could clear the boundary & it did work in previous 2 balls, why people are not talking about Run rate then?...........

He was watching rest of the game with owner, manager & entire time, he kept telling - koi baat nahin, khel hai hi aisa, khudaka marji hai to hum jarur jitenge...". For every wicket, people got tense & he looked calm with this famous line - "mitti pao yaar, larke lenge na ...." Equation came to about 40 at run a ball (which is nothing in terms of rate for that ground) with last pair & those 2 were son & nephew of club owner - playing at 10 & 11 as specialist batsman, so you know ... Miracle does happen & it did happen that day (& it wasn't fixed, I know - those 2 Club owners were booze partner, won't sell matches to others) - their other pro bowled couple of wide in penultimate over, one went for 5; then last over WK missed a bye 4 & finally, with 6 needed in 2 balls, a top edge slog somehow reached 45 metres boundary & their another pro lobbed the ball over rope trying to over-smart things (tried to take it reverse cup - that was fashionable that time).

Between all excitements, I found our pro (won his 3rd MoM) extremely calm & composed - he told to the owner, "Kanha na bhai, no tension, Larke Lenge ............." I'll never forget the face of the club owner at that moment .....

I was following the CI commentary, they could have easily made it within the required overs after the start they had, but the last 10 overs they were only scoring 1-2 runs an over.

I was confused as to whether they even had an idea that they were missing out on qualification or if they were just being incompetent with the bat.

It wasn't easy actually, because PAK won on last pair putting 17 in 4 overs; but indeed that situation could have been avoided as PAK at one point was 148/2 in 29'3 overs, but 4 players running out didn't help. May be targeting inside 46 overs could have resulted a loss, but it's true that they didn't calculate.

I was just wondering, what sort of people are this - in a 4 team group with 2 to advance, everyone has beaten Singapore; while BD beat Afghans, who beat PAK; so if PAK beats BD - it become a triangle - even is street cricket, the question comes in mind - which 2 teams should advance & how?

The fact is, even Afghans were far, far, far smarter people, because they could see this in the other match of the day, starting at same time, but ended 6 hours earlier - they didn't have any visible target, just made sure that if PAK wins, no way should both BD & PAK have a better NRR than theirs by winning the Singapore match in 4'1 overs. BD won their match against Singapore in 5 overs, while as usual, PAK in their 1st match took it comfortably & thought they did a great job by winning in 8'3 overs. Eventually, it's that luxury of 4 overs that cost PAK a spot to Afghans, because AFG also lost to BD in 43 overs, therefore, they were also not in a better situation in terms of NRR. I didn't waste timeto calculate by decimals, but my rough estimate is, had PAK won that Singapore match inside 6 overs, or had Afghans took it to 7 overs or more - the equation was straight forward - PAK wins & goes past Afghans. PAK management had 5 hours to calculate that, as AFG-Singapore match ended within 2 hours of start.
[MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION]
It has nothing to do with changing management - these are fundamental things which, even in club teams calculate. It's about passion for the job you are doing & minimum self respect for doing a job, for which you are sent to represent your flag - those people going there had very little time to look for these details.

And, it'll continue time & again - at worst level (North Korea), these people would have been taken to Army bases & enjoyed their boiled eggs, painfully through wrong hole; but at least at BCB level, they would have required to submit a Report to Papon & justify why they should be part of BCB team management in future?

Despite 90% chance of thunderstorm, PCB's Test Captain went to take a winning chase to Day 5 for 15 minutes, as he didn't know the playing condition (upon which, there must be his signature - didn't bother to read what was written in that piece of sh!t he was signing on behalf of his team) that he could have taken extra half hour to finish a Test in 4 days - and I am sure none one bothered to ask him why?

This is Larke Lenge style management ...........

Hojata hai.. it's just fun cricket at this level :yk

I use this to explain a situation when you expect to win against odds, through some miracles or supernatural performance or by some divine blessing, when you could have avoided that situation by playing normal cricket ......

It started from a club game long back, when we hired a PAK pro to play a Final in a local club match. He was outstanding performer in QF & SF batting first; but in Final we were to chase a decent total. He started brilliantly again with his opening partner, but got his partner (another pro, but local) run out & then himself got out trying to hit his 3rd consecutive 6. Obviously, our manager (& team owner) was upset for that shot, as that was 5th wicket down and the asking was very low for that ground, but we were running out of wicket. So when, someone asked him why he tried that needless slog (ironically, to the last ball of the pro from other team, a Lankan, who bowled his full quota just to get this guy out), he said that he doesn't look much at the score board or what's the asking when batting - these things confuses him. His job is to play cricket, not to calculate rate, he does this job with bat & ball - you better ask him on cricket rather than maths. He played that shot, because he felt he could clear the boundary & it did work in previous 2 balls, why people are not talking about Run rate then?...........

He was watching rest of the game with owner, manager & entire time, he kept telling - koi baat nahin, khel hai hi aisa, khudaka marji hai to hum jarur jitenge...". For every wicket, people got tense & he looked calm with this famous line - "mitti pao yaar, larke lenge na ...." Equation came to about 40 at run a ball (which is nothing in terms of rate for that ground) with last pair & those 2 were son & nephew of club owner - playing at 10 & 11 as specialist batsman, so you know ... Miracle does happen & it did happen that day (& it wasn't fixed, I know - those 2 Club owners were booze partner, won't sell matches to others) - their other pro bowled couple of wide in penultimate over, one went for 5; then last over WK missed a bye 4 & finally, with 6 needed in 2 balls, a top edge slog somehow reached 45 metres boundary & their another pro lobbed the ball over rope trying to over-smart things (tried to take it reverse cup - that was fashionable that time).

Between all excitements, I found our pro (won his 3rd MoM) extremely calm & composed - he told to the owner, "Kanha na bhai, no tension, Larke Lenge ............." I'll never forget the face of the club owner at that moment .....

Hahaha Did this really happen mate ??? :)) I would've literally lost it had I met someone so pathetically clueless and oblivious to basic cricketing things :facepalm: