Aamer Yamin detained by police for two hours for overtaking senior police official's car

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Aamer Yamin is safely back home after being detained by police. His 'crime' - attempting to overtake the vehicle of a senior police official</p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/922135214431797248?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 22, 2017</a></blockquote>

FAISALABAD – Pakistan’s emerging talent Aamer Yamin was “punished” by Punjab Police for overtaking a senior officer’s car near Toba Tek Singh district on Sunday.

The 27-year-old all-rounder, who is set to join Pakistan’s T20 squad against Sri Lanka in UAE tomorrow, was stopped by the police when he overtook Toba Tek Singh’s District Police Officer (DPO) Usman and was made to sit in police station for hours.

The cricketer also shared images from inside the Gojra City police station where he was detained for two hours. He was later released with a warning.

Yamin was named in Pakistan’s Twenty20 International squad for their series against England in the UAE in September 2015. He made his One Day International debut for Pakistan against Zimbabwe on 1 October 2015.

https://en.dailypakistan.com.pk/pak...-overtaking-dpos-vehicle-near-toba-tek-singh/

Yameen-1.jpg

Yameen-2.jpg

Sharifs Punjab Police showing their thuggery. Remember the same Punjab Police getting a hiding against the Chora gang.

if it was a single lane road (one way) then he was indeed breaking the law and got caught because he tried to cut a policeman

Let me tell you one thing, whether it is India or Pakistan, the bureaucracy and Police system was adopted as it was during British India. That system created by the British was not to serve the people but to subvert them.The British will sit on the chair and treat the ordinary people with contempt. How can such a system suddenly serve the people?The British have just been replaced by the indigenious people.The attitude remains the same.

[MENTION=7774]Robert[/MENTION] :)

I dont think you can blame the British for the police in todays India/Pakistan. They are just corrupt and power hungry imo

To quote General Shepard, " the more things change, the more they stay the same. Power always finds a place to rest its head ".

We cant continue blaming the British for the next 200 years.

The police are the unsung heroes. More policemen die in the line of duty than soldiers, in india, and I would believe it is same for Pakistan. Yet they mostly get the ridicule and the admiration is reserved for the army. Don't be an ingrate and show some respect to these hardworking men working for your safety.

In Pakistan sole purpose of the police is to subvert the general population

[MENTION=7774]Robert[/MENTION] :)

I dont think you can blame the British for the police in todays India/Pakistan. They are just corrupt and power hungry imo

We cant continue blaming the British for the next 200 years.

In Pakistan sole purpose of the police is to subvert the general population

I think you guys missed the point. The Police system we have is what the British Made in British India. It was a system to subvert the colonial population. At the very start both countries should have totally discareded the British Bureaucracy and Police system.We didnot.

We just replaced the British Oppressors with indigenious ones.

A new system was needed that should have been based on the principle to serve the people like it is in the west.You cannot take a system that is made to subvert people and then expect it to suddenly become a system to serve them.

That Police Office should be stripped of rank and Chitrolled publicly. Amin is a rising Pakistani star and a sporting asset for the country! Much much more important that some 'Gojra City Police' official who would've taken bribes and what not throughout his entire career.

Disgraceful to say the least!

In pakistan, everyone likes to rule but no one cares to serve.
People in any power roles, are just blind.
It does not matter if they are politicians (Sharif family to a bakery worker few years back), policemen and officers, judges, army, people mistreating their servants and maids. ..never ending list.

I think you guys missed the point. The Police system we have is what the British Made in British India. It was a system to subvert the colonial population. At the very start both countries should have totally discareded the British Bureaucracy and Police system.We didnot.

We just replaced the British Oppressors with indigenious ones.

A new system was needed that should have been based on the principle to serve the people like it is in the west.You cannot take a system that is made to subvert people and then expect it to suddenly become a system to serve them.

Now I see. The moment a new police officer takes charge, he is possessed by the ghosts of the british who used to terrorise the natives, and he begins acting like our barbarian colonial ex masters. To exorcize these ghosts, we should have abolished the police service and created a new system where only the ghosts of the freedom fighters could enter and influence the new officers.

I think joshila sahab has a point. Sometimes evil is inherent in a particular system. Capitalism is an example. On paper it supports free market and exchange but is it really like that?

Similarly the police system was made in such a way by the British that the policeman could subvert or even exploit the people. Be it distribution of power, less fear of repercussions of misconduct and ability to get away for crimes with impunity. These things were made inherent in the system by the British. At that time they used to say that ' the Darogah has become the scourge of the nation'

Now you could say policemen should act better because they are Indians/Pakistanis and have to deal with their own people. I call **. Absolute power corrupts absolutely. According to Machiavelli one cannot depend of benovelence of man who is an egoist and selfish by nature. One needs proper system and laws to overcome this nature of man. I agree with this part (not his general work).

So police system needs reforms in our part of the world. It will be difficult to chalk out a good framework for it but needs to be done.

I think joshila sahab has a point. Sometimes evil is inherent in a particular system. Capitalism is an example. On paper it supports free market and exchange but is it really like that?

Similarly the police system was made in such a way by the British that the policeman could subvert or even exploit the people. Be it distribution of power, less fear of repercussions of misconduct and ability to get away for crimes with impunity. These things were made inherent in the system by the British. At that time they used to say that ' the Darogah has become the scourge of the nation'

Now you could say policemen should act better because they are Indians/Pakistanis and have to deal with their own people. I call **. Absolute power corrupts absolutely. According to Machiavelli one cannot depend of benovelence of man who is an egoist and selfish by nature. One needs proper system and laws to overcome this nature of man. I agree with this part (not his general work).

So police system needs reforms in our part of the world. It will be difficult to chalk out a good framework for it but needs to be done.

No, I think Joshila sahab is spreading lies. More cops die in the line of duty than soldiers. They are supposed to be available round the clock (day shifts/night shifts). They are severely understaffed. With most of them having to provide security to VIPs, and only a handful for the common public under a thana. They cannot fire without the order of the district collector. They have to arrest/release based on the orders of the politicians. They cannot detain someone beyond 24 hours, and have to present before the magistrate. And all that with meagre pay. From constables to inspectors, they get 750 rs pe month as food allowance.. that is 20 rupees per day.

And then we have ingrates and shameless people maligning the police. Shame on them.

No, I think Joshila sahab is spreading lies. More cops die in the line of duty than soldiers. They are supposed to be available round the clock (day shifts/night shifts). They are severely understaffed. With most of them having to provide security to VIPs, and only a handful for the common public under a thana. They cannot fire without the order of the district collector. They have to arrest/release based on the orders of the politicians. They cannot detain someone beyond 24 hours, and have to present before the magistrate. And all that with meagre pay. From constables to inspectors, they get 750 rs pe month as food allowance.. that is 20 rupees per day.

And then we have ingrates and shameless people maligning the police. Shame on them.

There are obviously good policemen but one cannot deny that their are far too many who take advantage of their power. Yes their duty is hard and most of them would have done something else than become policemen if they had gotten opportunities. Its a harsh truth that for whatever reasons, they chose this life so they have to take in what comes along with it. This should not prevent us to look at what reforms could be made.

You know you've arrived on PP when people start addressing you as Sahab.

We should all aspire to achieve such respect from our posting peers.

There are obviously good policemen but one cannot deny that their are far too many who take advantage of their power. Yes their duty is hard and most of them would have done something else than become policemen if they had gotten opportunities. Its a harsh truth that for whatever reasons, they chose this life so they have to take in what comes along with it. This should not prevent us to look at what reforms could be made.

But where is that power? They are puppets in the hands of politicians and bureaucrats? Why not call the puppet masters evil? Ingrates who sit on their behinds posting whole night doing nothing with their lives, calling the police evil and an extension of the british colonial oppression?

I think you are missing one point here. Politicians and bureaucrats control the police in some aspects but that is completely different than what some of the policemen do to common folk. Police might not have power over politicians but they do have power over the street vendor or a taxi driver.

Oh yes, there is corruption. Like it is in every institution. So don't understand the singling out the police as an evil vestige of the british, when every damn institution..legislature, judiciary, bureaucracy, army comes from the same old british system..we even have the regiments according to the british. But will joshila sahab call the army evil ( you will, but you don't count!). I don't salute soldiers when I see them, but I make sure to salute the constable, especially an old one, because I know they do more sacrifices than the corrupt and entitled army, and yet get the most hate.

It isn;t just the police, it is judiciary as well, when someone like a Lalu or Amma or Gandhi family can get away with corruption, then there is indeed no justice for the common man to look forward to!

The executive & legislative branches of the govt could be held accountable if the police + judiciary would do their job. But hey ~ is hamam me sab nange hai :quote:

The singling out of police is wrong but then they haven;t stood by the common man, when they needed to, same for judiciary!

It isn;t just the police, it is judiciary as well, when someone like a Lalu or Amma or Gandhi family can get away with corruption, then there is indeed no justice for the common man to look forward to!

The executive & legislative branches of the govt could be held accountable if the police + judiciary would do their job. But hey ~ is hamam me sab nange hai :quote:

The singling out of police is wrong but then they haven;t stood by the common man, when they needed to, same for judiciary!

Not fair to club the police with the judiciary. the judiciary is the single most corrupt and rotten institution in india. You can buy most of the judges in high courts for 4-6 lakhs. And they are supposed to be protected from the politicians, hence have no reason to be follow anyone's orders. They act purely on greed. The most ghatiya, beghairat and sharmnaak body in india..the indian judiciary.

That;s not true in practice though, between politicians, their goons, businessmen & bureaucracy there is a tight knit group which works actively against the interests of common man. The only ones designed to be in favor of you & me are the police & judiciary, too bad there are only a handful of (honest) policemen & judges in India or South Asia for that matter.

FAISALABAD: Police on Sunday detained cricketer Aamir Yamin for overtaking the vehicle of a senior police officer near Toba Tek Singh, ARY News reported.

The cricketer found himself in trouble as he attempted to overtake a vehicle which belonged to District Police Officer (DPO) Usman Akram Gondal. He was taken to the Toba Tek Singh city police station where he was locked up for over two hours and later released after a warning.

Aamir Yamin said that he was going from Multan to Lahore, when he attempted to overtake a rickshaw near Gojra, when suddenly the vehicle of District Police Officer (DPO) came from behind.

Yamin was later taken to the city police station. He also informed the officials of the Pakistan Cricket Board who intervened and called the police station after which he was released after over two hours.

Yamin was heading to Lahore to fly to Dubai to take part in the upcoming T20 series against Sri Lanka.

SHO City Police Station Muhammad Yar speaking to media said that Aamir Yamin overtook the vehicle of DPO and was detained for two hours. DPO Usman Gondal while investigating the incident said that Yamin was released after a warning.

https://arynews.tv/en/cricketer-amir-yamin-police-vehicle/

Every province should get ALL of its Bureaucrats from other three provinces in a quota system of 30-30-40.

If not ALL, format can be 30-30-30-10.