ACB Name Younis Khan and Umar Gul as Afghanistan Team’s Coaching Consultants for UAE Tour

Former Pakistan middle-order batter Younus Khan and right-arm fast bowler Umar Gul have been named as the batting and bowling consultants of our national men’s cricket team respectively for the UAE tour. Both will join the team during the ongoing training and preparatory camp in the United Arab Emirates as the team gears up for its forthcoming international cricketing assignments.

Younis Khan finished his international career having a test average of over 50 (52.05), scoring over 10 thousands runs, with 34 hundreds (a triple hundred & 6 double hundreds) and 33 fifties to his name in 118 test matches he has played for his country. He has also represented Pakistan in 265 One Day Internationals (ODIs) from Feb 2000 to Nov 2015, where he scored 7249 runs at 31.24 with 7 centuries and 48 half-centuries to his name. As a captain, he has enjoyed the success of taking Pakistan to the T20 World Cup glory in 2009.

However, Umar Gul has played 237 international matches for Pakistan in which he has 427 scalps to his name and is considered as one of the most successful fast bowlers in the history of Pakistan Cricket (specically in T20Is).

After announcing retirement from all forms of the game in 2020, Gul took to the coaching roles in different levels, He has been the bowling coach for the Quetta Gladiators in PSL, and has also accompanied the coaching staff in the Kashmir Premier League (KPL) and the Galle Gladiators team in the Lanka Premier League (LPL).

ACB CEO Mr. Naseeb Khan said: "The UAE camp is a great opportunity for the players to get adequate training in the relevant departments of the game and get fully prepared for the future competitions. Younis Khan and Omar Gul have rich experience of international cricket and I am sure they will help our boys overcome the concerns they have got in the batting and bowling departments”.

Afghanistan Cricket Board has recently named Graham Thorpe, a former English batter, as the head coach of the Senior Men’s team for the events ahead, who will, according to the agreement, join the team at the end of April.

https://cricket.af/post/acb-name-yo...ional-teams-coaching-consultants-for-uae-tour

Luckily for both parties it is not a long-term deal. Otherwise Younis would have been on Game On Hai a year from now talking about how he wanted to help Afghan youth and how ACB wronged him.

ACB and Younis Khan. I am guessing a fight with break out in less than 5 months

Graham Thorpe, Younis Khan and Umar Gul is quite a motley crew :))

Why is it a motley crew?

Younis Khan have got some issues getting along with people.

Why is Thorpe and Gul, wats wrong with them. I thot Thorpe is a good signing as head coach, but don’t know why they got Younis when Thorpe who himself was a better batting coach with credentials and experience

Rate the following coaching staffs

Bangladesh: Russel Domingo, Allan Donald, Rangana Herath
ACB: Graham Thorpe , Younis , Gul
Pakistan: Saqlain , Yousuf, Tait

Why can’t Pakistan get a proper head coach like Mickey Arthur, Andy Flower, Stuart Law, Moody, Hesson Gillespie, or even Simmons, Farbrace, Botha etc.

I think Brad Hodge or Brad Haddin would also be great choices for Pakistan as head coach.

Saqlain can be a good spin bowling coach , but he lack skills to drive the team in right direction.

YK always strutted and Gul always has issues with newball good learning experience for both parties

Why is it a motley crew?

Younis Khan have got some issues getting along with people.

Why is Thorpe and Gul, wats wrong with them. I thot Thorpe is a good signing as head coach, but don’t know why they got Younis when Thorpe who himself was a better batting coach with credentials and experience

I'm not criticising, it's just a very random group of people - Graham Thorpe was fired by ECB after Ashes disaster while Younis Khan is a volatile personality (knife threatening/tera baap bhi icebath lega incident with Hasan Ali).

ACB and Younis Khan - I mean what could go wrong !

Recipe for disaster this.

Why can’t Pakistan get a proper head coach like Mickey Arthur, Andy Flower, Stuart Law, Moody, Hesson Gillespie, or even Simmons, Farbrace, Botha etc.

I think Brad Hodge or Brad Haddin would also be great choices for Pakistan as head coach.

Saqlain can be a good spin bowling coach , but he lack skills to drive the team in right direction.

Because PCB wants to remain mediocre team , so they go for mediocre coaches.

We just beat Australia in an ODI series. Give the coaching staff some time. Constant chopping and changing won't help

Saqlain doesnt have any vision. He is only involved in making cheezy videos where they say to each other player positive cricket. What the hell is positive cricket.

Either the captain sets the direction and the standard of cricket to be played or the coach. They need some strong coach

Its the test matches where coach's job, his understanding of the game and planning is tested and Sqlain failed in that completely . In ODI, one match winning inning by a player like Babar can win the game for you, coach matters less.

we dont need coaches...ever since we got rid of controlling coaches like misbah, the team has had room to breathe and are finding their own identity

coaches need to stay in the background and let the players who actually are in the field make the decisions

ACB guys should be careful when dining with Younis Khan, in case they say something to offend him.

I don’t know why we help the ACB. We have helped them on several occasions from the start up, yet their chairman calls us terrorists. Is stuck up India.

They have insulted us time and time again as a board, the fans have attacked our fans. I think we should cut ties with these guys.

Now their best buddy india isn’t giving them that much time, they want to be friends again.

Thorpe got unnecessary blame for the Ashes.

England have always struggled playing in Australia, and their batting line up was horrible.

Not sure what Thorpe was meant to do except pad up himself.

I don’t know why we help the ACB. We have helped them on several occasions from the start up, yet their chairman calls us terrorists. Is stuck up India.

They have insulted us time and time again as a board, the fans have attacked our fans. I think we should cut ties with these guys.

Now their best buddy india isn’t giving them that much time, they want to be friends again.

Excellent points. No need to cut ties but no need to be overly chummy either. The same thing has happened before. Remember how Pakistan helped Bangladesh get test status? Then the BCB got arrogant with us, a fine way to say thanks. I think that it would also be ethically wrong for Younis Khan and Gul to divulge the Pakistan team's secrets/weaknesses to Afghanistan.

Countdown to a drama by Younis Khan begins.

Younis’s arrogance vs ACB arrogance vs Afghan players arrogance is just a bad bad combination.

Are Younis and Gul working for free?
If not then it's totally a business relationship.

There's now a Pakistan friendly government in Afghanistan so we should see ACB ease up its anti PCB rhetoric

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">It has been my utmost desire to work with <a href="https://twitter.com/ACBofficials?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ACBofficials</a> as a coach & the discussions have been going on since 2011 during my playing days. I now feel it’s the right time & the UAE camp is a perfect opportunity to work with ACB & get to know the upcoming talent more closely. <a href="https://t.co/CjA3Zoiv67">pic.twitter.com/CjA3Zoiv67</a></p>— Younus Khan (@YounusK75) <a href="https://twitter.com/YounusK75/status/1510971840059129861?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 4, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Pakhair raghle Younus Bhai looking forward to learn the most for you INSHALLAH &#55357;&#56397;</p>— Rashid Khan (@rashidkhan_19) <a href="https://twitter.com/rashidkhan_19/status/1510995462702002176?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 4, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

My predictions are, mohammad shezad will fight with younis

Shehzad isn't part of the t20 or odi team that went to the training camp in UAE. We've been trying to get rid of the old deadwood since the t20 wc.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">It has always been my passion to pass on my knowledge and experience to the next generation. Thank you <a href="https://twitter.com/ACBofficials?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ACBofficials</a> for this opportunity at <a href="https://twitter.com/AbuDhabiCricket?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@AbuDhabiCricket</a>. <a href="https://t.co/UPiTZ7bbMo">pic.twitter.com/UPiTZ7bbMo</a></p>— Younus Khan (@YounusK75) <a href="https://twitter.com/YounusK75/status/1514101407078666251?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 13, 2022</a></blockquote>

They are not working for free.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">It was a pleasure working with u guys and I truely enjoyed my time with u all. Hope to see u again inshaAllah <a href="https://t.co/dK3PnmkJ0f">https://t.co/dK3PnmkJ0f</a></p>— Umar Gul (@mdk_gul) <a href="https://twitter.com/mdk_gul/status/1518667047286173696?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 25, 2022</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Thoroughly enjoyed my time working with the <a href="https://twitter.com/ACBofficials?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ACBofficials</a> where we conducted a superb camp in <a href="https://twitter.com/AbuDhabiCricket?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@AbuDhabiCricket</a> with some extremely promising Afghan players. Hoping to see Afghan cricket grow more & more to become one of the toughest team to beat. <a href="https://t.co/uzV2qZubHf">pic.twitter.com/uzV2qZubHf</a></p>— Younus Khan (@YounusK75) <a href="https://twitter.com/YounusK75/status/1518552042666704896?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 25, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

The background music :))

YK needs to sack his social media guy.

I was waiting for Younis Khan to start his rap song but the video ended before that. :inti

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">ENROUTE Dubai to join team Afghanistanteam. Need your prayers and support. <a href="https://twitter.com/ACBofficials?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ACBofficials</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/AsiaCup2022?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#AsiaCup2022</a> <a href="https://t.co/szB4WJTJLq">pic.twitter.com/szB4WJTJLq</a></p>— Umar Gul (@mdk_gul) <a href="https://twitter.com/mdk_gul/status/1562294218248404992?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 24, 2022</a></blockquote>

Plotting the downfall of Sri Lanka....

FbLLkG1VQAIduHA

Afghanistan are a dangerous team in these conditions. The PCB is missing out on not arranging home series ODI and T20 games against them especially in the kpk province.

There was an ODI series against them that was cancelled so maybe it gets rescheduled. Would certainly make sense to do it to get some preparation against excellent spin bowling for upcoming WC in India.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Indeed!</p>— Umar Gul (@mdk_gul) <a href="https://twitter.com/mdk_gul/status/1564692543815798787?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 30, 2022</a></blockquote>

He is able to communicate with Afghani players via Pashto easily I guess. Read somewhere that the younger crop of their players doesn't understand Urdu.

Well done Umar Gul - what a start as a bowling coach.

Says speaking to the media

"Pakistan has very good fast bowlers. The bench is good, and the players need to be taken care of. Shaheen Shah Afridi will be very important for Pakistan in the T20 World Cup, and he must be fit for the event"

“I think Pakistan’s fast bowlers need to be taken care of a lot and for this, a rotation policy needs to be adopted,”

"Everyone said Shaheen was being overloaded as he continued to play but he also performed well."

"I am the coach of the Afghanistan team and I am a professional. I have feelings for the Pakistan team because played for Pakistan for so long. But the way we plan for other teams, we will plan against Pakistan.

"The Pakistan team is also good. And its coaching staff is also good. Afghanistan will benefit from playing against the top team Pakistan because the players will learn."

"When I used to play, I used to inform my fellow players about my experience because cricket is my passion. Now I want to stay connected with cricket through coaching. Being associated with Quetta Gladiators also benefited, as the management helped a lot,"

"Hasan Ali is getting in and out, and he is not in the same form as before. He has given very good performances in the past."

Afghanistan at the ICC T20 World Cup 2022

"It's a great opportunity, especially for the young Afghan players, to play against good teams and learn from them": Umar Gul

0epz7w7.png

Younis Khan has done no good work with either pakistan or afg, terrible batting coach

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Gutted to be out of the worldcup but some of our matches got washed out while in others we couldnt deliver. Im still very happy with the progress that my fast bowlers have been making. InshaAllah we will come back stronger.<a href="https://twitter.com/ACBofficials?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ACBofficials</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ICCT20WorldCup2022?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ICCT20WorldCup2022</a></p>— Umar Gul (@mdk_gul) <a href="https://twitter.com/mdk_gul/status/1588551895349460993?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 4, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>