"After five matches, I was told to stay at the team hotel" : Umar Akmal

Umar Akmal speaking on TV

"I don't want to say anything, but we all know what did happen and what did not happen there (in PSL)"

"PSL has been a big success in UAE and Lahore, and the response to players and the discipline shown by crowds has been great"

"My first match for Lahore Qalandars was very good but then everyone knows what happened after that"

"I didn't click in the rest of the tournament but think about what number I batted in the first game and then at what number I batted in the games afterwards and all will become clear"

"I played 5 matches and you all know what batting position I batted on; That (change in batting position) shook my confidence"

"Its better we talk about the future now and not about PSL"

"My assessment of the final is that Kami Bhai is in great form"

"Both Kamran Akmal and Luke Ronchi are icon players in their teams and they did not start that well in the tournament but, their teams gave them a lot of confidence"

"We all know that form comes and goes, but if I was an Icon player (for LQ) then I should have been supported"

"I am working very hard and will make a strong comeback"

"After 5 matches, I was asked to sit in the team hotel"

[Paraphrased for clarity] "It was strange that an icon player is not going to his team's match in our own (Pakistani) league"

"Our own league is not supporting us, then what more can be said?"

"I would like to say that the Rana family is very respectable and they have always backed me"

"They have treated me like a younger brother, all demands I made were fulfilled by them [Ranas]"

"What my complaint is, and I did tell coaching staff about this also, that if there is a problem with me, then lets sort it out as I want to play cricket"

"My season in Pakistan in 4-Day, One-Day, T20 has been outstanding"

"I want to make a comeback and this is a golden chance for me, so please back me"

"The news about me that Umar is angry and is sitting in the hotel was absolutely incorrect"

"McCullum during the tournament was making statements about me and I was holding back"

"I told the manager that please advise him (against it) as there is no point in that"

"If I also start making statements in response then our league's quality will be effected"

"I will request the PCB to call me over and tell me if I have made a mistake"

"As you know, I have been playing cricket for 10 years in world leagues, no one has complained about my discipline"

"In 10 years I have not been fined in even one tour so no one can say that my discipline is bad"

"If I listen to music, people have a problem with that too"

"If I wear [shades] glasses then people have problems with that"

"If I wear shoes [of certain type] or put on a sun-block [cream] then people have a problem with that"

"If McCullum has a problem with me, he should be asked to sit in front of me and sort this out as what I want to do is to play cricket at this time"

I have to admit, I was one of the people who complained bitterly about choice of his shades.

Waqar is not ideal coach
Mickey is not ideal coach
Now MCulum is not ideal captain
What next for umar akmal?
Same excuses from last three years again and again he looks mentally distrube person who need proper treatment

You can’t play straight ball anymore. That has nothing to do with your batting position, captain, coach or anything else. It’s enturely your fault.

This guy seriously needs to take responsibility for himself. It’s never his fault apparently.

His solution to everything is confrontation with the authority.

Some expert 'stirrers' in media also who call him and ask these questions "We really dont want you to get in trouble as the past is past but what do you think happened with you at the PSL?".... Rest Umar Akmal obliges.

I say give him his favorite position (whichever he chooses) for 10-15 ODIs/T20s and full support and see if anything comes good. If not, then don't select him ever again.

reminds me of the song "athaarveen vich munda badnaam ho gaya" (lost respect when turned 18). it's literally been all down hill since then.

Wel this was told 3-4 years ago by a certain Waqar Younis but we never learn

From what I understand from some people, Waqar was a bad coach and Umar Akmal's demise is a good example of that.

There must be a reason why he was told to keep away from the team.

Umar Akmal playing the victim card again.

An Akmal playing the Victim card,nothing new here.Everyone else is wrong,only Umar is right.

At least Kamran has some justification with his domestic performances.

This pathetic excuse for a cricketer will never learn. His non-performance will always be somebody else's fault. He skips training, doesn't train hard enough and continuously plays stupid shots to get out. Umar Akmal is a prime example of the fact that talent alone is not enough to make you a successful cricketer in modern day cricket.

exactly. No one stops someone from joining the team just because they failed or are in bad form

You can’t play straight ball anymore. That has nothing to do with your batting position, captain, coach or anything else. It’s enturely your fault.

This guy seriously needs to take responsibility for himself. It’s never his fault apparently.

Exactly. Sometimes you need to accept you are rubbish. UA is a finished article.

Still needs to improve his attitude. He was given chances this PSL and could not perform. And, it maybe is the end of his career atleast in terms of playing for the national team.

As you know, I have been playing cricket for 10 years in world leagues, no one has complained about my discipline"
What a joker.So waqar,Micky all are crazy.
SHRAMFUL PERSON

I don’t know who are his advisors, I would suggest he should not give any interviews, keep a low profile, put his 100% energy on scoring heavily at FC level or at any opportunity he gets. He still has lots of cricket left in him and can make a come back , only on back of his performance.

was Umar Akmal a malcontent who was disturbing the team harmony? thats the reason I can think of; Lahore did start performing way better after Umar Akmal was dropped

Another statement 🤦🏽*♂️ I just hope H Talat comes & grabs his opportunity with both hands, the rest will be history

Umar Akmal wo zakham tha jis main pehley peep pari thi ab to cancer phel chuka hai.. doctors na jawab da dya hai.

Same old crap.He is finished.

A lot of people have complained about him or were dissatisfied by his attitude.But no,they are all wrong.

Well the big question is still hovering around me. Who exactly is behind akmals. Had these things made by somebody else, pcb would have banned him long time ago.
But i am sure what ever this joke of a person and player do, he will always be in the plans. He will continue playing psl, domestic or god forbid national team.

I am more than 100% sure its not just lahore/ gang of model town thing. Many deserving lahore players who were way more talented and honest weren't given chance but these two akmals, it looks like nothing will ever change for them.

I would had bought all the excuses he placed forward.

However, the first quote spilled the beans.

He is not a team player. He still whines about batting position. If you cant adjust to a bat position how could you call yourself an icon player.

It looks like the fall out happened due to his batting position. He probably complained.

Thing js, if you complain. Then well and good. Ur position gets changed and yoh are ask to bat in that position. But even after batting in ur requested position you end up failing. Then you have no right to complain.

Umar batted in the upper order. He has complained he doesnt want to bat at lower order in the past. Now when he is not doing anything at upper ordet then what do you expect team mangment to do.

I will deduce that team managment got annoyed that he even doesnt perform after grtting his batting position changed thus they told him to stay at the hotel.

On the other hand you got a Hussain talat who even batted well from no.8 . He is not hitter type batsmen. More of an innings builder but even yet he smashed sixes which allowed him to get known around the league. That innings he played at no.8 that day made him more famous and has played a vital part in his quest of getting into the pakistani team

LQ could trade umar akmal and get a good return. Till the time misbah and waqar are at IU he wont be accepted there.

Multan has nothing to offer. Though, a trade between imran tahir and umar akmal could make both parties happy.

LQ could trade to PZ, KK or QG

I have to admit, I was one of the people who complained bitterly about choice of his shades.

Umar akmal needs to be taught that at international level your mannerisms matter.

Yes if he was a newbie it would had been ignored. But after playing more then 50 games for pakistan you need to improve your mannerisms.

You are in icon of bazati, not just for yourself but any team that you play for. Keep him far away from national team.

Umar akmal needs to be taught that at international level your mannerisms matter.

Yes if he was a newbie it would had been ignored. But after playing more then 50 games for pakistan you need to improve your mannerisms.

Forget shades, pictures with him on bed shirtless with grapes invites ridicule. Positive Image is very important if he wants to be taken seriously

I read somewhere, players like Rohit Sharma never once mention that they are Icon players for their franchises. Yet this guy needs to constantly remind the word that he is an Icon player, a Test cricketer etc.

Someone really needs to explain to this guy that he is only devaluing these prestigious titles by constantly mentioning them at a time when he is by no means deserving for that recognition. Its a huge shame that Umar Akmal was given so much hype in the early part of his career, its the reason for his constant state of denial in this day and age.

Umar Akmal speaking on TV

"As you know, I have been playing cricket for 10 years in world leagues, no one has complained about my discipline"

"In 10 years I have not been fined in even one tour so no one can say that my discipline is bad"

Absolute lies!

He was dropped from the team (along with Shehzad) for the 2016 England tour, Inzamam specifically said it was because of discipline issues. Also failed the fitness test I believe.

He was specifically mentioned by name in Waqar's report when he was leaving as having discipline and attitude issues. Waqar even recommended not to select Umar for at least 2 years.

Pakistan cup 2017: Akmal was captaining Punjab, and accused Junaid khan of running away from playing a tough match. Junaid clarified he had food poisoning. Both Umar and Junaid got a breach of discipline charge for speaking out in the media like this.

In 2016 Umar was banned from 1 match against New Zealand (t20) as he had breached dressing code in a domestic match.

Umar again in 2017 went to the media and made all sorts of accusations against Mickey Arthur. PCB disciplinary committee found him to be breaching his central contract once again.

There are issues too many to list!

It is a pattern.

Also, these are only cricketing discipline issues. If you look into his personal life and see incidents (such as him getting into an altercation with a traffic warden in 2014, famous party-gate, etc...) then there are even more to add to the list.

LQ management should be ashamed of themselves.. Umar is a special talent and he needs to be treated differently, Pathetic from LQ..

Umar’s ship has sailed.. I doubt even a Kami-like resurgence will result in a comeback to the team.

This guy's a joke, tell him his future is finished so he can go try to represent Hong Kong or something, we have no space for a diva like this even if he was a quality batsman, let alone a detrimental self accused water balloon.

Let's not hear about this guy anymore. He has played victim too many times for one to exactly recall. I mean , this guy epitomizes what you mean by being a crook. He is a discard of test team ,if he was really that good he would have been in the team . I know people would mention some Fawad Alam and that sadaf guy but from what I have seen of Fawad he makes batting look a mundane tasks. I mean he was getting struck on his helmet by Graeme Swann .
Cricket has lost many players with exceptional talent , the world forgot about them let's forget uA now . He is done and over with

The guy is just gormless;The game as a batsman is about runs and he doesnt score no where near enough. His profile is for too high for a guy that has achieved so little.

It's his own fault getting out caught stumped run out giving your wicket away isn't to do with the coach and captain time to improve and come back mature fitter and a better player then show some personality after top class performances.

I've seen world class talents fall from grace but here we see a batsman become so bad it's not laughable

He is lucky that he wasn't sent back home. May be, by next year everything will be forgotten, but there is enough in those statements for him to miss next PSL entirely. I feel, Jr. most Akmal thinks too big of himself (about his cricket), and that's not helping him. He should realize that things have changed from the CT - had PAK lost that game to SRL (resulting group stage exit), things would have been different, but now he has to make runs first .... and be fit.

There was obviously a reason why he wasn't allowed at the ground. He needs to let his bat do the talking for once.

Seems LQ saved his face by not sending him home in disgrace.

Not your fault mate

Your career started under a dictator :moyo that didnt allow your super talented brother to play hence you had to fake a back injury in order to get your innocent brother play. Instead of praising you they slapped you with a six month probation and forced you to play

Waqar traumatized you when he took over, he never let you eat the goodies and forced you to starve. They guy wanted to destroy you. Basit ali would abuse you in front of the inferior batsmen at your domestic team because he was jealous of you, junaid khan even dared to run away from your team once. :broad

Evil mickey then came to your life. He just ruined your perfectly good career in which you were owning twitter. They hated you when you were at parties in hyderabad and faisalabad. Even the police hates you being so good. :ds

You were never at fault dear akmal. B Mac is obviously trying to ruin your career. Never change UA - Never change

Not your fault mate

Your career started under a dictator :moyo that didnt allow your super talented brother to play hence you had to fake a back injury in order to get your innocent brother play. Instead of praising you they slapped you with a six month probation and forced you to play

Waqar traumatized you when he took over, he never let you eat the goodies and forced you to starve. They guy wanted to destroy you. Basit ali would abuse you in front of the inferior batsmen at your domestic team because he was jealous of you, junaid khan even dared to run away from your team once. :broad

Evil mickey then came to your life. He just ruined your perfectly good career in which you were owning twitter. They hated you when you were at parties in hyderabad and faisalabad. Even the police hates you being so good. :ds

You were never at fault dear akmal. B Mac is obviously trying to ruin your career. Never change UA - Never change

Such a well written post, a fitting tribute to the legend.. Just shows how much his career has been hampered by everyone else who hates his talent.. A special talent like Umar was wasted by Pakistan.. All these people from Waqar to Mickey to Bmac to the police To basit Ali need to apologise to Umar and Pakistani public for destroying what could have been the best years in Pakistan cricket history..

UA sahib, baqi sabh bataien apni jaggah, and its appreciated you kept quiet, but please cut the shaaitza out on this batting position caused your failiure. Bhai sahib, you were being bowled to in the same manner as anyone else, you simply failed to perform. You speak as if in a dif batting position you were being sprayed by a pellet gun instead of a ball... Admit your own failiure and work hard.

My advise to u is that work hard and try to keep a spot in these leagues as there is no future for u in the Pak xi...

Sounds a bit deluded referring to himself as an "icon" player.

Maybe he's seen a couple of smileys of himself right here on PP and got the wrong end of the stick.

Seems LQ saved his face by not sending him home in disgrace.

Is there any specific incident which caused them to drop him? If there were cricketing reasons only then they should clearly specify. Anyone can run into bad form or a period of poor confidence so if they are scapegoating him for his lack of runs it is poor from them but if there are other specific reasons then they should make them public.

I can't see how or why any team would ask a player not to come anywhere near the ground on match days if it was just cricketing issues. It was more than that surely.

Not one poster supporting UA. What a far cry from 2013-14 when he was struggling yet people had faith in him that he will bounce back. Since then, he's only gone downhill.

What a criminal waste of such natural talent, all he needed was an attitude to work hard and get better. Alas he chose a wrong path.

He is done and dusted, will never play for Pakistan and he should n't. Not sure why we should waste time talking about him, utter disappointment, his mental issues will not be solved :facepalm:

This guys fools a lot of people into thinking he is innocent. He is far from it.

I say give him his favorite position (whichever he chooses) for 10-15 ODIs/T20s and full support and see if anything comes good. If not, then don't select him ever again.

You don't get 10-15 international caps as a reward for being dropped from a domestic fun cricket league.

I've given these thoughts before and I'll repeat. Honestly I've never understood this reasoning with Umar Akmaal and his fans. And it's been going on for a while this suggestion that he pick his own spot...

Firstly what has he even done to merit being given a position he wishes at the expense of others?

And what kind of logic is this? Batsman A doesn't do well in ANY chance he gets.. However his failures should be the reason why he should get even more chances and on his own demands and whims. Everywhere else in the world you are dropped after failures but here expectation is different

I've given these thoughts before and I'll repeat. Honestly I've never understood this reasoning with Umar Akmaal and his fans. And it's been going on for a while this suggestion that he pick his own spot...

Firstly what has he even done to merit being given a position he wishes at the expense of others?

And what kind of logic is this? Batsman A doesn't do well in ANY chance he gets.. However his failures should be the reason why he should get even more chances and on his own demands and whims. Everywhere else in the world you are dropped after failures but here expectation is different

That's beacause it's not Umar Akmal's fault, it never has been. Everybody else is always to blame.

The problem now is they're running out of targets. Can't blame Waqar, can't blame Mickey, can't blame Misbah who was the scapegoat for his failure to live up to his potential for seven years. I guess we'll see how they apportion blame between the brave, attacking, genius captaincy of McCullum and the deadly hydrating powers of H[SUB]2[/SUB]O

Today is the first time I have heard that your batting position determines your ability to play a straight delivery from a part-time left armer, or it causes you to run down the pitch to Afridi even before he has started his run-up.

"I don't want to say anything, but we all know what did happen and what did not happen"

Says this then proceeds to say a whole lot. :uakmal

I love the quote 'We all know what did happen and what did not happen'. Indeed. :yk2

He even blaned water for his weight gain once, water is being unfair to him.

Hate to point this out but ever since he married aq daughter he has gone even more nuts with pappa encouraging this nonsense no doubt. This is the same aq btw who believed his son was being left out as anti-nepotism and eill walk into the aussie team.

Good point. Clearly U. Akmal needs to sort things out in his head and just focus on the job and not worry about the whole world being against you.

Actually you know that's an angle I'd never thought of before

Is AQ the reason of this ridiculous behaviour by Umar over the years and why his own son Usman Qadir is so delusional about his ability?

Actually you know that's an angle I'd never thought of before

Is AQ the reason of this ridiculous behaviour by Umar over the years and why his own son Usman Qadir is so delusional about his ability?

AQ was a bona fide ATG but Umar and his kid definitely not. But imagine if your dad/in Law was an ATG and keeps whispering in your ear it will have some affect. Obviously UA was a bit funny prior to his marriage as ppl have mentioned above (sickgate to get Kami in etc etc) but this has made him worse

I was going to go look up the stats and the batting positions to debunk him and call him out but realized it's just not worth it anymore.

Please Umar don't flatter yourself by going on about this victim mentality tirade. Brendan McCullum is ten times the player you ever were or will be. Umar is more interested in partying and dancing then he is in Cricket, this has been seen many times. The biggest problems are that Umar is always unfit and doesn't score heavy runs. He'll go the same way as his "Kami bhai", they are both done at international level.

Bas excuse hai excuse !
He should take a brake from cricket and take psychological treatment to remove all clutter from his mind and start fresh again.

Hahaha
This man seriously needs a psychiatrist.

I had final hope on him this PSL, that he might get himself corrected, and might prove his worth. But I think, its all over him now. Sorely, it was not been decision of Mcculum alone to lead him in hotel. It must be team management's decision, and that team management comprises of people like Aqib Javed, Shoaib Akhtar who have always been avid supporter of UA.

But seems now, they also understood that they are not dealing with a player but a mentally challenged, pagal aadmi. Who don't even know what he is doing.

Even psychiatrist can't do anything now, he is beyond them as well. He needs serious mental treatment, like giving him electric shocks kind of thing