Air India suspends Delhi-Birmingham flights, cites shut Pakistan airspace

Syed1

ODI Captain
Air India flies six times a week from Birmingham Airport – three times direct to Delhi and three times direct to Amritsar. (Reuters/ Representative Image)
Air India in the UK confirmed on Friday that it would be suspending all flights to and from Birmingham Airport from Saturday due to “extraordinary circumstances” involving the closure of Pakistan’s airspace.

The Indian national carrier said that its daily flights to India from London Heathrow remain unaffected as the New Delhi and Amritsar services in and out of Birmingham will be grounded until further updates.

“The flight cancellation is due to extraordinary circumstances, namely closure of Pakistan airspace and resultant impact which is beyond the control of Air India,” said Debashis Golder, Regional Manager – UK and Europe.

“In fact, besides Birmingham, many other flights in our network have been cancelled, combined or being operated with restricted payload, to reduce impact on passenger travel to the minimum,” he said.

Pakistan airspace remains closed since Indian airstrikes on a Jaish-e-Mohammed terrorist camp in the country following a terror attack claimed by the terror outfit that killed 40 jawans in Pulwama district of Jammu and Kashmir last month.

Air India flies six times a week from Birmingham Airport – three times direct to Delhi and three times direct to Amritsar.

The airport expressed its disappointment at the suspension of AI113 Delhi-Birmingham, AI114 Birmingham-Delhi, AI117 Delhi-Amritsar-Birmingham, and AI118 Birmingham-Amritsar-Delhi and said it was working with the airline to restore the schedule.

“The airport is very understanding of the current situation which means that Pakistan airspace cannot be overflown and the operational impact that this is having on Air India,” a Birmingham Airport spokesperson said.

“Passengers that are already booked on Air India flights from Birmingham will be contacted by the airline to re-book or to gain a refund. We are working closely with Air India to restore these flights to Birmingham Airport’s schedule as soon as possible,” the spokesperson said.

Among the other routes affected by Friday’s announcement include Air India’s Delhi-Madrid and Madrid-Delhi flights.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...an-airspace/story-nNIRo7Pgoz2hTTMhdldV3N.html

Humein isolate karnay chalay thay khud hi paaon pe khulhaari maar bhetay :najam

Even flight to London being effected:

426b867f-0d3a-4e92-854b-2155ab75382d-jpeg.546628

A point to note, Pakistan airspace is closed for flights going to or originating from India. Thereby effecting one country alone, that is India.

Pakistan should ban all flights over it's airspace which are travelling to India. Its in the interest of safety for the passangers. We cannot risk India shooting down a passenger plane over Pakistan.

India is a rich country, as it is claimed, why not bypass Pakistan airspace and use the extra fuel?

Got to love it though, once again Pakistan controls and influences India in many ways!

I predict when air India is bankrupt, Modi will blame Pakistan. So much for a booming economy.

New Delhi - Kabul air ticket is now four times more expensive than before due to closure of Pakistani airspace [#Pakistan #India #Afghanistan #AirTravel]

FB_IMG_1552674294914.jpg

Pakistan should ban all flights over it's airspace which are travelling to India. Its in the interest of safety for the passangers. We cannot risk India shooting down a passenger plane over Pakistan.

Sound good and solid reason .

Is Pakistan allowed to do this by international airspace agreements?

Not just that, their buddies and military/strategic sugar daddies Israelis have used civil air traffic as a cover to carry out air strikes and India was likely to used this tactic against Pakistan in the recent conflict.

Last time too it affected Indian airlines a lot more :)) We only unbanned them from our airspace after their asking.

PIA has suffered over rs 1bn in losses and Pak civil aviation over 1.5bn. And here we have posters celebrating couple of cancelled flights.

Small moments of happiness.

wow, what's it been 3 weeks since pakistani airspace has been closed to all civilian flights. Are they still that terrified of another impending airstrike ? Relax guys, we're done :)

Hahahah Pak airspace closed to all civilian flights????? Are you crazy?

So all the players who came to PSL from Dubai came on boats?

We want you to do more "strikes" so that we give more Abhinandans bloody noses and humiliate your pathetic country and show its true auqaat.

PIA has suffered over rs 1bn in losses and Pak civil aviation over 1.5bn. And here we have posters celebrating couple of cancelled flights.

Small moments of happiness.

I do not understand your approach - excuse the pun.

In reference to air India:

Only in July this year, the government had sought parliament’s approval to pump in Rs980 crore ($135 million) into Air India. At the time, a distress signal was sent to the finance ministry, saying the firm required Rs500 crore urgently, failing which it would default on its loan payments.

The company has a total debt of around Rs52,000 crore, of which Rs22,000 crore are loans pertaining to buying of aircraft and the rest comprises working capital loans and other liabilities.

Air India’s projected net loss for 2017-18 was estimated at over Rs3,500 crore, former aviation minister Ashok Gajapathi Raju had told parliament in January.

https://qz.com/india/1403962/after-failed-air-india-sale-government-lines-up-another-bailout/

Come on man, pull out the American Express Black, and bail Air India out given government of India has a balance of $400B! Think of all Air Miles you will earn! LOL! :)))

We want you to do more "strikes" so that we give more Abhinandans bloody noses and humiliate your pathetic country and show its true auqaat.

When we have a pilot shortage we will ask them for 'strikes' so they can send their pilots over.

Auqaat is of Abhinandan. Went inside pak. Drank tea. Came back home in 48hrs. Shows who has how much auqaat in the world.

Yea went to Pakistan on his jet. Drank tea and came back home in 48hrs. What did Pakistan do? Nothing.

What did India do in response to having their two jets shot down? Nothing. Instant de-escalation :)))

Everyone knows that.

De escalation? Then why are there NOTAMS in Pakistani air space?

NOTAMs naya lafz seekh liya hai :)))

NOTAMs are for the safety of our citizens, and btw do you even know what a NOTAM is? Every country issues NOTAMs. They can be for weather, they can be for traffic. They can be for security. No part of the Pakistani airspace is closed. We have just closed it for you and causing it to hurt :)

Why don't try more strikes..... we are ready with the kettle on the stove :))

Bhai dekh lo NOTAM Pakistani airspace ka, flights going everywhere :)))

Capture.JPG

Do not fall into the saffron honey trap.

Fact is Air India is on the verge of bankruptcy, $400B cannot save the airline, and best of all, Pakistan controls the costs of Air India! The only way this could be any worse for Air India is if the airline has purchased Boeing 737MAXs!

Lovely Jubbly!

Dont give this lecture to us.

We returned 90k Pakistanis in 1971.So go learn history.

I don’t understand what exactly is your point? Pakistan losing billions by closing their airspace? Okay thanks for informing. Aur kuch?

Pakistan was really scared of another MiG 21 attack. Aik aur chai ka cup waste ho jata.
You are literally what IK called a chota admi.

We'd had to fire another SD-10. Dude that cost around 200k USD! We want to be kifayatshaar.

NOTAMs naya lafz seekh liya hai :)))

NOTAMs are for the safety of our citizens, and btw do you even know what a NOTAM is? Every country issues NOTAMs. They can be for weather, they can be for traffic. They can be for security. No part of the Pakistani airspace is closed. We have just closed it for you and causing it to hurt :)

Why don't try more strikes..... we are ready with the kettle on the stove :))

http://www.caapakistan.com.pk/upload/Notams/A0292-19.TXT

Pakistan airspace is partially closed atleast till 18th march.

Lies lies so many lies.

Dont give this lecture to us.

We returned 90k Pakistanis in 1971.So go learn history.

Lol, same old sentence ratti hui hai, that’s been discussed many times here.

Try even harder next time.

You have lost 40 jawans, your jets were shot down, your pilot was captured and whole World saw him praising Pak Army and bashing his own media. What did Pakistan lose, some trees?

Kuch tou sharm kar le.

That's the spirit. However, I don't think your air-force shares this confidence and feels rather discouraged. Clearly, they don't trust their radars/early warning systems so they decided to shut down the entire country's airspace!

Lol, same old sentence ratti hui hai, that’s been discussed many times here.

Try even harder next time.

You have lost 40 jawans, your jets were shot down, your pilot was captured and whole World saw him praising Pak Army and bashing his own media. What did Pakistan lose, some trees?

Kuch tou sharm kar le.

You lost half your country. 90k of your people surrendered. Kuch bolne ke pehle yaad rakhna ye.

A mig 21 shot down a F16. Pilot came back home in 48hrs.

That's the spirit. However, I don't think your air-force shares this confidence and feels rather discouraged. Clearly, they don't trust their radars/early warning systems so they decided to shut down the entire country's airspace!

PAF entered India in broad daylight, on the way back we shot down a MIG-21 and captured a pilot. Also shot down a SU-30MKI. We made you wet your nappies so much so that you guys shot down a helicopter on your own.

PAF is pretty confident :))

Meanwhile, IAF Western commander is fired.

The 1971 point is irrelevant. OK so what if India returned 90K Pakistanis and the result was Bangladesh, splitting Pakistan into 2 nations? And?

1947, we grabbed 200 Million, created Pakistan, and split India into 2 nations.

Wonderful!

[MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] aka NOTAM,
i asked you about the integration of missile system ? you didnt reply me back, its been more thn 2 weeks.

You lost half your country. 90k of your people surrendered. Kuch bolne ke pehle yaad rakhna ye.

A mig 21 shot down a F16. Pilot came back home in 48hrs.

You lost the biggest parts there could be in 1947, so much for giving lectures on history...

Thanks for sharing, it only tells us that flights to and from India are blocked. Which we already knew :)))

PAKISTAN AIRSPACE WILL REMAIN CLOSED FOR ALL OVERFLYING
(TRANSIT) FLIGHTS TILL 18TH MARCH 2019,TIME 1000 UTC(EST)

Airspace closed to all overflying transit flights.

ALL.

Not Indian.

You lost the biggest parts there could be in 1947, so much for giving lectures on history...

Please don't. If he believes Bangladesh is half of Pakistan, then let him be, after all, India invented plastic surgery, AND dismiss Einstein's empirically proven theory.

India scientists dismiss Einstein theories

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-india-46778879

You cannot reason with those who are not guided by or based on good sense.

We have done the same and should ban all things Indian. Glad that Bollywood has been thrown out of Pak as well as many other things. This is costing them a lot of money. We should ban all exports to India.

A point to note, Pakistan airspace is closed for flights going to or originating from India. Thereby effecting one country alone, that is India.

Not true. Flights to Pakistan are also impacted. For example, Thai Airways route HK to Pakistan has been suspended for the past three weeks.

Pakistan airspace closure fallout: AI appeals to 'inactive' crew to immediately join work

Saurabh Sinha| TNN | Updated: Mar 15, 2019, 21:28 IST

HIGHLIGHTS
The requirement for crew has gone up since February 27 when Pakistan closed its airspace for overflying
It is now creating major operational issues for AI as it is the only Indian carrier with nonstops to US and maximum flights to the west
[​IMG]
NEW DELHI: Air India on Friday issued an "earnest appeal" to all inactive crew members, like those on leave, to immediately join work. Being March-end, many crew members have taken lapsable leaves. A number of flights were cancelled or rescheduled on Friday.

On the other hand, the requirement for crew has gone up since February 27 when Pakistan closed its airspace for overflying. This necessitated stops on long flights that require more crew. It is now creating major operational issues for AI as it is the only Indian carrier with nonstops to US and maximum flights to the west. Since Delhi is its base, the longer route to and from West has increased crew requirement. In the last two days, AI has clubbed and cancelled some west-bound flights to tide over the crisis.

"We had to cancel or reschedule many flights (Friday) for want of cabin crew causing severe hardship for our passengers and heavy losses for our airline.... this crisis has been precipitated by the closure of our country's neighbourhood country's airspace and resultant reroutings and stopovers.. This is a critical juncture for our company. Our chairman Ashwani Lohani has requested all inactive crew to report for duty today itself," said a letter by AI's ED (inflight service) Madhu Mathen.

"The management is aware of the extraordinary burden that many of you are already bearing in terms of workload. Steps have been taken on a war footing to augment the cabin crew numbers... and extension on contract and I would like to assure you that there will be a dramatic improvement in the situation in a few weeks, however, today, on behalf of the chairman I would like to earnestly appeal to all cabin crew to immediately rally behind the company and the country in this hour of crisis. All other commitments and compulsions must be set aside and every member of the cabin crew must support the airline by making themselves available for duty subject to mandatory stipulations). Those who are on sanctioned leave must also try to voluntarily report for duty Looking forward to your positive response," the letter adds.

All flights between the west and south/southeast Asia, including Delhi, are taking the longer route due to which airlines have to take extra crew or need to change crew at the halt necessitated by the closure of Pakistan airspace.

Air India has in last two days done route rationalisation due to this reason. It has clubbed its Mumbai-New York (JFK) with Mumbai-Newark (EWR) nonstop from Saturday (March 16) to May 31, 2019. AI will temporarily suspend its popular Delhi-Madrid-Delhi, Delhi-Birmingham-Delhi and Delhi-Amritsar-Birmingham flights from this Saturday “due to operational reasons till further notice”. The airline has done so due to a mix of reasons like crew shortage caused by west-bound flights taking longer route after Pakistan airspace closure and hence they need to fly with more crew members.

Read more:
https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...mmediately-join-work/articleshow/68431338.cms

Modi's election stunt is proving to be a disaster for Indian public/Military and now even commercial entities

This is a small thing isn't it? I am sure our people can manage this afterall they wanted a war like situation and this is nothing. If our army men can sacrifice their lives for us why can't we sacrifice these little things. We should all support Shri Modi Ji. :inti