Ajinkya Rahane should be nowhere near Indian ODI and T20 team

Chromeuser

Tape Ball Star
Ajinkya Rahane is not fit to play limited overs international cricket. He kills the momentum with his slow batting and poor strike rate. In yesterday's match after Rohit's dismissal he should have taken the responsibility of attacking the bowlers on this phaata road as he was set batsman and it was his home ground. Kohli was repeatedly asking him to attack the bowlers but Rahane was shamelessly taking singles and allowing Kohli to take the strike as if Kohli is already batting there from 1st over. That was really pathetic. Hope selectors don't select this junk again for ODI & T20. People say Rahane is the best test player India have. But he is very inconsistent in that format too. In 4 match test series he will always score 1 century in one match and will go missing in other 3 matches or score 40 or 50 here there and maintains his average. :sanga I want this average player to be thrown out of the limited overs team.

Now watch him scoring fifties after fifties in IPL (That too in decent strike rate).
Sadly, he is going nowhere, he will remain in the team.

40 off 35 is not good on that pitch.

I was shocked to see him play instead of Dhawan on that pitch. Was Dhawan injured? This was just the kind of pitch where Dhawan would have fired.

Please exchange him with our so called talent Umar Akmal

Dhawan was not injured , he was dropped .
And Rahane was selected by Ravi Shastri under pressure by the Mumbai lobby despite MSD's objections.

He shouldn't be in t20s. In odis Manish Pandey deserves the no.4 position more than him. But Rahane can be the backup player in the 15 squad team.

Playing rahane as an opener was a mistake, Dhawan would have given us a flying start or he would have been out 2 ball but he wouldn't have wasted 14 overs of the match, losing rohit was a big blow to India, had rohit stayed till 14th over instead of rahane then we would have sailed through to the finals, wrong change in the semi final

Been against Rahane for LOIs for over a year.

Never have I seen a batsman who has such a supreme ability to play match losing knocks on a consistent basis.

I don't have the heart to lay into Rahane (cos he is a gem in Tests and an all round nice guy) but we just need to be practical.

The sooner we throw him out of all LOIs the better.

His innings wasn't great but it was far behind on the list of reasons why we lost. Jadeja and Ashwin's poor bowling, those terrible no balls and generally poor effort in the field us what lost us the match. But we always try to pick out one scapegoat since it's simpler and requires less effort at analysis.

I think Yuvraj has been past it for ages now and it's a disgrace that he keeps getting selected. Especially when he doesn't even bowl. Rahane in for Yuvraj I back 100% for ODIs. In t20, we need more hitting power, so no place for Rahane. You font just bin young players who have as much promise as Rahane. He definitely has 's future in LOIs for India. Especially 50 over format.

Also, lol @ OP saying he is inconsistent in tests. He us our best batsman in the longer format. An absolute gem.

Should definitely be given chances in ODIs IMO. He's a proper batsman and would do well as an opener as long as he gets his eye in. We persisted with Rohit in ODIs dirxa long time before he clicked and I see no harm in giving Rahane an extended run. T20's are a different ball game. He just can't muscle the ball over the boundary and its unrealistic to expect that of him.

Ajinkya Rahane is not fit to play limited overs international cricket. He kills the momentum with his slow batting and poor strike rate. In yesterday's match after Rohit's dismissal he should have taken the responsibility of attacking the bowlers on this phaata road as he was set batsman and it was his home ground. Kohli was repeatedly asking him to attack the bowlers but Rahane was shamelessly taking singles and allowing Kohli to take the strike as if Kohli is already batting there from 1st over. That was really pathetic. Hope selectors don't select this junk again for ODI & T20. People say Rahane is the best test player India have. But he is very inconsistent in that format too. In 4 match test series he will always score 1 century in one match and will go missing in other 3 matches or score 40 or 50 here there and maintains his average. :sanga I want this average player to be thrown out of the limited overs team.
If you are blaming batsmen for defeat after scoring 193 than you really lack cricketing knowledge and have no idea whatsoever about cricket

Sent from my Mi 4i using Tapatalk

There is THEORY and there are actual real life data.

Theory may sound good but real life data is what matters.

That's what wins you games, produces growth for your company, etc.

Whenever you score 180-2, you should know you are in trouble.

180-2, 190-3, 160-2 have all been chased with ease in IPL.

One time Brendon DESTROYED Malinga to chase some 180 target.

This is actual data. No theory.

Its 80-20 rule in this case. 80% of your results hinges about 20% of the efforts.

Rahane's knock moved the needle the most. No balls hurt us too. But apart from that, the rest is all irrelevant stuff.

If you are blaming batsmen for defeat after scoring 193 than you really lack cricketing knowledge and have no idea whatsoever about cricket

Oh the irony [MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] :))

it is not an irony man. It is pertinent to reiterate that indian fans are trying bash the poor guy for slow progress instead of blaming or even noticing their bowling unit which includes world's best spinners with some rare talent in fast bowling dept.

You really lack in understanding of the game if you think 192 was a good score on this wicket

Please restrict him to Test matches. He need not adulterate our LOI teams. There are better players like Pandey, Shreyas Iyer waiting to break in and this is the guy we're backing :facepalm:

Mate you can't be so wrong about this. Trust me:baelish

Although i do not blame him for the loss as much as the spinners yesterday, i have never been a fan of Rahane in LOI cricket.

He gives me the feeling that he plays for his place in the team. This approach will work in tests, but not in LOI cricket where every dot ball matters.

I agree with a point made by [MENTION=132605]battler[/MENTION] in his thread about Rahane. I see a lot of people saying he batted well, even Sky Sports on their verdict couldn't understand why he hadn't played previously etc.

IMO that 40 (35) was damaging for India. Imagine the reaction on here had that been Shehzad in a SF for Pakistan.

India needs a power hitting HACK ASAP !! Not slow burn hacks like Dhawan or FTB's like Rohit or Test bully's like Rahane.

Maybe we'll borrow Sharjeel , make him Fit , improve his running and turn him into a Finch.

I agree with a point made by [MENTION=132605]battler[/MENTION] in his thread about Rahane. I see a lot of people saying he batted well, even Sky Sports on their verdict couldn't understand why he hadn't played previously etc.

IMO that 40 (35) was damaging for India. Imagine the reaction on here had that been Shehzad in a SF for Pakistan.

The pitch and boundary size was such that all the batsman had to do was swing across the line for the whole duration of 20 overs and you would have got a score of 210+. Instead Rahane tried to build a base from where we could launch.
We never needed a base to launch it was not that sort of pitch, it was a complete batting shootout and I have no qualms in saying we were out thought and out batted by the west indies

He gives me the feeling that he plays for his place in the team. This approach will work in tests, but not in LOI cricket where every dot ball matters.

More than that I think the Mumbai lobby is too egotistic to allow India to field a team without at least one Mumbai bat. After Gavaskar - Tendulkar the mantle was expected to be taken by Rohit. Then Kohli happened. Rohit won't get there anyway , suddenly they feel the need to push Rahane into prominence.
Now with Ravi Shastri calling the shots I feel either of Rohit or Rahane will play for Indian in all formats always .
/Rant over

The pitch and boundary size was such that all the batsman had to do was swing across the line for the whole duration of 20 overs and you would have got a score of 210+. Instead Rahane tried to build a base from where we could launch.
We never needed a base to launch it was not that sort of pitch, it was a complete batting shootout and I have no qualms in saying we were out thought and out batted by the west indies

Exactly, you don't need to provide a base on a pitch where close to 400 runs were scored and only 5 wickets lost.

Balls faced by Rahane 35, balls faced by Dhoni, Raina, Pandey and Pandya (the big hitters) 9! Almost criminal man.

i have posted the excerpt from an article on ABP news, yesterday .Dhoni did not want Rahane.
pls google.

The same media which reported that pitch has been changed for mohali, I'd rather not believe these masala news without any concrete evidence

Exactly, you don't need to provide a base on a pitch where close to 400 runs were scored and only 5 wickets lost.

Balls faced by Rahane 35, balls faced by Dhoni, Raina, Pandey and Pandya (the big hitters) 9! Almost criminal man.

That Rohit wicket hurt us badly in hind-sight, I just get a feeling he was about to launch when he got out. If Rohit was there till the 16th over I have no doubts him and kohli would have taken India to 210+.

to be honest its the spinners cost us the semis so called best offie ashwin needs turning tracks and jaddu is quality but a puppet of dhoni due factor is an excuse on that pitch

regarding rahane please play him in test match only let him do tuk tuk tuk tuk for all 5 days who cares

That Rohit wicket hurt us badly in hind-sight, I just get a feeling he was about to launch when he got out. If Rohit was there till the 16th over I have no doubts him and kohli would have taken India to 210+.

Rohit akela hi kaafi tha, if rohit was there till the 16th over we would have easily scores 210+, pehli baar kohli se zaada rohit ki batting zarori thi India ke liye :asif

Although i do not blame him for the loss as much as the spinners yesterday, i have never been a fan of Rahane in LOI cricket.

Not really he is kind of limited for T20 game,pretty decent in ODI but still avoidable as India can try likes of Iyer and Pandey in future.

He plays like Kohli but can't find gaps like him,Kohli was picking 2 from same areas whereas Rahane was getting only 1.

We can't have two players of similar role.

to be honest its the spinners cost us the semis so called best offie ashwin needs turning tracks and jaddu is quality but a puppet of dhoni due factor is an excuse on that pitch

regarding rahane please play him in test match only let him do tuk tuk tuk tuk for all 5 days who cares

Ash doesn't need that much turning wickets as such but he does need it not have dew,they were not able to hold the ball,Imagine Russel,Charles even if they misstime the ball it would had gone for a six.

Its not Rahane's fault as such ,the management picked him and he played to his abilities but his abilities fall short in this format and we have lot of upcoming batsmen for this format we shouldn't had picked him in the squad in the first place.

I agree, even if Rahane had got out in the 20's, India would have got 200+.

Stuff like this you look back on in years to come and think that was a world title for the taking and such an obvious glaring fault cost us.

Lol India got 192. Not every batsman can attack like Sharma or Dhawan. Rahane played a decent anchor role. It's the bowling and perhaps toss that lost India the game.

40 off 35 is not good on that pitch.

I was shocked to see him play instead of Dhawan on that pitch. Was Dhawan injured? This was just the kind of pitch where Dhawan would have fired.
Before this match dhawan played all the matches but he was not scoring runs. so how could you say that he scored runs in this match. i think its a good move to bench dhawan. Atleast rahane and rohit made the solid partnership at the start of the innings.

Dhawan ya to chalta ya out hota, he wouldn't have wasted 14 overs, raina, pandya not getting to bat on this pitch is an abomination

Unfair to take it out on Rahane. He just played his normal game. Blame should go to those who selected him in the XI. It's not like a player is going to say no once they are selected to play. A flat wicket with short boundaries ideal conditions for Dhawan and Rohit to tee off I would have thought. Instead all Rahane was doing was trying to turn the strike over to Rohit/Kohli. Only managed to hit a couple of boundaries all that time which is just not good enough on that sort of a wicket when you are aiming for 200+. You needed both bats to go hard at the bowlers.

Ash doesn't need that much turning wickets as such but he does need it not have dew,they were not able to hold the ball,Imagine Russel,Charles even if they misstime the ball it would had gone for a six.
I have never seen ashwin turning the ball in nz and Australia nor did he in that 438 abdv carnage on same ground in a day game I from goa and its boiling hot here in western part of the India specially the western belt from Mumbai to goa with zero signs of dew its an lame excuse by msd

I am not against ashwin in fact I am a fan of him its just the he needs to improve his quality of bowling on non turning tracks he can speek to greats like murli and warn regarding this

I have never seen ashwin turning the ball in nz and Australia nor did he in that 438 abdv carnage on same ground in a day game I from goa and its boiling hot here in western part of the India specially the western belt from Mumbai to goa with zero signs of dew its an lame excuse by msd

I am not against ashwin in fact I am a fan of him its just the he needs to improve his quality of bowling on non turning tracks he can speek to greats like murli and warn regarding this

kal ke match mein murali or warne bhi kuch na kar paate

Rohit akela hi kaafi tha, if rohit was there till the 16th over we would have easily scores 210+, pehli baar kohli se zaada rohit ki batting zarori thi India ke liye :asif

True or even an in-form Yuvraj would have been enough anyway hope they learn from these mistakes and don't repeat them next time.

I agree, even if Rahane had got out in the 20's, India would have got 200+.

Stuff like this you look back on in years to come and think that was a world title for the taking and such an obvious glaring fault cost us.

Too many tactical blunders, first playing Rahane and then assuming that 175 was a good score on this pitch :facepalm:

Unfair to take it out on Rahane. He just played his normal game. Blame should go to those who selected him in the XI. It's not like a player is going to say no once they are selected to play. A flat wicket with short boundaries ideal conditions for Dhawan and Rohit to tee off I would have thought. Instead all Rahane was doing was trying to turn the strike over to Rohit/Kohli. Only managed to hit a couple of boundaries all that time which is just not good enough on that sort of a wicket when you are aiming for 200+. You needed both bats to go hard at the bowlers.

What's his excuse for not slogging from 10-15 overs?

Which set batsman turns strike over from 10-15 overs?

And its not like Kohli was smashing like Gayle at that time. He accelerated later on.

I am very disappointed with Ashwin but not for the reasons others have.

He actually bowled well last game (he was crap against NZ though).

You could see he was getting the ball in the uncomfortable zones of batsmen. Yes, one ball he flighted which got carted for six but that's accepted.

But what is PHATTU is this:

1. Not practicing the carrom ball and bowling it (his carrom balls played a HUGE role in us reaching finals last WT20). You need a ball that goes away from explosive right handers on flat tracks or even decent tracks. The fact that he had lost touch with it and hadn't worked on it is PRETTY POOR.

2. Stupid strategy - When Ashwin got wicket of Mithun by flighting it and getting him caught by Pandya.....it was celebrated. If Mithun had hit it well, he could have got a six but Ashwin and team went with the strategy. The same STRATEGY he applied against Finch and almost succeeded in the 2nd six. Against Aus, he may have faltered with the wide but those 2 balls to Finch were ACCORDING to the plan. Watch the replays. The problem with this strategy is that its HIGH RISK and DUMB. That's what annoys me. He should have gone for the carrom. Even an in form Faulkner used to struggle when he pitched his carrom outside leg and brought it in. Ok Afridi got a couple sixes once but more often than not, its a reliable strategy.

These 2 reasons played a HUGE role in his performance and he must be blamed for that.

What's his excuse for not slogging from 10-15 overs?

Which set batsman turns strike over from 10-15 overs?

And its not like Kohli was smashing like Gayle at that time. He accelerated later on.

I agree that it was a poor knock just 2 boundaries out of 35 deliveries faced says it all I think. But tough to blame him I reckon because generally that’s just the type of game he plays. Picking him on a spinning track I can understand but on a flat deck dropping Dhawan for Rahane was the real blunder imo.

If he tried hitting and still couldn't get out, then its fair to not blame him but his selectors only.

But he didn't even try. So both him and those who selected him must be blamed.

Also I reckon India lost the game within the first 12 overs. They were just under the 100 mark at that stage so well behind the eight ball. From there Kohli worked his magic and somehow got to 190 odd but with a wet ball against a line-up of power hitters it was always going to be a tough ask.

I am sure most Indians felt uncomfortable seeing just 192 at mid innings, even after picking 2 quick wickets, I knew that once there is dew, the game will be over

The current version of rahane u want to throw away would walk into the SL team as our best player. That's how bad it is in SL.

Yeah give him to us we'll take him with open arms :))

I am sure most Indians felt uncomfortable seeing just 192 at mid innings, even after picking 2 quick wickets, I knew that once there is dew, the game will be over

India would have been better off had Gayle and Samuels stuck around for a bit I reckon :))

He needs clarity about his role and under DHoni that is not at all clear to him - is he a consolidator, should he be looking to hit out from ball 1.

At Rajasthan Royals, he has his role clearly defined, bat for as long as possible and he produces the goods there, consistent 40s and 50s at a SR of 130+ which is good enough. Now IPL isn't the same as T20Is/ODIs still with a better definition of his role, he can do well. Players of his class will not find it hard to adjust to different formats.

Agreed ... his innings cost india at least 15-20 runs.

Sent from my SM-N750 using Tapatalk

India scored the lowest percentage of runs in boundaries out of all teams in the T20 WC - 50.82%. Also on that Mumbai phatta with those ground dimensions they needed 200+ especially with dew factor making it harder for bowlers to grip the ball AND the powerhitters WI have.

Thing is, West Indies have played the highest percentage of dot balls with 45% BUT they've been able to compensate for that by hitting the highest proportion of runs in boundaries than any other side.

OP is being too harsh on Rahane. In last few games, India was losing top order wickets without scoring much, except Kohli. In every match, they were 30-2, 8-2, 10-3, etc... So the team management instructions must have been for Rahane to lay out a solid platform.

Why are we not blaming Dhoni, who made 14 from 9 balls?? If it was Russell or Buttler in that position, they would have made 25 from 9 balls. Dhoni cannot hit sixes at will like he used to.

Hopefully virat kohli 2.0 (Manish Pandey) will become a regular in the Limited overs team from now

Strike rate of 83+ in first class cricket :murali yeh to sehwag hai

Should replace the impostor Dhawan.

Our line up should be

Rohit Sharma
Shreyas Iyer
Virat Kohli
Manish Pandey
Suresh Raina
MS Dhoni
Hardik Pandya
Ravi Jadeja
Ravi Ashwin
Shami bhai
Jasprit Bumrah

wow wow wow:raja

Not just Rahane, Dhawan, Yuvraj and Raina should also be discarded from the odis and T20s.. because the later three can't play short pitch bowling for their life & are very inconsistent.. We should now move on from them... ;)

Should replace the impostor Dhawan.

Our line up should be

Rohit Sharma
Shreyas Iyer
Virat Kohli
Manish Pandey
Suresh Raina
MS Dhoni
Hardik Pandya
Ravi Jadeja
Ravi Ashwin
Shami bhai
Jasprit Bumrah

wow wow wow:raja

Negi or next IPL star should be tried instead of Raina and I'm guessing this is the ODI lineup, T20's don't matter anymore not for 3 years atleast.

Name one Indian player who was comfortable on the previous slow pitches other than Kohli.

Dhawan does not play well on slow pitches. This is the first pitch that India played on where the ball came on to the bat. Did you see his batting in Australia a month ago ?

Negi or next IPL star should be tried instead of Raina and I'm guessing this is the ODI lineup, T20's don't matter anymore not for 3 years atleast.

I'm not really convinced with Negi. Let's see in the future if he performs or not..

India has enough players to field 3 COMPLETELY DIFFERENT sets of batsmen for all 3 formats . So why not take a gamble and try some power hitters/aggressive batsmen . That paid off so well for ENG.

Ever since Sehwag-Sachin retired we've been trying to find a like for like replacement for them in shorter formats. Rohit - Dhawan is more of a Sachin-Ganguly pair, both some what attacking but more slow burn . And we wont find another Sehwag ever.!! We need atleast one HACK in the opening slot. Dont think too long term . Keep him as long as he is in decent form.

His innings wasn't great but it was far behind on the list of reasons why we lost. Jadeja and Ashwin's poor bowling, those terrible no balls and generally poor effort in the field us what lost us the match. But we always try to pick out one scapegoat since it's simpler and requires less effort at analysis.

I think Yuvraj has been past it for ages now and it's a disgrace that he keeps getting selected. Especially when he doesn't even bowl. Rahane in for Yuvraj I back 100% for ODIs. In t20, we need more hitting power, so no place for Rahane. You font just bin young players who have as much promise as Rahane. He definitely has 's future in LOIs for India. Especially 50 over format.

Also, lol @ OP saying he is inconsistent in tests. He us our best batsman in the longer format. An absolute gem.

this is how amateurs analyze. Batting was the main downfall,even U-15 grounds have similar size boundaries,210 was par here

Also, India needs a genuine leg spinner instead of Pandya.

Chahal is the only other legitimate leggie other than Mishra. Not a fan of Piyush Chawla. Leggies in general often play in a very high competitive cricket than they actually should.

There is THEORY and there are actual real life data.

Theory may sound good but real life data is what matters.

That's what wins you games, produces growth for your company, etc.

Whenever you score 180-2, you should know you are in trouble.

180-2, 190-3, 160-2 have all been chased with ease in IPL.

One time Brendon DESTROYED Malinga to chase some 180 target.

This is actual data. No theory.

Its 80-20 rule in this case. 80% of your results hinges about 20% of the efforts.

Rahane's knock moved the needle the most. No balls hurt us too. But apart from that, the rest is all irrelevant stuff.

great analysis