Altaf Hussain loses £10m UK properties case to MQM-P

Majority of Pakistanis spread out across the world and in Pakistan, on the internet, twitter, whatever are celebrating this great action by the Scotland Yard.

Probably one rare occasion where majority of Pakistanis are actually in favor or an action conducted by a Western Authority. It is unbelievable how we are cheering them on and commending them for this action.

May this guy rot in British Jails till he croaks!

Money laundering is considered very serious, it's what started the initial investigation into Crawley Town f.c

Considering the killing of zahra hussain and imran farooq, he's had it coming for a while

If he is jailed and his party blacklisted, it will bring peace to karachi finally

Money laundering is considered very serious, it's what started the initial investigation into Crawley Town f.c

Considering the killing of zahra hussain and imran farooq, he's had it coming for a while

If he is jailed and his party blacklisted, it will bring peace to karachi finally

One hopes, CK.

He had it coming. Hopefully after this the more sane figures in MQM will take over the party's leadership.

People who think that jailing Altaf hussain and blacklisting his party would bring peace to Karachi are in illusion. Take a look at the party which was opposing PPP in 1977 elections. Things can go ugly considering his health issues and him being in custody of police in London.

He had it coming. Hopefully after this the more sane figures in MQM will take over the party's leadership.

That's exactly what MQM needs. Mustafa Kamal would be preferable choice considering the works he has put for Karach; at least that's what i heard.

People who think that jailing Altaf hussain and blacklisting his party would bring peace to Karachi are in illusion. Take a look at the party which was opposing PPP in 1977 elections. Things can go ugly considering his health issues and him being in custody of police in London.

In a first few years, the situation would be abnormal. After that, the situation would get back to normal, Insha Allah!.

At the end, Allah knows best, Allahu Alim.

[Media Reports] Altaf Hussain arrested in London for Money Laundering

Majority of Pakistanis spread out across the world and in Pakistan, on the internet, twitter, whatever are celebrating this great action by the Scotland Yard.

Probably one rare occasion where majority of Pakistanis are actually in favor or an action conducted by a Western Authority. It is unbelievable how we are cheering them on and commending them for this action.

May this guy rot in British Jails till he croaks!

Irony of Pakistan is that western nations are doing what we cannot do for ages... They clean Osama which was Army's guest, they clean Taliban via Drone which are Army's strategic weapon (or source of employment) and now UK is cleaning up the Don of Pakistan.

We never say thank you to them, rather we hate them probably more than any other nation. And our beloved friends and owner of our beloved religion are using all their oil money to takes is back to stone ages. And we love them for doing that ;-)

Musharraf already in Karachi. Either he will take over MQM party or will make an alliance. Karachi will prosper InshAllah.

Musharaf will never be new chief of MQM as army will not like this at all.

It's funny how one and all are happy that Altaf Hussain has been charged with money laundering yet certain people amongst us forget that the biggest money launderers in Pakistan are today our Prime Minister, Chief Minister of Punjab and our Finance Minister. Heck, the Finance Minister gave a statement against our current PM and CM implicating them in money laundering. - BBC ran a full documentary on their money laundering operations!

But here we are, applauding the arrest of Altaf Bye for the same crime.

It's funny how one and all are happy that Altaf Hussain has been charged with money laundering yet certain people amongst us forget that the biggest money launderers in Pakistan are today our Prime Minister, Chief Minister of Punjab and our Finance Minister. Heck, the Finance Minister gave a statement against our current PM and CM implicating them in money laundering. - BBC ran a full documentary on their money laundering operations!

We as a nation are ignorant when it comes to certain things / situations

He is targeted for a reason. You cannot tell me that he has stashed away more money than zardaris, sharifs, dars etc.

While entire nation is celebrating they dont consider the possibility that it may be just an arm twisting trick by British. They are flexing their muscles to make him do things he dont want to. British are good at carrot and stick game. Its stick time, they could have implicated him for imran farooq's case but they decided to go with a smaller less serious case. I wonder what deal he would have to make to get out of this.

He is targeted for a reason. You cannot tell me that he has stashed away more money than zardaris, sharifs, dars etc.

While entire nation is celebrating they dont consider the possibility that it may be just an arm twisting trick by British. They are flexing their muscles to make him do things he dont want to. British are good at carrot and stick game. Its stick time, they could have implicated him for imran farooq's case but they decided to go with a smaller less serious case. I wonder what deal he would have to make to get out of this.

He is not being targeted at all. He has been suspected of committing a crime and has been charged accordingly. Furthermore, money laundering carries a maximum punishment of 14 years so I do not agree that this a smaller or a less serious issue.

The whole process started when people in thousands complained to London Met Police regarding Altaf Hussain's speech inciting violence in Karachi. Once an issue is highlighted in the media then even the UK gov't cannot stop the police and we are talking about Scotland Yard here. They arrived at his house to investigate the hate-speech matter and discovered money-laundering and the rest as they say is history.

Altaf Hussain knew he was in serious trouble hence he was desperate to get a Pakistani passport as flying out on a British passport would have been impossible as he was under investigation.

^^ Nothing is going to happen to him. There are big people protecting him whose interest he serves.

This is the problem with pakistani mentality. Someone finally gets caught, and out come the knives saying this is a conspiracy coz others have not been caught.

NS and Zardari are bigger thieves than Altaf for sure. ALthough, ALtaf is at a whole another level when it comes to murders and bhatta. My guess is he is caught coz UK authorities were looking into his tax history since he is a UK citizen. NS and zardari are not UK citiziens. All 3 need to be caught and punished though

So what about all those theories now that Altaf is a MI-6 agent.

What's the ground situation in Karachi like? I expected all hell to break loose, but from the media reports, it seems things have been relatively calm. Maybe because the MQM are in power there.

One less party to give protection money aka bhatta

Parties never die, they change names or re-incarnate in newer forms.

Any vacuum created by exit of MQM will be filled by someone else. Its better to improve the current lot then banning them. For one they have kept TTP away from Karachi. Imagine giving bhatta to TTP

A large section of the Pakistani populace have always held MQM to higher standards than others.

MQM sees rage directed at them for their bhatta khori and violence with calls for them to be eradicated but the Taleban's beheadings of soldiers and bombings of markets are met with excuses and theories and partial justifications.

Must be sad for MQM supporters knowing they can't blame the corrupt British system for detaining their Quaid. :))

So what about all those theories now that Altaf is a MI-6 agent.
Actually Owen Bennett Jones of BBC pointed this out that one of the main reason that Brits kept a blind eye to the shenanigans of Mqm in London in the past was because they were furthering British interest for Brit Govt in Pakistan/Karachi.
You can watch the video BBC website!

A large section of the Pakistani populace have always held MQM to higher standards than others.

MQM sees rage directed at them for their bhatta khori and violence with calls for them to be eradicated but the Taleban's beheadings of soldiers and bombings of markets are met with excuses and theories and partial justifications.

The main difference being mqm have terrorised pakistan since the 90s with their leader having a warranr for murder

What exactly have mqm done for karachi in the last 20 years

who wants to bet that all charges will be dropped and he'll walk free? :iqasim

I don't know about anything else but that guy shouldn't be given food more than 1 time a day, he is so fat.

I heard reports that because of liver damage, his body retains a lot of water. Hence, the "fatness".

Parties never die, they change names or re-incarnate in newer forms.

Any vacuum created by exit of MQM will be filled by someone else. Its better to improve the current lot then banning them. For one they have kept TTP away from Karachi. Imagine giving bhatta to TTP

True, no matter how you look at them when they had actual administrative power they did wonderful things under Mustafa kamal, and Mustafa kamal was just a telephone operator at 90, if it wasn't for Altaf hussain we wouldn't have been able to see a mayor of Mustafa's calibre.

People have actually forgotten what happened to the opposing alliance of 1977 elections which result in PML being divided into PML-N etc and other parties having formed their own factions.

IF MQM gets blacklisted or is undermined more, it will break into factions and not just any other factions instead those factions will be sectarian bases.

People here on this board protest against sectarian killing but it only MQM which has done in real world while other parties have kept mum over those killing whether they be of Shia, Sunni or of Ahmedis

Musharraf should be the new chief of MQM.

Actually that is a good Idea, because at least Musharraf will try to unite mohajirs with the rest of Pakistan, unlike this Altaf who only alienated them

So Yeah Musharraf will defiantly be my choice

Yup ...and he will step down for health reason ...its very obvious this is going to happen now.

True, no matter how you look at them when they had actual administrative power they did wonderful things under Mustafa kamal, and Mustafa kamal was just a telephone operator at 90, if it wasn't for Altaf hussain we wouldn't have been able to see a mayor of Mustafa's calibre.
And then the same Altaf Hussain turn against Mustafa Kamal and Mustafa Kamal was forced to leave Pakistan to save his life. Nice.

Have to say, I'm a little surprised at the amount of respect and concern shown by the PML-N govt. over Altaf's arrest and subsequent illness. Either they clearly know that this is not the end of Altaf or MQM or just too afraid of MQM's reaction. Either way, a mature and sensible reaction that could have easily been worse if some of their usual loud mouth party leaders would have started taunting and maligning Altaf in the media.

Thanks to Asif Ali Zardari who taught them how to do politics and save their Govt. I am a big fan of Zardari now.

PML-N might not be afraid of MQM as the history indicates PML-N tried to eliminate MQM by launching full-scale operation. This time, i think he is doing it to gain sympathy as reiterated by some members from other forums. Gaining sympathy from MQM supporters might do trick for the government in the long run, Allahu Alim.

PTI, anti-MQM, has been vocal support for MQM supporters lately, and it is trying to build friendly relationship with MQM which is what should be first step in most cases or at least that's what most leaders will do in this situation, Allahu Alim.

Dirty move by the people in power to support their own agendas.

PMLN's supported MQM before too.

When such a poisonous opposition is down, its best to deliver your final blow to kill them, instead of lending them a hand of support to have them indebted to you.

But politics aren't as stark as that. Let's just see how it goes!

Govt is doing right thing by supporting MQM. If not today, tomorrow MQM Chief either will step away due to health reason or some other reasons. MQM as party will keep their workers together. Once there is a leadership crisis, there will be factions in different areas which won't be good for people of Karachi.

They're saying the govt has APPROVED the request of issuing AH with Pakistani NIC and passport (as there is no legal case for them to not issue it) - but they haven't ISSUED the said NIC and passport as yet - and they probably will not issue it until AH is discharged/out of custody of the Metropolitan Police.

Very, very smartly played by the govt.

I expected things to get a lot worse in Karachi, but it seems that it hasn´t quite escalated to that extent. Well done to the public for having got hold of themselves and credit to whoever tried to calm them down into not reacting too madly.

Oh´ well.....

Valid demands I reckon.

295r093.jpg

Why is it that 'health problems' always surface under arrest or during a court case ? Latest is that he's been given a clean bill of health.

It seems that the Pak govt are playing this smartly by not antagonising the MQM at this point. It would have caused uncontrollable bloodshed.

Absolute nonsense that Altaf Hussain hasn't been issued NIC and passport yet. Both these documents have been issued and here is why.

Atlaf Hussain at the time of his arrest had a valid British passport but his NIC and Pakistani passport had expired. Since he did not have valid documents, he was considered only as a British citizen and therefore the Pakistani Counsellor in London was not allowed to meet him or any of his party members.

Upon being granted a valid NIC and Pakistani passport, the police allowed the Pakistani Counsellor to meet Altaf Hussain for 20 minutes since he had now become a dual national and was entitled to meet Pakistani Counsellor.

Now in the coming days, if Altaf Hussain is charged, MQM will be expecting the government to request/demand the UK government to deport Altaf Hussain to Pakistan etc. However if the government does so, everyone will know that PMLN does not want justice to be served anywhere in the world and if they don't MQM will make life hell for them.

Upon being granted a valid NIC and Pakistani passport, the police allowed the Pakistani Counsellor to meet Altaf Hussain for 20 minutes since he had now become a dual national and was entitled to meet Pakistani Counsellor.

I don't know exactly how it works in Pakistan but for most nations even if ones passport had expired that doesn't automatically mean your citizenship has been revoked. You can still be a dual national without having a passport because a passport is just a travel document. Would that not be the case for someone like Altaf?

It isn't about Pakistan or Altaf, I assume Scotland Yard asked for evidence to prove that Altaf Hussain was a dual national and not solely a British Citizen.

Upon receiving British passport I doubt Altaf Hussain ever renewed his Pakistani passport or NIC card and therefore an assumption can be made that on becoming a British National he renounced his Pakistani nationality hence never renewed his NIC and passport.

It comes down to how Scotland Yard interprets the situation really.

Govt is doing right thing by supporting MQM. If not today, tomorrow MQM Chief either will step away due to health reason or some other reasons. MQM as party will keep their workers together. Once there is a leadership crisis, there will be factions in different areas which won't be good for people of Karachi.

This whole thing isnt being run by the govt. It's being run by the ISI, according to some people within the govt who I was talking to. Why do you think there was limited violence by MQM? A warning was given by core commander karachi and ISI to MQM o keep their goons in check.

This whole govt support is just for show. THe govt knows that it cant do anything coz british authorities are running the show

All the other allegations and political clashes aside, one big issue that I have with the MQM (Muttahida Qaumi Movement) is their extremely intolerant behaviour at any criticism directed at Altaf "bhai", and hence openly challenging the right of the freedom of speech. They have made the man a semi-divine figure, some sacred being, whose name shall never come under any sort of questioning.

I see on the other hand how it isn´t that hard for our media to hold talk shows etc. against the likes of Asif Ali Zardari, Nawaz and Shabaz Sharif, or even Benazir Bhutto from the times when she was alive. However, this man´s case is treated differently. As a political party, or any organisation or movement, one should show some tolerance even if the criticism directed at you or your leader is unfair. The MQM party is perhaps the worst in this regard, sadly.

Just my observation.

As I live near Numaish Chowrangi, I can confirm that people sitting in Dharna are being served Birayni, Qorma Cold Drinks etc and they are so happy and saw some of them were saying that they want to sit as long as party wants :inti

Aap bhi chalay jaein mufta tornay. :yk Main to aksar khi mein apne ghar k saamne walay shaadi hall me chala jata hun khana khanay. :asif

Bhai power, not even few hours in jail and released back. Bhai ko 12 mulko ki police dhoondh rahi hai, bhai ko pakadna mushkil hi nahi, imran hai. :D

Ye cheez..... Naaaaaaaaaaaaray Altaf Jiyeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee Altaf. Naaaaray Biryaaaaani Jiye Biryaaaani. I agree with Lards, Bhai ko pakarna mushkil hi nahi Naa-Mumkin Hai.... :altaf

PMLN's supported MQM before too.

When such a poisonous opposition is down, its best to deliver your final blow to kill them, instead of lending them a hand of support to have them indebted to you.

But politics aren't as stark as that. Let's just see how it goes!

really, and how do you expect to "kill" them and wipe out their millions of party workers?

MQM would do well to start reorganising themselves and planning for a future sans Altaf Hussain.

probably doing that already.

really, and how do you expect to "kill" them and wipe out their millions of party workers?

MQM would do well to start reorganising themselves and planning for a future sans Altaf Hussain.

probably doing that already.

Hyperbole, one that could be avoided.

I should have written "cripple" instead.

read somewhere that the CPS have something like a 90% conviction rate, so you know its serious if they have gone to the extent of bringing him for questioning.

Pak government can't do much other than sit back and let things unfold, really.

Europe
Pakistan's MQM leader bailed in London

The exiled leader of Pakistan's MQM party has been bailed by police in London after being arrested on suspicion of money laundering, a police source has said.

Altaf Hussain was arrested at his home in the British capital on Tuesday, prompting thousands of people to protest on the streets of Karachi, Pakistan's biggest city and his party's power base.

"The 60-year-old man arrested on Tuesday 3 June on suspicion of money laundering has been released on police bail to a date in July pending further enquiries," a police statement said,

A police source indicated to the AFP news agency on Saturday that the man was Hussain.

Police added that investigations in the case were continuing. Hussain left Pakistan for the UK in 1992 after a military operation to end ethnic unrest in Karachi and he gained British citizenship in 2002.

He remains a highly influential figure in Karachi, Pakistan's economic centre and main port, wielding effective control over the city from his London home and addressing supporters using a loudspeaker linked to his telephone.

As well as major protests, which included the torching of at least a dozen vehicles, his arrest prompted the Karachi Stock Exchange to plunge three percent while train services were also halted.

Following the arrest, the office of Pakistani Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif issued a brief statement expressing solidarity with Hussain.

"The Prime Minister has also directed the Pakistan High Commission in London to provide counsellor services to Mr Altaf Hussain," the statement said.

"The government is ready to provide all kinds of legal and moral support to Mr Altaf Hussain."

Raids on home

Hussain founded the MQM in 1984 in response to the marginalisation of Mohajirs - migrants who fled India amid the violence of the sub-continent's partition.

They are mainly concentrated in the cities of the southern Sindh province, especially Karachi where they form a majority of the city's population of 20 million.

Hussain is revered by his fiercely loyal supporters while his critics accuse him of running his party as a violent, mafia-like organisation.

Following his arrest, he was allowed to attend a pre-arranged medical appointment on Tuesday and was kept in hospital until Thursday.

Police previously raided his London residence in 2012 and 2013, also over money-laundering claims.

Two other men were arrested over the allegations in December last year and have been bailed until September pending further investigations.

http://www.aljazeera.com/news/europ...m-leader-bailed-london-20146745343405985.html

That's the conviction rate once someone is formally charged and the prosecution reaches trial.

However, the arrest to conviction rate is very low (something like 1 in 10 I believe).

Essentially arresting someone just gives the police more power and leeway to gather evidence. The CPS then makes a decision, after reviewing the evidence, whether or not to charge someone.

read somewhere that the CPS have something like a 90% conviction rate, so you know its serious if they have gone to the extent of bringing him for questioning.

Pak government can't do much other than sit back and let things unfold, really.

Altaf Hussain arrested in London for Money Laundering [ Now bailed]

Why is Farooq Sattar of the MQM so fond of using Urdu words ending with "aana"? "ahmqana", "munsfana", "beighairatana", "chawlana", "zaleelana" - pretty much everything except "pekhana"!

Altaf Hussain arrested in London for Money Laundering [ Now bailed]

When I was yet to hear anyone having "Sattar" as a name, I met a man who told me that his name is Shafeeq Sattar. I took it to be sarcasm and answered, "Myself Rawal Guitar, my brother Ali Flute." Thank God that my brother knocked some sense into me!
[MENTION=132385]Afridi96[/MENTION] "Sattaar" being the name of a musical instrument in Urdu.

When I was yet to hear anyone having "Sattar" as a name, I met a man who told me that his name is Shafeeq Sattar. I took it to be sarcasm and answered, "Myself Rawal Guitar, my brother Ali Flute." Thank God that my brother knocked some sense into me!

[MENTION=132385]Afridi96[/MENTION] "Sattaar" being the name of a musical instrument in Urdu.

LOOL Rawal Guitar and Ali Flute :)))

My girlfriend's surname is sattar :afridi
They're memons that moved to africa years ago and some have settled in karachi.

On topic, money laundering should be a non bailable offense and he's also a flight risk as he was actively seeking a pakistani passport. Let's hope he tries to go on the run and breaches his bail conditions