"Always had trust in my talent; trying to minimise fitness issues, be consistent" : Sohaib Maqsood

Sohaib Maqsood speaking at a presser after hitting 85* for MS vs PZ in PSL 3:

"Very happy at performing today, I give credit to Shoaib bhai and Sangakkara for the way they helped me out in the nets"

"Normally when I don't perform in a couple of games, I take a lot of pressure but that didn't happen this time"

"PSL is important to revive my career but my focus is to always perform well. I am a high ranked player in domestic cricket so I want to replicate that in PSL right now"

"I was close in the fitness test before NZ tour, I reached 17 level while the passing level was 17.3. Soon after that, I was supposed to take the test again but I got a back injury and missed Regional One Day Cup so I trained to recover for PSL"

"I have made some mistakes and didn't perform like I should have. I have also had many injuries so I was unfortunate. I wasn't able to take advantage of the opportunities I was given in ODIs. I will try to perform as well as I can in PSL"

"I am a type of person who gets very down-hearted after 1-2 failures. After the Islamabad match, Shoaib bhai saw I was down so he told me not to worry, he said I have 10 games and I should try to play two match-winning knocks. The pressure from me was removed and I had confidence in my abilities and believed I could play such knocks"

"Sangakkara guided me a lot during net sessions, he gave me a game plan which I applied and it was successful"

"It's frustrating when you keep getting injured and can't perform. I recover from one injury and play a season then get another one. It's not in my control and I just make dua to Allah and work hard"

"I was not out so there's no disappointment on missing out on a hundred. I came out to bat in the 8th over so it's difficult to make a hundred in 12 overs. I made 18-20 in the 2nd last over so had hope of a hundred but Wahab bowled a good last over"

"The whole PSL is ahead of me, I can't speak about 2019 World Cup after one good innings"

"I have always had trust in my talent but am just trying to minimise fitness issues and be consistent. I have played innings like this before but now I want make runs with consistency"

"PSL is an international-level tournament and anyone who does well here can come into the limelight. I have played international T20s also and the standard of cricket here is not in any way lower than that"

"My favourite six today was the shot off Wahab Riaz"

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.305%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/rvm9o/ftpmmz" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

His innings today.

Batted well today. He plays a lot of ugly shots and doesn't always look in control.

But can't deny that he has power and is an effective hitter. If he can find a way to build his innings like he did today and score consistent runs, he could be very handy in the Pakistan middle order. Currently, there isn't an aggressive batsman in the team like him.

Today he played it smart... First 8-10 balls he just knocked it around and rotated the strike rather than going gung-ho from ball one.

Always had faith in his talent too. The only potential late order/middle order batsmen I've seen represent Pakistan in recent years along with umar akmal who looked like he can hit consistently against both pace and spin.

I'd like to see him in the ODI side along with Talat.

I suppose we should applaud performance. some of those shots though, look good only at PSL level

He rotated the strike well at first and then started smashing it left and right. There was times where he could have gone out. Its time for him to build on this.

Plays far too many shots in the air in ODIs. But i guess for t20s its fine.

A Logic I don’t agree with. Playing in air is fine in all formats if you can control your shots, but if you are playing it straight to the fielders then even in T20s that should not be accepted, the whole issue is to clear the fielders.

Always had faith in his talent too. The only potential late order/middle order batsmen I've seen represent Pakistan in recent years along with umar akmal who looked like he can hit consistently against both pace and spin.

I don’t think he has the mental fortitude to bat down the order

He does not have a defence to survive in international cricket. Technique issue he is 29 never will be fixed.

Easily surpassed Ronchi´s innings yesterday to have now played the best innings of the tournament - so far. Fabulous hitting and what power! Reminded me of the Maqsood of 2013 who literally struck me with his batting on his debut.

Since then though he has hardly stayed 10 minutes on the crease that I could judge what his issue is. From whatever time he has provided me to judge him, it seems temperament is his biggest problem. He can make a comeback if he sorts that out.

Finally, I always tune in to see him bat, glad he repaid the faith... but it’s just UAE super league for now, should work toward World Cup call up.

He needed guidance like this earlier in his career. We shouldn't discourage stroke makers from playing there natural game. They need guidance on the correct execution. He has the talent and ability. Hope he can turn his career around.

"I am a type of person who gets very down-hearted after 1-2 failures. After the Islamabad match, Shoaib bhai saw I was down so he told me not to worry, he said I have 10 games and I should try to play two match-winning knocks. The pressure from me was removed and I had confidence in my abilities and believed I could play such knocks"

Most important part. Players with potential (not necessarily Maqsood) should be given assurances of a long run so that they can play without the pressure of being discarded (usually for TTFs) after a couple of failures.

He needed guidance like this earlier in his career. We shouldn't discourage stroke makers from playing there natural game. They need guidance on the correct execution. He has the talent and ability. Hope he can turn his career around.

I wonder under whose captaincy he played the bulk of his international career

This thread isn't even about Misbah and you still bring him up.

The type of guidance I was referring to was a coach or a top quality batsmen.

Just to make it clear to you I like Misbah but he isn't my favourite player and I have been critical of things he has done wrong . So can you please stop quoting me on every thing that you think Misbah has done wrong as I have never once said he is perfect.

You need to understand people have favourties and you have your favourties . They will be critizced and some people support can be OTT but this doesn't need to be a reason for you to look to bash or champion your favourites.

What went wrong with him in the WC 2015?

He didn't give himself enough time to get his eye in. Similar to Sharjeel Khan in my eyes, if he can get a start, then he can cause havoc, but if he goes too early, he's liable to get out. Sharjeel is better though, sees the ball slightly earlier.

Sohaib does have the ability to batter the best bowlers though, just never learned to pace an innings.

To be fair, most of those shots looked like desperate slogs that barely came off.

aik fluke innings kya ho gai, career revived ho geya he thinks, bhai first give a handful of strong performances, then start to make tall claims.

We have Indian players on one hand who after scoring heavily come back and say "yaar acha nahin geya" and we have our players who after scoring in one rare innings or a 20 odd come out in the media hailing themselves as second coming of past greats.

aik fluke innings kya ho gai, career revived ho geya he thinks, bhai first give a handful of strong performances, then start to make tall claims.

We have Indian players on one hand who after scoring heavily come back and say "yaar acha nahin geya" and we have our players who after scoring in one rare innings or a 20 odd come out in the media hailing themselves as second coming of past greats.

What tall claims did he make?

The journalists were actually trying to make him do that by asking silly questions such as asking about his hopes for the next World Cup etc. but he refused to get into that, saying he needs to focus on the rest of PSL.

What tall claims did he make?

The journalists were actually trying to make him do that by asking silly questions such as asking about his hopes for the next World Cup etc. but he refused to get into that, saying he needs to focus on the rest of PSL.

nvm, i didnt read that right, my bad and humble appologies to the lad.

The golfer was tryna talk big after a flukey inning. What happened, son?