And so 2024 begins with a whimper for Pakistan cricket

A new era for Pakistan cricket with a new director of cricket and new captains has started with a 3-0 Test defeat against Australia and what could easily be a 5-0 T20I series defeat to New Zealand.

For all the big talk from likes of Hafeez before they had positions of power in the PCB, there is scant little to show for it.

Seems like a classic case of words vs actions and do not be surprised if Hafeez/Wahab run off to save their skins and get back to TV shows to criticize Pakistan cricket.

One format where we were actually decent, and this current PCB setup has managed to wreck that too.

Zaka Ashraf will go down in history as the most useless chairman to grace the PCB chair. The late Ijaz Butt has finally been eclipsed and that too by a long shot.

It's to do with being stupidly stubborn as well. Why field first for the third time in a row? What are you trying to prove?

Why persist with Azam when he's clearly unsettled against International quality bowling?

Why can't Shaheen and Rauf change their lengths despite the constant spanking?

There's a photo of the clan laughing around going for food and roaming on the streets. Although it's not a crime but it comes across as petty because you've been absolutely demolished on the cricket field.

It's come down to the bare minimum. Earn your bucks and maximise your time by joining the cliques.

A near full strength New Zealand team is a far better team than Pakistan especially at it's current state, no surprise in getting swept by them

No planning, no vision, just kneejerk based team selections.

A 3-0 loss was expected in the test series against Australia and once again Pakistani batsmen have shown they are incapable of winning high scoring matches when teams are at full strength in T20s.

Nothing new here same old story hopefully this is the last T20 World Cup for Babar Rizwan and others if they incapable of winning the big matches in tournaments despite umpteen chances then it’s best in T20s at least to let the younger generation of cricketers have their chance in the future.

Sikandar Raza in his post match interview after the 1st T20 last ball loss to SL said "I promise to the fans that this group of players will get Zimbabwe cricket back on track and we will not be happy until we do that, it is our promise to our country and fans", next game they played out of their skins and won it.

The above example has nothing to do with where Zimbabwe find themselves in World Cricket standings at present. It has more to do with the kind of seriousness with which their skipper spoke and their team reacted. They are in total shambles, but if you see the recent series, they have tried very hard every game and have been punching above their weight.

In Pakistan all I see is excuses. Babar King kar lega, Sab ka bura time aata hai, form unka bhi gaya tha, hum vaise bhi 25 saal se haar rahe hai, wasim waqar bhi haar gaye the hum kya hai?, every single time they come up with some crap.

I never see the seriousness and the determination in this team to do well and be ruthless. They are just happy with where they are. Get humiliated day in and day out, get some individual milestones, and say aee we are No. 1 batsman, No. 3 bowler blah blah, fans go mad over it and the cycle keeps repeating.

Come the PSL, fans will list 20 more names here whom they think will make Pak the best team in the world. 🤦‍♂️

It's to do with being stupidly stubborn as well. Why field first for the third time in a row? What are you trying to prove?

Why persist with Azam when he's clearly unsettled against International quality bowling?

Why can't Shaheen and Rauf change their lengths despite the constant spanking?

There's a photo of the clan laughing around going for food and roaming on the streets. Although it's not a crime but it comes across as petty because you've been absolutely demolished on the cricket field.

It's come down to the bare minimum. Earn your bucks and maximise your time by joining the cliques.
Azam is an easy target. Every single time he has faced an impossible situation coming in to bat with RRR of 12+. He has to hit out immediately and you really can't blame anybody for failing in that kind of situation.

A newcomer needs to be assessed on a fair chance and not that kind of situation. It's the top orders fault for giving him and Iftikhar such difficult entry points.

Any emphasis on fitness has seemingly gone out of the window lately.

The NZ boys seem like athletes, whereas we are more like part time food critics.

The difference in the field is night and day between us and them.

The team was literally eating cakes, drinking soda and ordering takeaway during the World Cup! It is astonishing that was allowed to happen.

It is no coincidence that bad results have followed ever since.

Any emphasis on fitness has seemingly gone out of the window lately.

The NZ boys seem like athletes, whereas we are more like part time food critics.

The difference in the field is night and day between us and them.

The team was literally eating cakes, drinking soda and ordering takeaway during the World Cup! It is astonishing that was allowed to happen.

It is no coincidence that bad results have followed ever since.
Look at the size of thier arms pakistan batters are like twix.

Azam is an easy target. Every single time he has faced an impossible situation coming in to bat with RRR of 12+. He has to hit out immediately and you really can't blame anybody for failing in that kind of situation.

A newcomer needs to be assessed on a fair chance and not that kind of situation. It's the top orders fault for giving him and Iftikhar such difficult entry points.
But he hasnt shown anything at all.

With such a worst start to the cricketing year for Pakistan God forbid don't know where we will end up by the end of this year.

Hitting to the new Lows!

I am not looking forward Pakistan coming to England for the T20s later this year. They will do our biasty in front of a public that is increasing it's hate for Pakistan origin Brits on a daily basis.

No one to show a bit of attitude and spike in this passive Pakistan team.

This is the worst possible start for any team for the new year. Gettin whitewashed in Australia and now another possible whitewash to follow.

But he hasnt shown anything at all.
I agree. He's been very poor. I just think it's very understandable for anyone have to poor performances if they are asked to slog from ball 1 needing 13 RPO.

He'll do better eventually if he gets more chances.

No desire to experiment, even for the sake of it!

For example, why not drop Riz and Babar for the meaningless 4th T20I?

Same ODI World Cup slow train wreck in motion.

No desire to experiment, even for the sake of it!

For example, why not drop Riz and Babar for the meaningless 4th T20I?

Same ODI World Cup slow train wreck in motion.

A flop at the T20 World Cup is on the cards you can’t rely on one batsman to win high scoring matches and a lucky escape in the group stages like in the last tournament won’t always happen.

Overall an overrated T20 team who almost always get outbatted in big matches by the better teams.

The test and ODI teams have been poor aswell not good signs for Pakistan cricket at the moment over the next decade a new mentality needs to be instilled in the younger generation of players.

This team si gonna do worst later this year as they are too afraid to do anything different. RIz and Babar should have been sitting on the bench and let Farhan and haseeb play. Farhan is an opener and he failed today at number 5 position.

I think if there's any lesson to be learnt in this NZ series it's that we eat up way too many dot balls.
4+ batsmen take a while to get going and all fail, that's already 5-6 + overs wasted.