Anil Kumble's 74/10 vs Yasir Shah's 41/8 - Whose spell was more epic?

Bhaijaan

Hall of Famer
Two of the greatest spells of spin bowling ever without a doubt.

What do you reckon?

Oh no Kumble's record's dignity is in danger now. That Indian umpire is also going to be harassed here.:tahir2

Thread title should be A V Jayprakash Vs Yasir Shah
All 10 wickets robbed

Oh no Kumble's record's dignity is in danger now. That Indian umpire is also going to be harassed here.:tahir2

:))) this deserves the POTW

btw im really fed up with the comparisons. Every record has its value and you cant compare them. By comparing you are just be littling another record

Nah none of these are a match for Bishoo’s 8fer. They way he brought his side back into the contest after a deficit of 200+ runs was incredible against the spin and second inning masters with the likes of a mentally strong Asad Shafiq.

Also one cannot forget the importance of the fact he achieved this with a lower quality pink ball during a day and night test. Taking 8fers during a day test cricket is too mainstream anyway.

Bishoo has set new heights for Yasir Shah and all wrist spinners around the globe.

Kumble's 10 wicket haul, came against Pakistan in a crunch match. Forget him, I think even Kaneria and Afridi delivered better spells in Bangalore 2005 compared to this Yasir one.

Nobody talks about Jim Laker. He took 19 wickets in a test match against Australia. That's brilliant.

Kumble's 10 wicket haul, came against Pakistan in a crunch match. Forget him, I think even Kaneria and Afridi delivered better spells in Bangalore 2005 compared to this Yasir one.
They did not take 8 wickets, for me Kimble wins here.

Sadly I hate it but would admit Yasir was better. First it was home ground and crowd! second umpire assisted him fully to get to the record! those were good days where home umpires all over the world would offer lot of help. India was not alone in this, same was the case in Australia, Pak, SL, Eng and of course West Indies where umpires were more patriotic than anywhere else!!!!

Credit to Pak for initiating neutral umpiring in tests against West Indies!!

:murali

Murali's 9-65 at The Oval on a pitch where more than 1000 runs were score in the first two innings

Can anyone tell me which dismissals were exactly gifted to Kumble by the umpire? The video is there for everyone to see on youtube. Come on, kindly let us know.

Yasir got his wickets in DRS era while Kumble, ahem.. who was the umpire again? Some Prasad?

Kindly check the video above and let us know which was a wrong one.

Afridi Wicket was questionable but everything else was plumb.... Either way I was happy not only because India won, but it paid back Moin Khan and the Pakistanis for cheating in broad daylight by taking the greatest bumped catch of all time in the previous test match...

I watched the video Hitman posted above. I didn't really notice any wrong decisions. Can anyone point out which ones were wrong?

Afridi Wicket was questionable but everything else was plumb.... Either way I was happy not only because India won, but it paid back Moin Khan and the Pakistanis for cheating in broad daylight by taking the greatest bumped catch of all time in the previous test match...

There was some deviation in the ball's direction after it passed Shahid Afridi's bat, so I don't think it was questionable.

One can clearly hear Michael holding say no doubt about his at all which means there was clear doubt in some of the earlier decisions. The umpire, one feels, wants to leave the field early and was in a hurry to raise his finger. Very dubious.

Afridi was unhappy with the decision. He generally is a walker and one of the gentlemen of the game notwithstanding his aggression.. Yousufs lbw was also questionable. Very poor overall.

the indians actively tried to give him the record.
the other bowlers deliberately bowled short and wide so that they could not take a wicket.

That's true but that was only once Kumble got to 7 or 8 wkts. And Pakistan batsmen also tried to give away their wickets to short and wide deliveries..both sides did the correct thing..those days were fun when India Pakistan players used to behave like fans :)

A) Kumble's wickets were against an Asian sides consisting of some great players of spin bowling. Yasir's wickets against a non SC team who are generally weak against spin bowling.

B) Kumble's wicket was against arch rivals in a huge pressure game with 70k crowd in the stadium. Yasir was playing just another game in empty UAE stadium.

C) Yasir was getting more purchase from the pitch due to the rough created by seamers. That Kotla wicket was pretty good for batting and Pakistan scored 100 runs opening partnership

D) Kumble had 10 wickets compared to 8 by Yasir.

Based on the above, Kumble's feat was much bigger without a doubt.

That's true but that was only once Kumble got to 7 or 8 wkts. And Pakistan batsmen also tried to give away their wickets to short and wide deliveries..both sides did the correct thing..those days were fun when India Pakistan players used to behave like fans :)

then they werent trying hard enough. should have got run out. that is what i would do.

Lol Yes clearly didnt try hard enough. And for this thread clearly Kumble 10fer whatever the circumstance was better.

A) Kumble's wickets were against an Asian sides consisting of some great players of spin bowling. Yasir's wickets against a non SC team who are generally weak against spin bowling.

B) Kumble's wicket was against arch rivals in a huge pressure game with 70k crowd in the stadium. Yasir was playing just another game in empty UAE stadium.

C) Yasir was getting more purchase from the pitch due to the rough created by seamers. That Kotla wicket was pretty good for batting and Pakistan scored 100 runs opening partnership

D) Kumble had 10 wickets compared to 8 by Yasir.

Based on the above, Kumble's feat was much bigger without a doubt.

one match had competent umpires
the other had jayprakash

Apart from Afridi's wicket the others looked out to me

Even Afridi was out, at max it was 19-20 decision which happens in regular cricket. Umpire Jayprakash helped Kumble is one of many such delusional stories Pak fans tend to believe which are far from reality.

Yup, and even Afridi’s wicket is a mistake that an umpire can make. The sound of the bat hitting the pad can deceive umpires.

You can see the ball deviating in Afridi's dismissal. The only thing that confuses people is Afridi's reaction after he was adjudged out.

Can anyone tell me which dismissals were exactly gifted to Kumble by the umpire? The video is there for everyone to see on youtube. Come on, kindly let us know.

Don't ask difficult questions.

Why you spoiling the conspiracy theory of A V Jayprakash feed to them since childhood..
If that makes them feel good about it then let it be...

Yup, and even Afridi’s wicket is a mistake that an umpire can make. The sound of the bat hitting the pad can deceive umpires.

Agreed, i felt that there was a difference between the ball and bat as the bat was passing but a side on angle would have helped a lot.

Anyways, I think Pakistan fans should just leave it just like typical non-knowledgeable BD fans should forget the Rohit sharma no-ball.

Why you spoiling the conspiracy theory of A V Jayprakash feed to them since childhood..
If that makes them feel good about it then let it be...

I'll agree here. Usually the narrative is the the umpire gifted Kumble all of those 10 wickets. But when footage of that spell is provided, all we see if those fans ignoring it :D

Yasir had the better spell with some unplayable deliveries but Kumble’s spell will be remembered due to its impact and the feat he achieved.

There can't be a definite proof to say that umpire was helping Kumble. Video is dodgy and I don't think there is an HD version or hawkeye to determine where ball is going.

The Indian pride was on line, umpire was under immense amount of pressure. In those times, these kinda things happened, not only in India but all around the world. Pakistan lost tests and a series vs WI/Aus due to umpire blunders.

Kumble is an ATG. Not a lot of men can say they have 600+ test wickets. But the 'asterisk' shall always remain due to how things unfolded. And it is not bowler's fault in umpire is lifting finger mechanically (umpire's body language was not of a man who was very certain; did he ever officiated another game? even in India? too lazy to search).

The other thing to consider is, even if Pak were chasing 420; there was an air of panic after 101/0.

Yasir had the better spell with some unplayable deliveries but Kumble’s spell will be remembered due to its impact and the feat he achieved.

Wha...?
Afridi regularly smashed him (and Bhajan) as if it were Cricket 07 video game! :yk I used to turn on TV and whenever he was bowling I was like Ok a six is coming soon :afridi

Wha...?
Afridi regularly smashed him (and Bhajan) as if it were Cricket 07 video game! :yk I used to turn on TV and whenever he was bowling I was like Ok a six is coming soon :afridi

The feat of getting 10 wickets in an innings. I said Kumble’s spell not his bowling in general. Both Afridi and Anwar used to feast on him.

Laker’s 10-53. Which followed his 9-37 in the same match.

Pakistani fans could be right in saying that 3-4 decisions made that day might have gone unfairly against them.

Can't understand why some Indian fans would feel so insecure about that.

Kumble is still a great bowler despite the umpiring decisions.

Wow thats great insight

Where do you think the ball hit before going to Ganguly at slip?

Razzaq dismissal?

I was going to address this next. The ball seemed to have made a bump before Ganguly held it but they never showed it with zoom in.

As an Indian your Bhaijaan takes pride in Kumble being a legend of the game but some of the things that happened that day might not have been in the spirit of cricket.

Pakistani fans could be right in saying that 3-4 decisions made that day might have gone unfairly against them.

Agreeing to something that you don't believe in is no mark of being a secured human being. A secured person makes his point regardless of what others feel about it.

I don't think that any of the decision was wrong baring Afridi, which is hard to guess since there was no snicko in those days. You could have a view that decisions went against Pakistan, which is fine, but that doesn't make you anymore secured or insecured person than what you really are.

Please stick to the topic and do not derail the thread. This a Cricket related thread and Cricket should only be discussed here, should you wish to discuss politics or any other stuff , you can always go to our "Time Pass & Sports" Section.

Kumble took 10 wickets in an inning whereas Yasir took 8.
There is no comparison tbh.

Only thing that Yasir has in his favor is that there was a neutral umpire and it was during the second innings.

Both took 14 wickets during the match.

Kumble's achievement was better simply because he took all ten. It is very difficult for a bowler to do something like that. However, Shah's spell was fantastic as well.

Without doubt it’s kumble, he has taken 10 against arch rivals and that too against a star team in that era who played spin well . Yasir has taken 8 wickets against a team who is known to struggle against spin

Yasir for me.

Kumble medium pace bowler got help from patriotic indian umpires.

Is this even a comparison.?
Anil kumble's tenfor is rated as 2nd best bowling performance by wisden.
Joke thread

Because I have seen the highlights and none of them seemed questionable. If facts are on your side you dont need to feel insecure

Anil Kimble’s one was amazing but two or three decisions went against Pakistan.

The highlights are available on YouTube. Which decisions were questionable? Afridi making faces after a clear deflection doesnt count

when some Indian posters run down Kapil Dev and associate him some "he said, she said" things in the thread of all rounders what can one expect other posters to say about Kumble who is one the toughest and disciplined players to have played cricket. One of the role models for any cricketer, I would say.
Great work ethic, greater character (ex. post CT too.)

You can clearly see the ball changes line after going past Afridis bat, the rest are all plumb.

Statistically, Yasir's was superior since he averaged 5.125 per wicket, whereas Kumble averaged 7.4 per wicket.

Wasim Akram spoke further about his controversial mid-pitch conversation with Waqar Younis as Anil Kumble neared his record 10th wicket in the second innings of the historic 1999 Kotla Test, allegations over which had started an ugly spat between the two in 2017.

Asked whether Akram and Waqar tried to deny Kumble his 10th wicket by trying to get out in some other way, Akram said, “No. That would be against sportsman spirit. I said to Waqar Younis that you play normal cricket, I will not get out to Anil Kumble. As a captain, I told Waqar to play his normal game and go for shots against Srinath.”

Akram was speaking to Aakash Chopra in an online chat earlier this week.

Akram had earlier alleged that Waqar had suggested that the two of them try to get run out so that Kumble would be stuck on 9 wickets in the innings. “Waqar came to me and said ‘How about getting run out?’ so that Kumble does not get his 10th wicket,” he had been quoted by DNA in a 2005 interview.

Kumble’s 10-wicket haul (10th wicket partnership between Wasim and Waqar from 5:10):

Waqar had reacted to this allegation by tweeting in 2017: “This never happened !! I think age is catching up with Wasim Bhai.”

Akram had then hit back at Waqar, “Get your facts right mate. And if we are going to go down the “age” road you know I’ll beat you in that game every time.” This tweet had later been deleted.

This 2017 spat had happened after Virender Sehwag had shared a snippet of Akram’s 2005 interview on the 18th anniversary of the special day.

The Indian team, on the other hand, had worked to ensure that Kumble got his 10th wicket of the match. VVS Laxman wrote in his autobiography of the final moments of the match: ” For the first time in his life, Javagal Srinath bowled not to take wickets, and there was one moment of alarm when Sadagopan Ramesh ran back to try and hold on to a catch off his bowling that was met with the most unparliamentary words from the bowler himself!”

https://indianexpress.com/article/s...wicket-wasim-akram-waqar-younis-chat-6423890/

Embarrassing for Wasim that Wiki The Jatt denied that ever happened.

But what did happen that was a young Sadagoppan Ramesh making a full dive to catch Waqar off Srinath's over resulting in a lot of daaant from Srinath :))

Kumble 10fer had to happen.

A special moment.

A rarest of rarest feats in 100+ years history of cricket.

It was destiny that in the era if Shane Warne and Muralitharan, it was Anil Kumble who who 10/10.

Wasim Akram spoke further about his controversial mid-pitch conversation with Waqar Younis as Anil Kumble neared his record 10th wicket in the second innings of the historic 1999 Kotla Test, allegations over which had started an ugly spat between the two in 2017.

Asked whether Akram and Waqar tried to deny Kumble his 10th wicket by trying to get out in some other way, Akram said, “No. That would be against sportsman spirit. I said to Waqar Younis that you play normal cricket, I will not get out to Anil Kumble. As a captain, I told Waqar to play his normal game and go for shots against Srinath.”

Akram was speaking to Aakash Chopra in an online chat earlier this week.

Akram had earlier alleged that Waqar had suggested that the two of them try to get run out so that Kumble would be stuck on 9 wickets in the innings. “Waqar came to me and said ‘How about getting run out?’ so that Kumble does not get his 10th wicket,” he had been quoted by DNA in a 2005 interview.

Kumble’s 10-wicket haul (10th wicket partnership between Wasim and Waqar from 5:10):

Waqar had reacted to this allegation by tweeting in 2017: “This never happened !! I think age is catching up with Wasim Bhai.”

Akram had then hit back at Waqar, “Get your facts right mate. And if we are going to go down the “age” road you know I’ll beat you in that game every time.” This tweet had later been deleted.

This 2017 spat had happened after Virender Sehwag had shared a snippet of Akram’s 2005 interview on the 18th anniversary of the special day.

The Indian team, on the other hand, had worked to ensure that Kumble got his 10th wicket of the match. VVS Laxman wrote in his autobiography of the final moments of the match: ” For the first time in his life, Javagal Srinath bowled not to take wickets, and there was one moment of alarm when Sadagopan Ramesh ran back to try and hold on to a catch off his bowling that was met with the most unparliamentary words from the bowler himself!”

https://indianexpress.com/article/s...wicket-wasim-akram-waqar-younis-chat-6423890/

lol how unprofessional. Who gives a Damn about records. Win the game. That's obviously the only thing that matters.

desi teams prior to 2010 were ridiculously unprofessional.

Aussies would never make such decisions. Their aim would always be to win at any cost. Ruthless aggression to go for the kill and finish the game off when a chance presents itself.

so Pakistani players were incorrectly given out and now it matters right? somehow it never appeared to be a big deal when 10 decisions went against india in the Sydney test vs the Aussies? A series which india could have actually won.