Another self-inflicted away defeat for India

Junaids

It never seems to change.

India refuse to prepare properly even when they arrive early enough. They wasted weeks of their tour by insisting on playing white ball cricket instead of preparing for the Tests, even though they had to arrive early for Quarantine purposes.

And then Kohli didn't even bother to play in the only pink ball First Class warm-up match.

They have made the exact same mistake that they made in 2007-08. The 2003-04 tourists had a flukey draw in Australia because the best two bowlers - McGrath and Warne - were absent. They turned up for the next tour thinking they were better than they were, and ended up using their tantrum at Sydney to try to distract people from the truly pathetic nature of their capitulation in the last half-hour.

Now history has repeated itself. They won 2-1 two years ago in Australia because the only two international class Australian batsmen were suspended. And India has turned up over-confident again, thinking they are better than they really are, and that they don't need to prepare properly.

I remember Mickey Arthur's Pakistan preparing with a red ball in a public park at the start of their 2018 tour of England. And it worked. That summer Pakistan drew 1-1 in England, and India followed them and lost 4-1.

I can't understand why India can't discipline themselves to prepare properly. Today they literally collapsed against full-length bowling. Nothing more, nothing less.

Hilarious that Australia are celebrating like they are some GOAT side.

If only we celebrated like that when we beat them at home every time.

I agree except 2003-4 wasn't a flukey draw. India fully deserved to draw that series. Yes Mcgrath was a big miss but Warne had a poor record against India anyway.

They are the two international sides that I dislike the most.

I just wish India had prepared properly. And not just recycled tried and trusted SENA failures.

I'm sure you watched Kohli bat in the first innings Junaids. Did that look like a man short of match practice?

Junaids,

First of all, I feel people are not giving Australia enough credit.

Australian bowling unit was brilliant, even if the Indians did receive practice games with the pink ball, it would not have mattered imo.

On the game thread, I was bashing kids like Shaw, the wicket keeper etc, however I am now convinced that had India bought their A game in the second innings, they would have most likely set Australia a target of around 220, which Australia would have successfully chased. Momentum is a cruel mistress and she was on Australia's side when they were bowling and would have stayed with them when they were batting.

Indians need to re-think their strategy, now that I think about it; I do not think it is a wise move to drop Shaw. This is the right of passage he needs to walk, have to play him for the entire series and lets see his character and whether he has what it takes to survive with the big boys. Prithvi would have thought everything was easy after his debut vs the WI now has been given a heavy dose of reality. Gill will obviously take Kohli's place and Wridhi mahan Swaha should get replaced by Pant.

Again Congrats to the Australian side, the kids on this side are very well mannered and likeable, unlike when Mcgrath and the boys played. It is bitter sweet for me as I love Australia the country, people and feel blessed to be here, however vs India deep down I swing towards the Indian side, genetics I guess.

I agree except 2003-4 wasn't a flukey draw. India fully deserved to draw that series. Yes Mcgrath was a big miss but Warne had a poor record against India anyway.

No way India draws the 2003 series if Mcgrath and Warne played, they would have lost 4-0

India refuse to prepare properly even when they arrive early enough. They wasted weeks of their tour by insisting on playing white ball cricket instead of preparing for the Tests, even though they had to arrive early for Quarantine purposes.

And then Kohli didn't even bother to play in the only pink ball First Class warm-up match.

They have made the exact same mistake that they made in 2007-08. The 2003-04 tourists had a flukey draw in Australia because the best two bowlers - McGrath and Warne - were absent. They turned up for the next tour thinking they were better than they were, and ended up using their tantrum at Sydney to try to distract people from the truly pathetic nature of their capitulation in the last half-hour.

Now history has repeated itself. They won 2-1 two years ago in Australia because the only two international class Australian batsmen were suspended. And India has turned up over-confident again, thinking they are better than they really are, and that they don't need to prepare properly.

I remember Mickey Arthur's Pakistan preparing with a red ball in a public park at the start of their 2018 tour of England. And it worked. That summer Pakistan drew 1-1 in England, and India followed them and lost 4-1.

I can't understand why India can't discipline themselves to prepare properly. Today they literally collapsed against full-length bowling. Nothing more, nothing less.

The only reason Mickey Arthur’s Pakistan drew in England in 2018 was because it was a 2 Test series.

If they played 5 like India, they would have also lost the series with ease.

Never understood why a 39 year old declining Swaha is given chances ahead of Pant. Pant is the future and should not waste his years away due to politics.

The only reason Mickey Arthur’s Pakistan drew in England in 2018 was because it was a 2 Test series.

If Pakistan cricket had half the money and resources that India have .. they will be world beaters.
Or if Indian cricket faced half the difficulties that Pakistan have in last 10 years - their cricket be dead
Pakistan mein JAZBA hai
Aur TALENT bhi ..

The fact is even the all time pakistan 11 was never as good as this indian team , this defeat should come as a shocker for india.

India will definitely compete better in the next three matches. They may even draw the series , this is a one off really really bad session for them.

Or this may indicate that even better things are coming as 2020 is ending :D

Plenty of ifs and buts in there.
I can understand it's been a tough day for you.

How about you use your knowledge, expertise and fortune telling to criticise the pathetic show by India in this thread which is actually about them.

But no, you always go back to your one and only agenda each and every time.

They also drew in 2016, which was a four match series.

India didn’t play in 2016 so cannot compare, and Stokes didn’t play the matches we won. If we are going to discredit India for beating underpowered Australia in 2018, we should apply the same logic to ourselves.

Such a shameful defeat for the Nation say we are cricket lover , Money can only Buy IPL , Indian cannot win Test matches

Kohli has won 33 Tests, the most by an Asian captain by a big margin. Now it is your choice if you show your ignorance and dismiss them because they came in XYZ conditions.

India lack of Talent , Pakistan on the other hand full of cricket talent.

India didn’t play in 2016 so cannot compare, and Stokes didn’t play the matches we won. If we are going to discredit India for beating underpowered Australia in 2018, we should apply the same logic to ourselves.

Stokes wasn't the player he was back then, compared to what he has become now.

Your other half lost today; accept the defeat and move on.

Stokes wasn't the player he was back then, compared to what he has become now.

Your other half lost today; accept the defeat and move on.

I don’t agree.

Stokes was the best all-rounder in the world by 2016. Few months before the Pakistan series, he produced a Man of the Series performance in South Africa including a career best of 258 in 198 balls.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">India hadn't lost any of their 25 Tests when Virat Kohli won the toss prior to today!<br><br>It took an unbelievable effort from Australia's bowlers to end that streak &#55357;&#56613;<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/AUSvIND?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#AUSvIND</a> <a href="https://t.co/Y9TcL9YXZU">pic.twitter.com/Y9TcL9YXZU</a></p>— ICC (@ICC) <a href="https://twitter.com/ICC/status/1340266381753892864?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 19, 2020</a></blockquote>

[MENTION=132916]Junaids[/MENTION] is spot on again. The lack of preparation and pigheaded scheduling by the BCCI would always have impacted on results. Add to that the complications with quarantine and covid protocols, and it was inevitably going to be an uphill task.

If India played 10 tests they would have lost 9-1

Is it really self-inflicted? Isn't it better to say that India generally don't do well in Australia? Not saying they're terrible abroad (not aware of the stats currently), but they do historically struggle with swinging pitches.

They have every reason to celebrate like this. You can too when you bowl them out for 36, the lowest test total in 65 years. Also, in case you didn't look at the rankings they are the number one test team in the world.

Is it really self-inflicted? Isn't it better to say that India generally don't do well in Australia? Not saying they're terrible abroad (not aware of the stats currently), but they do historically struggle with swinging pitches.

Actually, Indians are terrible abroad but they have done decently in Aus over the last 20 years.

LOL what a joke. India have been getting bludgeoned in England for nearly a decade now.

Pakistan almost always does better than most teams in England. And more than held their own in a 4 match series in 2016, which they would have won it had it not been for the Edgbaston capitulation.

Actually, Indians are terrible abroad but they have done decently in Aus over the last 20 years.

Ah, thanks for the correction. But it still seems to me that saying it's 'self inflicted' kind of seems like a cop out.

It is self-inflicted given that the BCCI doesn't really bother to help the team prepare and acclimatize to conditions.

Preparation always helps, but credit should be given where due - Aussies absolutely brilliant from second afternoon. First Paine of all people added almost 100 with the tail, then they bowled like hurricane Catarina. I don’t think longer preparation would have saved India here - better show definitely but these Aussies at home are frighteningly good. And, this is an ageing Indian side - they were bound to struggle - may be better preparation won’t have exposed them wide open like this.
[MENTION=132916]Junaids[/MENTION] - indeed longer preparation helps acclamation better, but that PAK example isn’t appropriate - use your good intelligence, you’ll understand why that example wasn’t appropriate. PAK won the first Test, then lost the next Test by innings and inside 7 sessions. By your logic, I get a feeling that PAK was host and England was the visitor ....

The whole purpose of this lengthy post is to tell us about PAK’s 1-1 achievement in UK, on the day India got blown away for 36.... there was no need for that - we are well aware of it and I didn’t mind either:)

LOL what a joke. India have been getting bludgeoned in England for nearly a decade now.

Pakistan almost always does better than most teams in England. And more than held their own in a 4 match series in 2016, which they would have won it had it not been for the Edgbaston capitulation.

2018 team was poor. They would have definitely lost a long series.

It wouldn’t have been any different to 2020 where Pakistan started brightly but by the end of the third Test, they were praying for rain to avoid a battering.

Some pretty poor shots amongst that 36/9. The footwork was particularly static.

Good bowling though from the Aussies, but it was hardly McGrath, Warne, Lee etc.

Am I the only one who thought Australia, and Hazlewood in particular, just bowled brilliantly?

The first five wickets to fall honestly, nightwatchman aside, were absolute crackers to my eye. The first proper poor dismissal was Kohli who just looked like he wanted to get out and go home.

credit has to be given to the Aussies who bowled perfect lines ball after ball.

Am I the only one who thought Australia, and Hazlewood in particular, just bowled brilliantly?

The first five wickets to fall honestly, nightwatchman aside, were absolute crackers to my eye. The first proper poor dismissal was Kohli who just looked like he wanted to get out and go home.

Spot on. Just brilliant bowling from two world class fast bowlers.

2018 team was poor. They would have definitely lost a long series.

It wouldn’t have been any different to 2020 where Pakistan started brightly but by the end of the third Test, they were praying for rain to avoid a battering.

Whatever. Teams that are/were supposedly better than Pakistan have done much worse in England. England has not lost a series at home since 2014. So I would say drawing against them twice is a pretty big achievement.

Australia bowled the right line and length on a pitch where the par score was probably 240.

To be dismissed all out for 36 basically was because the batsmen had not prepared properly.

In the first innings they batted far too slowly in Misbah-mode, and in the second innings they didn't leave balls they could leave and Kohli batted with hard hands.

There was no seam or swing. It was just good length bowling.

You are completely missing my point.

My point is that on the last 3 tours of England, a moderate Pakistan team has overperformed across 9 Tests (Won 3, Drawn 2, Lost 4) because they arrive early, respect the game and prepare properly.

Whereas in India's last 9 Tests in England they have won 2 and lost 7. And the difference is that they don't prepare properly.

Kohli was always going to miss the last 3 Tests. Why did he skip the only pink ball warm-up? It's shocking!

My point is that on the last 3 tours of England, a moderate Pakistan team has overperformed across 9 Tests (Won 3, Drawn 2, Lost 4) because they arrive early, respect the game and prepare properly.

So how does a team that arrive early, respect the game and prepare properly go in Australia.

Whereas in India's last 9 Tests in England they have won 2 and lost 7. And the difference is that they don't prepare properly.

Kohli was always going to miss the last 3 Tests. Why did he skip the only pink ball warm-up? It's shocking!

What time do we arrive in Australia? Can you give us a specific date and time for our next tour so that we can finally end our 100% losing record since 1999?

And how come Pakistan got thrashed in the second Test in England in 2018? By then, we had spent even more time in England, so we should have been even more acclimatized with the conditions.

What time do we arrive in Australia? Can you give us a specific date and time for our next tour so that we can finally end our 100% losing record since 1999?

And how come Pakistan got thrashed in the second Test in England in 2018? By then, we had spent even more time in England, so we should have been even more acclimatized with the conditions.

Again, both you and [MENTION=732]Gilly[/MENTION] have failed to comprehend my post.

I am on record slaughtering the Pakistanis for arriving too late and playing too little cricket here in Australia on their last 2 tours.

What I am saying is something different. INDIA would have done a lot better at Adelaide if they had actually spent the last month in Australia playing red and pink ball cricket instead of insisting upon playing white ball series straight before the Tests.

India and Pakistan are often as unprofessional and stupid as one another. To be quite frank, it seems to have been a Mickey Arthur thing to prepare properly - because as soon as he was gone, Misbah replaced proper preparation with these stupid matches which are not matches.

Again, both you and [MENTION=732]Gilly[/MENTION] have failed to comprehend my post.

I am on record slaughtering the Pakistanis for arriving too late and playing too little cricket here in Australia on their last 2 tours.

What I am saying is something different. INDIA would have done a lot better at Adelaide if they had actually spent the last month in Australia playing red and pink ball cricket instead of insisting upon playing white ball series straight before the Tests.

India and Pakistan are often as unprofessional and stupid as one another. To be quite frank, it seems to have been a Mickey Arthur thing to prepare properly - because as soon as he was gone, Misbah replaced proper preparation with these stupid matches which are not matches.

It's not that. Where is the money? In T20 and odi now. Tests no longer generate as much money even though its the most prestigious and decorated format.

Tests is always supreme. India played phucking T20 and odi before a major test series when it was supposed to be the other way around.

It's poor planning but it doesn't matter. At least they played 2 pink ball tests. Honestly Australia is just a better pink ball team as they have more experience playing with the pink ball. India almost had them all out for 120 if it weren't for dropped catches. One or 2 dropped is alright. But we dropped 6 or 7.thats embarrassing.

When you drop so many you deserve to lose.

Let's see what happens in red ball cricket. I do think this team has it in them to turn it around but I want to see proper selections first.

So they crushed Australia at the MCG because they are now better prepared? Okay, makes sense.

This thread hurts. Had we held on to our catchesbatted with more resolve , we might have been 2-0 up now. Never change, India. :(

2003-04
2007-08
2018-19
2020-21

We have been pretty much competitive in Australia over past two decades.

So they crushed Australia at the MCG because they are now better prepared? Okay, makes sense.
Precisely!

This whole thread is about how they underperformed in the First Test due to too little First Class preparation.

And now after having acclimatised to the conditions and the format they have performed better.

Well done India!

I was reading somewhere that except for that horror 36 session, we have dominated or been in front in every session of both Tests. Let me see if I can look it up.