Any fun/funny Eid stories?

marlonbrowndo

My eid’s for the past few years have been pretty uneventful since I don’t want to spend too many days outside Karachi during my short visits to Pakistan and I have no family in the city. However this one was pretty memorable

Eid namaz was at 7 am and I woke up at 6. I had breakfast etc then woke my dad up around 6 30. When I got into the shower, I realized for some reason there was no water. Out of all the days this could’ve happened, it had to happen on eid. Went to all the rooms etc to make sure it wasn’t just my shower. It was 6 45 at this point so there was no time to go outside and check what the problem was. In my desperation, I decided to use the only water there was in the house at the time. I went to the fridge, got a few jugs of drinking water and poured it into a bucket in my bathroom. At this point, eid namaz was in 7 minutes. I don’t know how but I managed to bathe in that ice cold drinking water in the next few minutes. It truly was something else. Eventually I made it downstairs at 6 58 and we reached the masjid a few seconds before the second rakaat.

Even though at the time it was a nightmare, in hindsight, it was actually a great, thrilling experience and I was really proud of myself at the dedication I showed not to miss eid namaz. It also made me nostalgic of the time when I was a little kid and didn’t have a shower, and used to bathe using a balti. Also one of those things that can only really be experienced in Pakistan

Any memorable moments you guys have to share that happened during eid? Whether from your childhood or recently. Whether in Pakistan or abroad.

Even if it’s something simple like meeting someone you hadn’t seen in many years

I feel like [MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION] could add a few gems here

I love Eid in Pak, my father had like 15 cousins his age growing up and most of them are based in Karachi. Now all these cousins now have kids and some even have grand kids. So we all meet at this mosque on Tariq Road (because behind the mosque is a graveyard where all the previous generations of our family is buried). At the mosque all of us lined up probably take up one whole row of the mosque end to end. Amazing scenes. Then after Eid prayers and the awkward "beta ap kya kartay hain" and "shaadi kab horahi hai" questions from the youngsters, we all go to the graveyard at the back and throw rose petals on the graves and say fatiha.

Nice. My eids in Lahore were poetic like that. However I haven’t been going there since I moved to Canada because most my cousins have left and I prefer Karachi so there’s no point. Now, apart from greeting family, friends, servants, etc, my last 4 eids have been reduced to binge eating and relaxing. And I wouldn’t have it any other way

Even if it’s something simple like meeting someone you hadn’t seen in many years

I feel like [MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION] could add a few gems here

Unfortunately I don't. Eid has been acrimonious in our household, for one reason or the other, so all I have are sob stories and awkward interactions, including the dreaded three-stage embrace traditional on Eid, with relatives whom I would rather not have anything to do with.

There was the one time where a relative whom I loathe with particular vigor came downstairs to wish us, and in my rage, I administered a full-blooded kick to a glass table. It sliced my leg open from the big toe up to the ankle. I needed stitches, and if you think finding medical care in Pakistan is hard, try finding it on Eid day as you slowly drip blood over the back seat of a vehicle.

To this day, Eid is a tense occasion. My sole hope for the day is to get through it without any drama.