Any old readers of Imran Series Novels here?

Strike Rate

It was fun reading Imran Series novels as a teenager. Ibn-e-Safi started this Urdu spy novel series back in mid 50s and than many other writers wrote Imran Series after the death of Ibn-e-Safi but Mazhar Kaleem became the most famous one.

You can find all the character details of Imran Series here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Imran_series_characters

Imran
Ali Imran is a pivotal character in Imran Series. Handsome and bright, the young-man holds M.Sc., and Ph.D. degrees from Oxford University and has extraordinary sex appeal. He appears comical and moronic, using these features to camouflage himself as a buffoon. Always shown acting stupid, insane, and funny, he keeps the readers in hysterics at his every action. He never reveals his true side to anyone. He usually dresses eccentrically; for example, a pink coat, a light green shirt, a yellow necktie, white pants, and a purple flat hat with a red rose in it is his typical apparel. Ibne Safi refers to this as Imran’s “Technicolor Outfit.”

I used to read that Imran Rehan series :usman

but couldn't complete it as our library lost the last 5 editions :afaq

Have read 4-5 novels of imran series. The guy was friggin superman. :afridi

Edit: Just read that Mazhar kaleem was never the original writer and thus distorted character. Ibn-e-safi was the real one. Need to read that one now. According to wikipedia, Ali imran was not superman in ibn-e-safi ones.

I started from Ibn-e-Safi and than Mazhar Kaleem (checked a few other writers too but they were garbage). Joseph used to be my fav character.

Is it true that mazhar kaleem like many writers after ibn-e-safi destroyed the imran series? Like for instance making imran superhero sort.

It's true he made him almost a super hero who knows everything and can do all impossible stuff but on the other side he also made some good changes in the series and introduced some good characters. You can see a clear difference in approach if you read Ibn-e-Safi series i just found this site on google http://imranseries.urdunovels.org/ you can read ibn-e-safi and kaleem both novels online there.

Yeah man, thanks for the link but online reading is not for me. Like its a novel you know. I will buy any of the ibn-e-safi one's from ferozsons on mall, i am sure they would have his novels. Reading manuscript found in accra nowadays.

Yea reading online is not a very good experience. You can get them from ferozsons or other old libraries but maybe you will not like them because after reading Kaleem novels it will be hard to go back to Imran of 50s and 1960s because Ibn-e-Safi imran was living in old era with limited resources and no technology.

Ohh. That makes proper sense, the technology part. You know i read the mazhar kaleem ones when i was i think 12-13. Now i am just 19. Not long has been passed and now i see it ibn-e safi had been writing since the verge of pakistan. Amazing stuff.

I just find the superman stuff anyyoning. :(

also have you read the anbar naaag maria series? :afridi

Ohh. That makes proper sense, the technology part. You know i read the mazhar kaleem ones when i was i think 12-13. Now i am just 19. Not long has been passed and now i see it ibn-e safi had been writing since the verge of pakistan. Amazing stuff.

I just find the superman stuff anyyoning. :(

also have you read the anbar naaag maria series? :afridi

yes superman stuff get annoying at times. and yes it was nice reading anbar naaag maria series by A Hameed it was fun going back in history and than forward in future like a time machine. Maria was a christian character IIRC

Than there was another Inspector Jamshed series too written by Ishtiaq Ahmed

yes superman stuff get annoying at times. and yes it was nice reading anbar naaag maria series by A Hameed it was fun going back in history and than forward in future like a time machine. Maria was a christian character IIRC

Than there was another Inspector Jamshed series too written by Ishtiaq Ahmed

Man i was in love with anbar naag maria series. Never got enough of it. :')
Those were the times. During summer vocations reading novels like no tomorrow. Playing online flash games on a dial up internet connection. Haha. And watching anything that was on ptv.

It was fun
You can find all the character details of Imran Series hereading Imran Series novels as a teenager. Ibn-e-Safi started this Urdu spy novel series back in mid 50s and than many other writers wrote Imran Series after the death of Ibn-e-Safi but Mazhar Kaleem became the most famous one.
re http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Imran_series_characters

Imran
Ali Imran is a pivotal character in Imran Series. Handsome and bright, the young-man holds M.Sc., and Ph.D. degrees from Oxford University and has extraordinary sex appeal. He appears comical and moronic, using these features to camouflage himself as a buffoon. Always shown acting stupid, insane, and funny, he keeps the readers in hysterics at his every action. He never reveals his true side to anyone. He usually dresses eccentrically; for example, a pink coat, a light green shirt, a yellow necktie, white pants, and a purple flat hat with a red rose in it is his typical apparel. Ibne Safi refers to this as Imran’s “Technicolor Outfit.”

Imran KhAN it seems?

Those were the times. During summer vocations reading novels like no tomorrow. Playing online flash games on a dial up internet connection. Haha. And watching anything that was on ptv.

ptv was fun back in 80s and 90s specially the dramas and those dialup connections and 10/20 rupees internet cards lol comsats paknet haha

Got all the books of Ibn-e-Safi's Imran Series at home.

I mean look at my username.

Wasn't there a drama serial named anbar naag maria? Was it based on that novel series? Didn't read the novel but used to love that show.

All thos who admitted they used to read Imran series (including me) - are olddddddddddddddd people here - LOL

Wowzie! These seem awesome!! :108:

I always had the impression that Urdu novels/fictional world was severely underdeveloped as compared to poetry. A very undercooked, presumption, one I'm not very proud of personally. The only Urdu novel I've ever read was "aali per kya guzri" - a heartbreaking tale. But I'll be sure to check these out. As much as I'm interested in Urdu poetry, fictional novels are my weakness :D

Some of the quotes by Ibn e Safi in these books are amazing -

In Urdu script: صرف عمل اور ردعمل کا نام زندگی ہے. منطقی جواز تو بعد میں تلاش کیا جاتا ہے۔
Translation: Life is only action and reaction. The rationalisations are added later. (AdLava)

In Urdu script: حماقت پر افسوس کرنا سب سے بڑی حماقت ہے۔
Translation: Regretting stupidity is the biggest stupidity of them all.

(courtesy, Wiki :P)

Would anyone mind telling me the name of the first book in the Imran series? :)

I'llI hate online reading myself - hurts my eyes too much.. Can you please let me know if you find these in print somewhere in Lahore? Will definitely pick them up once I go back in December! :)

All thos who admitted they used to read Imran series (including me) - are olddddddddddddddd people here - LOL

All right i will join the old club as well, can't pretend to be young when every other teenager starts calling you uncle

More than Imran series, i read Inspector Jamshed series by Ishtiaq Ahmed. Other than that "Umro Ayyar", "Hercules" etc were my favourites

Ali Imran or X2 or Captain Afridi or Inspector Jamshed?

All right i will join the old club as well, can't pretend to be young when every other teenager starts calling you uncle

More than Imran series, i read Inspector Jamshed series by Ishtiaq Ahmed. Other than that "Umro Ayyar", "Hercules" etc were my favourites

what about "Tarzan", "Tarzan ki wapsi" and "Tarzan aur darinday"...

Yeah, used to read Mazhar Kaleem MA's Imran series.

My favorite episode was "x2" and "x2 kone?"
This one was totally different from the regular "good guys vs bad guys" jazz.

And during the wait till the release of new novel, we used to read Ishtiaq Ahmed's Inspector Jamshed Mehmood, Farooq Farzana and what not.

Mazhar Kaleem also used to author Umro Ayyar, which was essentially a mystical version of Imran Series.
Ibne Safi also used to author some good ones.

I think my favorite writer was "Maqbool Janagir". He was a class above the rest.

I figured out the first time i saw your username. Making it as prince of dhump would have been more obvious. :))

Wowzie! These seem awesome!! :108:

I always had the impression that Urdu novels/fictional world was severely underdeveloped as compared to poetry. A very undercooked, presumption, one I'm not very proud of personally. The only Urdu novel I've ever read was "aali per kya guzri" - a heartbreaking tale. But I'll be sure to check these out. As much as I'm interested in Urdu poetry, fictional novels are my weakness :D

Some of the quotes by Ibn e Safi in these books are amazing -

In Urdu script: صرف عمل اور ردعمل کا نام زندگی ہے. منطقی جواز تو بعد میں تلاش کیا جاتا ہے۔
Translation: Life is only action and reaction. The rationalisations are added later. (AdLava)

In Urdu script: حماقت پر افسوس کرنا سب سے بڑی حماقت ہے۔
Translation: Regretting stupidity is the biggest stupidity of them all.

(courtesy, Wiki :P)

Would anyone mind telling me the name of the first book in the Imran series? :)

I'llI hate online reading myself - hurts my eyes too much.. Can you please let me know if you find these in print somewhere in Lahore? Will definitely pick them up once I go back in December! :)

According to ibn-e-safi's website: http://www.compast.com/ibnesafi/novels2.htm The first novel is the Khaufnak imarat that was published in 1955. :O

Yes, definitely. I will go to ferozsons after my mid exams and will let you know what i found. :)

Urdu literature is beautiful. I am thankful that i had the change to delve into it when i was in my early teens (12-13) after that i turned to english literature when i got 15 years old. Still read both of them. Books are truly a treasure.

Wasn't there a drama serial named anbar naag maria? Was it based on that novel series? Didn't read the novel but used to love that show.

I think there was one and i have heard of that. Never got the chance to watch it tho.

Mazhar Kaleem's Imran Series was highly entertaining. I especially liked the love triangle between Imran, Julia and Tanveer. As a young teenager at that time, I myself developed a crush over Julia. Once there was this scene in some novel in which the villain has tied all of them up including Imran and was trying to rape Julia and Tanveer out of share love and passion for her, managed to break the chains and save her, while Imran sat there tied up watching in awe. Also liked the characters of Imran's bodyguards Joseph and Juana. Mazhar Kaleem's Imran was almost superhuman, remember one time he jumped of a plane, landed on rocks and still managed to survive while Ibn-e-Safi's Imran was more like Sherlock Holmes, super smart but a mortal.

Ibn-e-Safi was the original author. Mazhar Kaleem,Safdar Shaheen and a plethora of other writers produced knock-offs of the Imran Series. There was a day light difference between them and the original despite the same characters and being set in, more or less, the same universe. I've read both Ibn-e-Safi and Mazhar Kaleem so I'm doing a small comparative analysis underneath.

MK's Imran was a very cruel character. During interrogation, for instance, he would lacerate a chair-bound suspect and sprinkle salt, spices and lemon juice into his wound and eyes. Or he would promise complete immunity to the suspect (if he confesses) only to later shoot him and throw his body into a 'barqi bhatti' (Electric furnace).

Those knock-off stories were also highly action-oriented with plenty of explosions, gunfights and high-tech gadgets. Poker and Bridge games would often end up in a pile of dead bodies. High-octane stuff and very enjoyable if one's looking for fast-paced literature. Somewhat analogous to movies like Rambo, The Expendables etc.

Ibn-e-Safi's Imran series, on the other hand, read bit like a John Le Carre novel. Slow paced, lots of dialogue and intelligent conversations, very humorous and little action. Very often, a conclusion to the story would be reached after four novels (or sometimes even more). So you couldn't pick up a random novel and expect the plot to make sense.

Ali Imran was a hilarious character. He would act all dim-witted and stupid in front of his Secret Service colleagues. But he also commanded them as X-2, the Chief of SS. Interestingly enough, none of his colleagues were aware of X-2's identity so the dual cover worked beautifully for Imran.

Imran was a fast-learner and very observant. He used to dodge bullets for fun, a skill he learnt by observing his arch-nemesis Sing Hee doing the same.

Julia Fitzwater, Theresia, Black Zero, Jameson and Zafar ul Mulk..... brings back a lot of old memories :)

Wow! That's an amazing collection you got there! For some reason I always read him as Prince of Dhimp instead of Dhump.

Ibn-e-Safi was the original author. Mazhar Kaleem,Safdar Shaheen and a plethora of other writers produced knock-offs of the Imran Series. There was a day light difference between them and the original despite the same characters and being set in, more or less, the same universe. I've read both Ibn-e-Safi and Mazhar Kaleem so I'm doing a small comparative analysis underneath.

MK's Imran was a very cruel character. During interrogation, for instance, he would lacerate a chair-bound suspect and sprinkle salt, spices and lemon juice into his wound and eyes. Or he would promise complete immunity to the suspect (if he confesses) only to later shoot him and throw his body into a 'barqi bhatti' (Electric furnace).

Those knock-off stories were also highly action-oriented with plenty of explosions, gunfights and high-tech gadgets. Poker and Bridge games would often end up in a pile of dead bodies. High-octane stuff and very enjoyable if one's looking for fast-paced literature. Somewhat analogous to movies like Rambo, The Expendables etc.

Ibn-e-Safi's Imran series, on the other hand, read bit like a John Le Carre novel. Slow paced, lots of dialogue and intelligent conversations, very humorous and little action. Very often, a conclusion to the story would be reached after four novels (or sometimes even more). So you couldn't pick up a random novel and expect the plot to make sense.

Ali Imran was a hilarious character. He would act all dim-witted and stupid in front of his Secret Service colleagues. But he also commanded them as X-2, the Chief of SS. Interestingly enough, none of his colleagues were aware of X-2's identity so the dual cover worked beautifully for Imran.

Imran was a fast-learner and very observant. He used to dodge bullets for fun, a skill he learnt by observing his arch-nemesis Sing Hee doing the same.

Julia Fitzwater, Theresia, Black Zero, Jameson and Zafar ul Mulk..... brings back a lot of old memories :)

A very good read when i created this thread i thought i will hardly find any Imran Series fan here but man i was wrong! People here even know the different writers of Imran Series and the difference in their approach. I have noticed many Imran Series reader were also fan of Inspector Jamshed series written by Ishtiauqe Ahmed.

Mazhar Kaleem's Imran Series was highly entertaining. I especially liked the love triangle between Imran, Julia and Tanveer. As a young teenager at that time, I myself developed a crush over Julia. Once there was this scene in some novel in which the villain has tied all of them up including Imran and was trying to rape Julia and Tanveer out of share love and passion for her, managed to break the chains and save her, while Imran sat there tied up watching in awe. Also liked the characters of Imran's bodyguards Joseph and Juana. Mazhar Kaleem's Imran was almost superhuman, remember one time he jumped of a plane, landed on rocks and still managed to survive while Ibn-e-Safi's Imran was more like Sherlock Holmes, super smart but a mortal.

Safdar and Sualeha was another love affair if you remember Imran use to tease them by always creating a connection between them and the character of Saaliah was introduced by Mazhar kaleem just like Juana and many other characters.

Ali Imran or X2 or Captain Afridi or Inspector Jamshed?

It was actually Captain Freedi and this character was part of Ibn-e-Safi Jasoosi series and than he was introduced in some Imran series novels too. Inspector Jamshed and Inpsector Kamran Mirza series was from Ishtiaq Ahmed

We are the old guys ;) spent childhood playing gulli danda and plastic and tape ball in streets and roads :p the life was so simple and good back in 80 and 90s those were the days!

I am surprised nobody mentioned anything about covers of Imran Series they use to be different than normal novels in Pakistan at that time here are some examples of Imran Series novel covers

2293_Black%20Agents.jpg

Mekarto+Syndicate+Imran+Series+Novel+By+Mazhar+Kaleem+MA.png

sshot-187.png

Mazhar Kaleem is total crap and rip-off. Ibn e safi is the real thing I just read one mazhar kaleem novel and never bothered go read others.

In that specific novel Julia was offering namaz and his anti Israel stand was too much for my intellectual taste. Ibn e safi on the other hand is amazing with brilliant sense of humor and more believable stories.

Colnel Faridi and Imran also worked together in jasoosi dunia I think 2 novels or something but Faridi won the battle and took all the credit by holding his breath in gas chamber.

Wow! That's an amazing collection you got there! For some reason I always read him as Prince of Dhimp instead of Dhump.

Well I dont mind it dhump is short form of prince of dhump but Imran also used only dhump while acting as a criminal and if you remember his famous "dhump lopoka".

Mazhar Kaleem is total crap and rip-off. Ibn e safi is the real thing I just read one mazhar kaleem novel and never bothered go read others.

In that specific novel Julia was offering namaz and his anti Israel stand was too much for my intellectual taste. Ibn e safi on the other hand is amazing with brilliant sense of humor and more believable stories.

Colnel Faridi and Imran also worked together in jasoosi dunia I think 2 novels or something but Faridi won the battle and took all the credit by holding his breath in gas chamber.

Ibn-e-Safi was awesome there is no doubt about thats why he is the founder of Imran and Fareedi but if someone new start Imran Series today it will be hard for him to read Ibn-e-Safi instead of kaleem because the scenes Ibn-e-Safi used were from his times back in 50s and 60s.

No not really best part is that what ibn e safi visualized back then is now reality. If you read him now you will feel like surrounding of 50s 60s Pakistan (very liberal) and technology of today a beautiful blend trust me.

Also it is stupid to think in this manner if you want to read sherlock holmes you will read old books and not scripts of modern day bbc sherlock. Although bbc sherlock is brilliant and mazhar kaleem is no more than blend of bollywood and poorly written science fiction with touch of Hollywood on steroids.

No not really best part is that what ibn e safi visualized back then is now reality. If you read him now you will feel like surrounding of 50s 60s Pakistan (very liberal) and technology of today a beautiful blend trust me.

Also it is stupid to think in this manner if you want to read sherlock holmes you will read old books and not scripts of modern day bbc sherlock. Although bbc sherlock is brilliant and mazhar kaleem is no more than blend of bollywood and poorly written science fiction with touch of Hollywood on steroids.

But i am talking about those guys who want to start from Imran Series and never read something similar in urdu before so it will be a bit different experience for them. Those who have read something similar like Inspector Jamshed series will love it but new readers will find it hard but thats again my opinion maybe i am wrong. And i agree with yourpoint that many things Ibn-e-Safi visualized back then are now reality. Pakistan of 60s under ayub was very liberal if today kids go through the pictures of that era they will be surprised.

If they start mazhar kaleem they will shut it down after 5 mins because of it is so bad and far far away from reality. Also my point above Sherlock Holmes also portrays london of 1800s and is fine to read.

If anyone wants to read Imran Series start from first novel of Ibn e Safi. All books of Imran Series is available from "Muqtaba e Imran press Urdu Bazar Karachi" bundles with novel in 1 book.

Also its fun Imran works as a freelancer in early novels and they can read about how secret service was born about his personal life issues with father how jospeh was hired and other members of secret service also about his days in london.

A very good read when i created this thread i thought i will hardly find any Imran Series fan here but man i was wrong! People here even know the different writers of Imran Series and the difference in their approach. I have noticed many Imran Series reader were also fan of Inspector Jamshed series written by Ishtiauqe Ahmed.
Ishtiaque Ahmed took inspiration from Ibn-e-Safi's Colonel Fareedi novels to create Inspector Jamshed. Different style of writing but mighty fine books nevertheless.

I've even read a few of Ishtiaque's 'Shoki brothers' novels. Very similar to Enid Blyton's Famous Five.

I was fortunate enough to accidentally visit the grave of Ibn-e-Safi in Karachi and offer my prayers for him. May Allah (God) forgive his sins and grant him Jannah (Heaven) on judgment day. Ameen.

I remember the twisted names of countries like "Akrema", "Shogran"
And there was this hulk, Jawana.
Another guy Tiger, and the always angry Tanvir who was also a secret admirer of Juliana.
lol man, those were the days. care free!

[MENTION=138379]#GreenRoars[/MENTION] i think you are a reader as well?

Great guess, bhai i am a writer, wrote many Poetries, ghazals e.t.c and recently just wrote 20 pages novel ( just for my self haha )
And yes, i have read all Imran Series novels by Mazhar Kaleem MA ( my fav ) Safi boss and some of Zaheer Ahmed

Great guess, bhai i am a writer, wrote many Poetries, ghazals e.t.c and recently just wrote 20 pages novel ( just for my self haha )
And yes, i have read all Imran Series novels by Mazhar Kaleem MA ( my fav ) Safi boss and some of Zaheer Ahmed

i knew it :) so you are writer as well would like to read a novel by you in near future don't forget to tcs me a free copy :p

Yes after Safi Mazhar was the best but i heard Mazhar Kaleem died a few years ago and now someone else is writing by his name.

i knew it :) so you are writer as well would like to read a novel by you in near future don't forget to tcs me a free copy :p

Yes after Safi Mazhar was the best but i heard Mazhar Kaleem died a few years ago and now someone else is writing by his name.

Mazhar Kaleem not writing any more but i am not sure he is dead or not. haha bhai, itna bhi best novel nah.
But hm hm let me say something from mine collection:

Ab to her chehray pe jhoot ki Siyaahi hai
Ansoo
Khobsoorat chehron ko Ayenay taraste hain

I shared this couplet at poetry foroum before 3 years i guess, but after 2 days i saw mine couplet over facebook e.t.c with twisted words.
After that, i never shared any thing with any one

Mazhar Kaleem not writing any more but i am not sure he is dead or not. haha bhai, itna bhi best novel nah.
But hm hm let me say something from mine collection:

Ab to her chehray pe jhoot ki Siyaahi hai
Ansoo
Khobsoorat chehron ko Ayenay taraste hain

I shared this couplet at poetry foroum before 3 years i guess, but after 2 days i saw mine couplet over facebook e.t.c with twisted words.
After that, i never shared any thing with any one

Nice one brother! would like to throw my line in the end that just came into my head.

Jo aysa koi chehra mile to humko be batlana, ik umer hui dekhe hue ab zehen ke jherokon main sab chehre dhundle dhundle se hain

I hate it when people forward shayari in sms message or facebook etc because mostly they edit it put their own name and sometimes change the words because of character limits in sms and twitter. These sms/twitter/facebook can never match the taste of reading from a real book.

Nice one brother! would like to throw my line in the end that just came into my head.

Jo aysa koi chehra mile to humko be batlana, ik umer hui dekhe hue ab zehen ke jherokon main sab chehre dhundle dhundle se hain

I hate it when people forward shayari in sms message or facebook etc because mostly they edit it put their own name and sometimes change the words because of character limits in sms and twitter. These sms/twitter/facebook can never match the taste of reading from a real book.

MashALLAH bhai, it means you are a good reader and a good writer too. Yes bro they mostly edit the poetry and change their words bala bala.
IA, i will share mine novel with you. I will type in urdu and then will send you ( mine urdu hand writing isn't that good )

btw, which was your fav Imran Series novel? and fav character?

MashALLAH bhai, it means you are a good reader and a good writer too. Yes bro they mostly edit the poetry and change their words bala bala.
IA, i will share mine novel with you. I will type in urdu and then will send you ( mine urdu hand writing isn't that good )

btw, which was your fav Imran Series novel? and fav character?

Thanks bro are you going to publish your novel?

My fav character was Joseph and you like Mazhar Kaleem one so from his novels i mostly enjoyed his Black Thunder series remember Trueman?

Thanks bro are you going to publish your novel?

My fav character was Joseph and you like Mazhar Kaleem one so from his novels i mostly enjoyed his Black Thunder series remember Trueman?

Haha yep Trueman, and i still read Imran Series oftenl. Because now a days i am having vacations. Nah bro, not worth of publishing, i just love to write poetries, articles e.t.c to some special people and that's it.
Mine is Capt. Shakeel, professor like me

Haha yep Trueman, and i still read Imran Series oftenl. Because now a days i am having vacations. Nah bro, not worth of publishing, i just love to write poetries, articles e.t.c to some special people and that's it.
Mine is Capt. Shakeel, professor like me

Capt Shakeel yea a smart guy with a thinking brain not like Tanvir :p

online articles? you do blogging?

Any Pak TV series made on it yet?Hopefully they do.

not yet and our resources are not that good for these type series where you need high budget to spend on technology so i don't think it's going to become a successful one if they spend less :(

I am a new reader due to my age , I have read novels some of both the readers but i find IBn-e-safi more interesting.Mazhar kaleem's fiction sometimes looks very ridiculous e.g A gas sorrounded them out of nowhere and suddenly they felt numb,they hear laugh from some distance , scene darkened infront of their eyes.
later on only Imran could survive himself because he drank some water and he acted to be unconscious.

believe me it ridiculous to such extant.however some novels of mazahar kaleem are also good

not yet and our resources are not that good for these type series where you need high budget to spend on technology so i don't think it's going to become a successful one if they spend less :(

Then maybe bollywood can copy it :P but we don't use our own literature so i'm guessing for sure we won't use this.But it would be nice to Fawad Khan or Shaan take up such roles.

I read a lot of Imran Rehan detective series. Very good and addictive read. Completed all 10 book series

Then maybe bollywood can copy it :P but we don't use our own literature so i'm guessing for sure we won't use this.But it would be nice to Fawad Khan or Shaan take up such roles.

There is one guy that can easily do this role from Pakistan and India and that's Amir Khan in my view. Read the description about Imran and tell me which actor comes in your mind

True its Amir Khan.Amitabh tried the similar approach in one of his movies called Shehenshah where he plays like a buffoonish corrupted inspector and some vigilante in the night didn't suit him at all imo but others can obviously have a different opinion.

I think to make the two aspects of character convincing it will be very hard for any actor.He should be able to convince us of being a buffoon as well smart enough to solve the mysteries.

If you take of the glamour imo Nawazuddin Siddiqui can do it as well and will be more convincing.

True its Amir Khan.Amitabh tried the similar approach in one of his movies called Shehenshah where he plays like a buffoonish corrupted inspector and some vigilante in the night didn't suit him at all imo but others can obviously have a different opinion.

I think to make the two aspects of character convincing it will be very hard for any actor.He should be able to convince us of being a buffoon as well smart enough to solve the mysteries.

If you take of the glamour imo Nawazuddin Siddiqui can do it as well and will be more convincing.

Yes i have seen Shehenshah "Rishte main to hum tumhaare baap lagte hen" :D. Do you think Nawazuddin can act really funny because this characters need you to act really funny and than you have to act ttoally opposite doing justice to both the roles. I haven't seen much of Nawazuddin but to me he looks like Irfan Khan type of actor?

From Pakistan Shan is a really talented one he can easily handle the action side of Imran but the problem with him he can't do justice to the funny side of Imran. His face is just not made for funny roles.

Yes i have seen Shehenshah "Rishte main to hum tumhaare baap lagte hen" :D. Do you think Nawazuddin can act really funny because this characters need you to act really funny and than you have to act ttoally opposite doing justice to both the roles. I haven't seen much of Nawazuddin but to me he looks like Irfan Khan type of actor?

From Pakistan Shan is a really talented one he can easily handle the action side of Imran but the problem with him he can't do justice to the funny side of Imran. His face is just not made for funny roles.

Nawaz can do justice immensely to the funny side.He has the perfect comic timing.The reason i don't believe Irfan can take up the role is coz he might not be able to do justice to the buffoonery.
Nawaz as inspector Khan from Kahaani for solving mysteries and his roles in Bajrangi,Badlapur,Lunchbox for the buffoon is imo Perfect combination.

Nawaz can do justice immensely to the funny side.He has the perfect comic timing.The reason i don't believe Irfan can take up the role is coz he might not be able to do justice to the buffoonery.
Nawaz as inspector Khan from Kahaani for solving mysteries and his roles in Bajrangi,Badlapur,Lunchbox for the buffoon is imo Perfect combination.

Will check some of Nawazudin youtube clips heard lot of good things about him recently and there was a BBC report on him as well.

The guy had struggled for more than 12-13 years with no work.
He is pretty good ,the current crop of actors who are able to balance masala and script oriented movies is the best thing that has happened to bollywood since ages.

Someone please post qll the imtqn series books to me [emoji5] I will pay you a healthy amount for it

The guy had struggled for more than 12-13 years with no work.
He is pretty good ,the current crop of actors who are able to balance masala and script oriented movies is the best thing that has happened to bollywood since ages.

Yea i saw that in BBC report how he struggled and to be honest he is a fresh air for fans who appreciate acting skills not body, color or fake looks. Bollywood was going far away from reality and now with actors like Nawazudin they can get back to the original i hope they use some original scripts for him i will hate it if they do those hollywood copies with him.

Agree, tired of hollywood remakes and south indian remakes as well unless something like 'Drishyam'.I think scripts are improving finally but people from industry keep dropping this film waale bacche on us,now Salman Khan is launching Aditya Pancholi's Son and Suniel Shetty's daughter in a movie called HERO which is a remake of an old hindi movie called Hero of Jackie Shroff which had that awesome song Lambiee Judaii sung by pakistani singer.