Any PPers moved back to Pakistan?

iHammad

Simple question really.

Would love to hear your guys' stories of successfully (or not) moving back to Pakistan after living a few years in Canada, UK, Australia, US or the Middle East.

Did you immigrate to those countries or just went abroad to study?

How was the overall experience when you came back? How long did it take to adjust? What sort of barriers did you face? How did you find the job market to be?

I think [MENTION=138463]Slog[/MENTION] is a "living abroad for a few years candidate". Apart from regular visits, I did stay in Pakistan from 2001 to 2003 and then 2010 to 2013. My overall experience when younger was much more positive looking to change the status quo, however during my latter stay I knew that nothing could be done with this qaum.

I also stayed in the actual middle class region of Gulistan e Jauhar and not the well off areas of DHA, Clifton, Malir etc, although I did visit relatives and friends there and it was a totally different world compared to the rest, I wasn't even sure if I was in Pakistan anymore. Anyway from what I saw did not fill me with any hope whatsoever at all. Politics is integrated in all levels of society as they have the party meet ups, meetings etc every couple of weeks and every child is brain washed from a very young age. Hell, they even consider cleaning the "main hall" a privilege before any such occasion. Of course MQM was the party in question in our region.

I think [MENTION=138463]Slog[/MENTION] is a "living abroad for a few years candidate". Apart from regular visits, I did stay in Pakistan from 2001 to 2003 and then 2010 to 2013. My overall experience when younger was much more positive looking to change the status quo, however during my latter stay I knew that nothing could be done with this qaum.

I also stayed in the actual middle class region of Gulistan e Jauhar and not the well off areas of DHA, Clifton, Malir etc, although I did visit relatives and friends there and it was a totally different world compared to the rest, I wasn't even sure if I was in Pakistan anymore. Anyway from what I saw did not fill me with any hope whatsoever at all. Politics is integrated in all levels of society as they have the party meet ups, meetings etc every couple of weeks and every child is brain washed from a very young age. Hell, they even consider cleaning the "main hall" a privilege before any such occasion. Of course MQM was the party in question in our region.

Do you have any plans of going back any time soon? Where are you currently?

Germany, and no. If someone like Imran who has spent his whole life to try to rectify this nation couldn't do much, I doubt I would have a chance, even though I did try a bit before but refrained when I saw the reaction. If a nation does not want to advance or evolve all your efforts are in vain.

I am no Imran and would rather stay here in relative peace instead unnecessarily wasting my time and energy there.

Germany, and no. If someone like Imran who has spent his whole life to try to rectify this nation couldn't do much, I doubt I would have a chance, even though I did try a bit before but refrained when I saw the reaction. If a nation does not want to advance or evolve all your efforts are in vain.

I am no Imran and would rather stay here in relative peace instead unnecessarily wasting my time and energy there. Not to mention being a hypocrite and lecturing others like the likes of the Captains, KingKhans etc that we have here.

Yeah that's true but whose telling you to take all of the country's problems onto your shoulders. Why not just go there, work, contribute to the economy, do your bit and set an example for others. You don't have to rectify the whole nation yourself, that's impossible. Wouldn't just doing your bit on a micro level give you a little satisfaction?

I am in an almost fully functional system which is almost devoid of corruption, works like clockwork, has security for me and my family, awards on merit and my children have a better future here. Why would I leave all that for some micro level satisfaction?

Patriotism perhaps?

I mean you did make an attempt to rectify some stuff before so those feelings for Pakistan do exist in your heart.

Patriotism perhaps?

I mean you did make an attempt to rectify some stuff before so those feelings for Pakistan do exist in your heart.

Patriotism? You have NO control over where you will be born or what religion you will be born into. It is basically a lottery. Why I should confine myself according to geography? Survival of the fittest. Human instinct is to evolve and better ones self. I have no time to waste over lines drawn by people decades ago nor for what made up God they believe in.

The patriotic stuff is romantic but not practical.

Patriotism? You have NO control over where you will be born or what religion you will be born into. It is basically a lottery. Why I should confine myself according to geography? Survival of the fittest. Human instinct is to evolve and better ones self. I have no time to waste over lines drawn by people decades ago nor for what made up God they believe in.

The patriotic stuff is romantic but not practical.

I understand and agree with you on that.

Why did you give it a try before if you don't mind me asking?

During Musharaff era a lot of people moved back but not so much so since democracy came back in town. It is a pipe dream to one day move back with enough in savings and investments to live comfortably.

During Musharaff era a lot of people moved back but not so much so since democracy came back in town. It is a pipe dream to one day move back with enough in savings and investments to live comfortably it has gotten very expensive there aswell.

So you wish to retire in Pakistan, am I right?

Yeah definitely. But I'm only 25 so retirement is a bit far away lol. Unless I hit the lotto or my stock portfolio goes up like 2000%

I understand and agree with you on that.

Why did you give it a try before if you don't mind me asking?

To answer your question in one word. Youth.

Most of us start off trying to better the world but once you realize how useless it is and especially when you have a family and people depending on you, your priorities change.

Yeah definitely. But I'm only 25 so retirement is a bit far away lol. Unless I hit the lotto or my stock portfolio goes up like 2000%

Haha well I hope you haven't got your hopes pinned onto Bitcoin for that to happen

To answer your question in one word. Youth.

Most of us start off trying to better the world but once you realize how useless it is and especially when you have a family and people depending on you, your priorities change.

What were some of the things that frustrated you there the most?

Patriotism perhaps?

For most people (including me) patriotism is limited to internet forums and chats over chai. I had to leave a comfortable life in a developed country to come back for my family in India but still yearn to go back to the comforts of the developed world. Cannot understand why would anyone would want to leave a more developed country (unless there is excessive racism) to come to India/Pakistan?

Which country did you leave and what were some of the reasons you were forced to make that decision? No need to mention anything personal if you don't want to, of course

Thanks, yes a bit personal. :)
When I came back to India, I realized that the effort required in the corporate world here is too high (I work 14-16 hours a day, including weekends) for little returns. Got way too flustered in the beginning - started preparing for US MBA admissions..scored a handsome 760 on GMAT but unfortunately couldn't get into a good B School of my choice. Later realized I was making the same mistake again - couldn't have taken my family along with a huge loan on my head.
I still am not able to adjust to the work-life here. Planning to move to Canada soon - this time with my entire family. Although I have just started collating docs for PR. Would take another 5-6 months with some good luck, of course.

You really are a curious little George aren't you! Well to list a few

Corruption
Backward mindset mostly due to religious brainwashing and illiteracy plus the unwillingness to change
Inequality
Hypocrisy
Etc

However the worst was the fashion sense, unless you have a really good physique and the cloth was perfectly cut, The Shalwar Kameez has to be the worst dress ever to have been invented, just so lazy and unflattering.

You really are a curious little George aren't you! Well to list a few

Corruption
Backward mindset mostly due to religious brainwashing and illiteracy plus the unwillingness to change
Inequality
Hypocrisy
Etc

However the worst was the fashion sense, unless you have a really good physique and the cloth was perfectly cut, The Shalwar Kameez has to be the worst dress ever to have been invented, just so lazy and unflattering.

But it's also so comfortable!

Thanks, yes a bit personal. :)
When I came back to India, I realized that the effort required in the corporate world here is too high (I work 14-16 hours a day, including weekends) for little returns. Got way too flustered in the beginning - started preparing for US MBA admissions..scored a handsome 760 on GMAT but unfortunately couldn't get into a good B School of my choice. Later realized I was making the same mistake again - couldn't have taken my family along with a huge loan on my head.
I still am not able to adjust to the work-life here. Planning to move to Canada soon - this time with my entire family. Although I have just started collating docs for PR. Would take another 5-6 months with some good luck, of course.

All the best, very impressive GMAT score I must say

Also another incident just came to mind. When I was in Pakistan the last time with the Mrs (she's a Romanian Christian Orthodox by birth), it was during Ramadan and as usual there were a plethora of beggars at the malls etc. Even though I knew what would happen we bought new Eid clothes for 5 children that were there and she even bought them home to wash and dress them up for the festivities, only to find them in the usual rags the next day. When asked what happened they said that the father was in cahoots with the owner and sold it back it to them at half price so he could buy some cigarettes and hash.

A bit of me died that day (unlike her, as she is much strong willed than I) as the so happy children a day before were forced to rummaging through the garbage the next day. This is what illiteracy and religion does, make you spawn endlessly with the "Allah day ga" mantra. I felt really bad for them as they were actually quite a smart bunch of kids and I thought of sponsoring them but I knew there was a catch in there somewhere also.

No child has to go through this but they do and by the time they reach adulthood they become a replica of all what is wrong there.

I know of only two cases where overseas Pakistanis moved back:

1. a family was in Canada for a 3 years or so and when their kids couldn't make it to uni, they packed up completely and left back to Pakistan (without citizenship too).

2. a guy moved here with his wife but the marriage fell apart. He was lonely and depressed so he went back to live with his family in Pakistan and stayed there.

I know of only two cases where overseas Pakistanis moved back:

1. a family was in Canada for a 3 years or so and when their kids couldn't make it to uni, they packed up completely and left back to Pakistan (without citizenship too).

2. a guy moved here with his wife but the marriage fell apart. He was lonely and depressed so he went back to live with his family in Pakistan and stayed there.

Do you know what happened long term in the first case? Did the family have a business back home or something to support themselves?

Ten years later, the family still resides in Pakistan. I don't think they had a business because the sons are working in private companies. They are clearly well off but not sure where the money comes from.

They left Canada within 2-3 years of arriving which is usually the most difficult period. There's culture shock along with loss of self esteem at working jobs not suited to your skillset. If they had stayed longer, they likely would have experienced more success and stuck around.

Islam doesn’t tell you to stay home, not educate your children, wed your daughters at 12, and do immoral things. The failure of the government to adequately serve its people and the populations lack of education is responsible for the current situation. Also, some external factors.

Ten years later, the family still resides in Pakistan. I don't think they had a business because the sons are working in private companies. They are clearly well off but not sure where the money comes from.

They left Canada within 2-3 years of arriving which is usually the most difficult period. There's culture shock along with loss of self esteem at working jobs not suited to your skillset. If they had stayed longer, they likely would have experienced more success and stuck around.

You made a very valid point there.

I'm assuming since their sons didn't get into university in Canada, they completed their education back home in Pakistan.

I'll move back and be PM in 2040. Wait and watch.

Islam doesn’t tell you to stay home, not educate your children, wed your daughters at 12, and do immoral things. The failure of the government to adequately serve its people and the populations lack of education is responsible for the current situation. Also, some external factors.

Is this in response to my comment on culture shock? If so, I wasn't referring to from a Muslim POV but in general when a person immigrates from any country.

No. Just a trend I’ve noticed on PP in the last few weeks. Anyways, I know a guy who left the States and after 10 years now, is a Chairman of 9 villages or something like that.

Do you have any plans to go back to Pakistan and fix everything after your Masters is done?

I was actually about to go back in September 2017, but had some issues in my life that prevented me from going back and figured while I'm waiting out for those issues to be resolved I might as well do my masters. So plan is early 2020 now. Inshallah.

I did spend the first 18 years of my life in Pakistan and my parents are still there so its not as big of a shock or as hard of a decision for me as some of the other folks on here. Although the prospect of securing employment there and earning a comfortable living makes me anxious. From what I've hard is you can work long hours and still only make ok money not good money.

I was actually about to go back in September 2017, but had some issues in my life that prevented me from going back and figured while I'm waiting out for those issues to be resolved I might as well do my masters. So plan is early 2020 now. Inshallah.

I did spend the first 18 years of my life in Pakistan and my parents are still there so its not as big of a shock or as hard of a decision for me as some of the other folks on here. Although the prospect of securing employment there and earning a comfortable living makes me anxious. From what I've hard is you can work long hours and still only make ok money not good money.

You could always just start your own business

Moved back in 2015-end after almost six years in the US. Studied for 4 of those and worked for about two.

I have loved being back with family and luckily career wise it didnt hurt me much (asides from the financial hit in terms of salary) because I was able to get involved in many high profile CPEC projects. I also was able to spend time with my parents and also my grandmother before she passed away and Im sure it would have been a regret of mine to not spent time with her at end.

However I would say it does get exhausting at times and there is too much inefficiency and non-productivity. I think Im hitting a wall in terms of career progression. I was always planning to do a masters and inshallah will start this fall.

Moved back in 2015-end after almost six years in the US. Studied for 4 of those and worked for about two.

I have loved being back with family and luckily career wise it didnt hurt me much (asides from the financial hit in terms of salary) because I was able to get involved in many high profile CPEC projects. I also was able to spend time with my parents and also my grandmother before she passed away and Im sure it would have been a regret of mine to not spent time with her at end.

However I would say it does get exhausting at times and there is too much inefficiency and non-productivity. I think Im hitting a wall in terms of career progression. I was always planning to do a masters and inshallah will start this fall.

What sort of career field do you work in Slog?

Where you needed for masters?

what do you mean? where would i be going?
atm theres a great option in europe and waiting to hear from some places in the US. lets see. iA whatever happens is for the best

Went to the UK for university. Overall experience was pretty good. Returned after getting my degree out of a misplaced sense of patriotism (and a high paying job arranged earlier) even though the UK still had a visa that allowed recent international graduates of UK universities to stay for two years to find work (back in my day, getting a foreign education and coming back to develop the country was what everyone wanted to do). Didn't really face too many barriers tbh.

Upon returning, the patriotism was gradually replaced by disillusionment with the country and its people, spurred in no small part by my disillusionment with Islam. I left it around two years after returning so the time spent in the UK expedited my departure from Islam by at least five to eight years (because of how I'm wired, it was inevitable even if I had stayed in Pakistan for university) and imo that alone makes the decision to go worthwhile.

Job market back home was OK but not amazing. I was lucky to have gotten a good one virtually immediately and it was when I finally got to explore the so called 'real Pakistan' and interact at length with 'real Pakistanis' (as opposed to my sheltered military/Islamabad life growing up). Currently working for a CPEC related Chinese firm in the power sector (my previous employers were Norwegian, American and Qatari respectively) and working for the Chinese (as opposed to having them work for me in a previous job) has been an 'enlightening' experience to say the least. Let's say if Pakistan goes full Chinese, the China rear end kissing public won't enjoy it. Hopefully, by the end of thnhis year I'll either be in Australia or Canada though Australia is more likely since they process applications faster and I applied there first.

Did anyone take his Pakistani/desi parents to live in a foreign country with them? How was/is the experience for them?

atm theres a great option in europe and waiting to hear from some places in the US. lets see. iA whatever happens is for the best

Yeah typo lol... I meant which university are you going?

Oh acha... what would be your masters in? Is it MBA?

Maybe and that is a big maybe when I retire, and I have a long way to go for that too happen lol.

Currently no way, I have lived in the US my whole life almost.

Heck going to Pakistan would make me illiterate lol. I can read Urdu but very very slowly and even then I can't read all of it, especially if it's handwritten.

What exactly did they hate? The moving part or the lifestyle?

They had their whole life in Pakistan, friends, family, things they liked to do etc. Here they were kind of restricted plus the weather is alot worse than Pakistan. In Pakistan we take the 300+ days of sun for granted, most other places in the world don't get that.

I do not know anyone who has moved back to Pakistan after moving abroad.Even people who are wealthy and resourceful are finding ways to leave the country.Pakistan is a total dilapidated nation with rampant extremism, corruption and illiteracy coupled with poor health and education systems.

Grim reality.

I do not know anyone who has moved back to Pakistan after moving abroad.Even people who are wealthy and resourceful are finding ways to leave the country.Pakistan is a total dilapidated nation with rampant extremism, corruption and illiteracy coupled with poor health and education systems.

Grim reality.

I know actually quite a lot but yes your point is valid. The upper middle class and elite usually come back soon enough

Typically the mentality is those who have flourishing businesses in Pakistan they do not have alot of incentive to be corporate slaves abroad. I knew a few people with me who went right after graduation since they were children of big industrialists in Karachi.

They had their whole life in Pakistan, friends, family, things they liked to do etc. Here they were kind of restricted plus the weather is alot worse than Pakistan. In Pakistan we take the 300+ days of sun for granted, most other places in the world don't get that.

I can imagine. Its especially hard for older folk if they have to live at a place where there arent many people who share their culture and beliefs.

When are you moving out of Kashmir to come live in Dil walo ki Dilli?

Its actually hard for me to move out because the culture in my family doesnt favour it. However, i am considering it and having a look around. Once a good opportunity arises, i would want to grab it. After all YOLO :afridi:

Yup great school. I might end up going there who knows. It's one of the best but easier to get into then schools like Harvard, Wharton and other Ivy leagues

Not great placements though apart from Consulting. I was planning to apply for J term next month but have dropped the idea due to personal reasons and considering the bad placement scene.

Yep. I agree which is why the US top 10 are my priority over it. (I've been admitted for J-Term and now waiting to hear back from some US schools).

With INSEAD I also get the impression you need to be further into your career for it to be useful

Yep. I agree which is why the US top 10 are my priority over it. (I've been admitted for J-Term and now waiting to hear back from some US schools).

With INSEAD I also get the impression you need to be further into your career for it to be useful

Correction: fall intake

However lot of people are saying J-term is the better option due to internship opp

Correction: fall intake

However lot of people are saying J-term is the better option due to internship opp

Yes, J-term seems better. How many years of work experience do you have and what are your career goals? I have 7 years of consulting work ex.

Also, which schools are you waiting to hear from? Best of luck.

Yes, J-term seems better. How many years of work experience do you have and what are your career goals? I have 7 years of consulting work ex.

Also, which schools are you waiting to hear from? Best of luck.

Thanks! I will have 5 years by time I start inshallah!

Applied to 5 in US. Wharton gave me thudda immediately :(
Waitlisted at Columbia and waiting to hear back from 2 other M7s. Got into 2 T15s so atleast there's that.

That's why I said to me INSEAD seemed easier to get into than these

You're planning to apply or have already?

Waitlisted at Columbia and waiting to hear back from 2 other M7s. Got into 2 T15s so atleast there's that.

I'm a noob in this, but isn't the most important part about MBA is the network you make and some of your class fellows may go onto be high ranking officers in major corporations and this opens plenty of doors, but going to a school in France no matter how good would not help in the networking aspect unless you want to live there long term?

I applied to a HBS, Wharton and Booth. Didn’t get through any of them. I have two semi red flags - 1) I already have an MBA, that too from an IIM 2) I’m on the wrong side of 30s. On the personal front, my family needs me at this time and I don’t want to shell out more money on applications and admission consultants.
Considering all this, I wont be applying again.

I applied to a HBS, Wharton and Booth. Didn’t get through any of them. I have two semi red flags - 1) I already have an MBA, that too from an IIM 2) I’m on the wrong side of 30s. On the personal front, my family needs me at this time and I don’t want to shell out more money on applications and admission consultants.

What's the purpose of a second MBA?

I'm a noob in this, but isn't the most important part about MBA is the network you make and some of your class fellows may go onto be high ranking officers in major corporations and this opens plenty of doors, but going to a school in France no matter how good would not help in the networking aspect unless you want to live there long term?
I would like to believe that INSEAD gives you a strong brand name on your CV for better job prospects in Europe, Canada and Singapore/HK. Even if you don’t have a good network, your application would be given preference over candidates from inferior colleges.

What's the purpose of a second MBA?

Want to migrate to a more developed market. An IIM MBA gives you great opportunities in India, but its a bit of a no-name outside Asia.

Of course, this is not what one writes in the essays - you talk about experiential learning, amazing peers etc.
But honestly its difficult explaining the adcoms via a .pdf .doc. why you need a second MBA, hence the rejections.

You are exactly right. But INSEAD arguably has a more international network than some of the US schools basically because a lot of Us school students tend to stay in the US only whereas INSEAD alums are all over Middle East and Asia

Makes sense. MBAs have diminishing returns after 30 I believe anyway.

I'm sure you will qualify for most developed markets anyway with your experience and pedigree with the right networking and moves if moving there is the plan.

In turning 27 soon which is why I want to do it now rather than wait a bit more

Makes sense. MBAs have diminishing returns after 30 I believe anyway.

I'm sure you will qualify for most developed markets anyway with your experience and pedigree with the right networking and moves if moving there is the plan.

In turning 27 soon which is why I want to do it now rather than wait a bit more
Thanks. Yes, that’s the plan. Lets see.

27-28 is arguably the best age for an MBA. Did you go for any admission consultant? If yes, possible to share the name of the firm and your feedback? I’ve heard Fortuna and SBC have great record with INSEAD.

That's cause the elites are milking Pakistan and its working and middle classes, thry return to Pakistan cause they can't keep sleeves here in the civilized world. Pakistan needs a French revolution to get rid of these elites.

They* slaves*

What made you leave 4 times?

Five, since I haven't returned the fifth time.

My parents made me leave the first four times. I was a minor and had to tag along each time they left for another country to work.