Asif Ali’s daughter passes away after battling with cancer

Heartbreaking. May the Almighty give him and his family patience to deal with this loss. Comes at a very defining time. If he needs time off he should take it . WC is meaningless if his heart is not in the game. We definitely needed him but I think some time away would be beneficial for him.

May 20 (Reuters) - Pakistan batsman Asif Ali’s daughter, who suffered from stage four cancer, died in a hospital in the United States on Sunday, Pakistan Super League (PSL) side Islamabad United has said.

Ali is currently on tour with the Pakistan national team in England and played in the 54-run defeat by the hosts in their final one-day international of the series on Sunday.

“ISLU family pays its deepest condolences to Asif Ali on the tragic loss of his daughter. Our thoughts and prayers go out to Asif & his family,” the PSL franchise said on Twitter on Monday.

“Asif is a great example of strength & courage. He is an inspiration to us.”

The hard-hitting batsman had said last month that his daughter was being flown to the U.S. for her treatment.

Dean Jones, who coached Islamabad to the PSL title last year, also sent his condolences to the cricketer’s family.

“On behalf of my family and the ISLU players and families... we send our condolences and love to Asif Ali and his family on the passing of his beautiful daughter,” Jones said on Twitter.

Jones had broken down in tears at a media conference in March when talking about Ali and his daughter’s condition.

The 27-year-old Ali was not named in Pakistan’s World Cup squad but made the 17-man group for the series in England where the middle-order batsman hit two half-centuries in four innings.

Former captain and chairman of Pakistan’s selection committee Inzamam-ul-Haq said last month that Ali could be drafted into the side before the World Cup.

Teams have until May 23 to submit their final squads for the tournament which begins on May 30.

Pakistan’s first game is against West Indies on May 31.

https://in.reuters.com/article/cric...ughter-loses-battle-with-cancer-idINL4N22W0TB

Don't think it will be right move to select him in the worldcup.
Very difficult to combat this situation.

Very sad news. The worst thing a parent can see in his life is his child dying before him.

Condolences to Asif and his family. I wish Asif is selected for World Cup and smashes all the bowlers. Do it for your daughter, champ!

Just woke up for work and always come on this forum before I leave for work. Today I wish I hadn’t such a sad thing to hear. Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji'un.
May Allah give their family sabr and help them with this tough situation.

Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raje'un. May Allah give patience to Asif Ali and his family to bear this irreplaceable loss. Must be very dejected, hope he comes out stronger from the episode

Some reporters are saying that the pcb are arranging tickets for asif to go to Pakistan.

Heard on Tv that he'll head back to Pakistan where last rites will happen. Should not be selected in the first few matches if he is made part of the WC squad, it takes time to overcome such losses

I think it will only be right if asif is given his space to bear such a loss. Playing tje wc does not matter anymorr but then who knows what his financial conditions are. May allah give sabr to the young man to bear such a loss, and that he may serve as an inspiration for the youth of pakistan, he kept on serving his nation even though his daughter was ill.

PCB have confirmed that Asif Ali will be returning to Pakistan due to this reason. No further details available at this point.

Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji'un

May Allah s.w.t. give him and his family sabr. (Ameen)

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Asif Ali will return to Pakistan following the passing away of his daughter. The team management will give him as much time as he needs away from cricket</p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1130370700873805824?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 20, 2019</a></blockquote>

Saddest thing to encounter. May Allah give strength to him and his family to bear with this loss.

This is just heartbreaking.. A very sad news, I pray no parents would ever go through such situation.
#staystrong

Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji'un.

Heartbreaking, words are just not enough.

Ina lillaahi wa inna ily hi raajioon, such a bittersweet moment for Asif, reaching the pinnacle of his career to date, and then being dealt such a cruel hammer blow. Feel for him.

This is so sad. You never recover from the death of your child, never.

RIP!

Inna lillahi wa inna ilaihi raajioon.

Very sad and heartbreaking news.

May Allah give patience to Asif and his family , also the strength to bear this loss.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">My daughter my angle returned to Allah last night. <br>May Allah grant her jannat. <br>Thanks everyone for you support, love, messages & prayers during this tough time.</p>— Asif Ali (@AasifAli2018) <a href="https://twitter.com/AasifAli2018/status/1130450243047178240?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 20, 2019</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">My condolences and prayers go to Asif Ali & his family on the passing of his daughter from cancer. May Allah give them strength to bear such a precious loss.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1130393321577361409?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 20, 2019</a></blockquote>

Terrible news.
Thoughts and prayers are with Asif and his family.

Inna lillahi wa inna illahi rajioon

May Allah grant sabar to Asif and his family, Ameen. This is where PCB need to step in and handle all expenses for transporting the little angel's body and funeral proceedings. Also I do not think Asif will be in the right frame of mind to focus on cricket, it is better to give him a paid leave.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Very sad to hear about the death of cricketer Asif Ali's daughters. I cannot imagine what he must be going through. Inna lillahi wa inna elaihi rajaoon. <br>Rest in Peace little angel.</p>— Shoaib Akhtar (@shoaib100mph) <a href="https://twitter.com/shoaib100mph/status/1130397228475060225?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 20, 2019</a></blockquote>

Very sad news for him. May Allah swt give him patience and strength

Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji'un.......Ya Allah give the family, patience & strength to bear this irrecoverable loss.

Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji'un.

Such sad news. Cancer is such an insidious disease.

It is indiscriminate. Rich/Poor, Black/White, Male/Female, Young/Old.

I have personally had the experience of seeing someone close to me deteriorate because of cancer, 3 months is all it took, the end.

In my case, the person was 72, in this case, the child is 4.

I can only imagine the emotional stress and challenge Asif Ali's family is going through, him in particular. Saeed Anwar lost his daughter at a young age, and was never the same batsman. No parent should bury their child.

Inshallah allah will provide Asif Ali with strength, and who knows, it may just prove to be the inspiration he needs at the WC.

May Allah SWT give him and his family the strength to deal with this terrible loss. Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji'un.

Tears rolling in my eyes. Rest in peace little one. May god give him and his family strength to bear the loss

Asif Ali intends to take his place in Pakistan’s squad for the World Cup despite the death of his daughter on Sunday.

The batsman and the left-arm pace bowlers Mohammad Amir and Wahab Riaz were omitted from the original list a month ago but the trio have replaced Abid Ali, Junaid Khan and Faheem Ashraf in Pakistan’s final 15-man group.

Asif will first fly out to the US for the funeral of his 19-month-old daughter, who died over the weekend after a lengthy battle with cancer. It is understood that Asif will join his teammates at his earliest convenience.

The Pakistan prime minister, Imran Khan, was among those to offer his condolences to Asif. The former all-rounder wrote on Twitter: “My condolences and prayers go to Asif Ali & his family on the passing of his daughter from cancer. May Allah give them strength to bear such a precious loss.”

Asif contributed two half-centuries in the one-day international series against England which concluded on Sunday, the 27-year-old one of few who impressed in Pakistan’s middle order during their side’s 4-0 defeat.

Inzamam-ul-Haq, chair of Pakistan men’s selection committee, said: “It has not been an easy decision to leave out Abid, particularly after he got only one opportunity on the tour. But he was our third-choice opener. After both the first-choice openers struck early form, we preferred Asif Ali as he brings firepower to the team that can strengthen our chances in the tournament.”

Amir, who missed the previous World Cup while serving a ban for spot-fixing, was left out of the initial squad after a major dip in ODI form during which he has taken just three wickets in his past 12 innings.

It seemed he would need to show some form against England to force his way into the squad, but he did not bowl a ball in the series after the only game in which he was selected was washed out at the Oval.

Amir has been included regardless, as has Wahab despite not playing an ODI since June 2017. The 33-year-old has been brought back in from the cold after his international career had seemingly been ended.

Inzamam-ul-Haq said: “After it became obvious that the bat is likely to dominate the ball in the World Cup, we revisited our strategy and reverted to the pace of Mohammad Amir and Wahab Riaz.

“The bowling unit during the England ODIs has not clicked as anticipated or expected; if we have at our disposal the vastly experienced pace duo of Amir and Wahab, then it will be foolish not to include them.”

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2019/may/20/pakistan-asif-ali-world-cup-squad-family-tragedy

Asif Ali intends to take his place in Pakistan’s squad for the World Cup despite the death of his daughter on Sunday.

The batsman and the left-arm pace bowlers Mohammad Amir and Wahab Riaz were omitted from the original list a month ago but the trio have replaced Abid Ali, Junaid Khan and Faheem Ashraf in Pakistan’s final 15-man group.

Asif will first fly out to the US for the funeral of his 19-month-old daughter, who died over the weekend after a lengthy battle with cancer. It is understood that Asif will join his teammates at his earliest convenience.

The Pakistan prime minister, Imran Khan, was among those to offer his condolences to Asif. The former all-rounder wrote on Twitter: “My condolences and prayers go to Asif Ali & his family on the passing of his daughter from cancer. May Allah give them strength to bear such a precious loss.”

Asif contributed two half-centuries in the one-day international series against England which concluded on Sunday, the 27-year-old one of few who impressed in Pakistan’s middle order during their side’s 4-0 defeat.

Inzamam-ul-Haq, chair of Pakistan men’s selection committee, said: “It has not been an easy decision to leave out Abid, particularly after he got only one opportunity on the tour. But he was our third-choice opener. After both the first-choice openers struck early form, we preferred Asif Ali as he brings firepower to the team that can strengthen our chances in the tournament.”

Amir, who missed the previous World Cup while serving a ban for spot-fixing, was left out of the initial squad after a major dip in ODI form during which he has taken just three wickets in his past 12 innings.

It seemed he would need to show some form against England to force his way into the squad, but he did not bowl a ball in the series after the only game in which he was selected was washed out at the Oval.

Amir has been included regardless, as has Wahab despite not playing an ODI since June 2017. The 33-year-old has been brought back in from the cold after his international career had seemingly been ended.

Inzamam-ul-Haq said: “After it became obvious that the bat is likely to dominate the ball in the World Cup, we revisited our strategy and reverted to the pace of Mohammad Amir and Wahab Riaz.

“The bowling unit during the England ODIs has not clicked as anticipated or expected; if we have at our disposal the vastly experienced pace duo of Amir and Wahab, then it will be foolish not to include them.”

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2019/may/20/pakistan-asif-ali-world-cup-squad-family-tragedy

It takes a lot for a man that has lost a child to continue doing what he does for a living. What a brave man, but hopefully the players and coaching staff can rally around him and help him.

Utmost respect for the man.

Condolences to Asif for the irreparable loss. Would completely understand if Cricket was the last thing on his mind at the moment.

(Pictures) - Asif Ali in Rochester MN - USA (post Namaz-e-Janaza)

Asif Ali.jpgAsif Ali_2.jpg

May Allah give Asif's family sabr. They were in grief and devastated on the loss. Precious little angel lost fight against brain cancer (tumor).

They are on their way to Pakistan with Maiyat for burial.

This lad will become a future great have a strong feeling, good work ethic and humble. May god be with him during this tough time.

May Allah send that beautiful soul to Jannah in this blessed month of Ramadan and give Asif sabr and the grit to do even better in his life and cricket for his daughter ameen

May Allah bless his daughter with a place in Paradise and give his family and those close to him patience to get through this difficult time. Ameen Sumameen.

May Almighty give him strength to overcome this loss. Allah takes something but returns back something as well, which often we don't realize - best wishes for Asif in WC.

Rest in peace and thoughts and prayers with him and his family.

He looks like he can fight through difficult times and still came and played well despite knowing his spot was on the line. If he is in fact playing, then he is an extremely strong individual and I hope he does well for his own personal spirit as well as his family.

Heartbreaking.

i hope the rest of pakistani team takes inspiration from asif, come together and play as a team. they have no excuse. i have tremendous respect for asif ali, and perhaps his lacklusture performance in the last year is all because of all this going on in the background.

Can we remove the Janaza photos please? Anyone who's been through loss will understand that this is a private time for the family and not something to be plastered on an internet forum for strangers to ogle at.

Truly heart shattering news may Allah give Asif and his family sabr, I am truly saddened. :(

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Heartbreaking. Asif Ali's 18-month old daughter Noor Fatima's funeral in Faisalabad (pictures courtesy Getty) <a href="https://t.co/VeDiM6gCnG">pic.twitter.com/VeDiM6gCnG</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1131676242116317185?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 23, 2019</a></blockquote>

It says a lot when the man leading the prayer is emotional reading the Janazah.

The man leading prayer is Talha bhai owner of SayaCorps - he is sports agent of 20 + pakistani players including Inzamam, Hashim Amla and Wayne PArnell. He was with Asif's daughter throughout her medical journey which started from Agha khan hospital and also accompanied her to the USA. Infact, he gave ghusaal to the mayat as well. I was with them at the time of body cleansing, and funeral proceedings. Talha is a gem of a guy and has supported Asif in many ways possible be it financially, morally and logistic wise. May Allah give Talha bhai reward. Not many people go above and beyond, sacrifice family time to serve others.

Update from Saya Corporation (Lahore): Dua Fatima, the daughter of Pakistan National cricket team star Asif Ali, passed away on May 19 at 3.30 pm in Rochester, MN, USA. Her remains were brought to Pakistan today on Thursday, May 23 at 3.20 and she was honorably put to rest at 8 am in a local cemetery in Faisalabad, Pakistan.

Asif Ali said, "We all belong to Allah SWT and to Him we all shall return. I am thankful to everyone who stood by me and my family in this extremely difficult times. I want to extend my special gratitude to all doctors, nursing and supporting staff of my daughter. My heart felt thanks to PCB, US Embassy Islamabad, US Consulate General Lahore, Pakistan Embassy of Chicago & New York, Mayo Clinic Rochester, Pakistani Community of Minnesota and entire media family for their extraordinary support, care and love for my daughter. My fellow players, coaches and staff have also been quite supportive of me during this phase. I want you to know that I acknowledge your prayers, love and can't thank you enough for your support."

Dua Fatima, Asif's 19 month old daughter, was suffering from a stage IV metastatic cancer - neuroblastoma - for one half and year. She got treatment at various Pakistan and international hospital.

"I want to remember my daughter as a warrior. She has been a great inspiration and blessing for me. Even though she is not physically with me anymore, the fragrance of her memories are going to stay with me", said Asif Ali.

Asif is the member of Pakistan CWC19 team. He will be soon returning to UK to join Pakistan team. Saya Corporation, the global athletes' management firm that represents Asif Ali, has requested to respect the privacy of Asif Ali and family at this time of grief and pain.

Asif Ali further said, "I request you all to pray for the soul of my daughter Dua Fatima. Thanks again for being there for me."

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Asif Ali "I want to remember my daughter as a warrior. She has been a great inspiration and blessing for me. Even though she is not physically with me any more, the fragrance of her memories are going to stay with me"</p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1131819566588416000?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 24, 2019</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Asif Ali "We all belong to Allah SWT and to Him we all shall return. I am thankful to everyone who stood by me and my family in these extremely difficult times. I want you to know that I acknowledge your prayers, love and can't thank you enough for your support"</p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1131821112407539717?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 24, 2019</a></blockquote>

The man leading prayer is Talha bhai owner of SayaCorps - he is sports agent of 20 + pakistani players including Inzamam, Hashim Amla and Wayne PArnell. He was with Asif's daughter throughout her medical journey which started from Agha khan hospital and also accompanied her to the USA. Infact, he gave ghusaal to the mayat as well. I was with them at the time of body cleansing, and funeral proceedings. Talha is a gem of a guy and has supported Asif in many ways possible be it financially, morally and logistic wise. May Allah give Talha bhai reward. Not many people go above and beyond, sacrifice family time to serve others.
Ameen.

Humanity still exists.

Ameen.. May Allah give him sabr and strength, inshallah the world cup can help him take his mind away from this devastating news. The rest of the squad better up their game and bring the trophy home for the little angel.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Asif Ali "I want to remember my daughter as a warrior. She has been a great inspiration and blessing for me. Even though she is not physically with me any more, the fragrance of her memories are going to stay with me"</p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1131819566588416000?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 24, 2019</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Asif Ali "We all belong to Allah SWT and to Him we all shall return. I am thankful to everyone who stood by me and my family in these extremely difficult times. I want you to know that I acknowledge your prayers, love and can't thank you enough for your support"</p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1131821112407539717?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 24, 2019</a></blockquote>

Heart bleeds for Asif listening to him speak about his daughter. The thought of him losing an angel like that is unimaginable, I can only give my regards to this remarkable individual who has managed to keep himself strong and motivated despite the adversities he is facing in life. It is a terrible loss that he has gone through and just his words are enough to describe his love for his daughter and the impact she has had on his life. May Allah bless him and his family with more beautiful angels and bring sabr and patience to his family in this difficult times. May his daughter Rest in Peace. Ameen

Tendulkar reaches out and comforts Asif Ali

Sachin ‘The Master’ Tendulkar, who enjoys iconic status across cricket-playing nations, has offered words of comfort for bereaved Pakistan batsman Asif Ali and his family.

Asif’s 19-month-old daughter Noor Fatima lost her battle with stage-IV cancer and passed away in Rochester (US) on Sunday. Asif was then playing in Leeds, in the final ODI against England.

Noor Fatima was laid to rest in Faisalabad on Thursday morning, some hours after her mortal remains arrived from the US.

According to one of those present at the funeral, there were heart-wrenching scenes at the burial ground.

A protege of much-respected former captain Misbah-ul Haq, the 27-year-old Asif will rejoin the Pakistan squad soon.

Given the huge personal loss, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) granted Asif special leave to be with his grieving family at home.

The World Cup begins on May 30 and Pakistan’s first match is on the very next day, against the West Indies, in Nottingham.

“Look, the loss of an immediate family member devastates. I express my heartfelt condolences to Asif, his wife and the other family members...

“Such losses are irreparable and Asif is bound to keep thinking of his late daughter even when he’s back in England for the World Cup...

“I say that from my own sad experience as I lost my father very early in the 1999 World Cup and had returned home (for the last rites)...

“Despite going back, in the thick of action, I couldn’t get the loss of my father out of my thoughts. It takes time...

“I wish Asif well,” a somewhat emotional Sachin told The Telegraph.

Sachin missed the game against Zimbabwe in Leicester and his absence contributed to India’s shock defeat.

That, naturally, had consequences.

Sachin went back to England in time for the very next match, against Kenya (in Bristol), and remained not out on 140. He was the MoM.

Asif, meanwhile, issued a statement which could leave some overwhelmed.

Excerpts…

“We all belong to Allah and to Him we all shall return. I am thankful to everyone who stood by me and my family in this extremely difficult time...

“I want to extend my special gratitude to all doctors, nursing and the support staff of my daughter...

“My heartfelt thanks to the PCB, the US Embassy in Islamabad, the US Consulate in Lahore, the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, the Pakistani community in Minnesota and the entire Media for their extraordinary support, care and love for my daughter...

“Fellow-players, coaches and (support) staff have also been quite supportive of me in this phase. I want you all to know that I acknowledge your prayers and love and simply cannot thank you enough...

“I want to remember my daughter as a warrior. She has been a great inspiration and blessing for me. Even though she is not physically with me any more, the fragrance of her memory is going to stay with me...

“Request you all to pray for the soul of my daughter.”

Hard to add anything after that eyes-moistening statement from Asif, a cricketer who beat odds to reach the position he has.

https://www.telegraphindia.com/sport/cricket/tendulkar-reaches-out-and-comforts-asif-ali/cid/1691133

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Leaving today to join Pakistan team in UK for our Cricket World Cup journey. We as a team will be in need of your prayers & unconditional support. <br><br>These are the final few lines for my princess Dua Fatima. Meri beti k liye dua or Fateha ki darkhwast hai. Aap sab k liye duaaain! <a href="https://t.co/XeS9ducwZZ">pic.twitter.com/XeS9ducwZZ</a></p>— Asif Ali (@AasifAli2018) <a href="https://twitter.com/AasifAli2018/status/1132110037130907649?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 25, 2019</a></blockquote>

Love and prayers for the gurira Dua Fatima. <3

She is in a better place.

Asif is inspirational!

Asif and his family are real fighters and tough folks. I cant imagine how he is able to do this. He basically didnt take any time off "work" except for few days around funeral. He wasnt even there with her at time of passing based on what I recall.

Team needs to make a mission of bringing back the cup for his family sacrifices for them. In 92 it was the cancel hospital vision, in 2019 can they win it for the cancer fighter.

I want Pakistan to win the WC for Asif and his daughter.

Kudos to Asif who is such a strong man.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Asif Ali has returned from Pakistan following the sad passing away of his daughter and re-joined the Pakistan World Cup squad <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CWC19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CWC19</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1132608119442419712?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 26, 2019</a></blockquote>

It was heartbreaking, hearing about the news.

I cannot imagine what Asif and his family are going through. Asif has proven to be very strong mentally.

Good luck to him for the World Cup and prayers for his family.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Asif Ali has returned from Pakistan following the sad passing away of his daughter and re-joined the Pakistan World Cup squad <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CWC19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CWC19</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1132608119442419712?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 26, 2019</a></blockquote>

Mashallah, good & may Allah Pak give him the strength to deal with future challenges, such a courageous man you are.

Met Asif yesterday after the match.

I passed on my condolences to him and naturally he was still very upset about the death of his daughter.

He looked really down and I wonder if he's actually in the best frame of mind to be playing cricket at the moment.