Assam register: Four million risk losing India citizenship

In an ideal world everyone agrees what should happen - those in the country illegally should return to their country of origin but it's not as simple as that. Much like the Biharis in Bangladesh, the Afghans in Pakistan etc these people have been in India for decades and many won't even have a home back in Bangladesh. Moreover, the Bangladesh government will want solid proof that these people are Bangladeshi before agreeing to take them back. If they've destroyed their documents how can India prove they are from Bangladesh? This is exactly the argument that India uses when it comes to undocumented and illegal Indian immigrants living in the UK and elsewhere. "Prove to us they are Indian and then we can talk" the government will tell foreign countries.

Incentives should be offered to those who agree to return but for those who don't what can you do?If I were in charge I'd offer the rest some kind of long term residency card which doesn't give them the right to vote or receive state benefits but does allow them to work and live in India and receive things like emergency medical treatment if they need it.

However at the end of the day this is a decision for those living in India and Indian taxpayers to make as they are the ones living with the consequences of such illegal immigration.

One of the reasons this exercise is going on is to make India unfriendly to the bangladeshi illegal immigrants who are planning to come in in future.Also to force millions who have come into India in recent years and regularly go back to BD to go back permanently.

Places like Mumbai Hyderabad Bangalore NCR has seen huge numbers of illegal Bangladeshis appearing out of thin air in last few years due to the economic boom in India in last 2 decades.

One of the reasons this exercise is going on is to make India unfriendly to the bangladeshi illegal immigrants who are planning to come in in future.Also to force millions who have come into India in recent years and regularly go back to BD to go back permanently.

Places like Mumbai Hyderabad Bangalore NCR has seen huge numbers of illegal Bangladeshis appearing out of thin air in last few years due to the economic boom in India in last 2 decades.

Do you really think india wud be able to send back all illegal imigrants back to their country ?
There are millions of millions of immigrants from bangladesh or rohingyas or many others.
Our country policies are not that strong and i have very little hope for this that they wud be sent back.
May be if bjp wins in 2019 they wud. But still i am not backing even bjp to do this.
All they have made india a pithole.

Do you really think india wud be able to send back all illegal imigrants back to their country ?
There are millions of millions of immigrants from bangladesh or rohingyas or many others.
Our country policies are not that strong and i have very little hope for this that they wud be sent back.
May be if bjp wins in 2019 they wud. But still i am not backing even bjp to do this.
All they have made india a pithole.

Once these illegal immigrants are no more a votebank they will lose any political support. That means no voting rights no property no jobs nothing. They will themselves return back the way they came.And more will not come as they will not get anything here.

Illegal immigration is an issue world over and countries will have to take back their citizens.

Once these illegal immigrants are no more a votebank they will lose any political support. That means no voting rights no property no jobs nothing. They will themselves return back the way they came.And more will not come as they will not get anything here.

Illegal immigration is an issue world over and countries will have to take back their citizens.

No way i can bet they wont go back easily . There might be riot if it starts to happen.
You know how things happen in india. Things which happen logically world wide hardly happens in our country
Some people have just too many rights and some peoppe have limited rights.
I hope even half of these immigrants if go back to tgeir country

No way i can bet they wont go back easily . There might be riot if it starts to happen.
You know how things happen in india. Things which happen logically world wide hardly happens in our country
Some people have just too many rights and some peoppe have limited rights.
I hope even half of these immigrants if go back to tgeir country

This is not short term project.SC will fix the time line so it can stretch 3-5 years.

Well population is little too much to make rhis happen peacefully.i hope as its our indians right to not let illegal immigrant settle in india ,it wud haopen as per law.

I am sure as cricketcartoon mentioned some people will say about nepalese and other persecuted hindus and sikhs from pakistam who have been applying citizenship of india and some has been living here as refugees .

Although law says everything about this matter as some people just reolied to criketcartoon. But you know how religious things and debates happen in india.

Well population is little too much to make rhis happen peacefully.i hope as its our indians right to not let illegal immigrant settle in india ,it wud haopen as per law.

I am sure as cricketcartoon mentioned some people will say about nepalese and other persecuted hindus and sikhs from pakistam who have been applying citizenship of india and some has been living here as refugees .

Although law says everything about this matter as some people just reolied to criketcartoon. But you know how religious things and debates happen in india.

Once voting rights are taken out they can no longer asset any influence over Politicians when that happened even appeasers will not support them and they have to try to go back.Lets hope things will move as smoothly as possible.

You and [MENTION=2099]Cricket[/MENTION]joshilla are not getting my point.
I am sure some mullah will issue some fatwah and he does have all the votes with him which are indians and can influence elections result .so here we go it doesnt matter bangladeshis have viting right ir no voting right. Political parties will run behind them . So yeah lets hope things happen smoothly which seems unlikely to me to be frankly.

To answer your question, you'll have to look at the history and culture of assam. (if you are talking about nrc assam).

There has been very rare case where clash between Hindus and Muslims or inter religion clash have happened. That's why, it was always difficult for any party to motivate the people for any direction.

People assumed that Muslims will object to nrc. But it was actually went opposite where the Muslims, who lived here for centuries, welcomed the system.

Moreover AASU (all assam student union) has a strong presence all over assam specially after the assam revolution where talks on various subject matters including illegal immigrants take place between the union leaders and the government.

The worries that you are having, is justified but there are many check points to it. There will be conflicts here and there but as whole, the whole process should get smooth unless some extraordinary event happens.

To answer your question, you'll have to look at the history and culture of assam. (if you are talking about nrc assam).

There has been very rare case where clash between Hindus and Muslims or inter religion clash have happened. That's why, it was always difficult for any party to motivate the people for any direction.

People assumed that Muslims will object to nrc. But it was actually went opposite where the Muslims, who lived here for centuries, welcomed the system.

Moreover AASU (all assam student union) has a strong presence all over assam specially after the assam revolution where talks on various subject matters including illegal immigrants take place between the union leaders and the government.

The worries that you are having, is justified but there are many check points to it. There will be conflicts here and there but as whole, the whole process should get smooth unless some extraordinary event happens.

Well thanks for the detailed answer.

You have to read about Assam agitation and Assam accord.

Found a video on this subject

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/WVVc-iLQmV8" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Btw, shaam ko ek debate sun raha tha aur usme anchor sahab koi report ka hawala de rahe the ki out of those 40 lakhs illegal immigrants listed, more than 15 lakhs are Hindus..aur phir Anchor sahab ne BJP k navya nirmit Rajya Sabha Sansad aur sangh vicharak Rakesh Sharma ji se poocha ki kya aap in 15 lakhs se zyada hinduon ko bhi deport karenge? Ispr Sansad ji kehne lage Nahi, Bangladesh me hinduon ko mara ja raha hai, prosecute kia ja raha hai isliye unhe nhi bhej sakte, sirf musalmano ko deport karenge!

Bhai! Sidhe Sidhe q nahi bol dete, pareshani musalmanon se hai, illegal immigrants se nahi, 😂😂😂

Btw, shaam ko ek debate sun raha tha aur usme anchor sahab koi report ka hawala de rahe the ki out of those 40 lakhs illegal immigrants listed, more than 15 lakhs are Hindus..aur phir Anchor sahab ne BJP k navya nirmit Rajya Sabha Sansad aur sangh vicharak Rakesh Sharma ji se poocha ki kya aap in 15 lakhs se zyada hinduon ko bhi deport karenge? Ispr Sansad ji kehne lage Nahi, Bangladesh me hinduon ko mara ja raha hai, prosecute kia ja raha hai isliye unhe nhi bhej sakte, sirf musalmano ko deport karenge!

Bhai! Sidhe Sidhe q nahi bol dete, pareshani musalmanon se hai, illegal immigrants se nahi, 😂😂😂

Bhai nagrikta niyam spasht hai. Usmein kahin hindu immigrant ke liye alag niyam nahi hai.

Par isse ye to pata chalta hai ki list mein hindu musalmaan sab hai.

Bhai nagrikta niyam spasht hai. Usmein kahin hindu immigrant ke liye alag niyam nahi hai.

Par isse ye to pata chalta hai ki list mein hindu musalmaan sab hai.

Yes! Aur mujhe ye bhi pata hai ki hona kuch nahi hai, sirf rajneeti k siwa.. But iska parinaam aage chal ke bhayanak ho sakta hai agar is mudde ko aise hi latkaye raha gaya to.

Indian land is only sacred to Hindus once partition lines were drawn.

Rich coming from (west)Pakistan who started the whole process in the first place.

Even if I do consider the 1947 partition, the 1971 shouldn't have happened and (east)Pakistan shouldn't have to run to India for refugee, the process which made the whole NRC forceable again. Otherwise India could have saved all the expanses that's being done here.

Rich coming from (west)Pakistan who started the whole process in the first place.

Even if I do consider the 1947 partition, the 1971 shouldn't have happened and (east)Pakistan shouldn't have to run to India for refugee, the process which made the whole NRC forceable again. Otherwise India could have saved all the expanses that's being done here.

My answer was to the poster who questioned why Bangladesh didn't merge back with India. I have read RSS theories on what underpins Hindutva ideology, and it is a belief that the land of India itself and it's Hindu culture is what makes it sacred. So I don't understand how partition can be acceptable as that is handing over large chunks of sacred land of India to Islamic ownership. What happened there, did those parts of India become less sacred overnight?

again you are trying to rub salt on our wounds. but this is expected..when our own hindus talk about india is for indians, not hindus...and build toilets instead of temple, then what can we expect from those who have always had contempt for us hindus.

The issue here is, hindutva isn't as rampant in India as you are believing.

Rampant? You are making it sound as if Hindutva is some rabid and rambunctious reaction, when it only about renaissance, reformation and restoration of indic culture and pride in our roots.

Yes! Aur mujhe ye bhi pata hai ki hona kuch nahi hai, sirf rajneeti k siwa.. But iska parinaam aage chal ke bhayanak ho sakta hai agar is mudde ko aise hi latkaye raha gaya to.

Mamla dabega nahi. Inko voting ir property rights nahi milengi. Job bhi nahi milega. Aakhir kar se wapis wahin jaayenge jahan se aaye hai.

Rampant? You are making it sound as if Hindutva is some rabid and rambunctious reaction, when it only about renaissance, reformation and restoration of indic culture and pride in our roots.

it will depend upon the context.

In his posts, the hindutva he refers to is the version where hatred plays an important role.

In actual hindutva, there is no such hatred.

I was referring to his definition.

it will depend upon the context.

In his posts, the hindutva he refers to is the version where hatred plays an important role.

In actual hindutva, there is no such hatred.

I was referring to his definition.

I don't know about Hindutva so well as to decide which version is the correct one, but I can't make any sense of the one where parts of the sacred land are fenced off and handed over to the Islamic empire voluntarily. It's not just Bengal either, we can say the same for Sindh, Punjab and Kashmir. It's not that I am saying these things should never have happened, just don't understand proud Indians reinforcing these positions with fences and defending the loss intellectually.

BRO, don't worry. Wherever I am, I will be a pain for the mir jafars and jai chands.

Bangla Bro, latest on this

In a controversial statement, BJP Telangana MLA Raja Singh said Rohingyas and Bangladeshi illegal immigrants should be “shot and eliminated” if do not leave India.

All I can say is Bhaag CC Bhaag :inti

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I served in the Indian army for 30 years. I am really sad that my name is not mentioned in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NRC?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NRC</a> list. I served the nation with commitment. I have legacy data of my parents. The investigation should be fair & friendly: Mohammad A Haq, former army official from Assam's <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Guwahati?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Guwahati</a> <a href="https://t.co/DacbcdDhyV">pic.twitter.com/DacbcdDhyV</a></p>— ANI (@ANI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1024655138307207169?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 1, 2018</a></blockquote>

I wonder how many illegal Bangladeshis live in Pakistan!! And out of Interest what the voting pattern is for the Bengalis in Karachi

Seems like there are millions in India.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I served in the Indian army for 30 years. I am really sad that my name is not mentioned in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NRC?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NRC</a> list. I served the nation with commitment. I have legacy data of my parents. The investigation should be fair & friendly: Mohammad A Haq, former army official from Assam's <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Guwahati?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Guwahati</a> <a href="https://t.co/DacbcdDhyV">pic.twitter.com/DacbcdDhyV</a></p>— ANI (@ANI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1024655138307207169?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 1, 2018</a></blockquote>

Sad story but this shows that process didn't made any differentiation between army person/MLA/Presidents family/Poor man.

Any way he still have time to fight the case like others.

Crazy Aunty didnt help in sorting out document and now shedding crocodile tears

West Bengal, whose chief minister Mamata Banerjee has kicked up a storm over the exclusion of 40 lakh people from the final draft of NRC in Assam, was the biggest defaulter in the verification process, Registrar General and Census Commissioner of India Sailesh said on Wednesday.

Sailesh, who oversaw the entire exercise of the National Register of Citizens (NRC), said he had even deputed his own staff to help the West Bengal government in collecting the documents sought by the NRC authorities but the efforts were not fruitful. The verification process was for people who belong to a different state but reside in Assam due to various reasons.

https://www.news18.com/news/india/w...nly-6-documents-1830991.html?ref=hp_top_pos_2

NRC is being made under the direct supervision of the Supreme Court. So no amount of whining will work. Its merely lip service to her vote bank of illegal immigrants. She is afraid that next will be the illegal migrants of bengal who will be evicted. Assam list shows that nearly 12% of the population was illegal. Bengal most likely have similar situation.

I am hearing that some other states are actively cracking down on these illegal immigrants. Hopefully the situation will be made so unfavourable in India for these illegal foreigners that they will stop coming to India for.And those who are here will go back.

But before that we must deport those Rohingya's.

Ethnic Assamese whole heartedly supporting the NRC means congress cant oppose it.

Rohingya's Ain’t in your country because they want to. They are there because they are being massacred and victims of genocide. Have some respect and compassion. What’s being done is no different to what hitler and the nazis did. Have some respect and compassion.

I have 1.3bn Indians to show compassion to. 100s of 1000s of them need help. Let me clean my house. Then i can look into others.

Also the ARSA killed 100s of hindus in Myanmar.

I have 1.3bn Indians to show compassion to. 100s of 1000s of them need help. Let me clean my house. Then i can look into others.

Also the ARSA killed 100s of hindus in Myanmar.

Such a stupid and small minded ideology. You sound like the typical racist and backwards British who racially abused and attack my and your fellow Indian peolle on the daily in the uk. It was even worse in the 1970’s. For shame.

NRC list: Family tree criteria led to 40 lakh missing names, says officials

Assam government officials believe that as many as 40 lakh names were missing from the draft National Register of Citizenship due to the “family tree” criteria introduced to check the veracity of the claims for citizenship.

During the family tree verification, all legacy data submitted by the applicants were examined to check whether they are genuine to weed out claims of citizenship made just on the basis of domicile documents of self, their children and immediate parents, an Assam government insider said on condition of anonymity.

The applicants, as per the official NRC website, were asked to fill up a form to provide names of their family tree which included the grandparents, grandchildren etc. Each individual’s information was uploaded onto a software to check and verify all the forms submitted by the applicant. It would then generate a computerised family tree record of the submitted data which includes details of all persons who claim to be the children/grandchildren of the person against the legacy data code

https://economictimes.indiatimes.co...names-says-officials/articleshow/65237277.cms

GUWAHATI: Over a lakh men and women who had been declared foreigners by tribunals or marked ‘doubtful’ voters had managed to forge their way into the first NRC draft published on December 31. Forging PAN cards, voter identity cards, children’s birth certificates and even stealing legacy data codes of others were different modes used by these people for their inclusion in the draft. All these names were deleted in the updated draft released on July 30.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...t-with-forged-papers/articleshow/65265562.cms

Why dont do these Bangladeshis just leave us in peace? Whats their effing problem?

Not read or even heard about these 2 books Jaitley quoted..still FWIW

It would be wrong that Kashmir is the only issue that divides India and Pakistan, though undoubtedly the most significant. One at least is nearly as important as the Kashmir dispute, is that of Assam and some districts of India adjoining East Pakistan. To these Pakistan has very good claims,” the minister quoted the book excerpt in his blog.

From Rahman's book, titled ‘Eastern Pakistan, its Population and Economics’, the minister picked an excerpt where Rahman asserts that for East Pakistan to flourish it must include Assam to be "financially and economically strong" East pakistan

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...-jaitley-defends-nrc/articleshow/65231339.cms

Shah isn't even trying to hide his bigotry here.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en-gb"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Hindu, Buddhist and Sikh need not fear NRC, says BJP President <a href="https://twitter.com/AmitShah?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@AmitShah</a> <br><br>Follow live updates: <a href="https://t.co/pEo5QLTCRp">https://t.co/pEo5QLTCRp</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/AmitShahInMalda?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#AmitShahInMalda</a> <a href="https://t.co/fwlR4hIm5m">pic.twitter.com/fwlR4hIm5m</a></p>— Hindustan Times (@htTweets) <a href="https://twitter.com/htTweets/status/1087647076417064960?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">22 January 2019</a></blockquote>

He and Modi have always been bigots, just that bhakts are too blind to see that.

On a positive note, this NRC thing will probably alienate entire NE from these thugs and perhaps also shut Sarma up.

The great indian constitution states that it won't discriminate among its citizens based on religion, citizen being the key word. it does not promise no religious discrimination for non citizens. BJP is only following the constitution.

He is stating exactly on the basis of which the partition was done in 1947.

The muslims wanted a separate country, they got it. Now they simply cannot leave those countries and migrate to India because India is economically a better place.

The non muslims of these places didnot want partition and are a persecuted minority, hence they are being given the right to have citizenship in India.

The statement of Amit Shah is on the citizenship bill that Bjp is bringing. It allows citizenship to non muslim refugees in India.

On a positive note, this NRC thing will probably alienate entire NE from these thugs and perhaps also shut Sarma up.

The NE people hate the refugees. Esp in Assam there is a big hate towards the bangladeshi refugees. They dont even want the non muslim refugees let alone the muslim ones.

NRC was a long standing demand of the Assamese. Its in the Assam accords.

The muslims wanted a separate country, they got it. Now they simply cannot leave those countries and migrate to India because India is economically a better place.

The non muslims of these places didnot want partition and are a persecuted minority, hence they are being given the right to have citizenship in India.

The statement of Amit Shah is on the citizenship bill that Bjp is bringing. It allows citizenship to non muslim refugees in India.

It is a good idea to make living as a practising Muslim as difficult as possible in Indian Bengal, that way Muslims could be gently encouraged to leave for Bangladesh, thus leaving room for incoming non-Muslims in the other direction. In that regard Shah is doing a great job for the BJP.

There have been a fair amount of communal riots in Bengal in days past so nothing new there

Even In that logic Hindus and Sikhs make sense not Buddhists, also which Sikh was living in post partition Bengal?

There have been a fair amount of communal riots in Bengal in days past so nothing new there

There have been riots before too without BJP there mind you, even before Mamta Banerjee, I don't mean to be offensive here but some of the things that happen in Bengal ,them getting divided on religious lines seems predictable, all the ruling parties have had a bias there clearly.

Also I think Gorkha state should be carved out of Bengal ,no offense to Bengalis here.

Amit Shah is such a war monger, he waited exactly during the election time to do such things!
I have no like for Mamta Banerjee but still she would be better than Amit Shah's stooges.

There have been riots before too without BJP there mind you, even before Mamta Banerjee, I don't mean to be offensive here but some of the things that happen in Bengal ,them getting divided on religious lines seems predictable, all the ruling parties have had a bias there clearly.

Also I think Gorkha state should be carved out of Bengal ,no offense to Bengalis here.

That state would comprise of Gorkha majority districts only which are less than 7 IIRC. It'd be a tiny state

Yes they deserve it, I have been to Siliguri and I believe they genuinely need one even though there would be lot of politics..but it has a huge commercial and tourist potential.

Even In that logic Hindus and Sikhs make sense not Buddhists, also which Sikh was living in post partition Bengal?

It makes sense for any non muslim. Non muslims in no part of pre partition India wanted a partition. The muslims wanted partition. They got it. Now they must live with that. Why come to India?

Why should those muslims who chose to be Indian in 1947 and their descendents leave India? They didnot choose partition.

The muslims who did choose partition should not be allowed into India.

Non muslims of these muslim countries didnot get a choice so they are welcome to make that choice.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/caXu8Z5y42g" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Bangladesh's stance on the issue. India has the right to claim that those not in the register are not Indian citizen but for Bangladesh to accept even a single person back India needs to prove to Bangladesh that they are Bangladeshi citizen according to international law. International Affairs advisor to Sheikh Hasina makes it clear on Indian soil with a senior BJP leader sitting in the audience. He also reveals that India has not once taken up the issue of illegal Bangladeshis with the Bangladeshi government in any bilateral meeting. Bhakts getting hyped over nothing lol. They got played by Modi again.

It makes sense for any non muslim. Non muslims in no part of pre partition India wanted a partition. The muslims wanted partition. They got it. Now they must live with that. Why come to India?

What Muslims wanted in 1947 might not be same.in 2018? That's like saying Marathas taxed other Castes during their rule,should whole India tax them.extra now?Also in that logic if the parents of non Muslims decided to live outside India then let them not come to India as well, coz they wanted to live in countries ruled by Muslims.

What about Indian Muslims? How.will.the biased BJP figure out the difference if some poor Indian Muslim didn't make any document?

I do agree there are many in India who are from BD.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/caXu8Z5y42g" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Bangladesh's stance on the issue. India has the right to claim that those not in the register are not Indian citizen but for Bangladesh to accept even a single person back India needs to prove to Bangladesh that they are Bangladeshi citizen according to international law. International Affairs advisor to Sheikh Hasina makes it clear on Indian soil with a senior BJP leader sitting in the audience. He also reveals that India has not once taken up the issue of illegal Bangladeshis with the Bangladeshi government in any bilateral meeting. Bhakts getting hyped over nothing lol. They got played by Modi again.

The illegal bangladeshis when faced with the prospect of jail and not getting jobs or land or even the basic amenities will go back the same way they came through. And it will stop further infiltration of bangladeshis in India.

What Muslims wanted in 1947 might not be same.in 2018? That's like saying Marathas taxed other Castes during their rule,should whole India tax them.extra now?Also in that logic if the parents of non Muslims decided to live outside India then let them not come to India as well, coz they wanted to live in countries ruled by Muslims.

What about Indian Muslims? How.will.the biased BJP figure out the difference if some poor Indian Muslim didn't make any document?

I do agree there are many in India who are from BD.

India will not run according to the whims or fancies of what muslims outside India want. They are not Indians they have their separate country and they must live there. Their ancestors made a choice and they got a country. If they have any issues fight it out with your own country.

Marathas have nothing to do here. They didnot separate from India.

The supreme court is running the NRC and not the BJP. So you mean to say that someone us there who entire family didnot have land or house or ration card or rent receipt no name on voting list or a single document that proves he was or his family was in India for 25 yrs? You realise how ridiculous that sounds?

NRC is needed all over India. This is just the start. These days illegal bangladeshis are infilterating in cities in north and south also.

The condition of bengal is dire.

Why should those muslims who chose to be Indian in 1947 and their descendents leave India? They didnot choose partition.

The muslims who did choose partition should not be allowed into India.

Non muslims of these muslim countries didnot get a choice so they are welcome to make that choice.

How was it that non-Muslims didn't have the choice? Weren't they prevented from crossing into India by the govt at the time of partition?

They didnt have a choice in deciding whether there should or shouldnot be any partition.

Assam: Research scholar booked for 2017 Facebook post about eating beef

The Assam Police on Wednesday filed a suo motu case against a Gauhati University research scholar in connection with a two-year-old deleted Facebook post about consumption of beef, PTI reported. The post was widely shared after a local news portal reportedly published it on Wednesday.

“We are investigating the matter,” Guwahati Police Commissioner Deepak Kumar told The Telegraph.

Rehana Sultana’s original post, written in Assamese in June 2017, said: “Today, we are also participating in Pakistan’s joy by gorging on beef! What I eat depends on my tastebuds! However, don’t make yourselves the subject of controversy simply by talking about the taboo subject of beef.” She was referring to the Indian cricket team’s loss to Pakistan in the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy.

“We have filed an FIR against the research scholar this morning as a screenshot of her 2017 Facebook post related to Pakistan and beef was extensively shared on social media recently,” an unidentified officer of Jalukbari police outpost was quoted as saying by The Telegraph.

“The post was completely sarcastic in nature to release the frustration at the loss of India to Pakistan in the Champions Trophy two years back, which was immediately deleted after protests from friends,” a statement issued by Sultana said. “But it is unfortunate that the screenshot of the same post was circulated with modified content and out of context.”

The 28-year-old alleged that the post was dug up as she had been actively involved in managing and helping applicants in Lower Assam who have been issued National Register of Citizens re-verification hearing notices. “I work for the genuine people for their inclusion in the NRC,” Sultana was quoted as saying by PTI. “Recently I helped them during hearing. I suspect this issue has been raked up to demoralise me for my stand in NRC.”

Sultana already has three first information reports lodged against her regarding the Miyah poetry movement, an unidentified friend told The Telegraph. Last month, the Assam Police had filed a case against 10 people after a complaint about a poem on citizenship problems being faced by sections of the state population.

Sultana is a resident of Boko in Kamrup district of Assam.

https://scroll.in/latest/934003/ass...oked-for-2017-facebook-post-about-eating-beef

How does that differ from the Muslim population of the same region?

Muslim demanded a separate nation. Non muslims didnot. So muslims have their land. They can enjoy it. But there is no reason to why Pakistan and BD will have the land while India will have to take their muslim population.

Its in their own best interests if Bangladeshis are moved back to BD. They get exploited a lot here. They work for half wages and what not. Let's not even start about what happens to the women.

Hate 'megaphone'

A new report from human rights group Avaaz has highlighted the rise of hate speech in India aimed at the population of Bengali Muslims in the state of Assam. It found posts it regarded as hate speech were shared nearly 100,000 times and viewed at least 5.4 million times.

As of September it found that Facebook had removed just 96 of the 213 posts and comments.

"Facebook is being used as a megaphone for hate, pointed directly at vulnerable minorities in Assam," it concluded.

Facebook said in response: "We have clear rules against hate speech, which we define as attacks against people on the basis of things like caste, nationality, ethnicity and religion, and which reflect input we received from experts in India.

"We take this extremely seriously and remove content that violates these policies as soon as we become aware of it. To do this, we have invested in dedicated content reviewers, who have local language expertise and an understanding of India's long-standing historical and social tensions."

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-50247540

Its in their own best interests if Bangladeshis are moved back to BD. They get exploited a lot here. They work for half wages and what not. Let's not even start about what happens to the women.

seems like you lack knowledge about illegal immigrants.

Why has India been so lax about this till now? Was the government sleeping till now lol? If you couldn’t be bothered to do anything before maybe it isn’t as big of a crisis as it is being made out to be.

Btw, the Middle East has taken in the most Syrian refugees.

I also agree with the point that it won’t be easy to get Bangladesh to accept these illegal immigrants. These things aren’t as simple as off you go lol.

Why has India been so lax about this till now? Was the government sleeping till now lol? If you couldn’t be bothered to do anything before maybe it isn’t as big of a crisis as it is being made out to be.

Btw, the Middle East has taken in the most Syrian refugees.

I also agree with the point that it won’t be easy to get Bangladesh to accept these illegal immigrants. These things aren’t as simple as off you go lol.

This has been an ongoing battle since late 1970s. The basis of Assam accord was based upon this issue. AASU (All Assam student union) always played a vital role in this. This isn't a sleeping issue where govt just woke up one day.

The IMDT act 1983 made it difficult to remove illegal immigrants. But this act was applied only for Assam where as, in other states, illegal immigrants were subjected to foreigners act.

The current chief minister of Assam took the issue to Supreme Court in 2005 where Supreme Court ruled out the IMDT act.

After that, the whole process of NRC started.

Starting from late 1970s to 1985 when assm accord was signed, many generations were lost. People started to rally which has impacted lives of millions.

ULFA was also formed during these years who demanded freedom.

It isn't as simple as media paints out. Only difference is, media lefts out the struggles of previous decades.