At least 67 dead, 200 injured in twin explosions in Parachinar

Gabbar Singh

Parachinar has suffered immeasurably over the years. Another attack today.

At least 67 people were killed and more than 200 injured after two subsequent explosions hit a densely populated area of Kurram Agency's Parachinar city Friday evening.

The death toll was confirmed by hospital sources, who warned that the number of casualties may rise.

Parachinar District General Hospital Medical Superintendent Sabir Hussain appealed to the public for help, saying that the hospital is not equipped to handle the large number of casualties.

This is the second major bomb attack today. Early morning, at least 13 people ─ including seven policeman ─ lost their lives, while 19 others were injured in a suicide blast that shook Shuhada Chowk in Quetta's Gulistan Road area.

Local political administration officials said the twin blasts occurred in the Turi Market near Tal Adda, where a bus terminal is also located.

The second explosion targeted rescuers and bystanders who rushed to aid those who had been hurt in the first blast.

The nature of the explosions has not been ascertained as yet.

The explosions targeted people shopping in the area and those heading out of the city ahead of Eid-ul-Fitr, administration officials said.

Following the blast, security forces cordoned off the affected site and conducted a search operation in the surrounding areas, with the army dispatching helicopters from Peshawar to Parachinar "for the speedy evacuation of the injured to Peshawar," according to a statement issued by the military's media wing.

Parachinar, with a population of more than 50,000, has been under strict security arrangements for quite some time. Army and paramilitary personnel have set up checkpoints on all routes leading to the town and visitors and vehicles go through extensive search and identification process.

On March 31 this year, the city had suffered a similar tragedy when 23 people were killed in a car bomb blast near an Imam*bargah at midday. More than 70 others were wounded in the attack. Another person had died later after security forces opened fire on a crowd trying to hold a demonstration in front of the political agent’s office in protest against increasing terrorist attacks.

In January this year, 25 people were killed and 87 others suffered injuries when a bomb went off during peak business hours at a crowded vegetable market in the city. In what appeared to be a sign of growing cooperation among extremists, two banned groups had come forward to claim the deadly assault, with one describing the incident as a suicide attack.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1341299/at-least-25-dead-100-injured-in-twin-explosions-in-parachinar

Oh Nooooooooooooo.

Kya Museebatt hai yaar.

Inna Lillah e Wa Inna Eleh e Rajeoon :( :'(

sectarianism is a cancer that needs to be stamped out but the more u import salafi wahhabism then minority sects will always be in the firing line

Another day, another attack on Shias. Many Pakistanis tend to ignore this genocide going on in our country. Sad.

The price of taking uncompromising stance against the militants

RIP

Stop Shia Persecution

• Screenshot_20170624-140457.jpg
    Screenshot_20170624-140457.jpg
    256.2 KB · Views: 204
Hello everyone I am fairly new to this forum I am not born in Pakistan but my parents were so I don't have first hand experience of what is really happening over there. My question is why does Pakistan with a strong military(so I heard) have issues with controlling these bomb blasts that seem to be occuring frequently? How can these terrorists get away with blowing up people everywhere it's so sickening to see.

sectarianism is a cancer that needs to be stamped out but the more u import salafi wahhabism then minority sects will always be in the firing line
It's not sectarianism, it's genocide.

Sectarianism would be, if some shia also do some terrorist act and kill masses of innocent sunnis.
This is only one way, and shias are the victims so it's not sectarianism.

On side note, terrorist do not consider shia a sect.

<iframe frameborder="0" width="480" height="270" src="//www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x5ruttv" allowfullscreen></iframe><br /><a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x5ruttv_pm-nawaz-sharif-on-yesterday-blast-in-parachinar_news" target="_blank">PM Nawaz Sharif On Yesterday Blast In Parachinar</a> <i> <a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/" target="_blank"></a></i>

RIP. No value of life for minorities. Doesn't matter if you're Shia, Ahmadi or Christian.

From what I've heard/seen on social media. Over a 100 people have died and the locals are doing a sit-in protest which isn't being covered by the media. Cell-phone service and internet service has also been blocked. Seems like it's similar to what the Hazaras did a few years ago which brought out Shias to do sit ins across various cities. Can anyone verify this?

PM sahib your time might be up.

Incase you are smelling this than go to Parachanar today and name and shame the terrorists behind Shia attacks and those behind those terrorists outfits.

History will remember you forever if you name & shame them.

How & Why Lashkar e Jhangvi carries out attacks so easily ?

RIP. No value of life for minorities. Doesn't matter if you're Shia, Ahmadi or Christian.

From what I've heard/seen on social media. Over a 100 people have died and the locals are doing a sit-in protest which isn't being covered by the media. Cell-phone service and internet service has also been blocked. Seems like it's similar to what the Hazaras did a few years ago which brought out Shias to do sit ins across various cities. Can anyone verify this?

Read that too. No coverage being given to these poor souls.

RIP

When will the Shia genocide be taken notice of?

We are under constant attack from these extremist groups, yet a large amount of the population fail to recognise or take note of the fact that there is a genocide going on in their own country. A lot of attacks against us are not even covered by the media, and as mentioned above, none of the protests in Parichanar are being covered by the media either.

We see this on the news, and it makes us sad, but imagine the hell these people go through. I know of a man from Parichanar here in Auckland who used to live alone. One day, we saw that he has kids with him. My mother talked to the eldest daughter, and then went on to ask about her mother (obviously not knowing the reality), the girl had tears in her eyes and went silent. We later found out that the man was in the process of trying to invite his family here but his wife was killed in a suicide blast in Parichanar, so the kids had to be sent here. This is just one of many stories we hear in the Shia community in a place like Auckland, with a relatively small Shia community.

Enough is enough, it is time that these barbaric attacks get covered and recognised. Something needs to be done about it, people can't just turn a blind eye on the cleansing of a religious minority in their own country.

Another day, another attack on Shias. Many Pakistanis tend to ignore this genocide going on in our country. Sad.

It's not just Shias, all minorities are taking the flak. A clear case of what poor governance does, but there's also those who would prefer Nawaz because our 'economy has improved'. A clear example of why an improving economy doesn't correlate to good governance

67 people dead hundreds of people injured. its high time shias shud demand seperate country. muslims are not safe in pakistan. It feels like daily occurance there.
it happens when you follow extremist idealogy.