[AUDIO #47] "We felt that if we attacked them, England is the most darpok (scared?) team" : Sarfraz

Sarfraz is not a finished product.

He needs to mature soon - this victory will hide some of his shortcomings but hopefully he can learn with this breathing room and not let this get to his head.

Yes that is why he is out of the team & Sarfraz is the captain
Thats the only thing he has done right. Become captain.
Even Hafeez was man enough to come out and play a vital role in an underpressure final than the leader who was hiding himself in the dressing room.

I was one of those people who actually enjoyed Azhar getting sacked as a captain but I always had reservations about Sarfraz not being captaincy material and the fears are beginning to come true.

He is quite right tbh. If you take England by the scruff of the neck they are mentally incapable of rebounding the pressure. Sarfaraz proved what he claimed

Even Hafeez was man enough to come out and play a vital role in an underpressure final than the leader who was hiding himself in the dressing room.

I was one of those people who actually enjoyed Azhar getting sacked as a captain but I always had reservations about Sarfraz not being captaincy material and the fears are beginning to come true.

Fears are beginning to come true ? He just won you the friggin champions trophy lmao. Do you even think before you post ? Are you even capable of thinking ?

So the guy who just led his team to the Champions trophy isn't captaincy material? Be honest who would you rather have as captain Umar Akmal or Sarfraz?

Neither. I will have someone who can lead from the front and can walk the talk and can control his mouth.

Umar Akmal is not captain of national team there is big difference. And beside Umar is still leagues ahead of Sarfraz as an ODI player.

Captain or not, umar akmal is still classless right?? Yes or no?

This guy is exactly what we have been missing, so what if he said a team would be scared, England are well known for there collapses, we need this cocky, fighting spirit in the team, this in itself will bring confidence to a whole new level for all the players. A few PP'ers need some lessons in sports psychology.

Sarfraz is not a finished product.

He needs to mature soon - this victory will hide some of his shortcomings but hopefully he can learn with this breathing room and not let this get to his head.

He is a simple ma. With time he will learn what to say and what to not say in media.

This was his second series as captain and that too a major one plus we won it so he is bombarded by media with questions.

Give him time, he will learn :) also for himself it will be good as anti-Sarfraz lobby already is and will nitpick things.

Keep Punjab v Karachi references off this thread. Clear?

He's not wrong, England historically haven't been able to handle pressure.

Even one of their most toughest cricketers wilted under pressure last year.

Don't see anything wrong with what he said, and he's right btw. Put England in a bit of pressure and they'll crumble. Seen it just today.

Strange, the whole of Pakistan is celebrating Sarfraz as a champion for winning the Champions Trophy. He's received plaudits from Pakistanis and non-Pakistanis for his excellent captaincy and the teamwork the Pakistan side showed at the tournament, but we have one or two 'fans' who :quote: "have reservations" about his captaincy. :13:

Neither. I will have someone who can lead from the front and can walk the talk and can control his mouth.

Atleast Sarfaraz can control his mouth in the field unlike Kohli. Also Sarfaraz hasn't made any irresponsible statements in any official press conferences yet. Please stop hating.

Strange, the whole of Pakistan is celebrating Sarfraz as a champion for winning the Champions Trophy. He's received plaudits from Pakistanis and non-Pakistanis for his excellent captaincy and the teamwork the Pakistan side showed at the tournament, but we have one or two 'fans' who :quote: "have reservations" about his captaincy. :13:

Shameless agenda based poster.

Mate do as i do.

Just judge them on the field of play and not by the speaches of interviews they give.

This, if we start agreeing on their speeches but they are not backed by actions on the field, they will become just like the 'Hackle and Jackle Brothers' aka the current ruling thugs of Pakistan

Man people take everything so seriously. It was just a tongue-in-cheek remark said in good humour. When Aus defeated SA in the infamous 99 WC semi, Steve Waugh also said something similar that "SA dont play good under pressure". Also, Sarfraz didn't say this in post-match conference. That would be truly inappropriate. He said it to a local TV channel

Having said all that, you guys should keep in mind that Sarfraz is not a sophisticated guy like Imran Khan or wasim. He has learned everything about life on the streets and a certain amount of that rashness will remain in his disposition. Remember Miandad? Well he is exactly like that. I personally find his rawness and crudity of expression charming.

Umar Akmal is not captain of national team there is big difference. And beside Umar is still leagues ahead of Sarfraz as an ODI player.

HAHAHA :))

Try stand up some time.

Umar Akmal is a failure. No wonder we won the whole CT by sending this mediocre player packing home

Lol wth.Think with your brain.Such bias doesn't do anyone good.

Umar Akmal is not captain of national team there is big difference.And beside Umar is still leagues ahead of Sarfraz as an ODI player.

lol what?This just keeps getting better and better.

Do you want me to bring up recent stats?

Just watched few clips of Sarfraz's interview with Amir Liaqat plus his appearance on a TV channel.

1. JS bank rewarded him with BMW car.

2. Bahria Town gifted him 250 yards plot (expect it to be commercial & not residential)

Sarfraz's family humble background was disclosed by A Liaqat. He felt no shame. He has worked very hard with honest means and prayers to be where He is today. MashaAllah.

Sarfraz accepted his weakness that He gets Angry (extreme) and loses his calm. He said since becoming Captain He has realised it and is trying to be patient and control his emotions.

A Liaqat had some filthy stuff to say and discuss which is against our Culture but there is no one tp stop this representative of " D State " (GhattiyaPunn)

Sarfraz was seen extremely Down to Earth infront of Shoaib & Waseem. Showed values taught to him by his parents & elders.

Role Model for youngsters.

Honesty, dedication, hardwork, commitment and staying grounded is what Sarfraz Ahmed is all about.

Huge lessons to learn for Shooper Stars youngsters.

Just want Sarfraz to develop reading habbit. It's essential for growth and will give him more success InshaAllah. Needs to learn this from his wife :)

Saifi bhai what are you doing?? :kakmal

Yaar time thora kum hai. I have read the OP and have listened audio clip too.

What is the problem ??

Why is Sarfraz getting all the hate in this thread ??

Kya koi aor b baat hai which I am missing ?

Somebody plz update me. Thanks

Yaar time thora kum hai. I have read the OP and have listened audio clip too.

What is the problem ??

Why is Sarfraz getting all the hate in this thread ??

Kya koi aor b baat hai which I am missing ?

Somebody plz update me. Thanks
No he said nothing else that was untoward.

Just watched few clips of Sarfraz's interview with Amir Liaqat plus his appearance on a TV channel.

1. JS bank rewarded him with BMW car.

2. Bahria Town gifted him 250 yards plot (expect it to be commercial & not residential)

Sarfraz's family humble background was disclosed by A Liaqat. He felt no shame. He has worked very hard with honest means and prayers to be where He is today. MashaAllah.

Sarfraz accepted his weakness that He gets Angry (extreme) and loses his calm. He said since becoming Captain He has realised it and is trying to be patient and control his emotions.

A Liaqat had some filthy stuff to say and discuss which is against our Culture but there is no one tp stop this representative of " D State " (GhattiyaPunn)

Sarfraz was seen extremely Down to Earth infront of Shoaib & Waseem. Showed values taught to him by his parents & elders.

Role Model for youngsters.

Honesty, dedication, hardwork, commitment and staying grounded is what Sarfraz Ahmed is all about.

Huge lessons to learn for Shooper Stars youngsters.

Just want Sarfraz to develop reading habbit. It's essential for growth and will give him more success InshaAllah. Needs to learn this from his wife :)

Thanks for Highlighting the positives. This is what should be paid attention to.

What did Sarfraz do? Ride on the coat tails of Mickey and Malik. Fakhar told us how the team was transformed.

Take Sarfraz out of the team altogether and the team will hardly be affected.

Regarding etiquette, coming from poor background is not an excuse. Look at kohli how he was so gracious in defeat, this tool can't be Gracious enough not to atleast put down other teams.

It's rich him saying England are cowards considering how he bottled it in the final and didn't even come out to bat and sent the useless Imad Wasim before him.

Your Posts are great for Business. So Yeah keep it up.

You will be Schooled and discussions will get longer and there will be more traffic on this thread aswell as on PP.

It is you and people like You who were rhyming same poems when Pak won a World Cup under Younis Khan's leadership.

If you have any clue about Cricket than you will or should know that in Cricket role of Captain is massive. M Not talking about Gully Mohallay ki Cricket.

If you are just trolling or you are having tough days than keep venting your anger and frustration.

Not even a week has gone by since our amazing win and people are already creating disputes and sowing seeds for hatred.

Yes, this is called classless behavior.

Not even a week has gone by since our amazing win and people are already creating disputes and sowing seeds for hatred.

Yes, this is called classless behavior.

you can take out the paindus from their heartland but you cant take out the painduness from them :))

No he said nothing else that was untoward.

Thanks for Highlighting the positives. This is what should be paid attention to.

A CT trophy winner Captain has all the right to utter stuff like this. I back him fully. He will grow & get mature with time. He is not Ameer ul Momineen, as long as he performs well, Pak wins under his leadership I will keep supporting and appreciating him.

We should criticise his cricketing moves or body language when He makes errors or blunders. That's it.

Otherwise only Serheeals with resort to this stuff to show their levels.

Those playing province, cities, linguistic cards in this thread whether in his favour or against him are also low grade racists struck with their inferiority or superiority complexes. The same folks love to take high moral grounds without looking in their own necks.

Hasan Nisar takes such people to Cleaners and yeah ir doesn't matter what H Nisar eats or drinks. His life.

[MENTION=57576]MRSN[/MENTION]

We have jointly supported many players or have given them compliments. We have jointly criticised injustice aswell.

We have compared players who play at similar positions too.

We have loved and admired shots and deliveries aswell.

But I would like you to Post definitions of :

1. Racists

2. Bias

3. Supremacists

4. Complex

5. Inferiority complex

6. Superiority complex

7. Stooges

8. Traitors

9. Ethnic cleansing

10. Apartheid

11. Slurrs

12. Sledging

13. Blind Hater

14. Blind Lover

15. Human worshippers

16. PR machines

Mods please don't delete my post kindly.

MRSN you can make a seperate thread in Time Pass Section to educate me on this. I won't mind even if you School me. I will await your response. It's time to unleash all your tricks, power & knowledge.

# Bring It On.

Your Posts are great for Business. So Yeah keep it up.

You will be Schooled and discussions will get longer and there will be more traffic on this thread aswell as on PP.

It is you and people like You who were rhyming same poems when Pak won a World Cup under Younis Khan's leadership.

If you have any clue about Cricket than you will or should know that in Cricket role of Captain is massive. M Not talking about Gully Mohallay ki Cricket.

If you are just trolling or you are having tough days than keep venting your anger and frustration.

1. Sarfraz is a useless entity in the team going forward. He's fat, uncultured and a bottler. The success was more to do with Mickey and Malik getting the boys together and having a frank and open discussion and devised a plan to go forward. You can pretend all you like to yourself, Sarfraz is not a capable individual nor he came up with any of it. I suppose you can see a lot of yourself in Sarfraz, just like him, you take credit for someone else's work.

2. There are only one type of people who keep brining regions into it, just for their benefit they were told who really won the cup.

1. Sarfraz is a useless entity in the team going forward. He's fat, uncultured and a bottler. The success was more to do with Mickey and Malik getting the boys together and having a frank and open discussion and devised a plan to go forward. You can pretend all you like to yourself, Sarfraz is not a capable individual nor he came up with any of it. I suppose you can see a lot of yourself in Sarfraz, just like him, you take credit for someone else's work.

Your Holliness! My Posts on PP in Sarfraz's threads still exist. Read them and please don't get embarassed. Whenever I felt his batting or Caotaincy was of thw hook I criticised him while remaining in my self set " civil manners "

2. There are only one type of people who keep brining regions into it, just for their benefit they were told who really won the cup.

Yes and there are some Holy Cows jo Daana phenktay hein to others to start this regional debate and there are others who get the ball rolling rather than refraining from it.

I am done for now.

Yes Fakhar saying Malik motivated us means Malik was the main man but when Shadab, Hasan, Imad said Sarfraz was the man for motivating us and the reason why we performed at best of our abilities then it means nothing. Shadab said It was saifi bhai who gave us all the confidence and even said to us that dont think about failure , I will take all the blame. Hasan said "captain ki jitni bhi tareef ki jaye kam hai". I can quote other players too but first a lollypop for you. If you are man enough than just see some videos on youtube. There are plenty.

Yes the useless entity only won the match against SL. If not for his innings (100 runs required 4 wickets in hand) we would have been out. But experts like you will bring the luck card here but forget that Fakhar also got lucky. Kohli also got lucky. But Fakhar and Sarfraz used their luck to win the match for their team while Kohli didint.

As talent said we can school you on and on but abhi k liye itna kafi hai.

Yes Fakhar saying Malik motivated us means Malik was the main man but when Shadab, Hasan, Imad said Sarfraz was the man for motivating us and the reason why we performed at best of our abilities then it means nothing. Shadab said It was saifi bhai who gave us all the confidence and even said to us that dont think about failure , I will take all the blame. Hasan said "captain ki jitni bhi tareef ki jaye kam hai". I can quote other players too but first a lollypop for you. If you are man enough than just see some videos on youtube. There are plenty.

Yes the useless entity only won the match against SL. If not for his innings (100 runs required 4 wickets in hand) we would have been out. But experts like you will bring the luck card here but forget that Fakhar also got lucky. Kohli also got lucky. But Fakhar and Sarfraz used their luck to win the match for their team while Kohli didint.

As talent said we can school you on and on but abhi k liye itna kafi hai.

Sarfraz didn't do anything in the final, he might as well not have played.. the final proved Sarfraz is not needed. his tally of runs in the CT is about 70 odd runs if I remember correctly, majority of which came in a game where the Sri Lankan's refused to accept his wicket. The panic induced captain tried his best to first get run out and then the dolly catch which the fielder somehow dropped. The entire CT he has been riding on coat tail of others, luck will run out soon enough and he will show himself to be what he is....

Yeh we saw how much tactical brain he had, giving shadab another over to be plundered by pandya after going for 20+ in previous one.

Wow there are really some ignorant people here.

If you are giving Mickey and Malik all the credit for the victory, what about the u-19 world cup which was won by sarfraz? who deserves credit for that.?or the under dogs Quetta Gladiator who he has led to 2 successful PSL season?
I am sure you will find names who are responsiblevfor those 2 successful campaigns as well but just hold up a bit and think for once in your life. How is it that Sarfraz always ends up having great results as a captain.
Maybe then you will realize that he actually is a great captain.
But i doubt it will occur to you requires way to much intellect.

What did Sarfraz do? Ride on the coat tails of Mickey and Malik. Fakhar told us how the team was transformed.

Take Sarfraz out of the team altogether and the team will hardly be affected.

Regarding etiquette, coming from poor background is not an excuse. Look at kohli how he was so gracious in defeat, this tool can't be Gracious enough not to atleast put down other teams.

It's rich him saying England are cowards considering how he bottled it in the final and didn't even come out to bat and sent the useless Imad Wasim before him.

Malik and Mickey have been in their positions for the past 2 years.. where has the 'transformation' been?

Keep trying to take credit away from Safraz- you can't change the facts

Sarfraz didn't do anything in the final, he might as well not have played.. the final proved Sarfraz is not needed. his tally of runs in the CT is about 70 odd runs if I remember correctly, majority of which came in a game where the Sri Lankan's refused to accept his wicket. The panic induced captain tried his best to first get run out and then the dolly catch which the fielder somehow dropped. The entire CT he has been riding on coat tail of others, luck will run out soon enough and he will show himself to be what he is....

Yeh we saw how much tactical brain he had, giving shadab another over to be plundered by pandya after going for 20+ in previous one.
His tally for the Champions Trophy was 76,but he'd only played 2 innings with one not out.Better than the old Malik who scored 54 in 5 innings and choked when we needed him most(vs SL).Sarfraz us over the line against Sri Lanka along with Amir.He sent Imad and Hafeez up the order before him since they were better power hitters than him.

How has he bottled?He has captained in 2 international finals(both high pressure games against India) and won both.He suffered from nerves early against SL,but calmed down considerably.His keeping has been top notch and he hasn't dropped a catch in the CT.He has lost a lot of weight since the England tour,and he can't be called fat

If you've played cricket in any shape or form you'd know there is something called confidence.Shadab had been spanked by Pandya,but he went to Sarfraz(as Shadab confirmed in an interview on TV) and asked for another over since he wanted to make up.If Sarfraz refused,it would have shown he didn't have enough confidence in his main spinner.At that point the game had already been won,so there wasn't much harm in giving Shadab one more over.Shadab bowled well in that next over btw,conceded only 4 runs I think.

Sarfraz is quite smart tactically.He was superb as a captain in all but the first match.His field placements and bowling changes were quite smart and showed how he was much better than his predecessor.If you weren't so hopelessly biased against Sarfraz you would've seen all this.

Lol it's very eye opening that Saifi has still so many haters despite being our first captain to win a major ODI tournament after IK.

I guess for some people the hatred is so embedded that they can't let go of it no matter what.

Doesnt matter what these grumps say Saifi will keep winning hearts and minds.

ALL HAIL THE NEW KING. LONG MAY HE REIGN.

:salute

Well if Sarfaraz wants to be the next Dhoni,he needs to work on his communication skills.

Dhoni is no honors student or a academic standout but is street smart says the right things and BCCI worked real hard on him to make him a standout all round role model.

With Sarfaraz PCB has a clean guy with good leadership skills and someone who can be a great role model...so they need to get him all the PR help they can.

Darpok in Urdu = Choker in English

English players are mentally very weak. Root scores pretty 50s and Buttler and Stokes are the two biggest chokers in the world today. Sarfraz's assessment was not wrong. England will always crumble under pressure.

It's amazing what an agenda people have against Sarfraz

Some of the posts here are just sad

Makes you wonder the reasons

Unprofessional. Don't know how you could praise this. There's a difference in being a bold captain and a disrespectful one.

People are still high off of Sarfraz from the CT victory it seems, so all is forgiven.

some people are desperately looking for a window of opportunity to open to expose their hatred towards this guy

Just because people don't see things the same way others do, it doesnt make them haters.

We have always wanted the perfect captain - great on the field, great in English or Urdu etc - that's all people are asking for.

No need to read more into it

Unprofessional. Don't know how you could praise this. There's a difference in being a bold captain and a disrespectful one.

People are still high off of Sarfraz from the CT victory it seems, so all is forgiven.

Of course they are- is that really news to you after he delivered arguably the second biggest victory in Pakistan cricket history?

I'm not sure what context Safraz meant this in, but after what he's just done I'm willing to give him the benifit of doubt here. He's earned that!

It's amazing what an agenda people have against Sarfraz

Some of the posts here are just sad

Makes you wonder the reasons

As I said in this thread previously. These 'fans' are worse than the Indians who abuse our team. Sarfraz is an amazing captain. After seeing the whole city outside his house cheering for him, these people are nothing but ants in front of him

Sarfaraz did not mean to undermine or insult Team England, what he meant was once you put Poms under the pump they can crumble. In other words he was saying they are bottlers. Even yesterday somehow Team England lost to Proteas by 3 runs in T20 match ( a game they should have easily won). Sarfaraz's leadership and astute captaincy have been praised by foreign media several times. But more importantly he has the lucky stars which certainly benefitted Team Pakistan. Lets take an example of French National Football Team, despite all the stars they had in 20th century e.g Platini, Papin or Tegana and Eric Cantona they did not win the world cup until their old coach made water carrier an unknown Didier Deschamps their captain, French ended up winning world cup and Euro Cup. Juventus has lost 5 straight champions league finals and actually the last time they did win it, Deschamps was the vice captain in team in 1996. Zidane was captain of France in 2006 and we all know what happened. Similarly from 1983-2007 India produced big captains big names e.g Sachin, Gavaskar, Azharuddin, Dada Ganguly but they never won a major trophy. ( Ganguly did win a shared ICC Champions trophy in 2002) but shared trophies never carry prestige. It was not until Dhoni became captain and India won world t20 in 2007. Sarfaraz has already won Under 19 world cup as captain that too against India. No wonder he has powerful destiny. Talented Pakistani teams of the past have unable to beat India in big games of the past e.g Bangalore 96, Mohali 2011 and World T20 final in 2007, therefore Sarfaraz broke the jinx

Also we need to get used to Sarfraz's style of speaking. He has a very frank way of discussing things and that's the way he is.

His results will be what he will be ultimately judged on.

Just because people don't see things the same way others do, it doesnt make them haters.

We have always wanted the perfect captain - great on the field, great in English or Urdu etc - that's all people are asking for.

No need to read more into it

some maybe but i have been following some people who have a negative agenda

[AUDIO #47] "We felt that if we attacked them, England is the most darpok (scared?) team" : Sarfraz

O´ wow, this seems to have escalated quickly! I´m sure this could become the next cult reference after the "large hearts" reference :afridi, and I can see it getting bumped on multiple occasions in the future. Hell, after England´s defeat yesterday in a nail-biter, I was expecting people to say that Sarfraz´s words have been proved to be true once again. :))

The issue that most seemed to have missed is, these media men aren´t anyone´s friends. Sure, they´ll sing your praises now that you´ve won, but these very same channels and talk show hosts will mock you and your such words to no end should you happen to lose a series or a big match in the future. It´s immature and childish to feel comfortable and at home amongst them and say whatever comes to your mind. I didn´t find it great anyway to see the captain attend such shows and programmes. Pardon if I´m missing out on anything, but was Misbah seen as much on TV shows after winning in India or South Africa, or after whitewashing England?

This where I think the first round exit from ODI World Cup 2007 was the turning point in Dhoni´s career. Before that, you could see him attending Bollywood award shows, walk on the ramp etc. But once the media tore him apart after the failure in the aforementioned tournament, he learn his lesson. I hope with time Sarfraz too will learn to deal with media in a better way.

People over here who, instead of being apologists, are saying that Pakistan need such an aggressive and bold captain; regardless of whether I agree with them or not, I salute them for their honesty and owning up to the statement. The rest, the apologists are being dead dishonest to their souls and they know it best how they would´ve jumped on the gun had a captain from any other country said this about the Pakistan team. Whatever his intentions may be, even if he might´ve said it casually without intending any offence, the fact is that the statement is disrespectful no matter which angle you look at it from, no matter how many times people urge you to watch the complete 40-minute interview to understand an imaginary context and background to it, and no matter what translations are twisted into it to make it sound humble. As captain of the team, he´ll be under scrutiny all the time and his choice of words will hold its value. Sarfraz himself knows it and and isn´t that naïve. He knows it full well to not to say such things in pre or post-match press conferences. He just felt too comfortable on a home broadcaster and let it slip.

I certainly would´ve found it tasteless had any player, especially a current one, said it about the Pakistan team - as would´ve those who´ve chosen to be the apologists here.

However, I may add that any such statement shouldn´t lead to doubting his captaincy or his role in Pakistan winning the Champions Trophy. His mere presence alone was a breath of fresh air and an upgrade by 80% to seeing the ODI team play under Misbah and then Azhar Ali. He´s led them wonderfully, has surprised the world and deserves all the credit in the world. He has brought life to Pakistan cricket, and long may it continue!

Darpok = Coward.

Nice to see apologists trying to extract a different meaning to Darpok.

sarfaraz said if put under pressure, English team are the biggest cowards.

Darpok translates to 'coward' not "scared", that makes no sense in English.

Although if you focus entirely on the linguistic aspect of the word, the word "darr" does mean "fear", but I´m sure people over here would´ve proved it through dictionary references that the word does indeed mean "coward" had another captain said it. However, that still isn´t the main point because, regardless of how the words translates into English, the statement is downright disrespectful.

Which Indian playing captain has given such comments?

Um, not a captain, but I´ve heard that in an interview with NDTV 24/7, Sreesanth remarked that "The shot that Misbah played was sh!t", after arriving in India after World T20 2007 obviously. That too is plain pathetic, if true. :facepalm:

Coming from a big English cricket fan, there's nothing to disagree with in these comments.

England are unoticed chokers, no doubt...

I believe this is the most humble team at most including sarfaraz but the choice of words could be better. I hope he will improve by the time.