Azhar Ali as a TV commentator

Sher Khan

Local Club Captain
To me, Azhar Ali's batting seems bland and snooze-worthy. As we know he is a defensive batsmen often taking more than a 100 balls to get a 30.

However, surprisingly i find his commentary very entertaining and humorous. He is lively as a commentator and often cracks some fun one-liners and has quirky descriptions of player attributes. To me, he seems like someone with good potential as a future commentator.

Discuss?

He seems quite fluent and has good insight. Would do even better in coacing.

Is he an English commentator? Or Urdu?

Pakistan needs a new generation of English commentators after Rameez and Wasim.

I said that a few days ago that I like him as a Pundit in both English and Urdu, he should be given a go in PSL, impressive.

He is good for pre and post match breakdowns like the analyst role he had during the PSL, commentary is just average, not good or bad.

Azhar should stick to the urdu commentary where he was doing a decent job. He struggled with English.

Was taking talk about suitability of Asad Shafiq in T20s too much to the heart I think. He was saying that Asad Shafiq is still young :yawn and cant right him off in any format as of now. Also who will guide the youngsters if every senior player will sit at home.

<iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/5uk8b5" width="640" height="360" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; fullscreen" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Was taking talk about suitability of Asad Shafiq in T20s too much to the heart I think. He was saying that Asad Shafiq is still young :yawn and cant right him off in any format as of now. Also who will guide the youngsters if every senior player will sit at home.

"Aap jazbaati ho gaye Asad shafiq k maamly mein" Tariq Saeed to Azhar...Hes right...Azhar calling asad young...this is our pakistani mentality to keep playing malik, hafeez and asad at the expense of Saud Shakeel and Saif badar etc

Ye dosti hum nhe choran ga .Azhar/Asad friends forever

Is he an English commentator? Or Urdu?

Pakistan needs a new generation of English commentators after Rameez and Wasim.

I see a big career for Shan Masood post retirement in commentary and even hosting cricket related shows. He is already at a forefront of conducting interviews with players and making some content for PCB media.

I see him going down Sagakkara route post retirement.

Lol no wonder these players never retire. Asad is what 35 ? 'young' HAHAH. You guys have played your fair share of cricket. MOVE ON MEDIOCRE OLDIES. Infuriating to see him defending Asad and even insulting Tariq in the process. Hopefully Asad fails miserably in NZ so that Saud has an easy start in a home series against the Proteas.

I remember when Saud came in to bat a few games ago Azhar conveniently said "yeh one day ke bhi bohut achay player hai" almost as if he's avoiding saying tests so that there's no pressure on him

"Asad bohot young hai abhi aur humare World T20 eleven's me reh chuke " - Azhar Ali

What was this guy thinking? Really worried now as he will probably get a job at the PCB for being a good boy.

"Asad bohot young hai abhi aur humare World T20 eleven's me reh chuke " - Azhar Ali

What was this guy thinking? Really worried now as he will probably get a job at the PCB for being a good boy.

This is the mediocrity which has prevailed in Pakistan Cricket for the last ten years and I am glad the present PCB administration is now getting tough on everyone where people will not be blindly rewarded for being good boys

Azhar Ali should retire and do whatever he wants - hell give him a commentary gig if that means he and his incompetent fellows are being thrown out.

Asad shafiq will be 35 yrs young in a couple of months :shafiq